Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A O Handy

Founded 2002 • With Angi since January 2009

4.5

(128) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5215 W Edgearton Ave

Milwaukee, WI 53220

Description

Award wining.A.O Handy has been in business since 2002. We are dedicated to providing quality and exceptional customer service. Estimates always free and can begin new projects quickly at customer request. All projects can begin within a day or two after contract is signed. We provide masonry services for all commercial and residential needs....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/23/2019


Keevin S.

Very well! They worked very hard to get the job done before the weather turned and worked diligently until it was finished. The work was done well and I am very pleased!

Description of Work
Masonry work and brick repointing

Category masonry

2.0

02/15/2016


Richard R.

The rep showed up and looked at two of my chimneys from the ground (both are 3 stories high) and in about 10 minutes time determined that I need to have both of them rebuilt. I paid $50 to have someone come out for a sales pitch. This is great work if you can get it. Drive around collecting $50 and providing quotes. I'll look elsewhere for my next chimney review.

Description of Work
Looked at my chimneys from the outside and decided I need them to be rebuilt.

Category masonry

5.0

11/18/2015


Kenneth M.

I needed to put in a concrete barrier. Andrej came by and gave a very low estimate. I was initially concerned about the low bid. I was also concerned about the low scores from other reviewers on Angie's list. I noticed however that many of the reviewers had not actually used Andrej's services and were simply concerned by his low bid or maybe his accent. Who knows. Needless to say, I had Andrej complete the work. He did a great job on the concrete. He came back after a couple of days to repair spots in the concrete that I did not notice and did not care if the spots were repaired. Andrej insisted on making the repairs. I have used Andrej on second job already. He did a great job on the second concrete project too.

Description of Work
Concrete work

Category concrete repair, masonry

3.0

07/09/2015


ULLA P.

At the end of the inspection I was positive that I was not going to use him. He gave me like a huge laundry list of things that needed to be done. After he was finished he said that it would cost me $15000. There was no way all of this going be $15000. It was like these little things he tarried about because he wanted to get paid as the coupons were so cheap. He had no suggestions about minimum cost. The thing about him was he did not give us any options, everything he gave was for us to do things. There are always levels of priority and I did not get anything at all from him.

Description of Work
I used the services A O Handy for an inspection.

Category masonry, chimney caps

5.0

09/22/2014


Rich C.

Andiry came out a couple of times. I finally decided to do concrete (I had been debating on whether to replace with landscaping blocks). its about 40 feet long, 3 feet wide, needed to be pitched correctly, and the old walkway had to come out. Andiry came out on a Saturday (on time) to write the contract, and started work 2 days later. It was done 5 days later. It looks great, and the work site was cleaned up. there is a bit of a language barrier, but it's easy to work through.

Description of Work
Replaced a flagstone walkway from driveway to front door with colored concrete.

Category masonry, stamped concrete

1.0

08/18/2014


David B.

This contractor never returned emails or telephone calls. I never received the service.

Description of Work
Pre-paid for a Masonry inspection

Category masonry

5.0

08/13/2014


Gayle G.

Excellent work taking out old cement between large stones on landing and steps and reapplying cement. They also tuck pointed the whole stairway structure which is quite large. They did this over three days, were on time and reliable.

Description of Work
Had large landings, steps and outer walls tuck pointed. Excellent work. Will use again.

Category masonry

3.0

08/06/2014


Michele B.

It may have been a fluke, but I wasn't ever able to get a hold of the company for scheduling. For this reason, I had to cancel the deal and have my money refunded.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for them to perform a masonry inspection.

Category masonry

3.0

07/09/2014


glenda M.

It was written up to be chimney and foundation check. I wasn't home when he arrived, my husband was, and no foundation inspection took place. He had a couple of good tips, but not very detailed or in depth.

Description of Work
Looked over chimney

Category masonry, chimney repair, foundation repair

4.0

07/03/2014


Kelly S.

