Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen

Founded 2000 • With Angi since March 2006

4.5

(84) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3636 S 108th St

Milwaukee, WI 53228

Description

AB&K was founded in October of 2000 . AB&K has quickly become one of the top remodelers in the state of Wisconsin. The business has grown tremendously over the years with over half of our business coming from referrals. AB&K is different than most other remodelers because we have our own on-staff

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

09/19/2017


Susan B.

I've been slow to write a review, but the way I was treated has niggled at me. I was admittedly, indecisive about design decisions. The employee from AB & K and I did not hit it off. I'd called and asked if I could be assigned another consultant, but was told that I needed to stay with her. By that time, we'd given the company a deposit. The workmen were great and the work done as promised, but I was not 100% happy with the choices we'd made. The employee pressured me, assured me that the choices we were making were excellent ones. In the end, I did sign off on the counter top, cabinet and tile options, but I was unsure about how it would come together. The consultant assured me that it would all look fantastic. I've never loved how it turned out. If you know what you want, they will get it done for you in a timely manner but not with any panache. It is a churning mill of remodeling. I felt as if all they wanted was to get it done and get rid of me. I would never hire them again. (I did not for our subsequent bathroom remodel, which I DO love.) And if you want good design advice, I would steer clear of this company.

Description of Work
We had a kitchen remodel done about five years ago. New counter tops, backslash tile, sink/faucet and new island installed, along with all new appliances and repair of the wood floor.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

5.0

06/09/2017


Galina K.

While we didn't work together due to incompatible schedules, we were very impressed with their customer service, timely response and professionalism.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

12/12/2016


Scott G.

Great experience overall. Molly Madsen was very easy to work with at all times. On time always.

Description of Work
They have redone 2 kitchens and 2 baths for us, also redesigned as installed lighting.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, glass repair, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

1.0

01/22/2016


Elizabeth G.

...Obviously did not go at all.

Description of Work
Communication with AB & K I corresponded several times via email with Kellie the "Design Planner". I submitted the information she requested as well as pictures. This was to get an estimate for new kitchen countertops. She responded that in order to change out the countertops and add additional counter space I would need cabinets to support the added 2-4ft of breakfast counter. As well as change out the cabinets under the sink since the apron style sink needs a different base for support. I told her I had found sink options that fit my existing cabinets and that the added counter space I wanted would be replacing the breakfast bar. We could speak about leg supports or other possible options. I had previously read in another's review that there could be possible pressure to take a simple countertop remodel a step or two further than wanted or even needed. Because a neighbor of mine recommended them having per say a pleasant experience I decided to stop into the showroom as advised by Kellie to speak further about the remodel options and get an "Estimate". After bringing my elderly father into the store and being ignored by the first two people we saw I wanted to turn around and walk out. That to me is a clear sign of unprofessionalism. Being with my father And knowing what it took to get him there...I decided to stay. Someone finally came to us and asked if we needed any help. And then directed us to the countertop samples. Seeming extremely overwhelmed said if we had any questions to let her know. I told the young lady that I had been in contact several times with someone "Kellie" via email and she suggested I stop into showroom. But that I did not have an actual appointment with her at that time. In the meantime...I did find a sample of Quartz I wanted to take home and compare. Before leaving I said that I would email Kellie. I was completely SHOCKED at Kellies response after telling her I had brought my father into the store but she was unavailable to speak with us. She replied that she was there and saw us but since her last day is Friday she is no longer taking new clients!!!!! Ummmmm! Okay, Now! I was completely confused... Anyone like myself who is trying to find a reputable company to do a remodel knows how hard it is communicating your design ideas to several different companies. Not only do you hope to get the best deal. Most importantly you want them to be trust worthy and responsible. So right now Im at a loss for words. I debated contacting the owner about this...But figured if I could save someone else's valuable remodel time not being wasted that would serve purpose enough.

Category countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

1.0

08/23/2015


Janell S.

