Complete Handyman

About

Founded 2004 • With Angi since November 2010

My name is Mark Schwebach. I am the owner of Complete Handyman as a division of Dream Homes LLC. I founded the company in 2004. I am 100% involved with day to day activities. I specialize in finishing basements. When it comes to basements, I will be involved in every aspect of the job. I will be hands on from the initial design process, the bidding process, acquiring permits, doing the actual construction, overseeing sub-contractors, through to the completion of the finished basement. I personally guarantee the highest level of attention to quality and detail throughout the entire project....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+3 more images

Verified Reviews

4.9

(24) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

21

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

basement remodeling (18)handyman (6)home remodeling (2)ceiling fan installation (2)woodworking (2)electrician (2)countertop installation (2)door installation (1)garage building (1)pressure washing (1)flooring (1)drywall (1)
Showing 1-24 of 24 reviews
5.0

10/28/2020


Ben S.

Our basement was previously finished in the 1970's, but the quality of the work was not good. We ripped everything out and hired Mark to remodel it. The project included adding an egress window, a 3/4 bath (no plumbing previously), a kitchenette, and an electric fireplace. We couldn't be happier with the way it turned out. Mark offered thoughtful guidance and suggestions throughout the process, and he also gave tips for some of our other home improvement projects that were not involved in this one! The price I listed was for the entire project, not just for Mark's carpentry services.

Description of Work
Basement Remodel

Category basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2020

Images

Review for Complete Handyman - 2317 Mica Rd., Madison, WI - 38982997

+4 More

5.0

10/19/2020


Bradley E.

We received numerous estimates on our project to finish our basement, and we chose Mark after he made such a good first impression with us. He helped lead the charge on our project to finish around 1200 sq ft in our basement, including a full bath and 2 bedrooms. He was excellent at communicating his progress throughout the project and with any other sub-contractors that were necessary. He was very good at including us in any key decisions that needed to be made along the way. His craftsmanship is top-tier and we couldn't be happier with the space! We'd hire him again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Finishing basement

Category basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/18/2020

5.0

02/05/2019


Andrea D.

I would highly recommend the Complete Handyman (Mark) for a full basement finish. Mark is so professional and well-respected in his field. He is precise and immaculate with his work and provides the highest quality of service. He is easy to work with, listens to your ideas and is happy to work with whatever you may want, and is great at offering suggestions and advice/help when needed. He has a long standing relationship with all of his contractors (who are all excellent). His initial good-faith estimate and all contract estimates were almost exact, down to the penny, of the final bill. Mark took our unfinished basement and turned it into a wonderful, useful space that makes our house more enjoyable. Our basement is the brightest spot in the house and provides us with so many different living and playing options now! Mark is great to work with, friendly, helpful, and very professional (he was even great teaching our three year old about his tools!). I would definiltey hire again and highly recommend!

Description of Work
Complete basement finishing - bedroom, family room, full bath, wetbar, closets, and special play area under the stairs!

Category basement remodeling

Cost $35,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2018

5.0

09/06/2017


JOHN and Phyllis P.

.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service, ceiling fans, doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2017

5.0

07/20/2017


Beth V.

We loved working with Mark. He was honest and timely and communicated well with us and provided suggestions whenever we wanted or needed them but let us drive the design process when we wanted to. His bid was quite accurate with additional costs due to upgrades that we chose and a few things we couldn't know ahead of time would be needed. We had an egress window installed which is not part of his services but once we found the company, he worked with them on the timing. (Note that the installation of the window is not included in the cost I list for the job on this review because it was not part of his bid.) We highly recommend Mark and would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
We had our basement remodeled to create more functional use of space and refinish a long family room that had been previously "finished" with wood paneling, drop ceiling, no HVAC, and inadequate electricity.

Category basement remodeling

Cost $17,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2017

Images

Review for Complete Handyman - 2317 Mica Rd., Madison, WI - 35866388

+1 More

5.0

04/01/2017


L. Caroline A.

We were delighted by the efficient, predictable remodeling process. Owner Mark Schwebach acted as a trusted adviser. At multiple points during the project, he asked great questions to confirm design specifications and to get a sense of how our family would use the space, while continually ensuring our satisfaction with the work his team performed. The Complete Handyman's top-notch team handled everything: carpentry, HVAC, electric, plumbing, and flooring. Their scrupulous attention to detail resulted in excellent quality and value. Our basement is now the brightest, prettiest area of our home, and we are almost always downstairs enjoying it together.

