Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC

Founded 2000 • With Angi since May 2005

We have over 30 years of superior craftsmanship. We are not a factory and do not mass-produce anything. Our attention-to-detail and vast knowledge of the remodeling industry allow us to stand out from the crowd. Customer service and pride in our work are our top priorities! Wirtz's Woodworks has their own custom cabinet shop for building furniture, cabinets, moldings & trim, etc. We can match any finish or architectural style. We specialize in restoration projects in older homes and businesses.

Verified Reviews

4.5

(33) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
MARGIE R.
4.0
04/14/2015
Good. The finished job was very good. No additional fees. He seemed leery about doing some things and I think it may have not known things in certain areas.
Description of Work
He repaired some basement steps for us.
Category
woodworking
Jessica G.
5.0
03/13/2015
In our kitchen, we had a peninsula with a laminate countertop that was supported by a 2" square wooden leg. We were scheduled to get new granite countertops and I contacted Wirtz's to find out if they could make me a new leg or something that would support the heavier weight of granite. I dealt with Brian and he was great. He explained that what I probably wanted was a plywood subtop, which he could create for me. He told me he could have someone come and measure but that would cost me extra, so I could just measure my countertop and send him the specs to save money, which I did. He was quick, the plywood subtop was perfect, and I really trusted Brian. I would recommend Wirtz's for woodworking needs!
Description of Work
Created a plywood subtop for granite countertops
Category
countertops, woodworking, marble & granite

