Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Washa Construction Inc

Founded 1983 • With Angi since April 2012

4.7

(28) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2605 S Stoughton Rd

Madison, WI 53716

Description

What’s your dream for your house? What’s your dream for your kitchen, your bathroom, your basement? Don’t just dream it, live it!! “The impossible only takes longer!” It’s the promise I make from day one, and it’s the most important one that we follow!. It’s the foundation of Washa Construction, will be the foundation of your new project. If you can dream it, we can build it....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/09/2021


Marsha F.

Washa Remodeling saved us from the fiasco created by the first company we hired to put a bathroom in the basement bedroom and redo the bedroom itself. The previous company had started a year and a half earlier by putting up framing with a bathroom floor plan that did not meet city codes. They never finished and we had to go to small claims to get our money back. Adam from Washa gave us a quote that was higher than the one we had, but, obviously, it was necessary to do the job correctly. Steve Wineland, the site manager, is tops in the trade. We have had a lot of construction work at our home and our business and Steve is the best. The subcontractors were also outstanding. The flooring was delayed in arriving due to covid, but that was the only problem. The room and bathroom look amazing. We are going to start our next project very soon of remodeling our existing bathroom configuration on the first floor. I would recommend Washa for any project even if their price is somewhat higher because they are professionals, and, you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
Basement bedroom remodel and bathroom addition

Category closet systems, concrete repair, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling

2.0

09/10/2017


Justin L.

Price quoted for gut job was 8 times that of next closest competitor bid. Asked for a bid of bathroom replacement but Washa did not bother to provide even though they said they would. It almost seemed as if they didn't want the business to begin with.

Description of Work
Complete gut of a 2-bedroom apartment; replacement of bathroom in another unit.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We thank you for your review. Unfortunately this is a case where previous estimates were seriously under bid for the total scope of work. We always strive to give the most honest pricing, pricing that would reflect the actual cost of the project. We don't underbid projects just to get the work. When the homeowner told us that we would not likely get the gut job, we recommended that they have the contractor that they hire for that job also complete the small bathroom repair work as well.

5.0

03/17/2017


Evan R.

On time from beginning to end. Good cost saving ideas. Very high quality work. No cost surprises. very pleasant to work with. Best contractor experience ever!

Description of Work
Remodel three bathrooms- NEW Tile shower in two, New shower and vanities in another new floors, plumbing changes updated laundry room- sink, door, washer, dryer.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review, it was a pleasure to work with you!

5.0

03/17/2017


James P.

Excellent job. Great company.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you! It was a pleasure working with you!

5.0

03/15/2017


Michael C.

Excellent communication; reliable pricing; project was well served from start to finish.

Description of Work
Contracting for basement remodel project

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you!

4.0

10/04/2016


Anne U.

Washa's bid was considerably out of our price range. We hired a different contractor who has not begun work yet.

Description of Work
Leaky toilet caused subfloor damage (per a different plumber). We asked Washa for a quote on the following work: Remove toilet and vanity, remove ceramic tile flooring, rip out and repair damaged subfloor as needed, install new ceramic tile flooring, reinstall vanity, reinstall toilet.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review. We're sorry that we could not fit with in your desired budget. We offer quality work, with carpenters that have been in the business for over 30 years each. We bring that quality to every job that we perform from Kitchens to small repairs. For remodeling needs such as kitchens, bathrooms, basement, etc. that means you are getting superior quality at a competitive price and sometimes value price. With smaller repair jobs that means you get great quality, but sometimes we are priced out of the handyman category. Once again thank you for your honest review and the opportunity to respond.

5.0

05/04/2016


Michael P.

Excellent. This was a challenges project & washa in a great job. They are easy to work with & deliver what they promise.

Description of Work
Basement removal-complete got of basement, vaile of electrical, HVAC & insulation. Instilled new drywall. Carpet & lighting.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review, it was great working with you guys!

5.0

08/14/2015


MARYLOU A.

The company owner is most professional and will discuss things with me. If they have any issues or questions they will call me. They are always very pleasant on the phone. We have had the workers so much we know them and know the quality of their work and can ask them anything. They will be very honest with us.

Description of Work
Washa Construction did a kitchen for my sister.