Description of Work
Remodeling entire basement from start to finish, including adding a laundry room, two roomy storage closets, a home office, a large recreational space, and a bathroom with a full-sized shower.

Category basement remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/23/2016

5.0

03/28/2017


Dave G.

I would highly recommend The Complete Handyman. I was thoroughly impressed and happy with the job that Mark did refinishing my basement. His extensive experience in refinishing basements was the main reason for our decision. He was willing to spend the time with me up front. I compared quotes from 4 different companies. His quote was accurate and none of the other quotes were significantly lower. He was open to building the walls out of a foam insulation material. In the end, I decided against using this insulation method, but it showed his open-mindedness. He was always responsive throughout the whole process. I never had to worry about his attention divided between several jobs. The initial design phase went smooth because he helped me think through all the important decisions. The most impressive thing about Mark was his ability to anticipate the future options and visualize several alternatives to a problem. I needed a plan where I could finish one room now and then finish a bedroom and a bathroom later. He was able to plan ahead for what might be needed in the future to finish off these rooms later. His years of experience were incredibly valuable in the design stage. When you select a company to work with consider that this person is going to be spending a lot of time in your basement. Mark Schwebach is an outstanding individual and he gained my highest respect. He was always considerate of our family. I had a new baby in the house at the time. He was sensitive to our requests to plan ahead for the noisy and dusty phases of the project. In fact, we missed him when he finished the job. He helped me with every decision along the way, and I was surprised at how many small decisions there are to be made. He was always respectful and patient with my questions. He has developed long standing relationships with his subcontractors so everything went smoothly when they did their part of the job. He is extremely detail oriented and it was apparent that all the people that subcontract for him appreciate this because it makes it easier for them to complete their tasks. For example, his framing is straight and true and he thinks through how the drywall is attached. His craftsmanship was excellent. He doesn’t cut corners and neither do his subcontractors. I would hire him again when I have another room to finish in our basement.

Description of Work
Basement Refinishing

Category basement remodeling

Cost $27,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2017

5.0

12/29/2016


Una T.

.

Description of Work
.

Category countertops, drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2014

5.0

12/19/2015


brandon M.

We got estimates from a few other people and Mark was on the lower end of the Estimates. It was his kind and straight forward demeanor that sealed the deal. This was an excellent experience that Mark provided. He is an honest person that kept his schedule and worked diligently. He will communicate with you and give you your options along the way. The space finished is better than I could have envisioned. Our two teenage boys are very happy with their new bedroom. I can't imagine using any other person for any future remodeling projects.

Description of Work
Mark did all the carpentry and coordinated with other contractors for a basement remodel.

Category remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/28/2015

5.0

12/10/2015


Janos P.

It went very well. In addition to having a plan we hand-drawn out, we had some very unique requests such as a book-shelf door and a mini-house under the stairs for children to play in. The basement ended up beautiful, and they walked us through all options very well so we could decide where we wanted to spend more or less. They coordinated all specialties as well - plumbing, electric, painting, which made it very easy to complete the project!

Description of Work
He coordinated finishing our basement

Category electrician, remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $30,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/31/2015

5.0

08/06/2015


Stacey P.

Mark is really easy to work with and we liked him right away when he met with us for an estimate. He was very upfront about how he handles things and while he coordinates the project with his preferred subcontractors he doesn't charge for this service. The project started with some demolition work of the existing 1960s version of a "finished" basement. Mark and his crew were really efficient and the charge was reasonable for the work. Mark provided some ideas on layout based on the rooms we were looking to add though we ultimately came up with a different floor plan than he suggested and he was fine with implementing what we asked for. He was very proactive in pointing out issues in the plan based on his vast experience and was always able to suggest solutions or different options where needed. We added a TV area, a bedroom with egress window, bathroom with shower and a large workout area. Mark did all of the framing, doors and trim himself and coordinated the subcontractors for plumbing, electrical, egress window, HVAC, etc.. The subcontractors were all very good and Mark appeared to have an excellent working relationship with all of them. His estimate was pretty close to the final cost and any overages were largely due to issues caused by our layout choices. The project took longer than we expected but that's pretty common for big remodeling projects and was largely out of Mark's control as he worked around the subcontractor schedules. Overall we were really happy with how our project went and would not hesitate to recommend Mark and his colleagues.

Description of Work
Finished the basement of our 1965 ranch home with a TV area, new 3/4 bathroom, workout area and bedroom with egress window.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2015

5.0

04/02/2015


Gary C.

