Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2006

4.8

(97) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5400 Glenridge Drive NE Suite 421561

Atlanta, GA 30342

Description

From DREAM to CONCEPT to REALITY! We are artisans that provide top quality construction and superior service with a commitment to adding value and enjoyment to your home. All of our projects are custom created, unique, with inspired design, and executed to perfection. Add the WOW factor to your

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/12/2021


Susan D.

Is there any greater endorsement than saying you are a “repeat client?” I first worked with Scott Arnold (the owner of Arnold Masonry and Landscape) seven years ago. Not only does Scott have “an eye for design,” but also he knows how to bring that vision come to life. So, after purchasing a new home with a large backyard, we asked Scott to offer his thoughts about how best to use the space. Scott designed a 20’x30’ flagstone patio, a 12” tall wood burning fireplace with side benches and an outdoor kitchen. He worked with us to individualize the space so that it would best suit how we want to spend time there. As a Master Mason himself, Scott carefully chose all of the different types of stone for each of the separate elements so that they would slightly contrast with one another, while complementing the overall sense of design. Scott also had the brilliant idea of adding a putting green behind the chimney! The overall scope of the project also included landscape design and installation, as well as outdoor lighting (which beautifully accents the entire area at night). Scott seamlessly and strategically managed all facets of this project, including the coordination of additional vendors with whom he has established relationships to bring the project together in a cohesive way. All projects invariably face unique challenges…whether it is how to bring large amounts of material into small spaces or, as with this project, dealing with Mother Nature and managing the many different “moving parts” involved in a project of this scope. Scott has the experience and strategic competence needed not only to design and build, but also to problem solve, pivot when necessary and, all the while, being gracious and making it seem easy. When embarking on any project, finding a vendor who is an expert in his field, truly cares about his work and puts his customers first is an invaluable investment. Scott is that vendor. Scott’s crews were extremely respectful and very attentive to any requests or questions that I had throughout this entire process. They arrived on time and worked very hard. Scott was committed to communicating with us weekly (if not daily) about the plan of action, including any changes which had to be made due to prohibitive weather conditions or material sourcing issues. Scott’s approach to billing is, as he calls it, a “turnkey approach.” Whatever happened, the price did not change (unless a substantive change was requested by me which altered the cost of an element). The one last thought which I would like to impress most upon the readers of this review is Scott’s personal investment of pride in each of his projects. It is rare these days to meet a vendor who is so committed to personal service and quality craftsmanship, and whose crews not only respect him enough to also have this same vital sense of ownership in their work, but also have been with him for over 20 years!

Description of Work
Hardscape and Landscape

Category concrete repair, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, outdoor lighting, stamped concrete, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], your endorsement of not only my own self but my company and all those working for me is truly one of the best I've ever received. Dealing within this business for over 40 years, it means a great deal to me when a client goes above and beyond with not just what they say to me individually and privately but what they're willing to say to the public as you have. It was a fantastic endeavor and joy to create the first project we handled for you over 7 years ago and even more so this go around. I thank you and [Member Name Removed] deeply for once again putting your trust in me and my company. More than likely as a dying breed we do place our clients first and our artisanship and quality as well as structural know-how comes above trying to price the project to win it. Once again I want to thank you both deeply for your trust in us and such kind words and wish you many years of enjoyment with this new outdoor living space!
5.0

08/23/2020


Michael N.

Scott and team did a fantastic job building our outdoor fireplace and kitchen in a very short time. The crew was done in less than 2 weeks. The team was very professional and their attention to detail is amazing. Scott made multiple visits to make sure the project was progressing as planned. He helped us rework designs when we wanted to tweak a few things as the project progressed. No complaints, no problems, nothing. Looking forward to the next project with Arnold Masonry and Landscapes.

Description of Work
Outdoor fireplace and kitchen

Category fireplaces, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], We want to thank you both for such kind words as well as placing trust in us from the forefront regarding these facets of your outdoor living area. It was a joy creating these for you and look forward to future projects as well. Thank you once again for not only choosing our company and superior abilities but also for being such fantastic clients!
5.0

07/30/2020


Paul G.

Scott's team (Arnold Masonry) completed multiple jobs at my home and the work is always exceptional, on time, and on budget. All his team members are professional, courteous, and obviously take pride in there work. Old school craftsmanship and quality, not only is the work always great, but the prices are competitive. I will continue to use Arnold Masonry and would highly recommend them to my friends and neighbors. Thank you for everything my fireplace and outside kitchen are beautiful!!"

Description of Work
outside fireplace and kitchen

Category contractors, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

We all at ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape want to thank you, [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], for choosing us to help enhance your gorgeous property in East Cobb. It's a joy having wonderful clients as yourselves and we hope you both enjoy the outdoor living area including fireplace and kitchen that we created for you. Thanks again, relax and enjoy!
5.0

06/15/2020


James B.