As all the other reviews mention, Andry can be difficult to understand due to the language barrier and accent. When I called to schedule an inspection for a quote, he just said he would be in town on Sunday & would call me when he would arrive. Instead of calling to say he would be there in an approximate time, he called when he was outside the house, which was unfortunate because I had just run to the store and had to turn around immediately. When he came back out to sign the actual contract/invoice, he did call to give me an approximate arrival time so I could plan to be home. The original quote was written on the back of a business card. If it wasn't for the other reviews, I would have dismissed him outright. I had a corner of the foundation that was seriously cracked and chipping away. It was mostly a stucco exterior, but the underlying concrete was damaged too. He came on Sunday to sign the contract and came back on Monday to do the work. I came home from work that day to find him cleaning up after restoring the entire side of my foundation. It was beautifully done and looks like solid work. The only downside is that it doesn't match the other 3 sides because they have a "roughed up" white stucco look. He told me that I could easily paint the concrete to match, which I may or may not do. I like Andry's work much better than the original look of the white stucco exterior. It's a nice seamless piece of work. I regret not taking a "before" pic because he took a worn out, crumbling slab of foundation and made it fresh & new.

Description of Work
Repaired cracked & crumpling exterior foundation.

Category masonry, foundation repair

5.0

07/03/2014


PETER F.

He came and inspected our brick exterior, and gave his opinion about what should be done to repair and maintain the brick exterior. He gave an estimate to repair the damaged bricks as well as rebuilding the chimney from the roof up.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal from them for $49 for a Professional Masonry Inspection.

Category masonry

3.0

06/28/2014


Joseph H.

seemed like an expensive estimate and suggestions to do more than may have been necessary. They could be correct in the long run but for now I'm trying which seems like a reasonable, more cost effective solution suggested by another contractor.

Description of Work
gave an estimate on cost to prevent water leaks from chimney

Category concrete repair

4.0

06/23/2014


Rosemary A.

I purchased an Angie's deal but did not wind up using it. The company emailed me promptly, and I emailed back saying I would have to wait until after labor day to arrange a date... then my calendar got the better of me, weather ensued, and the deal expired before I called them back. I will consider using them in the future.

Description of Work
I purchased an Angie's deal but did not wind up using it. The company emailed me promptly, and I was forced to wait until after labor day to arrange a date for service.

Category masonry

5.0

06/23/2014


Nicolette A.

We are undertaking an extensive exterior renovation of our c.1927 Tudor Revival and badly needed masonry restoration represented Phase I. This was our first experience with a provider found on Angie's List and we were very pleased. I received a very prompt response to my initial request for an estimate and in comparison to other quotes we obtained, A O Handy was most in line with the extent of restoration we felt necessary as well as within our budget. The work began within a few days of our having signed the contract and continued daily until completion. I was especially impressed with the crew's punctuality and how respectful they were of the jobsite. They tidied up the work area everyday before they left. I was also impressed by how well they were able to match the color of the new mortar to that contained within the existing grout lines. They also cleaned up the unsightly repairs where the previous homeowner had attempted to repoint sections of the brickwork himself years ago. In summary, if you're looking for quality, old world craftmanship, I would strongly recommend AO Handy. It truly was a pleasure dealing with Andy, his son Arthur and the rest of the crew. I am hoping the next phases of our exterior renovation go as well as the masonry restoration did.

Description of Work
Partial rebuilding of large chimney including new poured concrete cap. Partial rebuilding of porch stoop. Extensive tuckpointing and caulking where necessary on various areas of exterior masonry.

Category decks, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

2.0

06/19/2014


Randall L.

$50 for a chimney inspection. After repeated emails someone gets back to me months later. Guy drives ups and I meet outside. He looks up at my small furnace chimney (frost is spalling the bricks) and says we'll that for $1500. Don't you want to go up an look at it I asked (I had a ladder ready to go. Nope he said. And that was it. I later learned he gives estimates for free. Waste of money.

Description of Work
Chimney "inspection"

Category masonry, chimney repair

1.0

05/27/2014


Yolanda G.

They did nothing and I want my money back.

Description of Work
I purchased the $50 basement inspection, but was unable to contact A O Handy after numerous attempts. I left voice mails, sent emails, and tried to communicate through Angie's List's contact page, but they never responded to me and I was never able to reach them directly.

Category masonry

1.0

05/23/2014


Nina K.

We waited for 2 hours and no phone call and he never showed up. Still haven't heard from him. Totally unacceptable for a contractor.

Description of Work
We set an appointment for him to come out and give us an estimate to pour a new slab for our garage. He was set to come Monday. She asked for our phone number in case something came up.

Category concrete repair, masonry

1.0

05/15/2014


Miriam O.

