Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Appliance Rescue Service

Founded 1969 • With Angi since October 2008

4.8

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5464 N Port Washington Rd # 277

Milwaukee, WI 53217

Description

Award winning. Additional phone numbers - (262) 242-6336, (262) 284-4919, (414) 353-9000, (414) 462-2380, (414) 464-5700. Additional e-mail - greg@appliancerescue.net. Additional DBAs - Major Appliance Service, Fisher Paykel Parts. Additional website - www.fisherpaykelparts.net.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/15/2016


Tim V.

Great service and seemed very knowledgeable

Description of Work
Checked our washer to see if it was worth fixing

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/30/2015


MIKE D.

See above. I've written their number down as my "go to" when I have any appliance issues.

Description of Work
I called yesterday to schedule an appointment. The man who answered the phone, after I had described the problem of a dime having fallen into our garbage disposal and gotten VERY wedged, told me what I might try to be able to fix it myself. I REALLY appreciated that honesty in trying to help me solve the problem without a charge. I was unable to do it and did schedule an appointment for today at 10:30. My husband and I were at another appointment and got home just at 10:30 and Greg was there-- more than prompt. He did (with his expertise) what had been described as the way to extract the coin and had it back in running order in a very short time. Greg was great.

Category small appliance repair

5.0

03/05/2015


Nathan & Cara P.

Really well. They were fast, on time and a good price.

Description of Work
Repair garbage disposal

Category small appliance repair

5.0

01/21/2015


Glenn B.

Everything went smoothly! Nothing more to say when someone does a great job and meets expectations.

Description of Work
Repaired dryer

Category appliance repair

5.0

01/09/2015


DANIEL M.

Fixed the problem without needing to replace anything and showed me how he had done it so I could fix it if it happened again. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Fan in refrigerator freezer had stopped

Category appliance repair

4.0

10/01/2014


Steven E.

ok. He need to get parts . Came back same day . Nice guy.

Description of Work
replaced heating coil

Category appliance repair

1.0

09/19/2014


Jennifer K.

After problems with scheduling the appointment (long wait for call back), they completely missed the first scheduled appointment. We got a call back with profuse apologies and they came the next day. The "repairs" in the dishwasher took a few hours and the look at the wine refrigerator took an extra 15 minutes for him to conclude he didn't have the part and needed to order it. After he left, we tested the dishwasher and it still didn't work. I called to talk with him about it and was asked a number of questions about error codes that were supposed to be visible on the machine but weren't. We left the call with the idea that he'd come back to re-do the repairs when the part he ordered came in. That was five months ago and no contact since then. At least they never sent a bill! Tough to recommend them based on this encounter.

Description of Work
Repairman was supposed to repair two drawer dishwasher and wine fridge. Worked on the dishwasher and looked at the wine fridge and needed to order parts - which he indicated he'd do

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

We have been made aware of this review by another customer, We feel that you may be mixing up whomever you selected for your service, this is not how we work, and you claim that we never charged you anything, so we assume you do not have an invoice from Appliance Rescue Service? We don't know what else to say except every other customer on Angie's List has given very different accounts of their dealings with our company. Since there was no financial transaction, we can only say we're sorry if you've had a bad experience with ARS, but this does not in any way resemble how we have dealt with the public going back decades in the greater Milwaukee area. Thanks, Gregory Angeli Owner, ARS of WI, LLC
5.0

06/11/2014


david M.

Inspected the dishwasher, found the problem and repaired on the spot. I have used this service in the past and will continue to recommend to family and friends

Description of Work
Repaired dishwasher

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/17/2014


Maureen J.

They were very friendly from the woman who made the appointment to the technician who did the work. They were very timely and the job was done quickly and completely. I was extremely pleased and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
They replaced my leaking garbage disposal.

Category plumbing, small appliance repair

5.0

01/01/2014


CLIFFORD C.

The person who did the repair was Dean Urbanowski of Lake Country Home Services 262-367-7150. He was on time, professional, and had the necessary replacement parts including a fuse and a switch. The time it took was about 45 minutes total. His base cost for the visit was about $60 and the base cost for the original company was about $20 more.

