Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor

Founded 1997 • With Angi since October 2008

We are a full service general contractor offering major aspects of residential remodeling, including design-build services, and specializing in customer satisfaction since 1997. We have built our business through referrals based on honesty, professionalism and time honored traditions of craftsmanship. We can provide a turnkey operation or tailor our services to your specific needs, all at an affordable price and on project of most sizes. Our projects include attic and room additions, kitchen and bathroom renovations, screened porches and sunrooms, basement finishes, exterior facelifts and window replacement. Our service area includes much of Metro Atlanta. Please visit our website at www.PennCarpentry.com.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
RBI 001913
Trade License Locale
State of Georgia
Trade License Authority
State of Georgia
Trade License Expiration
06/30/2018
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(19) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews
Ty T.
5.0
06/15/2016
Greg Penn and his partner Tate Smith took on a substantial renovation based on an architect's design, adding a second floor to a 90-year-old house with beams that had sagged, leaving the walls and floors uneven. From the beginning, they proved to be helpful and creative, suggesting changes that maintained the integrity of the design while saving money. They were not the cheapest of the half dozen contractors whose bids we sought, but they were not the most expensive either. They were certainly the most attentive and straightforward. They didn't try to sell their services. Instead, they offered a clear-eyed assessment of what we could get for the dollars we had, and how long it would take. They did not overpromise. Tate, who ran this particular job, ensured that we came in on time and under budget. He was attentive to detail, and so reliable. As with any project, there were surprises and mishaps. But they were few and none ruffled Tate, who addressed every issue to our satisfaction without complaint. We entered this project with great apprehension, but we couldn't have been in better hands. Penn is a small and experienced company with a stable set of skilled subcontractors. Hire them if you can get them.
Description of Work
Added second floor and improved the ground floor, exterior and foundations
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, water heater repair, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your experience with Penn Carpentry! We appreciate it and hope that you continue to enjoy your renovation.
Matilda A.
3.0
03/24/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Nothing was done
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have never been contracted to do any work for (Removed members name). We have never received an email request or looked at a project or provided an estimate for (Removed members name) This review has been placed on our profile by (Removed members name) in error.
Gale N.
5.0
01/26/2016
.
Description of Work
.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our company. We enjoyed working with you and hope you continue to enjoy your renovation!
Kim S.
5.0
11/10/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Penn renovated (gutted and everything new) our master bathroom. Easily the most professional group I've worked with. The suggested vendors were all super to work with. Work was all performed in the time frame given and I was kept informed of what was going on the entire time. Most importantly, they were incredibly respectful of the rest of my home (we've had other contractors that damaged our home moving cabinets and equipment in and out). Every subcontractor was professional and courteous. The workmanship is gorgeous. Highly recommend them and will use them if we renovate. anything else.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Linda T.
5.0
06/07/2015
Greg arrives promptly at the appointed time every day, eats lunch at the same time, cleans the job site and leaves at the same time. His quotes and progress statements are precise and detailed and he listens to the homeowners' wishes and preferences. I can't think of a single area where Penn Carpentry let me down.
Description of Work
Refurbished a hideous galley bathroom from the '50's. The job included moving a wall 3 feet back (into another room) so that the room could accommodate a vanity (custom-built by Penn Carpentry). The floor was tiled fixtures installed and the room painted.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Stephen W.
5.0
05/13/2015
