Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Madison Brush Works Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since May 2007

Family owned. We typically field 2-4 painters seasonally. No travel charges apply. 10% winter discount (Jan-March).

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(37) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 37 reviews
Patricia M.
5.0
08/22/2016
After some water damage, we called Madison Brush works to help freshen the lower level back up. The owner, Pete Curtis, came out and gave us a detailed bid. He also worked with us in picking out our colors. Pete's crew's covered all the furniture with plastic and taped down drop cloths. The finished product was outstanding.
Description of Work
Painting lower level walls and ceilings.
Category
interior painters
Brooke L.
5.0
04/17/2015
We had several quotes on this project from various providers recommended on angie's list and from the paint stores. Pete was the only one who measured out the project and explained what to expect and exactly what to order. Because he was so detailed oriented we opted to to go with him and we weren't sorry. He did a fantastic job and it came out beautifully. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Had grass cloth installed on 1 wall of master bedroom
Category
interior painters
Virginia C.
5.0
10/24/2014
As above - went very well. Nice guy, nice helper person, having dogs in the house was not a problem, always a concern of mine. was there the first day but the second day I did have to leave and would not be back until after they were done. Felt very comfortable leaving them there. I was even asked if the dogs needed to go out at any certain time. :>)
Description of Work
Prepped a bathroom wall for papering. I had stripped it, but there were bits and points and he said he would get it all off so the walls were smooth to receive the paper. They also did a painting job I had started and had to stop because I had a health problem develop unexpectedly. He papered the bathroom and it was done when I got home from work. It looked terrific! He also painted the ceiling of that bathroom.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks (member name removed), Kind words. Pete
Gregory B.
5.0
08/09/2014
Pete and his crew were responsive and met a tough deadline on a rush job. He listened to our needs and gave us great advice. The work turned out better than expected. Highly recommend.
Description of Work
Interior painting to cover the previous owners questionable color choices.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words, [member name removed]. Pete
Amy G.
5.0
08/08/2014
Madison Brush Works was highly recommended to us by friends who had used them multiple times. We asked for an estimate on both our accent wall and repainting our front porch. Pete was very honest with us and told us it wouldn't be worth repainting our porch as it will be in the same situation in a year or two and recommended we replace it. Have to respect someone who won't take your money because he wants to only do quality work. He gave us what we felt was a very fair estimate on the accent wall. Pete recommended a paint brand to us; he told us to go there and get our paint chips and once we picked a color he'd pick up the paint for us. Pete was upfront that they had many exterior jobs they were booked for, but he'd work us in on a rain day. After a dry stretch, he contacted us to just set up a day that worked with everyone's schedule. Pete showed up on time and worked quickly. Before painting, he repaired minor damages in the wall and removed outlet covers and registers. He painted two coats in about three hours.The wall looks perfect. Great job; we'd hire again without any reservations.
Description of Work
Repainted a deeply colored accent wall that rises to a cathedral ceiling and extends over steps
Category
interior painters
M S.
5.0
06/19/2014
Pete did a very nice job. He was very responsive to our schedule and we are very pleased with his work.
Description of Work
interior bedrooms and a bathroom
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words. Pete Curtis
Virginia C.
5.0
01/18/2014
It went very smoothly. They were here when they said they would be. All communication was clear and concise. They were very polite and nice to work with. Had no qualms about leaving them a key for finishing up the job. He even asked if I wanted him to let the dogs out - which I am sure the dogs appreciated! One of the (many) reasons I chose this company was because it did mention that Pete was not fazed by dogs "on the job" and that meant a lot to me! They were always careful to keep room dividers up/shut so dogs could not escape, etc. Much appreciated!
Description of Work
Prepped walls completely for repapering. Repainted bathroom ceiling with mildew resistant paint. Completely repapered good sized bathroom including above tub surround. While this was being done, his helper repainted/newly painted areas on main floor/entry way where I had new entry door, closet doors, new sidelight installed. Looks terrific!
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed], Pete
Kathleen B.
5.0
10/26/2013
We used an Angie's List deal for this service and were more than pleased. Pete was totally professional and an excellent craftsman. He helped us move a sofabed and large Techline office module, did two coats, put the room back together, and finished in a surprisingly short amount of time. We will call Pete again when we need painting done.
Description of Work
2 coats of paint on bedroom walls; moved furniture.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]. Pete
Arnie S.
5.0
09/03/2013
It went fantastic. Pete the owner and his wife came in to hang a massive mural in our cafeteria and did a fantastic job. They also hung two other smaller murals in our hallways. Aproximately 10 x 24 In fact they had to pick up where another company had failed to hang one of the murals properly. Pete's expertese saved the day and all three murals look fantastic. GREAT to work with, very professional, clean and punctual. Would use them again in a heart beat.
Description of Work
They hung printed murals in our facility. One of which was 24' high
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed), Thanks for the kind words. You also, were very gracious to us. Pete
Randy C.
5.0
09/03/2013
Painted bathroom walls and because was small offered to paint bathroom ceiling as well for the $99 deal. Looks great, Thanks. We will have back soon to paint kitchen if all works out as planned.
Description of Work
Painted bathroom walls and because was small offered to paint bathroom ceiling as well for the $99 deal. Looks great, Thanks. We will have back soon to paint kitchen if all works out as planned.
Category
interior painters
Aeron A.
5.0
08/20/2013
Pete was prompt and courteous during the initial estimate. He gave us a window of time when he would be able to do our decks and he was even able to get the work done as promised before the date we asked for. He helped us match new stain to the previous stain that we were keeping on the deck rails. The match turned out perfectly and it would be difficult for anyone to tell that the rails and the deck-boards are done with two different stains. About a week after the work was completed and paid for, we received a check in the mail from Pete for $300.00. His note stated that he had spent less time staining the deck than expected and was refunding the "over-paid" amount back to us! We could not be more pleased.
Description of Work
Sanded previous failing stain off of two decks, power-washed decks and re-stained. Also secured loose deck boards.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing, interior painters

