Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Westring Construction LLC

Founded 2003 • With Angi since December 2006

4.7

(27) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4617 Dovetail Drive Suite 8

Madison, WI 53704

Description

Providing Solutions to Unique and Complex Remodeling Challenges

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

03/31/2022


Barbara H.

This is my review and opinion of construction defect cause by westring construction LLC at my house.Westring construction was constructed for new construction of a front porch and roof. The defect re-laid to the uneven rough surface of front porch being built. This effect resulted in a away roofline in uneven unsightly appearance which indicated an issue within an issue framing in project, the trustworthy was not done symmetrically or evenly, yet seeding and singles replace on the rough. Additionally, there was lack of flashing in a valleys form by the new rough being attached to the old rough and extend to be usage cocking material at the connection. After the bringing this issue to the attention to westring contruction multiple times. I finally met with the contractor who denied faulty workmanship and refuse to resolve the issues in a timely manner. This resulted in my hiring an atty. to try to resolve a required repairs and may cope financial loses. My initial trust in the contractor resolve disappointing, frustrating in expensive experience. in some, use quiet prior in signing a contract in be sure quality control measure are met through out the construction process.

Description of Work
Building of a new front porch and roof.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Ma'am, We did a great job and you said so with the exception of the roof problem. Unfortunately, you and my employee at the time clashed and made things worse. He has left my employ. We resolved this long ago and there should be no reason to open old wounds. Its time to cease with any further social media opinions. It's water under the bridge. I forgave you, now you can forgive me. You've been paid, dear. Be well and live long. Peace.
2.0

12/26/2016


Ross K.

Didn't hite them.

Description of Work
Overpriced bid to finish a basement bedroom... $25,000 really for no structural work.

Category drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for for the A rating on Responsiveness and Punctuality. I understand the D rating on Price, but here's my response: I offer a free consultation and preliminary estimate. What I provided you in August of 2016 was a preliminary estimate. My estimates are typically high (and I mentioned that it would be) because I include the contingencies (the "what if's"). If you were interested in hiring me, I would have charged you for the estimate (included in the initial preliminary estimate), and includes the planning and design service. The deliverable I provide at the end of the design and planning period is what I differentiate as a BID. If you are willing to pay someone to put together a bid, your expectations of them have gone way up. I have to live by that. I would be committed to make sure I can deliver what I promise: quality and an agreed upon project timeline or duration. I rely and operate on developing relationships because I want to be your go-to contractor in the future. We are a process oriented and relationship business, not a transactional business. Hence, price is not what I base my professional services on. Yes, I cost more but am competitive in the companies that offer quality and service, not price, as their foundation. Regarding what I do: I can offer you three things basically: Timelines (in remodeling your home); Quality (products and level of service), and Price. If the price is high, the quality better be high and the duration or timeline would be probably a little longer. Lastly, I usually recommend prospects that if you are going to move in the near future, that you leave the remodeling to the buyers. What if the potential buyer wanted a exercise room? Your basement had a large entertainment area with a bar, a beautiful exterior walk-out patio entertainment area, a theater room, and a spare bedroom. The potential buyers may not want the 5th or 6th bedroom (sorry, I forget how many bedrooms were there already). Or maybe they'd rather have more storage and they may chose to do nothing with that space. So, I am grateful for your honest feedback. I wish you well in your new home in Arizona! See below for our Vision, Mission, and Purpose. Best to you and Barb. Sincerely, James R. Westring CR Our Vision: Westring Construction LLC Delivers the Highest Standards of Products & Services in the Home Improvement and Remodeling Industry. Our Mission: To collaboratively design & create a unique and modern sense of space by: ~ Delivering remodeling projects within the project's timeframe & budget; ~ Providing consistent industry standard work quality; ~ Ensuring all contracted customers and prospects are treated fairly and courteously; ~ Ensuring customer satisfaction by keeping the customer informed on project status; ~ Providing a rewarding and safe work environment; ~ Providing fair compensation to its employees and subcontractors. Our Purpose Statement: We Promise to educate, inform, and respect our customers, trade partners, and employees and conduct business with the highest integrity & professionalism.
5.0

06/28/2016


Harry C.