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/14/2015


MARYLOU A.

The cost was expensive. They crew did fine, very well.

Description of Work
I used Washa Construction to do a bathroom remodel.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate working with you and you giving us an an A rating on quality. That quality and years of experience sometimes comes at a cost and we appreciate you understanding that and willing to hire us again!

5.0

08/14/2015


MARYLOU A.

I talked to Steve Washa and I hired him without even getting an estimate because I know they will be fair. I know they do quality work and I know they will get it done. They are incredible, reliable and do great quality work. I have had windows done by them. My sister has had her kitchen and bathroom done by them. Right now I have them doing some work over at my mother's home because she is selling it. I also have had work done by them in the home. Yesterday I had him repairing windows in the home that would not open and close sufficiently. He did a great job. It is a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for. I found them because I just saw a sign. They are local and I saw them in the phone book.

Description of Work
My go-to company is Washa Construction. They are doing work for me now. He is changing two posts on my deck.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review! We appreciate working with you and you giving us an an A rating on quality. That quality and years of experience sometimes comes at a cost and we appreciate you understanding that and willing to hire us again!

5.0

08/08/2015


Susan M.

Working with Washa Construction couldn't have been easier or better. Washa was able to do most of the work while we were on vacation so that we could avoid living in a construction zone. The designer we worked with was excellent, and the work that was done to place the new granite counter tops was top notch. The amount of care that was put into the small details was surprising; it was as if they were working on their own home. Everyone that we worked with was friendly and very professional. If you are doing home remodeling, don't look any further. Go with Washa Construction.

Description of Work
Remove laminate kitchen counter tops and replace with granite counter tops, including a new reinforcement for a floating section of counter top.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your kind words. We truly appreciate you giving us the opportunity to help you with your kitchen countertop project. You guys were wonderful customers to work with and we would be glad to work with you any day of the week. We hope you continue to enjoy living in your new space!

5.0

05/07/2015


Lisa B.

Washa did a terrific job in all phases of planning and constructing our porch. We are still in the planning stages for our kitchen remodel, but everything has gone really well so far, and I'm confident that the finished room will be beautifully constructed within the time frame given to us by Washa. Every experience we've had with Steve, Adam, and others from Washa has been very pleasant and extremely professional.

Description of Work
Washa built a screened-in porch for us in about 2012. They did a terrific job, and their craftsmanship is wonderful. We've hired them again to do a major kitchen remodel during the summer of 2015. Steve and his crew are so professional, helpful, and talented. They were recommended to us by a friend, and I'd recommend them to anyone I know.

Category decks, roofing, siding, home remodeling, basement remodeling

3.0

05/01/2015


Gwendolyn F.

Not super well. We did ok in the beginning, and Steve and his designer are both very nice people, but it wasn't long before it was clear we weren't a priority. I understand needing to prioritize current projects (we started the process a year out from our intended build date), but they shouldn't have taken our project on if they weren't willing to follow through. Punctuality-wise, I don't think they were ever on time for an appointment (usually 15-20 minutes late), and I was constantly the one having to bug them for updates and next steps. I wasn't particularly aggressive about our timeline either, but feeling like I needed to wait a week plus for a response (and often needing to send a second e-mail before I got one) got old really fast. The last straw was when we asked them to do a preliminary bid on the project. The number was quite high (I say this is after having a similar design bid out recently by a few other companies), and then when we dug into the specifics of his numbers, there were several large errors. We ended up not having much faith in their attention to detail. All in all, not a great experience.

Description of Work
Designed and drew up plans for a large home remodeling project.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

(member name removed), We wanted thank you for allowing us to respond to your review. We also wanted to thank you for allowing us to help you with the design phase of your project. We would like to apologize if our process did not meet your expectations. We appreciate you understanding the need to prioritize our current remodeling projects, however I would also like to assure you that we were working your project the entire time as well. Due to the many changes that were made during the design process we needed to redraw this project multiple times, which we were happy to do. However each new drawing takes time, we have to analyze, calculate dimensions, and then re-draw it on our CAD program. We again apologize if we didn't communicate with you enough during this time, however our process is set up so that we communicate new designs after they are completed. This allows our designer to give his complete focus on most recent changes before introducing anything new. For your project most of those changes took no longer than 2 weeks. We again apologize if our process did not meet your expectations. In regards to your comment on pricing you had mentioned that you had a contractor estimate a similar plan. However it is unfair to compare our bid to there's unless they are identical. One small change in a plan can sometimes cause a butterfly effect of additional changes which most likely accounted for our estimate number being higher. We again would like to thank you for allowing us to help you through your initial design process and wish you the best of luck on your project. Washa Construction

5.0

01/31/2015


Lee M.

