Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PARKS ELECTRICAL

Founded 1991 • With Angi since October 2008

Parks Electrical Service Inc has been in business since January 1, 1991. We are proud to be a small locally owned business in the Madison area. Our family owned business is located in Middleton Wisconsin where we have lived for over 40 years. We have also lived and worked in the Madison area all of our lives. We have a true sense of community and enjoy doing business with our friends and neighbors throughout the Madison and Dane county area. We have 4 full time electricians and 1 Home Theater Specialist. We work with several local subcontractors from one man operations to 50 man operations.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(31) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 31 reviews
David H.
5.0
07/12/2022
Brian arrived right on time, was very careful, quite meticulous and obviously very experienced. He did a great job installing our new pendant lights in a rather difficult spot to access in our kitchen. We will definitely call Parks Electrical again when we next need an electrician!
Description of Work
Pendant Light Installation
Category
electrician, lighting
David H.
5.0
06/06/2022
We were exceedingly pleased with Brian. He showed up on time, was extremely efficient, knowledgeable and always concerned with keeping our home clean. We are pleased to give Parks Electrical our highest endorsement.
Description of Work
convert recessed cans to junction boxes for pendant lighting
Category
electrician, lighting
william j E.
5.0
10/31/2020
Parks has ALWAYS performed top-notch work for us with the highest level of professional standards; always done competently, respectfully, and courteously. The work has always been at very reasonable pricing with absolutely NO surprises. Also, it seems that we always find one or two additional things we'd like them to do while at our home; no problem--they just adjust and get the additional work completed with a smile. We trust them to quickly respond to our calls for help and they have never, ever disappointed us. For this recent service call, they had to come back three time and we were NEVER billed for a trip charge.
Description of Work
We have called on Parks Electric for all kinds of related needs for more than 15 years; most recently, to assist us with a installation of a home security system.
Category
electrician, phone wiring, ceiling fans
Curran R.
5.0
10/30/2020
Went very well. They did a nice job installing the antenna and cleaning up after themselves. Antenna works great!
Description of Work
Exterior antenna installation
Category
electrician, tv antenna
Bruce M.
5.0
06/25/2019
Parks Electrical has worked on many projects for me since 2016. The latest was adding electrical for a bathroom remodel and installing a chandelier in our hallway and lights over bookshelves in the family room. They have also done electrical for a master bath remodel and a kitchen remodel. Steve Parks runs a small company and often is busy with more work than he can sometimes handle (a good sign) , but I have always found him to be very conscientious about returning calls and working to provide the best service he can on my schedule. During the latest project his crew had installed a new light outlet in our shower and the tile contractor didn't want install the tile because he was unsure about clearance for the light. I called Steve and he came over in 15 minutes to explain to the tile installer which light was being installed. Work continued immediately. We moved here from Washington DC in 2013. I learned in DC that once I find a professional and trustworthy contractor I working with them, just as I would a good doctor. As I said above, I have been using Parks Electrical since 2016.
Description of Work
bathroom remodel, install hall lighting, install bookshelf lighting
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

We can't thank you enough [Member Name Removed] for your kind review of the Parks Electric Team. We strive to be the best in the Madison area and are ecstatic that we were able to help provide you with your needs. Thank you for writing such an awesome review! David Parks
Andrea C.
4.0
03/22/2017
They sent out a bunch of younger guys, which is fine, they did the work correctly. I didn't feel like I had good communication with the owner of the business and consequently they double billed us. That was annoying, to get a double bill. We had to call and say we already paid it. Luckily we had all the paperwork that we had paid and had to send it back and say no, this is what we had done and here is your bill that we paid. They were like, oh we sent you the bill and you paid it already ok great, never mind then. It was a weird thing to have happen. They were "fine". The work was ok, but the billing could have been more precise.
Description of Work
Installed several outdoor lights.
Category
lighting
Julie G.
2.0
12/30/2016
Work was fine, but had reception issues. Called several times and left messages and wouldn't call me back. Took the money and ran.
Description of Work
TV antenna installed
Category
electrician, tv antenna