Description of Work
Westring built a complete kitchen for us. Despite the inevitable problems here and there, Their team was courteous and responsive. Highly recommend these very hardworking and pleasant to work with folks, and thanks to Angie for helping me find them.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member Name Removed] Thank you for such a nice review. I am glad you handled the goofy things that did happen on your remodel so graciously and that you understand that there may be issues from time to time as you move from design to completion. We cannot improve without feedback from you and others. It seems I learn new things about remodeling even though I have been remodeling which seems like forever. Best to you, James
4.0

12/14/2015


Michael H.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

08/11/2015


Michael H.

The Westring crew were professional and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
Rebuilding of shed.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], It was certainly a pleasure working for you. I am super happy you are pleased with the work. James
4.0

07/29/2015


Susan G.

James and his crew are craftsmen and do high-quality work, and their prices are reasonable. Our small job was squeezed in among the company's larger jobs, and wound up taking many more weeks than it should have. There were some communication issues as well, around differences in specifications.

Description of Work
Repaired damaged roofing underlayer, replaced roof and installed railing on Juliette porch. Repaired wooden window frame damaged by water. Replaced screen doors.

Category handyman service, remodeling, roofing, water damage restoration, replacement windows, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Susie, Thank you for your review. I am blessed to have such great customers such as yourself. I am sorry I was rated lower for response time, punctuality, and professionalism. I think the challenge there was that it was a relatively small project and we had to dovetail yours with other projects that was on our plates. We did have a problem with the door order and have since changed the way we confirm with our clients before we purchase. We also set expectations differently with the smaller projects. We do appreciate all the work we have done for you over the past few years! James
5.0

06/29/2015


JOHN E G.

Overall, very well. We expected there would be glitches but didn't know what they would be. The old floor tile, which was falling apart at one end of the room, was almost impossible to remove in most places. We had to send all the cabinet doors to a shop for routing because they no longer make hinges to fit them. One old cabinet needed replacement. There was a delay in getting a butcher block countertop. Despite all this the work was completed within the estimated time and under budget. We're happy with the results.

Description of Work
Remodeling a 59-year-old kitchen in an 87-year-old house.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

This is a customer who has used our services in the past and we are grateful that they have come back to us again. We are grateful for customers like John and Bonnie.
5.0

01/23/2015


Benjamin L.

You can't say enough about communication. Without it, nothing goes to plan. It's great to not have to deal with voice mail or email as James (who I would assume is the owner) answered his phone, listened to what I had to say, took down my information and got back to me within the hour with my answer. Excellent! Westring Construction had nothing to gain by referring me to his structural engineer... except perhaps my future business!

Description of Work
Provided advice on a structural engineering question.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. I can't always provide services but I try to make connections and help facilitate solutions. Good luck on resolving your issue. If you need carpentry services, feel free to contact me.
5.0

01/22/2015


Ann H.

James and Gary were great to work with. Figured out what was wrong and took steps to fix it. We're more than happy to recommend them. Answered questions right away and left the site cleaner than they found it!

Description of Work
They fixed a leak in the roof.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Always a pleasure to have the opportunity to come back time and again to help with the things that need to be done. I appreciate the trust and confidence you have in us!
5.0

08/05/2014


Sharon S.

It went well. One can light was disconnected. He returned to fix it the day after we notified him. they worked quickly and cleaned up the site when done.

Description of Work
installed bathroom fan

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear [removed member and spouse name], I had the pleasure of working with you in the past and was pleased you asked me back to install the fan. We are grateful for your business and enjoy working with you both. Thank you.
5.0

04/30/2014


Dennis Michael V.

It was great. They showed us photos throughout the work as they were progressing. They let us know the good news and bad, when it came up. We were unsure what was needed, and they did a great job of keeping us updated. They did a great job of keeping the cost down. We thought it was going to cost twice what it did. They were accurate, informative and economical. Our Realtor said he would be good to go with and trustworthy as well. He is particularly sensitive to maintaining homes with historic value. The important thing is that this gentleman knows exactly how to work with older homes, and did an awesome job.

Description of Work
He did guttering and soffits on an historic property.

Category remodeling, roofing

Service Provider Response

We work hard at being a Relationship Based Company and we believe good communication is key especially when the customer is not physically in the area as was in this case. Another good think is when the customer is involved by asking questions and taking interest in the work being done. Kudos to the customer, really.
5.0

01/19/2014


Thomas R.

