Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC

Founded 1976 • With Angi since November 2003

OWNER OPERATED.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 26 reviews
Jeff W.
5.0
09/09/2019
Local Plumber I use could not respond in timely manner due to other business so I call Guthrie and they were able to come out promptly. so far so good. Thanks
Description of Work
Installed New Water pressure tank
Category
wells
William G.
5.0
09/28/2017
Thorough job in replacing the tank with a better product.
Description of Work
New pressure tank for well system.
Category
wells
William G.
5.0
09/28/2017
Thorough job in replacing the old tank with a superior product.
Description of Work
New pressure tank for well system.
Category
wells
gary S.
5.0
02/17/2017
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
wells
Robert R.
5.0
01/29/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Replaced iron curtain
Category
wells
Amanda F.
5.0
04/28/2015
Jesse was friendly, very knowledgable and explained all the parts and how it worked. Scheduling was fast and convenient. The woman I scheduled with was also very informative and gave tips on things to watch for. Replacement was made during same visit and only took 2 hours. He also pointed out additional plumbing work I should have serviced by plumber. Bill was slightly less than initial quote. Overall great experience.
Description of Work
Replaced loud and waterlogged 14 year old well pressure tank, relief valve, gauge and switch. Tested pump and found it still functioned well, did not recommend replacing at this time.
Category
wells
Wendy D.
5.0
03/30/2015
We had low water pressure , which meant it could have been the pump , or the iron curtain filtration . Zac was prompt, and quickly diagnosed the problem which thankfully was the iron curtain which was overdue for a clean . Whilst here he upgraded the pressure gauge, and added a reset switch . $99, for service call and $55 for parts . Good value .
Description of Work
pump service call and water pressure diagnosis. Upgraded gauge and added a reset button .
Category
wells
Laurie V.
5.0
02/06/2014
We live in the country and they replaced the well tank. They are responsive. They came out the same day that we called. They are highly knowledgeable and professional. Their prices are reasonable. The secretary in the office is very knowledgeable and friendly. It is a family owned business.
Description of Work
We use Guthrie & Frey, Inc. for quarterly chlorination of our well.
Category
wells
FRAN B.
5.0
05/16/2013
I shut off the pump so as not to burn it out. A worker came and checked out the pump which was in working order, although old. He checked the well, which is quite shallow at 25 feet. I think I may have left a hose running on plants too long and so the well did not have time to re-charge. The fellow who came was courteous and did a very through job. he also tossed some cholorine tablets into my well for me which I very much appreciated.
Description of Work
I have a well and suddenly one night the pump kept running and the water stopped flowing. I called and made an appointment for the following day.
Category
wells
Lee Ann F.
5.0
03/30/2013
They were very responsive within a day or two days like that. They were very practical, safe and really cared about my pocket book. So they fixed everything efficiently, promptly and safely. If I have a well problem, they are the only people I would call.
Description of Work
I have a well pump outside, the pump that runs from the well inside the house and this is just used for outdoor watering not drinking water, that had a whole and so it was draining in my basement. So I just shut that off and called them. They literally had to lift the outdoor well and pulled it tight.
Category
wells
James W.
4.0
02/11/2013
Serviceman was punctual and professional. Did all work to completion. Cleaned up any mess afterward. Knows his trade very well.
Description of Work
Installed a pressure tank for use in my water well system. Also put new associated piping in.
Category
water softeners, wells
Jessica L.
3.0
08/25/2012
Guthrie & Frey was amazing in getting us on their schedule after the memorial day weekend. Our well pump went out just before a major re-landscaping of our yard. While the landscpers were here they found the wiring issue and we called Guthrie and Frey on Tuesday. They came out that next day and evaluated our system with the diagnosis we needed a new pump and some new wiring. Two men from Guthrie & Frey came out to replace our well pump on Thursday and we were up and running with water on Friday! On Friday we got a letter from the City of Wauwatosa that our well needed to be inspected and that we needed to submit paperwork for the well inspection including a water sample. I immediately called Guthrie and Frey to see if they could do this for us. They sent Walt out again to get the water sample and returned the water sample DNR paperwork to us (but no inspection report). I assumed that submission of