Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Action Heating & Cooling

Founded 1972 • With Angi since May 2000

4.3

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1011 W Somers St

Milwaukee, WI 53205

Description

Action Heating, Cooling, & Plumbing has been in business for over 40 years. We are headquartered in downtown Milwaukee in our state of the art facility at 1011 W Somers St.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

06/15/2022


Bridgette S.

Terrible. $3500 Unit broke after 2 summers. Company gave us paperwork that stated 5 years parts & 5 years service warranty. They also wrote it in sticker on unit. They refused to honor their own writing. They were incredibly unprofessional and untrustworthy. Charged me $175 to come out and look at unit and not be able to diagnose the problem. After that appointment they showed up on my doorstep un announced. No problem selling faulty equipment and they have no remorse.

Description of Work
Installed new air conditioner

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/08/2021


Rochella M.

I have had this company come out for the last 2 or 3 years to service my AC unit. Last year (2020) I paid Action $1142.28 total (2 visits 6 weeks apart) and I'm still having the same problem of no AC. The first time the system was out of freon, they charged it, checked the connections, blew in nitrogen, found a small leak, and put in easy seal. That lasted barely 6 weeks and they had to come out again. The second time they did the same thing, stayed a little longer, took out all the freon, blew nitrogen, said it was a leak again, cleaned out my entire unit, added freon, and it was good for the remainder of the summer (1 month). I haven't had the AC on since then and last Friday I turned out on and it blew out warm air. I feel like whatever they did during those 2 visits was absolutely useless and I paid almost the 1/3 the amount of a complete new unit. My unit is only like 8 years old. Every time they come I have to pay a trip charge and it's a temporary fix.

Description of Work
Air conditioner repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

08/15/2017


Debra W.

They guy was very professional and social. i don't know if I got my bang for the buck, though.

Description of Work
They did some cleaning of my heating and A/C units.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

06/14/2017


Sonya M.

They missed the first appointment because they said they called me and there was no answer so they didn't bother to show up, I had took off work and was waiting all morning so missed a half day of work. I asked what number were you calling and the lady couldn't give me an answer so we scheduled another appointment. The guy arrived and he had blood shot red eyes and immediately asked to used my bathroom. I get nervous when people come right in asking to use a bathroom before introducing themselves or taking at look at the item they came to repair. The service tech was very arrogant, unprofessional, and not customer focused. Based on his attitude I did not feel comfortable doing any further business with this company.

Description of Work
AC service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/15/2016


Barbara W.

There isn't a better HVAC company out there. On time, professional, equipped with the latest technology and expertise. Reasonable fees.

Description of Work
Furnace cleaning and tune up. House was being sold and Buyers requested furnace inspection. Buyer inspector recommended a safety check of the heat exchanger. Action Heating Cooling brought out the expert and he used a camera to see the primary and secondary heat exchanger. Found crack and rust holes. Buyer was relieved to know and Seller will have repaired by existing warranty on furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

03/23/2016

It was fine and they were nice. They didn't do that much and they were very pleasant. I would call them again.

Description of Work
Action Heating & Cooling did a service on my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

03/23/2016


ANNA A.

It went terrible. They overcharged me, she promised me that she was going to look into it, and call me back. Every time I called she said that she was looking into it. That's what they did, and I'm not happy with it. The first time he came was December 18th. He looked at it and charged me $118. He said that something was sticking. Around five o'clock something started smelling like it was burning, and he said that it was the motor. He came back and said that they didn't have a motor. He said that he wouldn't be able to get it until Monday. He said that he wasn't going to charge me for the people to come out. When they came out Monday, another guy came out to put it in, so he charged me $87 to come out. The other guy said that the motor was going to be $250 and $40 to put it in. The other guy charged me $275 for the motor and $75 an hour to put it in. He was here for two hours. It has been working fine since.

Description of Work
Action Heating & Cooling looked at it. They had to replace the motor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/05/2016


Ellen G.

I think I used Action Heating & Cooling. It was a couple of years ago in December. I think I got them from Angie's List. They did a fine job because I haven't had to call them again. It was a lot. Our heat went out and they came out to do an emergency check and the guy said we just can't fix this old one. We went to see them on a Monday and they had it installed that day.

Description of Work
They removed and disposed of old furnace and replacement of a new one and what duct work needed done.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

11/03/2015


JOHN W.

