Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Tuffys Sewer & Drain

Founded 2003 • With Angi since September 2011

4.7

(73) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 14072

Milwaukee, WI 53214

Description

Sewer and drain cleaning Residential and commercial Sewer pipe locating Sewer pipe inspections...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/04/2020


Ashley S.

Worst plumber experience I have ever had. I still cannot believe what happened, happened. They definitely do not have any respect for their customers or their homes. First the young man barged in with his head down, not saying a word. Headed towards my kitchen where it was pitch black, I had to stop him and say excuse me the bathroom is this way. Still no word, just walked to the bathroom. He worked for a bit and called in another man, who was sitting in the van, and turns out he was THE OWNER. He lets himself in through my back door, also not greeting us or saying a word. The 1st guy brings out a wad of hair dripping throughout my house to show us, getting it all over the floors. Then an hour and a half later - they’re both out the door. Not saying anything on what was done or ANYTHING. They hurry to their van and LEAVE. Confused why they left and why we didn’t have a bill...Well... we walk in our bathroom to find it an absolute MESS. Black stuff every where - floor, bathtub, sink, doors, under the sink, drawers, all over the stuff in the drawers. Bathroom just destroyed. I would not wish what happened to us upon anyone. It was an absolute nightmare. I’ve never been so upset, disgusted in I my life. Hundreds of dollars of stuff just ruined. I don’t know how this company has the rating/reviews they do or how they are in business.

Description of Work
Sink/bathtub

Category plumbing

2.0

08/31/2019


Andrew V.

The floor drain in our basement backed up after a load of laundry. After reading many positive reviews we went with Tuffy’s. The following is a summary of our appointment. I will itemize my issues (there are many) for easier reading. 1. The two employees did not introduce themselves upon arrival. 2. The older employee was slurring his speech and could hardly walk. The company said (after the fact) that he has a disability, but he could easily have been mistaken for drunk. Disability or no, his condition affected his ability to do the work in a safe and efficient manner. I’m glad we weren’t paying by the hour. 3. This employee was so unsteady on his feet that he was holding onto the copper pipes in our basement ceiling and running into items in our basement. Our young son was interested in watching the work, but was sent upstairs for fear he would be injured by this employee. 4. The employees did not listen to my wife when she tried to tell them where the access pipe was. They proceeded to move boxes and items in our basement even after my wife asked them to stop. Communication may have been better had the older employee been able to speak clearly. The younger employee hardly spoke at all. 5. The younger employee dropped their large piece of gravy equipment halfway down our basement stairs. 6. The older employee began to cut the cap off our access pipes without asking if this was ok. My wife had to stop him to get an explanation. Clearly it needed to be done to complete the work, but again, he couldn’t communicate clearly. At $40 per cap, this is not something you just do without explanation. 7. After the employees left, I noticed a large puddle in our driveway. Upon closer inspection, it was URINE. We have a dog, but he does not urinate in that quantity, much less on the driveway. I smelled it. I’m positive it was HUMAN URINE, in the location of the work truck door. The only explanation I can think of is that one of the employees ****** in our driveway. Perhaps it wasn’t overtly malicious...perhaps one of the employees ****** their pants. I’m more inclined to believe that they used a bottle to **** in while on the road, and decided to dump their **** in our driveway. Regardless, this is inexcusable. 8. I wanted to contact the company the evening of our appointment, but my wife, who was visibly upset over all of this, said she would contact the company the following day after she had time to calm down. When she called, we were berated for not being more understanding of the older employees condition. No apologies. Only unkind words. In summary, the work that needed to be done was eventually completed, but our experience with the employees was poor. The employees that did work for us were bumbling, at best. The word I’m more inclined to use is “incompetent.” Were a simple disability the only issue, I might be able to give a more positive review, but I cannot overlook the safety issues, the lack of communication, or the **** in our driveway. On top of it all, the company was not able to offer an apology. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Sewer Vleaning

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning

5.0

01/08/2019


Jeana A.