the well pump replacement and the DNR report would be sufficient for the city of Wauwatosa (I am just the homeowner, not the well expert).A few weeks later, we then got a call from Tracy informing us that the city of Wauwatosa had called her and that we were missing our DNR 3300-221 form. It would be another $95 for them to come out and complete the form for us. With the already $2000 + we spent, I asked if she could talk to Lynn Frey to determine if they would be willing to come back and not charge us or at least split the charge with us. Tracy called again the next day and said she looked into it and it wouldn't be $95 but actually $150 to complete the paperwork. ($100 of that is travel reimbursement...). My frustration is that due to a misunderstanding (I thought we were getting a well inspection/water sample) and them thinking they were only doing the well replacement, they were unable to do anything regarding customer service. Due to the 45% increase in cost from1 day to the next, and the lack of collaboration on a two sided misunderstanding, we went with another company to complete the well inspection (for 18% less than Guthrie & Frey).
Description of Work
Checked our well pump system. Found short in well. Replaced 3/4 hp well pump and fixed short by running new wires.
Category
wells
MIKE K.
5.0
02/23/2010
Excellent response from Rob and Lynn Frey. Evaluated the water, installation, and what would be required to replace the Culligan unit with one that eliminated the bleach and used oxygenation. Replacement was done in a half day, at no cost, and rental of $32/mo. In additon, the balanced the air tank. At the time, Rob spotted that we had a well pump that was vintage 1974 and suggested that we check to see if it had PCB's. Good catch on his part, and not a part of the job at hand. Only one call back to slightly adjust the unit and all is well. Excellent company.
Description of Work
Replaced a Culligan Iron Filter with the Iron Curtain.
Category
water softeners
Tabb P.
5.0
11/08/2009
I needed the pipe from the well to the house replaced. It had been leaking and water was entering the drain tiles in the basement. When Walt described that he would need to bring out a backhoe to dig up the pipe, I was worried that the whole yard would be destroyed. He was able to remove the pipe and put in a new one without disrupting the cement walkway leading to the house (which the pipe goes right under). He masterfully pulled the broken pipe out with the backhoe while pulling in the new pipe at the same time. Then when it came time to put the dirt back in the hole, the backhoe operator was able to gently scrape the pile dirt off the grass and into the hole without hurting the grass. It barely looks like there was work done in my yard. I was quoted $1,000-1,500 fully expecting it to come in at $1,498. but when the bill showed up as $1,100 I was extremely happy. These guys are great!
Description of Work
Replaced pipe leading from well to storage tank.
Category
wells
Robert M.
5.0
04/04/2009
The banging of the well pump started on a Friday morning. I was concerned because I was not using any water at the time and the well kept restarting with a banging vibration every few minutes. I quickly looked around the house to see if any toilets were running unchecked but found all quiet. When I looked out the front window, I noticed the drive covered in water. When I got outside I saw the water leak...a broken hose sprayer handle. I quickly turned off the spigot and thought the problem solved. On Saturday, while doing the wash, I again noticed the loud vibration and banging of the pipes each time the well was activated. Worried that this might do the plumbing further damage, I made sure to minimize water usage for the rest of the weekend. I called only one plumbing contractor, Guthrie, in New Berlin, after reading positive reports on Angie's web site. I left my name with their weekend answering service and asked that I be called on Monday to make an appointment. On Monday I called Guthrie directly and set-up a late morning appointment. They called and rescheduled me for the early afternoon. The technician, Tim, arrived on time and spent a good hour checking the well and all its mechanical and electrical operations before concluding it was a sticky check valve. The estimates given were not in writing and suggested several different scenarios as to parts needing repair/replacement. No pressure was stated or implied and I was able to observe and question Tim throughout his initial diagnosis. My wife and I decided to replace the pump (average life 10-15 yrs.) as soon as possible. Tim called back that evening and we scheduled the work for the next morning. Tim and Walt arrived about 9:30 AM and proceeded to pull close to 200 feet of pipe in addition to the pump. The piping was old metal ( a surprise to Tim ) and showed small leaks. This added to the cost of the job, but Tim had built that into his higher estimate for the repair. Tim and Walt were experts. Total repair time just over two and a half hours. The well pump has never been this quiet ( not even when house was originally built ). Total cost was actually on lower end of verbal estimates even with all new plastic piping.
