Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Criterion Home Inspectors LLC

Founded 2006 • With Angi since March 2009

4.9

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

N59W23769 Clover Dr

Sussex, WI 53089

Description

Proudly serving Southeastern Wisconsin, I'm Ted Nelson, my son is Scott Nelson, we are the the owner-operator-inspectors for Criterion Home Inspectors LLC. We take pride in our work & do whatever we can to help home owners insure they maximize the return on their investment. The cost of each job is determined by the square footage of the area to be inspected. Travel charges are not incurred. Visit our website for more testimonials....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/16/2016


Michelle J.

The service and response was acceptional.

Description of Work
Home Inspection with Radon and Mold testing.

Category home inspection,radon testing,mold removal

4.0

04/15/2016


Ed B.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/30/2015


Sarah P.

Description of Work
Ted did a home inspection on a duplex property. He was able to come out within a week of me calling him. He arrived early to our appointment (which I was impressed by). He did an excellent job of explaining things as he went and his report was ready the next day. It was a very detailed report and it was easy to determine what things were safety concerns, what were major issues and what were things to consider 5 years down the road. I would not hesitate to call him again.

Category home inspection

3.0

06/30/2015


Laura W.

Description of Work
While inspection was completed on time and a lengthy report was given, many issues with home were not noted during inspection -

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

Criterion Home Inspectors LLC follows the ASHI standards of practice, which dictates what is, and what is not inspected, as well as what was visible at the time of the Inspection. If there was anything missed, we have not heard of it as of this writing.7/01/2015 Thank you
5.0

04/02/2015


SANDI E.

Description of Work
Very prompt response and easy to schedule. Quick turnaround on the report as well.

Category home inspection

5.0

07/02/2014


Rich G.

Inspector was very professional and thorough. He took his time and made sure he showed me any issues and explained why they were a problem. The report was comprehensive and easy to understand, very well laid out with supporting pictures of any issues and suggested resolutions along with items that should be monitored into the future. Would highly recommend this firm.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase home inspection and Radon Testing.

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

06/03/2014


Daniel M.

Ted was excellent. He was very responsive and professional. He and his son were very thorough and excellent about explaining things to us as we went through the house. Would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Home inspection on 3300sqft house

Category home inspection

5.0

03/26/2014


CARLA K.

Sarge was professional and easy to work with from setting the appointment to inspection to composing the report. He was thorough and knowledgable when at inspection and not afraid to get dirty. It was great to follow him around and learn more about the house we were buying. No stone was left unturned, the report was detailed and well organized. we would definetly work with him again.

Description of Work
Home inspection and radon test

Category home inspection

5.0

03/03/2014


Matthew S.

We chose Criterion Home Inspectors LLC based on the raving reviews from Angie's list. We were not disappointed. The entire inspection took over 3 hours, and Ted did a fantastic job. He answered all of our questions, took very detailed notes and pictures, and provided us with a 38 page report. There were no major issues, so much of it was cosmetic, repair, quality, etc. There were a few safety issues which we were able to bring to attention due to his detailed report. He had our report to us the same day!

Description of Work
Provided a home inspection and water test

Category home inspection

5.0

10/02/2013


Trace L.

Plain and simple he did what he was supposed to do. My wife and I purchased our first home and we are to say the least, a little OCD. In fact, on date of inspection, my wife and I were both there, and my parents were as well. Even the homeowner was there. I was figuring this would be a huge hassle to Ted, but no, he carried on professionally and took time to explain things to me. I had no idea how to change a furnace filter, but he went through the process with me. Cannot recommend highly enough

Description of Work
Home Inspection, home...2400 sq feet

Category home inspection

5.0

07/24/2013


Avery L.

Went great!

Description of Work
Great job with home inspection. Explained things to me as I had questions. Did a great job. Would recommend to anyone looking for inspector.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/15/2013


Arlene B.

I don't think too many home inspectors 'like' to check mobile homes, but Ted Hanson didn't blink an eye! When I called him, he said "sure, let's make an appointment." He came out to the property and went to work. Of course, he went into the crawl space that the mobile home sits on, and checked everything. I did meet him at the property, so he could point out things that needed attention, and he took pictures and is going to send me a copy by computer, so I can present any problems to the owner, before I purchase the mobile home. I am very pleased with the whole experience!

Description of Work
The services performed by the Home Inspector, were very numerous. He checked and tested, furnace, hot water heater, electrical outlets, any water leakage, roof, windows, gutters, gas stove, just about everything anyone would want to know before purchasing a home!

Category home inspection

5.0

03/25/2013


Connie W.

Very thorough professional inspection completed on everything from cabinets to radon testing.

Description of Work
Extremely detailed home inspection 30 pages worth. Well done, thanks!

Category home inspection

5.0

03/21/2013


James J.

The inspector was very experienced and performed a thorough inspection of the property. He identified many issues and pointed out the severity of the problems. Several safety issues were identified with the electrical system. I would not hesitate to use Criterion for future inspections.

Description of Work
Criterion performed the home inspection on a house my daughter was considering to purchase. A well written report was also included.

Category home inspection

5.0

02/11/2013


Julia K.

We've used several home inspectors in the past 6 years and Ted was the best. Home inspectors are so critical in the home buy process that to have someone like Ted definitely is worth every penny and then some. He was prompt and was okay with wither me shadowing him or leaving him alone and would come and find me to point out issues. He even spent extra time with me (whether it was to go back into the attic to double-check, or explaining how various items worked and should be maintained).

Description of Work
Home inspection in New Berlin.

Category home inspection

5.0

04/14/2012


Susan D.

He did a home inspection for a home we purchased. He knew a lot about Victorian homes which was really nice because we bought an older home. I thought the price was reasonable compared to some of the others we looked at. I have recommended him to others and we will use him again in the future.