I'm looking for an actually AFFORDABLE kitchen remodeler for my very small galley kitchen in my condo, and was misled by the name of this company. I want to remodel my kitchen between "high end" and "big box store, " but this is a high end remodeler. I was told they couldn't even "look at the project unless I was willing to spend at least $25,000.00" and then they wouldn't even know what extra cost there would be once they removed the existing kitchen. If money is no object, give them a call. Response to the owner: I suggest you have a discussion with your staff about not turning customers away who have cash in hand just because the customer refuses to waste their money on high end cabinets, flooring, and appliances and because the customer comes in with their own ideas about design and what they want. I don't need to feel that someone working in some kitchen design place is looking down his nose at me because I know I don't have to spend over $25,000.00 to get what I want in my galley kitchen. I guarantee you I will get exactly what I want for exactly what I want to pay! I shouldn't have even bothered actually, because all of your responses to negative reviews are EXCUSES!

Description of Work
In store estimate and discussion of service

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member name removed], Thank you very much for the notification through Angie's List . We are sorry to hear these comments . Our design team always determines the scope of the work first , and they do this in great detail . That's how they come up with a starting point for the range in price that is communicated. Job pricing is a function of size, scope , detail , and amenity level. With that said , was there a mistake in in communication on the amenity level or degree of detail ? If you were to go out and get three bids on a specified remodeling for your kitchen , I would bet we would be competitive in price. I would appreciate if you were to follow up with me directly. I will make every effort to help minimize any confusion that might have occurred with your visit . I look forward to hearing from you soon . Thanks again for sharing your comments . Jeff Klement Owner
2.0

06/01/2015


Marlena M.

Today I reread the AB&K's Operations Manager, Vicki Gorzalski, response to her telephoning me to discuss my dissapointment with AB&K. PIhad hoped that the Operations Manager had changed her response.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Thank you for taking the time write a review. We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with our company. Unfortunately this design was done in May of 2008 . That is over 7 years ago . We have no record of this concern. Was there ever a formal concern raised upon completion of services ? We would really like to understand this better and fairly address this experience . Feel free to contact our office and we will make every effort to resolve your concerns . Again , we appreciate you taking the time to notify us of this situation .
5.0

05/14/2015


Mary B.

My salesperson ,Carol, was excellent and responding to questions with e- mail or phone. They had a quote available for the project quickly. Everyone was on time for the project was was courteous and professional. Matt , the coordinator was very good ad staying in touch regarding any concerns. There were a few hick-ups in things that needed attention and they have been handled immediately. My only concern is the seam in the counter. I did not realize Silestone had a seam( my fault for not researching that more thoroughly ). The seam is better than some disasters I have seen on line. But it is a bit rough to the feel. Overall I would choose this provider again and recommend them to friends.

Description of Work
New kitchen and bathroom counters with sink, new faucets, disposer.

Category countertops, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Info Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our company takes great pride in our commitment to quality and customer services excellence. The most important step in the success of your project is the design . Our designers are professionals qualified by education , research and experience . In addition , our install team will make sure your job runs smoothly with the best craftsmanship available . Again , thanks for review response and if you have any additional needs please do not hesitate to contact us .
3.0

03/09/2015


Susan B.

The workmen were courteous and efficient and our end product is acceptable. Our representative/design consultant, however, was impatient and curt. She didn't give any legitimate design advice, ever. She had no ideas of her own. It was liking working alone. She rushed us through the process, constantly pressuring us to hurry and decide. When we expressed concerns about our choice of granite, she glossed that over, saying that we needed to make the decision and be done. (this was while we were at the granite distributor) I never felt that she was on our team, but rather on her team, aka the team that gets the money. While our kitchen is serviceable and we have had no problems with the work itself, I would not hire this company to do the work again. They are impersonal, greedy and lack imagination and flare.