Greg was phenomenal, I originally thought that expanding the current laundry room was going to be the best idea. Greg came out and we reviewed my idea. He came up with a budget that was fair for the work we wanted done, but to me was not a good value. So Greg came out a second time to consider some alternatives, one of which was to move the the laundry room upstairs. This idea seemed the best, one, I was not using the area (it was difficult to access for storage) and two, the bedrooms are upstairs, with 2 young boys the living room was constantly filled with laundry baskets. We iterated over the plan a couple times, finally deciding on what I think was the best use of the space. His subcontractors were timely and professional. I really couldn't be happier with the outcome. He made it extremely easy for me, taking care of all issues, getting ahead of some. Now that we have the empty laundry room off the kitchen, time for Phase Next. Whatever that will be, I'll be sure to use Greg and Penn Carpentry. Thanks again for a great experience.
Description of Work
Relocated laundry room to space on second floor, included removing/replacing doors, sheetrock, plumbing, electrical, tile, paint.
Category
remodeling
John K.
4.0
03/02/2013
Very professional. Went well over all. Wife was impressed.
Description of Work
Gave estimate for kitchen remodel
Category
remodeling
Karen P.
5.0
12/02/2012
They were punctual and professional. They did all the work that was asked of them in the 2 hour time that they were here. The two men were polite and were respectful of my home while they were here.would use them again.
Description of Work
We had some construction work done by another group who, unlike Angie's list vendors, were not as accomodating. Needed some odd/end sheetrock work done.
Category
drywall, remodeling
Andrea S.
5.0
10/03/2012
Tate managed the process from the bid through completion and did an excellent job in meeting our expectations and managing the sub contractors. All of the subs were professional and in the case of the granite company went over and above what we would have expected with advise on color, accent tile selection and final layout. We required a new light fixture to match existing fixtures no longer in production as part of the project. Tate went out of his way to find the final solution.
Description of Work
We remodeled our kitchen which included cabinetry, lighting, tile work and new counter tops. Tate managed the process from the beginning doing a great job of coordinating sub contractors througout the process. All of the subs were professional and in the case of the granite company extremely helpful throughout the process. We required one new light fixture to match existing fixtures no longer manufactured and Tate went out of his way to find the ultimate solution. We are planning a bathroom remodel in the coming year and will definitely use Penn's services again.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, lighting, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, cabinet refacing
Sarra K.
5.0
05/25/2012
When I first had them out to bid on the work, I was immediately impressed with the attention to detail. I had requested a shower for the bathroom (stubbed by the builder) to reduce expense. Greg noted that the pipe was placed for a tub install and that while a shower could be installed, it would be have to be custom, and a tub would actually be less expensive. When I had them out a second time to walk through their bid, they had already put a timeline together which met my desired completion date. Throughout the process Tate was very responsive and helped us realize our vision for what we wanted. They finished on time and pretty close to the original budget (I went way over on my lighting allowance, but am extremely pleased with what we got). I strongly recommend these guys and would hire them again for my next project.
Description of Work
Basement finishing including: HVAC installation Plumbing for bar sink and bathroom Custom Built in Bar Wet bar with cabinetry Installation of tankless water heater Drywall painting floors (carpet, tile and engineered hardwoods) Run natural gas line outside for grill hookup Decks undercover installation custom model train shelf with tunnels lighting and fan installation stadium seating platform for home theater
Category
carpet installation, drywall, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home theater design, water heater repair, deck cleaning, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling
Denise G.
5.0
05/12/2012
When we met with Greg and Tate, they were very professional. They took measurements, looked at the plans we had drawn, gave good advice and came up with a drawing that provided everything we wanted. Greg Penn became our contractor. He gave us options every step of the way, explained the pros and cons of each decision and gave great advice. He provided a schedule and the subcontractors all showed up when they were scheduled and did the work in the estimated time frame. Greg kept in touch with us through every step and set up appointments for us to pick out the granite, the tile, the tub, etc. He followed up as necesary with the various subcontractors and let us know when there were any changes or something didn't work - i.e. the light fixtures we chose were not able to be centered over the sinks, but the spacing turned out fine.He also made people come back if he was not completely satisfied with their work.We are thoroughly enjoying our new bathroom and would highly recommend Greg Penn for a bath remodel or any other home remodel project.
Description of Work
