Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Wingfield Carpentry

Founded 1986 • With Angi since April 2011

25 year carpenter creating strong, beautiful decks and porches for less than the big guys. I don't have a price per square foot because every deck is unique and custom designed and built to the needs and desires of each homeowner.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
no
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(31) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 31 reviews
sherry N.
2.0
08/19/2018
He came out to do an estimate, but told me that it would be a month before he could provide me with the details of the bid. Never heard from him again. Wasted my time and kept me hanging since June.
Description of Work
Wanted to have my deck replaced
Category
decks, handyman service

Service Provider Response

My apologies to the homeowner but work has skyrocketed and the weather has slowed progress on current projects and bid times have increased. Those potential customers who have checked in with me have been served and unfortunately this one has fallen through the cracks. Currently booked through thanksgiving and simply overwhelmed. Thanks to all who showed patience and understanding that I am a sole proprietorship. In checking my records, show that I saw customer on July 6. Again my apologies. Not the usual experience my customers have.
Jimmy W.
5.0
02/17/2018
Hal did a great job and we are very pleased. His pride in workmanship is evident. Hal is the kind of person you want to do business with. We would not hesitate to use him again and we probably will!
Description of Work
We hired Hal to replace our open deck with a screen porch.
Category
decks, handyman service
Carolyn L.
5.0
04/21/2017
Not only were we pleased with the quality of Hal's craftsmanship but we also found him very easy going and pleasant to deal with. Our young granddaughter enjoyed watching him work through a window and he always had a smile and kind word for her. We did not hesitate to leave a door open for him if we needed to be away for the day. He is both honest and trustworthy! We highly recommend him and will use him again if needed!
Description of Work
Hal removed our old existing second floor deck and replaced it with a screened porch. He used premium quality wood and materials. The new porch had to be tied into the roof of our two story house which included a chimney. Hal designed and made a seamless structure that has added an additional living space to our home.
Category
decks, electrician, gutter repair, handyman service, lighting, remodeling, woodworking, doors
Rebecca T.
5.0
01/09/2017
The guy came out and he was very nice. He was a really nice guy. We had something else come out that we weren't able to do it. He was very knowledgeable and very nice. We didn't go with anybody because we had something else come out with our car.
Description of Work
He gave an estimate for the deck.
Category
decks
Randall M.
3.0
12/26/2016
Ok, he was pushy for payment, but he knew it was an insurance job and I had to wait on the insurance company to issue payment Wasn't very detailed on some of the work, but I thought he was nice
Description of Work
Water damage
Category
drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing

