Ralston Exteriors

About

Founded 1990 • With Angi since December 2008

Ralston Exteriors has prided itself on providing high-quality craftsmanship at competitive prices throughout the Madison area for over 30 years. Services we provide include siding, roofing, windows, decks, porches and additions. Our company’s focus is on customer service, attention to detail and

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Cedar SidingLP SmartSideDeck and Pergola

Verified Reviews

5.0

(88) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

85

4

3

3

0

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

siding companies (67)gutter repair (37)roofing (27)window replacement (17)decks & porches (16)door installation (8)woodworking (8)hardscaping (2)foundation repair (1)patio enclosures (1)masonry (1)
Showing 1-25 of 88 reviews
5.0

09/21/2021


Matt M.

Ryan and his team were great. Project started on time, was on budget, and finished in a timely manner. Ryan responded quickly to all questions and the project was well planned. The crew on-site was willing to answer questions and paid close attention to the finer details.

Description of Work
Re-siding of home

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2021

5.0

06/22/2021


Paul D.

We were pleased with the project. Ryan was attentive, responsive, knowledgeable and flexible. Keith and crew did a good job on site. They were friendly, responsive to requests, and kept the site clean. The end product looks great. We highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We had LP SmartSide installed on our home. Old vinyl siding was removed, the house was wrapped, new siding installed, new soffit and facia installed, and windows clad.

Category siding

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2021

5.0

05/18/2021


Igor S.

Ralston Exteriors replaced our entire roof, including all fascia, and all gutters. From bid through completion of the project, Ryan Shaw told us what he would do, when he would do it, and then did what he said. No surprises. The crew was professional, polite, tidy, and safe. I couldn't be more satisfied. I would recommend Ralston Exteriors in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category gutter repair, roofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2021

5.0

07/28/2020


Terry G.

Could not be more happy with the work performed, real professionals and top quality material. Willing to explain exactly what they are doing and how. They cleaned up several times during the day, never any concerns. Neighbors were grateful. Performed on time and at budget.

Description of Work
New siding, gutters, roof repair, door replacement

Category gutter repair, siding, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/28/2020

5.0

06/03/2020


Connie M.

We signed a contract with Ryan from Ralston Exteriors late fall of 2019, looking forward to a spring re-siding project. Our 50+ year old home had it’s original cedar siding, damaged by water leakage and insects. Ryan took the time to review the types of siding, to discuss all the details, and to answer all of our ongoing questions throughout the process. We chose LP Smart Siding and are extremely happy with the result, from both the material and the workmanship. It looks like our old house was removed and a new one built in its place! Working with Ryan and his crew was working with professionals who knew what they were doing and were willing to explain anything we did not understand. We recommend Ralston Exteriors and will use them ourselves for future projects.

Description of Work
Re-Side entire house

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/18/2020

Images

Review for Ralston Exteriors - 7022 Maywood Ave, Middleton, WI - 38612226

+3 More

5.0

05/12/2020


Chris B.

This was easily the best experience we've had with the numerous maintenance and improvement projects we've had to do on our house since we bought it 4 years ago. It was a pleasure to work with Ryan. He is extremely knowledgeable, very straightforward, and very good about answering questions. He was quick to respond to questions both before and during the work, and his workers are very competent and professional. The carpenter who installed the windows did the work in three days and the results are perfect -- secure fit and beautiful workmanship. As an added benefit, the new windows are sized for the original openings in the framing of the house and provide much more light than the previous replacement windows. When the siding crew began work, they worked very methodically and steadily and finished the entire project on our large tri-level in exactly two weeks. The work is top-notch -- it looks beautiful and they were diligent about critical details like flashing and caulking. The gutter crew arrived a few days later and also did a great job. We chose Ralston Exteriors based on the recommendation of a relative who'd had siding work done by them a few years ago and we would also enthusiastically recommend the company to anyone who's looking for new windows and siding. We will definitely use them again when the time comes to replace the roof.

Description of Work
Replace 4 leaking bedroom windows; remove old wooden siding, wrap house in Tyvek, and install vinyl siding on entire house; replace gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows, woodworking

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2020

5.0

12/14/2019


Tim O.

I would highly recommend Ralston Exteriors for siding projects. They recently removed old aluminum siding and installed Smartside with new soffit, fascia and gutters. We received multiple quotes for the job, Ralston's was very reasonable in comparison to the others and the project met all of our expectations. • Ryan and the crew James and David were always available for questions. They did a great job of communicating their timing and process. * The crew was knowledgable, professional and detail oriented. At one point they had applied some trim that was not up to their standards (looked fine to me) so the redid the section. • Through the entire process of removing the existing siding, installing the new, and at the end of each day the crew kept the work site very clean. • When issues with the house were discovered through the process, not related to the siding, the crew was quick to evaluate and suggest affordable solutions. This was very appreciated to get the job done right and stick to the budget.