Service Provider Response

We apologize for any issues you are having but this is the first time we are aware of any issue. We are more then happy to fix or correct any issues. When this was completed everything was checked and confirmed by both the home owner and the installer that both parties are satisfied. We encourage you to adjust your review as its a bold statement to say that we took your money and ran. We are a company that takes pride in all our projects and to see a happy customer at the end of the project. Customer referrals are how we obtain 95% of all our business. Thank you for a review good or bad as it helps us develop our company for the future but at the same time incorrect info only hurts.
Jennifer M.
5.0
09/24/2015
Everything went great on a multitude of issues that Parks Electric handled for us recently. We have always been very happy with their expertise and friendliness. Steve runs a great business and Dave has really developed an expertise in home theater systems. We have done business with Parks Electric since 1993 . We also have several other family members that have been long time customers of Parks Electric. This family business is a class act. After living in other cities where finding trustworthy, quality professionals that offer top service was often a challenge, we are thrilled to be back in Madison working with the friendly, knowledgeable professionals at Parks Electric
Description of Work
Worked on troubleshooting issues we were having with our surround sound AV system. They checked wiring, replaced an AV system component, mounted a new tv, installed an antenna for the other t.v.s in the house. They also checked on issues we were having with our Wifi and moved a wall mounted space heater for us.
Category
electrician, home theater design, tv antenna
Mark N.
5.0
09/18/2015
I called Parks Electric to install an electric car charger in my garage. They had to run the wiring from the panel in the basement out to the garage. They used high quality materials and the job was top notch. They cleaned up after themselves and were accommodating to my schedule. Speaking of schedule, they were very prompt and got the job done quickly.
Description of Work
Installed an electric car charger in the garage
Category
electrician
Mary M.
5.0
03/10/2014
Came promptly. Spent several hours checking furnace. Determined what new part was needed and also checked fuse box which was fire hazard. Replaced melted fuses. Only charged $13.00 for parts. Excellent service. Trustworthy. Highly skilled professional.
Description of Work
solved furnace problem,.
Category
electrician
Leslie H.
5.0
03/07/2014
In addition to diagnosing the reason one of our recessed lights was turning itself on and off and teaching me about the correct bulbs to use in the fixture, the provider adjusted the grips on the fixtures so that it will be easier for me to change the bulbs in the future. With all of the many light bulb options available to the consumer today it is easy to purchase a bulb that is not intended for the fixture you have. The provider took the time to give me a mini-lesson on what to purchase and why for the various fixtures in my home.
Description of Work
Diagnosed electrical problem and provided advice on preventing the problem from reoccuring
Category
electrician
James S.
5.0
02/25/2014
I am very satisfied with their work. They are very prompt, professional, and helpful. They are willing to make suggestions and talk with you about what you really would like to do. Before they came to do the job, there was an exposed wire that had to be taken off, they took care that before they did the actual work.
Description of Work
I used the services of Parks Electrical.
Category
electrician
Terry G.
5.0
07/29/2013
Dave kept in contact with us from our initial communication via email until the day he arrived. His emails explained exactly what needed to be done, what parts he would use to accomplish the result we wanted. Along with the cost of the project He showed up the day and time he was scheduled. Dave needed to cut holes in our walls so he laid out a covering to protect our floors. In no time he was finished and the result was exactly what we wanted and expected. I inquired about the cost and a recommendation on installing surround sound and Dave explained different options that may work for us. I would recommend Parks Electric for any electrical or audio/video projects you may need completed.
Description of Work
We installed our TV over our fireplace. We had Dave from Parks Electric come in and reroute all wires and cables so they were no longer visible.
Category
electrician
Diane D.
5.0
07/25/2013
Called Parks Electrical Services the following morning. Scheduled an appointment for later in the morning. He showed up on time. Very friendly and professional. He diagnosed the problem and happened to have the needed fixture in his truck so was able to fix it on the spot. The fixture is recessed in the ceiling and some fiberglass insulation came out of the hole and wound up on the floor. Not only did he show up on time and fix the problem but he cleaned up the fiberglass from the floor and the countertops. The bill for the service was a very reasonable at $112.21. I will use them again if we need any electrical work done.
Description of Work
We had a sudden electrical problem with a light fixture in the kitchen late at night. There was considerable flickering and eventually the circuit breaker blew. The service man came to the house, diagnosed the problem and replaced the defective fixture.
Category
electrician, lighting
Karen R.
5.0
06/28/2013
Overall, I had a great experience with Parks Electric. I needed help with installing some rear speakers for my entertainment system. I need to get rid of the wires that lead to the rear speakers. They were able to run the wires underneath the floor between my living room and basement and then intalled rear speakers that were flush against the wall of our living room. They also installed recessed lighting in our master bedroom and living room. I was impressed with the quality of their work. They were also very prompt in providing their services. I would be happy to call them again if I need additional electrical work!
Description of Work
