Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Happy To Help Home Improvement

Founded 2003 • With Angi since February 2009

All facets of home repair & remodeling. Kitchen Updates/Full Bath Remodels/Custom projects...You Name it!...Fully Insured! Find Happy to Help Home Improvement on FaceBook. Making living spaces work for you. From "Honey-Do's" to full remodel projects. Offering 20+ years of experience in all facets of residential remodeling and now some commercial situations as well. Proud to have all major electrical work provided by fully licensed electrician, Matt Berkowitz, A+ Communications: http://www.apluselectricalcomm.com/ And also proud to say all major plumbing projects are provided by fully licensed brothers extraordinaire: Jeff & Nate Rossing @ Rossing Plumbing: http://rossingplumbing.com/ Call, text, or email for a free estimate in the Madison, WI area. Contact by EMAIL or phone: patrickhappytohelp@gmail.com 608.513.8087. Uses licensed subcontractors for plumbing and electrical services.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
10%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(102) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 102 reviews
Nina G.
5.0
05/27/2021
I mean-the majority of 5 star reviews say it all. Patrick was a delight to work with--and I can truly call him a FRIEND! We hired him to complete our dream master bathroom remodel, as well as remodeling our laundry room. All I can say is-HIRE HIM. Our project went above and beyond our expectations and we are so happy with the outcome. Our project was a large one-including knocking down walls, re-configuring the master bath and laundry room, and installation of a CUSTOM tiled walk in shower. I worked closely with Patrick in picking out every single item, which also allowed me to learn some tricks and skills along the way too. Patrick is one of the nicest humans I've had the pleasure to meet and I would hire him again in a second.
Description of Work
Master bathroom remodel + laundry room remodel
Category
drywall, lighting, plastering, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Christopher K.
5.0
02/07/2021
I hired Patrick for a kitchen remodel. I needed the existing cabinets, sink, countertop, and tile removed. The space prepared for a new sink cabinet and a new wall cabinet to replace the existing cabinets. I first met Patrick and knew that I would like working with him. His estimate came in, and that sealed it. Patrick did an amazing job!!! He installed the new cabinets, countertop, some tile work, lighting, some new outlets and a new sink and garbage disposal. He did an amazing job on all of it!!! A great job on the electrical, plumbing, tile, framing in the wall for the new cabinet and replacing the existing sink cabinet, drywall, and preparing the new walls for final paint for me. Patrick had really great suggestions on materials and things that just made sense as we went along. He also was really open to my suggestions and changes as the project progressed. Not only is he a great contractor and amazing at what he does, he's a really kind person. It was a pleasure to have Patrick in my home for the project, and we had many great conversations and he is just a really good person. The project came in on time and UNDER budget! Well, a little over the original budget, but that was my fault because I added things like a garbage disposal, extra outlets, tile work, etc... But definitely under budget for all the work he did. I would hire Patrick again, for sure. I wish I could upload photos of my before and after. Great work Patrick!! Oh, and during COVID times, Patrick always had a mask on while working and I appreciate that.
Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind words and thanks again for a really fun and creative project in your home. It was my pleasure working on this and working with you to solve the various situations that arose during the project. I think collaboratively we came up with maximal use of the space as well as a fantastic update for your kitchen. I really appreciate your sense of design and aesthetic. Stay healthy and of course call anytime for anything. Patrick
Jessica K.
5.0
01/02/2020
We received Patrick's name thru a family friend when we started looking into doing a kitchen remodel. We couldn't have asked for a better contractor to work with! He was very professional, always prompt and was excellent at communicating with us. His workmanship is outstanding and it is easy to see that he takes pride in it. He also left things spotless at the end of each work day. We are thrilled with our tile back splash and will certainly hire Patrick for future projects. A+++
Description of Work
Installation of tile back splash in the kitchen
Category
ceramic tile, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! You are very kind and it was a pleasure to be in your home and get to know you and [Member Name Removed] a bit. Please call anytime for anything!
DOROTHEA P.
5.0
07/20/2019
We are very pleased with the work done by Patrick. We had a wide variety of projects to complete and he completed them all in a very timely manner. Patrick is very professional and a great communicater. He listened carefully to everything we wanted done. I would highly recommend his services.
Description of Work
Patrick walked through our house and looked at the things we wanted done and gave us an estimate before he started work. H replaced a ceiling fan, replaced a heating element in our oven, replaced a broken window pane, fixed a broken kitchen sink handle, worked on loose tiles in our bathroom, and help stabilize the base for our washing machine.
Category
handyman service, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure helping you and being in your company. Call anytime for anything!
Marilyn R.
5.0
12/06/2018