Description of Work
Replaced counter tops, sink and faucet in kitchen, backsplash tile and replaced some wood floor slats, built an island with new cooktop.

Category contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name], Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our company . Unfortunately , the project is over 9 years old and we do not have recoerds of your project on file . None of the designers currently on our staff worked on your project , so its a bit of a challenge to respond. I'm not even certain that our company did the work in your home . In addition to checking our electronic files , I contacted our granite fabricator and they do not have record of your project on file either . I'm proud to share that all of the members of our award- winning staff have a wealth of experience in selecting the right materials for a home . We are confident in recommendations , and always work with the client to make sure that it's right selection for them . Sometimes the process of making selections can be a bit overwhelming for our clients , and we are always willing to present other options if that's what the client wants. Our goal is to make sure you are 100% happy with the entire process--- from material selections to the final install . Again , thank you for taking the time to share your concerns . I wish you the best on your next remodeling project . Jeff Klement President
4.0

10/17/2014


JOHN B.

Scheduling was not a problem for us, but, they are very busy and it seems that they are having some issues with deadlines and it seemed that they are having scheduling problems with other clients. The actual workers were pollite, clean and hard working after they arrived. We got the impression that a lot of clients are difficult to work with, as they said we were not several times (I guess that is sort of a compliment to us). This is the first remodel we have done in over 15 years, so, not sure if AB&K is typical. Their showroom and resources are phenomenal. They do care about the quality of work they do. There seems to be a primary focus on payment, which is a little sad, but, I'm sure they have their fair share of horror stories from customers who do not realize what they are getting into. Remodeling is expensive for good quality. I guess that the reasons that they did not receive an "A" would be that we were told workers would be arriving at a certain time and they arrived several hours late without explanation several times, and, the interaction with some of the expediters and schedulers was not exactly as friendly as we would have liked.

Description of Work
Remodeled second-floor bath (not master bath).

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a thoughtful response. We very much appreciate that you took the time to explain the things we did well and the areas where we have an opportunity to improve. I left a voicemail for you regarding your concerns on punctuality. I'm hoping to get a little more info from you so I can properly address it with our employees. We should always call in advance to let you know if for some reason we aren't able to make it to your home at the appointed time. Again, we appreciate your comments and look at this as an opportunity to continuously improve. Sincerely, Molly Madsen, Owner AB&K
5.0

08/09/2014


Susan H.

AB&K Remodeled my kitchen during the summer of 2014. They were a pleasure to work with as we drew up plans and chose our cabinets, flooring,, etc. Construction started as scheduled, and we had minimal delays throughout the project. All of AB&K?s employees are pleasant, professional and extremely good at what they do. All appointments were punctual and all calls/e-mails were responded to promptly. Our kitchen turned out beautifully and gave our home a whole new, updated look. I would definitely use AB&K for future remodeling projects.

Description of Work
Total kitchen remodel

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

07/08/2014


Richard E.

They listened and were not pushy. They had good suggestions and ideas and they followed through.

Description of Work
They installed a new bathroom counter and sink.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

06/30/2014


Karen B.

They incorrectly measured the cabinets which meant they had to then reorder the cabinets a second time. Then they put in a base cabinet in that didn't reach the wall and were gonna leave it that way until i said something. Then they ordered a refrigerator that didn't fit and will have to cut the wall if I allow them to continue. I probably will not as their craftsmanship to this point has been awful. I have a 100 year old home. they sent a carpenter who seemed to have never worked in an old house. They mismeasured and tried to cut corners. They were not very cooperative in doing some caulking behind the appliances they installed the wrong hinges on my cabinets so they slam shut. I never had a job foreman come out to my house.