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], Thanks for the kind words. Yours truly, Pete Curtis
Patricia W.
5.0
08/10/2013
We contracted with Wayne Klosterman, owner of Seamless Gutters, Inc. from New Glarus Wisconsin to re-side the house. Seamless Gutters had previously re-roofed the house and put up seamless gutters. We would highly recommend his work to anyone. He and his crew were excellent to work with, gave an estimate and came in on budget and time. The crew cleaned up the premises on both jobs and were very professional in all they did. We are extremely pleased with their work.
Description of Work
Madison Brush Works, Inc. was the only provider who returned our call regarding the possibility of painting an old farm house. He was honest in his reaction and gave us information regarding what would be entailed plus the fact that it would cost as much for him to remove the old (possibly leaded) paint, make needed repairs and paint as it would to side the house. He was not interested in doing the job recommended we go with siding the house for about the same amount of money (not something he does).
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks for your comments, (removed member name). Sometimes the best way for me to help a customer is by "not helping". In your case, I thought you would be better served by siding your house. It looks like it worked out well for you, and I'm glad. Yours truly, Pete Curtis
Daniel E.
5.0
08/01/2013
They were fantastic. They were very precise and on time. They also pointed out details of their work so I knew what they had done.
Description of Work
They painted our basement wall and the bathroom
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