Service Provider Response

It was great to work with you [member name removed]. Enjoy your new counter tops!
John O.
5.0
02/04/2015
They are coming back one more time. The job was awesome. They did a great job. They have a little finishing stuff to do but I told them not to hurry. They sent several different contractors. They had a drywaller, carpenters and a guy who did some tile work and a guy who did the shower. Everyone was awesome. Everyone was really easy to work with.
Description of Work
I used Wirtz's Woodworking. They remodeled the bathroom.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]! It was great to work with you and Lynn.
Mary Z.
5.0
02/05/2014
They were great. We had him come out and looked at property and give us a quote. The guy was excellent and very professional. We chose not to go with them because their quote was twice from what we've gotten from another contractor. He's competent and great guy; I wish I could have afforded him. He was very knowledgeable about the construction of the house and how he would fix it. He showed us some pictures of his work; he obviously is a professional and knew exactly what he was doing. He certainly arranged things and he was able to get out there and see us right away which we really appreciated. I would definitely consider using them in the future if needed.
Description of Work
Wirtz's Woodworks gave us a quote for replacing an airing porches.
Category
decks
Marcia Y.
5.0
10/03/2013
From the beginning Jim was easy to talk to and work with. His understanding of what we wanted and his experience in working with older houses were main reasons we chose him to do the work. We were not disappointed. We were especially glad for his expertise as we encountered issues opening up our old walls. We came to trust the high standard of work he expected from his workers. All the people he brought to our project did excellent work and took personal pride in what they did. Some went beyond what they were required to do to make sure the job was done right and they never missed a day cleaning up the work space. The custom cabinets, built in Jim's shop, are beautiful and very well made. We love showing them to people. Jim was very approachable if there were questions or concerns and worked hard to make sure we were satisfied. He was regularly on site and always available to us throughout the project,. This was our first experience with remodeling. We had heard many stories of renovations gone wrong, but we can homestly say our whole experience working with Jim Wirtz and his team was a very positive one. We were so pleased with the quality, craftsmanship, and look of our new kitchen and that it blends in well with the rest of our home. The frosting on the cake: Jim submitted our project to the NARI Home Remodeling Show and won an award for it. We highly recommend Jim Wirtz for a quality renovation project and a good professional experience. We would not hesitate to use him again for a future project.
Description of Work
Jim Wirtz helped us transform our no longer functioning kitchen, in a 97 year old home, into a bright, enjoyable, functioning area we now love to be in. Main elements of the project included stripping interior and exterior walls to the studs, removing a partial interior wall, plastering walls and ceiling, preserving and repairing old tile and installing new tile, installing new windows, custom cabinets, and a granite counter top; refinishing hardwood floors.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, hardwood floor, plastering, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling
Oralyn K.
5.0
09/03/2013
It turns out what I wanted done was way more than I would ever pay. I knew I was being optimistic when I called because I knew it would be a lot of work for just one window. His estimate was reasonable based on what I wanted done. In the end he suggested a different approach and even refunded my money. I don't think any other company would have done this.
Description of Work
He gave me his honest opinion. I DID NOT HAVE ANY WORK DONE BY THIS BUSINESS. MY MONEY WAS REFUNDED.
Category
woodworking
THOMAS C.
3.0
08/07/2013
It turned out OK. There were no additional charges. The guy who came I think was the owner and he seemed like an OK guy but he seemed like he was in a hurry actually but I assumed that he was busy.
Description of Work
I purchased a big deal service from Wirtz's Woodworks Inc to fix a porch for me.
Category
decks
JO ANN A.
4.0
07/08/2013
The quality of the work was very good.The timeliness was a problem. There were delays in getting the work done and the communication with the company was not always satisfactory.
Description of Work
Repaired a small hole in the corner of the backyard deck made by chipmunks. The board was replaced and stained.
Category
woodworking
DAVID P.
4.0
02/27/2013
Wirtz's Woodworks, Inc. did a good job. He's a very pleasant fellow. He bent over backwards to help design the windows that we liked. They're pretty expensive windows.
Description of Work
He replaced my windows.
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], it was great working with you and [other member name removed]. Thank you for the opportunity; I hope we will be able to work together again. Jim Wirtz's Woodworks, Inc.
Joe F.
3.0
12/19/2012
He came out and gave me an estimate, we made a date and he was no call no show. Had to call several times to learn that he'd been not feeling well, lost an office person. A couple of young guys did the work but it was billed before it was completed. When I asked that it be finished and sent photos of the unfinished work, it was adequately done.
Description of Work
Finished framing around a porch door.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to review our project with you. Every experience that is under par is a learning experience for us and we strive to not make the same mistakes twice.
COLLEEN K.
2.0
08/27/2012
They should just tell you if your job is too small instead of not responding.
Description of Work
I called them to come over and replace my service door to my garage. It took about two weeks to get them to come over. After they finally came, they told me that the door was the wrong size, and said I should call them back when I got one that was the right size. Didn't offer me any alternatives, but basically gave me the idea that they didn't want to do the work that the job was too small. I had someone else put the door in for me. Then I emails with the 'contact us' portion on their website asking if they would come over and do something else for me since I had not been able to use that BIG DEAL. I never got a response. So, I spent $55 and never got any work done.
Category
woodworking
Gina S.
2.0
07/07/2012
The person in charge did not follow through with what he said he would do. I had to fight for what needed to be done. The quote was not honored and they wanted to charge extra for the work.
Description of Work
The company replaced a door inside and replaced locks in the home.
Category
doors
Jenny P.
5.0
06/28/2012
I used the big deal for this service and I just paid the charge that was there through the deal. There was no additional charge. They're very punctual and dependable. They were able to do what needed to be done. I don't know if I would use them again in the future mainly because they're very specialized.
Description of Work
I used Wirtz's Woodworks Inc twice. They actually had to come back. They fixed a cabinet for me.
Category
cabinet refacing
CHUCK R.
5.0
06/28/2012
Brian was on time and very experienced. The job was over two days but was completed.
Description of Work
Adjusting the latches on closet cupboard doors so they close properly.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to work with you. I hope that we will do business again.
Ray H.
1.0
03/26/2012
Wirtz's woodworks was part of an Angie's list deal if the day which was $55 for $200 worth of work. I called Jim over for an estimate for replacing rotted wood boards on my garage. I thought the estimate for replacing the boards or siding the garage was high so I opted to replace a garage man door and get a cat door cut into a basement door instead. Ever since then Jim Wirtz has been very difficult to work with. I have called him repeatedly over the last 4 months and he doesn't return my calls in a timely manner or keep me in the loop on this simple project. I actually had to call Angie's list to get him to call me. When he finally called me he said they were swamped with work which I didn't find as an excuse not to at least call me or keep me in the loop. I finally got some of his employees over in mid January to assess the project which they said they would be back to complete in a week and I haven't seen or heard from them since. I have given up calling this company and now I'm out $55. Lesson learned. Now I'll be more leery about an Angie's list deal of the day.
Description of Work
No work was performed. What I thought was an easy project turned into quite a disappointment.
Category
doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest review, [member name removed]. We apologize for the terrible way your project was (or was not) handled. There is no excuse for dropping the ball like that and we will certainly do our best to not have it happen again.
ERIC & PATRICIA J.
5.0
01/26/2012
He is terrific. He exhibits excellence in his work. Everything that he has done here has been really true to the character of the house. He has always been excellent at what he did. At the time that I was using him it was a very busy time in the industry. It was hard to get on his schedule. That would be my only con because everything else was a pro. He is professional and very knowledgeable, especially about older homes. I felt that that was his strong point. He is very meticulous too. I get a lot of value. I am very pleased with that.
Description of Work
I used Wirtz's Woodworks Inc. to replace the molding and put some new railings.
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your loyaly to Jim Wirtz's Woodworks, Inc. and we look forward to the continued relationship; it's always a pleasure to work with your family.
MITZI M.
5.0
09/21/2011
They stuck to their price. I just had to pay a few dollars for a few miscellaneous pieces of wood. They were very professional and offered great advice on shelving. I'm looking for some more projects for them to complete for me!
Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for carpentry work. They installed some shelves for me.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for purchasing our Big Deal and for taking the time to post this review! It was an absolute pleasure to work with you both and we look forward to helping out again in the future. Don't hesitate to call anytime!
SUZAN B.
5.0
09/09/2011
Mr. Jim called to say he was running late. Assured the problem and described how it would be fixed the problem involved replacement of and frac12; of a basement window with plywood to accommodate with the dryer vent.
Description of Work
Wirtz's Wood Works has done a basement window replacement with plywood.
Category
glass block

