Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Community Building & Restoration

Founded 2001 • With Angi since September 2004

4.9

(44) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 11537

Milwaukee, WI 53211

Description

Historical restoration and remodeling company offering replication, recreation and renewal of architectural details for porches, roofing, copper, interior restoration and additions, with long-term employees and thoughtful craftsmen.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Nicole K.
5.0
11/09/2019
I can't recommend Thoughtful Craftsmen/CBR enough. We bought a home that needed a lot of work and the window tuning and painting was the first thing we did. We weren't living in the home at the time, so relied on Erik and his crew to let us know how much work each window needed. We trusted their judgement after discussing the scope of work we envisioned and could not be happier with the work that was done. This was a very large project and when we finally moved in, the difference was stunning. We also had a new porch roof and copper gutters installed. We get so many compliments on the copper! If you own an older home you want to hire a company who knows what they are doing and isn't going to do more than what you want done. CBR's work is top notch and I can't give enough stars to the whole crew.
Description of Work
Window Tuning and Painting, porch roof and gutters
Category
decks, roofing, replacement windows
Jason and Meagan S.
5.0
07/07/2017
Work was done well and at reasonable cost. Great communication re: scheduling and job status.
Description of Work
Window tuning
Category
replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Wow we really appreciate you writing. Thank you so much!
Karen M.
5.0
01/09/2017
Everything was done efficiently and well.
Description of Work
Repaired a soffit, replaced a rubber flat roof on a porch and replaced and redesigned the gutter system along the porch and back of the house.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We know these reviews help our other clients when deciding who to hire and what we can help you with on your home.
BARBARA C.
4.0
08/26/2015
They do them correctly. They make things to the way the rest of the structure is. They made a couple of decisions without asking.
Description of Work
Decks & Porches. They rebuilt a deck railing.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

We love building railings and porches. Thank you again for your business.
Amy R.
5.0
06/24/2015
They were professional, knowledgeable and practical. They researched what it would take to add on to our home and provided a rough estimate of the costs. We ultimately decided that the project was too expensive, but I would definitely call this contractor again if we decide to pursue other building projects.
Description of Work
They consulted with us about adding a mudroom and bathroom on to the first floor of our home.
Category
contractors, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for commenting and reviewing us. Hope to see you again.
Norma B.
1.0
05/05/2015
I called and left a message requesting service and they never bothered to call me back.
Description of Work
Nothing!
Category
contractors

Service Provider Response

so sorry. We hired an office manager. We were trying to do it all ourselves. Give us a trying to do it all ourselves. Sometimes we have more work than we need.
David A.
5.0
01/14/2015
They were great. They were good communicators and did what they said they were going to do in the time they said they were going to do it. We would highly recommend them. It was all lead-safe which was important to us.
Description of Work
They tuned our window.
Category
replacement windows
Dan B.
5.0
11/04/2014
They do extremely high quality work, communicate effectively in the course of the job, and are highly professional. It was a pleasure to work with them, and we will be welcoming them back to do more work on our house. They are great!
Description of Work
Community Builders repaired and restored wood trim on our stucco house.
Category
contractors, woodworking
Valerie G.
5.0
04/04/2014
It was very good. I had some more work to do, quite a few projects and he'll be the first person I'll call to see if he can take the project.
Description of Work
I used Community Building & Restoration to rip out an old garage and build a a new one.
Category
remodeling, garage builders

Service Provider Response

We always appreciate working with clients like you. Thank you again for trusting us.
Peter S.
5.0
03/25/2014
It was fine. They did a high quality job and were very personalized. They did a specific job and excellent service.
Description of Work
I used Community Building & Restoration for restoring some anti window shutters.
Category
remodeling, woodworking

