Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & J General Contractors Inc

Founded 1986 • With Angi since May 2000

3.9

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2003 S Muskego Ave

Milwaukee, WI 53204

Description

J&J is a father & son family owned business. For 25+ years we have operated as a full service contractor/construction company built on character and integrity. Customer focused. We are committed to high quality, cost effective craftsmanship, while forming lasting relationships with clients built on trust, safety and comfort....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/18/2017


Shirley S.

Dealing with Juan and Kathy (owners of J and J) was a nightmare. Very dishonest people. I requested an add on to the grill area before the work started. I asked how much it would be. They said "not that much more". They did not give me the additional cost until the ground was already dug up. It was almost $2000 more. Kathy kept telling me concrete had almost doubled in price. I could tell she was lying. I looked it up on the internet and called some local concrete distributors and was told that was not true. Concrete had only gone up 1-2% over the past yr. That was just the start of dishonesty with this company. After we came to a compromise over the cost of the addition there was the first attempted bate/switch with the PVC pipe. As his wife (Kathy) stood with the contract that clearly stated PVC pipe was to be used for the gutter extension, Juan started to use cheep corrugated plastic to extend my gutter to the ditch. When I called him on it, he acted like he was doing me a favor by stating "Oh, if you want PVC I can get you PVC!" When the concrete was finally poured there were rough deep groves in the finally quarter that they ran the broom over. I immediately complained so they could fix it as the concrete was still wet. I was told not to worry it would all blend together. that he had been doing this 35 yrs and gives a 3 yrs guarantee on his work. ( But he won't give it to you in writing.) . The patio section with the groves DOES NOT MATCH the rest of the patio and LOOKS DIRTY all the time. And I have to live with it because there is noting they can do NOW. After being told by them and other concrete experts that you CANNOT walk on fresh concrete for 24 hrs. They came back 17 hrs later, in the rain and ran a wheel barrow with heavy dirt over it.( I have a couple of grooves from the wheel barrow being run over the fresh concrete" Now Juan was saying, "You don't have to wait 24 hrs you can walk on it after 3 hrs" because he want to rush the job and get the dirt poured that day. I did not let them continue going over the fresh cement . They already left 2 lines from the wheelbarrow. When they did return to bring back the dirt they claim they took from my yard. The dirt was loaded with rocks, cement chunks, TONS of glass and a kitchen knife. Kathy kept saying that was my dirt and she was not going to replace it. Even after I called two landscaping company's in to look at the dirt and they stated "that dirt never came from your yard or anyone else's, that is was crap." . She still insisted it was my dirt and was not going to do anything about it. There was dirt that never left my yard that they used to cover the gutter extension. It was clean dirt. So to say the dirt they switched was mine was stupid! I was able to put a stop payment on the check before she could cash it. I told them when they replace that debris/glass filled with the dirt they took from my yard they would get paid. I got decent dirt. (NEVER WOULD HAVE GOTTEN IT IF I DIDN'T STOP PAYMENT ON THE CHECK). They got paid and I got my new gate bent by them. Horrible dishonest people. I started to carry my phone with me and started recording our conversation right after the lied about the cost of cement almost doubling. It seemed if their lips were moving they were not telling the truth. On my phone I have Juan talking about the 3 yr .guarantee, Kathy talking about coming to fix the gate, admitting they bent it and still insisting the dirt with the glass/debris was mine. I feel Juan and his wife Kathy thought because I was a senior dealing with them alone I would be an easy target to scam. There is so much more that went on but I did my best to keep this short. I HAVE PICTURES! I have recordings. Nothing else needs to be said.

Description of Work
1) Put in a concrete patio. 2) Remove and replace concrete grill area and sidewalk. 3) Remove and replace 4' gate. 4) Use PVC pipe to extend the gutter underground to the ditch.

Category concrete repair

4.0

09/08/2015


KEYUR P.

The work was great, the price was great, the employees were great, we just had an issue their communication. Two different times they showed up unannounced. However, we will still use them in the future and recommend them to others.