Service Provider Response

This review has been posted in error as I have never worked for this customer. Angies List has been unable to contact this customer and he does not reside at the address listed. Simply a case of someone clicking on the wrong provider as he tried to post a review. I am primarily a carpenter. I can work with drywall but do so only in very small amounts, always in conjunction with a carpentry project, never on the level of a $10000 job. Please disregard this review and and check out all my other outstanding reviews.
Juliet H.
5.0
08/18/2016
It went just great. I think he quoted us 13 days of work and he finished in 8. Beautiful work and he was professional and great to deal with.
Description of Work
Hal rebuilt our aging deck
Category
decks, handyman service
Brenda and Scott D.
5.0
07/28/2016
unknown
Description of Work
..
Category
decks
Albert B.
4.0
06/23/2016
unknown
Description of Work
HAL WAS CALL OUT FOR A SMALL JOB ON THE APARTMENT OVER THE GARAGE. WHILE HERE I WAS IMPRESSED WITH HIS WORK AND I ADDED OTHER NEEDED ITEMS TO THE LIST WHICH HE DID WITHOUT HESITATION. A VERY GOOD CARPENTER AND A VERY GOOD PERSON.... I WILL CERTAINLY USE HIM AGAIN AND WILL RECOMMEND HIM TO OTHER PEOPLE...
Category
contractors, handyman service, woodworking
Tom H.
5.0
06/13/2016
Hal has done it again! He's simply the best. We... and when I say we... I meant HE... built an approx. 300 ft standard 6' dog eared privacy fence. He also built 2 gates, one on each side of the house and a large double gate in the back of the property for easy backyard access with bigger equipment. I feel like I let Hal down because this thing, as big as it was, was no challenge. I have to be more creative on our next project. Hal is a true professional and master carpenter. Again the project was completed on time and only slightly over budget... because I'm a pain in the butt and changed a few things. If you need anything carpentry I would certainly check with Hal first. He has been the single best contractor I've hired... period. Hands down fantastic. Thanks again Hal for another successful and painless project. Take care sir and keep rocken! Tom
Description of Work
Standard 6' privacy fence w/3 gates
Category
fencing
Tom H.
5.0
04/15/2016
Hal Wingfield is a master carpenter and hands down the best contractor I've worked with in a very long time. Imagine this... a contractor doing what they say they are going to do... I know... crazy right. Hal was super professional, very punctual and extremely detailed. His pace and work/life balance was great and the project was finished on time and on budget. Image that once again... a project finishing on time and on budget. People reading this review are going to think I'm related, but I assure you I'm not. I simply took a chance on Angie's List like the rest of you and I scored. I'm a real estate investor and my #1 goal for 2016 is to find the right people to take my business to the next level. Hal has give me hope that decent contractors actually exist and he's filling the carpentry void with my business as long as he wants to. We will certainly keep him busy so be patient and we'll let you borrow him from time to time. haha kidding of course. Lastly, thank you Hal! You've been a pleasure to work with, learn from and just to chat with. I'd like to think (maybe we'll need another project or so) that we have become friends through this process and finally I want to thank you for your patience with me, as I know I can be a pain in the a**. What a great experience. You've greatly enhanced our lives. Take care sir and keep exceeding expectations as I know you will.
Description of Work
24x16 deck extension with stairs and re enforced old deck with new railing
Category
contractors, handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. Really enjoyed creating your project and look forward to many more in the future. It was a pleasure.
Sheila B.
5.0
01/13/2016
.
Description of Work
Excellent quality repair work and pricing to our screened deck supports!
Category
decks, handyman service
shay T.
5.0
12/28/2015
The project was performed as explained, and with no complications. Hal completed the project weeks before initially explained, and the time completed was less than 6 hours.
Description of Work
The main supports and the side posts around the deck were replaced.
Category
decks, handyman service, woodworking
Tonya L.
5.0
10/12/2015
Hal is awesome. A great person who does quality work.
Description of Work
Hal repaired our deck, took out one set of stairs and built two sets of stairs. He built storage for our pool accessories, a wall around our pool equipment and adirondack chairs for our firepit area.
Category
decks, handyman service
chris M.
5.0
09/13/2015
Hal is an amazing carpenter. It is hard to believe he did all this work alone. My wife and I can't believe how this deck turned out.Can't say enough how pleased we are with the final result .The only downside to this project is the quality of what Home Depot's version of KDAT wood not impressed .It was supposed to be the best wood. It's not Hals fault though. Iwished I had saved so old pics of our old deck so we could show people what we had and our dream deck we have now.So if your looking for a great and reasonable carpenter then do your self a favor and give Hal a call.We will call him to improve our front porch.That's the problem he is in high demand because of the quaility of his work and attenion to detail.Thanks Hal for giving us our new deck.
Description of Work
Mr. Wingfield tore down our 15 year old 12x10 deck and built us a wonderful and incredibly sturdy 12x20 deck with upgrades all around.Wider railings and aluminium pickets .
Category
contractors, decks, handyman service, woodworking
Debra C.
5.0
02/17/2015
It went very well. When he took down my back deck he found some of the structural wood had rotted, He brought it to my attention and proceeded to rebuild that area. He arrived at work when he said and worked very hard till all work was completed. When the work was completed my front and back deck was beautiful. I have had many compliments on his work. A friend has also used his services and was very pleased with him. I will continue to tell all my friends about him and will use him again in the future.
Description of Work
He tore down and remove my back deck and front porch. He then rebuilt them with very good quality wood.
Category
decks, handyman service
Mike J.
5.0
10/19/2014