Category basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2015

5.0

03/12/2015


Mark B.

My experience with Mark went very well. He was extrememly easy to communicate with, finished the work quickly and cleaned up after himself. He did a really nice job and I am happy with the completed work.

Description of Work
Constructed/improved a wall in the basement in order to install a flat screen tv with cable box along with an area to put a stereo receiver.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2015

5.0

02/25/2015


Jessica J.

From start to finish, Mark and his parnters transformed our completely unfinished basement into a wonderful new lower level for our growing family. In total, we added about 1000 square feet of space, including a family/media room with kitchenette, a surplus/exercise room, a kids play area, a full bathroom, and a children's nook/hideaway under the stairs. Mark is a professional through and through. At the start of our project, he met with us and provided a detailed blueprint to us up front. He worked to keep costs down, and delivered high quality service and a high quality finished product at a competitive price. Along the way, he worked with us to make helpful modifications to the plan that met our needs, and always addressed any issue that came up during the building process with helpful ideas and solutions. Mark was always friendly, polite, attentive, and responsive to any questions or concerns we had. Thanks to him, we have a beautiful new space that our family and children can enjoy for years to come We would hire him again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2014

5.0

07/15/2014


Edwin O.

ey I started to build a 2 car garage but after I had the walls framed I injured my knee and was unable to finish. Mark completed the garage which included a storage room above with stairway access. and did a great job including designing the stairs which was more complicated than I thought it would be. He also finished my basement in 2007 which included a bedroom with walk in closet,bathroom,family room and movie room which I have recieved many compliments on.All the work was completed in a timely fashion.

Description of Work
Built a 2 car detached garage with walk up attic.

Category closet systems, handyman service, remodeling, garage builders, woodworking, basement remodeling

Cost $13,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2010

5.0

06/19/2014


Jonathan J.

Mark met me to give an estimate on a partial basement remodel. After reviewing the project, he told me up front that he would not be able to schedule the job for me. However, he was generous with his time and stuck around to go over some additional details of the project that had not occurred to me. Even though he could not do the work, I was grateful for the time he took to share some of his expertise. I would definitely consider hiring his company in the future for other work.

Description of Work
Provided an estimate for a basement remodel.

Category basement remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/28/2014

4.0

06/03/2014


Sandra C.

The owner resolved the problem I had. I would call them again if needed.

Description of Work
The provider resolved the problem and added transition steps.

Category flooring contractor

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2014

5.0

05/31/2014


Sarah U.

Description of Work
I had a small list of items to fix in my home to prepare for sale. They completed all jobs well and are dedicated to making sure the homeowner is happy with final projects.

Category basement remodeling

Cost $2,500

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2014

5.0

03/12/2014


Nikki R.

The work they did was great and it was not an easy job to do as the codes can be complicated and the advice they received did not meet city codes but did for non-city codes. They were absolutely outstanding when I brought the issue to their attention and I would use them again. I have used them before for small jobs but I feel that with this type of customer service and being able to admit if something was not 100% correct is important in this industry. I think they are a trustworthy vendor that goes the extra mile to make customers satisfied.

Description of Work
We used this service to install smoke and carbon monoxide detectors to code before we sold our home. They didn't get the job done exactly right when learned when we had the home inspected. I called to inquire on this and they immediately looked into it, apologized and offered me a partial refund of the work.

Category handyman service, basement remodeling

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2014

5.0

02/10/2014


Debra L.

Category basement remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

11/21/2013


Joe A.

Complete Handyman, Mark Schwebach completely gave me a detailed oreiented plan and cost of the project. He was hands on the whole time everyday, always making sure everything was to code and was always exceeding my expectations of professionalism and still being courteous to my family and their privacy during this project. He is very detailed oriented and meticulous during every phase of this project. Starting from the proposal to final inspection. He gave me and my family a fabulous extention to my home for our day to day living and the new value it brings to my house. I would recommend Mark to anyone that wants to consider home improvement projects. He well over exceeded my expectations and I have only great things to say about him and his work ethic , truly impressed.!!!

Description of Work
Refinished and remodeled my basement to include recreation room ,3/4 bath, bedroom and office, approximatly 1000 sq feet

Category remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2013

3.0

07/16/2013


jeff F.

They were fine. They showed up when they said they would be here.

Description of Work
Complete Handyman gave me an estimate for installing some new bathroom countertops.

Category countertops

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/12/2013