Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Son of a Plumber

Founded 2009 • With Angi since November 2009

4.5

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 7972

Athens, GA 30604

Description

Family Business, Sole Proprietorship, Business License, General Liability. Down payment required to begin work and complete payment due when job is complete. Large projects require down payment and payment after completion of each phase. Cash, checks, and money ordered accepted.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Alisa H.
5.0
12/06/2018
Jimmy knows what he's doing. He always does a great job and he is VERY reasonable.
Description of Work
Jimmy has replaced multiple parts of our rotting copper tubing though out our house
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Joseph B.
5.0
09/30/2018
My wife and I bought a house in Athens in 2012. We hired a variety of contractors from the area to help with the remodeling of our home. Time and time again I was met with high prices and low quality work. I had a front door installation that was installed with 10 different sized screws. I had an outer wall repaired with masonite that was sold to me as "a high quality construction material." which quickly disintegrated leaving my home exposed to the elements. The contractor even told me not to worry about a rotting section of the house's frame that I expressed concern over. I felt like My wife and I were being taken advantage of at every turn and the work being done never seemed to be done right. We hired Jimmy Parr (Son of a Plumber) to install new ceiling fans and lights throughout the house. Jimmy did excellent work and so we hired him to fix the outer wall of our home that had been so badly handled by the previous contractor. Jimmy gave us a surprisingly fair price and ended up discovering more damage to the frame of our house than we had ever imagined. Jimmy repaired the bottom plate of the frame and replaced it with a 16' pressure treated 2x4 which he nailed to the concrete foundation. The end result was that I could feel the difference in the structural integrity of the upstairs of our home. I really can't thank Jimmy enough for going above and beyond what he had originally set out to do, but most of all for being honest with us about the problems that the previous contractor had ignored. Since then we have hired Jimmy for countless small jobs. He always comes through with integrity and skill (unlike other contractors that I've hired). I would recommend Jimmy for any job around the house.
Description of Work
Home repair and renovation
Category
handyman service
Bonnie M.
1.0
06/30/2016
He charge more than twice the amount the job would have cost had I used another plumber. The two toilets a year later came unfastened from the floor because they were not installed correctly. I called and he said he would come and never showed up. I repeatedly tried to leave messages but his voice mail was full. He has no website on line. This man is not a professional person in any sense of the word and cannot be trusted. His work is shoddy. He is a joke.
Description of Work
Install a hot water tank, install two toilets
Category
plumbing
Carson D.
5.0
05/05/2016
Jason is great to work with.? Punctual and knowledgeable.? I've used his services for years on new construction and repairs.? He is proven to be trustworthy and to get the job done efficiently. ?
Description of Work
Re-plumbed 2 baths and kitchen for remodel.?
Category
plumbing
Carson D.
5.0
05/04/2016
Jason is great to work with. Punctual and knowledgeable. I've used his services for years on new construction and repairs. He is proven to be trustworthy and to get the job done efficiently.
Description of Work
Re-plumbed 2 baths and kitchen for remodel.
Category
plumbing
tina S.
2.0
09/28/2015
No return phone call.
Description of Work
I called to set up an estimate.
Category
plumbing
Todd D.
4.0
09/16/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Cleaned and stained a large deck, some basic carpentry work. | |Jimmy was a super nice guy, and a pleasure to work with. I got the sense that they were overly booked, as responsiveness and reliability were something of a challenge. I think they do great work, especially with plumbing issues and at a very fair price. It was just that they seemed too committed with too many other projects at the time they worked with us. Could have been a bit more organized, in other words. I'd give them a call for another project. But next time, I'd just get clear up front about what would happen and by when.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, deck cleaning, woodworking
Rahsaan M.
1.0
06/12/2015
After we set the appointment I never heard from him again even after I sent him a message the day before he was supposed to come.
Description of Work
We set the appointment date and he did not call or show.
Category
handyman service
Joseph R.
5.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Repaired two fiberglass tubs, replaced kitchen cutoff valves, fixed slow faucet, and replaced a leaky toilet. Very polite, quick work. Took care not to make any messes and were in and out.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Ellen A.
5.0
10/24/2014
The job took longer than expected, but Jimmy and his crew were professional and made sure all work was completed to my satisfaction.
Description of Work
Removed existing bath tub and installed new tub. Also installed new toilet & replaced tile flooring.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing
Carl H.
1.0
09/24/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Never showed up to quote.
Category
countertops, flooring contractor, handyman service
Jenn B.
5.0
06/07/2014
The countertop I'd bought was too wide, but Jimmy made it fit perfectly. The floor went in seamlessly. Jimmy went out of his way to make sure I was happy with everything and fixed problems I didn't even know I had, all for a price that I could not find anywhere else. I'll definitely be calling him again and will recommend him to anyone needing work done.
Description of Work
Replaced countertop & floor in bathroom
Category
countertops, flooring contractor, handyman service, plumbing
Roselane S.
4.0
05/30/2014
Although Jimmy is not a licensed plumber yet, I would still hire him to do other work for me. I agree with other reviewers that he is a hard worker and will try his best to make it right. When I had a leak on the new plumbing he promptly came over to take care of the problem and was always responsive to any concerns I had. My only concern was Jimmy's lack of full disclosure and the requirements from the inspector.
Description of Work
Moved waste and water lines. Had to hire a licensed plumber when I found out Jimmy is not a licensed plumber because the plumbing inspector would not even look at the plumbing.
Category
handyman service
Evet L.
5.0
07/14/2013
Jimmy is a very amiable person to deal with. I have decided to use him on future similar jobs. He is busy and sometimes cannot return calls right away, but is good with texting. He had to replace some defective plumbing, and he was very clear that some of the recommendations that came from a non-licensed tradesman were totally off-base. The work of replacing drains, installing a new cabinet and replacing a defective prior installation, was very good and he and his assistant were great to work with. His pricing was very reasonable and fair. He is an honest, hard-working and straightforward problem solver, and I think he is great. Evet
Description of Work
Hook up drains for large aviary room; re-install poorly installed plumbing in cabinetry; hook up garbage disposal.
Category
handyman service, plumbing, drain pipe
lisa F.
5.0
05/22/2013
Jimmy installed a massive unit in the upstairs window. It took some figuring out because the unit is larger than the window, but he was able to get the job done and we are now cool and comfortable.
Description of Work
Installed Air condition unit in window.
Category
handyman service
lisa F.
5.0
05/14/2013
Jimmy and his crew showed up on time and completed the job to my full satisfaction.
Description of Work
Replaced the water line from the meter to the house and had to run a new line in the house to connect with the old water lines. Did a wonderful job, was very good on price, professional, cleaned up after themselves ( even left the basement cleaner than it was before). Will use again. I feel comfortable using him for any household needs.
Category
handyman service, plumbing
Elizabeth G.
5.0
09/18/2011
The spigot was damaged beyond an easy repair. Jimmy responded quickly and had the problem fixed within a day of my call for help. He was in the middle of a big project at the time, and I know my problem was an interruption for him... but he came through right away. I would definitely use his services again.
Description of Work
Replaced the hot water spigot and piping behind the tub at our rental home.
Category
plumbing
Perry P.
5.0
11/03/2009
He was responsive, came on time, fixed the problem quickly, and it's still fixed. He seems to be a very small business -- one-man show -- and it was a small job. But he handled it efficiently and charged reasonably.
Description of Work
We had a leaking seal at the base of our toilet tank and he fixed it.
Category
handyman service, plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Wallis Landscape, Inc.

