Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Kirch Excavating Service LLC

Founded 2004 • With Angi since July 2007

Kirch Excavating Service of Waunakee, WI is an excavating contractor that also offers trucking, landscaping, lot clearing, & more. We service residential & commercial. For a prompt response, please call 608-577-7804 to contact Brad with questions.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(39) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 39 reviews
Vicki K.
5.0
02/26/2019
In October of 2014, I called Brad Kirch to get a quote for landscaping our soggy yard to improve drainage. Brad explained how to build a slope, and thoroughly explained all of the details, at my request. We would have happily hired Brad at that time, but Brad was booked. Brad encouraged our family to tackle this job our self because it was straightforward. And he was right. We did the work ourselves. It was inexpensive and uncomplicated. Brad was great at both listening and advising. I'd hire him for any professional landscaping we might want done in the future.
Description of Work
Lawn slope increased for drainage correction
Category
excavators, landscaping
Christopher S.
5.0
04/13/2017
We will definitely hire when ready for our project.
Description of Work
Came to our house and gave a thorough, accurate estimate. Personable, common sense, and punctual.
Category
excavators, landscaping
Heather D.
5.0
09/12/2016
Fantastic! Owner was prompt to respond, provide quote and schedule work. Work was done on time and as requested, very professional and helpful.
Description of Work
Clearing tree trunks, brush, removal if dead tree and other yard debris and overgrowth before having fence installed.
Category
excavators, hauling services
Todd O.
5.0
09/11/2016
We were extremely satisfied with Kirch Excavating.
Description of Work
Bobcat work to regrade residential lawn. There was a section of lawn that was too high and a section that was dug out many years ago for a kids play structure. We wanted to put it back the way it was before we messed it up.
Category
excavators, hauling services, lawn service
Sarah L.
5.0
05/12/2016
Kirch's price was incredibly competitive with other bids. He thoroughly explained some additional options he could provide and was very easy to work with. The extra considerations he gave were ones that the other excavators didn't mention, like building up the low parts of the land with the extra fill and saving the topsoil to put over it so the grass would grow back. We were very impressed with his work ethic and his attention to detail.
Description of Work
Kirch excavated land for our new basement and removed a massive root ball from an 80-year-old tree from our front yard. He also moved the extra soil over to a low spot in our yard and saved the topsoil to put over it so the grass would grow back.
Category
excavators, mulch
James J.
5.0
07/14/2015
Brad was the third service provider I called. The first never called me, the second called me three days later. Brad returned my call in one hour. I should have just called Brad. He visited me to provide an estimate and to talk about the job. He was polite, straight forward, and a good guy. We received heavy rain the night before the scheduled work. Brad called me early that morning and communicated that because of the wet conditions it was best to wait one day. He then drove to my house at 6:30 the next morning to assess the situation and then returned with his equipment to do the work. When I got home I was amazed at how awesome my property looked. Brad left me a voicemail after he completed the work, but I was blown away by how great everything looked. The best part is he completed the work for half of the price of his estimate. The work was so good, complete, and exactly what I asked for that I would have happily paid full price. I highly recommend Brad Kirch to anybody looking for high quality excavating and landscaping work. He's responsive, responsible, fair, and skilled. I wish I could upload a photo of the work so you could see it (hint hint Angie's list).
Description of Work
Cleared a section of property. Pull stumps, excavated, and graded.
Category
excavators, landscaping, tree service
Shelly D.
3.0
07/10/2015
First of all I hired him based on reviews on Angie's list that described him as good about explaining things and affordable. Brad was good about coming out and explaining things. He is a one-man operation. I wanted to have soil sloped away from two apartment buildings (these buildings are next to each other). Everything is wide open and very accessible. He delivered 5 yards of topsoil, that went well enough. I received and paid bill. The second time, about 3 weeks later, he assembled 3-inch PVC extensions for the downspouts in order to direct water away from entryway of each building. These extensions were about 20 feet in length per building. Basically if you know anything about PVC, you glue together pieces with fittings, somewhat like Tinker Toys. Not to discount the knowledge needed but it is a do it yourself kind of project, and I enjoy these kind of projects, but basically have no time because of 2 fulltime jobs. OK, so it was my bad not to ask the per-hour rate up front but I saw people's comments about his "affordability" Also when we had been talking about the topsoil he did say that if he had to bring out the bobcat it would be over 100 an hour. I said in that case do not bring out bobcat (to spread soil that I had not had time to spread). Well, when he came out the second time, he just had a regular (although all shiney and new) pickup truck. He took it upon himself to spread the dirt (by hand). Next he assembled the PVC and camoflauged it by half-burying under the soft soil. I left to go to work. When I received bill for 3 1/2 hours of work at 125 an hour (plus 158 for PVC parts) I could not believe it. I called him and he said he had brought out truck. I said "you mean your pickup truck, it was not a dump truck." So he took off 1/2 hour. That brings the effective rate down to 107 per hour. Gee thanks Brad. I will not hire him again because of this. I do absolutely believe in paying a fair rate, but 125 per hour is more than double what should be paid for this type of work. I feel he took advantage. I should have asked the per hour rate up front and he should have explained it. If he had been doing bobcat work I would certainly expect to pay more per hour. I will not hire him again. If you hire him I highly recommend getting everything in writing UP FRONT.
Description of Work
I hired him twice. The first time to deliver topsoil. That went fine, although I did not have time to spread it out with my busy schedule. The second time he came to put some PVC extensions on downspouts near entry doors of two apartment buildings. This is the instance in which I had problems: To summarize HIS MINIMUM RATE, even without special equipment, is $125 an hour! Understandable rate with equipment, outrageous for what he did for me . . .. and I felt misled. ASK WHAT HIS RATE IS AND GET SOMETHING IN WRITING FROM HIM BEFORE PROCEEDING WITH WORK.
Category
landscaping
Carrie W.
5.0
11/11/2014
It looks great and is holding up much better than just plain gravel. I called Brad for an estimate on a Tuesday and he was able to do the work on Friday.
Description of Work
Dug out old gravel driveway. Then replaced it with recycled asphalt. It looks great and is holding up much better than just plain gravel. I called Brad for an estimate on a Tuesday and he was able to do the work on Friday.
Category
landscaping, driveway pavers
Judy F.
5.0
11/07/2014
Mr. Kirch responded quickly to my inquiry; suggested contacts to help determine the cause of the problem; arrived on time; used the right-size equipment to access the yard; invoiced for slightly less than his estimate. He was thoroughly professional.
