Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Davenport Remodeling & Construction

Founded 2000 • With Angi since December 2012

Construction & Remodeling

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.6

(12) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews
Bill K.
5.0
02/05/2020
It was Great working with them, I was able to make changes on the fly, and they accommodated them all. Strongly recommend then for any job. They have proven to me that they can handle anything thrown their way.
Description of Work
I was looking to build a tiny house from a shed, and after talking with Bruce and him explain what the County would and would not allow me to do on my own property, we sat down, I drew up what I was thinking of, and we came up with plans for a tiny house well not to Tiny. 2 story and 950 Sq Ft On the side of a Mountain. That is where Bruce and his Son Matt expertise came in handy we made the Outside out of aural siding (Cement Board 4x8 sheet). And It is awesome it will last for a long long time and never rot and has very low up keep. Then Bruce was able to get me a Septic tank installed. and the Pluming installed for one bathroom and a Kitchen. He then finished the house with Knotty Pine wall and ceiling. We love his craftsmanship and his finish work. And one of the best option was he allowed me to pay him a weekly wage for him and his 4 Man crew and that was it. I paid for all the materials, he picked it up, and within 9 week I had a house. That has already gone through two Storms that where some of the worse I have ever been through , with no mayor issues and what we found he was right there to take care of . In the end the Decisions that where made cost me more, but I am very happy with the final outcome and would strongly recommend Bruce and Matt. In addition, if I build another place I will call them.
Category
decks, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, patios
Rob P.
5.0
11/27/2017
Bruce and his son, Matthew, did a good job on this replacement project. They gave me several options for door types and explained our options for doing the work. Because the door size was a special order I agreed to pay their door vendor directly so all they were responsible for was the labor. It took a week or so for the door to arrive. They picked it up, brought it over an quickly had it in place. They even painted the exterior for us. Very well done. Since then I have hired Bruce for several other small projects around the house and each one has been handled professionally and with a smile. He's our Handyman now!
Description of Work
Replaced an old, warped and defective double door with a new one
Category
handyman service
Jack P.
5.0
01/28/2017
We first hired the Davenports to rebuild a utility room which housed a water heater and well tank that was in need of reconstruction due to prolonged water damage. Bruce was very responsive and came to estimate the job the next day. His price was fair and we hired them to build the utility room and a new deck. These guys did awesome work! The deck is really well built, very sturdy and a very high level of craftsmanship. Bruce matched our roofline with the utility room rebuild and had better ideas than me with how to design it, great job! After seeing their quality of work we hired them to build an addition onto our cabin, we had been looking for someone in the area for over a year. Bruce and his sons came in on budget and on time! The new addition is excellent, we added a master bedroom, bathroom with walk in shower, laundry closet and walk in closet. The overall design and execution is extremely high quality and Bruce, Matt, and Houston were very professional about everything. We live in Fl and received pictures via text messages each day showing progress on the job. We just came home from spending a week in our new room addition and could not be more pleased. You should definitely hire the Davenports for your remodeling or constructions needs.
Description of Work
Master bedroom and bathroom addition onto our cabin in Cherry Log with closet and laundry room and a new utility room rebuild and new deck.
Category
decks, electrician, handyman service, plumbing, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters
Leona W.
5.0
12/19/2015
From the moment I called Bruce Davenport, he was prompt and courteous. He was very honest and upfront about the possibility of the French door becoming more work once he removed it. It turned out that he was correct. We had significant water damage to the back of our house. He got started right away in replacing the damaged wood. Since Bruce, Matt, and Gary were working on repairs from the water damage, we asked them to add on a roof to our back deck. Bruce was very helpful in making recommendations and giving us advice on all of the repairs and upgrades. Bruce, Matt, and Gary all did a superior job. As a matter of fact, my mother-in-law saw the great work they did and had them replace a roof and floor support to her barn/shed. We will definitely be calling Davenport Remodeling & Construction again.
Description of Work
Davenport Construction & Remodeling was originally called to repair a French door. They determined that not only was our door jamb and threshold rotten due to long-term water damage, but so was our subflooring in the dinning room, approx. 40' of rim board, and OSB board on the back of our house. They also installed new hardwood floor where the other was damaged as well as new decking board. They repaired several cracks in our dry wall in the living room, dinning room, and kitchen. In addition to replacing all of the damaged wood, they added a roof to our deck which included running electrical for lighting/ceiling fans and installing vinyl siding and soffit.
Category
decks, electrician, handyman service, remodeling, siding, woodworking
Gary W.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Built a permanent roof over our deck. Now we can enjoy the rain without getting wet. Excellent job.
Category
handyman service
Jerry T.
5.0
08/28/2014
unknown
Category
handyman service
Mike F.
5.0
09/21/2013
Within two days, the Davenport crew turned my cold, old siding into a tight and sealed wall. It looks great and I can live without street noise and wind blowing through the cracks. Great job AGAIN!
Description of Work
