Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Islander Building Services

4.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Founded 1996 •

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
CBC1251472
Trade License Locale
Florida
Trade License Authority
Florida: General
Trade License Expiration
08/31/2022
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

13801 Shady Shores Dr

Tampa, FL 33613

http://islanderbuildingservices.com

Description

Islander Building Services is a family owned state licensed building contractor working in the Tampa Bay area for twenty two years. We have been your friendly neighborhood contractor specializing in decks, porches, outdoor living since 1996. Please feel free to call to for a free estimate. We are happy to work with all budgets....

Verified Reviews

4.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

13

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

decks & porches (7)hardscaping (3)Patios (2)dock building (1)tile installation (2)interior painting (1)drain pipe installation (1)siding companies (1)roofing (1)
Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews
5.0

08/20/2021


skyler W.

I absolutely loved having Islander make my turning my backyard Covid project into an real life Oasis! From pavers, fencing, redecking, and some interior remodeling work, Islander’s workers were in and out in no time. Andy and his son Andrew were effective with communication and incredibly thorough from preliminary drawings to final walkthrough. I’m very pleased with our new masterpiece and am happy to use them again when the time comes. -Thanks again! SW

Description of Work
Patio, pavers, interior remodeling

Category decks,remodeling,roofing,siding,hardscaping,patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/20/2021

1.0

08/27/2020


Dennis P.

It's very difficult to get construction done, in Florida.

Description of Work
Contractor unavailable

Category dock building

Work Completed On 08/27/2020

1.0

08/20/2020


Renette B.

It didn't go anywhere. I took time off work for them to come out. No one showed up, called the office which gave me an excuse. Then rescheduled for that Friday, owner (?) came out took measurements. When I mentioned the added room was a washer room, he stated they would just demo it. When I asked what would I do with the appliances & hot water heater, he said they would run the pipes under the deck. So no mention of adding the room back on. Said he would call me with an estimate the beginning of the week. Being 4th July weekend I waited for a week for the estimate. Called Andy (owner ?) and he said it must be on the computer, he'll send when he gets back to the office. Never received the estimate, I emailed the company no response. For a company that has been in business for 26 year and supposedly has five stars, not sure how. I don't find them very professional. If they didn't want to do the job, they just should of said so. I would never ever recommend this company to anyone. They aren't even worth one star !!!!

Description of Work
Replacing my deck

Category ceramic tile

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Sorry you never received the estimate but I did send it. Check your spam folder sometimes I lose emails in this folder. Let me know if there is anything else I can do?
5.0

08/03/2020


Rick M.

wasted 90 days listening to hollow promises, and dealing with unanswered phone calls, voice mails, texts, and emails... Just a small time outfit using sub-contractors to do the work... Lacks overall basic management skills of planning, organizing, programming, controlling, etc... poor communication skills overall. Tried changing scope of project by replacing material composition to swell his profit. Be careful when dealing with this company

Description of Work
$12,500 project to replace decking, stairs and railing with composite. Maintenance free !

Category decks

Cost $12,500

Work Completed On 08/03/2020

5.0

02/28/2020


Mike B.

Andy and his team were great to work with every step of the way. Professional, thorough and very accommodating when I requested a couple of modifications from the original design. Andy was very good about keeping me updated on progress before the work started and made sure I was completely satisfied, regularly checking in during construction. Couldn't be more pleased with the end result. Great company to work with.

Description of Work
New wood deck around existing concrete slab

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2020

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thanks for the great review. I hope you and your family enjoy the new deck for many years to come. I will forward the message to the crew. Thanks again.
5.0

11/24/2019


walter P.

Andy did a great job working on the deck. He was easy to work with and his crew was on time and on budget. Would definitely recommend and hire Islander again

Description of Work
deck

Category decks

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thanks for recommending IslanderBuilding Services. It was a pleasure to work with you. Thanks Andy
5.0

11/18/2019


skyler W.

Islander building was really a pleasure to work with! Andy worked with us on our deck design that complimented our backyard but maximized the space. Their communication was so prompt and clear, and they actually stayed true to their word (unheard of!). Andy even worked extra hours on the job to ensure our deck was ready for a grilling gathering we had planned. Love the end result and a great experience overall. I definitely would use them again and recommend them to everyone! If you're looking for a reliable and honest company that will work tirelessly to make you happy and get the job done right, look no further. Islander is what you need. Thanks again for the great job done and all of the help! -SW

Description of Work
Deck construction

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2019

5.0

11/18/2019


ivan M.

Andy was great. The crew was clean and professional and we love the new deck.

Description of Work
deck

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/18/2019

5.0

11/13/2019


Robert T.

After the initial snafu of no response, it went very well. The company worked around unforeseen problems that arose and completed the job efficiently. The new deck looks great, glad to have the composite decking. Am already having them quote another job.

Description of Work
Removal and rebuild of old deck with replacement of beams for the house.

Category decks,remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/26/2019

5.0

09/26/2019


Susan B.

It was beautiful. They were very professional, knew what they're doing, and they were very quick.

Description of Work
They provided brick paving and drainage work.

Category drain pipe,hardscaping

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/24/2019

Services Offered

Islander hardscape services are, pavers, travertine, stone, and sealing. Outdoor structures: including fire pits, kitchens, decks, gazebos or anything requiring a state license.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Financing, Check, PayPal, Discover, American Express, MasterCard, Visa
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Islander Building Services

How is Islander Building Services overall rated?

Islander Building Services is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

What days are Islander Building Services open?

Islander Building Services is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

What payment options does Islander Building Services provide

Islander Building Services accepts the following forms of payment: Financing, Check, PayPal, Discover, American Express, MasterCard, Visa

Does Islander Building Services offer free estimates?

Yes, Islander Building Services offers free project estimates.

Does Islander Building Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

No, Islander Building Services does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Islander Building Services offer a senior discount?

Yes, Islander Building Services offers a 5% senior discount.

Does Islander Building Services offer emergency services?

Yes, Islander Building Services offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Islander Building Services?

Yes, Islander Building Services offers warranties.

What services does Islander Building Services offer?

Islander Building Services offers the following services: Islander hardscape services are, pavers, travertine, stone, and sealing. Outdoor structures: including fire pits, kitchens, decks, gazebos or anything requiring a state license.