Description of Work
Examined sinkhole in back yard to determine cause; filled with concrete and soil; seeded and spread straw to restore lawn; provided detailed instructions on how to care for reseeded area.
Category
landscaping
Rene' C.
5.0
10/28/2014
Great job while I was out of town. Sorry I do not remember the dates.
Description of Work
Snow Plowing
Category
landscaping
Vicki G.
5.0
10/27/2014
Brad is wonderful to work with - clear, thoughtful and precise. He works hard as he chafes by the hour and he makes every hour count.
Description of Work
Graded the side and back of our house, built a retaining wall, removed stumps and resided and mulched the entire project
Category
landscaping, tree service, hardscaping
Barb P.
5.0
09/29/2014
It turned out that his company does not do that type of landscaping. The owner was very helpful and professional, coming up with alternatives for me to consider and contact. I appreciated that he took the time to do that, and that he was so responsive. Very impressive!
Description of Work
I contacted him about some landscaping work. The owner called me back very quickly to discuss exactly what type of work was needed.
Category
landscaping
Eric L.
5.0
09/05/2014
We have used Brad for similar work in the past. He is always conscientious and personable. Brad understood what we were looking to do but he still took the time to review his work plans and results on a daily basis. The results of his work are always excellent. He carefully pulled trees and shrubs making every attempt to extract the root system. Then he smoothed over each disturbed area with the backhoe. In areas with significant activity he used his bobcat to completely smooth the grade.
Description of Work
Brad cleared an extensive number of invasive trees and shrubs over a three day period
Category
excavators, landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Sandra R.
5.0
08/23/2014
I contacted four contractors and Brad was the only one who returned my call for an estimate. He came the same day to look at the property and provided a very reasonable price. We had previously hired someone else to complete the job but that contractor abandoned the project half way through when they received payment. Brad was a breath of fresh air after that experience. He arrived on time and completed the work in a friendly and professional manner and even completed some tasks that were not part of the original bid. He was easy to work with and charged by the hour. The job was completed in less time than he anticipated saving us money. I'll hire him again in the future.
Description of Work
Removed tons of pea gravel and river rock that former property owner had used as ground cover and then regraded that area of the yard. Also removed weeds, lilac trees, trimmed tree branches and relocated large decorative boulders.
Category
hauling services, landscaping, lawn service, tree service, hardscaping
BILL B.
5.0
03/17/2014
I got them from Angie's List and they were an excellent choice. He is extremely skilled. He can problem solve and figure out difficult situations. He was able to get excavating equipment between 2 houses in a very narrow space with outdoor gas meters on either side. He is a one man show with every kind of equipment possible that you would need. He can really customize his equipment to fit the job whether it is a small or large area. His pricing is reasonable. What he accomplishes in one hour of work would take other contractors far longer to do so he accomplishes a great deal in a limited period of time. He is very pleasant to work with and communicates well. We have used him several times. We have worked with him for several years.
Description of Work
We use Kirch Excavating Service for excavating work.
Category
excavators
S B.
5.0
12/09/2013
Could not proceed with the project due to a zoning issue. However, owner was great to work with, returned all calls promptly,good communication, showed up on time for estimate, helpful with suggestions on solving my driveway problem, and promptly returned my deposit when I couldn't proceed with the work as planned. Would recommend.
Description of Work
.
Category
excavators
WILLIAM G.
5.0
09/25/2013
Brad was great. I had gotten another estimate, and the other guy wouldn't even do the job. Brad came in (was very punctual every time he was scheduled to be here) and gave an estimate. It was a bit higher than I was hoping, but he said all of the right things and it was obvious that he knew what he was doing and was going to do high quality work. He was so busy that he couldn't do the work for about 4 weeks. Of course on the day that he was supposed to start, it was raining. The weather delayed the job a day or two, but he was right at it when it dried out, did the work quickly and it looked great. It is very obvious that he takes pride in his work, and it was well worth what I paid. The grass came up quickly and we're really happy to have that old landscaping project out of our yard. I even saw him stop by and check the progress of the grass unannounced during the week on a day that I happened to be home.
Description of Work
Brad tore out a huge are of landscaping, consisting of many plants in a rock bed. He then filled it in with top soil, mulched with hay and seeded the area.
Category
landscaping
Barbara K.
5.0
07/24/2013
Excellent job! He was so easy to work with and very conscientious. Price very reasonable. I highly recommend him.
Description of Work
I had a pond in my backyard that I wanted filled. I drained and got the area ready for filling. Kirch Excavating came in and filled the hole, packed the earth, mulched and put a pre-emergent on the mulch.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch
Judith F.
5.0
05/08/2013
He called back the same day, came out the same day and brought his equipment the next morning to tear out the bushes---even in the rain. Even tho he said he didn't do mud-jacking, he spent over an hour giving us advice on the sidewalk and even got out his "laser" machine that tells how much the sidewalk should be raised. I understand he doesn't cut down trees, but he takes out the stump. He was so common and down to earth and honest, I will certainly get him again.
Description of Work
I called to have the big old woody bushes in front of the house removed and to have a sidewalk that was slanted towards the basement either removed or mud-jacked..
Category
excavators, tree service
David L.
5.0
04/29/2013
A called Brad, needed just a small load of mulch for some spring time work. He delivered as scheduled.
Description of Work
Have used Brad many times in the past for hauling of mulch, topsoil and compost material to my home for yard needs. He is so nice to work with, prices are great and he aims to please.
Category
hauling services
Paul L.
5.0
03/24/2013
He did a wonderful job, and is a genuinely nice person!
Description of Work
Excavated old pond and filled in the hole. Placed topsoil and seeded.
Category
landscaping
Nancy W.
5.0
01/31/2013
Excellent service and did the work exactly as I requested on damaged arbor vitae. I have also hired him for snow removal. Very prompt.
Description of Work
Great service!
Category
tree service
Kristel G.
3.0
12/22/2012
Unsatisfied with the rush job and what seemed to be polite impatience fter his equipment problems.
Description of Work
Brad did a job for me and my neighbor filling in an in-ground garage, taking out a short Set of steps and retaining wall, and moving dirt to correct the slope. His equipment malfunctioned on the second day and repairing it took more than half the day. It seemed that the rushed the rest of the project to stay on schedule.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

