Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2010

4.5

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

N 50 W 13740 Overview Dr Ste D

Menomonee Falls, WI 53051

Description

Joseph Douglas Homes is a semi-custom home builder and home remodeling expert who only uses quality home building and remodeling materials and who has a proven track record of highly satisfied customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/15/2017


Dan S.

In a word, this group was 'excellent'. We worked with Deron Butler and Dave Hribar the most, both of them are very skilled builders, good communicators and had a lot of patience. They kept an eye on the budget and came up with creative design solutions. We have lived in the house for just over 2 years now and we can attest to their follow thru on punch list items and the quality of construction is very good. We would recommend Deron and his team to anyone looking for a custom home builder.

Description of Work
They helped us design and build a custom home.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

You guys were great to work with! You have great conceptual ideas in what design would work on your very challenging lot which would have chased most builders and buyers away. Together we came up with a great design that looks fantastic and is the definition of a unique and handsome custom home. We wish you many years of happiness and enjoyment in your home and thanks again.
1.0

04/27/2016


Keith Z.

Description of Work
The never called back after leaving messages

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I would like to thank you for you frank and honest feedback. Yes not getting return calls is frustrating. However, we do not have record of any of the calls you said were made. I apologize if somehow we missed you leaving a message somewhere. Best of luck on your project.
3.0

02/04/2016


jungeun K.

Description of Work
They come with a drawing of my kitchen without measurements. The drawing that you can get for free with free estimates from other remodeling company. A sales representative told me the design will be ready in 2 weeks but didn't make in 2 weeks. I had to call them in to see it. The designs were not impressive.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/22/2016


Lynn H.

Description of Work
We hired Joseph Douglas for basement finishing, total of 1400 square feet including a bedroom, full bathroom, large recreation space, bar, wine closet and exercise room. Overall we are very happy with the finished product and all the work that was done. They were receptive to resolving any issues that came up in the course of the remodel. The project did take longer than promised. Work began on May 20, 2015 and was to be done in 10-12 weeks. The project passed it's final inspection on September 22, 2015 and there were a couple punch list items that were completed after that. Despite that we are really pleased with the finished product. All work was done to a very high standard and we would absolutely hire them again in the future

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thanks for your kind comments. Yes we had a bit of a struggle with a couple of items but in the end our perseverance prevailed and your basement really turned out nice! We very much appreciated the opportunity and enjoyed working with you. Here's to many years of enjoyment for you and your family in your new lower level!
5.0

05/04/2015


Steven F.

Very good. We were very impressed with the proposal and Mike's thoroughness in his quote. He was also very good at getting back to us when we contacted him either thru email or phone.

Description of Work
We met and discussed a kitchen renovation project with Mike B. He was extremely professional yet personable at the same time. We talked about visions for expanding and opening up our smaller kitchen area to a more open concept kitchen. He provided a thorough and detailed itemized quote to provide a turnkey solution.

Category remodeling, home builders, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed]. I'm sorry we did not have the opportunity to complete this work for you. Should you decide to move forward, please let us know. Mike and I thank you for working with us in getting you that fabulous design that i know will absolutely transform you home should you allow us to do the work. Take care and hope to hear from you soon!
5.0

01/20/2015


Shelly D.

They provided what we were looking for, we just decided not to do the remodel

Description of Work
Estimate on remodel

Category remodeling, home builders

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity to provide you with an estimate to add the master suite addition to your home. Your home is well suited for that style of addition. So should you ever decide to move forward, please let us know as we'd love to work with you. Thanks, Deron
5.0

01/05/2015


Rebecca C.

They got the house built in about 7-8 months. The crew was all very professional, responsive, and on time. That was one of the reasons we went with them was because of how responsive they were. It was nice to work with them. The person who managed the construction was great and they kept us up to date on the scheduling. Overall, it was a very good experience.

Description of Work
They built my house.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you! The changes you requested to our Newberry Model were awesome! The deluxe bath and Craftsman elevation really turned out great. Here's to many more years of continued happiness in your lovely home. Thanks again!!!
4.0

01/05/2015


Jeff B.

They got the house built in about 7 months. I thought they were pretty reasonable as far as doing quality work and we have been really happy with the house. The sales person Jan was really easy to work with.

Description of Work
They built my house.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

Its good to see you are still in the Bristol ranch model that we built you 7 years ago. We just showcased that model in the 2014 MBA Parade of Homes and it is still a crowd favorite. Here's to many more years of enjoyment!! Thanks again.
5.0

01/05/2015


Jill G.

