Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC

Founded 1996 • With Angi since August 2006

4.8

(64) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

60 Old Peachtree Rd NE

Suwanee, GA 30024

Description

Want fast service at a fair price? Holtkamp Heating & Air, Gwinnett's only independent American Standard Customer Care Dealer, is a locally owned company with highly trained HVAC experts that provide unparalleled service, high quality products and energy efficient options for every lifestyle and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/20/2022


Candise D.

Work was performed to complete satisfaction as always with Holtkamp. Pedro is an excellent Technician, and Holtkamp is an excellent company. We have done business with Holtkamp for years and completely trust their technical expertise and integrity of the employees Matthew Holtkamp hires. We subscribe to the yearly maintenance for both HVAC systems and it has proven beneficial in terms of system longevity and in discounts for some services.

Description of Work
Damper Replaced

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kinds words; I will be sure to share them with Pedro. I feel blessed to have a team of great employees. And of having great long time customers like you!
5.0

05/27/2022


Tom P.

Excellent service. It was first time we had Pedro come out for servicing and he was very knowledgeable and efficient. We also had him help us with our thermostat which seemed to be not working properly. He handled the problem and instructed us on how to work it out in the future. Holtkamp equipment and servicing has always been extremely professional and prompt.

Description of Work
Six month checkup

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words! We have a great team of technicians and office staff and are ready for the heat of 2022!
5.0

04/11/2022


David L.

Great. We have been a customer of Holtkamp for over twenty years. When our original HVAC system croaked, we had them replace it with a new and more efficient system. All of our experiences with this company have exceeded our expectations.

Description of Work
Semi-annual checkup of my HVAC system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the review! We really appreciate your business throughout the years.
5.0

08/05/2021


Tony D.

All is working normally again and just in time with the hot weather we are having in our typical summer. Service was done quickly and professionally.

Description of Work
A/C cooling was poor, Holtkamp inspected the system and found evaporator coil was going bad and replaced it.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/12/2021


Lawrence M.

They came out and inspected the whole house asking questions about our comfort throughout the years and observed problems or weaknesses of the old system. They provided me three different quotes based upon level of equipment to be installed. I also looked at other HVAC businesses but Holtkamp's quote seemed to be the most fair and so I purchased one of their options. They gave me some options on how payment could be made and would assist if financing was needed. I received an email confirming the appointment that included a picture of the installer, which was comforting. The installer arrived on time and the installation went smoothly. They took me into the attic to show me all the work they had done and told me how the system operated. They then took me out to the condenser unit and we tested the system. Finally they gave me the instructions on how to operate the thermostat and helped me link it to my smartphone. They booted up my thermostat and showed me how to work it. They answered all of my questions and left the property in a neat and orderly state. The system is working well and I am extremely stratified with the work they completed for me.

Description of Work
My old HVAC system was over 15 years old and I was having to replace certain parts about once per year. It did not make sense to continue to dump money into an older system and so decided to purchase a new system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/06/2021


Robert B.

I'm done with Holtkamp. I called them last year to come check out the downstairs heater unit in my house. They came out, diagnosed the problem, and charged me a thousand bucks to fix it. Fine. Stuff happens. It's part of being a homeowner. Except... The next morning we woke up freezing our tails off upstairs. The thermostat wasn't working at all. It seemed like a bit of a coincidence to me that the upstairs unit would go out just as the downstairs unit got repaired, so I called Holtkamp and expressed my concerns. They sent over a sweet old guy who went back up into the attic and discovered that the last guy must have "accidentally" flipped the switch on the upstairs unit while he was working. (Translation: They wanted to see if I was stupid enough to squeeze another thousand bucks out of.) He gave me a bottle of Holtkamp hot sauce for my troubles and went on his way, and I took down the scathing review I had posted. Fast forward a year, the downstairs unit is out again. I called Holtkamp to see if they had even a modicum of integrity. (Spoiler Alert: They don't.) They said they'd be happy to send another guy out today to "diagnose" the problem for only $89. Sorry, Holtkamp. I can't afford to pay $89 every time I want to turn on the heater. You've got as much of my money as you're ever going to get. Also, your hot sauce sucks.

Description of Work
Heater Repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Over the last 25 years, I've had the pleasure of serving our customers with the highest level of integrity. Now, if you're going to attack our hot sauce, all bets are off! I need you to bring your hot sauce in to our office for a taste test challenge! Seriously though, I'm glad we were able to help you last year to your satisfaction. We do have costs to cover in running our business, so free doesn't work when it comes time to pay our bills. All the best, Matthew Holtkamp
5.0

08/25/2020


Don K.