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your business. Thank you again for trusting us.
SUSAN P.
5.0
09/30/2013
I was very impressed with the quality of the man, Todd, who came out to give me a bid on the job. He was extremely punctual, showed up right at the specified time, and was very professional. I would have used him but realized that I really need a new garage, not just my door rehung.
Description of Work
They gave me a quote on rehanging my garage door. Upon further investigation, I need a new garage.
Category
contractors, remodeling
Lee M.
5.0
06/11/2013
Very high quality workmanship and a high livel of professionalism. Expensive but worth it. They really understand how to maintain older (pre 1049's) houses.
Description of Work
Repaired/replaced wooden rain gutter (copper lined). This involved replicating 1920's style millwork.
Category
contractors
Megan B.
5.0
04/10/2013
Great ? CBR is serious about the quality of their work. Real craftsmen and artisans. Pricey per hour, but well worth it and the overall experience is excellent ? good communication, great interaction with people on the team, and outstanding quality work.
Description of Work
Renovations in 2011-2012 on a 1909 house in a historic district, incl. extensive exterior work (stucco, framing and carpentry repairs, copper flashing, porch, new shingles, all new wooden storms incl. customs) and some internal work (shelving and handyman work, basement flooring, interior window tuning).
Category
contractors, decks, handyman service, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, stucco
Valerie G.
5.0
03/22/2013
The crew was highly professional and given the size of my small urban lot, quite considerate of the neighbors. Later contractors, including the electrician and overhead door installer, commented very positively on the quality of the work.
Description of Work
Demolished an old garage, including concrete slab, right down to bare dirt. Removed all debris. Built a new garage.
Category
contractors
Jennifer B.
5.0
03/17/2013
Community Building & Restoration's solution maintained the architectural style and function of our 1900-era home. Owner was honest about price, timeline and about all of our options. Job was done in a timely manner, looks great, and everything was cleaned up properly. We would definitely call them again.
Description of Work
Removed and replaced rotting faschia and yankee gutters on our home.
Category
contractors
CLAUDIA K.
5.0
02/09/2013
In the fall I noticed some insulation under the bump out on the front of my house. Turns out the under side of the bump out was rotting and needed to be replaced. Erik Lindberg came out to determine what needed to be done and gave me an estimate about a week later. The work took about 2 days. While the work was in process, the carpenter left a "Status of Work" card at the end of the day. Since I wasn't home while the work was being done, I liked having the update. I have used CBR for several projects over the last 5 yrs - replaced siding, structural roof repairs, and finished the bathroom remodel. The deciding factor on the first job was their willingness to replace the existing vinyl siding with wood siding. Other contractors biding the job were less that enthusiastic. CBR is typically my first choice for carpentry, handyman and remodeling projects. While not the cheapest in town, I've not been disappointed with the outcome.
Description of Work
Bump out repair
Category
contractors, handyman service, roofing, siding, home remodeling
JACOB B.
5.0
01/09/2013
We have a 1905 Quee Ann home in Wauwatosa. We recently rebuilt both of our chimneys which then needed copper flashing. I called Eric and he was great as usual. We set up a time for him to come over to do and estimate and the process was excellent. His estimate was very competitive with the other estimates we obtained. Community Building and Restoration had done some other work on our home that was great and so we went with them again. Eric coordinated the work with the Masonry Restoration, Inc. team and completed an outstanding job as expected in the timeframe we agreed on. Eric and his team of craftsmen at Community Building and Restoration are great to work with. If you want high quality work using traditional building materials, there is no one better.
Description of Work
Copper flashing installed on two rebuilt chimneys.
Category
contractors, handyman service, roofing, chimney repair
Aaron G.
5.0
10/23/2012
On time on budget and did a nice job with the work.
Description of Work
Excellent work repairing a rotting porch deck. Flooring removed replaced and sealed. Rotted porch columns repaired. Was there every day working full days until the job was done. Cleaned up well and did a nice job preserving historical aspects.
Category
decks
ANNETTE M.
5.0
04/16/2012
I had ordered the doors on my own, from a local hardware store, and the person who was initially going to install them was unavailable. Community Builders picked up the doors from the store and installed them all on the same day. They did a nice job of fitting the doors into an old house (1927) and made sure the seals are tight so I get the advantage of the insulating features. The workers were professional and cleaned up after themselves. The price was as quoted. It was more than the estimate I'd had from someone else, but Community did a great job and I consider it money well spent.
Description of Work
Three insulated storm doors were installed, a front, a back, and an upstairs porch door, replacing old, aluminum doors from the 1950's. All of the doors required special attention because the house is old and the fit required some tweaking. The two people doing the installation made sure I was satisfied with the way the doors fit, opened and closed before they left. They took the old doors with them, at my request.
Category
contractors, doors
Peter S.
5.0
01/27/2012
Community Building & Restoration Community Building & Restoration, trust their work, they do rough and finish carpentry and they have a lot of different craftsman on call and to do work for them.
Description of Work
Community Building & Restoration I used Community Building & Restoration, to install a door and windows it was in the summer.
Category
replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you again for trusting us with your home.
Erik E.
5.0
11/03/2011
Rep came out to discuss our options for replacing screens and stripping/sanding/refinishing our existing French casement windows, rather than replace. Got a lot of good information, and the rep made us feel very comfortable.
Description of Work
Received an estimate for refinishing our existing French casement windows.
Category
remodeling, replacement windows
Deborah A.
5.0
10/28/2011
Terrific, a pleasure to work with. They are professionals through and through.
Description of Work
New storm windows and window ledge repair. They were honest and straightforward in everything they recommended and I would recommend them to anyone.
Category
contractors, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows
Lauren H.
5.0
10/03/2011
All of the work was done very expertly, the repaired window trip fits perfectly in to the rest of the historical detail of the house. The crew was friendly, very professional and did great work. They kept me apprised of additional hours as we increased the scope of the job several times.
Description of Work
They replaced some rotting window sills and fixed a window frame that was rotting on our 100 year old house. When we started the job we thought it would be just two big bay window sets but we ended up having them look at the other windows around the house, found some rotting in lots of additional places and they repaired all of those spots too.
Category
contractors, remodeling, replacement windows
JACOB B.
5.0
06/17/2011
Community Building and Restoration were recommended to us by our home ispector when we bought our house in 2005. The following spring we noticed that the birds were very loud every morning. Walking around our house one day, we found out why: one of our bay window roofs was rotten and birds had set up shop in there. We called Eric and he promptly came out to inspect it and provide an estimate. He provided 2 estimates- one to replace it exactly as it was with cedar shakes and one to replace it with a standing seam copper roof. We decided on the copper option, more expensive but longer lasting and less maintenance needed. Eric and his crew did the work promptly, on time and within the estimated cost. They know old houses and the right way to take care of them. For those of us interested in restoring our homes with old world materials and tools, Community Building and Restoration is the first call we make.
Description of Work
Eric came to our 1905 Wauwatosa Queen Anne and replaced a rotting bay window roof with shakes that had birds living in it. We decided on a standing seam copper roof to replace it. It looks great and will likely last for a lifetime. Eric and his crew have been a pleasure to work with. We plan to have him back as we continue to restore our home.
Category
contractors, handyman service, roofing
Brian W.
5.0
05/03/2011
The majority of this process occurred while I was out of the country which made it more difficult sometimes to communicate. The painting colors closely match what would have been seen in the 1920's. The painting was done by John Grove of Palette Painting-excellent!.
Description of Work
Community Building and Restoration completely restored my 1924 duplex which included: replaced cedar shingles with "dipped" - prestained shingles, restored/repaired lower siding to original 4" lap siding, completely rebuilt rear airing porch to original architecture, rebuilt all railings on front porches which made them architecturally correct and code compliant, installed a new rubber roof on 2nd floor porch and modified garage to make it appear that it's no longer leaning.
Category
contractors, decks, remodeling, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Olmos & Associates

