Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Nelson Exteriors

Founded 1977 • With Angi since September 2007

4.6

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

189 Kipling Drive

Atlanta, GA 30068

Description

Family owned & operated. Nelson Exteriors has been painting houses for over 40 years so you can be confident that your project will benefit from our experience and knowledge. In addition to this, each crew has a supervisor assigned to it in order to ensure customer satisfaction and assist with any customer questions or concerns. At Nelson Exteriors, our work ethic is based on doing what we say we are going to do, and following the Golden Rule.- Scott Nelson, President....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/31/2022


Don K.

They positioned themselves as a very professional company - and being new to the area, after four bids I went with them. Long story - but let it be known they are not professional and do not stand behind their work. I know a lot of people are happy with them, so I was one of the unlucky ones. There were multiple issues and followed their orders to get independent inspections. After four were done, they were not accepted and wanted a special certified inspector. Pictures I have show gaps in caulking, wood that is not pieced together properly, loose siding boards, paid for two coats of paint and in a number of areas there was hardly any paint at all. There is so much more wrong with the job they did - but as they wrote me -'you paid your invoice so you must have been happy with the job we did'. Shows no concern for wanting to do things right and fix what may go wrong. Agree with one of the reviews below - their Forman was terrible and the crew they assigned to the job was equally as bad. Have many pictures to show what I am saying.

Description of Work
Siding repair and painting

Category siding, house painters

5.0

04/07/2020


Jeff F.

Nelson was very professional and the quality of work performed is great. House looks new again.

Description of Work
Replace rotten wood, scrap, caulk and paint house.

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

03/26/2020


Leslie S.

After 45yrs owning different homes I’ve used several roofing company’s over the years. Nelson Exteriors finished the job in one day. Love my new roof. Quality and price were great. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Roofing project

Category roofing, house painters

5.0

09/15/2018


Donna C.

Nelson Exteriors was referred to me by a number of people on the NextDoor neighborhood site, and was already in their recommended section for satisfied customers. We have received many compliments on our house after they completely repaired, resided and painted the entire outside of our home. I obtained 4 estimates, and not only was Nelsons the least expensive, but they included several things the competition did not. Everyone was helpful, friendly and professional. The project manager came to the site every day, and talked to me numerous times while the house was being worked on to make sure we were all on the same page. I feel they went what I would consider "above and beyond" in their scope and duty. I would use them again without hesitation, and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
completely repaired, resided and painted the entire outside of our home

Category siding, replacement windows, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for the great reviews! We greatly appreciate the time you took to let us know!
5.0

09/01/2018


Alan R.

Terrific. Jason, our Project Manager kept us informed, was on site and kept job on schedule. Second time we’be used Nelson, recommend.

Description of Work
Painted home, replaced gutter, front window, rotted wood

Category gutter repair, pressure washing, house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! We greatly appreciate your business!
1.0

06/22/2018


Kenneth L.

Kudos to them for being so busy they don’t want/need more business . . . But very unprofessional.

Description of Work
I contacted them through Angie’s List and received an automated reply asking me to call them. I called several times during their posted hours to no avail. When I finally reached them I was told that they would call back within 48 hours to setup an appt for a whole house exterior estimate. 96 hours later I am still waiting for that call.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We are sorry that you had a poor experience. We do our best to communicate with all of our potential customers that it is our busy time of year and that it might take a bit longer to return calls. We hope to hire more employees to keep up with the amount of work so that we can give our customers a better experience. We wish you all the best and hope that we can potentially work for you in the future.
1.0

10/18/2017


Deanne G.

I requested a quote for the entire interior of our home on 10/11 and 10/16 through the form on their website. On 10/17 I called and asked why I hadn't heard anything back from them. The response I received, because we are short crew members and aren't working out that far.... Seriously? So you don't even bother emailing me back to tell me that in a reasonable amount of time from the first email being sent. There was also no mention in the phone call of an apology for not returning my call. The guy acted as if this was to be expected!

Description of Work
Interior of home painted

Category house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We are very sorry that you had such a poor experience. We did receive your web form and should have returned your call sooner. We had our wire for the internet cut from a semi doing a delivery the day that you initially requested an estimate. This lead to the entire office being behind. While we are currently short staffed and behind due to loss of internet, we should have called you sooner. We wish you all the best and hope to be able to service your area in the future.
5.0

09/12/2017


Kellie D.

