Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D & J Heating & Air Conditioning

Founded 1975 • With Angi since February 2011

4.9

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

unknown

Madison, WI 53713

Description

Located in McFarland, Wisconsin with over 40 years of experience, D & J knows the heating and cooling business inside and out. We are dedicated to providing you with quality repair, installation and replacement of your furnace or air conditioner and bring

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/28/2017


Jeffrey L.

Jessie came out and in 10 minutes figured out what the other guy couldn't. My pilot was clogged. Jessie cleared the clog and I had heat immediately. Jessie said it is a common problem with rooftop units. The other guy wanted me to install a whole new unit at a cost of around $10,000. Jessie charged me a very reasonable rate and I had D and J come out again for regular maintenance.

Description of Work
My roof top unit was giving me a headache. I called the wrong company first, then I called D and J Heating.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/28/2017


Jeffrey L.

Great job!. Jessie and his crew were on time, professional and overall excellent.

Description of Work
New Furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/27/2017


randall B.

Excellent! D & J installed new furnace / ac a few years ago. Have always been very helpful & professional. Jesse took extra steps to make recommendations & set thermostat for optimal comfort & efficiency.

Description of Work
Furnace & AC check - adjust. Replaced filter / water panel.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/26/2017


LACINDA S.

Very happy! Jese arrived on time, quickly diagnosed issue and made necessary repairs. We've used D & J in the past and always happy with service and price.

Description of Work
Repaired AC - replaced capacitor, washed condenser, changed filter & replaced drain fitting.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/25/2017


William & Chris R.

Jesse was service rep. Went right to work. Listened to our observations. Was timely & thorough. Polite.

Description of Work
Serviced AC which this same firm installed previous years.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/13/2017


Paula H.

Nate was on time and fast. I haven't compared prices with other firms, so I don't know where this firm stands.

Description of Work
Air conditioner preparation for the cooling season.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/09/2017


Jan B.

Excellent service!!!!! Wonderful company, Jesse is awesome!

Description of Work
Problems with central air not cooling- came out right away- fit us in busy schedule.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You
5.0

06/07/2016


Kathleen S.

Description of Work
Installed new furnace, central air, and added a vent into master bedroom.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/22/2015


Kimberly A.

I've had a lot of issues with my HVAC unit in my new house. I've had a couple different contractors our at different time (mainly whoever I could get out first). D&J came out today because they were contracted by a contractor I was using to do drywall and other repairs. Jesse was very polite and diagnosed the issue within a few minutes. He was very helpful and got everything back to working quickly. Plus he didn't make me feel like an idiot (the issue was really something I should have caught). I will definitely use them again--hard to find trustworthy folks nowadays.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and fixed non starting heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/23/2014


Rick H.

Our experience with Dand J Heating and Air Conditioning was great. Dennis and quot;Dennyand quot; Frank was very helpful in helping us to understand the use of heat pumps during the summer months, but also how they can help to heat our home during the winter, reducing our propane fuel use. He also explained carefully why we needed a larger blower motor. He was very friendly. Jesse, along with another employee, installed our unit. They started early and worked all day. Jesse explained how to use our state-of-the-art thermostat, and programed in some standard settings. The two men were very polite, professional, and tidy. They removed all the debris before they left, leaving us with our beautiful new unit and the instructions. They even were very tolerant of our Corgi, who was constantly trying to make new friends. We are very happy with our unit, especially today with the humidity at about 85% (August 23, 2014). I would recommend Dand J Heating and Air Conditioning to anyone looking for a new heating and cooling system.

Description of Work
Installed a split air source Bryant heat pump with a Bryant five ton aluminum N coil, new line set, and Bryant thermostat. They also replaced our blower motor. The cost reflects our choice of heat pump, labor and materials, and removal and disposal of our old unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/28/2014


Brett O.

Our furnace would stop working occasionally, but then kick back in after turning off and on. One time I couldn't get it back on and called Dand J to come take a look. It was working fine when they reset it. The problem came back within a few days and they stopped out again and tried some things and got it going. Then it happened again and they tore into the furnace and found a blown gasket or something like that on the heat exchanger. The furnace warranty covered the parts, but I had to pay the labor. I was very happy with my service and my experience with Dand J. If I remember right, they didn't charge me for at least one of the trips since they didn't solve the problem. These days it is nice to find an honest contractor who is interested in providing quality service and isn't going to try and squeeze you for every single penny they can. I would recommend these guys to anyone.

Description of Work
Diagnosed problem and then repaired furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/05/2013


maureen M.