It was terrible. They somehow cracked my old furnace. The owner who is a woman, was ridiculous to deal with. I think she said to me that they don't want to work for me anymore, and I never did anything. I just questioned the work and tried to get them to come back for the work. She went irate. First I paid for a service call which was $75 and then I paid for the amount of hours that it took to do the work. The quality of the work was terrible according to the people who came in and put the new furnace afterwards. Their punctuality was not bad. The man that came out was nice. My husband is a paraplegic on the bed and he was freezing. I begged them to come and they said they were going to come and then they called and said they would be late. I told them I needed them to come because it's an emergency. The lady was ridiculous and I was looking at my husband shivering to death who is a war veteran and dying from Agent Orange. I just couldn't deal with her attitude. When they first started there, they had a fellow who was excellent and then he moved off somewhere and the rest came about the way it did. I was told by Cliff Bergin that whoever worked on my furnace was horrible and they cracked the end of the furnace.

Description of Work
Action Heating & Cooling came out and diagnosed my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We performed service at this home on November 8th 2013. We replaced a high limit switch and air filter, at the time of service we noted on the service report that the collector box was cracked. We believe the misunderstanding started when the technician noted that many items where in front of the supply registers restricting air flow. When we suggested that the items be removed that where obstructing the supply registers she accused us of calling her a hoarder.We certainly did not mean to imply that she was a hoarder; but the obstructions and plugged air filter was the cause of the high limit switch failing. We did not mean to offend this client, we where only being factual to the cause of the furnace failure. Sincerely Joe Petkus
5.0

07/13/2015


Laura S.

Arrived right on time after calling to confirm arrival. Sledgehammered out old sink and took all materials with them for proper disposal. Did very clean work, left everything cleaner than they found it! Price was less than they quoted and they were done in under 3 hours. I will absolutely recommend them!

Description of Work
Removed old double concrete laundry tub and replaced with new tub, faucet, and connections.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

3.0

11/22/2014


Suzie K.

Before the installers began I had asked if they needed me to move some boxes that were under the area where the pipes from the air conditioner enter the house. I was told, "no, it should be fine." The initial installation went well, however I was a bit concerned when one of the installers connected the furnace output to the wrong pipe. I am glad he checked it before leaving and fixed it right away. Upon leaving the installers told me that the electrician would be by to shortly to finish off the electrical work. This was at about 4:00 / 4:30 on a Friday night. At 5:30 still no electrician so I called the owner on his cell phone. I was informed that the electrician got stuck at a previous job longer than expected and that he would not be out that night. As the furnace was working well it was not an emergency. I was however, disappointed that there was no communication from the company that this was the case until I made the call. An appointment was made at the time of my call for the electrician to be out "first thing" the next Friday morning at 8:30. The following morning I went downstairs to do a little clean up and discovered that not only were the boxes I had asked about moved but that there was debris from the pipe insulation inside the top box (it did not have a cover). There was also debris all over the floor in that area. I thought I had done my part to ask if I should move the boxes as was told that it wasn't necessary. I understand that accidents happen however, it would have been nice to be told that that they made a mess and apologized for it. The next Friday 8:30 came and went without seeing or hearing from any representative of the company. Finally at 9:15 I called the company to inquire about the electrician. I was told that he was, " on the way" and, "should be there soon." Finally at 9:50 he arrived without an apology or explanation as to why he was one hour and 20 minutes late. While he was at my home I called the company once again to express my frustration with the lack of communication. I also informed her that my biggest complaint with the company was not necessarily the quality of the work but the lack of communication overall from the installers, to the electrician, to the owners. She apologized many times however, it wasn't until after I informed her that I would be making my concerns known on Angie's List that she offered a free cleaning / tune up of our equipment the following year. I appreciated this gesture, however I would be hesitant to refer anyone to this company in the future. I am concerned that if I need their assistance in the future that timeliness and communication will once again be an issue.

Description of Work
Installed a new furnace and air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

06/04/2014


Sharon A.

I had a fine experience with Action Heating & Cooling. They were wonderful. They did their job and they did it right the first time. Their price was excellent and we were very pleased with them.

Description of Work
They installed a high efficiency air conditioning system and furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

01/20/2014


Geri M.

I was given a quote of $525 + tax over the phone which is in line with other quotes I had gotten. The technician arrived on time and got to work. About an hour in the tech told me that my thermostat does not have all of required wires. My two choices were to abort the installation and pay X amount of dollars for nothing or pay an additional $130 to have new wires run. I opted to pay the additional money to complete the install. It's not really Action's fault but I do wish that had been mentioned on the phone. I would recommend Action in the future regardless.

