Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Grout Doctor

Founded 1992 • With Angi since September 2002

Tile repair,tile regrouting,cleaning and sealing,recaulking

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
$10
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(92) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 92 reviews
Lisa W.
5.0
09/29/2022
Dan repaired and re-grouted a few areas in our shower. He cleaned and sealed the grout around the shower tile and on the tile floor. He also re-caulked the periphery of the entire tub and around the glass block window. He spent a lot of time removing all of the old caulk and did a fantastic job of re-caulking. I wish the people we had remodel the bathroom would have done it as finely as Dan did. He was friendly, very skillful at his job and cleaned up perfectly after the job was done. I am so happy with his work. I will hire him again. I suggest that you hire Dan, The Grout Doctor, for your next project. Thanks Dan.
Description of Work
Grout repair, cleaning & sealing grout tile of shower and floor, caulk removal and re-caulking
Category
bathtub refinishing
Paul B.
5.0
02/14/2021
The Grout Doctor was great. They were very easy to work with. The process of getting a quote was quick and easy. The quality of work was great- we are very happy with the results.
Description of Work
Cleaning and resealing shower
Category
ceramic tile
Joe H.
5.0
10/28/2020
They arrived on time. Dan discovered that there was a problem with the new wall tiles we purchased and went out of his way to correct the issue.
Description of Work
Installed wall tile, replaced cracked floor & wall tiles, and regrout.
Category
ceramic tile, floor cleaning
Pamila B.
5.0
04/17/2019
I had not re-sealed the grout around my shower tile since the house was built 10 years ago. Some of the old grout had cracked and it was beginning to leak water onto the drywall. The Grout Doctors put in new caulk and re-sealed the grout. Could not be happier with the work they did. Scheduling was a breeze. Ryan, who did the work, was very professional and extremely knowledgeable. My shower looks amazing! I give them my highest recommendation.
Description of Work
Tile shower needed to be caulked and resealed
Category
ceramic tile
Virginia R.
5.0
07/15/2018
Floors look like new. Wish I had done sooner. Thought I would have to replace tile on floor. Seven rooms done. A great find !
Description of Work
Grout cleaned in multiple rooms.
Category
ceramic tile
James H.
5.0
01/04/2018
The job was done perfectly and at an very reasonable price. Our house is from the 1920's and I don't think the tub has been re-caulked or re-grout put in in a long time. Mold and mildew was very bad. Everything was done perfectly, looks great and was done in a very timely manner. All questions and concerns were addressed right away. We wanted the original soap holder removed from wall, but was advised that this would be very difficult and costly. Process was explained to us and we understood why this was not possible. I would highly recommend the Grout Doctor!
Description of Work
New grout and caulking in and around upstairs bathroom tub.
Category
ceramic tile
DARRELL & KAREN H.
5.0
06/30/2017
Excellent. Not cheap, but it was done on time, fast and looks great.
Description of Work
They regrouted our tub/shower area.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile
Cindy G.
5.0
06/19/2017
Prompt. Courteous. Thorough. Have referred him to many people
Description of Work
minor grout and caulk repair. grout cleaning
Category
ceramic tile
Ross S.
5.0
06/08/2017
It went very well. From start to finish, the job took six hours. Hence, the hourly rate for this work seemed high. But the quality was superb... just like the "before" & "after" photos at their website. Dan's associate, Ryan did the work. Caulking in a nice, straight, uniform bead looks easy but actually requires a bit of skill. Ryan had it. He was very professional and careful not to place tools directly on my new countertop (placing them on a soft towel instead). He cleaned up & provided detailed instructions on how I should provide care to keep his work looking like new.
Description of Work
Re-grouted bathtub enclosure tile, plus re-caulk ... plus, repaired and/or re-stained floor grout
Category
ceramic tile
Suzanne G.
5.0
05/02/2017
Great! They didva beautiful job. Very professional and reasonably priced!
Description of Work
Had some grGreatout repaired on kitchen floor and in shower.
Category
ceramic tile
Yvonne C.
5.0
10/15/2015
I had an excellent experience with Dan. He was timely and professional in phone communications beforehand and during the process. He came out and provided an estimate, then returned a couple weeks later to complete the job. Despite discovering a setback during the project that required an extra trip out, he did not charge additional beyond what was in the estimate. Great quality work and a pleasure to work with.
Description of Work
Clean, seal, and recaulk shower stall. Recaulk vanity top.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Jody F.
5.0
10/14/2015
Everything went great! This is the 2nd time we've had Dan out here and I'd call him again in a heartbeat. He does great work and is the ultimate professional. What else can I say!
Description of Work
Cleaned, did some minor regrouting, major caulking, minor touch-up paint and probably a bunch of other stuff.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Susan A.
4.0
10/13/2015
seems fine now. hopefully no mildew will develop in caulk
Description of Work
cleaned grout and removed caulk in shower stall. sealed grout with stain/sealer and replaced caulk
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Donna B.
3.0
10/07/2015