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us! The Big Deal we ran had us running everywhere and we really appreciate your patience and understanding with scheduling the job. Please let us know if we could help with anything else in the future.
Sandra W.
3.0
09/08/2011
Read above....there were No services preformed.
Description of Work
I have to say I was disappointed. I had an appointment and rearrange my schedule to accommodate them and they Never showed. I called to find out what happened and they apoligized and seemed very sincere, so I rescheduled. Jim actually arrived 20 minutes early. We walked through what I wanted done and he had some Great ideas, so he said he would send me a proposal. A little over a week later he asked if I received it. I told him No and he said he was having problems with his computer and would resend it. Again I did Not hear from him. Angie's list had a deal going where I bought the coupon and I had to explain what was going on to get a refund. After I got my refund I then heard from them and they said they would mail it out. Almost a month later I received the propsal. I Will say Jim had a lot of Awesome ideas that I was truly Excited about, however if getting the proposal is any indication of there work ethics. I personally had to move on.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

We are also disappointed. We were very much looking forward to working with you and putting those ideas into action. Sadly, our proposal wasn't received and another contractor was hired within a week. In the future, we will be more dilligent with follow-ups and not expect the customer to follow-up. Should we run another Big Deal in the future, we will be better organized.
MIRIAM G.
5.0
05/23/2011
From the beginning Jim Wirtz made us feel like we were his only clients. His accessibility was fantastic. Jim made several trips to our home during the planning stages and continued visiting our renovation to check and recheck dimensions with our contractor and us. We received beautiful inset cabinets, drawers, spice racks, and AWESOME wine racks! Jim's installation team did a super job and were a pleasure to work with. We couldn't be happier!
Description of Work
Jim consulted with us and our contractor on a kitchen layout along with the building of custom inset cabinets.
Category
custom cabinets, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very, much! You were a pleasure to work with and the project was fun to help design. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can help with anything at all!
CHRISTINE O.
5.0
03/25/2011
They really did a wonderful job working with my husband and incorporating his ideas into the design. We absolutely love how everything turned out!
Description of Work
Wirtz's built a breakfast nook for us in our sunroom.
Category
woodworking, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you! I have photos of your project up in our new showroom - and I love that it shows so much detail. People always comment on the nook! I'm so happy you're enjoying the space.
ERIC & PATRICIA J.
5.0
11/02/2010
Jim is great and always knows the tricks of the trade to make things fit in an old house with crooked door frames! He's also sensitive to the period the house was built so he can help with style choices as well. He helped us find railing brackets and doorknobs for the closet doors that reflect our homes style and period.
Description of Work
Replaced a closet door and put up a new railing in stairwell.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