We contracted for a master bath remodel. It involved completely gutting the area, taking in two hall closets and rebuilding a bath and closet. We picked out a 2 sink vanity with granite countertops and make up area in the center. We chose tile floors, a tile shower with glass enclosure, separate soaking tub, separate water closet.We ended up with a bit smaller master closet, but were able to get everything we wanted done in the space.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Corey M.
5.0
11/22/2011
It went great. Greg and Tate both came out to our home and were prompt and professional, wearing company apparell, and spent over three hours walking through the entire house, which needed a substantial amount of work. We gave them our "wish list", which included everything that we wanted to accomplish in our house. They promptly provided us with a detailed estimate, broken down on a project-by-project basis, understanding that we had a limited budget and wanted to pick those projects that were most important to us. Once we were able to decide, they commenced work right away. Their subcontractors worked efficiently, for the most part, and their suppliers were amazingly helpful in the product selection process. When we had minor issues with the work of a couple of the subcontractors, Tate was great at handling the issue directly with the subcontractor and insuring that the work was done properly and looked great. The finished product was amazing, with a complete gut of the master and partial remodel of the jack n' jill bath. Their time estimate was accurate, they were up front about costs, and understood what we wanted to accomplish and worked within our budget (and helped us stay on track by providing updates on budget status, the effect of change orders we requested on the budget, etc.). We went slightly over the contract price due to changes we requested, but had we not made those changes, we would have come in at or below budget. Additionally, to save money, we independently hired contractors to perform certain functions, and while certainly not an ideal situation for any contractor, Penn Carpentry was again accomodating to our budget and worked seemlessly with these other guys. After comparing the product and workmanship of Penn against these other guys, we certainly wish we had had Penn do all of the work!
Description of Work
Penn Carpentry assisted with the design and remodel of our master bathroom and a jack and jill bathroom, and also performed general repair services and "handyman" type work with respect to various elements of our new home, including modifying and old built-ins in the basement.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Mimi S.
5.0
06/15/2011
Great. All sub contractors very professional and trust worthy.
Description of Work
Tree took out back of house. Replaced roof, repaired interior wall, ceilings and floors. Replaced a bathroom.Repaired exterior hardscape, i.e. stairs.
Category
drywall, remodeling, roofing, tree service, home remodeling, hardscaping
Mary T.
5.0
06/05/2011
If there were A+'s to give Penn Carpentry, we'd give all of them we could! We couldn't be happier with the experience of working with this firm, and especially with Tate Smith. The contract called it a "whole house facelift," but it was so much more--it was a rejuvenation of a 1950's brick ranch in a neighborhood of look-alike homes. Greg Penn and Tate Smith came together to walk through and prepare the bid on a beat-up HUD foreclosure that we bought with the intention to rent after refurbishment; they were personable and entirely professional in appearance and demeanor as we discussed possibilities. Their bid was in line with others we received, and their advice was helpful to us as first-time prospective landlords. They listened well, as did we when we checked references (all glowing), and when Tate took the assignment for our contract, he continued to do so. The roof was replaced immediately to prevent further damage to the interior. Then, on their recommendation, we were introduced to an architect (who also listened well to what we wanted and incorporated our ideas) who drew plans for submission for permits, as the work required was structural as well as cosmetic. Once plans were approved, the kitchen and some interior walls were demolished; a sagging floor was shored up in the crawl space; bathroom fixtures were selectively removed; and new spaces were defined and expertly framed. The master bedroom has a new bathroom; the kitchen has a laundry area and gas appliance connections; the living room has opened up to the kitchen in a way that is far more modern than anything else on the street; the hardwood floors are like new (and some of them are new); everything is painted, inside and out; a new air conditioning condenser unit is in place; wiring has been updated and upgraded; and the plumbing has had a complete overhaul. In fact, much of the plumbing has been done twice: when work was almost complete, the cleaners found they had no water to work with. Vandals had turned off water at the street and proceeded to rip--literally, rip--out the copper that had been installed. Tate informed us immediately, and couldn't have been more horrified if it had been his