Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Martinez Stone Mason

With Angi since December 2011

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

3.6

(7) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews
Christopher S.
1.0
07/31/2014
We had great expectations since we were multiple repeat customers. However, that was not the case with this project. Oscar was quick to schedule us and told us it would be a two week project. His crew would work two days on and then disappear for up to four days at a time. We were peppered with excuses until he admitted he was taking other jobs in between ours. We were understanding at first but we were not after the 10 week mark. We started becoming upset when we noticed the pizza oven was not level, the natural gas grill was not vented and the refrigerator was not mounted securely to the stone. We also pointed out that the grouts were multiple colors and the ceiling of the pavilion looked unprofessional. It was hard enough to get him on-site and impossible for him to correct the flaws. To make matters worse, he trashed multiple sections of our Bermuda sod and left trash and debris all over our yard. Tools, clothing, food, and trash littered our back yard. We have since gotten quotes to fix all of the issues at a price tag of $4000. Other masons have pointed out that the stonework included a lot of smaller filler rocks that are typically waste product of chipped stone. We are extremely upset with the lack of professionalism displayed by Oscar and the sub par work.
Description of Work
They built a stacked stone outdoor kitchen that included a brick pizza oven, grill and refrigerator with a pavilion style roof.
Category
fireplaces, home builders
Christopher S.
2.0
07/08/2014
2011 - Hiring Oscar was the best decision we made during the exterior renovation of our home. His crew was always on time and the project came in under budget and within a reasonable timeline. He worked closely with our 3rd party engineer and County Inspectors in implementing the safest way to add the twenty five foot stacked stone veneer to our home. His creativity with the stone design was a major asset. He was able to integrate multiple stone types to create an artistic feel to the entrance of our home. He was able to interpret our vision into a workable plan that exceeded our expectations. His team was very thorough during each stage of the project (from demolition to clean up). We are extremely pleased with the end result and will definitely use his services again when we add a flagstone walkway. 2014 - Our opinion of Oscar's work has drastically changed. Our last project was a nightmare. This two week project dragged out to be over 10.weeks. This was mainly due to his showing up for two days and then disappearing for four days. He was not punctual, he showed up when he wanted, took other jobs in between ours and kept us waiting for the project to be done. His crew cut corners on the job, trashed our lawn near the work site, and left food and garbage through out our back yard.It seemed like he was over budget and cut the mason crew from the job and attempted to finish on his own. He failed to mount the refrigerator, didn't provide ventilation for the gas grill, installed the pizza oven crooked and left the finishing details undone. Quite frankly, he left the outdoor kitchen in such bad shape we had to hire another mason to complete it. His incompetence cost us an additional $4000 on top of what we paid him. This does not even include the 're-soding of our backyard.
Description of Work
We contracted Martinez Stone Mason to do the following projects: 1. Stacked stone mailbox with two retaining walls. 2. Twenty five foot stacked stone vaneer added to the center elevation of our home. This included flagstone/keystone archways at door entrance, new steps and stoop, as well as decorative elements above windows. 3. Two stacked stone columns leading from our deck to the patio. 4. 500 square foot Belgard Mega Arbel paver patio with stacked stone fire pit. 5. Two decorative boulder retaining walls with steps (over 100 linear feet in total) 6. 7/8/2014 - Build an outdoor kitchen with brick pizza oven, grill and refrigerator with a pavilion style roof.
Category
masonry, pavers, gravel, stucco, stamped concrete
Gail N.
5.0
04/23/2014
Oscar Martinez returned my initial email/phone calls very promptly and set up an appointment quickly to come out and provide an estimate. His crew started when they said they would and completed the job within a couple of weeks (there were a few rain delays). We also had our home siding replaced by another contractor at the same time and he worked with that contractor to coordinate when the crews needed to show up. Our stacked stone looks beautiful and we are extremely happy with the work. We would have him do future projects for us and would highly recommend.
Description of Work
We had Martinez Stone works do a stacked stone water table around the front of our house, stone work on the front steps and sidewalk and a stacked stone retaining wall.
Category
masonry
Mike L.
5.0
04/01/2014
Fantastic stone work! Oscar is committed to quality and customer satisfaction. Would hire again and would recommend. Pleasant to work with.
Description of Work
Stacked stone mailbox and walls.
Category
masonry
Gary N.
2.0
03/24/2014
Install on time, but have later observed that the patio is not level. Water is puddling at the center of the stone patio. Not 100% pleased with quality of the work
Description of Work
Stone patip
Category
masonry
Robert M.
5.0
03/04/2013
Fast response and great service. Very cost competitive. Will definitely hire again should the need arise. Be sure to draw a sketch of what you want and work with them to make sure they understand what you envision as a end product. Once they are clear on making it the way you want it then stand back and let them do their work. They replaced my fireplace stonework with real rock. They worked with me on the design and were flexible to my input. They were the first to respond with a quote, showed up when they said they would and finished on time on budget. 5 stars.
Description of Work
Took out old fireplace stone (synthetic) and replaced it with real rock. Amazing job. What a difference.
Category
masonry
Lisa M.
5.0
10/11/2012
After calling and making appointments with other masons, Martinez is the only one that showed up. I had some mortar missing from some of the bricks around windows. I showed them to Mr Martinez. He asked if that was all I wanted done and I said yes. He asked if I cared about matching the color which I did not. He said $50 and I said go to work. He was here about 45 minutes and did what I wanted. I will call him again if I need masonry work done.
Description of Work
He replaced missing mortar from my brick siding.
Category
masonry

Other local Pros in your area

Fillo Painting Contractor Inc.

Fillo Painting proudly serves both residential and commercial clients of the North Metro Atlanta area. We offer professional interior painting, as well as exceptionally high-quality exterior painting services on homes and businesses. We are a full-service painting company, and use only the highest-quality materials on your home or business property. All of our painters are experienced professionals, so you can get professional-grade painting, inside and out, for a fair and competitive price. We serve the greater Atlanta, Marietta, Johns Creek, Alpharetta, Woodstock, Kennesaw, Canton, Roswell, Vinings, East Cobb, Sandy Springs, Acworth, Milton, Cumming, Suwanee, Smyrna, Brookhaven, Mableton, Buckhead, GA and other surrounding areas.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Pedro Painting LLC.

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Redline Stone Solutions

We have been in business since 2012. We pride our company on reliability, great communication, integrity and quality work. We strongly believe in giving our absolute best in all the work we perform. We are experts in our trade and will always keep you educated about the work process. We look forward to earning your business.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

unknown

Cumming, GA 30040

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Martinez Stone Mason is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

No, Martinez Stone Mason does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Martinez Stone Mason offers the following services: Designing & building of fireplaces, columns, house, patios, retaining walls, chimneys, water falls, masonry, stucco, ponds, concrete, walks & stone.