A man came to my home at the agreed upon time - was punctual. We took a very quick walk through our small home and around the house. He did not write down any notes or take measurements. He gave a rough verbal description about what would be needed and said he would create an estimate and get that to me soon. As it was late November, we agreed that the work would not occur until Spring. I did not hear from him again and did not ever receive anything in writing from him. I spoke to a representative at Angie's List about this many weeks ago and he said I should make at least one attempt to complain directly to the company before the "complaint process could be initiated through Angie's List. I wrote an email to the address listed when the same company (AO Handy) offered the same Big Deal recently. I explained the situation and my dissatisfaction and that I had already voiced this to Angie's List. I did not receive an email response. That's where it stands. I felt that he was out for a quick $49, and did not take the needs of my home or myself with any serious concern. He was punctual, so he may deserve a D- rather than an F. But even being punctual for what was eventually a waste of my time is not that commendable. Thank you. - Miriam Ofori

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

4.0

04/15/2014


David R.

Started and completed in timely manner , cleaned up brick ,removed side porch and reinstalled.

Description of Work
Rebuilt brick foundation , tuck point , and added water barrier between foundation and sidewalk.

Category masonry

1.0

04/04/2014


Kathleen T.

I saw the offer. I had recently had some masonry repair done. The mason said I needed advice from someone else about another problem. Thinking this might be the opportunity, I bought the offer, intending to ask at the outset if it was something s/he could help me with. As requested, I contacted the mason by Email, suggesting three dates on which we might meet. That was Aug. 23. The instructions said I would receive a response within 2 dAys. On Aug. 26 I got a response instructing me to call a number to schedule an appointment. I dialed that number but didn't connect with anyone (don't remember exactly why). On sept. 19 I Emailed again saying that number was not not working for me. I never heard from the service person again.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

3.0

03/24/2014


David R.

I used them through a big deal on Angie's List. They are in the middle of doing the work. I am satisfied so far. They are very friendly. Their timeliness and responsiveness was good. The cost of the project will be $2000.

Description of Work
A O Handy gave me an estimate for tearing out about four feet of my brick foundation and replacing it. They are also doing patch work and putting in a water barrier in the whole south side of the house. They are doing masonry work right now.

Category masonry, foundation repair

1.0

02/19/2014


Rose Z.

We purchased a $49 "Big Deal" for a Professional Masonry, Fireplace, and Basement Foundation Inspection to try to gain insight on some water intrusion issues with our basement & foundation. For us it turned out to be a big waste because apparently A O Handy will give estimates for FREE, so we probably could have gotten the same "inspection" without wasting $49. I can appreciate the provider's honesty in letting us know we are probably just stuck with a leaky basement no matter what because it would be too expensive to dig up the foundation, and we should probably just improve our landscaping/gutter/downspout situation and continue the DIY-repairs. The chimney caps were estimated at $3000 or $4000 -- yes, you read that right, 3 zeroes. We haven't gotten any competing estimates to know if this is a competitive rate, but we were pretty shocked by it.

Description of Work
The provider made a very fast inspection of our basement and exterior foundation and recommended non-masonry-related solutions (downspouts & landscaping) instead of other solutions. The provider also inspected chimneys from the ground, warned us about deterioration he observed, and gave us an estimate for chimney caps poured in-place.

Category masonry

4.0

02/09/2014


Kathy G.

They did a fine job, however, getting in contact with them was incredibly frustrating. When we finally did get them, they would say, "We called you," but if they did, they did not leave a message. My husband gave them our house phone, cell phone, email address, etc. and still it was very hard to get a hold of them. | |Another thing that was nerve wracking for me was that they showed up with other people and wandered around our farm a couple of times, taking pictures. And they brought their dog who would bark and made our dogs bark, too -- plus they hooked her/him to the pasture fence a few times which made my animals nervous. | |They were very friendly and worked well when they were working. Once they started the job, they finished it in a timely manner. However, because it was so difficult to contact them, they lost out on another job that we had. They wanted to do the whole job (we would have liked them to do the brickwork) and gave us a quote for everything -- however, we wanted to deal with the contractor we'd already started working with -- he said that he would subcontract with them so they could do the brickwork (this is before we had really tried to work with A O Handy). After trying to contact them numerous times, and some of the other unease about their wandering around the farm, we decided to go with a subcontractor that the contractor knew. | |As far as using them in the future -- if we had a small job, my husband would consider them, he really liked their work -- as long as it wasn't something that had to be done in a timely manner since we wouldn't know how long it would take them to get back to us. My husband flat out said, "Please leave a message, so that I know that you called and when you plan to be here" and still they didn't. | |I don't know what the cost of the service was -- I'll have to ask my husband, who is not available this week.

Description of Work
We needed to have repointing done on the bricks around our house (fixing the mortar between bricks) and some bricks replaced on the barn.