Description of Work
I needed a microwave oven repair. I expected this provider to do the repair but apparently he was too busy and sent someone else instead. Up to that point, everything was handled very professionally so I was a bit surprised that he would not call me first to confirm that sending someone else was fine with me. I'm sure he would not have recommended someone unless he felt confident that they would perform well so I'm sure I would have agreed.

Category small appliance repair

5.0

07/29/2013


Lee H.

Could not have been better - highly recommended!

Description of Work
Capital gains, self-employment taxes, everything necessary and more; Roland's knowledge and professionalism in tax law is outstanding.

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/11/2013


david M.

Checked why the dishwasher did not seem to clean well. Recommended that I use the high tempature setting. It works well now. As a repaet customer he did not charge , even the trip charge. I have used and recommended this service in the past and wil continue to do so.

Description of Work
Checked out my dishwasher

Category appliance repair

5.0

03/06/2013


CRAIG S.

This review is very late, but we figure better late than never, because the service we received was fantastic. We've just been pretty busy and haven't gotten around to writing the review that this company so richly deserves. We had a major electrical problem with our stove top on our double oven Jennair. The stove had been an expensive purchase, only about 6 years old, so we wanted to repair it if possible. Unfortunately, some of the burner wiring basically had a "melt-down" and because of the stove design, Greg was going to have to replace all of the burner apparatus, which was both costly and would have had to be back-ordered (forcing us to wait an undeterminable amount of time for parts). Luckily for us, Greg came up with a creative and much less expensive fix for our problem, which was terrific. We appreciate that he really went the extra mile for us, and came up with a solution that saved us both time and money, and allowed us to have the use our double ovens in time for the holidays. The stove has been working perfectly since November, and we couldn't be happier with the results!

Description of Work
Burners on stove began sparking and wouldn't light

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/11/2013


Yvonne H.

It was a super expeience. I emailed their site and had a response within 2 hours. Emailed the stove and serial number. The owner was here the next day with the element but then discovered the circuit board was out. Gave me an estimate right then of how much more it would cost. He showed me the part and I could see for myself what he was describing. After giving the go ahead he was on the phone to check if the warehouse had the part in. He left to go get it and returned within the hour to complete the repair. I would call them in a second if I needed another repair for any appliance.

Description of Work
Our heating element burned out in our oven which sparked a flame and burned out circuit part on stove.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you VERY MUCH for taking the time to share your experience. It would have been nice if all that was needed to fix your oven was the bake element, but sometimes when they short out as bad as yours did, it damages the computerized controller, as you could see by the badly burnt areas on the control. The repair would have been closer to $100 if not for the blown out control board. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with other Angie's List members.
4.0

01/22/2013


Bernie H.

Quick & easy repair. The poor guy was so allergic to our cat that he was sneezing, wheezing and sniffling pretty badly by the time he left. If he weren't allergic, I'd have no problem using him again.

Description of Work
Dryer Heating Element

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your review. I'm sorry to hear that you won't hire us again simply because I was a little wheezy from an allergy. I was born that way, I can't really help it. It didn't keep me from doing my job properly, which was to repair your dryer. Over the last 34 years I have probably been in over 20,000 homes where they had a cat or multiple cats and it hasn't kept me from getting the work done. Hopefully other Angie's List members are not going to hold this against me now. I like cats. I just am allergic to them and as I said, I was born that way. Not really much I can do about it. I hope whomever you hire in the future is honest, hardworking and cares about customers as much as I do. I'd hate to see you get someone who does not sneeze around your cat, but overcharges you and isn't as trustworthy. When customers make comments, I try very hard to learn from them and improve. However I am not sure what I can do about this. Many times I don't sneeze or sniffle around cats anyway. Oh well. If we lose business because of this review there isn't a whole lot we can do. Thanks for your business and have a nice day. Ahhhhh ahhhhh ACHOOO!! :)
5.0

12/21/2012


Julie H.

Scheduling appointment was easy. Worker came at scheduled time and was professional. Repair made quickly.

Description of Work
Repaired dryer with motor not functioning.

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/17/2012


Stephanie M.