Arnold Masonry did an A+ job with our outdoor project! We had a small flagstone patio that we wanted expanded and the final product blended the new/old stonework perfectly. We also added a stone fireplace that we couldn't be more pleased with. The owner Scott was always providing updates and his team completed the job faster than anticipated. I've never been more impressed with a contractor and the craftsmanship skills of his crew - very professional, timely, fair pricing, etc, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend this company!

Description of Work
flagstone patio expansion, new outdoor fireplace

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much, [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], for such a great review. It makes us very happy when our clients not only are completely satisfied and pleased with the finished project but also realize all that goes into it. For 35 years now we have been beautifying Atlanta and North Atlanta residence's backyards and strive to bring forth beauty and functionality to everything we create. We all thank you for choosing our company and hope you and the family enjoy your new outdoor living for years to come!!
5.0

06/10/2020


Jenn J.

During this Covid time we thought about changing our large, newly stained deck and sizable yard to stone work and a covered patio area with seating, dining and an outdoor kitchen. A place where family and friends could come together large and small. We had Scott come out for a look. He actually recommended some smaller jobs vs the very large one. His ideas were spot on. We really appreciated the advice and honesty. He truly consulted with us to get on a path towards our long term vision. Other companies may not have made that choice, the right thing for the customer. Once we made the decision to move forward, it could not have gone any better. We value what all do in a company - consistent communication and expectations, executed on time and on budget, a hard working and respectful crew (to all in the house), and with high quality materials and craftsmanship. It seems so simple and yet so many fall so very short. Scott Arnold and his team delivered on all. It could not have been a better experience with a better outcome. We highly recommend Arnold Masonry and Landscaping. We will be using them for our next planned project building out paradise in our backyard.

Description of Work
Retaining wall and landscaping

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We want to thank you, [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], for being such fantastic clients as well as for choosing our company to handle your outdoor living projects. Although this was phase 1 and a great start to an over all complete backyard makeover, we are looking forward to the following phases and bringing beauty, fun and functionality to the different areas of your backyard. It's clients like you that bring a lot of joy to all of us at ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape. Thanks again!
5.0

02/24/2020


Maria H.

We highly recommend Arnold Masonry and Landscape for your hardscape projects. To address some very muddy areas in our backyard we wanted a patio and rock garden as well as installing rock steps in a few areas. We only had a vague idea of how these should look and Scott was very helpful in design and material suggestions. We were very impressed with his knowledge and experience and were not disappointed. Our project turned out better than we hoped. He used stone and rock that blended beautifully in with our existing landscaping. His team was very polite and professional and completed the project ahead of schedule. We are extremely pleased with the quality and beauty of our new hardscape.

Description of Work
hardscape in backyard

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

We want to thank you, [Member Name Removed], for such a wonderful review. You and [Member Name Removed] were fantastic clients and it was a pleasure creating new facets to your home's outdoor living. It always makes us happy when we finish a project with happy clients! :) We try our best and being in business for 35 years now, we definitely have tackled pretty much every type of masonry and hardscape project out there. We hope you both enjoy what we created for years to come and definitely look forward to hearing from you when it's time for the next project.
5.0

03/11/2019


Caitlin P.

We have had great success with Scott and team at Arnold Masonry. We had a botched backyard project, and Scott came in to help us fix the poor quality work done by another contractor. He took our backyard to the next level - it now looks professional and high quality. He provided us an honest opinion of what path to take, and a fair assessment of cost. The work was done quickly - as scheduled - and was done with good quality and a high level of professionalism. We recently rehired Arnold Masonry to do another stone structure in our front yard.

Description of Work
Patio and grill enclosure

Category landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much [Member Name Removed] for such a fantastic review. It means a great deal to us when our clients realize all that we put into their home and project/s. It's a shame that you had to go through what you did with the initial contractor yet I'm very happy that you found us and that we remedied his limitations into a gorgeous Pennsylvania Bluestone patio/ Tennessee Fieldstone foundation walls and a matching outdoor kitchen. We hope you and your family enjoy your new outdoor living and are excited to create the new entrance walls we discussed. Thank you again!!
5.0

01/25/2019


Katherine T.

Scott Arnold and his team were fantastic. Scott listened to our visions of the outdoor living space we desired and helped us come up with a plan to make the best use of what we had and to repair the existing patio without blowing our budget. Scott was honest and made some very helpful recommendations. His team was very professional and they finished the job on schedule and on budget. We are very pleased with the work and plan to finish covering the patio in the near future with Arnold Masonry's help!

Description of Work
Our blue stone patio was unlevel and coming apart. We wanted to cover the patio to create more usable outdoor living space; but first it needed to be repaired.