It went great. They arrived on time, and I watched as they did the "seweroscopy" (my husband's term for the camera work). It was very informative to look at my sewer. Very happily, the sewer looked good. From this point forward, I'll get the sewer cleaned once a year as a preventive measure. I'm very happy with Chris and Austin's expertise and professionalism. I'll definitely use Tuffy's in the future.

Description of Work
About 10 days ago, Chris and Austin from Tuffy's cleaned the sewer, which was plugged due to tree roots. Today they returned to determine if there was a bigger problem; they put the camera down the sewer.

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning

5.0

06/12/2018


Dale S.

I was happy with the work. Water flow was much better.

Description of Work
I needed my storm drain cleaned out because water would back up during a storm.

Category sewer cleaning

5.0

02/28/2018


Harry S.

They got the job done right, on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Clogged Sewer Line

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning

1.0

12/26/2017


Michael W.

I needed a clogged sewer drained unplugged. I purchased Angies List add for $49.00 cleaning. Later found out that is only for analysis of problem. ( i was told it was a clogged sewer drain) I told them I already new that and that's why I called you. Ended up spending over $200.00 on a $49. offer from Angies list. Just to add insult to injury the sewer clogged again in 2 months. You guessed it, they're warranty expired. Hired anaother company they said it was the lint in sink drain not sewer. No problems since.

Description of Work
Unclog a drain.

Category sewer cleaning

Service Provider Response

The Angies List ad clearly states that the $49 offer is for a service call to diagnose the problem and any work would be an additional charge. On the job for you we snaked your laundry wash tub 3 times removing Roots. The problem at your home at the time of our call was the building drain. We do offer a warranty and if you would have called us we would have gladly come out for free to rectify the problem within 90 days. The actual charge for the snaking was $160.
5.0

11/12/2017


Joann M.

He's pretty reasonable. I would use them again, I really would.

Description of Work
They did sewer and drain cleaning.

Category sewer cleaning

3.0

11/08/2017


simon M.

They didn't seem to have the correct tools. They didn't clean out the drain further. We still have puddle issues. They didn't clean up after themselves They didn't give me a discount as was advertised on Angies List. They were an hour late but didn't notify us until the actual appointment time.

Description of Work
water was backing up in the shower. water was not flushing correctly from the toilet

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

10/24/2017


Dale S.

They did a good job and that was it. The cost was okay. The quality was fine. There is no reason to downgrade them.

Description of Work
Tuffys Sewer & Drain to roto-rooter a storm sewer. They cleaned out a storm sewer that was backing up.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

09/19/2017


Ann W.

Chris and Dave are great. I called to schedule a regular maintenance cleaning. Even though it wasn't an emergency they worked around my schedule and were here within a few days. Arrangements were easy. The work was efficient and quiet. While they worked I had a conference call without a problem. I will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Cleaned the lateral out to the main

Category sewer cleaning

5.0

09/18/2017


Alyssa B.

Drain is now unplugged. They had a project earlier that day that made them late but someone called me ahead of time to let me know.

Description of Work
House drain was plugged.

Category plumbing

5.0

09/08/2017


Mary P.

My sewer backed up and I went on Angie's list to find someone with a good review to come out as soon as possible. Tuffy's Sewer & Drain was the fist name that came up so I called. Chris and Dave came out within an hour! They lined my staircase to the basement with a drop cloth and they covered the area around the clean out valve so nothing would splatter on the wall or carpeting. They took care of the blockage quickly and neatly. Great guys, great work ethic and fair price! I can't say enough about how happy I was with their work. I give them my highest recommendation!

Description of Work
Sewer and Drain clean out.

Category sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

5.0

08/11/2017


Dale S.

Mine was a tough job and they did it well. They did the job and did it quick. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
They cleaned out the sewer drains

Category drain cleaning

5.0

07/09/2017


Anne R.

Called on a Saturday morning, they were here by 2pm! No extra money for a weekend, professional and great people to work with!

Description of Work
Kitchen sink drain cleaning

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

07/01/2017


Clinton and Sherrell R.

My experience was terrific! They totally changed my perspective on plumbers because they didn't try to rip me off and didn't add a bunch of ridiculous service charges and fees. It was a pleasure working with Chris!