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodel ( $33,282) with Appliances I have paid 90% to this point

Category contractors, countertops, drywall, woodworking, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

We are anxious to resolve the issues at the [Member name removed] residence. Unfortunately, this project has been a challenge for us from the very beginning. The homeowners relocated from Chicago and discovered asbestos in the home prior to taking occupancy. This, understandably, has created a great deal of angst and buyers regret for the [Member name removed] family. We had concerns about our ability to make her happy because she had indicated she had fired several other contractors (an electrician and an HVAC contractor unrelated to our company). We even offered her a full refund after she had signed the contract since the cabinetry had not gone into production, yet she refused our offer. [Member name removed] is correct in her statement that we did have to reorder a cabinet because of a header that interfered with one wall cabinet. What she fails to mention is that we took full responsibility for it and corrected it immediately. [Member name removed] also references a base cabinet that did not reach the end of the wall. As any expert in our industry would confer, cabinetry is typically held back from the end of a wall to allow countertops and moldings to return properly into the wall. This was explained to [Member name removed] on several occasions. [Member name removed] implies that AB&K ordered the refrigerator. We did not order the appliances. She ordered and paid for her appliances directly. The refrigerator opens without issue if it is simply pulled forward two inches to clear the left wall. In addition, when we discovered that the refrigerator she purchased did not fit, we offered several options. While we did not provide the refrigerator, we offered to have the countertop modified and one base and wall cabinet remade (at our cost) to accommodate her refrigerator. I have not received any response from her after several requests. It should also be noted that she said she was going to sue the appliance supplier because of the issue with the refrigerator not opening fully and because the edges of the range were visible. In addition, [Member name removed] suggests our craftsmanship has been awful. She complained that cabinetry was not level until our carpenter put a level on it to show her that it was perfectly plumb and level. She claims we sent a carpenter that had never worked in an older home. This statement is incorrect (we are an award winning remodeler, and 99.9% of the homes we work on are older). The lead carpenter assigned to her project has worked in hundreds of older homes since moving to the WI area. Prior to working for our company, he lived in AZ and worked primarily on new homes in the $3-12 million dollar price range. He has had perfect scores from client reviews on every project he has done for us. [Member name removed] claims we weren’t cooperative about caulking behind appliances which is also untrue. [Member name removed] demanded that we install base shoe behind the appliances. We explained that this is not the norm because it could potentially interfere with the appliances pushing back tightly against the wall. She insisted that we install the base shoe anyhow. After appliances were installed, we offered to remove the shoe if necessary and caulk the area where the drywall meets the floor. During the final reconnects, we were able to move the range back fully against the wall while keeping the base shoe in place as she has requested. We will happily remove it and caulk the area if that’s what she wants now. [Member name removed] also suggests the wrong hinges were installed on the cabinetry so they slam shut. This is also false. The same hinges that are on the display in the showroom were installed in her home. They are Blum, 6 way adjustable hinges, and are considered one of the highest quality hinges available on the market. We offered to install restrictor clips on a few of the doors since it is a very small galley kitchen and many of the cabinets butt directly up to a wall. Finally, many of the delays we encountered during the project were a result of [Member name removed] contracting portions of the work herself. She decided to contract her own electrician to upgrade the panel rather than use our electrician. This brought work to a halt because we could not complete the necessary work and final reconnects until her electrician had completed the install of the new panel. She also stopped work to call in the local inspector to review our work. One of her main concerns for him to review was the fact that the duct work for the over the range microwave was visible above the cabinetry. Interestingly, the original contract specified a re-circulating over the range microwave. We immediately developed and put forth a solution to accommodate this change. [Member name removed] was informed no less than 7 times that we were not finished and the duct work was designed to be covered with a beautiful, two- piece crown as indicated on the plans she signed. In remodels, it is very common to hide ducting above cabinetry because drilling through floor joists is not an option. [Member name removed] currently owes us $5058.20. She is over two months late on payments for a change order in the amount of $1560 (which was due on 4/26/14). Her kitchen is in usable condition and is absolutely beautiful. Per the terms of her contract, she can hold back $350 until all touch ups and punch list items are complete. We are happy to take care of all punch list items (e.g. installing restrictor clips on two cabinet doors) upon receipt of her final payment. We are also happy to make the necessary changes to the cabinetry and countertops (at our cost) to accommodate her new refrigerator, but she has not responded to my email requests. Sincerely, Molly Madsen Owner, AB&K Bath and Kitchen
5.0

06/10/2014


BARBARA T.