I contacted Patrick Doherty of Happy to Help Home Improvement based on his excellent reviews. When he came out to do the estimate, we knew he was the person we wanted to do the project. His warm personality, knowledge of all the latest trends and materials, and helpful suggestions throughout the project were all key to us. We contacted Patrick to give us an estimate in June with a Fall timeline for the project. In the months leading up to the job, we shopped for tile, flooring, vanity, etc. Patrick met us a few times as we shopped for these items and gave valuable input to help what we visualized come to life. The project took place over three weeks in October. Other than bringing in a plumber for the shower, Patrick did all the work himself. The master bath's previous look was dated and included a 6-foot bathtub which we wanted to replace with a shower. The shower turned out beautifully using porcelain, travertine, and a glass tile accent. Patrick built a custom niche in the back wall with plenty of room for toiletries, and the piece de resistance, a gorgeous corner bench. Along with the meticulously crafted shower, he installed new flooring, vanity with quartz countertop, a highline toilet, as well as painting the room, installing light fixtures, faucets, and bathroom accessories, and a recessed medicine cabinet. (Note: we hired a glass contractor to provide and install a 48-inch shower panel.) During the job, Patrick was very respectful of our living areas and took great care to cover all furniture and lay protection on the floor. He never failed to clean up at the end of the day. We really enjoyed having him around and felt very comfortable with him coming into our home when we were out. We were immensely pleased with the results of Patrick's work and recommend him without hesitation. We're planning to have him back later this year to make over our guest bath.
Description of Work
Total remodel of Master Bath
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your loving, kind, and thoughtful words. I so enjoyed working with you and [Member Name Removed] on this project and best of all, getting to know you and [Member Name Removed]. I'm totally on board when bathroom number 2 is ready! See you soon!
Debbie B.
5.0
10/19/2017
We are very happy with the work done on our remodeled bathrooms. Patrick and his assistant Mick proved to be very skilled craftsmen. We had a wide variety of projects for them to complete and they did them all in a professional and timely manner. They both have great communication skills as well. Patrick's response time to any questions we had was amazing. After you meet Patrick and work with him, it is very easy to tell that he really cares about his customers. He truly wants everyone to be satisfied with the work that Happy to Help did. We wouldn't hesitate to hire them again.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel which included removal of one piece fiberglass tub/shower and installation of tiled shower. Also installation of new floor, sinks, medicine cabinets, lights, bathroom fans and painting of walls and ceilings.
Category
contractors, ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Lori T.
5.0
05/03/2017
Very well. All expectations were met and Patrick was very helpful and professional.
Description of Work
Removed old tile and retiled entryway, removed cement tubs from basement, removed and installed new ceiling fan and light.
Category
remodeling
Betsy W.
5.0
09/19/2016
Excellent job and done on schedule. We did not shop him because we liked him from the get-go, which to us is important when you are having a stranger in your home for several days. We got an excellent price on our porcelain tile, using Patrick's connections. The craftsmanship of our jobs is exemplary. Don't overlook this business for any project or job you want done. We would hire him again with no reservation. At the end our price even came in lower than the low end of the bid.
Description of Work
Replacement of bath tile surround in main bath and correction of deficiencies in master bath shower recently performed by another contractor.
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Michael C.
5.0
06/21/2016
The swing looks great. ?Clearly solid workmanship.
Description of Work
Mick successfully completed a very tricky installation of a front-porch swing.
Category
handyman service
Tyler H.
5.0
02/20/2016
Patrick was fantastic. I can't recommend him enough for updating and upgrading your house. He's prompt, thorough, and talented. He will try his hardest to understand the unique conditions of your house, and approach the work accordingly. On top of that, he is incredibly friendly.
Description of Work
Updated bathroom, put in new flooring in kitchen.
Category
flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling
Graeme M.
5.0
02/13/2016
Patrick and Mick did excellent work, on time and on budget. In addition they were extraordinary communicators every step of the way and, given my career in customer relations, this is very important to me! This was our first time tackling a bigger project and, despite having a lot of anxiety going into the process, Patrick made the process as easy and straight-forward as possible. Prior to selecting Happy to Help, we requested four bids (including Happy to Help) and received four responses. Happy to Help was the most reasonably priced and I really appreciated Patrick's positive attitude, expertise, and fortitude. Happy to Help was the perfect fit for this project, and we're thrilled with the results. We definitely recommend Patrick and Mick and hope to work with them again sometime.
Description of Work
The Happy to Help team is fantastic! We called them to repair/remodel our basement bathroom tiled tub surround which had significant water damage, as did the adjacent bedroom. Now that the work is complete our basement bathroom is more beautiful than our upstairs bathroom! Specifically, for the bathroom repairs/remodel, Happy to Help completed the following: Removed all tub surround tile and walls and hauled to landfill Removed toilet and replaced shut-off & supply line Rebuilt walls with appropriate cement board and applied waterproof membrane Tiled all areas including wall w/ window Installed new exhaust fan and vented through outside wall; patched ceiling Grouted new tile Caulked around tub and at ceiling level w/matching sanded caulk Primed all walls & ceiling with mold-killing primer; patched, primed, textured (as needed) and painted all walls & ceilings Re-installed accessories Installed new curved shower curtain rod; and reinstalled existing toilet In addition, they addressed water damage in basement bedroom, adjacent to the bathroom and: Removed a section of sheetrock Replaced water-damaged and moldy framing footer and uprights Replaced sheetrock, sanded, primed, textured, and painted Removed all composite tile and hauled away