They installed wall-mounted rear speakers for our home entertainment system. They also installed recessed lighting in two rooms
Category
electrician, lighting, home theater design
Dan M.
5.0
05/30/2013
Parks Electrical Service was able to come out the day after I called them. My house has a very old low-voltage switching system, and several light switches were not working. I worried that no one would have experience with such an uncommon system, but the electrician who came out had a similar system in his home. He was able to find the cause of the problem almost immediately, and the lights were back on with only one hour of work. Highly recommended, and I will contact them again in the future for low voltage switching / home automation work.
Description of Work
Identified an issue with the low voltage switching relay system and fixed the light switches.
Category
electrician, lighting
Michael S.
5.0
05/20/2013
My interaction with Parks Electrical was good. They were professional, quick, prompt and knowledgeable. He got the work done. He cleaned up and he knew what he was doing.
Description of Work
Parks Electrical came sorted out the correct setup of my home theater system.
Category
home theater design
Matt G.
5.0
04/01/2013
Great job and understood what we wanted.
Description of Work
Installed new outlets and lights as part of door work. Recommended by contractor.
Category
electrician
Jeanne G.
5.0
07/17/2012
Steve found the problem quickly. He couldn't tell me why the setting kept reverting to one that did not make use of our 5 speakers, but he showed me how to fix the problem if it recurs.
Description of Work
After switching from Dish to DirectTV, we discovered that since the installers replaced the equipment, our home theater speakers did not work with sound from the TV or DVD player (although the speakers did work with the tuner and cd player). We assumed that the installers had misplaced one or more of the cords. We were unable to figure out what was gone. The DirectTV guys came back and they confidently told me that my optical cord had "gone bad," and that this was a common occurrence. So off we went to Best Buy where a clerk tested our optical cord and said it was working just fine (and that these cords almost never went bad). So we didn't call back the DirectTV guys. The Best Buy folks said that the Geek Squad would charge us $175 just to come over. Steve agreed to come over a few days after I called, and figured out withing 10 minutes what was wrong. The tuner had been re-set for just one speaker (not 5), and he showed me how to set it correctly. I feel sort of embarassed not to have figured this out for myself, but I doubt that I would have found the solution without help. Home theater set-ups have gotten really complicated.
Category
home theater design
Andy G.
5.0
06/03/2011
When I called, their schedule was booked for more than a week, but since it was a small project they offered to keep us on the list and fit us in as time allowed within the next few days. I hadn't heard back 3-4 days later and was wondering whether they'd forgotten me, as is all too common with contractors. But sure enough, they called and asked if they could visit in the afternoon, which worked fine. The work took 90 minutes and seems to have been done well. The worker who installed our lights was very quiet and didn't seem eager to answer questions. But he seemed competent at his work, and he got everything done as expected, so I'd rather have that than an outgoing person who's not as competent. The work cost less then I expected based on work with other electricians.
Description of Work
We had them remove a couple of fluorescent box lights from our basement ceiling and install new ones that we had already purchased.
Category
electrician, lighting
Thomas W.
5.0
07/05/2010
My wife and I are very impressed with the service and quality of work done by Parks Electric. David came in and looked things over initially to give us an idea of what he would need to do to run the wires and install the theater system. He gave a very honest and accurate estimate. On the day of service he was punctual and efficient. He was able to perform all work with minimal damage to existing structure (drywall). He also repaired any access holes that he used to perform the job. She system looks excellent and we couldn't be happier with the finished product. We certainly recommend Parks Electrical to anyone looking to have a home theater installed in their home.
Description of Work
Install home theater including mounting TV, running speaker wire through flloor and mounting sourround speakers.
Category
electrician, home theater design
Lew T.
5.0
06/11/2010
Staff were very competent, punctual and responsive. I highly recommend this company.
Description of Work
Cleaned and updated service box, installed missing conduit.
Category
electrician
David L.
5.0
05/26/2010
Steve came out and took a look and also helped us with a few suggestions that we took. The electrician came the next week and did the work for the rough and really did a great job. A second electrician finished his job early and stopped to help the 1st finish up. Both were friendly and very nice. I am nearing completion of the project and will call to have them do the final work after everything else is complete.
Description of Work
I did a complete remodel of our main bathroom and hired Parks Electrical to do the electrical work. Three new circuits were run from the electric panel in the garage to the bath for the outlets and lights, the spa tub, and the spa tub water heater. They added a canned light and switch to the bathtub area, moved the two can lights over the two sinks and rewired the exhaust fan and light.
Category
electrician
Jason R D.
5.0
05/07/2010
Steve was able to schedule an appointment the same day I had a problem. He arrived right on time, and diagnosed and repaired the electrical short in a quick and efficient manner.
Description of Work
Diagnosed and repaired electrical problem in living room.
Category
electrician
Daniel Y.
5.0
10/29/2008
It went well. Steve arrived on time, set to work and found the problem.
Description of Work
I had a short in one electrical socket. This short caused a circuit breaker to flip and not reset. It took more than an hour to find the problem socket, but Steve was patient and persistent.
Category
electrician

