Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Royal Chimney Service

Founded 1980 • With Angi since November 2001

4.8

(166) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

11815 W Dearbourn Ave

Milwaukee, WI 53226

Description

Most Certified Chimney Sweep Technicians in WI. Award winning service for 37 years locally owned & operated with over 47,000 satisfied customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/17/2021


ANTHONY B.

The Royal Chimney crew was very friendly and professional. Since the chimney had not been used for many years, Royal Chimney performed a chimney scan to determine the condition of the inside of the chimney. They were prompt and cleaned up every day before leaving the job. We have had brick masons in our family for many years. Kevin and Randy did a tremendous job. They took pride in their work. Our neighbors have complemented us on a truly beautiful chimney. We will recommend Royal Chimney Service to all our family and friends.

Description of Work
Remove the Chicago Pink brick, the concrete cap, and any ceramic flues that were cracked and replace with new materials.

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing us for your chimney repairs and taking the time to post your comments on the repair and service. We get a lot of compliments about Kevin & Randy's work, very conscientious with their work and customers. Will pass this along to them. Thank you!
3.0

11/20/2020


Dennis L.

The first dates available would have been AFTER 01/25/2021 and that was late for my request however now I would like to re-investigate the quote and set up for the service if it is still available

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning top thru basement!

Category chimney sweep,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Just received notification of your post this morning. Appreciate your patience and our office will contact you this morning. Thank you for your interest in having us service your chimney!
5.0

11/16/2020


Dennis P.

Did a good job with cleaning. Put down mats to protect flooring. Inspected chimney and chimney cap and showed me cracks in flu tile and chimney cap.

Description of Work
Needed Chimney cleaned

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about Royal Chimney Service and the great service you received from Dave. Will let him know about your comments and how he helped you to make decisions concerning your fireplace.
5.0

03/29/2020


Dodd S.

Dave arrived on time, placed all appropriate tarps on the floor and proceeded to clean our masonry wood burning fireplace. He fired up the vacuum, when up on the outside of the chimney and cleaned with wire brushes. Did a full exterior inspection. Came back inside and did a video internal chimney inspection. He found all good except a rusty chimney chase which he quoted replacing with a stainless steel chase. He cleaned up and did a full review of the inspection results. Very professional

Description of Work
Chimney sweep and level 2 inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing Royal Chimney to service your chimney and taking the time to post a review. Will let Dave know how impressed you were with his service.
5.0

12/11/2019


Thomas G.

Excellent job. Estimate was explained with photos. Work was done as expected. Cleanup was great. Looks like the chimney is ready to last for another 100 years.

Description of Work
Chimney cap repair and brick tuckpointing

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing us for your chimney repairs and taking the time to post your comments on the repair and service. We get a lot of compliments about Kevin & Randy's work, very conscientious with their work and customers. Will pass this along to them. Thank you!
5.0

09/18/2019


Peter D.

Josh & Rob exceeded expectations. Finished results look better than the original chimney. Work was performed over several days on a second story roof covered with cedar shake. Shakes were not damaged and the main ladder was protected from the gutter to prevent scratches to the finish. Cleanup was excellent. Josh and Rob were very cordial and always willing to answer any questions over the course of their work. I highly recommend the company based on the foregoing as well as Josh and Rob's work knowledge and ethic.

Description of Work
Rebuild chimney from flashing to present height using new brick set in mason cement. Finish top of chimney with a 4" thick poured concrete crown with drip ledge overhang. Install new fireclay flue tiles in rebuild area. Remove old flashing and install new new counter flashing imbedded into chimney masonry. Install step flashing interlaced with roof shingles with ice and water shield underlayment.

Category masonry,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing us for your chimney repairs and taking the time to post your comments on the repair and service. Will let Josh & Rob know how pleased you were with their service.
5.0

03/15/2019


BONITA L L.

Excellent as always!!! We have been Royal Chimney customers since 1991. They diagnosis a problem and show you the interior chimney, roofing, etc pictures if there is a problem that needs fixing. For the past 15 years we have had Dave as our sweep and this year Jake came with him. They are professional, courteous, clean and friendly. They work well together and seem to enjoy the job. We bought our wood stove from them and have never regretted it. It saves us a lot of money on propane, heats efficiently, and helps to make our house a home! A note about the company...I was in a management job hiring employees and was blessed they stayed with our company for 10-20 years. Royal Chimney has this reputation. It is a great company to work for and treat their employees right. So the job they do for us is above excellent!

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection of wood stove

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our company. We greatly appreciate it and will let our technicians and office personnel know about your good experience with our company. Thank you!!
5.0

01/15/2019


Cindy M.