Removal of old siding on house outside area. New boards, house wrap and wood pine siding installed. They even painted it for me, included in the price. They left the scaffolding up for me, so I can reach the windows and roof edge to clean an do some of my personal projects.
Category
fencing, handyman service, lawn service, plumbing, replacement windows, interior painters
CHERYL W.
1.0
08/28/2013
I purchased a new home in Georgia that had been for-closed upon by the developer. It sat a long time and was vandalized. The vandals crushed the lighting and punched holes in the ceilings and walls. A tree also fell on the roof and did some minor damage; mostly just shingles. There was some mold along the vinyl outside and the home need pressure cleaning. Bruce Davenport was very quick to respond to my requests. I was impressed and needed the home completed in order to get the certificate of occupancy. Here was the scope of the work I requested. Repair roof Replace 2 outside garage door lights Add mailbox and post Add lock box Power wash with borax Install cabinet tops in kitchen with sink and faucet Install cabinet tops in baths with sinks and faucets Repair kitchen broken window in kitchen Glue kitchen and bath cabinet doors separated by moisture Remove dining room chandelier and cap off Repair holes in ceilings Repair holes in walls In several conversations, Bruce indicated that I needed a sprinkler system placed in the garage in order to get a certificate of occupancy. I have a one story home with a double garage. He had also suggested wood flooring and quoted a price of 1600.00 to install because the frames would have to be removed around all the doors in order to install the click lock flooring. This is when I became suspicious and decided to hold off on any flooring. Unfortunately, Bruce had a terrible accident and was hospitalized. Bruce requested a check for the work completed so I sent him a check for the amount requested. Everything seemed to be going well. Until my arrival! This is what I discovered: Repair roof- A - shingles are slightly different color but not too noticeable. Replace 2 outside garage door lights- A - as far as I know they were installed safely and look nice- have to have them checked. Add mailbox and post - B - looks okay but concrete is already cracked at base Add lock box - A - Works great! Power wash with borax and clean gutters - B - gutters in back are bent??? 1. This was not mentioned to me for replacement. 2. The rain pours over the gutters as they are clogged. 3. Not sure that the work was actually done. 4. I have to hire someone to fix the gutters and clean out. Install cabinet tops in kitchen with sink and faucet - F - 1. Poor installation of kitchen plumbing... Not centered correctly - leaked F- 2. Sink not flush with cabinet tops and leaks if water settles near sink F- 2. Cabinet tops gouged in places- shoved into wall with poor attempt of fixing wall F- 3. Formica cabinet tops bowed, not level and not set correctly. F- 4. Oak cabinets chipped and damaged in installation process- when sawing hole for sink Davenport sawed thru the cabinet and added 3 pieces to do poor repair job. This is visible to the outside. F- 5. End capping unprofessional looking and not sticking to the cabinet tops F- Note: These were placed with the expectation that I was to put granite in. However, due to repairs I was unable to place granite and I have had to live with these results! Ugly chips, gouges, screw holes and saw marks in real wood cabinets. My custom cabinets are truly destroyed! Install quartz cabinet tops in baths with sinks and faucets - F - 1. Moved cabinets 6and quot; in master bath to center sink - finish work not completed- poor quality finish work- used different colored wood and never stained. Wood was not large enough to cover 6and quot; move. Used floor molding to partially hide hole at kick plate. Nothing matches. Looked very unprofessional and rigged. 2. Master bath partially caulked with clear caulk instead of white and not finished. Quartz cabinet tops were leaning backwards and not level. Back splashes were not centered. Back splash chipped at right corner. Big gaps. Bruce had his son fix the countertop After I complained It is not caulked 3. 2nd bath back splash not centered properly. Partially caulked with clear caulk instead of white. Big gaps. F- After several attempts and stories to get my window back, I gave up... I had to have a brand new window replaced at 600.00. Repair kitchen window broken by vandals - F- 1. Never done - When talking to Mr. Davenport his reply was, and quot;I'm afraid I dropped the ball on this one.and quot; F-. 2. Mrs. Davenport promised to deliver the window but I have not seen it yet. I never received refund for work not completed! My new contractors had to install a brand new window even though they could have fixed the old one. F- Glue kitchen and bath cabinets separated by moisture- F- 1. Corners were bracketed with metal brackets instead of glued. Screws were too long and punched holes through my cabinets. F- 2. These cabinets had to be repaired by professionals at a cost of 85.00. The holes still remain in the backs and fronts of the cabinets repaired! I cried at the horror of what he did to my wood cabinets! F- Remove dining room chandelier and cap off. F- 1. Never capped off F- 2. Wires left hanging F- Repair holes in ceilings F- Repaired holes in walls - B - 1. left mess to clean up F- Repaired celings - F - Never finished. F- 1. We went to sand them down and the plugs fell out! We had to hire someone else to do the work at cost of 85.00$ F- When I call Bruce does not talk to me. He has his wife or son talk to me. His wife promised several times to deliver the window and always had an excuse as to why it was not replaced. His son would not commit to an answer but had the mom call me. F- I would never recommend this family to anyone for any type of repair. My cabinets are ruined, my gutters are damaged and I have spent a lot of money replacing and repairing the damage done or the job that was never completed.
Description of Work
Repair roof Replace 2 outside garage door lights add mailbox and post add lock box power wash with borax install cabinet tops in kitchen with sink and faucet install cabinet tops in baths with sinks and faucets repair kitchen broken window in kitchen glue kitchen and bath cabinets separated by moisture remove dining room chandelier and cap off repair holes in ceilings repair holes in walls added toilet seats