thanks (member name removed), Pete (the painter)
Anne E.
5.0
06/01/2013
They were very prompt and did a great job. I would recommend them to others in the area and will be using them again for any future projects.
Description of Work
Purchased a Big Deal: $99 for 1 Room of Interior Painting!
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks (deleted member name) Regards, Pete
Michelle M.
5.0
05/20/2013
Pete was very professional and friendly. He gave me an estimate beforehand, came on time and completed the work to my satisfaction. He cleaned up after the job very well. I was very impressed with the work and the price I got through the Big Deal.
Description of Work
Painted large bedroom
Category
house painters, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks (Member name removed). Pete
Richard S.
3.0
04/29/2013
Had to ask painter to correct corner line of paint as it was uneven. Also had to ask painter to come back on several missed areas of paint coverage. They did promptly come back and corrected missed areas.
Description of Work
Painted interior bedroom and hallway.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Dear (member name removed) , You are right. Our ceiling lines were sloppy. I'm glad you told us, so we could correct the problem. Thanks for giving us the benefit of the doubt, and saying that we did return promptly to make things right. Regards, Pete Curtis
Sandra G.
5.0
04/03/2013
Everything went well. We came home to find the work had been completed exactly as he had promised, and the paint job looks great.
Description of Work
While we were on vacation, he painted the wood casing which surrounds our chimney pipe as well as the casing's trim.
Category
house painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed].
Lisette C.
5.0
12/26/2012
I purchased an Angie's deal: $99 to paint one room. We have a mid-Mod house so this job did not involve trim work and the ceiling was in good shape. Heating registers and radiator did get painted. This was a simple color change (from a dark olive-ish color to a light aqua. Pete came out to get the 'lay of the land' so to speak and advise on paint formula. He gave me recommendations of the paint I should get and where. The day he was supposed to paint happened to be the largest single day snowfall in Madison. We agreed that he should come the following week. He called the next day and said that since he could get out and I had everything prepped (furniture moved to the center of the room) he would come then. It took him about 3 hours to do 2 coats, including drying time. My daughter is thrilled with her 'new' room. Pete could not have been easier to deal with. I would recommend him to anyone and will use him again in the future.
Description of Work
This was a simple color change from a dark olive color to a light aqua. No trim or ceiling, registers and radiator did get painted.
Category
house painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks . Nice update for your daughter. Pete
Kabby H.
5.0
12/20/2012
Pete gave us an initial estimate but told us that if the job was lower he would charge us the lower rate. He was responsive, friendly, professional and he takes his work seriously. Initially Pete was going to be too busy to do our job until a few weeks later. He found a couple openings in his schedule and he was able to complete our project much earlier than expected. We purchased some very expensive wallpaper, and we wanted to make sure the installer was skilled. Pete is definitely good at what he does. There are very few visible seams in the paper once it was hung. I would highly recommend Pete. Not only is he incredibly friendly and professional, but he charged us significantly less than our original estimate.
Description of Work
I'm realizing that hanging wallpaper is an art that not a lot of people enjoy doing in Dane county. Pete came out and installed wallpaper on 3 feature walls in our home. They look fantastic and the work that he did was truly amazing.
Category
wallpaper