EXCELLENT!!! "The Deck" - Hal did a great job on everything. He took out our old deck and added a 45' x 30' deck off of our kitchen that goes 1/2 way around our above ground pool. Some would say, it's just a deck but we know better. This thing is AWESOME and has become the centerpiece of our home. Hal added a 21'x24' roof over part of the deck which perfectly integrated with our existing roof and looks as if it were part of the original house. But that's not all, Hal added what he calls the Florida treatment inside of the covered area, 2 fans, some electrical outlets, superb finishing work and wallah, our own paradise right outside our kitchen doors. To simply say it looks great is an understatement. The roof and decking is as solid as granite. Hal used 6"x6"s on all the posts which makes it just scream class and stability. To top off the deck Hal added world-class railings and framed in the lattice work underneath along with hinging the sides so we also now have more storage space than ever!!! "The Fence" - Hal ripped out our old chain-link and wood fence then replaced it with a piece-by-piece built fence along with a 16' drive through gate and 2 large man-doors which are all super solid and extremely well built which was our requirement in this wind-tunnel we live in and to keep our 2 large-breed dogs in. It's a fence, it looks great and works as planned. But the review does not end there. Since the fence was built we had a tree fall on it and a small tornado. A large wild cherry tree fell squarely on the fence, the fence was soo solid that it literally held the tree up while only losing a few pickets. It saved our pool. That's old world craftsmanship there! Hal came back and had it fixed in under an hour. The tornado was a different story. The tornado hit across the street and took out 30 large trees then jumped over the house and took out another 8 trees in both our neighbors yards. We did not even lose a fence picket. Maybe it was a miracle but I think it was just good craftsmanship on Hal's part. "The Porch" - Hall added 6' onto our existing front porch along with all new decking and rails which match our back deck. It look great. "The Lean-to" - Hal added a 24'x12" lean-to onto our existing shed. It has a tin roof to match the shed and looks just as it it was supposed to be there. Very solid and very well-built. It to survived the tornado which because of it's length off of the shed (12') really surprised me. Again, that is really only due to solid craftsmanship. Overall, Hal is very meticulous and somewhat of a perfectionist. He is a 1 man show so it takes a little longer but the quality of work is well worth the wait. Hal was even very (EXTREMELY) patient, careful and friendly with our 2 large-breed St. Bernard/Great Pyrenees mix dogs. They can be a handful at times but Hal was very understanding. So if you have pets just know that Hal will take care of them as if they were his own while he is working with you. YES, we would use Hal again and YES we highly recommend Hal to all of our friends and family. PS.. I have not figured out how to upload pics to this site but if you want to see pics of the work just email me at poolroommj@yahoo.com and I'll send some right over. We don't mind sharing as we are very proud of our new additions to our home.
Description of Work
Deck, Porch, Fence, Gates, Roof, Lean-to
Category
contractors, decks, electrician, fencing
Brenda and Scott D.
5.0
07/16/2014
We contacted several vendors to provide quotes for our deck remodeling project. Wingfield Carpentry was not our first call, but Hal Wingfield was certainly our last call. My husband and I were both so pleased with Hal. He came to our home and listened so attentively to all that my husband and I said we wanted out of this project. We had an issue with our back deck from where we had vinyl siding added to our home eighteen years ago. The vinyl siding was not installed properly around our deck stairs and we did not feel that we had any other choices about how this project would play out, because the siding had been contoured around the existing stairs. We hated how that installation had been completed. Not to mention our stairs had settled since the siding was installed and they looked terrible. We knew we would never to happy with our stairs, but that was not what we asked of Hal. We wanted to have the back deck enlarged from the 10x10 to a 12x16, and we were going to leave the stairs where they were and just build out beside them. Although, that was not what we really wanted. Again, we did not feel we had a choice as we had already met with several other vendors and they never offered any other solutions. Each vendor just agreed we did not have any other choices. They were only giving us exactly what we asked for. Not Hal, he is such a perfectionist! He gave us so much more than we ever expected out of this project. He gave us a custom designed deck to fit our home and our needs. He knew he could provide us with exactly what we really wanted. He built out the full 12x16 area, tore down the old stairs and built new stairs and a landing. He fixed the siding and it looks wonderful. We have such a beautiful and enjoyable deck and those ugly stairs that we hated so much are gone for good. Hal is so personable, he's professional, he listens and I mean, he really listens. Hal Wingfield is a true Master Artisan. The attention to detail for a simple deck rebuilt was amazing. Hal's Craftsmanship is top notch. Hands down, if you need a deck built or rebuilt, Hal Wingfield is the only call you need to make. When we started our back deck project, we only intended to have our front stairs and banister removed and rebuilt. By the time Hal was through building the back deck, I told my husband that I could not bare to leave our front porch as it was. Our back deck looked to perfect for the front porch to not match completely. It was all due to Hal's attention to details. At that time, we asked Hal to tear off the front porch and rebuild it as well. All I can say is AMAZING! On a side note, just to give others who are thinking of doing a deck project one extra tip. If we were to ever build or rebuild a new deck in the future, we would pay extra to obtain a prime grade wood. There are a lot of knots in our deck wood that are not doing so well as they are aging. That is by no fault of Hal's. The wood was ordered and delivered by a home improvement store. If we had thought about that possibility up front, we would have chosen a prime grade wood. It just never crossed our mind. That is something that if I had read about it in any reviews when we were researching, I am certain I would have asked for prime grade wood for this project. Even still, the deck and porch are still amazing and we are enjoying them both so much. Our back deck was completed in December 2013 and our front porch was completed in January 2014. We have several other projects that we would like to have Hal complete inside and outside of our home. We look forward to being able to work with him again.