Description of Work
I hired Action Heating and Cooling to install an Aprilaire 700 whole home humidifier onto my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

12/07/2013


Ellie M.

We were impressed with Action's willingness to help us for free over the phone (we checked things over about 20 minutes before they decided a house call was necessary). We were impressed by their promptness, advice, attitude (they treated us like smart homeowners) and cost. We'll call them again.

Description of Work
When the temps dropped, the boiler in our new home wouldn't kick on. We tried diagnostics using the owners manual, but nothing worked. Called Action first thing the next morning and walked us through a few checks over the phone first, then determined they should stop in to see it for themselves. They squeezed us in that morning, fixed the issue and recommended a few other things we could do to improve efficiency. The appointment was quick and informative.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

11/12/2013


Helen S.

made the effort to return calls. scheduled convenient appointments to come out and look at old boiler and find problem, install the new boiler, install the chimney liner, and come out for follow up to make sure it was running properly. very professional, courteous, and willing to answer my questions and provide necessary info on care/maintenance of the new boiler. cleaned up and took away old parts, etc. all of these comments apply to the techs who came out to look for the problem with the old boiler, install the new boiler, put in new chimney liner, follow up ,& electrician who did wiring for new boiler. also received a phone call from company after a visit from one of their employees to find out if all went well! since mid November 2013, action heating has been out to my home at least a half dozen times because of problems with the brand new boiler they installed. they could never find a/the problem, instead giving me really stupid reasons/excuses for the problem and advising me to try stupid things to "correct" the problem. finally, they sent out the tech that came to my home in the very beginning [October 2013] to look at the old boiler and made the determination that it was broken down beyond repair [over 25 yrs. old] and recommended a new one - he wrote up paperwork for the job, which included checking old wiring for boiler in the crawlspace [we don't have a basement] and strongly advising to replace it. the people from action heating that came out NEVER went in to the crawl space to do that - even though they requested that the big hall closet be cleared out to gain access to the trap door that leads to the crawl space......we just that and it was available for them to go down there for the 2 days they came & went. I even asked them on several occasions if they needed to go down there and their response was "not now" or "not today". well, to make a long story short, I finally was put in touch with jesse cortez [from la causa] who got involved, speaking to action heating & the original tech came out on 3-11-14, checked things out and asked me if anyone had ever gone down to crawl space to check or replace wiring - I said no and then he called office to verify that, in fact, no one had done that and he told me what he thought the problem could be and that he would be out the next day to go in crawl space - it needed to be cleared out first, so I called my adult children and asked them to come over and clear out closet. the tech came over the next day, went in to crawl space and guess what? the problem WAS with the wiring, it should have been checked out and then replaced originally, but it was done on 3-12-14 by the tech who recommended it in the first place!!! the problem being the bad wiring caused my boiler to turn on & off "at will", & even though my thermostat was set at 68', the actual reading was always higher, between 72 and 83 degrees, it was like a sauna in this house, and it [wires shorting out] resulted in extremely high energy bills, even after taking into consideration, the extreme cold and higher price for gas that effected everyone. this all could have been avoided if they had just done their job to begin with!!la causa, sdc,and energy assistance were made aware of this [action heating is/was a vendor for them thru their weatherization program] and in turn action heating was called and they deny that anything was done wrong on their part and refuse to take any responsibility, even though all parties involved, agree that action heating was responsible, even we energies has stated that my usage was unusually high. so...I am stuck paying off astronomical energy bills, that were generated by neglect to do a job the correct way, it was just a simple task of going into crawl space and checking the old wiring.......they & would have seen that the wiring needed to replaced & then my boiler would not have been turning on all by itself. what a world we live in!! and unfortunately action heating is the only business that can be called for any future problems with the boiler, under the one year warranty unless I want to pay out of pocket [ a condition of the weatherization program] yeah for me! like they are the first ones I want out here to look at the boiler.

Description of Work
install a brand new high efficiency boiler and chimney liner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/09/2013


Greg & Marcia L.

There tech was on time and polite. He told me that my a/c unit was in great shape for being 17 yrs. old. Also said that my brand lasts a long time so as long as I keep up the maintenance it should run for several more years. I appreciated the honesty.

Description of Work
Maintenance check on A/C and furnace. Special deal through the mail.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/22/2013


Sharon A.

Perfectly. Done in one day. No mess, no problems. Did exactly what they said and it is running smoothly.