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the rave review! It was our pleasure to be in your home and provide you with very satisfying project results. It's also a joy to hear you are happy with how everything turned out. Let us know if we can help with phase two, three, etc.!
Michael C.
5.0
10/12/2015
The bathroom turned out great, I would certainly use them again based on the quality of work. Patrick was helpful from start to finish with planning design and materials, and had good suggestions over the course of the project as things came up. He and Mick were professional and efficient, and cleaned up after themselves daily. They both were also very helpful in offering their expertise in trouble-shooting other projects I had going on around the house. We felt the price was fair as well. Will be calling them again for our next project.
Description of Work
Happy to Help redid our bathroom, including tiling our tub surround, replacing shower fixtures, replacing toilet, replacing vanity with pedestal sinks, tiling the wall behind the sinks and toilet, as well as tiling the floor.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
M S.
5.0
10/03/2015
Patrick is the owner and was at the work site every day. He is assisted by Mick, also a very talented craftsman. We were impressed by their versatility. We expected to also hire a painter and tile installer, but Patrick painted the room and Mick installed the tile. They are a one-stop shop for a complex home improvement project. They also connected us with their paint supplier as well as their source for carpet and tile. We recommend Happy to Help Home Improvement. They are friendly and easy to work witn and they know how to get things done.
Description of Work
Happy to Help renovated our family room, which was added to our house about 50 years ago. They removed the floor over the crawl space. They cleaned, sealed and insulated the crawl space. A new floor was then installed. They also painted the room and installed tile at the entrance to the room. In addition, they fabricated some shelves in a closet and a new access door to the crawl space.
Category
ceramic tile, flooring contractor, insulation, remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind words! It was truly a pleasure working in your home and we look forward to the next time you may need help with anything!
Kelsey B.
5.0
09/30/2015
We were disgusted by the only full bath in our old house and wanted to have the tub and shower surround replaced with a shower and tile surround. The bathroom window didn't open very easily, so we also wanted a fan installed to help with moisture. Additionally, we were befuddled by a tiny, dark room in the house that we couldn't figure out what to do with. We decided to have a walkway put in the wall between that room and the living room as long as we wouldn't have to move anything major. After doing some searching and having a few contractors take a look at the projects, we decided to have Happy to Help Home Improvement work on the house. Since we were planning some remodeling right away after buying the house, we were waiting to fully move in until the dust had settled on our projects. Patrick was able to accommodate our project soon after we discussed it so that we wouldn't have to wait too long to move in. We really appreciated this, as a living room with camp chairs for seating is comfortable for only so long. :) Patrick and Mick got to work right away, and we were excited that the opening between the living room and the formerly dark room could be as wide as we had hoped, and only a couple of electrical outlets needed to be moved. The dark room was no longer dark! The drywall work looks very nice, and the opening and trim around it look good too. Patrick double- or triple-warned me about priming before painting, and I'm glad I took his advice, as it turned out great. Patrick and Mick worked on the bathroom next, starting with demolition of the existing shower area. Some of the old laminate tile was damaged during the removal of the old shower. We had been planning to replace the flooring as part of a later project, but Patrick was able to fit tiling the floor into the schedule for a slight bump to the project budget. During demolition of the bathroom, Patrick found that the floor was far from level, so he had to spend some extra time and materials on making the floor level for the new shower pan and tile floor. We expected him to find all sorts of problems with a 100+-year-old house, but were pleasantly surprised that this was the only one. The work in the bathroom looks very nice. We're not experts, but the shower pan seems to be installed nicely and the shower door is sealed and functions well. The tile work around the shower and on the bathroom floor looks good too. There are a few areas where the grout is a little uneven, but I tend to be really picky about that sort of thing and my husband probably hasn't noticed. ;) The total cost of the work was very close to the estimate Patrick provided before starting. Any differences were attributed to changes we asked for, like skipping one portion of the project and adding another more costly task. We paid for some supplies and the dumpster separately, totaling around $1600. Overall, we are very pleased with the work that Happy to Help did. Best of all, the work was done within the time frame and budget estimated, with a whole lot of communication along the way. This point alone differentiates Happy to Help from the rest.
Description of Work
Made an opening in a wall between two rooms; replaced an existing tub with a shower pan, tile surround, and glass door; installed a fan in the bathroom; and tiled the bathroom floor.
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, ceiling fans, home remodeling, doors
Nicholas W.
5.0
09/28/2015
Patrick is very friendly and professional. He has walked through our house and looked at a number of projects with us and has given us helpful feedback and suggestions. When he doesn't feel comfortable or the best fit for a job, he recommends or brings in another expert who would do it better. He has been easy to communicate with by phone and email, and has always been prompt. He has worked on a few small projects for us with very short notice (when he has an opening) but when he gets busy it does take a couple weeks to fit in a bigger job. Not unexpected. I have worked with other handymen who have been reluctant to give real estimates, preferring just to work on an hourly rate - but Patrick will take the time to write up a quote and send it via email. I really appreciate his time to respond to questions also, and always gives us a heads-up reminder about when he'll be at the house, and leaves notes about what was accomplished if we aren't home. We will definitely continue to use Patrick as we have more projects in our 1924 house (and I'm sure we will). He is already planning to come back and work on some basement projects later this month.
