Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

JD Griffiths Company Inc

4.6

(141) Verified Reviews

Founded 1947 • With Angi since May 2000

Business Highlights

Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
DCQ-081900898
Trade License Locale
Wisconsin
Trade License Authority
Wisconsin: Safety and Professional
Trade License Expiration
08/27/2021
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Closed
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
Closed

Phone Number

Address

8401 W Calumet Rd

Milwaukee, WI 53224

http://www.jdgriffiths.com
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

In business since 1947. We are Wisconsin's largest garage builder. We offer Free in home estimates, to schedule yours please call us at (414)-362-7222, We serve the entire milwaukee metro area. License number: 12107. Please visit our website at jdgriffiths.com to view a whole variety of completed projects, and acomplete listing of all of our services....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(141) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

115

4

9

3

3

2

7

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.6

Punctuality

4.6

Quality

4.6

Responsiveness

4.5

Read reviews by category

garage doors (109)garage building (45)concrete driveways (14)concrete repair (8)siding companies (6)door installation (5)electrician (5)roofing (4)general contractors (4)window replacement (2)driveway pavers (1)interior painting (1)
Showing 1-10 of 141 reviews
1.0

08/21/2021


Oscar H.

I would never use this company again. This is a lousy company. They attempted to repair my garage door, but the workmanship was horrible. The door only worked five times after I had paid for the service. The repairman was so incompetent that he raised the track on the door too high and the door hit the beam in the top of the garage. When I called for them to come back out after the repair didn't work, they never returned. I never heard from them again, and they did not refund my money. I called another company, Joe Wilde, and in three minutes they had discovered the problem, and my door was fixed efficiently and promptly. JD Griffith is a horrible company that does shotty work. Do not use them.

Description of Work
Replaced springs.

Category contractors,garage doors

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/12/2021

5.0

12/23/2020


Gary S.

Outstanding work all the way around. Todd- sales, Brad- oversight, Scott- demolition, John-concrete, Rick- garage build and Ben- electrical all made this a great experience for my wife and me. First class work and communication.

Description of Work
Garage teardown, build new garage, and re-do driveway

Category contractors,concrete repair,concrete driveways,electrician,garage builders

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2020

Images

Review for JD Griffiths Company Inc - 8401 W Calumet Rd, Milwaukee, WI - 39100667

+1 More

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for taking the time to provide this review. We really appreciate the kind words. It was a pleasure working with you on your project. Please let us know if you have anything we can help out with in the future.
5.0

07/19/2020


Chris P.

I noticed my garage door was askew as it lifted, turned out a lifting cable had jumped the turn wheel. The J.D Griffith repairman was friendly, professional and efficient. He fixed the problem without needing any new parts. The work was successfully finished in under half an hour and the garage door has worked great ever since.

Description of Work
Garage door repair

Category garage doors,garage builders,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/18/2020

4.0

03/03/2020


Mike L.

Following up on earlier post. Work went well once they arrived on site. Showed up on date selected and worked consistently until project was completed. Very happy with quality of finished project. Communication was much improved as the project went on.

Description of Work
New garage

Category garage doors,garage builders

Cost $43,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the updated review and giving us the opportunity to fix our mistakes. We appreciate your business!
2.0

12/19/2019


Mike L.

My salesman Jerry was very good in explaining my options and taking care of the design and initial sale. Problem came after I signed the contract. Communication has been terrible to non existent. I signed in August and was told I could get it done before the weather turned in November. Not even close. I work construction myself and understand that bad weather slows you down but not like this. Framing can be done in the cold. They don’t call forever. Then call One morning and ask if there concrete crew can come out. Perfect. At least that’s a start. They dug, and poured, and told me 2-3 weeks to start building. It’s been 8 and not one stitch of framing has started. No calls, no timeline, just silence. I paid my deposit and half of balance right after concrete was poured. Just sitting around waiting on them. At this point I wouldn’t recommend them to anyone. I’ll follow up if my garage ever gets built and let you know how the rest goes.

Description of Work
Garage build

Category garage doors,garage builders

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2019

Service Provider Response

Please refer to the updated review from [Member Name Removed] that was given after project was complete.
5.0

11/17/2019


Erik K.

Went very well. Steve was punctual, courteous, and quick to complete the service, making sure to check and grease all the joints. We now have a better functioning door than before the spring broke. Angie's list coupon was accepted without question.

Description of Work
Garage Door Spring Replacement

Category garage doors

Cost $250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2019

5.0

04/01/2019


Chris K.

We had the springs replaced 1st, and the service we received made it an easy call to have them back to do our new GDO. The guys were honest, they came early on both occasions, which was a blessing, and walked me through everything they did, and why they did it. From the secretary, to the gentleman (I’m bad with names, but think it was Brad) who set the appointment, to the service rockstars, I would highly recommend JD Griffiths to anyone/everyone who asks my opinion on a great crew to work on their home.

Description of Work
New garage door opener installed, and new springs.

Category garage doors

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

12/12/2018


Dan N.

Great! Kevin was on time, efficient, and fun to talk to! One comment ... I had purchased the opener separately, but when Kevin arrived he told me I could have purchased a slightly better opener with installation from JD Griffiths for just about the same price and a better warranty. I was tempted, but kept the opener I had purchased due to time issues. (Kevin really DID NOT PRESSURE me at all.) If you're considering a new garage door opener, you might want to check ... I'd highly recommend JD Griffiths!

Description of Work
Install garage door opener

Category garage doors

Cost $175

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2018

5.0

10/23/2018


Matt K.

Nice work. On schedule and was kept in the loop from the start. All teams were very responsive to any requests and changes.

Description of Work
Free standing two-car garage

Category garage builders

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2018

5.0

08/13/2018


Barb S.

Kevin was great and did the job in a very timely manner. I am totally pleased !!

Description of Work
new bottom track and new rollers

Category garage doors

Cost $219

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

Services Offered

Detached garages, installation of garage doors & openers.We remove your old garage and concrete and do the whole job from start to finish. We service all brands of doors and openers and we stock parts for you do it yourselfers.

Services Not Offered

Concrete repair & mudjacking.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Visa, MasterCard, Check
Senior Discount
$10
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JD Griffiths Company Inc

How is JD Griffiths Company Inc overall rated?

JD Griffiths Company Inc is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

What days are JD Griffiths Company Inc open?

JD Griffiths Company Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

What payment options does JD Griffiths Company Inc provide

JD Griffiths Company Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

Does JD Griffiths Company Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, JD Griffiths Company Inc offers free project estimates.

Does JD Griffiths Company Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, JD Griffiths Company Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does JD Griffiths Company Inc offer a senior discount?

No, JD Griffiths Company Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Are warranties offered by JD Griffiths Company Inc?

Yes, JD Griffiths Company Inc offers warranties.

What services does JD Griffiths Company Inc offer?

JD Griffiths Company Inc offers the following services: Detached garages, installation of garage doors & openers.We remove your old garage and concrete and do the whole job from start to finish. We service all brands of doors and openers and we stock parts for you do it yourselfers.

Are there any services JD Griffiths Company Inc does not offer?

Concrete repair & mudjacking.