Called Holtkamp at 7:20 Monday morning after a hot, steamy weekend. Technician showed up by 9:20. Repair completed by 11:00. Cool again by 1:00. Cost was covered by annual service plan and warranty on system Holtkamp installed 7 years ago.

Description of Work
Our Cooling Unit went out in August

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review us. For others reading this, a brief explanation of our warranty is in order. While there are some exclusions, essentially if you renew your maintenance plan every year, we cover all costs associated with repairing or replacing a part which is covered under a manufacturers warranty. Even the service call is free. We call it our "Comfort Match Warranty" Our warranty is bonded and approved annually by the Georgia State Insurance Commissioner.
5.0

07/20/2020


Jennifer S.

I can’t say enough wonderful things about Holtkamp Heating & Air! They are honest and easy to work with from start to finish. Their fantastic office personnel scheduled my service call politely, and Brandon, my technician arrived on time. He was extremely pleasant, efficient, knowledgeable, and honest. He answered all my questions patiently and was very thorough. This company is outstanding!

Description of Work
Repair A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

05/05/2020


Tim M.

Highly recommend Holtkamp. Robbie Lee helped us decide what we needed. Brandon H. and Angelo F. were exceptional. They were prompt, knowledgeable, respectful of our home and efficient. We would recommend them to friends and family for sure.

Description of Work
2 new AC units and 2 furnaces

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

05/21/2019


Lawrence M.

I called, and they responded within 24 hours. They outlined the diagnostic fees upfront and gave a reminder via text and email to confirm the appointment. They called about half an hour before arriving, which was perfect. Matt, the repairperson spotted the issue very quickly (burned out capacitor) and repaired it. He wanted on to find out why the capacitor burned out and discovered I was using the wrong type of filter, which blocked air flow. He changed out the filter for me with the correct one, and the unit now runs perfectly. I appreciated Matt's professionalism and helpfulness. I have worked with Holtkamp Heating and Air Conditioning for many years. They have always been very fair with me, and their work has always been top notch. They installed this A/C unit 13 years ago and other then the capcitor having burned out once before, it has only had regular servicing.

Description of Work
A/C unit was running but not cooling.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/29/2019


Eveg M.

In the summer of 2011, I purchased a foreclosure in Gwinnett that needed a new hvac system and I did a great deal of research on local firms and chose Holtkamp! I have received nothing short of excellent customer service and semi-annual service, I have never had a service issue with my Trane system which includes a furnace, ac unit and electronic air cleaner. Several of my neighbors now use Holtkamp and they are equally as pleased. Forget the rest, get the best... HOLTKAMP!

Description of Work
SEMI-ANNUAL SERVICE

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/21/2018


John D.

Because I am enrolled in their Comfort Club program they send a technician to my home to check my system each spring and fall. I've been in this program since they installed my system a few years back. They automatically call me to schedule these appointments, they show up on time and do a great job ensuring my system is running perfectly. This time they also checked the furnace exhaust to make sure it was hooked up properly after a new roof install. The technicians are friendly and professional. I appreciate the service I receive from this company.

Description of Work
Twice-Yearly System Check

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate your business and appreciate the opportunity to keep you comfortable. Always happy to help!
5.0

07/12/2018


George M.

Our AC died on July 4. I called and talked to a tech support person who was excellent and walked me through what went wrong. Based on that conversation, I had someone come out to decide if repair or replacement was the best option. We decided on replacing (unit was already 13 years old). They came out the next day and replaced it. Very professional. They took their time to make sure that everything was installed perfectly. Couldn't be happier with them. I would definitely recommend them.

Description of Work
Air Conditioner Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/23/2018


Renee T.

The office was able to have a technician out to the house within one hour of calling. This was excellent since the heat wasn't working, and it was getting rather cold. The technician was very knowledgeable and helpful. Since we have an older Trane unit and are new homeowners, he explained the ins and outs of the system, the wiring for the thermostat, and educated us regarding how to maintain the unit. He was able to quickly fix the problem without additional fees other than the service call.

Description of Work
Needed to have a technician check the furnace's wiring and thermostat installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/09/2018


Alice N.

Perfect! Everyone was wonderful to deal with. Polite, smart technician offered clear solutions to issues and good advice with no pressure.

Description of Work
routine check on a new to us home

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/19/2017


Earl G.

Able to arrange for last minute Friday afternoon repair. Polite, stayed late to complete the service. No hidden charges. Great company.

Description of Work
Emergency AC repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/11/2017


Stacey M.

Was very impressed with the salesman, the installers, and the follow up team. The pricing and the warranty and the professionalism of the company was great. I would highly recommend Matthew and his team!