Description of Work
The upper check valve, well pump and piping was removed, inspected, and replaced.
Category
wells
Arlyn C.
5.0
11/03/2008
Came and looked at the unit; girl in the office thought we might need a new tank, but he didn't think so. He charged less than I anticipated, and fixed the problem. He could have pushed a new tank on me, but he didn't, which I am grateful for. He was very professional, didn't waste a lot of time or do a lot of chatting.
Description of Work
Needed a repair to our reverse osmosis system.
Category
water softeners
DIANE P.
5.0
10/20/2008
They were very professional, thorough, courteous, and prompt.
Description of Work
They put in a new well pump and repaired the well. They also put an iron filter in for us.
Category
wells
CHARMAINE S.
5.0
08/13/2008
Called on Friday and he came on Monday. Performed well inspection ($95). Found that well cover needed to be replaced ($44) and did so. Entire encounter took 20 minutes.
Description of Work
Well inspection.
Category
wells
Bill G.
5.0
07/02/2008
They had good communication. They were up front about what could possibly happen once they started testing the old pump, and they did the right thing. They were very professional. I talked to the owner a couple of times and he went into great detail over the phone about what he needed to do.
Description of Work
They tested the old well pump and the replaced it and that's essentially it.
Category
wells
William H.
1.0
01/08/2008
The well pump worked initially, however, the seal or valve to the tank in my basement was never completely sealed and it caused water to pool over a significant area of my (luckily unfinished portion) basement. When I later discovered this I had to call them back to fix this. I then had trouble with pressure spikes about a year after the new tank was installed--I did not expect to have a problem with that so quickly. They had to come out again to fix that.
Description of Work
Installed a new well pump.
Category
wells
Brenda C.
5.0
09/04/2007
I scheduled a next day appointment with Chuck. Chuck sent Walt to perform the work. Walt recommended that I replace the well pump because the overall status of the well indicated the pump would be old and ready for replacement anyway. He didn't pressure me. He just made a recommendation. I decided to replace the well pump as well. Walt replaced the galvanized pipe with PVC pipe, the old check valve and the well pump with a stainless steel model. Good thing I decided to replace the well pump because the old one was circa 1970. Walt performed some additional work and did not charge me beyond the $1,500 I was quoted. Overall, I was very happy with their work and service. I would have no compunctions about referring them to anyone.
Description of Work
Chuck, from Guthrie, came to investigate a problem with the well. His investigation uncovered that the check valve was leaking. He stated that it would be about $300 to replace the old galvanized fittings with a cast bronze replacement. He also remarked that I may have to replace the well pump as well once they investigated the problem further. He remarked that based on my situation that may cost as much as $1,500.00.
Category
wells
MIKE D.
5.0
01/31/2007
It went great, with absolutely no difficulties. They did everything required and had the system up and running.
Description of Work
Diagnosed a failed well pump, came next day, and installed a new deep well pump in about three hours.
Category
wells
LISA R.
5.0
09/13/2005
GOOD HONEST GUYS THAT CAME OUT QUICKLY WHEN OUR WELL WENT OUT. HOOKED US UP TO OUR NEIGHBORS WELL THRU THE WATER HOSE SO THAT WE COULD USE TOILETS UNTIL THEY COULD COME OUT THE NEXT DAY AND REPLACE THE WELL. I WENT WITH THE CONTINUOUS PRESSURE TANK (WHICH IS MUCH SMALLER THAN TRADITIONAL TANKS) AND A BIT MORE EXPENSIVE, BUT WORTH IT. VERY PLEASED WITH THEIR SERVICE. OUR ONLY ISSUE WAS THAT THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO COME BACK TO GET THE OLD TANK OUT OF THE BASEMENT FOR SEVERAL WEEKS.
Description of Work
INSTALLED NEW WELL PUMP (CONSTANT PRESSURE ONE).
Category
wells
BRIAN D.
5.0
10/08/2004
WALT WAS ABLE TO SCHEDULE WORK QUICKLY AND WAS ON TIME. I NEEDED INSPECTION, REPORT AND IMPROVEMENTS PROMPTLY TO SUBMIT FOR THE SALE OF MY HOUSE AND IT WAS NO PROBLEM.
Description of Work
WATER TEST AND WELL SYSTEM INSPECTION FOR $125. WELDED EXTENSION ON TO WELL CASING TO INCREASE HEIGHT AND INSTALLED SECURE COVER TO BRING WELL UP TO CODE - $150.
Category
wells
BRETT C.
5.0
11/08/2003
THEY WERE ABLE TO SCHEDULE THE WORK QUICKLY, AND WE HAD OUR WATER TEST REPORT IN ONLY A FEW DAYS. THIS COMPANY WAS RECOMMENDED TO US BY OUR REAL ESTATE AGENT.
Description of Work
PRIOR TO THE SALE OF OUR HOUSE, THIS COMPANY TESTED BOTH OUR WELL AND WELL WATER.
Category
wells