The company was very red when I called. The workers showed up everyday and worked very hard. Overall great job!

Description of Work
They did an excellent job on re-siding our entire house and painting it afterward.

Category picture framing, siding, house painters, doors

5.0

05/09/2017


Richard K.

They were very professional, did excellent work and followed up to make sure everything was to my satisfaction. They were one of the best companies I've worked with and are definitely someone I would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
They replaced my siding and painted the house, as well as gutter replacement.

Category gutter repair, siding, house painters

5.0

01/09/2017


B K.

They painted perfectly. It was a great job. That's why I called them back for the gutters because I knew they did good work. I was impressed with the project manager that not only came out and evaluated what needed to be done but he was also out here in the daytime to make sure that when they repainted the siding, the color matched. When it didn't match, he told them to stop. He went and got a better color match and had them do the job correctly. I really appreciated having that project manager monitor what was being done.

Description of Work
We had some repair work done at the back of the house last year. Some siding had to be replaced, framing on the window and repainting after they put up the new siding.

Category picture framing, siding, house painters

5.0

01/09/2017


B K.

We've used them twice. I've used them before and I'm very happy with their work and with the quality of their service. I liked their follow-up. They answer questions very thoroughly. They don't oversell. They listen to what you need to have done and they give you suggestions for what work they can do. As far as having the old gutters taken down, they arranged for subcontractors to come out and do the work. They had a project manager after the work was done and check on the work itself and that impressed me. Their responsiveness was excellent. I would definitely use them in the future.

Description of Work
They had new gutters put up on the house.

Category gutter repair

4.0

09/23/2015


Sandra F.

They were not getting an A. The estimator included some things that weren't done. I didn't read the contract that they e-mailed to me. I just assumed he knew things like replacing a board but it wasn't done. When I asked the painters about it, they said, "We would have to charge you this much extra because a carpenter would have to come out and do that." I was working into the assumption that that was a part of my contract. However, when he e-mailed me the copy, he didn't clear that. I didn't read the estimate which was my fault. I would never use them again. I think they were a little high.

Description of Work
I had my house painted on the outside. I used Nelson Exteriors.

Category house painters

2.0

05/06/2015


Sloane N.

I felt that the supervisor of job employed by Nelson did not supervise properly. It is my opinion that one worker acted spiteful and drove nails into existing PVC where not needed and now unsightly. I felt Nelson reneged on initial painting contract.

Description of Work
Installed ceiling under porch

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear how unhappy [Member Name Removed] is with our service. We find it unfortunate, as we were under the impression that we had completed the job as per our signed contract, and had met with our customer several times to ensure her satisfaction. We strive to maintain a high level of service with all of our clients, as we have for the last 38 years we have been in business. We wish [Member Name Removed] the best in her future endeavors.
5.0

01/25/2015


Amanda M.

Dave, Steve, Grace, and entire crew were terrific to deal with. Everything was clearly explained, pricing was fair (especially unexpected additional required work), and Angie's coupon accepted. Very helpful in many ways, much appreciated!

Category siding

5.0

12/31/2014


Donna R.

Arrived every day at the time promised. Hard and very concientious workers. Great job done and good follow-up as well.

Description of Work
Painted whole house and repaired wood where needed.

Category house painters

5.0

12/16/2014


Donna R.

From the estimate though the completed job, everyone I was in contact with was professional and conscientious. I felt the people who are part of Nelson painting truly cared about the job they did on my house. Very prompt and completed job as quoted in the time frame promised. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Repair rotted wood around some windows. Scrape and paint wood areas of house and stain cedar areas.

Category remodeling

5.0

11/01/2014


Floyd P.

Scott Nelson and project manager Ward Bearden did a fine job estimating and managing the job. The paint crew, managed by Sergio, did an excellent job painting the house with only a small punch list. All were a pleasure to work with no complaint about correcting the few errors?

Description of Work
Rotten wood repair & exterior of house painted.

Category house painters

5.0

06/10/2014


Carlton G.

I am located in Lithonia, which is DeKalb, but was told this was outside the service area.

Description of Work
Although the 'Service Area' indicates DeKalb, the provider does not work in all areas of DeKalb - Lithonia specifically.

