Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Byers Well Drilling Inc

Founded 1960 • With Angi since January 2012

4.2

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1442 Blue Ridge Hwy

Blairsville, GA 30512

Description

Byers Well Drilling has been in business since the 1960's. We can do as little or as much as you need for your complete residential or community water system. We are also very involved in the geothermal heating and cooling system installations. We have drilled the geo boreholes and installed the hdpe piping. Please give us a call for further information. DBA: Southeast Geothermal Inc. Additional Contact: Tracy Dillard Additional Website: http://www.segeothermal.com/...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

05/14/2019


Chuck B.

Finally got Tod at Action Motor in Columbia, and he services and replaces well pumps... Mine does not have a well 'head' sticking up out of the ground, so he would have to hunt it. He said it would cost me $1500.00 plus for his crew to try to locate the pump, then he said they probably wouldn't find it... so, "What's a Mother to Do???"

Description of Work
No one returned my invitations.........

Category wells

1.0

05/16/2017


Michael S.

No reply after several attempts.

Description of Work
Check local codes and put in a fresh water well.

Category wells

5.0

01/22/2016


Rob S.

Category wells

4.0

06/25/2015


Frances P.

Description of Work
Helped Find Source Of Leak In Well Line. Be Sure To Ask Them In Advance Approx Cost Of Job. They Put You On 'clock' Minute hey Leave TheIr Office. Bill Runs Up Incredibly Fast Especially If Two Show Up So Don't Waste Time With Idle Conversation Or Give Them Tasks You Can do.

Category wells

4.0

10/07/2014


R.K. V.

Description of Work
Instead of jerking the well head first -- which would have cost a bundle -- they went downstairs and checked out the mechanical part of the well. They replaced the part which they had on the truck. And then they changed my water filter why they were standing there.

Category wells

5.0

05/31/2014


Diane M.

.

Description of Work
repaired wire in well, took very little time, and charged a very reasonable price - will always call them when I have a problem

Category wells

5.0

05/27/2014


Diane M.

I do remember what they did the last time I called them. My well pump had quit working and it turned out to be just a broken wire. They could have told me that I needed a new pump and I wouldn't have known the difference. They are very honest and that means a great deal to me.

Description of Work
It has been a while since I've needed them. I should have written a review right away, but I absentmindedly forgot and now I have forgotten exactly what they did. I did use them several times and they were always very prompt, quick to diagnose my problems and very reasonably priced. I will never call any other company. They are the best!!!!

Category wells

3.0

03/19/2014


Sue G.

Gave us a price quote of $3400. Truck got stuck because the driver came in the way he was told not to use. When the electric source and previous pvc was severed the electric wire was lost. Dug for days to find it tearing up the field in the process. Claimed the well was blocked with 2 x 4s. Sent a bill for $5400. We only paid what the insurance had sent $3400. Never heard from the company again.

Description of Work
Suppose to hook up an existing well since the cistern system was ruined

Category wells

5.0

11/07/2013


Hinky W.

The men came back the next day to complete the repairs to our well pump. They surveyed again what the problem was and communicated with us the whole time. Upon our permission they would complete that repair. We found this company to be very professional and the men were very accommodating and personable. They were here for most of the day and upon finishing the job they came to let us know they were leaving and that everything they tested worked . This company will get our business again in the future. I especially liked the fact that they were so up front about everything, from the time and a half fees to getting our permission before fixing or replacing any part.

Description of Work
When we called late in the afternoon, they said they were in the neighborhood and would come to see us after that job was completed that day. They did as they promised. Upon arrival the men told us up front that they were now on time and a half regarding their fees. We told them to stay long enough to give us an idea of what was wrong. They did and we asked them to please come back in the morning to complete the repairs. They did as we asked.

Category wells

5.0

06/25/2013


Robert R.

Excellent service! Competitive price! Terrific product!

Description of Work
Provided and installed a Mitsubishi Mr. Slim split, ductless heat pump.

Category wells

1.0

05/30/2013


Marcia S.