They were wonderful.

Description of Work
They built my house.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

Glad to hear you are still enjoying your Stanton model home 10 years later!!! That continues to be a very popular plan for us. Dave our design and construction manager is still living in Pabst Farms and still really loves that community. I thank you for your your kind words and wishing you continued enjoyment in your Joseph Douglas home.
1.0

05/19/2014


James F V.

Nothing to report as after a 3-4 week delay I found out they decided not to bid the contract.

Description of Work
Wanted to redo our kitchen. Received reference to Joseph Douglas from Milwaukee Home Show. Received a call and gentleman came out and reviewed our current kitchen and we discussed what we were looking to do. When he left that was the last I heard from them until three-four weeks later when I called them and got a return call shortly thereafter that they had decided not to bid our job.....and forgot to tell us!!

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry this did not work out for us to submit a bid. Unfortunately the scope of work initially provided changed significantly by the time of our onsite meeting. As a result we declined to bid. This being said, it should have been communicated to you much sooner and I will discuss this with our sales staff. For that I am truly sorry. Since it was a free consultation, we both were only out the time of the meeting. I wish you good luck on your project.
5.0

01/21/2014


Michael B.

Our experience was pretty good. The price that we were looking at was about $2, 40,000.00 for the house. They have nice model homes and they include a lot of the stuff on the base price so they do not do a low base price and jack us up on additional price. They are very professional.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Joseph Douglas Homes & Remodeling. We were looking to have a home built and we looked at their model homes.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Yes we pride ourselves in what we call "Complete Base Pricing" for our homes. The "base" price includes everything you need to build a home including site improvements, permits, etc. We take this one step further and include the most commonly upgraded items right into the base price including granite tops, dimensional shingles, hardiplank siding and much more. And finally, we will guarantee a fixed cost on the site improvements for improved lots to give you peace of mind during construction because we don't give you artificially low allowances to lure you into signing a contract. Should you decide to build, I hope you keep us in mind. Thanks and good luck!
5.0

01/15/2014


Michael B.

Went very well in all areas except Tri-Town Heating & Cooling. I redid work previously done by Tri-Town and JD reimbursed me for all costs charged by Tri-Town. Was very unhappy with quality of Tri-Town Heating & Cooling. However Joseph Douglas did everythighn they could to make it right. I would never recommend Tri-Town, but I would definitely recommend Joseph Douglas.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen and living room remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

The color selections and material chosen turned out fabulous! Nice job! It was a plaeasure to have worked on this kitchen remodel project with you. Again, I am very sorry that Tri-Town's work was not to your liking and thanks for working with us to get that resolved. Thanks again enjoy. Photos of this job are on Facebook under Joseph Douglas Homes and Remodling.
3.0

01/10/2014


Dale L.

Service was provided

Description of Work
Remodel basement

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working with you. I'm sorry that you felt our work did not warrant higher ratings. I thought the job turned out very nicely given the scope of work and area that we had to work with. Should there by any issues or concerns with the quality of work, please give me a call. Thanks again and enjoy your updated space.
5.0

12/06/2013


Adam M.

We looked at about a half dozen different contractors four our basement remodel and the group at Joseph Douglas stood out from the rest. Not the lowest bid, not the highest bid-but the group of people we felt most comfortable working with and had the most confidence in. We had some very specific details/design ideas in mind and they did an excellent job listening, making suggestions, and bringing our vision to life. Excellent communication throughout the process-keeping us apprised of the coming weeks schedule and making sure the project flowed smoothly. All subcontractors used were excellent in terms of promptness, quality of work, and following up on questions and changes. Very happy with the quality of materials used as well. The finished product is excellent, we couldn't be happier with how it turned out!

Description of Work
Full lower level remodel, including bar, rec room, spare room/office, fireplace, and half-bath.

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), Thank you for your wonderful comments. We at Joseph Douglas Homes work very hard before, during, and after the sale for our customers. Your basement was a great collaborative design between the two of us and the final result speaks for itself. Nice job on the interior color selections! You worked very well with our interior designer. You were wonderful people to work with so on behalf of Mike, Kim, Dave, and myself, thank you so much for your business as it was truly our pleasure! Deron Butler Owner, Joseph Douglas Homes
5.0

09/30/2013


JULIA V.