    Wallis Landscape is a family owned and operated full service landscape company since 1988. We specialize in design and installation, drainage and lawn maintenance. We provide free estimates and fully insured. Our service area includes Grayson, Lawrenceville (South of 316), Lilburn, Loganville, Snellville and Stone Mountain.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    AquaGuard Foundation Solutions

    AquaGuard Foundation Solutions, founded in 1995, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. AquaGuard is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, gutters, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Capital Flooring Group

    Capital Flooring group is a locally owned and operated flooring company serving the greater Atlanta area since 2012. We do all types of flooring. We will walk you thru every step of the process from picking out which product you want all the way to the finished product to ensure customer satisfaction. This step by step process is what sets aside from other flooring companies in our area. Let us help you with all your flooring needs to your door, set up a consultation today. **Please note we are not currently doing estimates on minor repairs or customer supplied flooring product but are happy to look at larger major repair needs**  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Free in Clarke Cnty, for all others: gas surcharge
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Pumbing, handyman repairs, carpentry, remodeling, bathroom remodel, floor installations, deck repair, pressure washing, minor A/C work and sewer line cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Son of a Plumber

    How is Son of a Plumber overall rated?

    Son of a Plumber is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Son of a Plumber provide

    Son of a Plumber accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Son of a Plumber offer free estimates?

    No, Son of a Plumber does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Son of a Plumber offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Son of a Plumber does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Son of a Plumber offer a senior discount?

    No, Son of a Plumber does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Son of a Plumber offer emergency services?

    Yes, Son of a Plumber offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Son of a Plumber?

    No, Son of a Plumber does not offer warranties.

    What services does Son of a Plumber offer?

    Son of a Plumber offers the following services: Pumbing, handyman repairs, carpentry, remodeling, bathroom remodel, floor installations, deck repair, pressure washing, minor A/C work and sewer line cleaning.