Description of Work
After careful consideration and review by numerous companies I chose Holtkamp to do our new install of our heat pump in the basement.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/19/2017


MARY G.

We chose Holtkamp because they use American Standard systems. The process was very professional. The B rating is due to the fact that the technician forgot to install a filter. When I asked to see the filter and have him show me how to change it, he made an excuse that the system was still " being charged" and led me outside to look at the outside unit and speak with the second tech. I then noticed tech #1 go back to the truck, get a filter, and go back inside to install it. After they left, I checked the filter and it was merely leaning against the fan and not secured to the duct opening at all. Had I not thought to ask and check myself, that debris would have gone straight into the new fan until the next filter change, resulting in at least two months of unfiltered air circulating through the ducts and unit. They received an overall A rating, because when I called them to complain, they promptly sent a tech to install the correct clips ( which should have been done BEFORE the unit was installed). The filter now sits snugly against the duct, catching the dust and fur from our 2 dogs and 2 cats. The follow up QA visit was also very good. The overall feeling is one of a professional and caring company. That one tech was just off his game that day.

Description of Work
Installation of a new 14 SEER/ 2.5 ton HVAC Unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to review us. I appreciate your candor and understanding. We look forward to serving you for many years to come! Matthew Holtkamp
5.0

03/21/2017


Steve L.

They were very professional and thorough; they were here for about 10 hours. I'd trust them to work on my equipment again.

Description of Work
We had our entire hvac system replaced with a 17 seer two stage condensing unit and variable speed blower motor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

12/29/2016


Margaret P.

I wouldn't go back to them. I did not like their honesty. Their prices are very high and I had to get somebody else to repair after they left. Initially, they were okay and then we found out that he was extremely expensive compared to other vendors. We were getting quotes from them for replacement of the units and they were higher than anyone else, for the same product. They could be competitive in their pricing and realistic in their repairs.

Description of Work
They serviced three air conditioning units in my house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

After reviewing the estimate from back in 2013, we had proposed two options using high efficiency, multi-stage heating and cooling equipment, also utilizing the best air cleaner on the market. We used, as we do today, a multi point questionnaire to understand the desire in the features and efficiency that best fits the needs and wants of the client. I can see where this would have been higher than many other options. Our sales personnel try to keep an open line of communication, especially when we might be the first company giving an estimate. This allows us to resubmit if the homeowner decides to reconsider their project parameters. Obviously this didn't work as planned or you wouldn't have reviewed us as you did. For this I personally apologize. Owning our company for over 20 years, I know our prices are very competitive. Typically we appear more expensive on the front end, but I will not sacrifice job quality in parts or in training to give the lowest prices. This allows us to offer the best warranty in Georgia, bonded and approved by the state Insurance Commissioner. Our installations also meet ANSI specifications. What this means is while the price may appear higher, with the operating cost figured in, it is actually less. Most companies will use plastic outdoor platforms, generic brand indoor cooling coils, subcontractors, or even dumping the old refrigerant damaging the atmosphere. We have built a company here at Holtkamp which has quality and integrity as its core mission. I hope one day you will give us another opportunity to show you how we go the extra mile for our customers. Matthew Holtkamp
5.0

07/10/2016


Susan P.

These folks were FANTASTIC!!! Naturally, on the first 96 degree day of the year, my system decided to completely conk out. From the start - the Holtkamp team, from Jennifer in the office, Robbie the salesman, Herman, Shane and the rest of the installation/technician team - were professional, punctual, and very hard working. Due to the temperature both outside and inside, I thought I was going to have to go to a hotel until the installation team could come with my new system. Not so! I've NEVER heard of another company going to this much trouble, but they found me a used outside unit that was compatible with my old system and brought it out and installed it the next day so I would be comfortable over the very hot weekend and into the next week! After my wonderful, new, extremely quiet system was installed, I had some questions about the payment and whether or not a coupon I had could be applied. Jennifer and Mr. Holtkamp worked with me to answer all of my questions, and were an absolute pleasure to interact with. I really feel like these folks have a lot of pride in their work and operate with total integrity. They now have me as a customer for life!

Description of Work
Complete air conditioning/heater replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

06/27/2016


Jim J.

Steve replaced the upstairs unit filter with a spare that I had in the attic. He put the dirty filter downstairs for my inspection and added a handful of insulation on top for effect I guess! I thought the insulation was a little over the top since I have never pulled an air filter that had that and have not seen insulation buildup in the air filter duct. Also, the technician did not change the downstairs unit filter, which I also had a spare for in the attic, or tell my wife that it needed to be changed as it was pretty dirty too. Why not take an extra three minutes to check the other filter too! I may be out of touch with the cost of things but the work required to change an air filter, hose off the unit outside, and add a few bucks worth of Freon for $382 seems like pretty high.