Description of Work
We contacted Wingfield Carpentry to provide a quote to tear off and enlarge our 10x10 back deck and to also remove our front porch steps and banister for them to be rebuilt.
Category
contractors, decks, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking
Leigh S.
3.0
06/21/2014
I have not yet heard back from him on the estimate. He was very fast at coming out and giving the estimate but now he has not responded back to us in about 3 weeks. He was very personable but we still haven't heard from him regardless.
Description of Work
He came out and did an estimate for remodeling our deck.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you so much for responding back when you had not heard from me in so long. You have solved my mystery. Knew I had lost or misplaced a customers info but couldn't figure out who. I do sincerely apologize. If it works for you I will be in Carrollton tomorrow evening and would like to come by and redo the figures for your project and get you a price by weeks end. Again I apologize. Sincerely, Hal Wingfield Wingfield Carpentry
Phycilla G.
5.0
04/29/2014
As a truly good carpenter does, he measured when he gave us the quote but when he was able to work us into his schedule, he came back and measured again before he began to cut any wood. The bookcase was finished in two days, is very study and is truly beautiful. It is a built in bookcase and looks like it belongs there. We would recommend him to anyone and will definitively use him again. But be prepared, he is very popular so he is very busy and you will have to wait but he is worth it because your job will be done right the first time!
Description of Work
Thomas Wingfield is the owner. He built us a beautiful bookcase and charged us exactly what he quoted us. He is truly a master carpenter and does beautiful work.
Category
contractors, handyman service, custom furniture, woodworking
Eric B.
5.0
10/28/2013
Hal did an outstanding job remodeling our deck. He re-designed our deck and greatly improved its usability. Hal is a perfectionist and has a great eye for details.
Description of Work
Hal replaced and improved our back deck.
Category
decks, handyman service, remodeling
Donald R.
5.0
01/18/2013
Hal provided an estimate and performed work; was very professional; quality of work was very good
Description of Work
Installed flooring in my bathroom and performed general plumbing repairs
Category
flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing
Kimberly B.
5.0
10/29/2012
I was very pleased with Hal's work. He has a wonderful eye for detail and is a hard worker. I plan to have him continue working on our home as funds allow
Description of Work
Hal remodeled my kitchen which included opening a doorway back to the dining room that had been closed off in a previous renovation, added cabinetry, adding electrical outlets to the island, creating a pass through over the kitchen sink. He continued the remodeling into the dining room where he installed beadboard, fluted trim on the new doorway to match the existing trim in the dining room, opened a wall to create a small pantry that also provided access to the pass through over the kitchen sink, added lighting, added tile flooring, and built a large custom hutch. The last room he did was the room we originally used as our dining room that became incorporated into the kitchen. He added two cabinets,one of which was custom built to provide an enclosed of the can crusher on the wall with a cut out in the cabinet counter to drop can down into the trash can stored in the cabinet, and the other was store bought and modified to better match the existing cabinetry. Our attic had very little insulation due to its age and he insulated our attic/ On the exterior of the home, he added picket fencing to the rear of the yard and added gutters over the carport, and on the left side of the house
Category
custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, fencing, flooring contractor, gutter repair, handyman service, insulation, lighting, remodeling, custom furniture, woodworking, home remodeling
Thomas T.
5.0
07/25/2012
That guy is the shiv. I would recommend him eleven times out of ten. I don’t remember how much I spent, but I do remember that he beat most of the competitor by about forty percent. He is still doing a job for a friend, and I was out there helping them do some things.
Description of Work
I used Wingfield Carpentry to install a drop ceiling.
Category
remodeling
Trey S.
5.0
06/21/2012
The overall experience was wonderful, and it leaves me optimistic that Mr. Wingfield is going to help me restore many things that have gone wrong with my house over the years. We also discussed the building of an entertainment system for my living room which I am eagerly anticipating.
Description of Work
For my first experience with Mr. Wingfield, he came in and restored my foyer and entryway which had deteriorated due to leaking water and incoming rain. He not only rebuilt the threshhold and foyer, but he sealed the whole doorway nice and tight to prevent further leakage. He and I sat down and went over a whole list of projects that he is going to assist me with, and I look forward to dealing with him in the future. He will be restoring my front porch next, and I have the utmost confidence in his work...he is very knowledgeable, he is very thorough, and he is very trustworthy.
Category
decks, handyman service, remodeling
Kimberly B.
5.0
01/26/2012
He was very patient and attentive to my concerns. We plan to have him return to continue doing other odds and ends that either didn't get done during our renovation of the home or did not get done properly. One of the things I really like about him is that he doesn't "trash talk" other people's work. Meaning he doesn't talk others down to build himself up. He comes in and looks at what you need and gives you an estimate on what he can do it for. Nice guy, very straightforward and does beautiful work.
Description of Work
He fixed the door on the enclosed porch that did not close properly, an interior door that was sticking, reset a pedestal sink that was installed incorrectly, fixed our back door that didn't stay closed unless you used the deadbolt and installed 2 very nice doors on our open crawl space entries.
Category
contractors, handyman service, doors

