Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1987 • With Angi since December 2001

4.8

(212) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6530 W Forest Home Ave

Milwaukee, WI 53220

Description

Looking for new equipment, you could qualify for Bryant factory rebates and Focus on Energy incentives. Flexible financing available through Wells Fargo.. When you want the job done right, we're the real deal. To share your experiences or to see what other people are saying please click one

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

08/13/2021


Elena R.

Actually, if it would be the negative ranking I would enter one like -10. An appointment scheduled way ahead to do the maintenance. Nobody showed up, no message was left. Took time from work to wait. NEVER HIRE THEM! Unreliable, rude, nasty, dishonest.

Description of Work
Bryant Pump service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/16/2020


Jeff N.

Asked for a quotation. Two weeks later, zero response.

Description of Work
air conditioning installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

04/23/2020


DARREL E.

Mark and his team did an excellent job from quote to finished product! 23 year old boiler needed replacement; Mark provided options and one included adding the water heater function to the boiler. We opted for that. The old boiler and water heater were removed and the new system installed. The team kept us in the loop and provided options during installation on how they would complete the job. Professional and personable team to work with. We are very pleased with the end product and would highly recommend Nimmer Heating & Air!!

Description of Work
Boiler replacement .

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

1.0

06/28/2019


Elena R.

The installation was more or less OK and the system performed well for about 1,5 years. However, when problems started Beth Cesar (Install Coordinator) was not helpful at all. She stated that it is not enough technichians to serve during regular hours and help is available only at the rate of late hours, which is apparantly higher. The greedeness and lack of care of the customers is really impressive. I won't recommend hiring this company. The equipment and labor are very expensive and the company motto "Care for the Customer" is just a joke. All they care about is $$$$$.

Description of Work
The work of HVAC installation was performed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I am sorry we were not able to get a technician out to diagnose your problem the afternoon you called. Our schedule was overflowing. We had already rescheduled all non-emergency calls that week, and our technicians were working 12 hours days (including Saturday) to best serve our customers. Despite our best efforts and intentions, and although you are extremely important to us there are days we cannot give every customer the care we want to and that they deserve. We appreciated your patience throughout the diagnostic process and were able to complete the repairs at zero cost to you. Please do not hesitate to call with any questions or concerns. - Patty Nimmer
3.0

12/21/2018


gary P.

I have used Nimmer several times in the past for both heating and A/C repairs. I have been pleased with the service. So this last spring I pretty much knew the old furnace was ready to go and finally it did. Of course it went on Easter week with house guests on the way. I didnt hesitate to call Nimmer because of the past service. The only way they could get it done was to work on the Saturday before Easter for an additional $600. I agreed because I needed it done. At that time I also chose to add the 10 extended warranty for an additional $500. The total bill came to somewhere around $5400.00 Ok, Ouch! but it's the cost of living in todays world. So after time, the bill is paid and one just kind of forgets about the expenditure. But then a few weeks ago I get a letter from Nimmer telling me that I have to have annual inspections done on the furnace in order to keep the warranty in place. The cheapest inspection program is $340.00 a year for 10 years. that's another $3400 on top of the price of the furnace. My advice use Nimmer but forget the warranty

Description of Work
New furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for this feedback. One of our struggles is how to best communicate warranties and the need for annual maintenance with or without a warranty. Manufacturer's recommendations have always been for annual maintenance to keep the equipment running efficiently and smoothly, saving on utility bills and extending the life of the equipment. They have always required annual maintenance to keep any factory or extended warranties in good standing. In recent years, they have begun to ask for the proof of annual maintenance when processing claims. Although this requirement is part of the original extended warranty contract mailed to you from the warranty company after install, we have started giving customers reminder letters as well. We used to offer a cheaper inspection, but in the long run decided we were not actually saving our customers any money if we were not being thorough. I do want to clarify, that annual maintenance is $170.00 for your furnace, $340.00 is for a system (both heating and AC). Annual maintenance is something we recommend for reasons already stated (efficiency and longevity) and therefore offer a maintenance program for the same price as the annual maintenance with added benefits. We are also working on a pilot program whereby the first year's maintenance on a new furnace would be 1/2 price, due to the fact that it simply isn't going to be as dirty one year out from install. If you would like to take advantage of this pilot program, let us know. I appreciate any other feedback you may have, to help us serve you and other customers the best way we can. Thank you, - Patty Nimmer
2.0

01/18/2018


John G.