Description of Work
Siding, Soffit, Fascia, and Gutters

Category gutter repair, siding

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/14/2019

5.0

11/30/2019


Judy H.

We couldn't be happier with the work of Ryan and Ralston Exteriors. We were happy with all of it--the bid process, the bid and Ryan's willingness to find places to trim the budget, the people that worked the projects, Ryan's responsiveness, and the quality of the work. A quick note on responsiveness. We had a couple situations that required quick attention. Ryan quickly returned our texts and was on-site checking out the situation the next day. We are super impressed and would recommend Ralston Exteriors enthusiastically.

Description of Work
Siding and windows

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/30/2019

5.0

02/19/2019


John Paul K.

Working with Ryan and his team at Ralston Exteriors was the best experience I've ever had on a home project. Work done * Remove/replace vinyl/aluminum siding with LP SmartSide * Remove/replace soffit and fascia * Remove/replace gutters and downspout * Remove small double-hung window and replace with long three-lite slider Top #4 reasons why I'm so happy with this project: #4 - I ask an annoying amount of questions. Ryan and his guys were really patient with every one of them. #3 - Ryan and his team were in constant contact with me throughout the project letting me know what days they were planning on working (holidays and bad weather made for some non-traditional work weeks). #2 - The price was competitive. I had received bids from multiple other builders and while Ryan's wasn't the absolute lowest, it was on the lower end. It's an expensive project, there's no getting around that. But also definitely a fair price for all the work that was done. #1 – It looks great! Like magazine cover great. We've received lots and lots of compliments from the neighbors and random strangers passing by. There's nothing I would change about it. The attention to detail is astounding. It's clear they care as much about the house as I do. By the end of the project I felt less like a customer and more like a friend.

Description of Work
Replace siding, soffit, fascia, gutters

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2018

5.0

10/03/2018


Beau L.

We had a great experience working Ralston Exteriors. Ryan was very helpful in the planning and design process and kept me updated with cost estimates and scheduling. The crew was also great, efficient, and talented at their craft. The end result is we have a great looking house, quite a dramatic change, and exactly what we were wanting out of the project. Pricing was great, too. Looking forward to hiring them again next year for a decking project.

Description of Work
Full siding and door replacement

Category siding, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/06/2018

5.0

07/11/2018


Kathleen B.

Very well. From the initial quote through all the changes and to completion, they were responsive, on time, communicative, clean, respectful, polite and professional. Ryan Shaw's years of experience helped guide us in the choice of options that were best for us, helped us choose the best look for us, and navigated/innovated solutions through the hiccups that inevitable happen when working on a 100-year-old home.

Description of Work
Home siding

Category siding, woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2018

Images

Review for Ralston Exteriors - 7022 Maywood Ave, Middleton, WI - 37229660

+1 More

5.0

04/29/2018


Julie G.

When I asked a local painting contractor to provide us an estimate for repainting our home, he suggested that we look into smart siding and recommended Ryan Shaw of Ralston Exteriors. The paint cycles on our 1937 house were growing shorter and shorter meaning that our house just wasn't holding paint very well any more. Ryan came over and explained the process to us in an understandable, clear way. He knew that our hesitation was that we wanted to maintain the historic integrity of our house to the fullest extent possible. He assured us that they could do that. When the work started he was in touch with us every step of the way and stayed on top of things. His crew were true craftsmen and the job came together relatively quickly despite a lot of crazy weather. The results are really beautiful. The house looks fresh and classic. We could not be more pleased with the quality and know how of this company. We'd hire them back in a flash. We still have some landscaping to do so no pictures just yet but our house is definitely going to be the prettiest one on our block once we get done!

Description of Work
We had our vintage 1937 Colonial Revival house resided with Smart Siding.

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/29/2018

5.0

04/02/2018


Shyam K.

I was so incredibly pleased by the great communication on this project. My husband and I wanted a somewhat unconventional look to our exterior siding without compromising functionality. Ryan went to great lengths to make sure he understood what we were looking for esthetically while providing us with options for materials that would be long lasting and effective. The two individuals who did the physical work on our home were experienced and made suggestions based on their expertise, working in conjunction with Ryan who was on site many times during the work, to insure that the vision we had for our home was understood and implemented. Most home repair/remodel work is so stressful because you don't know if what you are asking for and have clearly pictured in your mind is what someone else is hearing and picturing. Ryan's communication skills were extraordinary.

Description of Work
Exterior siding, gutter replacement, soffits

Category gutter repair, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/21/2017

5.0

02/12/2018


Todd D.

The extreme cold was the only thing that slowed this project down as the employees had to take several days off because the project was done during December and January. Ryan was very communicative when any issues came up and his two employees also shared with me things they found during this project.