Description of Work
I had a huge sewer backup problem at my property and hired a plumber for over $300 in February only to have the same problem again in June. The first company did a horrible job and complained the entire time because my tenants used "flushable" wipes that they didn't know were actually troublesome. So... I called Tuffy's!

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

5.0

06/28/2017


Lance L.

I contacted them on Monday late afternoon, talked with the person on the phone for a short time and had an appointment scheduled for the very next day. Chris and his partner arrived right in the middle of the two hour time window that they gave me and promptly got to work. They brought the basic tools to start work on the very first trip into the house - prepared to get started ASAP. I showed them where the drain was and the cleanout was (I had made sure it was accessible before they showed up) and they started to try to open it. This was the first challenge of the project - the cap was stuck tight. Luckily, they already hand the sawzall with them and cut it off - obviously something that was done before and they handily did again, replacing it with a new cap from the truck after the end of the job. They proceeded to bring down a large sewer machine and ran it roughly 60' down the pipe - it was pretty obvious that this had never been done on our sewer pipe before as it was quite a bit of work on their part. Given the task, I was impressed at how little mess they made - placing drop cloths on any carpets (our stairs) they would need to walk or move equipment on, as well as making sure to avoid any area carpets. They also spent a significant amount of time at the end of the visit mopping the floor and making sure there was no mess anywhere else. All told they were at the house for around 2 hours.

Description of Work
The drain in our basement would back up whenever we did a load of laundry.

Category sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

5.0

06/14/2017


J P.

Excellent work. I've never hired many plumbers but Chris and his assistant were extremely hard-working and focused.

Description of Work
Replaced upstairs toilet, unclogged drains to sink and tub.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/04/2017


Daryl B.

Is there a rating higher than "A"? Can"t recommend Tuffys highly enough. I have had to have the lateral snaked out 3 times now over the 20 years ive owned this building, Tuffys was most responsive, best price and most thorough cleanup of anyone. They cleaned up 3in of "mud" from the backup so well my tenant said you couldnt tell anything had ever happened!

Description of Work
Snake out plugged sewer lateral

Category sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

5.0

04/16/2017


Dietmar W.

They were very professional. The work was done in an hour. They cleaned up before they left and I ended up paying less than I had previously when I called one of the national chains for a similar service a number of years earlier. I didn't have to pay on the spot. I received a bill electronically a few days later for the quoted amount.

Description of Work
My floor drain had backed up in the basement, so I called Tuffy's in the morning. Chris and Dave came later that day.

Category sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you! great working for you. Thank you for the job !!!
1.0

03/31/2017


Keith M.

The work was completed, but there were multiple problems: -Late arrival (we were told 5 PM, but no-one arrived until after 7 PM) -Dirt on carpet and tile (the carpet was cleaned, but the tile in the bathroom had to be cleaned by us) -Dirt on door frame, toilet, tub and sink counter (again we completed the cleaning of this) -Was repeatedly asked to assist in the repair (e.g. watch for the cable, operate the foot pedal, flush toilet, etc) If I am paying for a job, why am I helping do said job? -Was asked to provide equipment (such as a bucket) -Would not stand by price given to us at time of hiring When I brought these items to their attention, the response was less than professional. I would avoid this company if possible and if not, demand a written estimate before work commences.

Description of Work
Sewer drain was clogged and needed to be cleared out.

Category sewer cleaning

Service Provider Response

Sorry to see your review in this manner we reduce your bill down to the original quote given to you by the referring company. The job we did for you was on a Saturday and you are an add-on we were running late and we did phone you 15 minutes past our estimated arrival time. considering that you had several sewer lines we feel that we were more than accommodating to the estimated price as we charge do a weekday rate on a Saturday on an emergency. if you would have pointed out the soil in the bathroom we would have been glad to clean it up as we did the carpeting. in response to asking you to help us with the job we asked you to watch for the cable for safety and to flush the toilet in order to speed up the time in respect to time management. we apologize if this was an inconvenience. we have emailed you and called you several times after the job and you have not responded I hope that you do see that we did in the end reduce your bill by $70 for the job that was done properly and ready for the next step with your next plumber.
5.0

03/20/2017


LISA B.