In hindsight I don't know if it could have been any better. They helped with everything from talking to the insurance people to doing everything asked of them all the way through. I would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
We had tornado damage from trees falling on the house, six large windows damaged. Four roof trusses broken a/c unit damaged. Deck was crashed.

Category decks, remodeling, siding

5.0

01/04/2014


Larry I.

The job looks great. Adam was professional and communicative through the design and materials section process. Zach did a very quality job in constructing the porch. They responded to change well and promptly addressed what few problems we had.

Description of Work
Remodeled front porch and replaced brick in front of house.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review. We truly appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to completing another project with you in the future!

2.0

12/04/2013


Steve S.

Washa construction was not upfront, honest or timely in handeling of our home construction. They came in overbudget on almost everything. The sub contractors they used for the painting, electrical, plumbing, sheetrock and tile were sloppy. Our home was completed 3 months late and after living in it for 4 months we still have issues. Hire at your own risk!!!!!!!!

Description of Work
General Contractor for new home construction.

Category remodeling, home builders, architect

Service Provider Response

We thank you very much for your review, feedback is vital in our industry. This was a custom build home, and the homeowners were given complete autonomy in regards to their fixture selections, trim packages, floor coverings etc., which in turn also gave them complete control of their budget on those things. As a result the budget for this project was built with allowances for each key part, however they were only allowances and depending on the choices they made, the budget could have raised or lowered based on what they selected. In this case the homeowners selected many high end fixtures, trim packages, etc. These high end selections come at a premium price and the homeowners selections and additions beyond the original scope is what caused this project to go over the original budget. New Home Builds are a linear process and when one thing is changed many things down the line change. The time frame was set based on the original design, but what happens in many custom builds is that the owners decided to change their mind or add things whilst in the middle of building. This was one of those instances where things were changed and added on once we had already begun building. These changes naturally delay the construction process, and the homeowners were updated along the way of the changes in the time frame. Building a new home is much like building a new car. Typically with a new car you don't get you best gas mileage until after the first year because all these new systems are trying to work together. A home is the same way you are combining many systems into one building. Naturally you are going to have a few "issues" along the way. The key is to make sure you hire a contractor that has a strong warranty, one that stands behind their work, fixes the issues no questions asked. With these homeowners Washa Construction is doing just that, all service calls placed to us are scheduled at our first available opening (typically within 1 week, unless it is an emergency). We stand behind our work, and no matter who the customer is we give our 1 year warranty on all projects that are paid in full.

5.0

11/20/2013


Barbara S.

Steve Washa is an excellent person to work with! After the heavy rains and water in the basement, he was very quick to provide me with a dumpster and Kyle removed the wet materials. Willie and Tom installed new studs, insulation and drywall; also prepped the drywall for the painter. I have worked with Steve Washa twice before this water issue. I had him remodel my whole kitchen, floor to ceiling! They did such an excellent job I had them remodel my bathroom the next year! I would, and have recommended Washa Constuction to anyone who is thinking of a remodel. They are prompt, efficient and hard workers.

Description of Work
Removed water-damaged drywall, insulation, and studs in the basement. Replaced studs, insulation, and drywall and prepped for painter.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your feedback. We truly appreciate how loyal of a customer you've been to us over the many years that we've worked together. We're always happy to help you with you any project you have big or small.

3.0

11/15/2013


James R.