    We specialize in all phases of roofing services, repairs, replacements, installs, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Art Karos, LLC - DBA Art's Chimney & Stonework

    Arthur Karos has been an expert in Masonry for 23 years and a Master Mason for 12 years. With 85 year of combined experience along with his five employed master Masons, you can expect the job to be expedited in a professional manner. We do chimney brick laying and stone work, chimney repair, flue installs & repair, ash-pits doors, stainless steel flue caps, Tuck Pointing, replace bricks, and insurance work for brick damage. Chimneys, masonry and stonework are done with expertise. We can custom match stone and color match mortar for Tuckpointing or masonry repair. FOR FASTER SERVICE, PLEASE USE ANGIE'S LIST MESSAGING!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Empire Home Remodeling

    Empire Home Remodeling, Inc specializes in windows, siding, roofing, creativity, customer service and project management necessary for success. Our most satisfied customers are those who want a company to manage their project, leaving the problem solving and details to the professionals, thus allowing them a worry-free experience.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Locale
    Wisconsin and Milwaukee
    Trade License Authority
    State of WI, and City of Milwaukee
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Historical Restoration, copper repair, carpentry, window restoration, cedar roofing, exterior restoration. We do wood window restoration, historic storms, tuning & repairs. Additions: garage & carriage houses. Interior restoration, specializing in all aspects pre-WWII homes working with historical & architectural details. Built-in gutters, copper roofing, trim & molding, lead safe restoration, prepainting services, wood restoration, build-ins, staircase restoration, flat roofs & more.

    Services Not Offered

    Masonry & tuckpointing.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Community Building & Restoration

    How is Community Building & Restoration overall rated?

    Community Building & Restoration is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Community Building & Restoration open?

    Community Building & Restoration is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Community Building & Restoration provide

    Community Building & Restoration accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Community Building & Restoration offer free estimates?

    Yes, Community Building & Restoration offers free project estimates.

    Does Community Building & Restoration offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Community Building & Restoration offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Community Building & Restoration?

    No, Community Building & Restoration does not offer warranties.

    What services does Community Building & Restoration offer?

    Community Building & Restoration offers the following services: Historical Restoration, copper repair, carpentry, window restoration, cedar roofing, exterior restoration. We do wood window restoration, historic storms, tuning & repairs. Additions: garage & carriage houses. Interior restoration, specializing in all aspects pre-WWII homes working with historical & architectural details. Built-in gutters, copper roofing, trim & molding, lead safe restoration, prepainting services, wood restoration, build-ins, staircase restoration, flat roofs & more.

    Are there any services Community Building & Restoration does not offer?

    Masonry & tuckpointing.