Category concrete repair, masonry, patios

Service Provider Response

We thank you so much, [Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed], for not just the kind review but being such fantastic clients. Our goal has always been to present the best in quality craftsmanship but also in correct structural stability/construction. We find more and more potential clients, like yourselves, who do not feel confident with many of the professed professionals out there and realize upon meeting us that we are not there to simply sell a project but we are there to present an aesthetically pleasing creation coupled with a structurally sound product coming from the decades of wisdom that we have through commercial and residential construction. We look forward to the pavilion and outdoor chimney project to follow up on this gorgeous Pennsylvania Bluestone patio project. Thank you once more for placing your trust in us.
5.0

09/16/2018


Clay F.

Thrilled with this Company We employed Arnold Masonry recently and were very pleased with the results. We called several masonry contractors when we decided to redo our patio, a fairly large project. We were very impressed with Scott Arnold of Arnold Masonry. He was not only businesslike and professional but also understood the aesthetics of the project; we ultimately went with a Pennsylvania Bluestone patio. The original patio had sunk so they installed a new concrete and steel foundation and then installed the Bluestone on top of that. It is a beautiful courtyard and the symmetry and colors are perfect. He sent us a carefully detailed quotation of the costs, which considering the size of the project seemed reasonable. His crew began promptly and were very hard-working and skilled. Any concerns or questions we had were addressed quickly. Everyone was co-operative and courteous. The finished product is gorgeous. It was a pleasure working with Scott and his crew. We would be glad to recommend Arnold Masonry and Landscape to anyone considering all types of masonry and hardscape projects.

Description of Work
Added concrete foundation. Then added Pennsylvania Bluestone with mortar over that. Cut stone and finished. Beautiful

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for such a nice review. Our goal is to bring fantastic and beautiful outdoor living products to our clients. We knew you'd love the PA Bluestone dimensional pattern and the formality it brings along with the colors. It was a joy creating this project for you and your wife and we look forward to future projects with you as discussed. Enjoy!
5.0

05/31/2018


N.L B.

The entire team at ARNOLD’s MASONARY GROUP has always exhibited stellar professionalism. I worked with Dennis, and he was excellent at taking my vision and executing a wonderful and quite beautiful pondless water feature for my courtyard. Dennis and his team who designed my water feature, were simply AWESOME. Anytime I’ve had questions, they were always readily available. If you are looking to work with a group of great folks with creative visions, then I would highly recommend ARNOLD’s MASONARY GROUP!

Description of Work
Pondless water feature (Fountain)

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

We all thank you at ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape for such a kind review. It was a pleasure creating this artistic and functional addition to your home. We truly have had the best clients through the years who are seeking creativity, quality and expert know-how. We hope you enjoy this project for years to come!
5.0

05/07/2018


Jodi W.

Scott and his team were excellent. We love our new outdoor fireplace and patio. Scott himself was very knowledgeable and professional. Our project was completed on time and on budget. We couldn’t be more pleased with the end result.

Description of Work
Outdoor fireplace and patio

Category masonry, fireplaces, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for the great review! It was our pleasure creating your outdoor living space and hope you and Michael enjoy this area for years to come. We're looking forward to adding some photos to our website. Thank you for choosing us and having confidence in us since our goal is not only creating gorgeous hardscape projects for our clients to enjoy but to do so with lots of communication and lack of stress. Enjoy!
5.0

08/01/2016


susan J.

Scott Arnold is the ultimate masonry design and build professional. Scott responded to us promptly and was flexible with design ideas until we determined an ultimate design for our project. The masons on Scott's team were polite, careful, neat and hardworking. The project site was cleaned up at the end of each day. The finished fireplace stone and design blends in perfectly with our surrounding terrace and pool area.... It looks like it has always been there! Our new fireplace has created a WOW focal point to our already beautiful home! The resale value of our home has probably increased by more than the project cost. We will enjoy our new fireplace all year long and look forward to entertaining and showing it off to our guests!

Description of Work
Designed and built a stone outdoor fireplace

Category concrete repair, masonry, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

What a great pleasure it was creating this outdoor living addition to your home, [Member Name Removed]. We do strive to please our clients from the planning stages through construction and ultimately with the final product. We hope you and the family enjoy this addition to your home for years to come. Once again thank you for being such a great client and leaving such a kind review!
5.0

07/10/2016


Michelle R.

Dependable and Professional Our second time working with Arnold Masonry. Without fail, they were timely, professional, and dependable. The hardscape previously done in our front yard matched our backyard perfectly. Scott pointed out helpful solutions to potential problems, and his crew was efficient and tidy. We wouldn't hesitate to work with them again.. We had a custom patio and chimney along with decorative walls and lighting built by Arnold Masonry and Landscape. The chimney is really great and looks just like we hoped it would! The patio is the perfect size and shape to enjoy our new stunning chimney. It feels like a piece of art in the yard. It is 90+ every day in Georgia right now but we are still burning fires at least twice a week. The project was completed in less time than we were told and they cleaned up after themselves! I am going to use Arnold for future hardscaping and masonry needs and would recommend them to anyone looking to do the same.

