Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric

Founded 1989 • With Angi since April 2007

4.6

(228) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

899 S Bird St

Sun Prairie, WI 53590

Description

Additional DBAs - Action Electric of Dane County, Action Plumbing, Action Plumbing and Air, Action Plumbing Heating Air Conditioning & Electrical Co, Action Plumbing Heating Air & Electric. Award winning. See website for additional service areas.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/30/2020


Christine C.

Great communication with the office staff. Both a plumber and electrician came out last week. Garrett was the electrician who installed 3 ceiling fans where there were no ceiling fans previously. I ordered the fans on-line and they came un-assembled. He had no problem figuring out how to assemble and install the fans. He made sure I was completely satisfied before he left. The plumber just had to cap off a gas stove that was no longer going to be used. When he turned the gas back on, he made sure the seal with tight and that my gas fireplace was still working properly. Could not be more pleased with the office staff and professionals who worked on my issues. Will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Installation of 3 Ceiling Fans (where there were no ceiling fans previously) and capping off a gas stove that was no longer going to be used so both an electrician and plumber were here.

Category electrician, gas leak repair

5.0

07/08/2019


Mark H.

Great. Without going too much into the disgusting details, Troy came out when promised, cleared the blockage and went above and beyond the call of duty in my opinion. Great guy to deal with, great experience dealing with Troy and Action Plumbing to fix this problem

Description of Work
Clear sewer backup

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

06/29/2019


Todd W.

By that afternoon everything was checked and working, professional job well done

Description of Work
thermostat on air-conditioning unit went out right before first hot spell; they combined our already scheduled up-coming yearly check and came out the next day!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]. Thank you very much for your business and for taking the time to leave us this review on Angie's list. We appreciate it.
5.0

02/05/2019


Robert F.

I went to basement and found water coming up in the floor drain. I called them and it was about 1/2 hour later they arrived. They went to work right away. In about 1 hour they cleaned the sewer and it has been working good.

Description of Work
Sewer to street clean out Clean sewer to street

Category plumbing, sewer cleaning

2.0

11/20/2018


kerry S.

They wan't $278 to check our 3 year old furnace that they installed and told me that we had a 20 year warranty. The furnace stopped functioning in late Nov.That is a very lousy warranty. I would not recommend this company and definitely not buy an Aire Flo furnace.

Description of Work
warranty furnace service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/31/2018


Chris J.

Went GREAT! Did not fix what didn't needed to be fix and gave a great quote for additional work which we are having Action Plumbing do.

Description of Work
Checked our water softner and gave a quote on some additional work we needed.

Category plumbing

1.0

03/15/2018


Susan B.

This is the absolute worst company I have ever had to deal with. Even though they do not charge a trip charge they have an increased charge for the first hour of service. Since I needed several things serviced they needed two workers to do the jobs and I had to pay the increased charge two times. An electrician came first. He checked the blinking light first. All he did was switch a couple light bulbs around. Of course this didn't help the problem. He then replaced a light switch with a defective switch. Next he checked the low voltage lights. I told him that the transformer could be turned off. I am in a wheel chair and cannot check this for myself. He came back in and told me the transformer was no good and would have to be replaced for several hundred dollars plus installation costs. Next the furnace tech came. He checked the fireplace remote problem and told me it needed some very expensive part replaced and would have to be ordered. He then checked my furnace that I wanted cleaned. After checking he informed me the furnace needed to be replaced and that he had disconnected it without even asking me if that was alright with me. He went to his truck, was out there quite some time, then came back in with an estimate for a new furnace. It was for some brand I had never even heard of. I never asked for an estimate and he included his time to write the estimate in the time he charged me for the visit. He left me with no heat and it was at a cold time of year. He told me it was for my safety as there could be a carbon monoxide leak. I'm well aware of this danger and I have an active alarm within 5 feet of the furnace. There was absolutely no reason to disconnect the furnace even if it did need replacement at that time. So now I was faced with having to buy expensive replacement parts and once again pay them for their increased first hour and for their time to do the work to correct the problems. I called to complain about these things. They did agree to credit the charge for the time the tech wrote out the furnace estimate I never requested. They were going to come back to fix the other things with the expensive parts they told me that were required. I asked for parts numbers and they were charging me way more that the same parts were listed on the internet. I called and complained more as not one thing was fixed. The president of the company called and wondered why there was a problem. I told him I didn't know about him but when I pay over $600 dollars for things to be fixed I expect something should actually be fixed. He did give me a partial refund but I was still out a good chunk of my money. I decided to contact another company about the furnace that had a known brand for an estimate. They provided a FREE estimate, that was less than Action so I decided to have them replace the furnace as soon as possible because I needed heat. They did that and also checked the fireplace remote. It did not need the part Action told me and they were able to fix the problem for hundreds less than Action was going to charge me. It was repaired by the other company at a reasonable cost. I called a different electrician also. He did not charge for coming to my house. He replaced the electric switch with a good switch, and then checked the low voltage lights. As I had suggested to the Action tech all that was wrong with the transformer was that it was turned off. I guess he never even checked that when I said that could be the problem. They would have charged me hundreds of dollars to replace a transformer that was in perfect working condition plus all their trip and time charges, instead of just flipping the on switch. You guessed it. I won't ever recommend this company to an enemy.