Description of Work
My wife called me at work to find an A/C company to look at our upstairs A/C since it is not keeping up with the current hot weather. The phone person told my wife that there would be a $79 diagnostic fee and the technician could come the same day. The technician, Steve, came within a reasonable time window.The technician found the following issues: dirty air filter for the upstairs unit, dirty outside coils, and low Freon.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/31/2016


Matthew J.

Holtkamp was excellent from the beginning to end. I had 3 other companies give me quotes and compared every aspect of the jobs. Holtkamp offered excellent advice and answered all of my questions as well as offered a great product and installation. I chose them and so far I have been very happy with my new furnaces as I haven't needed the AC yet.

Description of Work
Air conditioner and furnace replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/15/2015


Lee M.

The service representative arrived within the scheduled time period. He promptly went to work after explaining what he would be doing for the service. He replaced the filters on the evaporator style humidifiers, checked all the systems, and performed the work in a professional manner. I would recommend Holtkamp for both installation of new systems and for on-going scheduled maintenance.

Description of Work
Annual scheduled maintenance--first vist

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/23/2015


Cynthia M.

Excellent. Holtkamp's technician made a temporary fix to our leaky system at no charge, to get us by until the next available installation slot. When the scheduled date came, two technicians arrived promptly at 8:00 AM. Both were friendly, professional and efficient. The AC replacement took about three hours, including all work and testing of the new system. No problems at all.

Description of Work
Holtkamp HVAC replaced our old downstairs AC unit (both evap and condenser coils, w/ compressor). The price was very fair, even in the middle of a very hot summer, especially for a modern, quality Trane system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Energy Consulting Services, LLC

    Energy Consulting Services (ECS) is located in Castleberry Hill just south of downtown Atlanta. We are experts in resolving comfort issues and reducing energy usage in homes and apartment complexes. We believe that doing the right thing for the environment is also the right thing for your bank account. We specialize in conducting energy audits to determine where a home or building is losing energy. We then make recommendations based on our findings. We work closely with our sister company Better R Value Insulation so they implement the high priority improvements identified in the audit report in order to make the structure more energy efficient and comfortable. ECS is a top rated Georgia Power contractor and part of the service we provide is to ensure that our clients get maximum rebates available in order to maximize return on investment. Our recommendations are very specific to our client's specific needs. ECS files all rebate paperwork to ensure our clients actually receive their rebate check in a timely fashion. For Angie's List members, we will take 10% off the cost of the audit if you mention this when you call in to schedule the audit. At ECS, we make a point to answer our phones whether you are a new or existing client. We also recognize that your time is valuable and we do our best to hold to our appt time or call if we are going to be even a few minutes late. ECS also has an Earthcraft Technical Advisor on staff and we are happy to certify your single family or multifamily Earthcraft project.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Energy Consulting Services, LLC	 on Angi
    The Resident Hero

    It is our mission as Resident Heroes to provide our customers with the absolute highest quality service at the lowest cost available. We specialize in air duct sanitization, odor elimination, mold remediation, dryer duct cleaning, and relative maintenance repairs. Preserving your safety and the well-being of those living under your roof.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    AirDuct Rescue LLC

    We are proud to be one of the top rated air duct cleaning companies in the Greater Atlanta area. We dedicate our time to do the job right, make sure you breathe the best air in your own home. Our staff has on average over 5 years of experience in the industry guarantee you get the Best for your hard earned money. AirDuct Rescue - "Stop breathing Dusty"  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    CN07948
    Trade License Locale
    Georgia
    Trade License Authority
    State Construction Industry Licensing Board
    Trade License Expiration
    11/30/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Services and Installs Heat Pumps, A/Cs, Furnaces, Dual Fuel Systems, Whole House Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers, Whole House Filtration Systems, Zone Control Systems, Digital Thermostats, Duct Sealing/Cleaning, Insulation, Crawlspace Sealing, Energy Conservation and more.

    Services Not Offered

    Heating and Air Conditioning for New Construction.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC

    How is HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC overall rated?

    HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC open?

    HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC provide

    HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC?

    Yes, HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers warranties.

    What services does HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offer?

    HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC offers the following services: Services and Installs Heat Pumps, A/Cs, Furnaces, Dual Fuel Systems, Whole House Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers, Whole House Filtration Systems, Zone Control Systems, Digital Thermostats, Duct Sealing/Cleaning, Insulation, Crawlspace Sealing, Energy Conservation and more.

    Are there any services HOLTKAMP HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING INC does not offer?

    Heating and Air Conditioning for New Construction.