Category
handyman service
Steven Z.
3.0
06/26/2013
As a consumer, I am at a distinct disadvantage due to the previously engaging economic depression, almost all contractors were forced out of business. The strong, few, good contractors remained in business through better skills. Now, demand overwhelms supply. I hope nothing physically happened to Mr. Davenport, because with the lack of reliable, competent, honest builders, I will likely need his services in the future and I do not want to 'pollute the waters' as to offend Mr. Davenport. As per expectations set: Our last conversation would be to get in touch in a month. I waited two and have not been able to get a response. I know of his demand, and for his business, that is a wonderful thing, hence my seeking him out over Angie's List. His pedigree appears to be stellar and professional. Others know that to, increasing demand for his services. I am hoping he has been very busy and not injured.
Description of Work
No work performed. Communications to provider not successful.
Category
handyman service
Ted C.
5.0
04/30/2013
I obtained estimates from several companies for various parts of the renovation. Davenport Rand C was able to handle it all without having to use and deal with multiple companies. Since Davenport Rand C was local, they were quick to get out to our property to prepare an estimate. When the project started they arrived promptly when they said they would. The Davenports were able to work within my budget and provided several helpful suggestions along the way with regards to selecting materials and making the repairs so that it all looked great as well as functioned great. The home now looks great and is enjoyable to live in. We've had no issues with any of the work completed with this major renovation. I've called the Davenports several times since the original renovation for various annual maintenance projects both big and small. They've always done great work, on budget and on-time.
Description of Work
When we bought our cabin in Talking Rock Creek it was a foreclosure property that needed extensive restoration work inside and out. We needed new flooring, interior painting, plumbing repair, new roof decking, exterior staining of the logs and a lot more. Davenport Remodeling and Construction was able to do it all.
Category
decks, handyman service, woodworking, house painters
Louis P.
5.0
04/23/2013
Every project done by Bruce Davenport has been done timely and within his estimate, whether it was the $20,000 plus restoration project when the second floor airconditioner drain clogged and flooded two floors, storrm damage restoration, or doing exterior repairs and restaining the exterior, or as simple as replacing a damaged piece of furniture, Bruce has kept my wife and I up to date on all projects and maintained our our North Georgia home as if it was his own.
Description of Work
Bruce Davenport did a major restoration of my 4,000 squrare foot North Gergia mountain home at Carters Lake when shortly after it was built the upstairs airconditioning unit drain clogged and flooded ruining wood flooring, carpeting, cabinetry, and sheet rock on two floors. The loss was covered by insurance and Bruce worked professionally with myself and the insurance company. When he finished the restoration, one could never tell that the incident occurred. Since then, he has arranged and supervised interior painting and exterior staining of my home and repaired storm damage, including deck and fence repair, and roof repair. He has even done furniture and appliance repair and arranged lawn maintenance. Whatever is needed, Bruce does it or arranges to have the work done and ensures that it is done right. Having had Bruce Davenport do major and minor work on my home for more than four (4) years, I trust him explicitly. If I were to build another home or have any remodeling project, Bruce Davenport would be my contractor. The quality of his work is great and his price is always fair.
Category
decks, fencing, handyman service, lawn service, replacement windows, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters
Mike F.
5.0
12/30/2012
Arriving at our cabin, we noticed real quick, that the daily use of plumbing, electricity, water, etc. overwhelmed our little house. It started out with the septic tank backing up. Davenport came, dug it open and fixed it the same day. He adjusted the plumbing accordingly, while charging us a fair, affordable price. The next issue was the support beam running in the crawl space as well as in the living space in the first floor. Since we did not expect these issues, Davenport worked out a financial solution that offered immediate repair beginnings and most importantly safety. He offered several scenarios and repair options. This allowed us to shop for material with local suppliers and safe a lot of money on materials. At all times, we had full control and insight into material costs. After a complete overhaul to our support system in crawl space and first floor, we knew that no task of project is too small or too big for our reliable contractor Davenport. A complete remodel of our kitchen, new siding on the exterior walls, a new front porch, etc. followed. Each one was successful and looks pleasing to the eye. We have a list of projects and we have a partner that will get it done right, on our budget. Thank you, Davenport Construction and Design.
Description of Work
I am very happy to finally share my experience with Bruce, Matthew, Houston Davenport, from Davenport - Construction and Design. My wife and myself moved full time into our vacation cabin in the Talking Rock Creek Community. To this date, it has been one year now and let me tell you, we needed so many different things brought up to date and adjusted. From structural issues, septic tank, plumbing, electrical issues, framing, drywall, porch repair, siding, etc. etc. we needed help in all directions. Luckily we heard about Bruce Davenport and his family, right away. After comparing each issue and problem with several other licensed contractors and handy men, we always came back to the Davenports. Not only was he available, made time when needed, he also offered the right solutions for the best price. Honest and straight forward with money, budget and time frames.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

