Marvin's Brick Pavers

About

Founded 1997 • With Angi since October 2013

Marvin's Brick Pavers is a Madison area hardscape contractor specializing in high-quality paved brick walkways, driveways, patios, pool decks, fireplaces, landscaping, concrete resurfacing, outdoor living spaces, and more. We have more than 20 years' experience in the Madison and New Jersey areas,

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

AfterCompletedAfter

Verified Reviews

4.6

(29) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

6

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.5

Punctuality

4.5

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.4

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (21)Patios (13)concrete repair (6)lawn & landscaping (8)masonry (6)snow removal (1)decks & porches (1)
Showing 1-25 of 29 reviews
5.0

09/07/2022


Gail R.

Complete double driveway removal and sidewalks to both units were removed. All new cemet and decorative bricks in the middle section were put back in.

Description of Work
Double drivewat and sidewalk to my duplex

Category concrete repair

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/02/2022

Images

Review for Marvin's Brick Pavers - 313 W. Beltline Hwy., Madison, WI - 39863564
5.0

11/24/2021


Ann K.

Marvin and his team are wonderful to work with! The team was so friendly and hard-working, but most importantly, they were precise, careful, and knowledgeable. They took the extra time to ensure everything they did would create a beautiful and long-lasting result. And they completed the entire patio in one day! We are so happy we chose Marvin and his team for this project.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of patio

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2021

5.0

05/22/2021


ken B.

The project went very well! Marvin gave us a solid quote under $4000 that included a return visit in July to apply a seal coat over the patio. The crew came in mid April and completed the project in 2 days. The work was done in a way that did not damage our existing grass and/or beds. In fact they included moving one our beds in the final cost. We continue to be very pleased with Marvin and his courteous, knowledgeable crew. We highly recommend Marvin Pavers!

Description of Work
We requested a new 12' by 12' paved patio just below our porch deck.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $3,824

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2021

5.0

05/11/2021


Steve K.

Marvin was next door working on a project for our neighbor and i went over to talk to him about doing something in our backyard.He was very polite and professional and i could just tell by talking to him that he was the one for our project. What i liked about him is that it is mostly a family run business.He helped with ideas on the layout which we ended up using and it turned out beautiful !The quality of work was exceptional and they cleaned up as they went.They were prompted and they really know there stuff as paving is all they do.Marvin is a great guy and i highly recommend him for any job you may be considering. He is busy so plan on booking him well ahead.

Description of Work
We wanted a nice patio ares off our deck

Category concrete repair, hardscaping

Cost $17,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2021

1.0

07/13/2020


Joe B.

The salesman (Paul) was all smiles and handshakes, brimming with optimism and salesmanship. He promised me a bid within 48 hours, if not sooner. Never saw or heard from him again. I don't know if they were too busy, if he lost his notes or if he just plain got fired; beats me. But buyer beware.

Description of Work
Deck refurbishment

Category decks

Work Completed On 06/01/2020

Service Provider Response

We apologize! We don't know what happened with Paul's estimate, and yes, we usually send the estimate between 24-48 hrs. Marvin can stop over whenever is convenient for you.
5.0

06/05/2020


Loree N.

Marvin and his crew were very efficient and did a great job. Great customer service and timely. Thanks for a job well done. I would highly recommend Marvin Brick Pavers.

Description of Work
20 x 20 cement slab in backyard for an upground pool

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

Images

Review for Marvin's Brick Pavers - 313 W. Beltline Hwy., Madison, WI - 38620650
5.0

06/05/2020


Loree N.

Marvin and his crew were very efficient and did a great job. Great customer service and timely. Thanks for a job well done. I would highly recommend Marvin Brick Pavers.

Description of Work
20 x 20 cement slab in backyard for an upground pool

Category concrete repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2020

Images

Review for Marvin's Brick Pavers - 313 W. Beltline Hwy., Madison, WI - 38620652
5.0

06/03/2020


Mark C.

Marvin's crew were able to show up ahead of schedule and complete the work faster than expected at a great price. The work is amazing and Allan, Cesar, and the other crew member running the gravel truck were all fantastic to work with!

Description of Work
A new concrete patio

Category concrete repair, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/02/2020

5.0

04/21/2020


David M.

Marvin's Pavers did an excellent job on our backyard patio and walkway. Would hire them again.

Description of Work
Large patio and walkway

Category patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2020

1.0

09/21/2019


Gerry V.

I called 3 times, spoke with a person only once, left messages all 3 times and never received a response of any kind. Definitely would NOT recommend to anyone!

Description of Work
Wanted a patio off my sunporch - it's not a huge space.

Category patios

Work Completed On 06/01/2019

3.0

08/13/2018


Wanda J.

Had major work done last year and had some loose stones that needed repair which they did. After winter we had water coming into our garage because some of the pavers had settled. Every time it rains, we have water coming in under the garage door. We have called several times and emailed them and have not received a response at all. The person who answered the phone set up an appointment with Marvin and he never showed up. If you are thinking of hiring, you had best get everything in writing. Their guarantee is worthless.

Description of Work
Had major work done last year with the company's warranty of 5 years. Repairs were needed and we could not get them to respond.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/13/2018

5.0

04/30/2018


Mary G P.