First, let me state that this review was sent and reviewed by Nimmer heating staff who had no disagreements with the content presented here. It was cold winter day at my psychotherapy office when the heat stopped functioning. Being that I was out of town, my colleague called Nimmer Heating mid-day. They said they only had "after-hour’s" appointments and would be charging the emergency rates. Given little choice due to a cold building this was agreed upon. They showed up at 5:05. They went directly down to the boiler without checking the thermostat, the thermostat being the part of the system I would have checked first had I been in town. They did a diagnostic on the boiler for $298.00. They found that everything on the boiler was working. Then, they checked the thermostat and found that it was broken. The charge for the thermostat was $512 which retails at $125. My colleague negotiated with the technician to bring the total price down by $200 to around $600. When I returned to town, concerned about the exorbitant pricing, I talked with the office staff who indicated that the rates were determined by a software program that has nationwide set prices for each service and that the charges were determined by that software. Thus, there was both the set cost for the boiler diagnostic and the separate set charge for the thermostat diagnostic and replacement. I then called the software company and learned that the only thing standardized about the software program was the time increments for each job. The rate per hour and markup on product is determined by the contractor. (So much for objective pricing.) In summary, Nimmer's charges for after-hour’s service seem extremely high and secondly, they should have investigated the more likely cause for lack of heat... the thermostat. Had they done that, the $400 for the thermostat and installation, although still high in my mind, would have been more reasonable.

Description of Work
After hours emergency thermostat replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We make every effort to offer viable options to our customers to avoid "after hours" emergency rates. We encourage all our customers to have Annual Maintenance performed, it is the first step to avoiding costly repairs. Also, the sooner a customer informs us of an emergency situation, the more options we have open to us to work the service call into our regular schedule, avoiding after hours rates. Our schedule was full Monday afternoon when the customer called for service on a boiler issue they had been experiencing since the previous Friday. The customer declined the dispatcher's offer to be the first appointment Tuesday morning. She was informed of the after hours rate. She stated she needed service ASAP. It was 65 degrees in the office when our Service Technician was onsite that evening. The Service Technician completed his diagnostic procedure and evaluation of the boiler system. No pipes or people were in danger of freezing so our technican again offered to return at the first appointment the following day to complete the repair; when regular rates would apply. This option was again declined and the repair was completed. We did and will always make every attempt to take care of our customers during regular hours. We will also always defer to the customer as to what constitutes an emergency requiring after hours service. The "retail price" of thermostats available online and at big box stores does not include pick up, delivery and installation by a professional Service Technician nor a manufacturer's warranty (if not installed by a licensed contractor). Our price does.
5.0

12/11/2017


DARREL E.

Nimmer did a professional job installing our new A/C system. The entire process from Mark's estimate and final quote to the actual installation was great! Tyler and the crew were not only professional but personable as well. They kept us in the loop on everything as they proceeded and did a great job with all aspects of the work including clean up. They are a great group of guys and it was a pleasure working with them! Tyler is a definite asset to Nimmer Heating & A/C and proved to be an excellent team lead! Well done!!

Description of Work
Replacement of a 20 year old central air system and additional duct run.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

It is always a pleasure working with you as well, and we appreciate your trust in us over the years. I have passed your appreciation on to Tyler and his team. They have pride and integrity in their craftsmanship and strive to make every job and treat every customer the best. Thank you!
5.0

06/13/2017


Joann O.

Never had any problem with them. We just recommended them to our neighbors. We never have an issue where they are trying to sell us something. The repair is always minimal. They will also go the extra mile, they are honest and you know you are not going to get ripped off.

Description of Work
Installed system plus general maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/05/2017


Richard R.

The work that was performed went well.

Description of Work
The company installed a new in-furnace humidfier

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/11/2017


Laurie M.

One person came out and it took an hour. They left the area very clean. They did what I expected.

Description of Work
They serviced the furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/09/2017


matthew D.

The workers were good. Cleaned up well.

Description of Work
In the past I used Nimmer. It was our old house, before I moved. They did some HVAC work and the duct work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

5.0

05/15/2016


JP M.

I have used Nimmer Heating and Air Conditioning in the past for the installation of our home furnace. They always do an excellent job and are professional and courteous. They provide a 10 % discount on repair services. On this job they gave me a good end of the year price for the new installations since I have done business with them in the past and because I purchased multiple products at one time. You could not ask for better customer service from this company.

Description of Work
They installed two gas furnaces and two air conditioning systems to a duplex.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

02/05/2016


Jesse B.