Other local Pros in your area

Streamline Painting and Pressure Washing LLC

Painting ad pressure washing all surfaces. We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Stanley's R Painting LLC

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Jeff O'Donald

Jeff O'Donald has 25+ years of experience as an owner operated painting company servicing the Dalton area. My expertise covers kitchen cabinets, furniture, interior/exterior painting, and residential/commercial painting. We apply lacquers, oil bases, acrylic/latex paints, stains, and primers. I pride my self by doing high-quality work while being the one of the neatest painters around. I give free estimates and have great references.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

210 Talking Rock Creek

Chatsworth, GA 30705

Other Information

Payment options

Check
Licensed
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Davenport Remodeling & Construction is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Davenport Remodeling & Construction is open:

Sunday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Davenport Remodeling & Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Davenport Remodeling & Construction offers free project estimates.

No, Davenport Remodeling & Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Davenport Remodeling & Construction offers emergency services.

Yes, Davenport Remodeling & Construction offers warranties.

Davenport Remodeling & Construction offers the following services: Major & Minor Remodeling, Kitchen & Bathrooms, New Construction, General Carpentry, Room Additions, Custom Homes, Drywall Flooring Doors & windows Painting Electrical Plumbing Framing Roofing Carpentry-finish Cabinets Siding Tile Countertops Deck, Porch & Patio Fencing Landscaping Heating & cooling Foundation Insulation.