Category house painters

5.0

11/04/2013


BARRIE G.

Workers arrived and promptly began removing the old siding. They had a rolling dumpster that was emptied evey day. The siding removal revealed some rotted spots in the areas of each of the downspouts which were expertly repaired. The entire house was covered with a heavy plastic material which came in handy because we had a rainy day. The HardiePlank siding went on quickly and then the eaves and soffits were pressure washed; they even pressure washed my deck which wasn't in the contract. There were a couple of cold days; when it warmed up enough to paint they went to work and finished quickly. My mother currently occupies the house and reported that all the workers were pleasant and friendly. Ward, the project manager, called her every day with an update. We are both extremely pleased with the outcome and the attention to detail. Incidentaly, this wasn't our first experience with Nelson; they have worked on 3 homes for us with roofing, gutters, interior painting and repair of a dormer where a tree fell.

Description of Work
Installed new siding.

Category siding, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

10/04/2013


Dave S.

I was surprised to see no reviews for Nelson Painting. I have used them repeatedly for projects around the house and find them to be fantastic. I have interacted exclusively with Chris Saulinskas who is a good project manager, professional, responsive, knows what he is doing, and provides accurate and fair estimates. For the exterior, Nelson is the only company I found who would guarantee their work against peeling. They scraped areas that needed it, sanded, power washed the whole exterior, repaired some rotted molding on the garage doors, replaced a rotted bay window and caulked to repair the leak, replaced a rotted French door, primed all areas where needed, applied two coats of the highest quality Sherwin Williams paint available, restained our deck and stairs a darker color, and applied two coats of marine varnish to the ceiling of our covered deck. This work was completed within the estimate, was done beautifully, and they left zero mess or paint drips anywhere. The date of service above (5/13) and cost ($2000) was to replace four large custom size shutters including construction of the shutters, deinstall rotted shutters, reinstall new shutters, repair and painting the frames, and painting all new shutters (prime all edges and bare wood, plus two coats of exterior paint). Nelson also has repaired dry wall for us, built a custom box in the wall for a TV on our terrace level, and completely painted one interior room and attached bath (ceiling, walls, all moldings). When I need any of this type of stuff done I just contact Chris and am assured of a high quality, fairly priced job.

Description of Work
Power wash exterior, scrape loose paint, prime, paint two coats exterior, paint interior room, repair dry wall and paint, make custom space in wall for TV, repair shutters, replace rotted shutters and paint, repair various exterior moldings and paint, replace interior baseboard with water damage and prime.

Category contractors, remodeling, replacement windows, house painters, interior painters, doors

3.0

08/03/2013


Wayne A.

The service wasn't very good. I had to get someone else to finish the job because they didn't prep the surface and the paint started peeling.

Description of Work
They did an exterior painting on a building.

Category house painters

Service Provider Response

We are very disappointed to hear that [member name removed] was not happy with our service. We would, however, like to clarify a few things. The house that the work was performed on, was a rental property of the owners that was built in 1910. The built date is important, as we believe that all of the problems stemmed from the age of the siding on the house. We went through all proper steps, including scrapping of the already peeling paint on the house, lightly sanding any rough edges, priming those areas that were scraped to the bare wood, and then painting one top coat of a paint that was purchased and provided by the customer. After the paint had dried, we noticed that much of the old paint had begun to peel in various spots on the house. After multiple passes on the house re-scraping those areas, priming, then spot painting it became obvious that we had a problem, a problem best described by this article: http://www.thisoldhouse.com/toh/article/0,,212675-2,00.html The surface was prepped properly, and unfortunately, the new primer and paint that we applied to the house is not peeling, but the previous coatings are. Also, while it is true that [member name removed] hired another company to "complete" the work, but it is not mentioned that we declined doing more work - at the recommendation of the paint manufacturer, because of the domino effect happening with the scraping, and spot priming, and painting. Also, we gave [member name removed] an agreed upon $2000.00 discount off of the project price so that he could pay for the new contractor to come out. As stated before, we are very disappointed that [member name removed] was not happy with our service, but we feel that we really tried to go the extra mile to make a bad situation better. We hope that clears things up a little.
5.0

08/01/2013


Maria D.

They were bit pricy and that’s why I didn’t go with him. They were professional and all that. They were detailed in their estimate and well presented it.