After reading the glowing reviews about Dan the Grout Doctor on Angie's List I had very high expectations. He was prompt for the quote appointment and subsequent appointment to do the work. Very personable guy and overall the work resulted in my shower looking better than before the work was done, but nothing extraordinary. However, during the course of his work and as he was nearing the end of the job I had to point out an area on the tile of the step leading into the shower that was completely missing a section of grout. After he left I went in to the bathroom to look it over again and discovered an area approximately 1.5" where the wall meets the floor that was completely missing grout! I immediately called Dan and he offered to come right back and he did. He caulked the area in a bright white which does not match the rest of the grout line along the floor. He did say he would tint it another color to match better when he comes back to do my kitchen backsplash next month. Unfortunately that won't be happening as I intend to cancel the appointment as I have now found another area along the wall / floor line that is also completely missing a section of grout. And I don't mean just chipped away. Completely gone! Clearly he did not get down and eyeball the grout line between where the wall tiles and the floor meet. For the cost of this service for approximately 2.25 hours of work I am pretty disappointed. UPDATE: After speaking with Dan again after he left the second time he did offer to return again at some point to fix what he missed. He said that some things "...obviously got missed when I was cleaning up..." or something like that. I explained I wasn't willing to take more vacation time from work to be home for him to come back a second time. I again said I was pretty disappointed with this service and asked for a partial credit to what I paid as I now will have to hire a handyman to return to complete the missing grout and caulk work. He said he would be sending me a check refunding me for the entire service and although that was generous, it's not what I expected nor want. I do expect SOME credit/refund returned for the incomplete work however. Will wait and see if a check shows up in the mail and update this review.
Description of Work
Cleaned, regrouted where needed, and caulked a large porcelain tiled walk-in shower.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
TIM AND JENNIFER D.
5.0
04/11/2015
Dan was responsive, reasonably priced, and does great work. this is the 2nd time we have used dan in the last few years. so grateful we have found dan!
Description of Work
re grouted and caulked a travertine shower.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
Cindy G.
5.0
01/03/2015
Excellent experience. Dan was punctual, thorough, clean, and provided results that made our rooms look brand new again. He explained what he did, both before and after the process, and performed the cleaning touchups with the addition of new grout that matched perfectly. As a retired interior designer who is EXTREMELY particular, I had referred Dan to several clients, although I'd never had the need to use his services. Now that I've done so, I will certainly continue to refer him going forward. I continue to receive inquiries on a weekly basis for my "go to" contractors, and Dan will be first on the list for grout work.
Description of Work
Dan cleaned and refreshed our 6 year old home. The rooms included master bathroom floor, shower, and guest bathroom, plus a handful of minor grout touch-ups in various rooms.
Category
ceramic tile
Gregory T.
5.0
12/23/2014
Everything was great. Derek and his work were great! He was on time, cost was just right (in my eyes) and bathroom looks good as new. He was there for around 2-3 hours and for $145 to make my bathroom look great, it was worth it. I will definitely be using them again with any grout/bathroom issues in the near future with other house projects on my list.
Description of Work
Derek came over and cleaned and re-stained all of the grout in our master bath. He also re-grouted some areas where the grout was cracked and missing. He then cleaned all the molded caulk in our shower and re-caulked everything.
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile, handyman service
JEFF G.
5.0
11/28/2014
Just a warning, I called Grout Doctor's number, but instead of setting me up with Dan, who has gotten awesome reviews on this site, the connected me with Derek and Joy Meinen. Maybe this was because of my location in Whitefish Bay, I'm not sure. Regardless, the job they did was awful and not worth the money. When calling the Grout Doctor number, all you can do is leave your information, I suspect they route the order to whichever grout doctor worker covers your geographic area. I wish there was a way to review this other Grout Doctor service provider but there isn't. I also wish there was a way to get in touch with Dan about getting him to do the work, based on his reviews, I suspect he would do much, much better.
Description of Work
Just a warning for everyone calling The Grout Doctor and hoping to get this service provider.
Category
ceramic tile
Glendon B.
5.0
10/23/2014
It went very well. He was done on schedule at the price quoted. He did not try to sell us unneeded services.
Description of Work
Cleaned and recaulked the shower as well as replacing several delicate tiles.
Category
ceramic tile
Scott H.
5.0
09/12/2014
This was an excellent experience! Dan was on-time and great to work with. Not only did he do as promised and the work impeccable - he managed to make my tub look brand new! Reasonable price for the labor and time required. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Removed old grout and regrouted bathroom tub and surrounding walls.
Category
ceramic tile
Mary M.
5.0
08/18/2014
The work was done as promised, all appointments were kept, and I was happy with the work.
Description of Work
I had the tile around the bathtub re-grouted and a shield treatment put on.
Category
ceramic tile
JOSEPH W.
5.0
04/15/2014
They were on time, did a very thorough job, and cleaned up nicely. It turned out much better than I imagined. I'm very happy with the results and have no hesitation about recommending them. Well worth the money!
Description of Work
Regrouted main tub area.
Category
ceramic tile
DIANE N.
5.0
04/10/2014
They were very professional. They came out to quote my project within a few days of my phone call and scheduled work within a week. They removed my old caulk and cleaned my current grout on my tile walls. They then re-caulked the tub/shower. It looks like a brand new tile remodel with just the grout/caulk being redone.
Description of Work
This company came out and re-caulked my tub/shower area.
Category
ceramic tile, handyman service
mark F.
5.0
03/31/2014
He showed up when he said he would, did just what we discussed for a fair price in a timely fashion.
Description of Work
regrouting a shower, filling in cracked areas, recaulking tub surround
Category
bathtub refinishing, ceramic tile
David A.
5.0
03/23/2014
On time, pleasant. Worked fast. No problems one year later
Description of Work
Replaced grout in shower.
Category
ceramic tile

