Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kern Patios & Window Co

Founded 1996 • With Angi since October 2012

KERN PATIOS & WNDOW CO. patio covers are built strong and engineered to comply with any city or county permit regulations. kern Patios & Window Co. will take care of any permitting involved with the installation of your patio cover. Additional email: kernawning@yahoo.com License number added - 976714.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
5%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Denys C.
1.0
08/11/2016
He is a thief. Don't let this elderly man fool you!
Description of Work
Steve Harrison came to our home for estimate. He seemed nice, knowledgeable. We signed and the contract and put down half of the cost for our patio (more than the 10% he tells you over the phone). That was 7 weeks ago. He wont return our phone calls/text messages regarding status. We have been calling him for 2 weeks. Steve will; however, return your phone call if you are calling to schedule an appointment for an estimate. Shady! He is a con artist. Do not hire Steve Harrison from Kern Patio! He will take your money with a smile but wont deliver product.
Category
replacement windows
Jeff S.
1.0
07/28/2016
Ordered the windows through Steve who seemed like a nice guy. He seemed to subcontract to some guy who had no idea what he was doing. The half wall came out horrible, sloppy drywall job, and he ordered the wrong door. When we told him it was not the door we wanted he said it would work. We fired them half way through the job and made them take the door back. Steve was never at the job site and we had to call about ten times to get him out there to look at the problem and got into several arguments about the door.
Description of Work
Need and sliding glass door removed and replaced with a half wall and window, also needed a sliding glass door removed and replaced with a swinging door with sidelights on each side.
Category
replacement windows, patios
Jimmie J.
5.0
11/02/2015
Contacted company and they came to house and explained process showed samples and provided quote. Called company and set up start date for installation. Crew showed up promptly on scheduled time, measured windows and completed job. Job was completed and looked great, very satisfied with job and with temperature reduction in house. Company is high recommended by me as a result of the job they done for me!
Description of Work
Installed solar screens on complete house
Category
replacement windows
Rhonda P.
1.0
10/19/2015
On the first rain storm in Feb. it leaked at a seam. After calling and leaving messages on their answering machine, I finally got someone to talk to. They sent a repairman out who sealed the seam again and said it was more of a gutter overflowing the area flooding the patio. He said he would talk to owner. Never heard from them and called several times. Another bad rain storm again Oct. 15, 2015 gutter can't handle water flow and floods patio again. Called several times again, go by the Easton Dr. location which is suppose to be their address and another business is at that location, not them. They were good at the initial installation and product is a quality product, but their warranty work and communication is an F grade. I would not recommend them.
Description of Work
Provider installed a patio cover on 01/06/2014.
Category
awnings, replacement windows, patios
Karen R.
5.0
06/22/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I completed a review of this co. already.
Category
replacement windows, patios
Rhonda P.
1.0
02/26/2015
Very professional and nice people, when patio was installed. It was a few months later when the problems began. We had a bad rain storm in Feb/Mar which my patio leaked. After calling and leaving messages for a month I finally got someone to answer the phone. They sent someone out who sealed area where it was leaking and said they would probably need to add another rain gutter, since it seems it overflows and floods the patio there. Never heard back from them, and I called several times with no return calls. Another bad rain came again on Oct. 14 and flooded patio again. Called several times answering machine only, never a person and left messages with no response as of Oct. 20. I guess I'm going to have to hire another patio cover company to fix problem and add another rain gutter as well as install rain barrels (added cost for barrels on me I know). Apparently, they don't answer there phone for new paying work either.
Description of Work
Installed a patio cover and covered walkway to carport.
Category
awnings, replacement windows
Diane Marie F.
1.0
12/18/2014
unknown
Description of Work
I contacted Kern Patios & Window Company on November 1, 2014, via email on Angie's List. On November 3, 2014, I received a response. I immediately (11/3/2014) resonded the the message. I also followed up with a phone call. I ended up leaving a voice message becasue no one was answering the phones. Then on November 5, 2014, I received an email to my voice message telling me that "Gary" would contact me soon. I sent a thank you to the email and said I looked forward to working with them. On November 13, 2014, I sent another email via Angie's List to Kern Patios and Window Company stating I had not yet heard from "Gary". AND to this date (November 24, 2014) I have yet to receive an email reply or a phone call from "Gary" regarding my initial request for an estimate. Clearly they are NOT interested in my business. Four weeks and no follow-up. Sad very sad.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Was unable to contact by phone to schedule an appointment. All appointments must be pre-qualified before a free estimate is given.
Steve H.
5.0
03/27/2014
kept to their bid price. Only took two days to install. Wait time was only one and a half weeks. I checked some other companies, and found that this one had the only proper licensing to do this kind of work. Great job.
Description of Work
Insulated Patio Cover.
Category
awnings, insulation
Chad S.
5.0
01/27/2014
Everything went great! Kern Patio was 1 of 3 businesses I contacted to get a bid on concrete and a new patio cover for our backyard. Steve, the owner, came out later in the evening and was very professional. He took time to explain his business, and showed us pictures of patios they have built in the past. He not only gave us the lowest bid, but that also included installing lights of our choosing (we bought ours at Lowes) at a lower price than his competitors. He had concrete scheduled to be poured the following Tuesday, and his crew came out to install our patio the following Saturday. They worked the entire day, but the end product was better than we imagined. The Aluminum structure looks like real wood (we went with white, but there are like 5-6 different colors to choose from). My wife and I highly recommend Steve and Kern Patio. You won't regret your decision.
Description of Work
They poured a concrete slab on Tuesday 1/21/2014 and installed an Alumawood patio cover on that slab on 1/25/2014.
Category
patios
Melissa C.
5.0
12/20/2013
Steve (the owner) was courteous and knowledgeble during the estimate appointment. He showed me pictures of patios (most of which I had seen on his website) and physical samples. He answered all my questions and gave us a timeframe in which the work could be completed. He did not pressure us to buy. I just wanted an estimate for a patio cover. We just moved to this house, and were trying to budget for the upgrades we want. But the great price convinced us to get the patio cover now. His installers put it up today. It is beautiful and makes our french doors stand out. When we have the money saved up I will call Kern Patio and Windows again for whole house window replacements. We are very happy.
Description of Work
Built and installed an alumawood patio cover in our backyard. Gave us 20% discount for buying during the "off" season for patios.
Category
patios
Jane G.
5.0
11/16/2013
On their initial visit, the company came out and boarded up a sliding door for me for no charge before I even decided to buy their product. They gave me an estimate on a new door and I had them order it for me and install it. They did an excellent job!
Description of Work
KERN PATIOS AND WINDOW CO
Category
replacement windows
Curtis G.
1.0
04/01/2013
Started off great, but ended poorly!
Description of Work
Steve came out and gave us a quote for our windows. He was very professional and did a good job not only explaining the process for installing the new retro-fit windows that he was quoting us, but also provided us some good literature explaining the difference between differences between the e ratings of windows. We were pretty much set on hiring them to install our windows (their quote was $6900 for 14 windows and a sliding glass door, which is really close to the other quotes we received); then, we started doing a little research regarding them. The first thing we noticed was that the had received an "F" rating from the Better Business Bureau. They received this rating because the bureau could not verify that they had the correct licenses to perform the working they are selling. This prompted me to check their contractors license, which I would have done anyway. On the CSLB website, I learned that they are only contracted to install awnings. This really bummed my wife and I out because we really thought that Steve seemed professional and knowledgeable. Just to make sure that they didn't have an additional license that they hadn't told us about, I left a message for Steve to call us. When he returned my call, he indicated that you didn't need a special license to install retro-fit windows. I verified this with other contractors and they said that this was not true. I wasn't able to verify it through the CSLB as they are almost impossible to get a hold of now that they are being furloughed; however, every other contractor that we had bid the job was either a general contractor or had a glazing license, which both seem more appropriate to me (I am not clueless in this field. I am not only a son and brother of contractors, but am a safety consultant for an insurance company). To conclude, I would suggest strongly before hiring this contractor that you verify they are licensed to do the work that you are hiring them to do!
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We have no record of ever meeting with or doing work for [member name removed]. Also we do maintain a C16 classification for windows.
Steve H.
5.0
01/14/2013
Wonderful people to work with. Did everything as promised. The house is so much warmer in the cold weather. Windows work great.
Description of Work
Replaced old windows in my rental house with energy efficient windows.
Category
replacement windows
Steve H.
5.0
10/28/2012
Not only did I get an excellent product for a great price. From the initial estimate which did not involve a high pressure sales, with inflated price and bogus discounts. To the finished product. These guys are pro's.
Description of Work
An insulated Patio cover
Category
awnings