Description of Work
Vinyl Siding: • Remove and dispose of existing wood shake siding and shutters • Remove and re-install existing outlets and fixtures in order to provide access as necessary • Detach existing gutters and downspoust to provide access as necessary • Install the following new products: • Tyvek HomeWrap with taped joints as necessary • Grace Vycor rubber butyl tape and Tyvek-to-window connections • Mastic Carvedwood (.044) D4 vinyl siding (English Wedgewood) • Mastic Cedar Discovery D7 vinyl shakes at 3 gables (Harbor Grey) • Mastic vinyl outside corners, inside corners, J-channel, utility trim, J-blocks and J-vents as necessary • Custom bent (.019) aluminum flashings as necessary (includes flashing at base of wall) • (2) Standard size rectangular vinyl gable vents • 5/4 x 8" Pre-finished LP SmartSide band board between lap siding and shakes • Custom bent (.019) ACM Aluminum soffit and fascia • Custom bent (.019) ACM Aluminum wrap at (2) windows and (1) patio door • ACM 16" Quad aluminum solid soffit at front porch ceiling • Caulk wall penetrations as necessary • Permit and disposal fees included Other work as necessary to repair damage uncovered during siding removal.

Category siding

Cost $13,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2018

Images

Review for Ralston Exteriors - 7022 Maywood Ave, Middleton, WI - 36827138

+1 More

5.0

11/29/2017


carl W.

Ryan did a great job from start to finish. He was clear and straight forward with all his communications, flexible as needed, and ensured the work was completed on schedule, with good attention to quality and detail. We're very pleased with both the process and the finished work.

Description of Work
full house siding

Category siding

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/29/2017

5.0

08/02/2017


James S.

Yes, I would use them again. The quality and fairness of price keeps me going back. The interaction with the installers was fine. It took 2 days to complete the work. They cleaned up after themselves very well.

Description of Work
Windows

Category replacement windows

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2017

5.0

07/25/2017


Elma S.

Very happy with the result. But happier with professionalism of Ryan and his crew.

Description of Work
Roof and siding

Category roofing, siding

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2017

5.0

07/23/2017


Gary G.

We recently used Ralston Exteriors to replace our roof and some siding due to storm damage. We could not be more pleased and we give Ryan and his company our highest recommendation. From the very start, dealing with Ryan was easy and pleasant. Before we hired Ralston Exteriors, I had contacted several highly-rated contractors about the job. None was willing to offer me a straight forward bid which seemed somewhat suspicious. Rather than tell me what the job would cost, they all insisted that they needed to haggle with our insurance company. On the other hand, Ryan was easy to deal with. He provided samples right away and quickly gave us a very thorough bid which was right in line with our insurance company's estimate. Before we signed the contract, Ryan was very candid about how busy he was. We were fine waiting until fall, if necessary, to complete the job. He got the job done in July, which was great. The only problem we had (not their fault) was that the dumpster company damaged our garage door when setting the dumpster down in the driveway. Within 24 hours of the incident, Ryan got the dumpster company to agree to replace our garage door. We didn't have to deal with any of the details other than selecting the color and design. Throughout the entire experience Ryan was courteous, responsive and professional. We wouldn't consider using anyone else in the future.

Description of Work
Replaced our roof and some siding due to storm damage.

Category roofing, siding

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

5.0

06/19/2017


Janet K.

From the moment I contacted Ryan Shaw, I knew I was in good hands. He quickly responded to all inquiries and was highly knowledgeable about both the product and the process. I was debating trim alternatives and Ryan helped me with that evaluation. He then obtained sign-off on samples which match the final product 100%. I am very detail oriented and can say without hesitation that the workmanship of Ryan's crew was impeccable.

Description of Work
Home Siding - LP SmartSide

Category siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/11/2018

5.0

06/06/2017


David M Deci D.

Extremely well. Started process in February 2017 with estimates and selection of products. Work commenced and completed in early May 2017. Ryan is the ultimate professional. His engineering background shines through in his ability to organize and execute a project from inception to completion. He is detail oriented and practical as well as attentive to aesthetics. Despite a busy schedule, he is consistently responsive to e-mails and requests for site visits. Ryan and his team do quality work with efficiency and pride. Materials and labor are competitively priced.

Description of Work
Replacement of 400 square foot deck and patio door.

Category decks, doors

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2017

Images

Review for Ralston Exteriors - 7022 Maywood Ave, Middleton, WI - 35193653
5.0

05/17/2017


Bennett D.

Ryan and his crew did a fantastic job on my siding. I couldn't be happier with how the project turned out. Ryan was responsive and his crew was very polite and did an excellent job. I would recommend Ralston exteriors to anyone who needs this kind of job done.

Description of Work
Siding and gutters

Category gutter repair, siding

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/17/2017

5.0

02/25/2017


Jeff N.

Everything went well, the roof looks great, the siding replaced from hail damage also looks great. Good communication, no problems.

Description of Work
Roof replacement and siding replacement.

Category roofing, siding

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/10/2016