It went well. The air sealing and insulation were in response to a home energy audit, and involved getting at some difficult areas. After the job, for the first time in 20 years in this house, we could smell kitchen cooking a level lower. Until then I guess there was just too much air infiltration. Then this winter we noticed that instead of maintaining an upstairs bedroom at 62 degrees, the furnace did not come on at all after the automatic setback thermostat went from 68 to 62 degrees. It never dropped below 65.

Description of Work
Air sealing in the attic and behind a porch, attic insulation, other insulation

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

It is always so good to hear stories about how positive things happen after air sealing and insulating projects. This is a perfect example! The quality of living here has indeed been improved!
5.0

11/17/2013


Elizabeth K.

James came out and gave me wonderful feedback on our project, timeline and cost. We ended up going with someone else because we wanted to do it "on the cheap" and that isn't really what they do (which I can totally respect). He was very respectful and helpful, even after it became apparent to both of us that he wasn't the right contractor for our job. He even sent a thank you note after the fact. I would ABSOLUTELY call him again for future projects!

Description of Work
Estimate

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

There are many choices one can make about home improvement projects. There are many products and services available. There are also many ways to accomplish things. My way was not appropriate in this case and that is completely understandable. I appreciate that you would consider calling me again.
5.0

09/11/2013


Peg B.

They were actually very elaborate. I had a shallow pitched roof and not enough insulation in the attic and it was really hard to fix because the roof was too shallow but they went up there, they seal the air conditioning duct, they put in more insulation, they had to take sockets off and change the ventilation around. It was quite a complex thing and they did a great job. It really made a difference and I really liked working with Jim. I think they did some other air sealing in other parts of the house too, like in the basement where the wall meets the ceiling. I thought Jim was wonderful to work with, he spent a lot of time talking about how we're going to solve the problem because it was complicated and confusing. He was great to work with and he was very knowledgeable in the issues. I had a bunch of lights in the kitchen that had to be changed out and they did find somebody to supply the lights, we had a little trouble with that, that was more of just the supplier of the lights at that time. There were a lot of choices and it ended up that the couple of the lights worked out right away and they had some of it replaced. He was very thorough and knew a lot about what he was doing. It was pretty expensive.

Description of Work
Westring Construction LLC did come and do some energy insulation and air sealing for me.

Category drywall, handyman service, home inspection, insulation, plastering, remodeling, woodworking, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Thank you for your business and your review. It was a pleasure working with you as well. You were an attentive customer and engaged by asking questions and taking a real interest. My impression is that when customers take an interest in what is going on (or what will go on) in a home's performance (or the improvements being done as in remodeling, it does two things: One, it makes my employees "step up", so to speak, and therefore, take an interest in your affairs and allows them to engage with the customer, to "show off" what they know. It makes them feel good that someone is interested in what they do. Two, it involves the customer because it is you who we are working for. We are a Service Provider, and we want you to know that we take pride in our work and our career. We want you to be satisfied with the end result, and therefore, refer us to others. For that we are grateful.
5.0

06/21/2013


Ann H.

n/a

Description of Work
We had Green Madison do an energy audit and found our house needed help. We contacted 3 contractors, one never returned our email, one wanted us to remove the roof to foam the attic for twenty thousand dollars plus the cost of the roof. James suggested several ideas including foaming the sills in the basement and fixing the soffits to increase flow in the attic. All the work was finished in a timely fashion and those fixes improved the blow test for the energy audit so we got our rebates from Green Madison and Focus on Energy. We liked James so much we are having him do more work for us. He is a remodeling contractor who really understands older homes. His workers are great and cleaned up after themselves. If there is any problems it is understanding the detailed bills. We recommend Westring Construction unreservedly.

Category remodeling, energy audit

Service Provider Response

Dear (removed member name), Being a service provider means customer service from the very beginning. It also means that it doesn't stop when the job is done. It also supports my philosophy that we in this industry are Relationship Based, that is, we are not TRANSACTION Based Business. It is relationship like ours that makes me get up in the morning and do what I do, Thank you for you business and continued support.
5.0

05/22/2013


Josh C.

Westring Construction LLC came on time and he called ahead of time which was nice.

Description of Work
I am in the process of getting an estimate from Westring Construction LLC.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your generous review. We hope we can help you solve your structural issue. At your service, James
3.0

05/17/2013


Kelli-Lee H.