Description of Work
I needed furnace cleaning, fireplace remote repaired an electric switch replaced, a blinking light fixture repaired and some low voltage lights checked.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/19/2017


Sandra P.

Action Plumbing has done excellent work for us many times since 2005. The staff and field are very professional. They are prompt for appointments and timely for emergency weekend service.

Description of Work
Installed new water heater.

Category plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your continued business and for taking the time to review us. We sincerely appreciated both. Thank You!
5.0

11/06/2017


Martine D.

We hired Action Plumbing several times for all types of services from replacing a shut-off valve to fixing the water heater flue pipe. It's great that we can ask for services online on their website any time of the day and they call us back to schedule the service. Most of the time they have come out the same day! The staff is great at communicating and letting us know the status along the way so we always know what's going on if we're not home. On one occasion we weren't happy with the service and the owner/ manager got in contact with us right away and wanted to make it right. It's nice that he cares. The tradesmen they send out are very good and efficient and the prices are fair and reasonable. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Replace shut-off valve, re-seat toilet, repair water heater exhaust

Category plumbing

5.0

09/18/2017


Lee G.

I had a toilet where the internals were not working properly. They came and replaced the internals. They did a good job. In the past year, I had a silver hot water system on my house. Unbeknownst to me, there is an emergency pressure release valve. Eventually it fails and when it fails, it spills hot water out all over the floor in the basement. My water alarm went off. I ran down stairs and saw hot water spilling all over the floor. I could not turn it off because it was an emergency release type of thing. It was situation where the drain was a little bit higher where the water was coming out. So the water would not come out of the drain. The plumber from Action said I can fix that. Now anytime that happens, the water will go straight down the drain.

Description of Work
They repaired a toilet.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

2.0

09/16/2017


David N.

They could have told me right away the darn faucet was lifetime warrented. The service tech told me after fighting with the unit, finding he didn't have the right part on his truck, and talking to a Kohler service person on my phone that the unit was lifetime warrented. Then he gave me a bill for $109. This is the 2nd time I've paid a bill and either had to hire someone else (to clean and adjust a gas fireplace insert) or in this case, do the repair myself. We will be replacing a 17 yr old central air unit soon. I don't think I'm even gonna give Action a chance to bid. Fool me oncem shame on you. Twice, shame on me. No third time is gonna happen.

Description of Work
Repair a leaking Kohler faucet.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/22/2017


Vikram B.

Was our first time using their services and really happy with the experience with confidence in prompt response and service when we need them next time.

Description of Work
Prompt response and efficient service and communication by Carl with Action. Our AC stopped working and Response wa sprompt and repairs were quite quick and timely.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review and for your business. Both are greatly appreciated.
1.0

08/14/2017


Timothy D.