Description of Work
They came to our home to do a home inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

10/31/2011


BERLINE & JAMES E.

Overall, it went well.

Description of Work
He did a mold sample test.

Category home inspection,mold removal

5.0

09/30/2011


Brian H.

I contacted Ted as he had received good reviews on Angie's List and needed a home inspection done within a week to meet our home buying deadline. We also requested a radon test be done. Ted was able to get out and place the Radon test early so the test could be picked up when the full inspection was done. On inspection day, Ted was right on time. He walked my wife and I around the home, discussing the condition and various aspects of the exterior of the home. He was easy to talk to and provided good information and tips on what to look out for when maintaining the home. We then moved inside and he again gave us great advice and guidance on what items were older and would need replacing and which items were in newer condition. When we got to the basement, Ted's work was cut out for him. The home had an extensive electrical and HVAC system, comprised of 3 Heat pump/Electric Furnace units and one standalone electric furnace. He looked at all of the units and gave us the age of each of the units. Additionally, he provided some info on the advantages/disadvantages of Heat Pumps in Wisconsin. Next, we moved onto the electrical system. There were at least 12 electrical panels to inspect, as the home had several expansions over the years. He checked every circuit to ensure lines were correct and there were no double-taps or other electrical issues. Overall, our experience with Ted and Criterion Home Inspections was excellent and I would not hesitate to recommend this company to others looking for a home inspection.

Description of Work
Pre-purchase home inspection and Radon test was performed. This home had an extensive electrical system that required the inspector to take covers off and inspect 12 electrical boxes. Additionally, the roof had several unique aspects that needed to be inspected.

Category home inspection,radon testing

5.0

08/30/2011


James M.

The workers were good and prompt. Their price seemed fair.

Description of Work
Criterion Home Inspectors LLC cleaned up some mold in our house and sealed it about three months ago.

Category mold removal

5.0

07/12/2010


Tammy T.

This guy does great work. He is knowledgeable and very thorough. As a consumer buying a home this company gives you accurate and detailed information to help you make an informed choice. This company really makes you feel that they are looking out for your best interests. This inspector is competent. He finds things that would be easy to miss. He is very easy to work with and explains complex things in a way that you can understand them. If we ever buy another house again, we will use this company a 3rd time.

Description of Work
Home Inspection for the purchase of a home. We had used him before. This was our 2nd time using his services.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/16/2010


RONALD R and MARJIE F.

We were within several weeks of the closing on our house and needed advice on how to get our well-water to pass inspection. He gave us very detailed instructions over the phone as to how to purge and clean our system for a test to be done. We were able to schedule him to take a water test very quickly. He really worked around our tight schedule for the house closing. He was very prompt in coming to our house, took his time to do the testing properly, and explained everything he was doing along the way. We appreciated the fact that the sample water he took was actually tested by an independent lab nearby. He was curtious and helped us in a time of much stress and anxiety. He was great.

Description of Work
Ted Nelson came to do a water test in preparation for selling our house. He was very responsive to our time table, and conducted the test very professionally. We would highly recommend him to anyone. In addition to doing very good work, his charge was more resonable than most of the other testing companies.

Category home inspection

5.0

03/28/2009


Jay H.

Very well in my opinion

Description of Work
I thought he did a great job. He took the time and did a thorough job and found a lot of things for us. I am glad my first home inspection experience, and being a first time buyer, was a positive experience. I liked how the report was set up including the pictures he took. I really appreciated the tips he gave me on how I could fix the problem and he even gave me examples of things he did to his house. I would happily refer him to others looking for a home inspection, and will keep him in mind for future inspections.

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Restoration 1 of Watertown

    Along with offering fire, water, and mold damage restoration services, the team at Restoration 1 also provides emergency services, storm damage services, sewage system cleanup and more! Our IICRC and IAQA licensed restoration professionals can address your problems in no time. For over a decade, we have been in the business of restoring damaged residential and commercial properties to their former glory.  

    AdvantaClean of Badgerland

    It's not clean until it's AdvantaClean! AdvantaClean of Badgerland is proud to be a locally owned and operated business that serves Ozaukee and Washington Counties, and the surrounding community. As a national leader in light environmental services, AdvantaClean of Badgerland maintains a full suite of offerings for residential, commercial, institutional and governmental properties that make these building clean, safe, healthy and efficient for the occupants. We can provide services for everything from odor removal to emergency water removal to mold abatement and air duct cleaning. Let us show you the AdvantaClean of Badgerland difference. Get in touch today!  

    Offers by AdvantaClean of Badgerland on Angi
    Wisconsin Radon & Environmental, LLC

    Wisconsin Radon & Environmental, LLC is a radon mitigation and radon measurement company serving the greater Milwaukee Area. Celebrating 11 years in business! Specializing in custom system install's at very competitive prices. Offering free follow-up testing and unmatched customer service. Owner-Operator, Jerome O'Callaghan is on-site for every project.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Wisconsin Radon & Environmental, LLC on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Home inspections, radon testing, water testing, gas leak detection, mold sampling & flood analysis.

    Services Not Offered

    Home appraisals.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Criterion Home Inspectors LLC

    How is Criterion Home Inspectors LLC overall rated?

    Criterion Home Inspectors LLC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Criterion Home Inspectors LLC open?

    Criterion Home Inspectors LLC is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 PM - 8:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does Criterion Home Inspectors LLC provide

    Criterion Home Inspectors LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Criterion Home Inspectors LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Criterion Home Inspectors LLC?

    No, Criterion Home Inspectors LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offer?

    Criterion Home Inspectors LLC offers the following services: Home inspections, radon testing, water testing, gas leak detection, mold sampling & flood analysis.

    Are there any services Criterion Home Inspectors LLC does not offer?

    Home appraisals.