Description of Work
Nelson Exteriors gave an estimate for some paint work on the outside of the house on the face boards where we were getting new gutters.

Category house painters

5.0

06/20/2013


Kate J.

The estimate process was great. One of the owners, Scott Nelson, came out to my house to walk through and take assessment of everything that I wanted completed. I had colors on the back of the house and he showed me different options for windows that would go with my chosen colors. He patiently answered many questions and was there for over an hour. After getting in a few other bids and before accepting their proposal, I called him with more questions and was met with the same great attitude of patience. When the crew came out to perform the work, the foreman walked me through the process and it was exactly how Scott previously described and drew up in the proposal. At the end of the crew's few days at my house, they had cleaned up mostly after themselves. I did find some paint sprayed in my ivy and some of the caulk from the old windows around the yard, but I'm not too particular about that. They marked the paint cans in a way to easily identify and use for touch ups if necessary. I received many compliments on the paint job. Nelson also informed me of the paint warranty and how to maintain the paint job in order to make full use of the warranty. They have a follow up phone service which serves as a reminder for this when your pressure wash and touch up comes due. I would say they were consistent through the entire process and very courteous in person. I would hire them again.

Description of Work
I had 13 windows replaced in my house with Alcide Low-E windows; exterior pressure wash and paint; gutters removed, some reformed, replaced with screws (vs nails previously used) and gutter guards installed.

Category gutter repair, replacement windows, house painters

5.0

04/20/2013


Laverne C.

When I called Nelson's, they were quick to arrange an appointment for providing an estimate. Chris Saulinskas arrived at the scheduled time and was professional and knowledgeable regarding exterior painting; he provided a detailed proposal on the same day. All work was done in a professional manner and all workers were pleasant; they appeared to take joy and pride in their work. I especially appreciated Chris's attention to detail; he has a sharp eye. Working around the weather, the whole project took approximately four days. Each day the workers cleaned up the debris and left everything in neat order.

Description of Work
Pressure washed exterior of house in preparation for painting (also pressure washed the driveway, sidewalks and patio), repaired and replaced rotten wood, removed old siding and corner boards on the entire chimney and replaced it with HardiePlank lap siding, painted entire exterior, including wrought iron handrail, and stained the deck.

Category siding, pressure washing, house painters

4.0

04/15/2013


Maureen S.

I have had them do 3 or four jobs for us. The project manager is very reasonable very easy to work for . He is very professional and polite. But they have had to come back and fix things. I had to have them come back and touch things up and i don't think i should have to deal with that.

Description of Work
I used them for painting

Category house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    iDrywall & Painting LLC

    iDP offers many services to our clients. It is a one stop shop here ; from framing, to installing drywall to painting and finishing . Basments, kitchens, bathroom remodels and more. No job is too small or too big.  

    MicroX Gutter Guards Inc

    We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

    Offers by MicroX Gutter Guards Inc on Angi
    Duckworth Gutters & Renovation

    We are a family owned and operated gutter company with 30 years experience. We specialize in seamless gutter installations and leaf free gutter covers. We can also custom fabricate gutters, metal porches and baytops.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial - Siding Replacement, HardiePlank, Roofing, Interior & Exterior Painting, Rotten Wood Repair, Vinyl Window Replacement & Pressure Washing

    Services Not Offered

    Vinyl Siding, & Wallpaper Removal

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Nelson Exteriors

    How is Nelson Exteriors overall rated?

    Nelson Exteriors is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Nelson Exteriors open?

    Nelson Exteriors is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Nelson Exteriors provide

    Nelson Exteriors accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available, PayPal

    Does Nelson Exteriors offer free estimates?

    Yes, Nelson Exteriors offers free project estimates.

    Does Nelson Exteriors offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Nelson Exteriors offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Nelson Exteriors offer a senior discount?

    No, Nelson Exteriors does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Nelson Exteriors?

    Yes, Nelson Exteriors offers warranties.

    What services does Nelson Exteriors offer?

    Nelson Exteriors offers the following services: Residential & Commercial - Siding Replacement, HardiePlank, Roofing, Interior & Exterior Painting, Rotten Wood Repair, Vinyl Window Replacement & Pressure Washing

    Are there any services Nelson Exteriors does not offer?

    Vinyl Siding, & Wallpaper Removal