They were professional in every way. Prompt and responsive for our estimate. Available for scheduled appointments. Timely responses to phone calls. Project team was very professional, pulled proper permits. Most important, the cost of the job did not go over the budget and things were completed very close to on time.

Description of Work
Put a new bathroom in our basement and fully remodeled our main bathroom.

Category home remodeling

1.0

05/27/2014


Susan L.

They came to look at the kitchen to be remodeled to give an estimate. The man was here for over an hour and said he would call in a couple of days with an estimate. He said they could beat an estimate I had already gotten from another business. I waited two days. The man never called. I called AB&K and was always given a brush off. After calling 4 times and never being connected to the man I was working with I went with another business. A note: I live in a condo. While the estimator was here he made a rude comment about rent-assist complex across the street.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/04/2014


Dave C.

It went real well and we are very happy with them. They were very responsive to our needs, listened and understood what we were looking for. The quality of their work was very high.

Description of Work
I used AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen to remodel and kitchen and bathroom.

Category home remodeling

5.0

03/12/2014


Todd G.

It went great with AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen. It was wonderful. They were very good. They were very punctual. They were on time every day. They got the work completed in a timely fashion. They cleaned up every day after they were done. The last time I used them was probably about 10 months ago. They redid our kitchen and it was top to bottom. I would use them again in the future or recommend them.

Description of Work
AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen redid our kitchen.

Category home remodeling

4.0

01/23/2014


Mark E.

The kitchen and bath looks and works wonderfully. The design process was great. we got what we wanted. The appliance supplier they sent us to helped find what we wanted. The build had many scheduling problems and took longer than estimated. Some work was redone when it didn't look right. We will definitely use this provider again.

Description of Work
Created a design for granite counter tops, tile back splash, new sink, under cabinet lighting, and new appliances. Also replaced carpeting in a bathroom with tile.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/07/2013


Janet S.

During my first visit to the AB&K showroom in Greenfield, I had the pleasure of meeting my designer, Molly. Molly patiently listened to what I wanted and after a few days came to my house to see my kitchen and to take measurements. I met her a week or so later at the showroom to go over her design. It was obvious that Molly had listened to me and understood what I wanted in my kitchen because the design that she presented was perfect. It included timeless features and an efficient use of space. And it was beautiful as well! Throughout the process she continually offered excellent suggestions on additional items such as crown moulding, cabinet hardware, under cabinet lighting, and the sink and faucet that I might like. I was grateful for her guidance and support. She also assured me that once started, the project would be completed in a timely fashion. The crew arrived promptly on the day promised. Dan, the carpenter who did most of the work the first week, went to work and finished the tear out in one day. Over the next few days I watched in admiration as he installed new cabinets and flooring. In addition, the electrician and plumber worked to complete the rough plumbing, electrical outlets and new lighting. Over the course of the remodel, many different crew members came to the worksite, and I was impressed by their fine workmanship each day. Each member of the crew was friendly and professional. And I was pleased that the site was cleaned each day before the crew departed. There were a couple of glitches that occurred that were not the fault of AB&K, but rather due to my 70 year old home. Those issues were quickly taken care of to my great satisfaction. The project was completed exactly when Molly said it would be finished, and the results are stunning. My kitchen was completely transformed! I am absolutely delighted with my new kitchen, and I would recommend AB&K to anyone interested in fine design, attention to detail, quality workmanship and prompt completion.