You are always such a pleasure to work with! Thank you for being such a great customer - and thank you for the referrals! The homes in your neighborhood are such fun projects with the small details and architectural features. Those are Jim's favorite types of projects!
Jeffrey R.
5.0
11/02/2010
Jim's knowledge base, attention to detail, and ability to envision the big picture / finished product is phenomenal. He was responsive to all of my calls and e-mails -- always had very good suggestions -- and executed in a timely and professional manner. His team left our house spotless every day. Every day. Jim isn't the least expensive quote you're going to find out there -- but the incremental dollars are money well spent. I fully intend to use Wirtz's Woodworks in the future for our kitchen and bathroom remodels in 2011.
Description of Work
My wife and I first learned of Jim's company (Wirtz's Woodworks) through a referral from another contractor (our hardwood floor refinisher). While we originally contacted him just to remove a small kitchen wall, we ended up retaining him for a number of projects in our 1932, cream city brick Fox Point home -- including: removing a rotted out 2nd story bedroom porch/deck and creating an internal closet, replacing cedar siding and dentil molding, tearing out and repairing the structure of a water damaged wall, sourcing and installing a new wood beam mantle (that matches those in our den ceiling), and various other small carpentry projects (reversing doors, sourcing new wooden doors, etc.).
Category
woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We're so happy that NuFloor (hardwood floor refinisher) was able to refer you to us - it was a pleasure working with your family. Your home was a fun project to tackle with all of its architectural details! If I can help with your kitchen project at all, please let us know. I'd love to help with the bathroom remodel as well, should you decide to go ahead with that. Best of luck with your new baby and new (old) home!
Pamela B.
5.0
07/13/2010
Jim totally understood our vision and need to blend this remodeled space into our 1916 prairie style home. The result is a beautiful and creative space that fits perfectly with the rest of the house. The custom made quarter sawn oak cabinetry is spectacular and the quality exceptional. Like having fine Stickley furniture in my kitchen! All of Jim's crew and subs were wonderful and a pleasure to have in and out of the house. There were numerous unforeseen problems including major foundation issues, electrical and plumbing. These were easily handled by the team and other professionals and we felt that the additional costs were fair. We received regular progress updates and were able to reach Jim whenever we had questions or concerns. The project was finished on time as promised. We have recommended Wirt'zs Woodworks to other friends for both major and small projects. We have several other projects for our house in mind for the future and would not use anyone else but Wirtz's Woodworks!!
Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel as well as other miscellaneous repairs and installations (new doors, stone patio, stucco repair, outside plumbing and electrical, closets, etc).
Category
woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Your loyalty and referrals over the years are GREATLY appreciated! I've loved helping you transform your home into the vision you've always dreamed. Changing your back porch (that was falling off the house) into an expanded kitchen will always be one of my favorite projects - and all those little details we worked on! I know our subs and crew enjoyed working with your family also. I hope you have been enjoying many gin & tonics on your back patio, as well!
Pamela B.
5.0
01/05/2009
They were wonderful. Their service was incredible. Their prices were reasonable. I'd give their quality of work an A+++.
Description of Work
They did our kitchen remodel.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much! I appreciate your willlingness to show off your home to prospective customers, as well. Your kitchen has a 'WOW' factor for anyone we walk-through!

Other local Pros in your area

TILE TIM Contracting

OWNER OPERATED. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ASK FOR DETAILS ON TRAVEL CHARGES & SERVICE FEES.  

Angi Certified

Empire Home Remodeling

Empire Home Remodeling, Inc specializes in windows, siding, roofing, creativity, customer service and project management necessary for success. Our most satisfied customers are those who want a company to manage their project, leaving the problem solving and details to the professionals, thus allowing them a worry-free experience.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Cabinet Home

Visit our showroom for kitchen cabinets, bathroom vanities, sinks, faucets, blinds, knobs and handles. Cabinets are available within 2 weeks. Our installation team been remodeling kitchens and bathrooms for last 19 years. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

11923 W Fairview Avenue

Milwaukee, WI 53226

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Roofing

Payment options

Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC offers free project estimates.

Yes, WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC does not offer a senior discount.

No, WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC does not offer warranties.

WIRTZ'S WOODWORKS INC offers the following services: Custom Cabinetry, Woodworking