It went HORRIBLE! The original person who came out to remove the old heater apparently quit before I scheduled to have the new one put in. (I needed some sub-flooring around it replaced before the new one went in) When I called to schedule the install, they had no notes or information on my service, so I had to explain again that i needed a new heater and softener. They asked me what type of heater I wanted and I replied I didn't think I had a choice because I had previously been told, because it is a mobile home, I needed a specific heater. When the plumber arrived he did not know what services were supposed to be performed. The ENTIRE time he was doing the install, he was on the phone with someone trying to figure out what he was doing!?!? After about 3 hours I asked him when he would be finished because I had an errand I needed to take care of. He said I had time, so I ran my errand. When I returned he was done installing the heater and working on installing the softener. Shortly after returning, the power in the back of the house went out. I asked if he had any problems while I was gone, to which he replied "No. This is the first." I flipped the breaker and power briefly came back. It went out again a couple minutes later and flipping the breaker did nothing. Due to there not being any power he was, obviously, unable to finish setting up the softener (something they never completed. I guess installation doesn't include setup?). They asked if I needed them to send out an electrician to fix the power!?!? (DUH!) When he called to inform the office of the problem and arrange for an electrician to come out he said to the dispatcher, "He's been without water for three weeks, so I don't think it is a big deal if he doesn't have power for a night." I hadn't moved in yet, so it wasn't a huge deal, but it was still an inconvenience. Something that I have learned this company doesn't care about, when it happens to their customers. The next day the electrician came. Again, they were on the phone almost the entire time, apparently having someone help them troubleshoot the issue. Since I recently purchased the home, I was not completely sure where, or how, all the electrical was ran. The tech told me there must be a break in the line somewhere but he was unsure where. I understand that sometimes when there is an electrical problem it is necessary to make some access holes to find/fix the problem. To try to avoid this, I asked if they could just cut the offending wire and just replace it with a new one. He said that without knowing where the break is that would not be a safe way to resolve the issue. Unfortunately, since the technician apparently had no clue what he was doing, he made several unnecessary holes before someone else arrived to assist him. Then they finally narrowed down where the problem was well enough to be able to fix it (just happened to be in the EXACT area the plumber was working the day before). When he did finally narrow down where the problem was, he told me they still had not located exactly where the break in the line was, so they were going to cut the offending wire, leave it dead in the wall, and reroute the power!?!? I know I am not an electrician but I don't understand how it was apparently "safe" to do only AFTER making several holes in my walls and still not locating the exact issue. Nevertheless, the power issue was resolved, five large fist sized and one square foot sized hole later. They swept/cleaned up a little bit of the mess they made. (NOWHERE close to the one they made, even though I pointed out I had a shop vac right there they could use!) Then before he left I was handed a bill for $583!!! All labor, except for ten feet of wire. Since it was the end of the day on Friday, I just paid it and figured I would call to resolve the issue on Monday. After the weekend, I called to talk to someone. The receptionist told me I needed to talk to the general manager but he was on lunch. She took my phone number and said he would call me when he got back in. I did not receive a call back that day, or the following, so I called back the next day. When I spoke with the general manager, Andy, I told him that I don't believe I should have to pay for a problem that they caused. I told him it is too much to be a coincidence the problem happened while they were doing the install, in the area of the install, after three hours of being the power being on and no previous problems, to not be their fault. He told me "They would need to come open the wall to prove that it wasn't a coincidence and was their fault." I replied that "It is obviously not a coincidence." To which he condescendingly responded "I am just using your words." What a jerk! He obviously did not care and was going to deny fault unless proven wrong. You would think after spending $3,000 a company would at least try to work with you, even if they did not feel 100% responsible. Feeling I had no other recourse to paying them almost $600, I reluctantly set up an appointment for them to send someone out to tear my walls apart more. They sent someone out who tore another wall apart and didn't find anything. I asked him how (without ripping open more walls) it could be explained that the problem happened while they were doing the installation? To which he replied, "You could have had a break in the line, and by him installing a bigger water heater and pushing up against the wall, it may have finally failed." HUH? That is a more likely cause than it being something your installer did??? Wouldn't that still be the result of something your installer did??? Maybe not, if you can show me the mysterious "break" in my line, that "coincidentally" failed while your technician was doing work in the area said "break" is located. Until then, I believe it is the fault of their technician they sent doing something incorrectly and I am disputing the charge for their electrician. I am still paying for the heater/softener install because I did receive the products and services. Bad enough I have a bunch of holes to patch and fix now, on top of the concerns of whatever else he may have done incorrectly or damaged. Oh yeah....I almost forgot....The next day, when I met the electrician at the house, I found the instruction manual for the water heater opened up on top of my dryer. I wonder if that is a coincidence, or if their technician didn't know what he was doing. Again, I will go with not a coincidence!

