Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Handy Hero Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since March 2010

4.8

(102) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

745 Atlanta Rd Ste 204

Cumming, GA 30040

Description

Handy Hero is a professional, full-service Georgia remodeling, handyman, and home improvement company proudly serving Cumming, Dawsonville, Alpharetta, Roswell, Johns Creek, Duluth, Suwanee, Buford, Sugar Hill and surrounding areas. At Handy Hero, our main goal is customer satisfaction. In fact, we aim to build a long-term relationship with all our customers. Due to the experience and skills of our technicians, we at Handy Hero are able to offer a wide variety of services including any type of repair or maintenance for your home. In addition to our qualified Georgia handyman services, we also offer a wide range of home improvements including kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, complete basement remodeling, arbors, screen porches and decks. We also design and build custom cabinets: from entertainment centers, to wet bars, built-in bookcases, built-in closets, shelves, etc. See web for additional services. Additional contact name - Shannon Kimoto. handyheroinc.com...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/30/2019


Steve M.

Adrian did a great job. This project had a lot of components because the openings where we installed two sets of doors needed to be reduced. This required drywall work, decorative moldings to be replaced, the doors to be installed. It was a big project. It's amazing and exactly what we wanted.

Description of Work
We added two double french doors with glass panes to our formal living room.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/19/2018


Pamela S.

I called on Friday afternoon after the LG tech confirmed the new dryer was not the problem, it was electrical. After I spoke with Hiro, I received a quick response from David Eckhardt who offered to be at my house at 7:00 Monday morning! David showed up on time, was extremely knowledgable and fixed the problem. Since he showed up so early I asked if he would have time to install smoke alarms, thermostats and dimmer switch. I also had painters here that David had to work around and he was so professional and respectful to the crew. I would highly recommend Handy Hero and request David if possible!!

Description of Work
Dryer outlet or breaker causing dryer not to heat. Also needed new eccobee thermostats installed, dimmer switch and new smoke alarms.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Dear Ms. [Member Name Removed], I apologize for the late reply, but I still wanted to thank you for taking the time to review the service you received by Handy Hero. We look forward to servicing you again in the near future! Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero www.handyhero.net 678-455-2434

5.0

03/04/2018


Michele R.

Great! From scheduling to completion, I was very pleased with Handy Hero and would definitely use them again! The technician worked quickly and efficiently, which I appreciated as I was paying by the hour. He was very knowledgable and professional.

Description of Work
General handyman services - caulking, painting, weather stripping.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy day to review the services you received from Handy Hero. We truly appreciate it and look forward to serving you again in the very near future. Best. Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero www.handyhero.net 678-455-2434

4.0

09/12/2017


Antonia L.

There was no charge.? They were fine.? I wouldn't say they were amazing.? They were somewhere in the middle.? The lady that came was pretty personable. She was a nice.? They were a little bit expensive because I got a couple of estimates and they were a little more. I would possibly consider using them again.

Description of Work
I think that was for paint. I got an estimate from them. I didn't use them though. It was for interior painting.

Category interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], It is true that we are not the least expensive company out there. But please do remember that when you hire Handy Hero, you are hiring a piece of mind as well, in that we are licensed and fully insured with both Worker's Comp and General Liability Insurance -- which protects you and your property -- as well as bonded. And we have a 1 year warranty on workmanship -- so when you hire Handy Hero, we are with you for one full year to address free-of-additional-charge -- any issues that may come up within that time. So that is probably why our prices are a bit more. We invest in these factors as a better means to serve our clients. Another analogy is, with Handy Hero, you are investing in a Mercedes instead of a Volkswagen. The choice is yours. Best. Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero www.handyhero.net 678-455-2434

5.0

07/18/2017


VICKI S.

I had a great experience with this provider. He called and emailed exactly as he said he would, and provided straightforward, easy to understand information and pricing. The technician was actually early by a few minutes and went to work immediately. He worked without pause for several hours to complete all the work I asked for. He did a great job and not only left the area clean, he carried away all the trash that the doors were packed in, etc. Couldn't have asked for more, and the cost was very reasonable. I highly recommend them!