Came on time, performed work efficiently and the place was clean at the end of the job

Description of Work
Chimneys cleaned

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to post the review of our company, much appreciated!
3.0

12/16/2018


Todd C.

There quote was $7,000 and by far the highest. I had 2 other quotes. One for $1,200 and the other for $800.

Description of Work
Chimney liner for 2 water heaters

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We were contacted by the landlord to give a price on the cost to reline this chimney and get back to him. He was advised the cost would be high because of the shifting clay tiles, debris blockage at the base, and special access set up due to the steep pitch and provided a price using a stainless steel relining pipe. He was also advised a more cost effective way was to side vent the two water heaters and abandon the chimney. The two other bids were using aluminum liners that should never be used when unstable clay flue liners exist. He was also advised to contact his city inspector to avoid a possible dangerous situation or failed final inspection. Sometimes the cheapest price turns out to be the most expensive repair.
5.0

12/10/2018


Jason S.

Very well. Very clean and informative as to possible causes of smoky smell while having previous fires in the fireplace

Description of Work
Chimney swept

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your comments and thank you for your business. Glad we were able to help with your fireplace smoky smell.
5.0

10/17/2018


Cindy B.

It was so nice to get a live person when I called, very knowledgeable and pleasant. The workers arrived on time, completed the proposed work on schedule, very professional and polite. I've had many contractors work on my house and the people at Royal Chimney are great from the initial call to the work performed and a follow up thank you call after the work was completed. Have recommended them to family and friends.

Description of Work
I needed a Fireplace Cleaning

Category chimney sweep,chimney repair,fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our company. We greatly appreciate it and will let our technicians and office personnel know about your good experience with our company. Thank you!!
5.0

07/11/2018


CHARLES G.

Service man was professional, friendly, and fully explained problem and what was needed to fix it.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection & cracked chamber backwall replacedFriendl

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments and review.
5.0

07/10/2018


Paula C.

Job was completed in one day and all debris was hauled away.

Description of Work
Chimney removal

Category masonry,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to post this review!
2.0

04/12/2018


Anna A.

I was informed that they do not service zip code 53212, which is in Milwaukee county, within their service area according to their website and Angie's List information. With a location in Wauwatosa, I'm wondering why the less than 10 mile drive to our property is too far?

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Some types of service requests are not available for your location due to type of roof, location of chimney or type of service requested. Please call our office for companies we can recommend that can best address your needs.
5.0

11/20/2017


Robert C.

Excellent! They arrived when they said they would and completed everything. They were very careful about covering carpeting etc and cleaning up any debris. They also took the time to clean the hearth and surrounding brick. They were also able to fit us into their schedule about a week before they had originally thought they could. The installers, Kevin & Randy were very, very polite as well as knowledgeable about the product they were installing.

Description of Work
Replaced our chimney cap and installed a new Gas Insert to replace and older wood burning one/

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to post this review. I know you will enjoy your new gas fireplace Insert we get many compliments on Inserts homeowners love them!
5.0

11/06/2017


Susan B.

Great he did a great job for considerably less than his competitors.

Description of Work
He repaired two chimneys. One needed extensive work.

Category masonry,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for choosing us for your chimney repairs and taking the time to post your comments on the repair and service.
5.0

11/01/2017


Vivian F.

Their estimate was reasonable & they gave explanations — a lot of information with pictures of the cracked chimney liner. The first estimate — received from another company — recommended additional repairs, which doubled the cost of making the fireplace safe for use.

Description of Work
Chimney & fireplace inspection

Category fireplaces

5.0

09/25/2017


John B.

Prompt response, arrived as scheduled, professional demeanor, cleaned up well.

Description of Work
Chimney/fireplace cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your comments and review!
5.0

09/20/2017


Allen B.

2-men came on time, on Monday, explained what they were going to do and how long it would take. They answered all my questions, clean up everything and were very friendly.

Description of Work
Tear down chimney to roof line. Install stainless steel insert, replace pipes on furnace & hot water heater. Install new clean out door tin bottom of chimney. Rebuild chimney and new cap finish insert on top.

Category chimney caps,chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to post the review and comments. Much appreciated.
5.0

07/14/2017


Lois W.

Very nice guys. Explained what they were going to do & did it.

Description of Work
Tear down chimney / rebuilt whole chimney & cap off pipes inside, fit flashing & replace shingles.

Category masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair

5.0

06/15/2017


Mark H.

The disassembly documentation was not very clear in the manual I had so the technician used his smart phone to access additional information from the manufacturer. After reviewing the information, the technician proceeded without any problems. The technician took measures to keep my house free of all the dust and warned me that the vacuum makes a lot of noise.