Service is always excellent - I have used Appliance Rescue for the past 15+ years, got their name through my kid's playgroup. Greg is trustworthy, honest, clean and ever so conscientious. This trip I called and told them about my leaking washer...because of Greg I use a pan under my washer - that is awesome for this problem - otherwise my entire laundry room would flood. I have had this problem with this washer in the past, because of coins sneaking into pockets of family members - and not being diligent about checking them - the coins filter into the pump and crack the housing. This trip he found a gnarled up penny... my bad.

Description of Work
Leaking top load washer, pump needed to be replaced.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Customer, We so greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Angie's List members. Loyal customers such as yourself are the backbone of our business and we can't thank you enough for your business. Just remember to check the pockets for coins and objects in the future so we don't have to replace another cracked pump! Happy Holidays from Appliance Rescue Service!
5.0

10/22/2012


Mary Jo A.

It went extremely well; in fact I was surprised at how pleasant and informative Greg was, having read another review which was not flattering in the least. He came when he said he would; he did the job he promised, and his charges were extremely reasonable. he was very professional, even telling me that I didn't want to replace this stove, as it is much better than the new ones on the market. I will definitely call him when anything else goes on the blink (fingers crossed).

Description of Work
I initially contacted the company via the Internet to get their opinion on my 1964 stove, but they promptly replied the next a.m. (which was unexpected since it was a Saturday) saying that they would have to come out to get a better idea of the problem. When I called for an appointment, the person I talked with explained what the service charge was, and that it was non refundable regardless of the outcome of the visit. Greg came on Wednesday, at the time he said that he would. It didn't take long for him to determine that the baking element had gone out (big surprise), but he was confident that he could get one to replace it . Although he didn't hold out much hope for finding an exact replacement, he took the serial number anyway and said that he couldn't have it that day as it was already the afternoon. The next day, Greg called saying that he had a replacement. We made the appointment for Friday, between noon and two. He called and came when he said, put in the replacement and charged a reasonable amount, including the $10.00 discount for Angie's List Members. Considering the age of the stove, I was very pleasantly surprised that he could fix it, at a much lower price than the price of a new, smaller stove would have cost!!

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/14/2012


Renee T.

I called for an appointment to repair my dryer this week. I submitted my appointment request online late at night and I received a response early the next morning. Great response time! They were unable to accomodate my schedule request due to other appointments, instead they refered me to another Angie's List contractor in my area to see if they could accommodate my desired schedule date. I was SO impressed that Appliance Rescue would think of the customer first. In fact, I shared this positive experience with several co-workers. That is what I call an ethical company! Thank you and I hope that this review will help your business in the future.

Description of Work
See below

Category appliance repair

5.0

06/10/2012


Sandy R.

Because I was sick on the original appointment day, Greg graciously re-scheduled for the next day, and arrived when he said he would. He diagnosed the problem and had the replacement part shortly thereafter. Installation went quickly, and I had my oven back. He performed several tests to make sure it was working properly before leaving my home. No mess, no fuss. Extremely professional and good natured. I'd recommend Greg to everyone.

Description of Work
The bottom heating coil in my built-in oven no longer heated up, and in fact broke into two pieces. Broiler still worked but not the regular oven.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/31/2012


CYNTHIA P.

3rd time using Aplpliance Rescue and they have been very good every time. This time a garbage disposal died. They took the time to try and help my diagnose issues over the phone and when it became apparent that replacement was needed suggested that I could do it myself instead of incurring their labor costs. Even though it sounded simple I decided to have Appliance Rescue quickly and efficiently take care of the work for me. Thanks!

Description of Work
Replaced broken/dead garbage disposal

Category appliance repair

1.0

05/23/2012


David C.

Called to schedule an appointment, after describing my problem to the lady on the phone she said she would have Greg call me to see if they could work on my dishwasher since I had already done some maintenance to it my self though she didn't think they would work on it but that would be Greg's decision. He never called! I will call someone else who wants my money.

Description of Work
Called for an appointment

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Hello. I called twice and was not able to reach you. Thank you for the report.
5.0

03/28/2012


Jane A.