Description of Work
A technician came out to install several sets of closet doors, a utility room door, and a storm door, as well as add some decorative shoe molding in the kitchen area.

Category handyman service, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], We are happy that you are pleased with the services Handy Hero provided. This makes our day as well. We look forward to servicing you again in the near future! Best. Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero www.handyhero.net 678-455-2434

5.0

03/09/2017


Nancy A.

FANTASTIC! Very efficient worker. Everything was done perfectly and fast. His name was Viorel Nicolae.

Description of Work
Drywall patch, shower grout, fix drawers, paitn and fix shower ceiling

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for taking the time to review our company and we are pleased that our technician, Vio, did such a fantastic job. Please call Handy Hero at 678-455-2434 for any future projects! Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc.

5.0

12/01/2016


Nathalie C.

Vio Rel Micolae did a great Job. I am very pleased.

Description of Work
Sheet rock and wall repair.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Good Afternoon [Member Name Removed], thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to servicing you again. Wishing you and your family a wonderful holiday season. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc.

5.0

11/10/2016


David A.

So far the results look very professional and appealing. The work was completed in a short amount of time and they cleaned-up fully after they were done. They communicated the various options available to me for each repair job and allowed me to select the option which best fit my needs and budget.

Description of Work
I hired Handy Hero to handle 4 home repair/improvement jobs which needed to be done in my townhome: - clean and resurface the garage floor with EpoxyShield coating - remove popcorn ceiling from entryway (5'x5'), repair crack in ceiling and repaint - remove parkay wood floor in entryway and replace with tile - replace master bath toilet

Category drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing, interior painters

5.0

10/11/2016


Kristen H.

Patrick did our handy work and he was AMAZING!!!! He was on time, super friendly, did great work, and truly was valuable to us! We can't rave enough about him!

Description of Work
Hanging fans, installing light dimmers, raising bathroom cabinets, installing new sink fixtures, fixing leak in basement, and adding wooden slope to deck step.

Category carpet installation, decks, drywall, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

10/04/2016


Philip C.

Excellent. They were $400 below a competing quote from RS Andrews. David was very prompt, friendly, and efficient, and took the time to explain a few things about my other natural gas appliances while he was there. He performed the services on the same day that the quote was given and did an excellent job. I will consider Handy Hero for other projects in the future as they offer a wide range of remodeling and cabinetry services.

Description of Work
Installing a natural gas line to a laundry room.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/11/2016


William G.

Fine. David Eckhardt, the technician sent out was very personable, knowledgeable and professional.

Description of Work
Diagnose and repair two problem electrical circuits, drywall repairs and fix stripped screws in closet door.

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Mr. [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to review our company. We have since completed two additional pressure-washing projects for you and are awaiting to schedule a third. We value you as our customer and enjoy providing professional-quality services. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc. www.handyhero.net

1.0

07/12/2016


JACKIE B.

I contacted Hiro Kimoto and he was not interested at all in giving me an estimate. He put it bluntly stating, ?I am not interested.?

Description of Work
Estimate on Kitchen and Utility Room Remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

06/16/2016


Mitchell S.

The gentleman showed up to give me the quote the following day. He was very knowledgeable and courteous. He said that it would probably take about five or six hours to complete the job. He then said that it would probably cost around $800 for the work. I don't see how one man can charge $125 an hour for labor.hey did say that he had to split it with the owner of the company and that was why It was so high. I could've hired a team of four-man for eight hours for what they wanted to do the job.

Description of Work
I called to see about having a piece of trim replaced along the bottom side of a deck 9 feet off the ground. The gentleman who answered the phone was very polite and courteous and sent his man out the following Monday for a estimate.I was providing all of the materials and they were just going to provide the labor to remove the old tram and reinstall the new one.

Category handyman service

1.0

05/12/2016


Kathryn M.