Description of Work
AB &K completely gutted my 70's era kitchen. Part of a wall was cut out to allow for a different configuration than I had previously in my old kitchen. New wallboard was installed. They also installed cabinets, quartz countertops, natural stone backsplash, flooring, lighting, faucet and sink. They replaced all of the old plumbing and electrical work. Finally, they installed new appliances.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

08/21/2013


Robert I.

Complete remodel of kitchen and living room. Tile Flooring for an additional 400sqft. Project included removing walls, tile flooring, all new cabinets and new appliance installation. Super dedicated to client satisfaction. Worked through additional changes we suggested with efficiency and cost effectiveness as key themes. Kelly put together a terrific plan and Mark delivered on it. We would definitely use AB&K, Kelly and Mark again. It is easy to see why AB&K wins so many awards.

Description of Work
AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen remodeled my kitchen and living room.

Category ceramic tile, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

07/13/2013


William R.

Our Designer Kelly was fantastic to work with, that is, providing great ideas and offering us many options fitting our tastes to choose from--- she gets our highest recommendation. Our Installer Byron was a true craftsman with an attention to detail and aiming for perfection. AB&K's showroom allowed us to view the products in advance of our final decisions. In summary, the AB&K team, Kelly, and Byron strived to satisfy our needs and complete our Dream Kitchen within budget and on time. We would highly recommend based on our experience.

Description of Work
Gutted and remodeled 1972 vintage kitchen--- Drywall, electrical, plumbing, cabinetry, banquette dining bench, lighting, flooring, countertops, sink.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/24/2013


Lou P.

They did quite a bit of work for us. We paid $12000 for the kitchen remodeling. The work went very well. Their designer stood out the most to us. They were on time. They were professional and timely. They did a quality job. They were a little pricey. They made it worth for us. If they wouldn't have done a good quality work, then we would have gone with somebody else.

Description of Work
We hired AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen to remodel our bathroom. They remodeled our kitchen prior to that.

Category home remodeling

4.0

06/14/2013


Ronald H.

AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen is very good. I will have no hesitation on getting a quote from them in the future.

Description of Work
We got a quote from them.

Category contractors

5.0

06/14/2013


Valerie F.

AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen worked with me in order to keep it within my budget. My overall impression was they're very good and I would use them again even though I think they may be a little pricey compared with other people. Everybody who worked with was wonderful and cleaned up after themselves. They went beyond what they had to do. They helped me try and do the electrical for my oven and they didn't have to do that. They provided very good service.

Description of Work
We got new counter-tops, a new kitchen sink and new faucet.

Category home remodeling

2.0

05/08/2013


Marlena M.

I did not care for them at all. I left them and decided I was not going to work with them anymore. I worked with one of their designers and I just did not care to work with her. I should have known at the first appointment, when she turned up on the wrong day. She was not very detailed and I did not want to work for her. She kept misspelling my name. I did not like the way she worked. She was not careful with her details. That is not the type of person I want to do my business with. Two years later, I have still not done my kitchen. The price was reasonable for doing the kitchen. She kept leaving out costs and was not careful about things like that. Her estimations were lower then they should be, I wanted to know the price of everything upfront.

Description of Work
I used AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen. I wanted them to redo my kitchen. I wanted new cabinets, lighting, new appliances, new floor, new everything.

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), I am sorry to hear your impression of our company was not what you expected. It is always our intent to provide the best possible service and help people solve their remodeling problems. I have left several messages at your home in the hope of gathering additional information about your experience. Since you have not returned my calls, I am assuming you have no additional information to share and no desire to discuss. I wish you the very best in your remodeling project. Sincerely, Vicki Gorzalski Operations Manager
5.0

04/27/2013


CYNTHIA Q.