James was prompt in getting back to me after the initial contact and was flexible in scheduling a time for the quote. I received an email shortly afterward stating that he was having computer issues and the quote would be delayed. A couple weeks later I received an email from him asking about a time to schedule a visit to get a quote. After emailing back to let him know that we had already met and I was awaiting a quote from the visit, I received a response stating that I should get it shortly. One month later and having had the job completed by a different agency, I have still not received the quote. Update: After completing this review, I did get both an email and a phone call from James, apologizing for this oversight and offering remediation, which I think was quite professional, given the circumstances.

Description of Work
Visited for an insulation quote

Category insulation

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], First off, I apologize for the series of events that lead to your unfavorable results with my company. There is no excuse for the way I handled the sales and estimating process. Please understand that it was in no way a reflection of you. I take full responsibility for my actions and agree with you on your evaluation of me. We have been inundated with construction remodeling and weatherization projects and we are in the process of developing business strategies to adjust and resolve the issues that companies face while in a growth surge. I will be calling you later this morning to discuss your complaint. Thank you for the opportunity. James Westring
5.0

03/19/2013


Susan G.

We contacted Westring Construction for a preliminary estimate for our remodel and addition to our home built in 1929 (we did not enter into the formal bid stage). James was very knowledgeable and professional. He was quick to respond to our inquiry and very communicative. Although we decided to proceed with another contractor referred by a neighbor and close friend, I would not hesitate to contact Westring Construction again should we need services in the future.

Description of Work
preliminary estimate for whole-house remodel and addition

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I am so blessed with the interest and commitment of the people who interact with me and my company. I do not expect to get 100% of the jobs I look at but what is most important to me is building relationships with everyone who chooses to allow me to participate in their home improvement processes. Examples include potential customers, who, although did not hire Westring, discussed with their friends, family, and colleagues about the EXPERIENCE. Most people want to be treated fairly and rely on the trust of the relationship. After all, you are inviting us into your home and making changes that can be disruptive AND expensive! Thank you (member name removed), for allowing me to participate in your quest, and to all others who have and might consider us about their home improvement needs and wants! James Westring
5.0

03/11/2013


JULIE P.

James Westring came out and spend a good deal of time checking out our projected remodeling project in the fall. Unfortunately we wanted to get going as quickly as possible, and he could not start before spring, but we certainly would have considered his company if the timing were right. (We did not get to the bid stage)

Description of Work
James Westring came out and spend a good deal of time checking out our projected remodeling project in the fall of 2012..

Category remodeling

5.0

11/19/2012


Rachel P.

They were very professional, punctual, and gave me all the options available. They really helped me think through everything before making a final decision.

Description of Work
They did window replacements at our house.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. I am slowly acclimating myself to Angie's List technology and making this a part of my routine! Let me know I can do anything for you in the future. My best regards and happy holidays to you and yours. James
5.0

09/27/2012


Jason S.

It's a bit of a long story, but here goes! There was some damage (from shrubbery roots and poor drainage) to the lower level finished walls of our home last year. A friend suggested we contact James Westring at Westring Construction and see what he had to say. He came out and gave a thorough assessment of what he and his team would have to do to detect any damage, along with the approx. cost of doing so. He contacted me after discovering and repairing some minor structural damage to the house. I was very pleased with the job they did, so I inquired about upgrading our home's horrible insulation. James as incredibly thorough in the explanation and investigation of our situation - and referred me to an energy auditor, who was fantastic. The three-way communication was stellar, and the insulation job was expertly done. Even after the post-inspection, when some additional sealing was required, it was handled quickly and professionally. The Westring Construction crew was astute - they take great pride in those extra steps, not just "doing it how we've always done it", but knowing the best way to do something, even if it requires additional focus and time. The communication was great. I was "in the know" about potential issues which may arise through the project, why they happen in the first place, and what can be done (and at what cost/benefit) to fix them. Finally, and this is the biggest one for me - it really felt like they wanted to be here, working on the house. That's huge. If you don't love what you do, it's going to show. Each person on the Westring crew was genuinely happy to be doing the job.

Description of Work
To start with, the detection and repair of some damage to our external walls along the back of our home - which led to complete 'in-wall' insulation.

Category insulation, remodeling

Service Provider Response

I can't tell you how much I am pleased to hear such a thoughtful and generous evaluation. You are the customer I reach out to in my day to day life of sales and estimating. You are thoughtful, helpful, and authentic in your communication to me and that is why we fit each other like a glove, if I may be so blunt. Please do not hesitate to call again for new projects, an issue with anything that was in our arena that needs a little attention, or just to say hello. Thank you. James
5.0

07/27/2012


Susie W.