Description of Work
Custom patio and chimney, decorative walls and custom lighting

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for such a kind review of our Company. It was truly our pleasure in creating this outdoor living area hardscape for you. Your satisfaction, happiness and excitement means so much to us. We hope you experience a great deal of joy and fun through this project as well as wonderful memories. Thank you once more for choosing our Company to create something unique, beautiful and fun!
5.0

07/10/2016


Michelle R.

Dependable and Professional Our second time working with Arnold Masonry. Without fail, they were timely, professional, and dependable. The hardscape previously done in our front yard matched our backyard perfectly. Scott pointed out helpful solutions to potential problems, and his crew was efficient and tidy. We wouldn't hesitate to work with them again.. We had a custom patio and chimney along with decorative walls and lighting built by Arnold Masonry and Landscape. The chimney is really great and looks just like we hoped it would! The patio is the perfect size and shape to enjoy our new stunning chimney. It feels like a piece of art in the yard. It is 90+ every day in Georgia right now but we are still burning fires at least twice a week. The project was completed in less time than we were told and they cleaned up after themselves! I am going to use Arnold for future hardscaping and masonry needs and would recommend them to anyone looking to do the same.

Description of Work
Custom patio and chimney, decorative walls and custom lighting

Category masonry

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for such a kind review of our Company. It was truly our pleasure in creating this outdoor living area hardscape for you. Your satisfaction, happiness and excitement means so much to us. We hope you experience a great deal of joy and fun through this project as well as wonderful memories. Thank you once more for choosing our Company to create something unique, beautiful and fun!
5.0

11/09/2015


Charles D.

This is the second time we hired ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape within 12 months. Again, they did a wonderful job and exceeded our expectations. The stone work, landscaping and lighting really completed our backyard. They installed a crab orchard rock border around all of our backyard beds, replaced a significant amount of pine straw beds with mulch and installed lighting around our rock walkway. We are glad that we listened to Scott and went forward with the outdoor lighting as it provides a nice added element. Dennis always does a great job listening to our preferences and provides useful insight when selecting various plants, trees, flowers, etc. We intend to hire them again in the Spring to finish out the final stages of our yard. They are always professional, fast, efficient and on budget. I would recommend ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape to anyone with outdoor hardscape and landscape needs.

Description of Work
They installed a crab orchard rock border around all of our backyard beds, replaced a significant amount of pine straw beds with mulch and installed lighting around our rock walkway.

Category landscaping, lighting, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and[Member Name Removed], Once again we want to thank you for being such wonderful clients who truly appreciate our desire to please you with our hardscape and landscape creations. We look forward to our Spring project and hope you all enjoy the new additions to your home and property!
5.0

08/10/2015


robert B.

Scott was great to work with throughout. From the first contact to the day of finishing he was immediately responsive to calls, texts and emails. HIs advice and experience in the planning phase was key as a previous builder didn't even think about drainage, excavation or work around a spiral staircase, etc..He also took us to stone yard to pick out what we wanted and pushed back appropriately if he did not think it would work. Once building started, quality was outstanding and completely custom built by Master masons. They also edged current stairs and footings, which were not part of original agreement. Project was absolutely on time and budget with good clean up at completion. Scott came out and did final walk through once project completed and even gave us thoughts on landscaping rest of yard. We will definitely work with Scott and Arnold Masonry again on future projects and have already referred them to work associates and friends.

Description of Work
Install custom stone flagstone patio and six stacked stone columns.

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Removed member name], for your kind feedback on your experience with our company. It was a pleasure creating this hardscape project for you with the upcoming landscape project. It's such a pleasure doing business with wonderful clients. We also look forward to the projects for your friends that you referred us to. We hope you and yours enjoy this outdoor living area for years to come and once again thank you for the wonderful review as well as being fantastic clients!
5.0

12/16/2014


Cheiri L.

Arnold Masonry and Landscape When looking for a company that could assist me in creating a breathtaking fire pit area in my backyard, I decided to search in two arenas, first on Angie's list and then through friends and word of mouth recommendations. One company surfaced twice in the research and it was Arnold Masonry in regards to aesthetic results and highly rated reviews from their clients. I would like to share how the project progressed: Our first appointment included Scott reviewing the layout of my back yard and what I wanted to create. He gave me options and suggested additional items to make the result more aesthetically beautiful. I appreciate Scott because he took enough time to ask specific questions that were driven from his expertise and standards of excellence. Within a short time frame I received a proposal that was specific in regards to cost, payment and time frames. I asked Scott for another option....again a very quick response. Once the proposal was accepted ..we began the construction process. The first day was a long day for the craftsmen. It took them several hours to create and pour the base of the fire pit area. The second day the stone work began...and day two it was completed. One final clean up day included an acid wash of the stone work and finishing touches to surrounding areas . Throughout the process Scott kept me up to date on the progress of the project and asked for my feedback constantly. I was delighted to meet his son Joe on the final day of construction. Joe is a great representative for this company and is as passionate as his father is in regards to the work they do for you as their client. Thank you for a job well done.