We did some of the demo, provided the cabinets, lighting, counter top, sink, faucet, appliances, and some electrical prep. We reinstalled the existing fridge, and installed the new stove and flooring and painted. The project ran over budget anyway, and way over on time. We paid most of the money early in the project, then waited and waited for each step to be completed. The main sub-contractor did a great job, but the electrician was sub-par. (The work met code, but took way too long and way too expensive.) The plumber was adequate, but way over-priced. Most importantly, project management was horrible. Our original plans, including computer-generated pictures, were never given to the sub-contractor. There were excessive, unnecessary delays between each step. Many items had to be addressed by us, instead of being anticipated by the so-called professionals. In the negotiation over the final bill, they revoked the warranty for the work. In the end, we got a gorgeous finished project and the sub-contractor is now a family friend.

Description of Work
Finished demo on kitchen and dining room. Installed new DR patio door, kitchen interior window, cabinets, microwave, dishwasher, faucet, disposal, lighting, insulation, plumbing, and electrical.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for your review, and the opportunity to work on your kitchen. This project was estimated between $11,950 and $13,150. A patio door and ceiling insulation were added on after the original budget and signed contract and the total project cost $16,076.46. If you removed the actual costs for the patio door ($2,330.15) and the actual costs of the extra insulation ($1,691.80) that actual cost of the original contract comes to $12,054.51. That is on the low end of our original estimate, and within the original contract amount, not over budget. Unfortunately this customer felt that even with the additional things that they had requested, of the new patio door and the ceiling insulation, that they should still only have to pay for the original contract price. Even though these are legitimate charges on items they had requested above the original contract which we could have fought for, we never like to leave a customer unhappy. In an attempt to make the customer happy we offered them a choice, they could pay the project in full and we could maintain our warranty, or take a large discount that we offered without the warranty. We fully explained to them that because the discount would force us to take a loss on the project and that we would not be able to extend our usual warranty. Because of their current situation at the time, they chose to go with the discount. Ultimately though we did what we strive to do on every job. Create a space that the homeowner can enjoy every day, and with this project we were able to do that. Directly from the homeowner’s review “In the end, we got a gorgeous finished project”

5.0

05/26/2013


Paul D.

Chuck and Willie did the work on both floors. They showed up on time, worked full days, cleaned up and gave us excellent workmanship. They are good guys and listen well to what we want and provide good advice.

Description of Work
Replace windows in TV room. Rehab basement. Build storage shelves. Replace windows in basement. Secure building permit.

Category replacement windows, basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your call [member name removed]. I'm glad we were able to complete the project to your satisfaction, budget, and time frame.

5.0

05/01/2013


Catherine D.

We had purchased our home in 2008 and loved the open feel and light from the sunroom addition that the previous owners had added to the kitchen over 20 years ago. Unfortunately we started to have issues with leaking, floor softness and the final straw was ants and wood rot! We found out that the entire thing had to be replaced and was out of warranty. Estimates and diagnosis were very difficult as there was no way to tell what we would find under the floors...The timing was terrible for us to repair anything, but it had to be done or we faced further damage to our house. After weeks of multiple quotes and proposals from several companies, we decided on Washa, not because they were the low bidder, but because they had made multiple visits, really cared about making it work and had provided a "vision" (those vaulted windows!!!) of what we could do that was exciting and added value, rather than just a repair. Steve was very up front with the fact that until we got into the demo, there was every possibility that the estimate would increase quite a bit. Unfortunately the worst case scenarios were true and the costs were more. However, we were not surprised at all by the increases and Steve made sure we understood everything along the way. The professionalism and communication all through out the process was absolutely wonderful. Everyone involved at Washa and everyone that came to work on the house was polite and easy to talk to and always went above and beyond in minimizing any intrusion into our lives. The work went very well and despite some weather the project was finished in time for house guests and a party for the Holidays! It is so incredibly beautiful! The final addition is so much more than we expected we could have and I do have to pinch myself almost everytime I walk into the room. It has truly improved not only the value of our home (already got the tax assessment increase:) but also the quality of our lives. Thank you all so much!

Description of Work
Replaced a glass four season sunroom with an actual kitchen addition. Included demolition of old sunroom, a new foundation, walls and windows ,vaulting the roof, insulation, lighting, heating and air vents, flooring and I am sure many things not listed here...

Category remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, home builders, architect, home remodeling, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

We're so happy we could help you out with what ended up being a very tough project. But I'm very glad we found all the rot before it became a serious structural problem. Surprises unfortunately happen in remodels I'm glad we were able to reduce some of the stress factors for you and make your home safe to live in again.