We contacted this company and spoke with a gentleman who instructed us to fill out the online form and someone would call us later that day,no one did.I waited a few days and then sent them a message informing them that no one had contacted us,were they interested in the job? Again,no response. I can only assume that the Handyman has enough business and doesn't need ours.I would have liked to have heard that from him. The date I sent the message is a guess,I'm not exactly sure of the date it was sent.

Description of Work
We were requesting a quote on some repairs to our back deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Please accept our apologizies for not answering but we were unable to access our messages on Angie's List for several weeks due to their website being reconstructed. I've also looked up your original request and see that it is for a property in Snellville which is 35 miles from us and not in our service area. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

5.0

04/08/2016


RICHARD M.

David the repair tech was great. He promptly diagnosed and located the problem came up with an agreeable solution and then proceeded to complete the repair. He was persistent in making sure it was properly repaired. Very professional and polite. Did a great job.

Description of Work
Stopped squeaky floors in kitchen

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Handy Hero appreciates your review and we look forward to servicing you again in the near future! Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc.

5.0

03/30/2016


Joel C.

I called Handy Hero's office Monday to see if the work could be done, and the owner (I think) told me I would get a call from a service tech that day. David called me, left msg, then texted me. I replied to the text, we set up an appointment for today (Wednesday) between 9 & 10. He arrived at 9:30 and completed the work in an hour. David knew exactly what was needed, advised me that it would be best to tighten the unit enough so it would not get loose again if we left the faucet arm in position over the disposer side of the sink, and mostly used the hose to work in the left side sink. He immediately started on the dryer vent inside, discovered that the lint in the hose was wet, and checked the outside vent opening, found a bird's nest, removed it, cleaned the ceiling vent pipe and was done at 10:30. David is very understanding and quite knowledgeable, efficient and very pleasant to deal with. I would hire Handy Hero again without hesitation. Their rate, compared to others is reasonable, and the response was very prompt. Joel

Description of Work
Repaired (tightened) loose Moen pull out hose kitchen faucet, cleared dryer vent that runs up wall across inside ceiling between joists and through outside wall. Found bird's nest in outside vent pipe, cleared out.

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Sir, for your very detailed review! We look forward to servicing you again soon. Please visit our website at [hyperlink removed] to see all the services we provide in addition to handyman services such as Kitchen & Bath & Basement remodels and decks. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc.

5.0

02/04/2016


Janis G.

I needed work done in a small bedroom: widen the closet and install bi-fold doors, and install engineered hardwood flooring. Mark did the estimate which was clear and stated what would be done, the cost for their materials, the cost for their labor, and which materials I was responsible for acquiring. The estimate was in line with estimates I received from other companies. Once I decided to use Handy Hero, I was pleased to learn that they would send the carpenter who would perform the work within the week to preview the work area. Patrick, the carpenter sent by Handy Hero, called to schedule a time to come on a Friday for the closet, and was here on time. He looked at the work he would need to do, explained how he would do it and how he would cover bulky furniture to keep it clean, and asked if I had any further questions. To that extent, he also explained that although he had experience installing flooring, a person who specializes in flooring would contact me regarding the floor. He said he could start working on the closet at 9 a.m. on Monday. Patrick was on time (each day) and made quick work of the closet which looks fantastic now! Not only that, but he worked with the Handy Hero owner regarding the flooring, and was also able to install the flooring! I could not be happier with the results! So all-in-all, the work that was performed was removal of an existing door, drywall demolition, framing and drywalling a new opening for the wider doors, installing the doors, installing door trim, adding 3 new shelves on each end of the closet, and painting the doors and new trim. For the flooring, I had already removed the old carpet and padding, so Patrick removed the tack-strips from the concrete slab, cleaned the floor, rolled out the thin padding, installed the engineered hardwood floor in the bedroom and newly-widened closet, installed a threshold, and installed floor molding. The entire work took just over 3 days, only because he had to leave early one day. I would definitely recommend Handy Hero, and especially Patrick, to others.