I initiated a request through their website and got a response the next day. Over email, I described what I was looking for and James was very responsive. He came over to my house and we talked about the project and he gave me some advice about the structure and knee walls (it's a cape cod or cottage style 1950's 1.5 story). I wanted to know what part of the knee walls could be removed without harm. He was very nice to talk to and if I need a general contractor I will be contacting them again.

Description of Work
James at Westring Construction provided advice on my second floor renovation project.

Category remodeling, structural engineer

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review about me and the services I provide and I was happy to help and I hope all is good.
5.0

08/13/2011


Joanne J.

Putting in instillation on the sills of the basement area took most of the morning. The man who did the work answered all my questions. He cleaned up after wards. I was very pleased.

Description of Work
Westring came and gave me an estimate on several projects. I choose one, installations of the sills in the basement area. I was surprised when he called me back and was ready to go 2 weeks later. Came early morning. Did the work and cleaned up afterwards. I was very pleased.

Category insulation, remodeling, foundation repair

Service Provider Response

Hi Member, I was educated by my sales rep what it means to post back and "respond" to the evaluation. This should have occured so long ago and I want to acknowledge and thank you for your business and your positive evaluation.
5.0

05/18/2011


Joanne R.

I had a good relationship with the owner, Mr. Westring, and his staff as well. My house feels warmer and they did good work. They have competitive pricing and I considered it fair for the market.

Description of Work
I had an energy audit done by an independent energy group and they recommended that spray form of insulation be sprayed on in the ridge board in the basement, and Westring did this work for me.

Category insulation

5.0

09/13/2010


MARY G.

Everything worked to keep our utility efforts inside the house. I had an energy audit performed by a professional, so I knew what needed to be done. They were very good about making sure that the report told the whole story, as I was focused on getting energy credits. They were willing to do the work in the middle of December. I met them at the NARI show.

Description of Work
They used foam to insulate the box sills in the basement, insulated the entire kitchen ceiling with foam, and insulated the ceiling of the entire house with blown-in insulation. They also tightened other areas in the ceiling with foam insulation. They evaluated all of the areas where air could escape or enter, and tightened those up--can lights, ceiling vents, kitchen exhaust fan, etc. They also put in soffit vents, which the house had never had.

Category insulation, remodeling, energy audit

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hensen Masonry LLC

    Hensen Masonry, LLC is a family owned and operated business. Run by and Tony Hensen.  

    Angi Certified

    PRJ Flooring

    Our service provides quality flooring installations not limited to hardwood, laminate, luxury vinyl plank and others. We are a small business and very reliable you can trust in.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Elite Hardwood Flooring, LLC

    If you're searching for quality Flooring Contractor in Madison, WI just make a call to Elite Hardwood Flooring flooring, hardwood floor installation, refinishing and repair, hardwood floor sandy, residential flooring, Floor Refinishing Middleton WI;McFarland WI;Stoughton WI;DeForest WI; Windsor WI;Cross Plains WI;Oregon WI;Monona WI Hardwood Floor Refinishing, Hardwood Flooring, Hardwood Floor Installation, Flooring Installation, Wood Floor Installation  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, PayPal
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Kitchen Remodeling, Bath Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath Design, Home Additions, Decks, Screened Porches, Historic Restoration, Framing Carpentry, Trim Carpentry, Roofing & Siding, Painting - Interior & Exterior, Home Remodeling, Excavating, General Contracting, Construction Management, Architectural & Structural Services (Additions)

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Westring Construction LLC

    How is Westring Construction LLC overall rated?

    Westring Construction LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Westring Construction LLC open?

    Westring Construction LLC is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    What payment options does Westring Construction LLC provide

    Westring Construction LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

    Does Westring Construction LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Westring Construction LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Westring Construction LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Westring Construction LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Westring Construction LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, Westring Construction LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Westring Construction LLC?

    Yes, Westring Construction LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Westring Construction LLC offer?

    Westring Construction LLC offers the following services: Kitchen Remodeling, Bath Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath Design, Home Additions, Decks, Screened Porches, Historic Restoration, Framing Carpentry, Trim Carpentry, Roofing & Siding, Painting - Interior & Exterior, Home Remodeling, Excavating, General Contracting, Construction Management, Architectural & Structural Services (Additions)