Category masonry

2.0

01/27/2014


Miriam O.

He was punctual and polite with a slight language barrier given his strong accent. His inspection was rushed and felt lacking, when it came to details. Especially since I had to encourage him several times to take note of specific concerns I had about certain areas that I felt were necessary for a thorough checkup. I was also concerned that he wasn't taking any notes or measurements of any kind. When the inspection was over, he briefly declared what work would be needed without offering any thorough explanation. He was also supposed to send me a clarifying estimate for the work to start in the spring, which I have yet to receive.

Description of Work
He came to inspect the foundation of our home and provide an estimate.

Category concrete repair, masonry

4.0

01/21/2014


Ronald L.

He said that he could't tell if work would be required to the foundation of the porch until he got in there. His estimate was $2,500.00. I told him that I wasn't going to do anything about it until April 2014.

Description of Work
I had him inspect a crack in a brick flower planter on my front porch. He told me that he would replace some of the bricks and repair the rest.

Category masonry

    Other local Pros in your area

    Empire Home Remodeling

    Empire Home Remodeling, Inc specializes in windows, siding, roofing, creativity, customer service and project management necessary for success. Our most satisfied customers are those who want a company to manage their project, leaving the problem solving and details to the professionals, thus allowing them a worry-free experience.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Empire Home Remodeling on Angi
    Community Roofing & Restoration

    A full service roofing company. In our early years, we focused on products and services that were primarily "functional," i.e. stopping leaks and renewing roof systems in the most cost-effective way possible. This includes re-roofs with asphalt and fiberglass shingles, "tear-offs," repairs, small and medium sized flat roofs, and aluminum gutters. We have serviced about 4,000 clients along these lines. Lately we have begun to branch out into restoration projects that are as much "art" as function, e.g. slate, tile and copper work. Additional DBA - Community Roofing & Restoration Inc.  

    HomeSealed Exteriors, LLC

    HomeSealed Exteriors, LLC is a window installation and exterior remodeling company in Milwaukee, WI. We service homeowners throughout the southeast Wisconsin area including Waukesha, Washington, and Ozaukee counties. With a focus on energy efficiency and total home performance, we are the number one rated choice for replacement windows in the area. Our window options include vinyl, wood, fiberglass and composite. Our windows far exceed energy star requirements and boast the best thermal and structural performance in the industry. In fact, we carry replacement windows that have an air leakage rating over 2000% better than our average competitor. We guarantee your satisfaction and protect your investment with an exclusive lifetime warranty on our workmanship, in addition to a lifetime warranty on our products. Our trained and certified installers offer decades of experience in window and door replacement. Whether you’re looking to replace your home doors due to storm damage, outdated features, or to receive better energy efficiency, HomeSealed Exteriors, LLC can help. We offer beautiful, durable, energy efficient entry doors, storm doors, and patio doors. We pride ourselves on our thorough communication from the initial consultation to the completion of the project. In addition to window and door installation, our expert team also offers full exterior remodeling services including siding, roofing, insulation, and gutter system installs. Our siding options include vinyl, composite, and fiber cement siding. At HomeSealed Exteriors, we offer the industry’s best options to fit your needs and budget. HomeSealed Exteriors, LLC is recognized as one of the top roofing companies in the Milwaukee and Waukesha area. Your home is your largest investment, and your roof is the number one thing that protects it.  

    Offers by HomeSealed Exteriors, LLC on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Tuckpointing, masonry repair, brick, block, stone, caulking, chimney repair-rebuild, driveways, patching, basement waterproofing. Commercial and residential flooring, polished, sealed, stained, concrete floors, restoration coatings.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A O Handy

    How is A O Handy overall rated?

    A O Handy is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A O Handy open?

    A O Handy is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

    What payment options does A O Handy provide

    A O Handy accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A O Handy offer free estimates?

    Yes, A O Handy offers free project estimates.

    Does A O Handy offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A O Handy does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A O Handy offer a senior discount?

    No, A O Handy does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A O Handy offer emergency services?

    Yes, A O Handy offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A O Handy?

    Yes, A O Handy offers warranties.

    What services does A O Handy offer?

    A O Handy offers the following services: Tuckpointing, masonry repair, brick, block, stone, caulking, chimney repair-rebuild, driveways, patching, basement waterproofing. Commercial and residential flooring, polished, sealed, stained, concrete floors, restoration coatings.

    Are there any services A O Handy does not offer?

    Ask for details.