own house. We had to pay for a re-do, of course (in PVC plastic pipe this time), but Tate did not add the usual 20% contractor's fee, saying he "wouldn't dream of profiting from our misfortune." The finished work is simply beautiful--so much so, that our daughter and her family, who have lived nearby for six years, are moving in! This process took several months to get going, but once underway, progress was swift and sure, and the work was done, including the repairs after the vandalism, in about 4-1/2 months. Because we live 3 states away, we couldn't be there often to watch as things progressed, but we had no fears and we have no regrets. The price and terms were fair and reasonable, the workmen careful about cleaning up after themselves, especially outside. Penn Carpentry has our wholehearted endorsement.
Description of Work
This was a major interior remodel and exterior spruce-up of a neglected 1950's brick ranch house. Outside, the roofing shingles and gutters were replaced, fascia and soffits were repaired, porch columns and carport supports were replaced, and all trim work was painted. Sagging floor in '70's addition at rear of house was reinforced and properly supported with pillars and beams in crawl space. HVAC, plumbing, and electrical systems were evaluated and repaired/replaced/upgraded as needed, including a new A/C compressor unit. Inside, the kitchen was gutted and redesigned, adding a pantry as well as new cabinets and appliances; laundry was moved from a carport storage room to a new room off the kitchen; master bath was enlarged, improved with new floor, toilet, and double sink, and connected to master bedroom, with an added closet; second bath had vanity, sink, and toilet replaced; new lighting and plumbing fixtures were installed throughout; gas hookups for stove and dryer were added; doorway between living room and kitchen was greatly widened to create modern open concept; new hardwood floors were installed in kitchen and former den area after tile was removed; existing hardwood floors were repaired, and floors were refinished throughout; new tile flooring was installed in master bath, and existing tile work was repaired as needed; interior doors and woodwork were replaced where damaged, and all woodwork and walls were painted.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters
John E.
5.0
05/28/2010
Our renovation experience was awesome! We are now enjoying our new space and doing our best not to gloat to friends who warned us about living in our basement while our top floor was expanded and renovated. Our project was completed right on time and almost exactly on budget. Greg told us exactly what fixtures and features we needed to decide on, and he gave us great guidance when we needed it; so all the decision making that we'd been told would be so stressful turned out to be part of a fun and memorable experience. Greg also updated us on a regular basis about timing and budget issues, so we knew there wouldn't be any surprises at the end. We highly recommend Penn Carpentry, and we?re looking forward to a basement renovation in the near future.
Description of Work
Expansion and remodel of attic into master suite and expansion of kitchen.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
David H.
5.0
05/26/2010
The short story: both jobs were on time and on budget. Most people are shocked when we say this. But one would be naive to think that any home renovation job is all smooth. But with Penn, you are completely aware of changes in scope and in the event that something does go wrong, Penn will make it right, even at their own expense. Their cost plus arrangement provides complete visibility to the costs of the job, there are no surprises. We suggest scheduling regular check ins on how the job is proceeding against the budget. However, as the homeowner, you do have some responsibility. Penn does not pay anyone to manage their relationship to you. They are working contractors. So if you take responsibility for keeping in touch, are disciplined in keeping your job within scope, have the flexibility to make some purchases on your own and are timely with responses needed by the subs, you can hit your dates and budget. The most impressive thing about Penn to us is how much their sub-contractors value their relationship to Penn. Often they will make sure you are happy just so Penn always gets a good report. Penn Carpentry is here to be referred and provide a good experience for its customers.
Description of Work
Penn actually performed two home renovations for us. On the first job they added a den and bedroom to the back of the house and converted another room into a bedroom. On the second, they expanded our kitchen and added another bedroom to the front of the house.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Paul F.
5.0
04/04/2010