They determined the cause of the water back up was tree roots, cleared it, cleaned up after themselves and left. They were fast, efficient, friendly and I felt very fairly priced.

Description of Work
I thought drain work, It turned out to be tree root removal.

Category sewer cleaning

5.0

03/05/2017


Nathan Y.

Things we very good. Chris Tuffy came out and rooted the floor drain without any luck. Once they investigated further they found that the washing machine and utility sink drained into a sump on the other side of the duplex and the sump pump over there was broken. Tuffy replaced the sump pump and cover and everything worked great.

Description of Work
My tenants has their basement floor drain backing up when their washing machine discharged water into the utility sink. I needed someone to come out and clear the main floor drain.

Category drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

glad you are up and running again and that you are satisfied
5.0

03/05/2017


Fred S.

Both jobs went great. Chris and Chris Jr. came out, were on time, courteous and professional. I will definitely be calling these guys first if I ever need any plumbing work as well as passing their name and number to family and friends. GREAT WORK GUYS!!

Description of Work
2 jobs. Inspect sewer line from basement to street and install new sump pump and check valve.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you ! referrals by word of mouth is the greatest compliment!
5.0

03/04/2017


Janice F.

Reliable, efficient, friendly and fair...Tuffy's Drain Service is all of these. I give them a high recommendation.

Description of Work
I needed my main drain line cleaned and unclogged.

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Fair [Member Information Removed] honest is the only way to be ! glad we could solve your issues!
5.0

02/26/2017


Roger B.

Perfect! The drain was cleaned out and no more water in the basement drain seeping out The basement toilet seal was also leaking because of the back up which they fixed They replaced the seal and used the drain under to acess the system They were available the same day and came at the time stated The price was very fair! and I could not ask for better service or expertise I would not hesitate to use them again for any plumbing needs in the future

Description of Work
Our basement drain pipe to sewer was backed up causing sewage to come up into basement

Category sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you ! Chris always is mindful to access all possible areas of problem connected to the original call. We are glad you are happy with the service!

    Other local Pros in your area

    MCM Plumbing and Drain Cleaning

    .With over 15 years of professional plumbing experience, we are here to help you with your plumbing and drain cleaning needs that you may have. Low $35 trip charge. $25 discount for 1st time customers.  

    Vince Ingrilli & Sons Plumbing Co Inc

    We are a full service plumbing contractor. We run 5 licensed plumbers who specialize in residential and commercial service and repairs. We offer a 5% senior discount, not to be combined with our Angie's List coupon.  

    Thurow Plumbing Service LLC

    From the most complex plumbing installation to routine emergency plumbing service and repair, Thurow Plumbing provides a quality job that fits your lifestyle and budget. We offer a variety of top-quality plumbing services with a commitment to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on exceeding customer expectations. Award winning.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Thurow Plumbing Service LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $10
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Sewer and Drain cleanout

    Services Not Offered

    Sewer line repair

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Tuffys Sewer & Drain

    How is Tuffys Sewer & Drain overall rated?

    Tuffys Sewer & Drain is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Tuffys Sewer & Drain open?

    Tuffys Sewer & Drain is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day
    Monday: Open All Day
    Tuesday: Open All Day
    Wednesday: Open All Day
    Thursday: Open All Day
    Friday: Open All Day
    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Tuffys Sewer & Drain provide

    Tuffys Sewer & Drain accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Tuffys Sewer & Drain offer free estimates?

    Yes, Tuffys Sewer & Drain offers free project estimates.

    Does Tuffys Sewer & Drain offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Tuffys Sewer & Drain does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Tuffys Sewer & Drain offer a senior discount?

    No, Tuffys Sewer & Drain does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Tuffys Sewer & Drain offer emergency services?

    Yes, Tuffys Sewer & Drain offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Tuffys Sewer & Drain?

    No, Tuffys Sewer & Drain does not offer warranties.

    What services does Tuffys Sewer & Drain offer?

    Tuffys Sewer & Drain offers the following services: Sewer and Drain cleanout

    Are there any services Tuffys Sewer & Drain does not offer?

    Sewer line repair