Description of Work
They created a fire pit area in my back yard.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so very much for such a kind and thoughtful review, [Member name removed]. It was a pleasure creating this patio, walkway and steps and fire sphere outdoor living area for you. One of our goals as a company is to bring forth amazing and artistic creations and projects for our clients and having clients like you who realize as well as appreciate our unique abilities means the world to us. Thank you again and enjoy this addition to your home and property for many years to come!
5.0

12/11/2014


Susan G.

From our first meeting with Scott everything was handled very professionally and promptly. Scott guided us to his suppliers so that we could pick out the exact type of blue stone and brick that was going to be used in our project. Even the suppliers had wonderful comments about Scott and his team. Scott's design sense was also very good and he gave us exact drawings of the fireplace. He made sure we knew about each detail and involved us in the design process. Every day the crew arrived on time. They were incredible craftsmen and even my children marveled at how they cut and placed each stone exactly where it was supposed to fit into the large patio. The crew was very polite and also left the work site clean at the end of each day. The entire project was completed in 5 days. The time management was excellent. Upon completion Scott reviewed the work and made sure our expectations had been met. He is very customer oriented and I cannot say enough good things about his team. We love our new outdoor living space and look forward to using it all the time. I would highly recommend Arnold Masonry and Landscape to anyone looking for quality workmanship.

Description of Work
Arnold Masonry & Landscape installed a gorgeous bluestone patio and outdoor brick fireplace. Our yard was void of any outdoor living space and the new patio and fireplace is now a beautiful focal point and gave us much needed outdoor living space.

Category masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

We thank you, [members name], for such a wonderful review. It means a lot to have clients who not only appreciate our superior artisanship but our professionalism in all arenas. We know you and your family will truly enjoy this magnificent addition to your beautiful home and are very appreciative that you realized we were the quality and service oriented company who would bring this complete hardscape project to fruition. Relax, enjoy it and have a wonderful holiday!
5.0

12/06/2014


Oliver F.

We were looking at three companies to improve our outdoor living space. We decided to go with ARNOLD Masonry and Landscape, and glad we did. From the very beginning of the project, Scott did a terrific job providing us with ongoing updates on status and next steps. They put together a couple of recommendations and different stone options which were all beautiful. We decided to go with a 325 sf flagstone patio with a 6f built in BBQ area. Scott and team are passionate about what they do and are true artists that will not compromise on quality. A lot of companies can put in a flagstone patio but a true mason looks at the big picture matching colors, shapes, transitions and flow of the patio as part of the backyard and that's what Scott and team do really well. We had the same crew working onsite for the entire duration of the project. Each member was very friendly and careful around our plants. They finished the project on time and within agreed on budget with no surprises but most importantly, they delivered way beyond our expectations. We LOVE, LOVE, LOVE our new patio and recommend Scott and his team without hesitation!

Description of Work
325sf flagstone patio with a 6f built in BBQ area

Category landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

It was our great pleasure in creating and constructing your new outdoor living area and we thank you for such a kind review on our company. Our goal has always been to concentrate our artistic skills in design and construction on each individual client. Focusing our business model along with the best in artisans on each unique project and client has always succeeded in bringing forth very happy and satisfied clients who realize that there are trustworthy contractors who hold business ethics very high. It makes us happy to see you and your family happy and in the end that is what we desire. Thank you once more for choosing our company and we hope you and your family enjoy this outdoor living area for years to come!
5.0

11/17/2014


Charles D.

Our experience working with Scott and his team at Arnold Masonry could not have been better. We were spinning our wheels with a couple of other companies, going back and forth on quotes, details, etc. until we found Arnold Masonry. Scott responded to our email inquiry very quickly and we set a meeting. Within ONE day after our meeting, Scott sent us a comprehensive estimate, full of details, pricing and materials to be used. We hired them soon after and felt very confident and trusting in their ability to execute our vision. Scott & his team completely over delivered in every way. Our only regret was not finding Arnold Masonry months earlier than we did. I have included details on our project below to provide an idea of what they did to change our backyard from a bland, wet, space of spotty fescue grass to a beautiful, functional, efficient space.