Description of Work
Replaced air conditioner and furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/13/2013


David G.

I saw an ad on morning TV about a great deal from Action Heating and Cooling. A full AC inspection and tune-up for just $45.00. Sounds to good to be true huh? Well I was pleasantly surprised. I made an appointment on Tuesday for Thursday AM. Our Tech Alex showed up right on time. He was very personable, neat clean and professional. Alex started by explaining what he was going to do and then got busy. He started by checking the blower unit in the basement. He then inspected the outside unit. Alex hooked up his guages and diagnostic meter and starting reading the numbers. I figured that this was where I would start getting the bad news. But nope, it was all good news. Everything was working just fine according to Alex and his equipment. Alex finished up by hosing off my unit and cleaned the cooling fins. He told me what to do to keep my unit servicable for the rest of the year and then gave me some information on what ACTION could do for me to zone my AC vents to help keep my 2nd floor cooler. Alex then made up our bill. Yep, 45.00 plus tax. I am very confident that if Alex would have found anything wrong with my AC unit he would have fixed it and it would have been at a reasonable cost. I think this was a great deal. Just knowing my AC is in good shape was worth the $45.00. Anyone would be foolish to pass up a deal like this one. Overall I was VERY satisfied with my experience with ACTION and Alex. I would definitely and use them for my future AC issues. I'm sure all the tech's are good at ACTION but I will ask for Alex.

Description of Work
Tuned up my AC unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

06/02/2013


scott C.

The furnace installation was great! The a/c install was not. The first date agreed upon gave way to rain, not their fault, however, no one bothered to call to let us know the rain was an issue. When the installer didn't show up at the scheduled time, we called and were then told about the policy of not doing the install in rainy weather. A day taken off from work completely wasted! Another date was agreed upon and the installer showed up at the agreed upon date/time to do the job.The unit could not be filled and calibrated due to the weather, not their fault. Another date was agreed upon for the calibration. On that day, the technician did not show up at the scheduled time, so again, we called to find out what was going on. We were told we were not on the schedule for that day. Arrangements were made to get the technician to the house, but again, valuable time wasted. The receptionist offered little in the way of an apology merely questioning who had scheduled the appointment.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace and a/c.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/13/2013


Karla L.

Action Heating & Cooling were a great company. The furnace is 3 years old, apparently it was not installed correctly. They looked to see if it can be improved the way it was and they ended up being able to work with it and repair the problem without having to do a whole lot of other things and put an expensive air bladder on it. They save us some money and it works fine. They were very prompt, kind and brought in extra people and didn't charge us for it. The price was less than I expected to pay.

Description of Work
We had our furnace repaired.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

09/17/2012


Jeanette B.

The furnaces were installed, but I had some water leakage issues with them from the beginning, and they had to come out to the house a couple of times to correct the issues.

Description of Work
They put in a new furnace because of a contract I had with the city.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello Member I am responding to your review about your leaking furnaces. After reviewing your file I see that you had furnaces that were supplied by the city of Milwaukee, that you didnt pay for that Action installed in Dec. of 09. It was determined that your A/C coil was leaking into the new furnace which we didnt do nor did we install. The furnace and A/C are 2 different things, but when you have A/C there is that chance especially when maintenance isnt done that a coil can freeze up and leak into your furnace. That is exactly what happened. I guess am not understanding why after 3 years you are writing a review that doesnt make or blame the right person or make our company who helped you get new furnaces look good. You would hire us again is what your review says, so please feel free to hire us to come and do maintenace on your system so you dont have issues in the future with this again. If you would like to schedule please call me my name is Marci. Have a great day
5.0

04/21/2012


Deborah R.

I was able to take advantage of a discount as an Angie's List member and and got a service call and the tune up for only $89 versus $109. I was really satisfied with the work as well. There were several days during the winter when I didn 't know if the furnace was going to turn on, but Action Heating and Cooling was able to fix this issue.

Description of Work
I hired Action Heating and Cooling to tune up my furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/29/2012


Kathleen G.

Action returned my call to them immediately and scheduled an appointment for the following day. Marci arrived (on time) and spent time understanding the problems were were having with uneven heat, an exceptionally cold room with 3 walls of windows, and two noisy older furnaces. She came up with a solution and a quote, and work began two days later. The workmanship was excellent, especially the ductwork. The two men who installed the furnace and routed the ductwork were knowledgable, professional, and polite. They explained what they were doing and why, and were very careful to clean up the worksite. Six weeks later, our home is comfortable and warm -- even the window room. The furnace, service, followup and price were all excellent. We have already scheduled them to come back to service our air conditioners. I highly recommend Action.