The 2 guys that came out were both prompt and courteous. They spent about an hour looking around at the furnace unit and identified that the clicking sound was coming from the smart valve. They then proceeded to quote me a price of over $900 to have it replaced! That was a ludicrous amount to pay (afterwards I looked up what a new smart valve costs and it is in the neighborhood of $300. I find it hard to believe there is $600 or more worth of labor going into replacing it!) so I politely declined to have them schedule the service. I called another HVAC company and they were able to correctly identify the problem for a grand total of only $143. Turned out that when our siding was replaced, they put the exhaust pipe and intake pipe going in the wrong directions. The one that should have been pointing up was pointed down and vice versa. This was causing the smart valve to keep clicking on and off. It has been almost an entire winter now and the furnace has been working with zero problems all season long. Thank God I called for a second opinion! I would have been out the $900 and the problem still wouldn't have even been resolved! So although they were friendly to deal with, their trip charge/diagnostic fee was very reasonable, and they did provide me a free T joint for the water hose I was missing, I could not in good conscience recommend using Nimmer. Not only did they grossly misdiagnose the problem, their proposed fix was way out of line in terms of price as well.

Description of Work
Came out to diagnose why our furnace was making clicking sounds and not generating any heat even though the fan was blowing.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi (Removed members name), I am sorry you did not have a good experience with my company. We are always trying to improve our services and the proficiency of our service technicians. It is odd that they would have misdiagnosed this issue since we are NATE certified and factory authorized. We are not perfect and if we make a mistake we stand behind our service 100%. I would be happy to refund your entire bill. Regarding the repair cost, the price quoted was for more than just the gas valve. Proper gas pressure and set of the valve and other work was necessary to complete the repair. Thank you for your review, it helps us improve our services. Mark Nimmer
5.0

12/08/2015


CARYL S.

Great.. This company and it's office personnel and technicians are very professional and helpful. I would never use anyone else!

Description of Work
Furnace tune-up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/07/2015


JOYCE N.

Performed tuneup and cleaning - a bulleted list of items to check on during regular maintenance (this was the first maintenance appointment since the furnace was installed a few years ago by Nimmer). Also had them replace a very old thermostat, and also fixed some of the ducts by putting proper wiring on them to hold them up - replacing temporary 'bungee chords' that were being used. This was at my parents house, so I made sure to ask questions as needed. The service was reliable , affordable and did a great job.

Description of Work
Performed tuneup and cleaning - a bulleted list of items to check on during regular maintenance (this was the first maintenance appointment since the furnace was installed a few years ago by Nimmer). Also had them replace a very old thermostat, and also fixed some of the ducts by putting proper wiring on them to hold them up - replacing temporary 'bungee chords' that were being used. This was at my parents house, so I made sure to ask questions as needed. The service was reliable , affordable and did a great job.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/29/2015


Robert P.

I diagnosed the problem and called Nimmer.They ordered the part,came out and replaced it.Problem solved.

Description of Work
Replaced a module on the furnace blower motor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/22/2015


Jeffrey E.

Our experience with Nimmer Heating and Air Conditioning started in October of 2014. We were looking to replace our 35 yr old gas hotter boiler with a new one. We received three bids from various contractors, all in the same ballpark price wise. What made us choose Nimmer was a couple of things. One was the time Mark Nimmer spent explaining the best option for our house. He really went into detail why we didn't need the highest rated boiler given the type of hot water system we had. Second, they were the only company to offer a Buderus Boiler, which through researching, I found to have very high reliability ratings. The installation was done in a very professional and neat manner. Because we have a somewhat unusual radiant hot water system ( the pipes are in the ceiling) it took a few calls to get the air out of the system and adjustments to regulate the water temp. All the service calls were responded to quickly and professionally. Very pleased with Mark and his crew. This spring we had them out to look at the AC unit as it was not starting. Mark found a loose wire, then cleaned and checked the condensing unit. He found that it needed a new capacitator which he ordered and also recommended that we replace another part that would better seal it from insects and prevent power surges from possibly burning out the unit. All services were done in a professional and timely manner.

Description of Work
fixed and cleaned AC unit, also replaced old boiler with new boiler

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/25/2015


John K.