We were looking for a builder, and we were drawn to Joseph Douglas because we liked their floorplans, the nice features that are included, and most importantly, their willingness to modify the floorplans to our needs. They listened to everything we wanted, and figured out the best way to accomplish it. While we were searching for a lot, Mike and Deron worked with us modifying several of their floorplans, and pricing them out. We are VERY picky, and they were able to accommodate every single thing we asked for. Mike also helped us search for a lot, and gave us his honest opinion about the lots. Unfortunately, we did not find a lot that matched our budget and location. If we do eventually find the right lot, we will use Joseph Douglas for sure. These guys are a class act. They are honest, responsive, and really listen to what the customer is looking for. We can't say enough nice things about them, and we really hope we have the opportunity to use them in the future.

Description of Work
We worked with Mike and Deron on modifying and pricing floorplans. Mike also helped us search for a lot.

Category home builders

Service Provider Response

I'm happy to be working with you again on the new lot that you found. I look forward to building your customized home in the very near future!
5.0

02/20/2013


Kirk K.

-Design process took time but general contractor was responsive + considered my input. -Start date was delayed due to issues w/the city approval process that were no fault of general contractor

Description of Work
2nd floor dormer off year of home -includes ccreation of den w/entertainment center/wet bar -includes 2nd floor full bath and add walk in closet

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thanks for your kink comments. Yes the city can be difficult to work with at times so thanks for your patience. Once the approvals were granted things did go a lot smoother. That was a great idea for you to have us put the addition over the existing kitchen/dinette area. I hope you are enjoying the new master bath and the 2nd floor living space that was added. Once you have all the pictures hung and the entertainment area set up, give me a call as I'd love the chance to come see the completely finished project and take some photos. Thanks again.
5.0

02/06/2013


Dennis K.

Excellent experience. This project was very smooth due to Joseph Douglas and his sub and his expediter "ability to listen and respond to the customer.

Description of Work
Lower level, Family room, bedroom, full bath, fill kitchen, children's loft/playarea.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], You guys have been fantastic to work with. You basement finishing project was breathtaking. Thanks for allowing us to enter it into the "M Magazine Remodeler of the Year Awards". I have very honored that it won both the "Peoples Choice" award (top award of the night) and the "Gold Award" (top in its category). I am also very honored to have your home's project on the cover of "M Magazine" this month. I know working with reporters and camera crews was a lot of work on your part so thanks so much for doing that. The project results have been very well received by peers and customers alike. The selections you made and especially the wall murals you had done were 2nd to none. Nice work and I hope you continue to enjoy your finished basement space. Thanks again.
5.0

08/17/2012


Steve P.

Overall experience was great. One of the few contractors we've dealt with over the years that made the experience pleasant. Deron was extremely helpful and patient with us from floor plan design, selections, change orders, and various questions. We are very pleased with the quality of the materials and the finished product.

Description of Work
Complete basement remodel.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Member, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was truly a pleasure to work with you and the end product turned out dynamite. You can see the photos on our facebook page listed as "Pabian Basement" if you haven't already seen them. Thanks again and many years of enjoyment to you. Deron Owner Joseph Douglas Homes & Remodeling LLC

    Other local Pros in your area

    M&D PAINTERS

    With over 15 years of combianed experience, M&D Painters offers profesional interior and exterior painting support for either large or small projects. Our satisfaction is to see your vision come to reality--to convert your projects in tangible master pieces. We are passionate to bring full satisfaction to our customers and help them obtain desired results!  

    Rehome Renovation

    Rehome Renovation specializes in in interior and exterior painting, drywall, flooring, appliance and fixture installation, and much more to help you create the home of your dreams. With over five years' experience remodeling various types of properties, we are well-suited to help you find your style and meet your budget. From complete home makeovers to small painting projects, Rehome Renovation can help you design a home you love.  

    Affordable Painting and Remodeling LLC

    We have been in business since 1994. We specialize in Interior Painting and home remodeling. We are fully licensed and fully insured. We take pride in providing quality workmanship and quality service. We accept all major credit cards and provide free Estimates.  

    Offers by Affordable Painting and Remodeling LLC on Angi
    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Building of single-family homes; remodel kitchens and baths; finish basements; new additions.

    Services Not Offered

    Handyman, appliance repair, jobs under $20,000

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING

    How is JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING overall rated?

    JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING open?

    JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING provide

    JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offer free estimates?

    Yes, JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offers free project estimates.

    Does JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING?

    Yes, JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offers warranties.

    What services does JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offer?

    JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING offers the following services: Building of single-family homes; remodel kitchens and baths; finish basements; new additions.

    Are there any services JOSEPH DOUGLAS HOMES & REMODELING does not offer?

    Handyman, appliance repair, jobs under $20,000