This was an awful experience and should serve as a warning to anyone considering using Byers Well Drilling for ANY work. On October 17th, 2012 Byer's Well Drilling of Blairsville Georgia completed installation of a well on our property. On November 14th, the Union County Department of Environmental Health inspected the well and indicated that and quot;the slab around well did not meet the minimum demension requirements of the Georgia Water Well Standards Act.and quot; In addition to the slab not meeting the required standards, we had other concerns with the quality of workmanship and safety of the well housing installation. Specifically, that the electrical components were not secured properly (they were mounted on an old piece of wood and tied to the pressure tank with a piece of rope) and the 110 outlet was not wired correctly (used to run a portable electric heater inside the housing, which I also questioned). The latter of these being our greatest concern since it represented a fire risk and electrocution hazard. We contacted Byer's Well immediately after the county inspection with our concerns and asked that Lon come out to perform a site inspection and determine what remediation would be required to address them. We were told that he was busy but that he would get back to us as soon as he could. Several weeks went by with no response from Lon (we made multiple phone calls to both his cell phone and office, none of which were returned) so on or about December 12 my husband went to their office on Blue Ridge Highway to make a payment and try to talk to Lon. Lon was not there but he talked to a woman who identified herself as Lon's wife. She said that Lon was working out of state and would get back to us when he returned in a couple of weeks. We called Lon on January 4, 2013 and left several messages on his cell phone, none of which were returned. We called his office the week of Jan 7 and my husband finally got to talk to Lon. He said that he would be out to inspect the well in and quot;a couple of daysand quot;. He did not show up or call to say he wasn't coming. We made several more phone calls to his cell and office and none were returned. On February 20 we sent Lon a certified letter reiterating our concerns and requested that he either contact us immediately to address the issues or we would be forced to hire another contractor to resolve them. He sent us a letter dated February 28 that included a long diatribe about why the GA Well Standards act was not his problem, all of which is best summed up with this sentence from his letter and quot;How is it my responsibility to tell you of this requirement when you obtained the permit from the county and not me?and quot; He goes on to say and quot;Forgive me for overlooking this issue; however, when I come to meet with homeowners such as you it is almost impossible from me to go over all the big and small issuesand quot;. He also adds that he is willing to install the pad for an additional charge but says he thinks its unnecessary, regardless of what the Standards Act says. His exact words were and quot;In our profressional opinion, it (the concrete pad) is absolutely unnecssary due to the seal created during the over reaming and sealing of the casing at bedrockand quot; . He did not address the electrical hazard concern but said that attaching the electrical control board with nylon rope is his standard practice. We also asked him to explain some of his pricing since the final bill varied significantly from his initial estimates and he provided a reasonable explanation as to pricing differential verse competitor products but he did not explain the variance against his own estimate except to say and quot;the estimate you were given is exactly that an estimate.and quot; That said, our principal complaint with Lon has been his lack of professionalism and the poor workmanship of his crew. Instead of spending ten minutes of his time to answer our questions and address our concerns, he has chosen to ignore us and make no effort to see whether our concerns had merit or not. Since Lon has been unwilling to address our concerns we hired someone to pour the concrete slab to spec and replace the 110 outlet with a GFI and circuit protected outlet. The reason the outlet was so expensive is we had to retrench from the house to the well to run a new cable since Lon's crew did not use a grounded wire. As it was explained to us, Lon's guys basically pulled one leg off the 220 circuit for the electric outlet with no ground or GFI protection. This could have resulted in fire within the well housing or electrocution if the outlet got wet. The well housing installation did not conform with the Well Standards Act and Lon claims that it is not his responsibility to ensure compliance or educate clients about the requirements prior to doing the work. (To me this is like an electrician that claims that he is not responsible for complying with all applicable state, county and local building codes; which is a patently ridiculous claim for anyone who is a licensed professional). * The quality of the work performed was shoddy and created a real safety risk to anyone standing near the well when the ground was wet in the event of an electical short inside the well housing. * Lon's failure to return calls and inspect the work his men did is extremely unprofessional. We are located less than ten minutes from his office and he had no problem coming by multiple times during the sales phase. We can provide before and after pictures of the well, receipts for the repair work and copies of the certified letter and Lon's response if you would like to review them.

Description of Work
Installed a 250 ft. well. Actual price was $1000 greater than estimate. Work did not pass County Health Dept. inspection, Lon Dillard (owner) refused to come out an inspect the work that was done. Electrical work was sub-standard and dangerous and had to be re-done by another contractor at our expense.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, wells

5.0

04/12/2012


Diane M.

They were very prompt. They either came the day I called or the next day. They were very professional and very reasonably priced. They people were very nice and very honest. They are excellent.

Description of Work
I have used Byers Well Drilling in the past. The last time they came out because my well wasn't working.

Category wells

5.0

01/16/2012


Michael R.

The job went very well.

Description of Work
Drilled a well as well as installed a geothermal flow unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great compliments. We enjoy customers like you!!!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Tri State Water Services

    Tri State Water Services offers any and all water well and water filtration needs. We are a small family and veteran owned company with unbeatable prices. Tri State Water offers 24 hours service 7 days a week. Our owner and operator has an extensive background in well service and is a water filtration expert. Tri State Water services operates under a 100% customer satisfaction guarantee. Call any time on any day including holidays we look forward to serving you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    MC KINNEY HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING, INC.

    Emergency service available 24/365 on all brands. Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer. We employ NATE certified technicians. McKinney Heating and Air Conditioning is a Certfied Drug Free Work Place and carries Workman's Comp and Liability Insurance. Visit us: http://mckinneycomfort.com or on Facebook  

    Coolray Heating & Air Conditioning

    Coolray has served the Atlanta metro area since 1966 and offers professional heating, air conditioning, plumbing and electrical. We base our business principles on people helping people with honest, dependable service backed by our peace of mind warranties and guarantees ensuring your 100% satisfaction. 350 employees. No subs. Charges a flat rate. Senior Discount on Service Repairs only, cannot be used with other offers.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Well Drilling, Well Services & Repairs. Filtration & Geothermal System Installation. HVAC Services

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Byers Well Drilling Inc

    How is Byers Well Drilling Inc overall rated?

    Byers Well Drilling Inc is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Byers Well Drilling Inc open?

    Byers Well Drilling Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Byers Well Drilling Inc provide

    Byers Well Drilling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Byers Well Drilling Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Byers Well Drilling Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Byers Well Drilling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Byers Well Drilling Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Byers Well Drilling Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Byers Well Drilling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Byers Well Drilling Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Byers Well Drilling Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Byers Well Drilling Inc?

    Yes, Byers Well Drilling Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Byers Well Drilling Inc offer?

    Byers Well Drilling Inc offers the following services: Well Drilling, Well Services & Repairs. Filtration & Geothermal System Installation. HVAC Services