5.0

11/19/2012


Jon M.

Washa always has done a great job and explained when we were going over budget before it happened and letting us chose which way to go. Excellent work and great at accommodating our schedule to get the work done. We highly recommend there work to anyone looking for remodel or repairs.

Description of Work
We have used Washa for home remodeling for several years. Always do a complete professional and quality Job. This year, we needed some repairs as our house was listed for sale. In particular some water had collected in the basement, for the first time in 26 years. They diagnosed the problem, and decided it was the fill dirt around the basement and in the window well. A bit of added dirt and some window well work did the job. Seaved us several thousand by preventing the need to install a sump pump! Last year an extensive remodel included a new bathroom, walk in shower and master suite. Job done on time and a bit over budget, due to our own requests.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/17/2012


Michael C.

Couldn't have asked for more: exceptionally fast work; excellent, frequent communication; respect for the house and people living in it; high quality, clean work.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel construction, from design and permitizing, through demolition, drywall framing.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/16/2012


Lisa B.

The project went very well. They were extremely prompt, responsive, and professional. We had decided on the details of the space we wanted enclosed within the porch, and we knew it would be a difficult job. Steve and his crew were open to our ideas, honest about where they thought problems might occur, and up front about which products they had used in the past and liked and which products were new to them. They were willing to come back to make modifications as needed to adjust a few things that weren't originally working well. The space is beautiful, and we absolutely love it. We would definitely work with Washa again and would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Washa Construction built a screened-in porch for us. It is connected to the walk-out lower level of our house and is underneath our deck. Steve and his crew worked with us to design the space, and then they did all site prep and construction.

Category decks, remodeling, architect

5.0

08/28/2012


Barbara S.

All work was completed within the quoted time frame. All workers listened to my concerns, explained everything, and were happy to make my changes fit in. Excellent crews both times. Jon and Willie are great!

Description of Work
In June 2011 they did a kitchen remodel with new cabinets, floor, 1/2 wall removed, new countertops, sink, electrical and plumbing. Most recently in April 2012 they did a bathroom remodel with a new tub, shower, tile, soap window, floor, toilet and sink, and new paint.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/28/2012


PAUL R.

They got an incredible amount done in a short amount of time. Steve with his team are fun to work with, quality and experience, second to none.

Description of Work
Miscellaneous minor upgrades, repairs, reconnections including new closet doors, new vanity, whole house paint, new cabinet, and installation of pantry.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hensen Masonry LLC

    Hensen Masonry, LLC is a family owned and operated business. Run by and Tony Hensen.  

    Next Door & Window

    Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

    Offers by Next Door & Window on Angi
    Alonso Landscape Service LLC

    Welcome to Alonso Landscape Service, a full-service landscape company with one goal - making our customers happy. Our professionalism, dedication to quality and outstanding commitment to customer satisfaction has catapulted us to the forefront of landscape service providers in Dane County. At Alonso Landscape Service, landscaping is more than a job. It's an opportunity to create beauty and satisfaction for our customers. We ensure that our customers receive the time, attention and expertise each job needs for ultimate, timely, cost-effective results. From hardscaping to seasonal plantings, lawn maintenance to snow plowing, we view every job as our only job... until it is completed. We Are Fully Insured! For appointments, please call (608) 308-4983. (608) 239-4577 or email us at contact@alonsolandscapeservice.com Visit our website at http://www.alonsolandscapeservice.com  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Bathroom remodeling, kitchen remodeling, master bedroom remodeling, additions, basement finishing, garages, exteriors & new construction.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Washa Construction Inc

    How is Washa Construction Inc overall rated?

    Washa Construction Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Washa Construction Inc open?

    Washa Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Washa Construction Inc provide

    Washa Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Washa Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Washa Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Washa Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Washa Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Washa Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Washa Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Washa Construction Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Washa Construction Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Washa Construction Inc?

    Yes, Washa Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Washa Construction Inc offer?

    Washa Construction Inc offers the following services: Bathroom remodeling, kitchen remodeling, master bedroom remodeling, additions, basement finishing, garages, exteriors & new construction.