Phone

Address

5 Cown Rd

Temple, GA 30179

Other Information

Services offered

All manner of home repair and renovation to include carpentry, drywall and all types of flooring. Hand-built adirondack chairs in the classic style including footrests and tables. Hidden compartment cabinets and bookcases, including sliding bookcase "doors"

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Wingfield Carpentry is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Wingfield Carpentry is open:

Sunday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wingfield Carpentry accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Wingfield Carpentry offers free project estimates.

No, Wingfield Carpentry does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Wingfield Carpentry does not offer a senior discount.

No, Wingfield Carpentry does not offer warranties.

Wingfield Carpentry offers the following services: All manner of home repair and renovation to include carpentry, drywall and all types of flooring. Hand-built adirondack chairs in the classic style including footrests and tables. Hidden compartment cabinets and bookcases, including sliding bookcase "doors"

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Ergeon

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Ergeon

Our mission is to empower the world to build and to empower our customers to become their own superheroes. We believe that projects can be done on time, on budget, with reliable quality. We provide our customers with the best support from a highly qualified global workforce and access to user friendly proprietary technology. This opens the door to fast, responsive and friendly service, transparent pricing and quality craftsmanship. As a result any property owner can make their home better without any stress; and enjoy it more with their family and friends. Our services include wood, chain link, vinyl fences and gates installation, wood fence repair and fence staining. Over 9,000 happy customers are enjoying the fences we've built for them over the last 4 years.  

BKB Remodel And Repairs LLC

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

BKB Remodel And Repairs LLC

We are committed to delivering exceptional craftsmanship and personalized service to homeowners seeking to update and enhance their living spaces.  

ARC Gutter Cleaning LLC

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

ARC Gutter Cleaning LLC

ARC Gutter Cleaning LLC is a professional gutter cleaning company located in Marietta, GA. For more information feel free to give us a call. Reliable Gutter Cleaning; Gutter Cleaning; Gutter Washing; Gutter Expert; Gutter Specialist; Gutter Maintenance; Fair Oaks GA; North Decatur GA; Norcross GA; Belvedere Park GA; Powder Springs GA; Gutter Cleaning, Gutter Cleaning Service, Home Gutter Cleaning, Affordable Gutter Repair, Professional Gutter Installation http://guttercleaningmarietta-ga.com/