Description of Work
I recently purchased a mobile home and wanted to replace the water heater and have a softener installed.

Category electrician, plumbing, water heater repair, water softeners

Service Provider Response

We take customer concerns very seriously. I will have our general manager contact you immediately to try to resolve this with you.
5.0

08/13/2017


Ed O.

They are excellent in all areas. They are prompt, courteous and do exceptional work. All of their employees in every area are exceptional

Description of Work
For many years I have used all of their services.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for this review. We truly appreciate both.
5.0

07/26/2017


gerhard S.

Dan was very thorough. He was on time and finished in a timely fashion.1,2

Description of Work
3 items, A leak in the wall from the laundry room, replacing the stationary sink and faucets in the basement, and replacing an outside faucet.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and for leaving us this review. We appreciate both. Thank you!
5.0

07/19/2017


James H.

Wonderful! The gentlemen were prompt, professional, and great to work with! We will definitely have them come back when we need more work done. We couldn't be happier with their service.

Description of Work
We had them replace two faucets (one in the kitchen and one in the bathroom) and they also replaced a toilet valve. At the same time, another Action repairman checked out our air conditioner, added more freon, and discussed with us the pro's and con's of eventually purchasing a new unit because the one we have has a small leak somewhere and it is 17 years old.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

06/13/2017


susan j L.

The one serviceman we have most of the time.

Description of Work
There were here for routine maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this review. We sincerely appreciate it.
5.0

06/13/2017


susan j L.

The previous owners used them we use them. The service men area awesome. They explain everything and we've never had a problem.

Description of Work
They were here for a routine maintenance check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/13/2017


Cornelia C.

Probably not their fault that I was left with sticker shock. Price seemed high. Very satisfied with work and worker, though.

Description of Work
Replaced a hot water heater.

Category water heater repair

5.0

10/17/2016


Gary G.

Great. Prompt response and repairs were done quickly and efficiently.

Description of Work
Repaired two leaking pipes

Category appliance repair, plumbing

5.0

09/20/2016


Myra J.

Tech gave me options to save money like reusing some parts but since the kitchen was new, I just had him use new parts.

Description of Work
installed sink & faucet, replaced old leaking valve, & hooked garbage disposal & dishwasher back up after a kitchen remodel.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/03/2016


Pam L.

We had a leaking shower faucet that was causing damage to the wall and ceiling below, so we decided to re-do the shower in our main bath-- new backer board, tile, fixture, the works. Once we opened the wall, we discovered that the plumbing was all copper pipes...something my husband could have handled, but trickier than the iron pipes we were expecting. In the interest of time and aggravation, we decided to call Action, just in case they had a technician available. We were thrilled to learn that a guy (Pete) had finished a job early and could be over within the hour. Yay! When Pete arrived, he assessed and diagnosed the problem, and suggested a less expensive fix than we had in mind. Instead of replacing the entire fixture, he explained that we might be able to replace just the cartridge (a key component in the faucet fixture) and could call the manufacturer for other updated parts (if we wanted a cosmetic upgrade). We okayed that, but in the end, the 35 year old cartridge was a little too beat up from years of mineral deposits, so the cheap solution didn't work. But we SO appreciated his willingness to explore a less expensive option with us!!! In the end, he spent 2 hours cutting out the old fixture (and no-longer-up-to-code plumbing stuff) and re-installing a new fixture, which we had already purchased. About $250 for labor, about $50 in parts, and a little sales tax. We were back on track with our remodeling project in just a couple of hours, confident in the work he had done, and many hours ahead of the schedule we would have been on if we had done that part of the work ourselves. We were very pleased with the lightning-fast response (I think we got really lucky... and we are grateful!), the willingness to explore cheaper options we hadn't considered, and the efficient, quality work that was completed. We would not hesitate to call Action again, and are happy to post a positive review!!