Description of Work
Scott & his team completely transformed our backyard. They constructed two beautiful flagstone patios connected by several large natural stone steppers with boulders on each side and ground cover in between. The upper patio included a custom built in gas grill enclosure with natural stone to complement the backside of an existing stone fireplace. The lower patio allows us to enter the backyard from our basement easily and provides us a place to sit, relax and enjoy our backyard with our kids. This lower patio also includes a new drip irrigation line to water plants that we will soon place in pots down there. The southwest corner of our backyard was a complete muddy mess with multiple irrigation heads, a low grade and several small trees & bushes that looked tired. Scott & Dennis turned it from the worst part of our yard into one of the highlights. They installed a new french drain to decrease the moisture, built a thick, solid wood enclosure for our kids new play set, cleaned out the entire play set enclosure and filled the entire area with a fine, dark brown walnut mulch. Adjacent to the play set area, they built two vegetable garden boxes made from cedar wood. In addition to all of the items they constructed, they also greatly enhanced the landscape design of our backyard. They recommended we take down a dying silver maple and referred us to a great tree removal expert (DJ at Atlanta Tree Professionals). Now residing in place of that tree is an amazing assortment of plants amid thick pine straw. They increased the efficiency of our existing irrigation system (9 zones and over 50 heads) and either kept, capped, moved or replaced any heads to compliment our new backyard configuration. Additional plants were placed in previously empty spots. We were so pleased with their work that we plan to meet with them in the Spring to potentially plant perennials, add some outdoor lighting and add a custom rock border to some plant beds.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

[removed member name], Our main goal is exactly what you reflected within your review. Unique and custom hardscape and landscape creations that thrill our clients. Professionalism and top quality in all arenas of each specific project. Equally important- HAPPY clients! Thank you both for your realizing our expertise and allowing us to bring forth to your home and yard what you had been having difficulty in finding. We look forward to future projects with you and hope you enjoy this recent one tremendously! Thank you!
5.0

11/15/2014


David S.

Scott Arnold and his crew were great! Scott came up with a great idea for our very old and run down back patio. He listened to everything we were interested in and all of our concerns. As soon as we decided to move forward; Scott made things happen quickly. His crew was on time everyday and so kind and professional. They always let us know their schedule of what days they would be there or if they were not able to be there. They worked late one night to make sure the concrete was ready. His crew left the property clean every night. We had rain a couple of days so his crew worked on Saturday to make up for the lost days. The project was completed much quicker than we had anticipated which was great. Scott was always checking in with us to make sure we were happy with how the project was progressing. At the end; he met with us to look everything over and make sure we were happy. His crew cleaned up everything for us and left the area very nice. We are so happy with how it all looks and now have an extra outdoor living area that we can enjoy! We will definitely use them in the future for other projects and highly recommend them. I also have to say that I was fascinated by the way his crew built the stone wall and fireplace. It is truly a piece of art. They take every piece of stone and chisel it create the the perfect stone for the spot they are working on. It was fun to watch as it went along. Thank you Scott!

Description of Work
Stone patio with outdoor fireplace.

Category landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

[Removed member's name], Thank you so very much for the kind review of our company as well as allowing us to design and create your outdoor living area. What an amazing change from the old patio to the new much larger stone patio, decorative walls and stone fireplace. Elevating that area helped so much in order to increase patio space and placement of the chimney along with the walls helped to pull it all together and "cozy" it up. We look forward to creating your future projects including a really amazing hardscape for the lake house. Thank you once again and ENJOY!!
5.0

10/27/2014


Eddie W.

Scott was very professional, and even came by on a holiday to survey the property to give us a quote. Ultimately we decided we would not be living in this house for very long, and decided against spending the money on our backyard. I would definitely call him again once we move to our new house.

Description of Work
See details.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Although you never were an actual client in which we created a project for you, we thank you for the kind review regarding the consultation meeting. We look forward to hearing from you when you find the house you like and would like to proceed with a hardscape/landscape project.
5.0

10/14/2014


Susan D.