Our dishwasher wouldn't drain, and we were concerned that we needed a new pump. Appliance Rescue Service indeed came to the rescue! Rather than telling us to get a new pump, the technician opened it up and found a small piece of broken glass inside -- just enough to jam the pump. We're grateful for his hard work and honesty!

Description of Work
Fixed jammed dishwasher pump.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/29/2012


John G.

He repaired the dishwasher. There was a switch problem and he repaired it. I have used him on several occasions. One time, he didn't charge me because he couldn't locate the problem. I have had him repair microwave in the past.

Description of Work
I used the services of Appliance Rescue Service for large appliance repair. I last used them in August 2011.

Category appliance repair

4.0

01/26/2012


Chandra C.

He took a look at it to determine that we needed a new washer. Overall, I give them a B. It was pretty expensive since there was no work performed. I would prob ably not use them again in the future.

Description of Work
We had our washer looked at, and were told we needed a new one.

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for posting your review member. We're sorry that you feel it was too expensive, but we charged you the "knock on the door" charge and nothing more. We haven't raised the price of our basic service call in several years, and we tell every customer beforehand what the cost of that service call is, plus you were given an additional $10.00 off as an Angie's List customer so you paid less than what other customers pay for the same service. In most cases, we have no way of knowing before we examine an appliance if it's worth fixing or not (unless a customer calls us to ask about a specific repair they know they need, and then we can say if it's worth it or not over the phone and not charge anything) It may seem to you like we "didn't do anything" but we came to your home promptly and made a determination that washer wasn't worth repairing. We gave you an honest answer and felt it would be better for you to replace the machine. We charged you the cost of a trip charge and also gave you an additional discount off that service call. We did the best that we could for you and we'll just chalk it up to "You can't please everybody" and leave it at that. Thank you for your business and best of luck to you.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Thurow Plumbing Service LLC

    From the most complex plumbing installation to routine emergency plumbing service and repair, Thurow Plumbing provides a quality job that fits your lifestyle and budget. We offer a variety of top-quality plumbing services with a commitment to your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on exceeding customer expectations. Award winning.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Thurow Plumbing Service LLC on Angi
    Vince Ingrilli & Sons Plumbing Co Inc

    We are a full service plumbing contractor. We run 5 licensed plumbers who specialize in residential and commercial service and repairs. We offer a 5% senior discount, not to be combined with our Angie's List coupon.  

    Angi Certified

    Dave's Appliance Service

    Dave’s Appliance Service is proud to provide superior customer service and appliance repair to clients in Milwaukee, Waukesha and surrounding counties. Specializing in all major appliance repair, including refrigerator repair and washer repair, the experts at Dave’s appliance service can fix any appliance quickly and affordably. Dave’s Appliance Service is a family-owned and operated company and has provided top-notch appliance repair in Milwaukee for over 50 years. Our reputation for quality, reliable service is one of the best in the business. Dave’s appliance service repairs all your favorite name brands including Frigidaire, GE, Sears, LG, Bosch, Hotpoint and Whirlpool. Additional phone - (414) 358-0007.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers by Dave's Appliance Service on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    In-home repair on major appliances including washers, dryers, ranges, stoves, ovens, microwaves, dishwashers, garbage disposals & gas BBQ grills.

    Services Not Offered

    Small appliances - mixers & bread makers or toaster ovens.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Appliance Rescue Service

    How is Appliance Rescue Service overall rated?

    Appliance Rescue Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Appliance Rescue Service open?

    Appliance Rescue Service is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Appliance Rescue Service provide

    Appliance Rescue Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Appliance Rescue Service offer free estimates?

    No, Appliance Rescue Service does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Appliance Rescue Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Appliance Rescue Service offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Appliance Rescue Service offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Appliance Rescue Service offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Appliance Rescue Service?

    No, Appliance Rescue Service does not offer warranties.

    What services does Appliance Rescue Service offer?

    Appliance Rescue Service offers the following services: In-home repair on major appliances including washers, dryers, ranges, stoves, ovens, microwaves, dishwashers, garbage disposals & gas BBQ grills.

    Are there any services Appliance Rescue Service does not offer?

    Small appliances - mixers & bread makers or toaster ovens.