They replaced our furnace last year and were wonderful - went through all the options and we feel they were honest and wonderful to work with. We called to have our annual furnace clean and check this year. They arrived exactly on time - EXACTLY, cleaned and checked it, found sawdust inside (my husband's shop is in the same room) - so they cleaned that out and sealed seams where it could get in. Were here for over an hour and when I asked how much so I could write out a check - they said $0. The first year after a new furnace is free. I told the guy I wanted to pay for the extra stuff he did and he refused to take it. How much more can you ask for? Great personalty, reliable and honest. Love this company. We will never use another one

Description of Work
furnace clean and check

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/08/2013


Lillian R.

Overall it went extremely well. All options were explained to me, all rebate forms were filled out and mailed by the company. Workmen extremely professional. Did a beautiful job and very cute!

Description of Work
Replacement of furnace and humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/27/2012


Robert P.

We called Dand J for an estimate on a new A/C and furnace. They came in at a very reasonable rate and had a good deal for a high efficiency furnace if bundled with a new A/C. Since we were in the market for both, we jumped on it and have been extremely satisfied with our purchase ever since. They were very professional and cleaned up after themselves nicely. They thoroughly explained how to use the new touch-screen thermostat which was also very helpful. Very satisfied with the overall process.

Description of Work
We had a new A/C and furnace installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/07/2012


David H.

Great!! Found the problems, checked over both A/C and furnace, unplugged drain on furnace, cleaned filters and fans. Everything working great!! Recommended to neighbor and brother.

Description of Work
A/C making noises and water leak around furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/05/2012


Jennifer B.

Mr. Jesse and Mr. Denny are great to work with. They are efficient, clean up well and explain all the details thoroughly. This is the second time we have had the HVAC installed by them and will continue!

Description of Work
New furnace installed. Additional duct work added to one room of our home. Added very nice programmable thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

4.0

01/16/2012


DAVID E.

They were good and we were satisfied. They were friendly guys. They did the job. They set everything up and we have had no problems with it since. I think that the price was competitive. They actually came out when the heater malfunctioned. They actually came out on a Sunday afternoon and got it going again just enough until we got it replaced, and I don't think they charged us for that.

Description of Work
D&J Heating and Air Conditioning replaced our furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/02/2011


maureen M.

Would use them everytime we have a problem and we have recommended them to our neighbors.

Description of Work
Big Snowstorm, furnace went out. They came as fast as possible, got the furnace started. They replaced our air conditioner last year and after that service, we didn't hesitate to call them about the furnace. They are the nicest, most professional people we have ever used.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Seasonal Survival

    $75.00 trip fee Regular or Weekend Veteran owned Family Business Senior and Veteran discount 35 years in HVAC trade.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Clark Heating & Cooling

    Clark Heating & Cooling offers American standard & Bryant heating & cooling products. We could offer many other brands but we feel these two offer the best balance of features, benefits, reliability, warranty coverage and overall value. As we say, the bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten. We are an American standard customer care dealer which means we go above & beyond to ensure a great experience with Clark heating. We have many times been recognized as "dealer of the year" for providing unmatched service. We've accomplished this by maintaining customer satisfaction rating of over 98%. Contact us today, we'd love to make you a satisfied customer too.  

    Angi Certified

    Cardinal Heating & Air Conditioning

    Since 1984, Cardinal Heating & Air Conditioning has provided the Sun Prairie, WI area exceptional heating, air conditioning, Electrical and plumbing services; it’s no wonder they were voted Best Heating and Cooling company in Sun Prairie for 6 years straight! Offering professional technicians, same day installations and 24 hour service among other things make them the right choice for any HVAC or plumbing job. Call today to schedule your next appointment!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Hardware & Home Improvement Stores
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Air Conditioning Service & Repair,Boiler Dealers,Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems,Heating Contractors & Specialties

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about D & J Heating & Air Conditioning

    How is D & J Heating & Air Conditioning overall rated?

    D & J Heating & Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are D & J Heating & Air Conditioning open?

    D & J Heating & Air Conditioning is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning provide

    D & J Heating & Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, MasterCard, Visa, Financing Available

    Does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

    Ask D & J Heating & Air Conditioning for details on free project estimates.

    Does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, D & J Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

    No, D & J Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

    Does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

    Yes, D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by D & J Heating & Air Conditioning?

    No, D & J Heating & Air Conditioning does not offer warranties.

    What services does D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offer?

    D & J Heating & Air Conditioning offers the following services: Air Conditioning Service & Repair,Boiler Dealers,Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems,Heating Contractors & Specialties