Description of Work
Widened the opening to an existing closet and installed bi-fold doors and new shelves. Installed engineered hardwood flooring in small bedroom.

Category carpet installation, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for your very detailed review of your experience with our company. Of course we are pleased when our customers are pleased! We look forward to servicing you again soon. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc [hyperlink removed]

5.0

01/15/2016


doug R.

Patrick was the guy that did the work. Very talented, courteous, on time, hard working (didn't see him stop working once) and the quality of the work was superb. Could not be happier with the total experience.

Description of Work
Repaired two large drywall holes that were created for a wiring job done by another provider. Also installed base Moulding for four rooms.

Category drywall, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Sir, for taking the time to review our company. We look forward to servicing you again soon. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc.

5.0

01/09/2016


Carl P.

Excellent work. Glenn was on time and came prepared. Applied several coats of paint to make sure work blended with surroundings. He made sure everything was satisfactory prior to leaving.

Description of Work
Replaced some siding above the roof and a small soffit area.

Category handyman service, siding

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr. [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to review our company. Yes, our exterior repairs technician, Glenn, is a specialist and takes pride in his work. We look forward to serving you again in the near future. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

5.0

12/09/2015


Abhishek S.

It went pretty well, we did not expect it to go so well and timely. Awesome service. I will recommend them to all my friends and to all who look for good services. Thank You once again.

Description of Work
Pattric was just awesome , he was quick to understand the problem, wasted no time and got the work done in less than an hour, that was WOW ! He installed the new microwave, built out back due to tile backslpash for which folks from Home Depot were asking for so many things to be done, although it was not required when Pat got it. Pat was great !

Category ceramic tile, handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you Sir, for your review. Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

5.0

11/19/2015


Claudia R.

Mark came out and did the estimates; he was professional and thorough. Patrick Franche did the work. He was great. He worked fast, neat and you can't even tell the ceiling was repaired...perfect!! The outside work was also perfect. I didn't have any paint to repaint the section of soffit and he took a chip from the soffit, had paint matched; so you can't even tell what is newly painted and what was painted a few years ago. Great service, thank you. Also thank you to Angie's list. I'm a first time user and really appreciated the reviews etc. It made my search so easy.

Description of Work
Repaired damage from a ceiling leak. Replaced the drywall about a 4 X4 piece and repainted. Also an outside soffit repair that required rerouting of the A/C condensation drain pipe.

Category drywall, handyman service, plumbing, siding, house painters

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed], Thank you very much for taking the time to review our company. We look forward to servicing you again. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

5.0

10/26/2015


James S.

These guys always do a great job. They show up on time, do a good job and charge a fair price. They are very helpful withsuggesting the best ways to solve problems in your home. They take pride in their work. I am a property manager and I used them a lot. Always be happy with their work.

Description of Work
Fixed shower curtain assembly

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, Sir, for reviewing our company. We appreciate your business and look forward to to continuing to serve you and your business. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

5.0

10/08/2015


Shannon M.

I made an appointment for David to install shelves in my garage. He was very meticulous and detailed. Once he completed that, I asked if he had time to put together 2 chaise chairs that was just delivered. Again, he was very detailed. He took great pride in his work and ensured that I was happy. I definitely recommend this company and David. I plan on using them again.

Description of Work
Installed 3 shelves in the garage and put together 2 chaise chairs.

Category handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our company. We look forward to servicing you again. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

1.0

09/26/2015


Sadhna K.

They showed up 4 hour late when scheduled to for inspection and estimation. They took sample of wooden floor for getting the match. Next day again, they were late by 3 hours to start the work and I had taken time off to be at home. They ultimately ended up only taking out the flooring area to be redone and fixing small issues. The replacement they got for floor was completely off. They said that they have ordered the floor piece and will take 10 days to get. On inquiry after 10 days, they said that piece they got wasn't a match and they are still looking for it. After almost a month, they confirm that they have the floor replacement and were scheduled to come in on 09/24 morning. On 09/24 morning, they said that they are having car issues and will come by afternoon. But they didn't show up and notified me later that they can't make it today. My tenant had taken a day off to be at home to get the work done. handyhero then agreed to come on 09/26 at 10am. It is 1pm now and they didn't show again as well as they are not reachable on phone. I will never suggest their services to anyone. At this moment, I'm looking at any other available handyman to come and finish the job. Instead of being a service provider, Handyhero has been a problem, headache for me since the day I started working with them.