From my first meeting with Scott Arnold (the owner of Arnold Masonry and Landscape) to discuss the various components of what was going to be a very large backyard renovation, Scott instilled in me a sense of confidence that he indeed had the experience and competence needed to execute and manage the many different ?moving parts? involved in my project. Before meeting Scott, I interviewed four other contractors, none of whom seemed comfortable taking on this size project. But, true to his word, four weeks after starting demolition, my kids and I are enjoying our new backyard! As part of the overall scope of the project, Scott took the time to evaluate (and, honestly, improve upon) existing plans prepared for me by a Landscape Architect. Scott has a sixth sense about the placement of hardscape, as well as landscape, elements which combine together to create a seamless and very effective outdoor living space; he truly did make ?my vision? come to life. His crews moved retaining walls and replaced them with a graduated, landscaped hill that now has beautiful hand-selected boulders and a new and recessed stacked stone wall; he replaced a square and boring tile patio with a much larger, two tier, sculpted flagstone patio, a 12? stone chimney (designed by Scott himself, with an inset stone detail that makes my chimney unique to my backyard alone) and a built-in kitchen; he added a masonry fire pit and demi-lunar masonry bench to anchor the opposite side of the backyard. Scott carefully chose all of the different types of stone for each of the elements so that they would slightly contrast with one another, while complementing the overall sense of design. His landscape crew added the refinement of perennials which were carefully placed around the entire backyard and, then, finished the landscaping with sophisticated night lighting. To finish the backyard area, Scott designed and built a beautiful cedar pavilion with a medal roof which wraps around the chimney. The result is stunning; however, the devil is in the details?isn't it. Taking on these details, Scott?s landscape crew carefully measured the grade of my backyard and landscaped hill so as to ensure that drainage would not be an issue. After completion of the project and following a late summer thunderstorm deluge, we decided that the French drain which had been installed needed to be extended by 12 feet to properly manage the drainage issue. This alteration was made at no change in cost to the overall project (which highlights a point made in other reviews and which I will address below). Because access to my backyard was limited by space, the crews needed to drive a bobcat across my front yard (for several weeks) in order to carry the materials to and properly grade my backyard. Impressively, Scott thought about this is advance and included the cost of repair to my front yard with his estimate of the overall project, as opposed to ?tacking it on? as ?an extra? at the end. Personally, Scott and his crews were extremely respectful and very attentive to any requests or questions that I or my kids had throughout this entire process. They arrived on time and worked very hard. Scott was very communicative about the weekly (if not daily) plan of action, as well as any changes which had to be made due to prohibitive weather conditions. The parade of curious neighbors through my backyard has prompted many an unsolicited comment, from being amazed at the scope of the work which was completed within a four week period, to the undeniable quality of the work. Scott?s approach to billing is, as he calls it, a ?turnkey approach.? He was the only one of the vendors whom I interviewed to offer me a flat fee for the project. Whatever happened, the price did not change (unless a change was requested by me which altered the cost of an element?and, even then, a few de minimis extras just seemed to appear as if by magic). The one last thought which I would like to impress most upon the readers of this review is Scott?s personal investment of pride in each of his projects. It is rare these days to meet a vendor who is so committed to personal service and quality craftsmanship, and whose crews respect him enough to also have this vital sense of ownership in their work. Thank you, Scott, for making this so easy

Description of Work
A complete backyard renovation which included demolition of existing retaining walls, overgrown landscape, and a tile patio. Construction included significantly expanding the backyard greenspace area and hardscaping, the addition of a pavilion, a built-in kitchen, a separate fire pit area, as well as irrigation and night lighting.

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, fireplaces, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios, outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), Your review is one of the kindest reviews we have received. We sincerely thank you for not only the time you took to write this review but most importantly for your great appreciation of our endeavor to provide you with the best in service, quality, artistisanship and a complete custom addition to your home and life. From the first project consultation till the final minute detail was complete it was always our goal to bring forth that "wow" effect to your home and outdoor living oasis. As pleased as we may be, as we go through our steps, nothing brings us more satisfaction than to see and hear our client so excited with each project's facet coming to fruition. This project definitely entailed many different and exciting facets and your choosing our Company with trust and belief from the forefront along with allowing us to elaborate and show off our artistic ideas and abilities brought great comfort and enjoyment to us. The photo and video shoot ( soon to be displayed on YouTube as well as several of our main SEO sites as Facebook Business, Twitter, HOUZZ.COM and Pinterest) is definitely something we are all excited about and looking forward to so that those who are not familiar with our company may see all that we are capable of producing, yet, the most important factor of the whole project is that you and your family are not just happy with the final project but that your are THRILLED with your whole outdoor living space- your private place for relaxation, entertaining and when needed- a space for bliss within nature, masonry, hardscape and landscape. Our best wishes to you and yours as you enjoy our custom creation for years to come! Sincerely, Scott R. Arnold
1.0

09/10/2014


kimberley C.

Be aware that they have a $5000 minimum before calling. They said our job was too small, and as I explained we would also need a quote for a large outdoor kitchen as well, I was hung up on. Incredibly rude. We'll take our project to a company who will appreciate the business.

Description of Work
No work performed

Category outdoor kitchens

Service Provider Response

This is Scott Arnold, the owner of Arnold Masonry and Landscape. Respectfully, I would like to respond to your failing grade directly, as I take people’s comments, concerns and criticisms very personally. First, let me apologize for any miscommunication or perceived misrepresentation that you may have had about me and my company’s minimum policy. Yes, we do have a $5000 minimum. I believe this is clearly stated in our marketing materials. If you were unaware of this policy, I sincerely apologize. Please understand that some businesses in this industry focus on larger projects, and some focus on smaller projects. The employment and equipment requirements for each of these types of jobs differ greatly, which is why companies will often times focus on either one or the other. The inability to entertain smaller jobs efficiently is not a reflection on the customer, but merely a reflection of the scope of the project. Second, when you and I spoke on the phone, I honestly do not believe that I hung up on you because, well, that just is not something I would ever do. As you can see from the numerous detailed reviews on Angie’s List, customer service is a priority for me. I have built my company using the principle of transparency, and with the premise that my name serves as my reputation. This is why the company bears my name. It is for this reason that I hope you can appreciate that I would never intentionally be rude to a prospective customer. If you felt that I was rude to you, again, please accept my apology; but, honestly, I do not remember having anything other than a normal conversation with you. As I recall our conversation, I suggested that you call us back when you were ready to proceed with your outdoor kitchen. In the meantime, please let me know if I can be of any assistance in referring you to a company who can help you with your smaller project.
5.0

08/27/2014


Carter M.