Description of Work
Performed a sweep of my wood burning fireplace insert and inspection.

Category chimney repair

5.0

05/18/2017


Katie F.

Quote given with pictures and options

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category chimney sweep,masonry,chimney caps,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

04/17/2017


Tom H.

Everything looks good. The work was just done this week and we haven't had a chance to use the fireplace yet but I am convinced they will take care of any issues. The price was higher than we expected but it did match the work done. Note that Kevin did a non-contract, no charge, repair to the damper in the firebox that had been jury-rigged together and has not worked well for some time. Seems fine now. Thank you. Tom

Description of Work
They replaced cracked fire brick and repaired missing mortar inside the firebox. On the outside, they tuck-pointed the entire chimney as needed, and replaced bricks on the shoulder. The brick match and mortar match were both good. Repair to the cap on top. The original problem was getting fireplace smoke down the water heater flu so they also added an extension to the fireplace flu on top to bring it above the water heater exit.

Category masonry,chimney repair,fireplaces

5.0

02/13/2017


Richard R.

He told us what it would take to fix the chimney and gave us options. He saved us a ton of money due to those options and went out of his way to be professional. I would highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
He did an inspection on our chimney.

Category chimney repair

5.0

12/11/2016


Linda C.

All Royal Chimney staff were very professional and helpful. Dave, our representative provided a wealth of information to help us decide on the best remedy for our repairs and improvements. All workmen were excellent. We love the result. Fallout through was excellent!

Description of Work
(1) Repair outside chimney brick work and cap. (2) Refit wood burning fireplace to gas and install gas insert and vent.

Category chimney repair,fireplaces,gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review and comments. Enjoy your new fireplace Insert and the many memories you will have with family and friends gathered around the hearth!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Over the Top Roofing & Construction

    Over the Top Roofing and Construction was established over a decade ago and have built a reputation for exceptional work and customer satisfaction. We have earned our reputation for excellence by delivering personalized service and expert installations. We can repair any damage to exterior of a home or building and make a difference in the appearance of your home. Over the Top Roofing and Construction has a perfect record with the BBB and we are fully bonded and insured. We know that choosing a contractor is a very important decision that you, the customer, will make because you live with the results of the work for years to come. Our customers know that they will receive outstanding workmanship and value for their dollar. Please note that we do charge credit card fees back to the customer.  

    Butler Chimneys LLC

    Butler chimneys is a full service chimney company. We offer all the quality of the big guys, at a little guy price. We were founded on the principal: "Just because you can charge more doesn't me you should charge more".  

    Pratt's Professional Chimney Service

    Pratt's Professional Chimney Service is a Family and Veteran owned and operated full service chimney company! We pride our-selves in providing the highest quality of workmanship at the fairest possible price! Our chimney sweeps are Nationally Certified and our company is a member of the National Chimney Sweep Guild. Our honest and friendly service is unmatched. We truly care about the safety and security of your family and will treat your home as if it was our own. We Strive to be the best and run our company with Honesty, Integrity, and Quality Workmanship.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    664618
    Trade License Locale
    Wisconsin
    Trade License Authority
    Dept of Commerce
    Trade License Expiration
    08/11/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Fireplace, dryer exhaust, water heater flue, wood burning stove cleaning, firebox repairs for masonry, prefab fireplaces, mortar, brick repairs on the chimney, smoke problems, furnace flue, blockage removal, furnace chimney, protective chimney covers, bird screens, rebuild of the chimney, visual, video safety inspection, lining of a fireplace, installation of glass doors, and damper repair & replace. Sale and installation of fireplace Inserts & wood stoves.

    Services Not Offered

    Gutter cleaning

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Royal Chimney Service

    How is Royal Chimney Service overall rated?

    Royal Chimney Service is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Royal Chimney Service open?

    Royal Chimney Service is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM
    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Royal Chimney Service provide

    Royal Chimney Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does Royal Chimney Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Royal Chimney Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Royal Chimney Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Royal Chimney Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Royal Chimney Service offer emergency services?

    Yes, Royal Chimney Service offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Royal Chimney Service?

    Yes, Royal Chimney Service offers warranties.

    What services does Royal Chimney Service offer?

    Royal Chimney Service offers the following services: Fireplace, dryer exhaust, water heater flue, wood burning stove cleaning, firebox repairs for masonry, prefab fireplaces, mortar, brick repairs on the chimney, smoke problems, furnace flue, blockage removal, furnace chimney, protective chimney covers, bird screens, rebuild of the chimney, visual, video safety inspection, lining of a fireplace, installation of glass doors, and damper repair & replace. Sale and installation of fireplace Inserts & wood stoves.

    Are there any services Royal Chimney Service does not offer?

    Gutter cleaning