Prior to hiring Marvin Brick Pavers, we had several other companies come out to place bids on our project. We ended up choosing Marvin Brick Pavers because, not only was their bid the lowest, but they also seemed to have a much better understanding of our problem and what needed to be done to fix it. Indeed, even though the project ended up costing a little more in the end (but still less than the other estimates), we feel the job was done efficiently. We are certain that if we had chosen any of the other companies, we would be out of a lot of money and still be having problems with water in our basement. Marvin seems to work very hard to satisfy his customers.

Description of Work
Replaced patio bricks to lean away from house, also installed a french drain and replaced ineffective drainage piping next to the house that was causing water to leak into our basement.

Category hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

03/31/2018


phillip V.

it went very good installation went very well by gate got broke but they did repair the damage to it right away

Description of Work
needed a patio and fire pit built

Category patios

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

03/28/2018


Susan P.

After 27 years of living in the same house in Madison, we found that Marvin and his crew were the most reliable, cost effficient, and friendliest of all of the other snow removal and yard service companies that we tried. I would highly recommend Marvin and his crew. They are simply the best!

Description of Work
Snow plowing of driveway and walkways. Also Spring and Fall yard clean-up.

Category landscaping, snow removal, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] we’re really enjoy work for you to
5.0

02/21/2018


Richard G.

They were there when they said they would be. It took two days longer but one day was rain. They were very personable and worked hard.

Description of Work
New large brick patio

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping, patios

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2017

5.0

02/19/2018


Patricia M.

The back patio is looking very good after one year. The front walk is holding up.

Description of Work
New brick paver back patio and repair of front walk.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2017

5.0

02/14/2018


Jan L.

He does a really nice job, and he helps to coordinate every stage of the project. The crew provide great quality work. He's very dependable, extremely honest, and a very hard worker. He really believes in working hard to make his own way.

Description of Work
landscape work, and epoxy flooring

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2017

4.0

09/08/2017


Glen R.

Job was performed well and the new walkway looks great. Work began several days later than expected and company did not come back to refill sand around pavers as promised.

Description of Work
We needed to remove an existing paver walkway and replace it with new pavers.

Category hardscaping

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/14/2014

5.0

08/24/2017


Lal C.

He started on the day he was supposed to start. However rains kept him from finishing the work for a while. This wasn't his fault. There were two problems during the repair. First his technician hadn't used a level and some of the bricks were not level. When I pointed that out he had it fixed promptly. Second problem was that he didn't use a vibrator compactor (may be because my bricks were old) . So within a week some of the sand between the bricks were gone. By that time I had already paid him and I wasn't sure how he would respond. However, when I called him and he came promptly and filled up the empty slots between the bricks. My overall experience was good. He has been doing this a long time and is easy to work with.

Description of Work
Marvin built the brick driveway and a path for the previous owners of our house in 2010. After seven years the driveway settled a little. I called him and he said he could get it fixed. He also told me he could refinish the driveway.

Category hardscaping

Cost $2,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/24/2017

5.0

04/26/2017


Wanda J.

We love it. They are really punctual. Always showed up when they said they would. They stayed until all the work was done. When we ran into issues with the old cement, they were able to handle every problem. They were also cheaper than the other bids we got.

Description of Work
Patio, sidewalk, stairs, porch, flower boxes and driveway installed with pavers. They also dismantled all the old pavement, hauled it away and cleaned up. Had lights installed on sidewalk stairs.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/26/2017

Images

Review for Marvin's Brick Pavers - 313 W. Beltline Hwy., Madison, WI - 34907033
5.0

08/04/2016


David B.

Marvin's Brick Pavers responded quickly to our request for a bid. They scheduled us in for the job and completed it as promised. Their workmanship was excellent. Their price was reasonable for the quality of their work. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
We replaced an old, cracked concrete sidewalk with brick pavers.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping

Cost $1,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/02/2016

1.0

09/09/2015


Ellen S.

Starting in March we contacted Marvin to repair work on our front steps that he did last year. He came out once and said that he could repair them for $200. Since then, despite many, many attempts to contact him, we have not seen him. A week ago his office said he would be at our house on Friday the 4th 0f September. He called that noon and said he didn't need to come out as was promised because he knew what needed to be done and that he would be here early Wednesday morning, Sept. 9. Guess what? No Marvin today - the 9th. We have documented our many attempts to contact him--his e mail address does not work and most times he does not answer his phone, there is an answering machine that handles all his calls - which are never returned! Our next step is to write a complaint to the BBB. We see that he has not paid his bill to Angie's list, yet we see a brand new ad from him advertising patio work.

Description of Work
He has not done what he promised. For five months he has promised to show up to repair previous work he did last year. We have stayed home at least 10 days waiting for him to appear. He is totally unreliable.

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Cost $200

Work Completed On 09/04/2015

1.0

06/19/2015


Eric B.

Don't waste your time with these guys. My wife and I took a couple of hours of personal time off work each to be there for the meeting with Marvin's. No one showed, no one called. I'd like a refund for the time off we took from work.

Description of Work
Contacted Marvin's for an estimate on a 300 sq. ft. patio. They set up an appointment for 3:30 on a Thursday. They never showed.

Category hardscaping, patios

Work Completed On 06/18/2015