Phone

Address

7411 VOSS PKWY

Middleton, WI 53562

Other Information

Services offered

ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR. Residential & Commercial. Old and New Work, Service and Panel Upgrades,Troubleshooting, Knob & Tube Replacement, Code Corrections, Household Generators, Surge/Lightning Protection, Hot Tubs/Spas, Lighting - Recessed, Track Lights, Under Cabinet, LED, Low Voltage (Landscape), Ceiling Fans, Receptacles, Switches, GFI/Appliance Circuits, Smoke Detectors NEST, Hybrid Charging Stations, NEST Thermostat, HDTV Mounting, Local ANT, SONOS Speakers , BOSE Sound System, & Much More!

Payment options

Check

FAQ

PARKS ELECTRICAL is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

PARKS ELECTRICAL is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

PARKS ELECTRICAL accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Ask PARKS ELECTRICAL for details on free project estimates.

No, PARKS ELECTRICAL does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, PARKS ELECTRICAL does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, PARKS ELECTRICAL offers emergency services.

Yes, PARKS ELECTRICAL offers warranties.

PARKS ELECTRICAL offers the following services: ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR. Residential & Commercial. Old and New Work, Service and Panel Upgrades,Troubleshooting, Knob & Tube Replacement, Code Corrections, Household Generators, Surge/Lightning Protection, Hot Tubs/Spas, Lighting - Recessed, Track Lights, Under Cabinet, LED, Low Voltage (Landscape), Ceiling Fans, Receptacles, Switches, GFI/Appliance Circuits, Smoke Detectors NEST, Hybrid Charging Stations, NEST Thermostat, HDTV Mounting, Local ANT, SONOS Speakers , BOSE Sound System, & Much More!

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Kool View Co

5.0

(18)

Angi Certified

Kool View Co

Kool View began business in 1973 selling glass coatings to save energy and stop furniture fading. In 1979 we were awarded a US. Department of Energy grant to study the "honeycomb" concept of window insulation. In 1982 we were granted a patent on our very own "Seal-A-Shade" product. We also began selling passive solar rooms. Over time passive solar sunrooms became our main product. We have built over 2000 sun room, patio room and room additions. Our construction focus has always been saving energy, improving the home environment and adding long term value to your home. If you have a unique design in mind or a challenging job site you have come to the right place! With with our trained staff of designers and craftsmen, Kool View is in the position to make your dream room an energy efficient reality. Kool View offers you the best of the "High Tech" corporate world while remaining a locally owned and operated business. We never forget that our customers are also our neighbors. Drop into our showroom or call us for a free, in-home estimate. We'd love to hear from you!  

Correct Cabling

5.0

(16)

Angi Certified

Correct Cabling

Hello there! I hope I can earn your business. Please see my website and Google business profile for Correct Cabling LLC to see more work samples and customer reviews. We bring a lot of value with the right knowledge, tools, and work ethic we bring to every project. I have cabled thousands of homes and would treat your home or business like my own. Thank you for your interest!  

Time 2 Remodel LLC

5.0

(57)

Angi Certified

Time 2 Remodel LLC

TIME 2 REMODEL, LLC is located in Madison, Wisconsin. Curt Dimmig has owned & operated his own business since 1999. Curt is a 3rd generation carpenter and started working in the remodeling business as a child in his parents kitchen & bath remodeling business. He often worked side by side with his father and mother designing, building and installing custom kitchens & baths. Since then, his range of skill, knowledge and experience has continued to grow to an award winning level. The time it takes to figure out a remodel project is what we take PRIDE IN HELPING our customers with. We stand out with our CREATIVE SOLUTIONS and by PERSONALLY ASSISTING you with all your selections (plumbing, cabinetry,tile, flooring, etc) while walking you through the remodeling process.