Description of Work
They repaired warped wood on front pillars of our house.

Category roofing

3.0

04/27/2015


jan K.

waited for EVER for the company to respond as to what date they woulddo job

Description of Work
concrete front patio

Category insulation

5.0

08/15/2008


MICHAEL B.

He was very good, he was on time and punctual, he stuck to the estimate, they cleaned up after themselves, they cleared everything we me before they did it.

Description of Work
Upgraded our electric to 200 amp. He also did other stuff involving my roof.

Category electrician, roofing

5.0

10/06/2003


JOHN B.

HE'S VERY GOOD, VERY PUNCTUAL

Description of Work
CEMENT WORK

Category concrete repair

3.0

11/12/2001


JODY G.

WE RECEIVED THE PROPOSAL ON 5/25/01 AND THE WORK WAS FINALLY COMPLETED ON 9/26/01 AFTER SEVERAL PHONE CALLS TO THE COMPANY. AT LEAST TWO TIMES THEY SAID THEY WOULD BE COMING AND DIDN''T SHOW. I WOULDN''T SAY THE QUALITY OF THE WORK IS REALLY BAD, BUT WE ARE NOT VERY PLEASED WITH THE COLOR AND THE JOINTS IN THE CONCRETE. THEY DIDN''T PUT ANY CURING COMPOUND ON THE CONCRETE WHICH WOULD HAVE MADE THE COLOR UNIFORM. THEY DID NOT CLEAN UP THE CONCRETE OFF OF THE SIDING OF THE HOUSE. THE CONCRETE SLOPES TOWARD THE HOUSE AND WATER PUDDLES ON THE CONCRETE AFTER IT RAINS. THE EDGES OF THE SLAB AND THE JOINTS ARE CROOKED. THE PRICE WAS LESS THAN OTHER BIDS AND NOW WE KNOW WHY.

Description of Work
REMOVED AND REPLACED SIDEWALK AND POURED A CONCRETE PATIO.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/01/2000

Description of Work
NEW SIDEWALK.

Category concrete repair

5.0

05/01/2000

Description of Work
GENERAL REPAIR AND SERVICE.

Category concrete repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Quality Roofing

    We are equipped to help you with many outdoor projects such as roofing, siding, concrete work, driveways, replace driveways, asphalt seal your driveway, masonry, even remove snow from your rooftop.  

    TILE TIM Contracting

    OWNER OPERATED. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ASK FOR DETAILS ON TRAVEL CHARGES & SERVICE FEES.  

    Superior Landscaping

    Serving the Elkhorn, WI area for 15 years, trust our professionals to think outside of the box to provide you with the best solutions, friendliest service, and a job that's done right the first time. Our residential landscaping services include: Tree planting Tree maintenance Sodding and seeding Topsoil Grading Mulching Landscape lighting New Fiberglass Pool Install We'll keep your lawn and landscape in tip-top shape all year long, as our services are available year-round. Contact Superior Landscaping today for a FREE estimate on the landscaping services you're interested in!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Sidewalk flat work, Masonry,Patios,Foundations,Driveways,Garages,Landscaping,Siding,Drywall, and Carpentry

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J & J General Contractors Inc

    How is J & J General Contractors Inc overall rated?

    J & J General Contractors Inc is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are J & J General Contractors Inc open?

    J & J General Contractors Inc is open:

    Sunday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does J & J General Contractors Inc provide

    J & J General Contractors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does J & J General Contractors Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, J & J General Contractors Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does J & J General Contractors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, J & J General Contractors Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J & J General Contractors Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, J & J General Contractors Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J & J General Contractors Inc?

    No, J & J General Contractors Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does J & J General Contractors Inc offer?

    J & J General Contractors Inc offers the following services: Sidewalk flat work, Masonry,Patios,Foundations,Driveways,Garages,Landscaping,Siding,Drywall, and Carpentry

    Are there any services J & J General Contractors Inc does not offer?

    NA