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member. Pete
Margie A.
5.0
12/14/2012
I got a deal on Angie's list from Madison Brush Works. Pete came and gave a bid--I wanted 2 colors, so there was a small additional fee. Pete is an artist and a perfectionist! I have had 3 different painters in my house in the last year and Pete is definitely the best as far as detailing and an eye for color. He made great color suggestions, and where to add a second color. He will be returning to do my daughter's room and gave really fun ideas for a little girls room, including glitter! :-) Although he thought it was a bit bright to paint the third wall Packer Gold, we are extremely pleased with the results and my 11 year old thinks he has the coolest room ever! His edging is amazing! Pete is more expensive than some of painters, but he is the only painter I have hired that I have been completely pleased with the end product.
Description of Work
Painted a child's bedroom
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks customer. Pete
linda M.
5.0
10/03/2012
I was called immediately after purchasing the service on line. We made an estimated date of service. It was done on the agreed upon date. There was no fuss or drama. They were very professional, approachable, & easy to work with. The job was completed in a timely manner & done very well. I will definitely use them again. They were even helpful w/ what kind of paint to use. It was easier than I had ever imagined. They had old-fashioned work ethics which I truly appreciated!
Description of Work
I had 2 bedroom walls painted.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks Member, Glad to help anytime. Pete & Eileen Curtis
Dawn F.
5.0
06/25/2012
I cannot say enough about Pete and his team. Incredibly neat, organized, on time, considerate and all around nice people. You will want to do business with them again.
Description of Work
Pete and his team painted two bedrooms, ceilings, and a bathroom that was a last minute request while they were on the job. I do not remember the exact date or amount but I can tell you they do excellent work.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Member, Thanks for the kind words. Yours truly, Pete & Co.
Marilyn G.
5.0
04/02/2012
Pete of Madison Brush Works provided excellent service. He returned my call for an estimate the same day and came to the house to provide the estimate. He was able to fit me into his schedule somewhat sooner than originally estimated. He is committed to quality work with attention to detail. The paint job looks great!
Description of Work
Painted two bedrooms and a hall
Category
interior painters
Don H.
5.0
09/14/2011
His estimate of costs and time to do the work was accurate. Had a good work ethic. Explained what he was doing as the work was done. We would definitely call him for any future renovations we plan.
Description of Work
Removed wall paper, painted interior walls, added wall border and reinstalled mirrors and lights.
Category
wallpaper removal, wallpaper, house painters, interior painters
Sueann D.
5.0
09/02/2011
I was impressed when Pete came out to give an estimate and pointed out areas for concern (like melted caulking and a rusted plate over the front door) which two other contractors had not even mentioned. His proposal was thorough and allowed us to decide which services to have now and which to put off (if we wanted) to a future date. The services were performed within days of my accepting the proposal and I am very happy with the results. The staff on-site (all women) were professional, friendly, and detail oriented. They took the time to move planters and furniture, cleaned up each night and work around my schedule when they needed to open the front door for painting. I would highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Cleaning, sanding, priming and painting of front porch railings, front door and side lights.
Category
house painters

Phone

Address

5586 Ralph Road

Oregon, WI 53575

Other Information

Services offered

Interior & exterior painting, decorative painting; faux painting, wall repairs & texturing, wallpaper removal and installation, light carpentry & deck refinishing.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Madison Brush Works Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Madison Brush Works Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Madison Brush Works Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Madison Brush Works Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Madison Brush Works Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Madison Brush Works Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Madison Brush Works Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Madison Brush Works Inc offers warranties.

Madison Brush Works Inc offers the following services: Interior & exterior painting, decorative painting; faux painting, wall repairs & texturing, wallpaper removal and installation, light carpentry & deck refinishing.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Ty's Outdoor Cleaning Adventures & Sales Llc

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Ty's Outdoor Cleaning Adventures & Sales Llc

 

Michael's Painting

4.0

(49)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Michael's Painting

Interior & Exterior Painting Power Washing Stain Decks Epoxy Garage & Basement Floors Spray Paint Siding Drywall Repairs COMMERCIAL - RESIDENTIAL There is a vast difference in quality that results from what is done before the paint is applied. We are a painting company that pays extra attention to the prep work details because we know from experience how important it is. All of our standard painting projects come with a written two year guarantee. These are our minimum guarantees and we are confident our work will last much longer than our warranty. As a policy, we do not cut corners to undercut our competition. We use top quality paints from Sherwin Williams.  

Pickett Painting, L.L.C.

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

Pickett Painting, L.L.C.

Keeping Your Home or Office Looking Brand New! With more than 30 years of combined experience, we have developed a strong reputation as a family-owned-and-operated business that puts your needs first. We pay extremely close attention to detail and always maintain a clean, safe, and friendly work environment. Pickett Painting, L.L.C., in Verona, WI, is the area's leading painting company serving Columbia, Dane, Green, Jefferson, Iowa, Rock and Sauk counties since 2011. We specialize in interior and exterior painting, drywall repair and deck staining. For all your painting and drywall needs, contact Pickett Painting, L.L.C. in Verona.