Phone

Address

308 UNIVERSAL ST

Wales, WI 53183

Other Information

Services offered

INSTALL & SERVICE WELL PUMP SYSTEMS, PRESSURE TANKS, WELL INSPECTIONS, CODE CONFORMANCE REPAIRS, NEW CONSTRUCTION & EXISTING EQUIPMENT.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Ask GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC for details on free project estimates.

No, GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC offers emergency services.

No, GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC does not offer warranties.

GUTHRIE & FREY INC/GUTHRIE INC offers the following services: INSTALL & SERVICE WELL PUMP SYSTEMS, PRESSURE TANKS, WELL INSPECTIONS, CODE CONFORMANCE REPAIRS, NEW CONSTRUCTION & EXISTING EQUIPMENT.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Clean Water Center

5.0

(22)

Angi Certified

Clean Water Center

At Clean Water Center, our mission is to provide the finest, most reliable water treatment products and services available, and with it, our guarantee of customer satisfaction. We provide Services in Southeast Wisconsin Milwaukee area as well as the Fox Cities, Green Bay area. Our products and services include water softeners, water filters, water conditioners and much more! We are proud of our reputation for excellence and provide services for residential, commercial, and office applications. If you're looking for outstanding water treatment products and excellent customer service, we are the company you need to ensure your family receives the high quality water you deserve.  

KJM Plumbing

5.0

(17)

Angi Certified

KJM Plumbing

We take pride in the quality of work and customer satisfaction that we give each and every customer. We are known to pay exquisite attention to detail while making customer satisfaction our top priority. 7 days a week. Call us today to learn more about how we can help you.  

Aqua Well & Pump Systems, Inc., is a 3rd generation; family owned & operated, well and pump service company, serving all of Southeastern Wisconsin. Our mission at Aqua is to provide our customers with a safe, reliable water supply, while safe guarding & promoting the protection of our most precious resource. To accomplish this mission, Aqua is dedicated to investing in promotion, equipment, & most of all people who share the same core values of knowledge, integrity, hard work, & honesty. Aqua provides pump & well drilling service for residential, industrial, commercial, & farm applications. services.