Description of Work
We replaced two older furnaces with one new, had some ductwork rerouted, and new ductwork added.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello member, It was very nice meeting you, and I am so glad that you picked Action Heating & Cooling to help you on this project. I will be here if you guys ever need anything. See you in the spring.
5.0

01/21/2012


sharon L.

I like the products the are putting in. They fixed the work that another company had completed sloppily.

Description of Work
They are doing my water heater. They are transferring it from electric to gas. They did some repairs around my furnace and closed a hood, and checked all my vents as well as put all new metal in my vents because I was losing heat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

01/19/2012


CHERI S.

They were very professional and helpful answering all my questions. The installer explained to me how it worked and what I would need to do if it needed to be adjusted to my house temp.

Description of Work
Action Heating & Cooling, had a offer on Angie's List to install a brand new Honeywell Whole House Bi-pass Humidifier for only $350, saving Angie's List members $200! I've wanted a Humidifier for a long time, but this was such a great deal I couldn't pass it up. They followed up with a call and email to set up an appointment right away.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Guardianing Heating and Cooling LLC

    We are a family run business since 1983. We specialize in all phases of heating and cooling services, installs, repairs, maintenance, and more! Our goal is to service all of our customers to their satisfaction without fail. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Donovan & Jorgenson Inc

    NATE (North American Technician Excellence) Certified HVAC Technicians available for tune-ups, maintenance, repairs, and installation of furnaces, boilers and air conditioning systems. We also offer Smart Thermostats, Indoor Air Quality Products, HRV/ERV Air Exchangers, and Bathroom and Kitchen venting. Working with your builder for new home systems. Commercial, Multifamily equipment and roof top installations, maintenance, and repairs. We also offer 24 hour emergency service 365 days a year, if you call our office at 262-784-6440 after business hours just press #1 for emergency service. You can also go to our website at donovanjorgenson.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Totally Clean

    Totally Clean is a small family owned and operated air duct cleaning and dryer vent cleaning company. We pride our selves on providing an exceptional service from beginning to end. Our company only uses the best air duct cleaning technology to get your ductwork properly cleaned. Our air duct cleaning company services Southeast Wisconsin. Primarily we work a lot in Milwaukee County, Ozaukee County, Racine County, and Waukesha County. We have developed a streamlined process and our customers love us for it. You can count on us to be honest, transparent, and up front about our pricing. We do not have any hidden fees, nor do we try to upsell you on services that we know you do not need! Therefore, our company is highly rated on Google and Facebook. We look forward to working with you whether you need your air ducts cleaned and/or your dryer vent cleaned. You will want to leave us another 5-star review when you work with us! Totally Clean loves our customers and it shows!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers by Totally Clean on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    989917
    Trade License Locale
    Wisconsin
    Trade License Authority
    Joe Petkus
    Trade License Expiration
    06/04/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Furnace & AC repair & replacement. Boilers,in floor heating, forced air, carbon monoxide detectors, humidifiers, air cleaners, thermostats & plumbing, & electrical

    Services Not Offered

    Drain Cleaning for Plumbing, water softners,air duct cleaning, & appliance repair. We do have close relationships with other reputable companies that we highly recommend for these.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Action Heating & Cooling

    How is Action Heating & Cooling overall rated?

    Action Heating & Cooling is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Action Heating & Cooling open?

    Action Heating & Cooling is open:

    Sunday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Monday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Tuesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Wednesday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Thursday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Friday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    Saturday: 12:00 AM - 11:30 PM

    What payment options does Action Heating & Cooling provide

    Action Heating & Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa, Discover, Financing

    Does Action Heating & Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Action Heating & Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does Action Heating & Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Action Heating & Cooling does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Action Heating & Cooling offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Action Heating & Cooling offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Action Heating & Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Action Heating & Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Action Heating & Cooling?

    Yes, Action Heating & Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does Action Heating & Cooling offer?

    Action Heating & Cooling offers the following services: Furnace & AC repair & replacement. Boilers,in floor heating, forced air, carbon monoxide detectors, humidifiers, air cleaners, thermostats & plumbing, & electrical

    Are there any services Action Heating & Cooling does not offer?

    Drain Cleaning for Plumbing, water softners,air duct cleaning, & appliance repair. We do have close relationships with other reputable companies that we highly recommend for these.