Phone

Address

4700 Easton Dr Ste 21

Bakersfield, CA 93309

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Patio covers. Awnings. Alumawood materials.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

Kern Patios & Window Co is currently rated 3.8 overall out of 5.

Kern Patios & Window Co is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Kern Patios & Window Co accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Kern Patios & Window Co offers free project estimates.

Yes, Kern Patios & Window Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Kern Patios & Window Co does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Kern Patios & Window Co offers warranties.

Kern Patios & Window Co offers the following services: Patio covers. Awnings. Alumawood materials.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Vezina Industries Inc.

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Vezina Industries Inc.

Serving the Central Valley since 2007. We are a diversified building products company for both new construction and retrofit projects. We offer sales and installation of windows, insulation, fireplaces, solar and roofing. We also offer 0 down financing on our installed energy efficient products to help reduce your energy bills and to make your home more comfortable. Our experienced sales staff can help you find the best plan to suit your needs. We provide professional, curtious and timely service. Call today for information and free estimates.  

Delerio Construction

4.0

(9)

Angi Certified

Delerio Construction

We are a design and build residential remodeling and window company. Licensed, bonded, and insured. We provide full project kitchen and bathroom remodeling for every budget, timeline, and style. We are also certified dealers of Anlin Windows Windows & Doors, Simonton Windows & Doors, Milgard Windows & Doors, and MI Windows & Doors. We have over 35 years of experience in the remodeling business and our only goal is to provide you with a pleasant experience and a beautiful product you can brag about.