Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor

Founded 1997 • With Angi since October 2008

5.0

(19) Verified Reviews

Description

We are a full service general contractor offering major aspects of residential remodeling, including design-build services, and specializing in customer satisfaction since 1997. We can provide a turnkey operation or tailor our services to your specific needs, all at an affordable price and on project of most sizes. Our projects include attic and room additions, kitchen and bathroom renovations, screened porches and sunrooms, basement finishes,exterior facelifts and window replacement. Our service area includes much of Metro Atlanta. Please visit our website at www.PennCarpentry.com. we have built our business through referrals based on honesty, professionalism and time honored traditions of craftsmanship. We have always emphasized customer service by providing our client with personable and responsive general contracting services through active communication between all team members, including our client....

Other local Pros in your area

AB LANDSCAPING

AB LANDSCAPING provides general yard maintenance and landscaping services in the Norcross, ATL and surrounding areas. Please call us or click for an estimate today.  

KennMorr

 

Cutting Edge Painting

Cutting Edge Painting is your premium painting company, serving Gwinnett County and beyond. Using Sherwin-Williams products, we provide quality-focused services through our teams of trustworthy professionals to ensure each project we work on reflects our commitment to excellence. We believe that every time we partner with our customers for their renovation or home improvement need, we are given an opportunity to serve and build a relationship with them, and for us, relationship is the goal. Looking to recapture the health and charm of your home? Call us to schedule a free estimate!  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Cutting Edge Painting on Angi

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/15/2016

Greg Penn and his partner Tate Smith took on a substantial renovation based on an architect's design, adding a second floor to a 90-year-old house with beams that had sagged, leaving the walls and floors uneven. From the beginning, they proved to be helpful and creative, suggesting changes that maintained the integrity of the design while saving money. They were not the cheapest of the half dozen ...

Description of Work
Added second floor and improved the ground floor, exterior and foundations

Category ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,hardwood floor,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,water heater repair,woodworking,house painters,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with Penn Carpentry! We appreciate it and hope that you continue to enjoy your renovation.
5.0

06/07/2015

Greg arrives promptly at the appointed time every day, eats lunch at the same time, cleans the job site and leaves at the same time. His quotes and progress statements are precise and detailed and he listens to the homeowners' wishes and preferences. I can't think of a single area where Penn Carpentry let me down.

Description of Work
Refurbished a hideous galley bathroom from the '50's. The job included moving a wall 3 feet back (into another room) so that the room could accommodate a vanity (custom-built by Penn Carpentry). The floor was tiled fixtures installed and the room painted.

Category ceramic tile,countertops,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

5.0

05/13/2015

Greg was phenomenal, I originally thought that expanding the current laundry room was going to be the best idea. Greg came out and we reviewed my idea. He came up with a budget that was fair for the work we wanted done, but to me was not a good value. So Greg came out a second time to consider some alternatives, one of which was to move the the laundry room upstairs. This idea seemed the best, one...

Description of Work
Relocated laundry room to space on second floor, included removing/replacing doors, sheetrock, plumbing, electrical, tile, paint.

Category remodeling

4.0

03/02/2013

Very professional. Went well over all. Wife was impressed.

Description of Work
Gave estimate for kitchen remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

12/02/2012

They were punctual and professional. They did all the work that was asked of them in the 2 hour time that they were here. The two men were polite and were respectful of my home while they were here.would use them again.

Description of Work
We had some construction work done by another group who, unlike Angie's list vendors, were not as accomodating. Needed some odd/end sheetrock work done.

Category drywall,remodeling

5.0

10/03/2012

Tate managed the process from the bid through completion and did an excellent job in meeting our expectations and managing the sub contractors. All of the subs were professional and in the case of the granite company went over and above what we would have expected with advise on color, accent tile selection and final layout. We required a new light fixture to match existing fixtures no longer in production as part of the project. Tate went out of his way to find the final solution.

Description of Work
We remodeled our kitchen which included cabinetry, lighting, tile work and new counter tops. Tate managed the process from the beginning doing a great job of coordinating sub contractors througout the process. All of the subs were professional and in the case of the granite company extremely helpful throughout the process. We required one new light fixture to match existing fixtures no longer manufactured and Tate went out of his way to find the ultimate solution. We are planning a bathroom remodel in the coming year and will definitely use Penn's services again.