Description of Work
Replaced a 1981 shower/tub faucet fixture with a new one

Category plumbing

3.0

07/01/2016


john L.

Work was well done and the hourly rate seemed fair, but the prices for parts were exorbitant. Parts I could buy for 3 dollars would cost 15 on my bill, and there were lots of them. I felt overcharged by several hundred dollars.

Description of Work
various plumbing tasks including installing my water softener and their water heater.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/07/2016


Jim Patch Jim P.

I know it was 1994 but I can't remember if it was earlier than then or not.

Description of Work
The plumbing, they started out as plumbing so I used them probably in 1994.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/07/2016


Jim Patch Jim P.

They started out as plumbing so I used them probably in 1994 but I can't remember if it was earlier than then or not.

Description of Work
I used Action Plumbing in December.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    The Electrician Inc

    We are a growing, local contractor with several field technicians, including several State Certified Master Electricians and Journeyman Electricians on staff at all times. We are a training organization and a member of Associated Builders and Contractors of Wisconsin. We are also a member of the BBB with an A+ rating. Our service area includes, but is not limited to Sauk, Columbia, Dane, northern Green, northern Rock and Western Iowa counties. We are pleased to provide service to Baraboo, Reedsburg, Portage, Lake Delton, Wisconsin Dells, Sauk City, Black Earth, Cross Plains, Spring Green, Mount Horeb, Verona, Fitchburg, Dodgeville, New Glarus, Monona, Madison, McFarland, Cottage Grove, Sun Prairie, DeForest and many surrounding communities. We provide free estimates upon request. Some work may allow for an estimate to be provided over the phone, but it is generally better for us to see the work that needs to be done in order to give an accurate estimate of the cost. We provide T&M services at a reduced rate for our Angie's List customers. Our first hour is billed at $129/hr, and time begins once we arrive at your home. We do not charge any additional fees or rates for travel time or trip charges within our service areas described above, however our first hour rate is also our minimum labor charge. After the first hour of work, we bill at a rate of $99/hr for work performed by each technician on site, and we bill out their time in 15 minute increments. One example would be; 2 technicians perform 1.5 hours of work at your home, for a total of 3 labor hours. You would be billed $129 for the first labor hour, then $99/e for the 2nd and 3rd labor hours. We are happy to provide references from past customers and contractors we work with. We perform most residential, commercial & industrial electrical services.  

    Angi Certified

    Excel Electric

    Since 1994, we have given the best quality service for your electrical needs. We go above and beyond for all of our clients. You will never be disappointed when you work with Excel Electric, Inc. Ask us about our daily service. We look forward to working with you.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Barehand Electric, LLC

    Electrical contractor serving the communities surrounding Madison and western Dane county. We offer commercial, industrial, residential service as well as 24-hour service. Barehand electric will deliver the quality you demand with the customer service you expect on every project, every time. We look forward to the opportunity to work for you.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial repair, maintainance, installation of faucets, bathtubs, toilets, water softeners, garbage disposals, sinks, showers, water heaters, sump pumps, drain lines, sewers, floor drains, air duct cleaning, humidifiers, air cleaners, furnaces, air conditioners, electrical, burners, fireplace, mantels & log sets.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric

    How is Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric overall rated?

    Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric open?

    Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric provide

    Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offer free estimates?

    Yes, Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offers free project estimates.

    Does Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offer emergency services?

    Yes, Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric?

    Yes, Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offers warranties.

    What services does Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offer?

    Action Plumbing Heating ,and Electric offers the following services: Residential and commercial repair, maintainance, installation of faucets, bathtubs, toilets, water softeners, garbage disposals, sinks, showers, water heaters, sump pumps, drain lines, sewers, floor drains, air duct cleaning, humidifiers, air cleaners, furnaces, air conditioners, electrical, burners, fireplace, mantels & log sets.