Everything went extremely well. We loved Scott from the first time he came out to measure until his crew returned to clean up the project site. Everyone was professional and courteous throughout the process. The project stayed on schedule and on budget and the final result looks even better than we had anticipated! We would highly recommend Scott and his team!

Description of Work
We had an outdoor fireplace made of Tennessee Fieldstone placed on the edge of our deck. From the minute we called arnold masonry we were impressed by their professionalism. The owner (Scott) came out within a week to consult with my husband and I about the placement of the fieldstone chimney and the different design options that would work well for our backyard and for our budget. The construction crew then arrived 2 days later just as Scott promised. They were also very professional and hard working (and very patient with our dog and kids who came to check on them quite often). The construction went extremely well. After only 5 days of work, we now have an entirely different looking backyard. We love the fireplace because it gives the backyard an anchor without being too dominating. Scott definitely was right on his consultation. We made a fire this weekend (even in the heat of August) just because we couldn't wait until the fall. The fire drew well and even my particular husband was impressed and excited by this addition. As an aside, Scott recommended that we have a mantle and a hearth and both of them were great suggestions. The mantle is a gorgeous piece of wood and a great place to stick a candle or beverage and the hearth provides seating for 2-3 adults which really was helpful because it allowed us not to have extra seating all over the deck. We would definitely hire Scott again and are looking forward to many glasses of wine on our deck! Way to go Arnold Masonry!! You have two happy customers (and new friends) that will be singing your praises this fall in Buckhead.

Category masonry, fireplaces, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed], for an equally enjoyable business relationship and project creation. It is always enjoyable for us to have clients that desire unique, custom design and construct. This large, rustic Tennessee fieldstone chimney / fireplace is definitely going to not only bring forth that WOW effect but will serve as great fun and enjoyment for the family and all of your get togethers. We thank you for your business and look forward to future projects. Enjoy!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Julio Cisneros Creations

    Just an every day guy that loves working with my hands and creating beautiful projects. I will try to work in your budget and get the job done right the first time. I can do decks, vinyl siding, tile, home additions and repairs almost anything you can think of. Give me a chance to show you what I have done in the past and give you a quote!  

    Angi Certified

    Georgia Drainage Specialists

    Your residential drainage experts with a touch of beauty! Services: backfill restoration, catch basins, channel drains, downspout extensions, dry creek beds, french drains, grading, shallow retaining walls, soil stabilization, storm drainage, shallow exterior foundation waterproofing, landscape finishing, and more! Problems you may be having that Georgia Drainage Specialists can resolve: erosion, negative grade, leaky basement due to faulty drainage, roof water discharging near foundation, ponding water, soggy/musty yard, and more!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Rain Or Shine Solutions

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Lawn Irrigation and Landscaping Services, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
    Eco FriendlyEco Friendly
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    LC2005024888
    Trade License Locale
    Georgia
    Trade License Authority
    Cherokee County
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2022
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Complete masonry and hardscape services. Outdoor Living at its best! The short list- patios,outdoor fireplaces and pits,outdoor kitchens,steps,decorative & retaining walls,pool patio and masonry deck renovations,complete brick and stone masonry, etc.. Interior- custom fireplaces, bars, wine cellars, etc.. Please view our website & social media to view a sampling of our 37 plus years in business. What you envision we can create! Please contact us via our website's "Contact Us" form.

    Services Not Offered

    We engage in medium to large scale projects. Our minimum project budget is $10,000. We do not engage in small projects or small repair jobs. Please review our SERVICE AREA as well as SERVICES and our PORTFOLIO on our website. Please contact us via our website's "Contact Us" form.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape

    How is ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape overall rated?

    ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape open?

    ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape provide

    ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offer free estimates?

    No, ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape does not offer free project estimates.

    Does ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offer a senior discount?

    No, ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape?

    Yes, ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offers warranties.

    What services does ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offer?

    ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape offers the following services: Complete masonry and hardscape services. Outdoor Living at its best! The short list- patios,outdoor fireplaces and pits,outdoor kitchens,steps,decorative & retaining walls,pool patio and masonry deck renovations,complete brick and stone masonry, etc.. Interior- custom fireplaces, bars, wine cellars, etc.. Please view our website & social media to view a sampling of our 37 plus years in business. What you envision we can create! Please contact us via our website's "Contact Us" form.

    Are there any services ARNOLD Masonry & Landscape does not offer?

    We engage in medium to large scale projects. Our minimum project budget is $10,000. We do not engage in small projects or small repair jobs. Please review our SERVICE AREA as well as SERVICES and our PORTFOLIO on our website. Please contact us via our website's "Contact Us" form.