Description of Work
Handyhero was supposed to replace a cracked window glass and small part of wooden flooring alongwith some minor fixes.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service

Service Provider Response

It should be made clear that while this customer lists the job was $600.00 -- he has not paid anything. The problem we ran into on this job is that the customer was unable to provide us any information regarding his engineered wood floor and our Technician spent hours and hours researching trying to find it for him and at no cost to him. We are not a flooring company and communicated clearly at the onset to the customer that with no information on as to the manufacturer or any specification to his floor that it would not be an easy task to locate it. It should be noted that Handy Hero did complete a number of jobs for this customer such as repairing a leaking faucet and sticky door latches for which he has not paid us for. Also, when we assigned another Tech to address the remaining issues, the customer refused to allow us to come back to complete them.

5.0

08/26/2015


Christine M.

Handy Hero Inc was extraordinarily responsive and was able to quickly come out and replace the shutter that had fallen off the house. They understood the time constraints my HOA put on getting it replaced and responded quickly. I was out of town, but they came, took a picture of the finished work and sent me an invoice which I was able to pay via telephone. Will definitely look at them for future work.

Description of Work
Rehung shutter on 2nd floor of house

Category handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for taking the time to review our company. We look forward to servicing you again the near future. Please note that we are offering a 5% discount on bathroom and kitchen remodels for October 2015, so give us a call if you are interested. Best, Shannon Kimoto VP Handy Hero, Inc

    Other local Pros in your area

    Smith Drywall & Painting

    Call us today for all your drywall and painting needs!  

    Dauphin Encapsulations

    Everybody hates crawl spaces. They are nasty, smelly, damp, and filled with all sorts of snakes, rodents, and bugs. Here at Dauphin Encapsulations, our mission is to help make your crawl spaces feel like it is a part of your home rather than a dark creepy dungeon. We provide vapor barrier and vapor seal services in order to help seal your crawl space up reducing vapor and rodents from being under your house.  

    PK Home Improvement, LLC

    Here at PK Home Improvement we are a full service window and door replacement company. From wood windows to long lasting composite, we can help you decide what's best for your home and budget. We also offer exterior trim repairs and replacement. We have over 20 years of industry experience so you can expect nothing less than exceptional service! Call us now and schedule an in home estimate!  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    L20051708
    Trade License Locale
    Forsyth County
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Water damage repair, trim carpentry, tiling, drywall, painting, ceiling fans & light fixtures, gutter cleaning & repair, deck repair & maint, door & window repair, electrical, plumbing, brick & stone repair, carpet repair or install, flooring install, remodeling & home improvement. We have hourly/day rates which we use to estimate smaller jobs. We reserve the right to provide free estimates for larger projects to clients located in our service area and who can attest they have a budget.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Handy Hero Inc

    How is Handy Hero Inc overall rated?

    Handy Hero Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Handy Hero Inc open?

    Handy Hero Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Handy Hero Inc provide

    Handy Hero Inc accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does Handy Hero Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Handy Hero Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Handy Hero Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Handy Hero Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Handy Hero Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Handy Hero Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Handy Hero Inc?

    Yes, Handy Hero Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Handy Hero Inc offer?

    Handy Hero Inc offers the following services: Water damage repair, trim carpentry, tiling, drywall, painting, ceiling fans & light fixtures, gutter cleaning & repair, deck repair & maint, door & window repair, electrical, plumbing, brick & stone repair, carpet repair or install, flooring install, remodeling & home improvement. We have hourly/day rates which we use to estimate smaller jobs. We reserve the right to provide free estimates for larger projects to clients located in our service area and who can attest they have a budget.