Category ceramic tile installer","countertop installation","Lighting","room remodeling","marble contractor","home remodeling contractor","cabinet refacing contractor

5.0

05/25/2012

When I first had them out to bid on the work, I was immediately impressed with the attention to detail. I had requested a shower for the bathroom (stubbed by the builder) to reduce expense. Greg noted that the pipe was placed for a tub install and that while a shower could be installed, it would be have to be custom, and a tub would actually be less expensive. When I had them out a second time to walk through their bid, they had already put a timeline together which met my desired completion date. Throughout the process Tate was very responsive and helped us realize our vision for what we wanted. They finished on time and pretty close to the original budget (I went way over on my lighting allowance, but am extremely pleased with what we got). I strongly recommend these guys and would hire them again for my next project.

Description of Work
Basement finishing including: HVAC installation Plumbing for bar sink and bathroom Custom Built in Bar Wet bar with cabinetry Installation of tankless water heater Drywall painting floors (carpet, tile and engineered hardwoods) Run natural gas line outside for grill hookup Decks undercover installation custom model train shelf with tunnels lighting and fan installation stadium seating platform for home theater

Category carpet installer","drywall contractor","flooring contractor","hardwood floor specialist","heating & cooling contractor","Lighting","plumber","room remodeling","home theater designer","water heater installer","deck cleaner","home remodeling contractor","interior painter","basement contractor

5.0

05/12/2012

When we met with Greg and Tate, they were very professional. They took measurements, looked at the plans we had drawn, gave good advice and came up with a drawing that provided everything we wanted. Greg Penn became our contractor. He gave us options every step of the way, explained the pros and cons of each decision and gave great advice. He provided a schedule and the subcontractors all showed up when they were scheduled and did the work in the estimated time frame. Greg kept in touch with us through every step and set up appointments for us to pick out the granite, the tile, the tub, etc. He followed up as necesary with the various subcontractors and let us know when there were any changes or something didn't work - i.e. the light fixtures we chose were not able to be centered over the sinks, but the spacing turned out fine.He also made people come back if he was not completely satisfied with their work.We are thoroughly enjoying our new bathroom and would highly recommend Greg Penn for a bath remodel or any other home remodel project.

Description of Work
We contracted for a master bath remodel. It involved completely gutting the area, taking in two hall closets and rebuilding a bath and closet. We picked out a 2 sink vanity with granite countertops and make up area in the center. We chose tile floors, a tile shower with glass enclosure, separate soaking tub, separate water closet.We ended up with a bit smaller master closet, but were able to get everything we wanted done in the space.

Category room remodeling","home remodeling contractor

5.0

11/22/2011

It went great. Greg and Tate both came out to our home and were prompt and professional, wearing company apparell, and spent over three hours walking through the entire house, which needed a substantial amount of work. We gave them our "wish list", which included everything that we wanted to accomplish in our house. They promptly provided us with a detailed estimate, broken down on a project-by-project basis, understanding that we had a limited budget and wanted to pick those projects that were most important to us. Once we were able to decide, they commenced work right away. Their subcontractors worked efficiently, for the most part, and their suppliers were amazingly helpful in the product selection process. When we had minor issues with the work of a couple of the subcontractors, Tate was great at handling the issue directly with the subcontractor and insuring that the work was done properly and looked great. The finished product was amazing, with a complete gut of the master and partial remodel of the jack n' jill bath. Their time estimate was accurate, they were up front about costs, and understood what we wanted to accomplish and worked within our budget (and helped us stay on track by providing updates on budget status, the effect of change orders we requested on the budget, etc.). We went slightly over the contract price due to changes we requested, but had we not made those changes, we would have come in at or below budget. Additionally, to save money, we independently hired contractors to perform certain functions, and while certainly not an ideal situation for any contractor, Penn Carpentry was again accomodating to our budget and worked seemlessly with these other guys. After comparing the product and workmanship of Penn against these other guys, we certainly wish we had had Penn do all of the work!

Description of Work
Penn Carpentry assisted with the design and remodel of our master bathroom and a jack and jill bathroom, and also performed general repair services and "handyman" type work with respect to various elements of our new home, including modifying and old built-ins in the basement.

Category room remodeling","home remodeling contractor

5.0

06/15/2011

Great. All sub contractors very professional and trust worthy.

Description of Work
Tree took out back of house. Replaced roof, repaired interior wall, ceilings and floors. Replaced a bathroom.Repaired exterior hardscape, i.e. stairs.

Category drywall contractor","room remodeling","roofer","tree service company","home remodeling contractor","hardscaper

    Services Offered

    General contractor specializing in attic & room additions, basement finishes, kitchens & bathrooms, decks, sunrooms & exterior facelifts. Service area includes Atlanta and Decatur and some parts of Metro Atlanta.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Warranties
    Yes