Description of Work
Removed old carpeting and staples, repaired broken stair landing, caulked around exterior windows, removed moss from roof shingles.
Category
flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, roofing
Mitch A.
5.0
09/19/2015
The entire process has been a treat. If only all contractors were as professional and capable as Patrick. His bid was clear and fair. He always kept his commitments and was responsive to all questions and concerns.
Description of Work
Replaced bath fan and installed attic ductwork for our kitchen range hood.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the kind words. It was our pleasure to help you with your projects and please call anytime for anything!
Carol M.
5.0
07/20/2015
It went well; they were easy to work with!
Description of Work
They did a full bathroom remodel for us.
Category
home remodeling
Christopher R.
5.0
02/19/2015
The work was very high quality and there was good help with some of the design decisions. Working with the people was very easy and pleasant. They were responsive to my initial inquiry, provided an estimate very quickly, started the job on time and finished almost on time. The communication was very good ? for example when they were caught in traffic and running a little late they called (what a difference courtesies like that make). Overall, we are very happy with the results and the process. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
We had our basement stairs replaced and a general upgrade of the stairwell.
Category
remodeling
Gregory L.
5.0
02/08/2015
Patrick and Mick were nothing but professional. Personable, punctual, and professional! I was especially happy with how quickly they were able to complete the project, how clean they left the premises, and the quality of the work. I would not hesitate to use them again. Strongly recommended!
Description of Work
Happy to Help was asked to build a wall and add a door to close off a bathroom, and get the walls prime ready.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Denise R.
5.0
12/10/2014
Absolutely excellent customer service and professionalism. I would recommend this company to anyone and will use them again if we ever need anything done in the house. Patrick promptly returned calls and was clear with his estimate. He and his assistant were meticulous and precise in laying the tile and grouting. They also took special care in cleaning up after themselves and making sure we were satisfied with everything. A+++
Description of Work
Installed shut off valves under kitchen sink and installed new faucet. Tiled 30 square feet of natural stone back splash in kitchen. Also grouted and sealed tile. (3 trips total).
Category
ceramic tile, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Sara J.
4.0
11/24/2014
We hired them to do a partial remodel of the bathroom, mostly tearing out the shower surround and putting up tile instead. The tile turned out beautifully. They had to tear out the wall behind the shower surround (because it was covered in mold) which ended up making the original estimate pretty much moot, but they did a great job with the tilling. They also installed a new bathroom fan. They painted the ceiling and walls and redid some baseboard work as well. They tried really hard to get it all done within their schedule, but the last day (when they painted) was pretty rushed. We ended up having to touch up the walls quite a bit (not a huge deal). They also didn't have time to regrout the floor so we scrapped that part.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel
Category
ceramic tile, electrician, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Hi and thanks for your kind words. This project being about a year ago now, I am a little fuzzy on some of the details, but I do remember taking many hours to remove the old grout from all of the floor tiles. Just to clarify, are you saying we did not re-gout the floor? If that is the case, please allows us to return to re-grout and seal as needed for a tiled floor floor should never be left un-grouted. I can't imagine leaving it in this condition so please, if you would, clarify this point. Thanks so much!
Julie W.
5.0
10/27/2014
He was very friendly and performed the work quickly and efficiently. We would definitely call him again.
Description of Work
Installed blinds and fixed a broken closet door. He also gave us an estimate for remodeling in the bathroom.
Category
closet systems, remodeling, home remodeling
Lynne M.
5.0
09/24/2014
I was very lucky to have discovered Patrick Doherty on Angie's List as I was thinking about remodeling projects in my 1939 house. Not only was he a great carpenter and builder, he was helpful with planning ideas, from larger decisions to small. He understood my price range and what suited the house. Being very personable and kind is another of his many positive attributes. I highly recommend him. I am going to try to include a couple photos here....
Description of Work
Complete gut and remodel of kitchen and half of bathroom.
Category
contractors, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Ingrid M.
5.0
06/01/2014
Amazing responsiveness--had someone out within about 3 hrs of my initial phone call. Serviceman took his time with the job to get it right. Checked back with base to be sure something was done properly. Very clean, used materials to protect flooring.
Description of Work
Replaced wax ring and rusted bolts/nuts on toilet; stopped toilet from moving(had been loose).
Category
handyman service, remodeling
Jerry A.
5.0
05/14/2014
Patrick and Doug came to my rescue helping me complete a project that I couldn't due to medical reasons. They were helpful and responsive in all areas and I would gladly recommend them and use their services again. The work was well done and in the time they said it would be. Thanks Patrick and Doug!
Description of Work
Tiled entryway, installed door, trim work and other misc. items.
Category
ceramic tile, remodeling, doors