I apologize if there was something you were not satisfied with regarding the work completed. I pride myself on running good quality equipement and going above and beyond to keep my customers happy. Unfortunately, equipment breakdowns occur. I try very hard to make repairs in a timely and efficient manner as to keep my customers on schedule, since many times they have to rearrange their schedules to be home when I am doing their work. If there was something you were dissatisfied with, I wish you would have discussed it with me at the time, since it has now been over a year since your job was completed. If you do have any concerns with the work that was completed, please contact me and we can discuss it further. Thank you.
Judith M.
5.0
12/03/2012
It went well, as far as I remember. I was in the throes of my dad's residence at hospice care and imminent passing away, so I don't really know or remember what we said or agreed upon. However, Mr. Kirch seemed very sensitive to these issues, and did give me a written estimate I eventually agreed on. In retrospect, I probably would hve gotten another estimate, but didn't have time or energy. Mr. Kirch did what he said he would do and did it well and professionally.
Description of Work
Mr. Kirch removed some of the bad plastic edging that needed to come out. He used a machine that digs a deep crevice in place of it.
Category
landscaping
Linda C.
5.0
11/07/2012
I have been trying to get this driveway done for 2 years and he did it in 2 days. Everything went very well. I would recommend them. They did exactly what I wanted done and did it efficiently. The estimates were a little higher than others, but it was definitely worth it. He had all the right equipment for the job, which was an issue talking to others.
Description of Work
I had them out for excavating a driveway and laying down recycled asphalt and stone for a new driveway.
Category
excavators, driveway pavers