Our architect had used Penn for some of his own house projects and we called some people we knew had used them but were not on Penn’s reference lists. We liked what we heard (on time, on budget, good quality) and their budget was reasonable. They are a cost-plus contractor, but have years of experience with such contracts and we were told that they come very close to their projected budget. In our case, we were in the house on time (even though there were lots of delays because of rain) and on budget. There were some minor glitches along the way (as in all house renovations), but all were handled professionally and satisfactorily. There was nothing we requested that was not fulfilled. We are very detail-oriented and need a lot of communication to feel comfortable that things are going as planned. Tate, who led our project, was easy to get a hold of and responsive. Based on their track record, we trust that they will indeed honor their 12-month warranty. In the end, we are very happy with the quality and are enjoying our new home. If we had to do another renovation, we would use Penn Carpentry again.
Description of Work
We drew up plans with an architect for taking a 2 BR-1BA 1950 ranch and adding a master suite, a new utility closet and laundry room, a large screened porch, small deck and opening up the interior (knocking down walls, smoothing stucco ceilings, adding tray ceilings and moving kitchen). We talked with eight contractors, received bids from four and chose Penn.
Category
decks, remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing, sunrooms
Merrimac P.
5.0
01/11/2010
We were very pleased with Penn Carpentry. They completed the project on time and within budget.
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel including powder room and small office.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Janice W.
5.0
12/16/2009
We love the wonderful aspects to our home which are the results of projects completed by Penn Carpentry. From the beginning steps of the planning to the completion of all projects, the process went very smoothly. Greg and Tate showed a genuine interest and were very eager to please. They were professional, extremely knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. It was important to us to keep the integrity of our 1930s home and Greg and Tate truly respected and honored that. Greg was the person we worked with more directly and he patiently listened to all of our questions and promptly responded. We were treated with Greg's can-do attitude, regular updates, open communication and his valuable sharing of ideas to assist in our decision making. It is amazing how flexible he is regarding changes we wanted and how he could easily come up with ideas to help guide us to make the best and most attractive decisions. Greg also worked well with our architect. Penn's quality of work is excellent. The sub-contractors are highly qualified, trustworthy and reliable, just like Penn Carpentry. Penn was within budget-that is very important to Greg and Tate. The projects were completed timely. As you can see, we highly recommend Penn Carpentry.
Description of Work
We have used Penn Carpentry for two projects and will definitely use them for our future projects! The first project was a major raising of our roof to create a second floor with an awesome master suite, laundry room, a guest bedroom with bath and book nook/library. And on the main level, Penn added a spectacular screen porch with a vaulted ceiling. Recessed lighting was installed in the ceilings for all rooms on the main floor. Five months later we again hired Penn for projects on our main level. Penn remodeled a bathroom, raised a ceiling in a bedroom and removed walls to create a more open area.
Category
custom cabinets, decks, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

Phone

Address

1008 Fountain Lakes Ct

Lawrenceville, GA 30043

Other Information

Services offered

General contractor specializing in attic & room additions, basement finishes, kitchens & bathrooms, decks, sunrooms & exterior facelifts. Service area includes Atlanta and Decatur and some parts of Metro Atlanta.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor offers free project estimates.

Yes, Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor offers warranties.

Penn Carpentry LLC - General Contractor offers the following services: General contractor specializing in attic & room additions, basement finishes, kitchens & bathrooms, decks, sunrooms & exterior facelifts. Service area includes Atlanta and Decatur and some parts of Metro Atlanta.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We specialize in custom install and sight finish of solid hardwood flooring, but can do anything with wood floors.  

Next Level Airbrush

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Next Level Airbrush

We are a Painting company specializing in Wall Murals. We have over 25 years experience with painting on just about any surface that paint will stick to. On average, we can paint a mural within one week, so we get to know our clients on most of our projects. We truly enjoy all the places we get to travel to painting what our clients want.  

Ventura Painting

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

Ventura Painting

We are a friendly-family owned business that originated in Lawrenceville, GA in 2009. We offer a multitude of services that meet our customers needs. We strive to provide punctuality and precision to our work as well as to our customers.