Phone

Address

5725 Elder Pl

Madison, WI 53705

Other Information

Services offered

Remodeling- Kitchen, Bath, Basement, Bedrooms, update, Plumbing, Electrical, Carpentry, Custom Tile, Texture, & Painting.

Services not offered

Landscaping, Deck construction, Full Basement & Full Kitchen Remodel Projects.

Payment options

Check
PayPal

FAQ

Happy To Help Home Improvement is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Happy To Help Home Improvement is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Happy To Help Home Improvement accepts the following forms of payment: Check, PayPal

Yes, Happy To Help Home Improvement offers free project estimates.

Yes, Happy To Help Home Improvement offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Happy To Help Home Improvement does not offer a senior discount.

No, Happy To Help Home Improvement does not offer warranties.

Happy To Help Home Improvement offers the following services: Remodeling- Kitchen, Bath, Basement, Bedrooms, update, Plumbing, Electrical, Carpentry, Custom Tile, Texture, & Painting.

Landscaping, Deck construction, Full Basement & Full Kitchen Remodel Projects.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Kool View Co

5.0

(18)

Angi Certified

Kool View Co

Kool View began business in 1973 selling glass coatings to save energy and stop furniture fading. In 1979 we were awarded a US. Department of Energy grant to study the "honeycomb" concept of window insulation. In 1982 we were granted a patent on our very own "Seal-A-Shade" product. We also began selling passive solar rooms. Over time passive solar sunrooms became our main product. We have built over 2000 sun room, patio room and room additions. Our construction focus has always been saving energy, improving the home environment and adding long term value to your home. If you have a unique design in mind or a challenging job site you have come to the right place! With with our trained staff of designers and craftsmen, Kool View is in the position to make your dream room an energy efficient reality. Kool View offers you the best of the "High Tech" corporate world while remaining a locally owned and operated business. We never forget that our customers are also our neighbors. Drop into our showroom or call us for a free, in-home estimate. We'd love to hear from you!  

Jordan Exteriors

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Jordan Exteriors

10 Consecutive Year Super Service Award Winner in Doors, Siding and Windows! We are a home exterior remodeling company that specializes in vinyl replacement windows, siding and doors. Our window installers are from the Amish community and are craftsmen with over 23 year of experience. We offer free estimates and a lifetime warranty on all window, siding, and door products. Customer Service, Satisfaction and communication is our main goal at a fair price.  

Excel Electric

5.0

(15)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Excel Electric

Since 1994, we have given the best quality service for your electrical needs. We go above and beyond for all of our clients. You will never be disappointed when you work with Excel Electric, Inc. Ask us about our daily service. We look forward to working with you.