Phone

Address

W199S8565 Bendingbrae Dr

Muskego, WI 53150

Other Information

Services offered

Tile re-grouting & repair, remove fungus & mildew, grout repair, sanitize grout & tile, clean & restore grout color, remove & replace caulking, seal & protect grout, refurbish & renew grout & tile, recolor existing grout, clean & seal natural stone.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard

FAQ

The Grout Doctor is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

The Grout Doctor is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

The Grout Doctor accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

Yes, The Grout Doctor offers free project estimates.

Yes, The Grout Doctor offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, The Grout Doctor does not offer a senior discount.

No, The Grout Doctor does not offer warranties.

The Grout Doctor offers the following services: Tile re-grouting & repair, remove fungus & mildew, grout repair, sanitize grout & tile, clean & restore grout color, remove & replace caulking, seal & protect grout, refurbish & renew grout & tile, recolor existing grout, clean & seal natural stone.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

TILE TIM Contracting

5.0

(40)

Angi Certified

TILE TIM Contracting

OWNER OPERATED. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ASK FOR DETAILS ON TRAVEL CHARGES & SERVICE FEES.  

Exterior Pros

Angi Certified

Exterior Pros

Exterior Pros is a locally owned & operated company based in Sussex, WI. Serving Southeastern Wisconsin, we strive to provide the highest level of customer satisfaction. We pride ourselves on building our business primarily through satisfied customer referrals. We Specialize in: Roofing, Siding, Windows, Doors, Wet Space Bath Systems, Gutters, and Leaf Protection. We have an A+ Rating on Better Business Bureau, are Master Elite certified and President's Club rated, and are an 8x Angies List Super Service Award Winner!  

Bath Fitter of Milwaukee

5.0

(45)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Bath Fitter of Milwaukee

BATH FITTER of Milwaukee is Wisconsin's leading one day bath remodeling company. We offer customer made acrylic bath tub liner, free standing acrylic bath tubs, tub-to-shower conversions and one piece shower enclosures. Our products are custom made to fit over existing fixtures or are made to replace an existing tub or shower, for quick and clean bathroom renovations that will last a lifetime. With our tub to shower conversions, we can convert your existing tub into a mobility friendly walk in shower. All of our Installers and Sales consultants are factory trained. All of our team works directly for us, we do not sub contract out our work. Franchise owned and operated by Ideal Bathroom Solutions, LLC., doing business as Bath Fitter.