I had a 35 year old gas furnace chugging along just fine, Over the years I had replaced every moving part on it so it was still darned reliable. It was however putting just as much heat up my chimney as into my house. It was clearly time for an upgrade. It was easy for me to call Mark Nimmer since he fixed the botched installation (Done by another contractor) of my central air unit once it was out of warranty. I told Mark that I was in no hurry and to fit me in when ever he was slow. A short time later we set-up a date and the crew of Tyler and Colin arrived right on time. They worked quickly and were clean and very well spoken. We talked through some headroom concerns I had and they were more than accommodating. The new unit is a Plus 96% two-speed system and is shockingly quiet. I got the Wi-Fi enabled Honeywell thermostat and am now very happy I did. I can honestly say that everything went great and I have nothing bad I can say about the work or the cost of the job. I am very pleased and that is rare for me. As a carpenter, I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist. I don't like other people working on my house, Mark Nimmer and his crew did an outstanding job both on the furnace install and my worries.

Description of Work
Replaced old gas furnace with new, high efficiency unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/06/2014


MARGE & DON G.

We've had a good experience with them. The service went well. It took them five hours to install the furnace. Their price was average. It's a "B" on price because they don't take credit.

Description of Work
We had a new furnace put in.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/25/2014


MICHAEL V.

I called and they were able to schedule it two days later. Very prompt and professional.

Description of Work
disconnected and removed an old heater from the garage.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/24/2014


Janie B.

I was having a problem with horrible thumping noise coming from the furnace. While I wanted to wait until it was warm enough to have the air - conditioning checked with the same visit, I was afraid to let it go. When I called, they were able to put me on the schedule within a few days. The service tech (John) was on time and very professional. Turned out to be a problem because the filters were not allowing enough air flow. He did regular maintenance and I switched back to the filters I used in the past. I will certainly use them in the future.

Description of Work
Minor maintenance.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/08/2014


DAN & LISA C.

I think that Nimmer is one of the best vendors in the Milwaukee area regardless of category. They are knowledgeable in their field, they care about what they do, they treat the customer with great respect, and this attitude carries through to the their employees. Its always a pleasure to do business with them.

Description of Work
Remove and dispose old gravity furnace. Install new Bryant furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/07/2014


THOMAS S.

JOHN WAS POLITE, PROFESSIONAL AND EFFICIENT.

Description of Work
FURNACE TUNE-UP.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/10/2014


CARYL S.

Service technician Tyler did a wonderful job. He arrived on time and answered all of my questions, etc. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Furnace was making unusual noises which was caused by a missing nut on motor - that was fixed and furnace was tuned up.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/04/2014


GREG J.

Their service tech did a very thorough job of cleaning and performing other routine maintenance on our high efficiency gas furnace. Their technician took the time to explain what he had done. I would hire them again to perform this service.

Description of Work
Nimmer Heating performed routine maintenance on my furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, drain cleaning

    Other local Pros in your area

    Over the Top Roofing & Construction

    Over the Top Roofing and Construction was established over a decade ago and have built a reputation for exceptional work and customer satisfaction. We have earned our reputation for excellence by delivering personalized service and expert installations. We can repair any damage to exterior of a home or building and make a difference in the appearance of your home. Over the Top Roofing and Construction has a perfect record with the BBB and we are fully bonded and insured. We know that choosing a contractor is a very important decision that you, the customer, will make because you live with the results of the work for years to come. Our customers know that they will receive outstanding workmanship and value for their dollar. Please note that we do charge credit card fees back to the customer.  

    Angi Certified

    Art Karos, LLC - DBA Art's Chimney & Stonework

    Arthur Karos has been an expert in Masonry for 23 years and a Master Mason for 12 years. With 85 year of combined experience along with his five employed master Masons, you can expect the job to be expedited in a professional manner. We do chimney brick laying and stone work, chimney repair, flue installs & repair, ash-pits doors, stainless steel flue caps, Tuck Pointing, replace bricks, and insurance work for brick damage. Chimneys, masonry and stonework are done with expertise. We can custom match stone and color match mortar for Tuckpointing or masonry repair. FOR FASTER SERVICE, PLEASE USE ANGIE'S LIST MESSAGING!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Legends Fireplace & Chimney Services

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes; for new installations, please ask for detials
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Heating & cooling repairs and installations, Central Air Repairs, A/C, heat pumps, hybrid heat, digital thermostat, ductless air conditioning, humidifiers, UV lights, air purification, duct work, water heaters, boilers, geothermal products, tankless water heaters.

    Services Not Offered

    Oil work, air duct cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 3:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    No, Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning?

    No, Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer warranties.

    What services does Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Heating & cooling repairs and installations, Central Air Repairs, A/C, heat pumps, hybrid heat, digital thermostat, ductless air conditioning, humidifiers, UV lights, air purification, duct work, water heaters, boilers, geothermal products, tankless water heaters.

    Are there any services Nimmer Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer?

    Oil work, air duct cleaning.