Phone

Address

5145 Ziegler Rd

Waunakee, WI 53597

Other Information

Services offered

Trucking. Excavating. Grading. Drainage Correction. Landscaping. Lot Clearing. Post Hole Digging. Boulder Walls. Snowplowing. Concrete Removal. & Demolition.

Services not offered

Mudjacking & Concrete Leveling.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Kirch Excavating Service LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Kirch Excavating Service LLC is open:

Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Kirch Excavating Service LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Kirch Excavating Service LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Kirch Excavating Service LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Kirch Excavating Service LLC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Kirch Excavating Service LLC offers emergency services.

No, Kirch Excavating Service LLC does not offer warranties.

Kirch Excavating Service LLC offers the following services: Trucking. Excavating. Grading. Drainage Correction. Landscaping. Lot Clearing. Post Hole Digging. Boulder Walls. Snowplowing. Concrete Removal. & Demolition.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Greenscapes LLC

5.0

(74)

Angi Certified

Greenscapes LLC

Winner of the 2014, 2016 and 2017 Angie's List Super Service Award, Greenscapes LLC has established a reputation as a leader in commercial and residential landscape design, construction, and maintenance in the Greater Madison Area. As a full-service landscape company, we are a one-stop shop for all your landscaping and snow removal needs. Our knowledge, attention to detail and personalized customer service, ensures that our customers’ needs are met and services are delivered in a timely manner.  

At Hanke Landscaping and Snow Removal our belief is that our customers needs are the utmost importance. Our team with 10+ years experience is committed to meeting those needs. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver you the best service. No job is to big or to small, please contact us for a free estimate!  

Welcome to Alonso Landscape Service, a full-service landscape company with one goal - making our customers happy. Our professionalism, dedication to quality and outstanding commitment to customer satisfaction has catapulted us to the forefront of landscape service providers in Dane County. At Alonso Landscape Service, landscaping is more than a job. It's an opportunity to create beauty and satisfaction for our customers. We ensure that our customers receive the time, attention and expertise each job needs for ultimate, timely, cost-effective results. From hardscaping to seasonal plantings, lawn maintenance to snow plowing, we view every job as our only job... until it is completed. We Are Fully Insured! For appointments, please call (608) 308-4983. (608) 239-4577 or email us at contact@alonsolandscapeservice.com Visit our website at http://www.alonsolandscapeservice.com