UPDATE 12-12-13: I am SO HAPPY that I gave AB&K a second chance. They did a wonderful job on updating my bath. They were prompt, courteous, professional, and fun to work with. It seemed like they were as excited and proud of the work as I was. I would now happily recommend them to anyone! Molly Madsen designed, Brandon Chappell did the tile work, and Mike Reichert did the plumbing. All were smart, personable, easy to work with and highly professional. Pricing might be lower elsewhere, but I doubt quality would be better anywhere. They stuck to the original estimate, and threw in a couple nice extras to stay within my budget. I expect I'll be very happy with this bath for years to come. ____________________________________________________ ORIGINAL POST: The AB&K designer came to our house later that same day, took a quick glance at the bathroom, and pronounced it a gut job, but wouldn't offer any specific comments other than to keep repeating "Gut Job! It's a gut job. $20,000. $20,000." I reminded her of my initial question -- "any quick fixes we can do? what's the first thing we should tackle?" but all she would say was "Gut Job. $20,000." I was so put off by her rude manners and refusal to provide the promised specifics, that I could not possibly consider working with her on any project, much less a $20,000 bath remodel. So that was $100 down the proverbial drain, for an estimate that turned out to have zero worthwhile content. I can hardly call it an estimate since she never inspected anything close up (she barely set foot in the bathroom -- and no, it's not gross, just old), nor provided any sort of written info. $100 for her time? It takes less than two minutes to drive here, and she spent about 15 minutes in our home, doing nothing other than insulting us. Since then, I've often considered going back in to the AB&K showroom to see if there's a new designer on staff that might be more professional. After all, they are just down the road, and I did like the stuff they had in their showroom. But I resist the impulse, because after all, if AB&K hires such people as that first designer, they probably would not be a good match for me. UPDATE 5-1-13 One business day after I posted the original review, the operations manager at AB&K called to address my concerns. She was polite, professional, and demonstrated the kind of customer service that I appreciate. She also offered to have another designer get in touch with me to schedule a "second look", and offered to refund my $100. I don't plan to take them up on the refund -- I think it's fair to apply it to a future purchase, assuming the estimate shows a bit of effort. But the fact that they offered the refund is huge, especially after all this time. I was sufficiently impressed with the positive way they responded to my criticism, that I am willing to let them have another chance to estimate this project. For now, I've increased the grade from a D to a B -- hopefully it will go up even higher depending on how things shake out.

Description of Work
UPDATE 12-12-13: complete bath remodel (tile floor & walls, new fixtures/vanity/tub/sink). replace sink in half bath. _______________________________________ I stopped in at AB&K to inquire about a bath remodel for my 1963 ranch (located less than a mile from their showroom). Asked one of the designers if there was a way to freshen up the most dated elements of the bath without spending a ton of money. She said she'd have to see it in order to give any specifics, and would require $100 to compensate for her time away from the office (which would be applied to future purchase).

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    TILE TIM Contracting

    OWNER OPERATED. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. ASK FOR DETAILS ON TRAVEL CHARGES & SERVICE FEES.  

    Dane's Quality Craftsmanship, LLC

    Owner operated, family run. I will look at the job, bid the job and do the job; my wife does the paperwork. Each job is individually estimated. I have over 30 years of experience and specialize in overcoming structural challenges. We will bring in our team of subcontractors when necessary, but generally it is just me and sometimes my wife will help me out. Customers like this because she cleans up really good!!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    L&C Painting

    Give us a call or click to request a quote today!  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Complete design services, custom cabinetry, kitchen & bath remodeling, tile setting, finish carpentry, cabinet installation, plumbing, electrical & counter tops.

    Services Not Offered

    Concrete pouring.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen

    How is AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen overall rated?

    AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen open?

    AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen provide

    AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offer free estimates?

    No, AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen does not offer free project estimates.

    Does AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offer a senior discount?

    No, AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen?

    Yes, AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offers warranties.

    What services does AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offer?

    AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen offers the following services: Complete design services, custom cabinetry, kitchen & bath remodeling, tile setting, finish carpentry, cabinet installation, plumbing, electrical & counter tops.

    Are there any services AB & K Affordable Bath & Kitchen does not offer?

    Concrete pouring.