Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chem-Dry of Madison

Founded 1998 • With Angi since September 2007

4.0

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

921 Applegate Rd

Madison, WI 53713

Description

Chem-Dry of Madison is owned and operated by husband and wife team Josh and Carrie Duggan. With over 37 years of combined cleaning experience, we have learned that our customers come first and through listening to your needs, have developed a system with customer service as the top priority. Carpet

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

11/30/2020


Tracie T.

DO NOT TRUST this company to support their claim of quality service and customer satisfaction. When experiencing the issues outlined below the office manager continually promised follow up that didn’t occur. Upon finally being contacted by the manager via email he excused this by saying he had let that person go due to poor service to others as well. He then asked about our issues and claimed to be concerned and have a desire to provide some sort of follow up. THE OWNER-JOSH DUGGAN never replied to my detailed reply which included photographs of the soil still on our ‘cleaned’ wool rug. The detailed experience we had with Chem Dry of Madison- Cleaning occurd in early September. Upon arrival the technician explained that old carpet may have stains return even worse after cleaning. Which they did. We accepted that outcome. However after 2 full days of fans and windows open the carpet was still very wet. The technician returned and spent 5 minute vacuuming up excess water. It took another 2 days for carpet to fully dry. Our wool rug was taken in to their facility for cleaning. It took longer to return than quoted however with the pandemic we excused that. One technician brought the rug back and unrolled it in our bedroom. Due to pandemic I could not inspect closely until he was gone. When I did inspect it the rug was covered with small particles. It looked like it needed a thorough vacuuming. When I spoke with the office manager she offered to send the technician back to vacuum. I did not want him back in our home. I did not expect to have a cleaned rug returned that needed vacuuming. I vacuumed the rug. After 20 minutes of very slow vacuuming I had a tank with dust/ particles and what appeared to be wool fiber. This continued to fill the tank for the next 2 slow vacuums. I have photos and a sample of the debris found in my vacuums clear tank. I am writing this detailed review so that others will not be fooled by the claim of a 4.5 star rating. PLEASE CONSIDER ANOTHER MORE REPUTABLE COMPANY FOR YOU CLEANING.

Description of Work
One room wall to wall carpet and cleaning of 8’x8’ wool rug

Category carpet cleaners, oriental rug cleaning

1.0

04/04/2017


Angela H.

The WORST company we have ever worked with. Carpets were NOT clean. We vacuumed when they were finally dry, just to see if there was a difference. Carpets were wet for two days. Charged hundreds more than estimated. Terrible customer service. We chose Chem-Dry because we wanted to reduce the amount of time the carpets would be wet, and we had used them in the past (2013) after seeing one of their coupons. So we thought we knew what to expect. We still have the receipt for that cleaning and the bill was $179. This experience was terrible. The office manager gave incorrect information. Appointment was set for 2. I called at 2:20, she said he could show up anytime between 2-4, after initially saying he would be done by 4 (having other appointments scheduled). She said the job would take 2-3 hours. At that time, I asked again if we needed to move furniture, she said just small objects off of furniture. She did not want to give any estimates over the phone, but agreed that based on the job, and the addition to pet treatment, it she reluctantly agreed it should be between $200-$300. Technician shows up at nearly 3 and is visibly and verbally in a hurry. He comes in with his shoes on and smelling strongly of cigarette smoke, and saying he doesn't move furniture, so we had to scramble to move what we could. He rushes through the work order, saying he is in a hurry and that he needs it signed. He said he couldn't find any pet urine with the black light, but charged for for 5 units of treatment. The carpets were wet for 1-2 days, depending on the area. There was no noticeable difference in how they looked, so we vacuumed. We collected nearly just as much dirt as usual. After vacuuming, I called to discuss all the charges on the bill, the poor experience and that the carpets weren't even clean. The office manager repeatedly put me on hold, and continually said there is nothing she can do, besides set another appointment to clean it again. She admitted that she was new and gave incorrect information, but "there's nothing I can do." I asked for a call back from the owner. No call. I called again, she repeated more of the same. At that point, I said I have every intention of paying what was discussed, but was stopping payment on the check, until I speak with the owner. She emailed me the next day, saying the owner agreed to call me. A month goes by and I receive an emailed copy of the bill from the owner, with no explanation. The next day I receive a court lein notice in the mail that I had 30 days to pay the bill. I never received a call. So I emailed the owner stating my concerns. He said that I never explained any of my concerns before, just that the bill was too high, that him calling would not have changed anything. That it was just a case of "buyer's remorse". I suspected that the office manager wasn't giving him all the information, since many of the issues stemmed from her lack of knowledge. He wasn't interested in any of the concerns anyway. He offered to have it cleaned again, but would not address any of the other issues with the negative experience. Not an appropriate, much less friendly, response. Would not take responsibility. The response I received from the owner was similar to the response to other negative feedback on this site (for example). The tenant didn't want "that sketchy guy" in her home again and didn't "want to deal with wet carpets for two days." And we didn't want to have to go through such a hassle again, and wanted to be done with this company. We just paid the bill and bought a carpet cleaner ourselves for $90. The carpets were actually clean when were were done, showing how filthy they still were. And the carpets dried much faster! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!!

Description of Work
We have carpet in about half of our 1000 square foot home. We needed the carpets cleaned in our home, and in one of the rooms of the duplex we rent.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

02/04/2017


soumya N.

Description of Work
.

Category carpet cleaners

1.0

04/06/2015


Jay B.

We used a $60 coupon from "Dollars and Sense" and agreed to a $20 add on for protectant, and were shocked to be billed an additional $39.99 for a Solvent Pre-spray. So what started as a $60 charge for one room ended up with a total charge of over $120!

Description of Work
Carpet Cleaning of one room.

Category carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

We would like this issue dismissed immediately and or good name restored. When we arrived the wife of the complainant purchased additional services from our technician, signed the work authorization/completions of services but the husband came home and raised his complaints and objection that are completely unfounded and should only have been brought up with his wife.
5.0

12/07/2014


Mary M.

Carpets look like new and couch looks better than it's looked in about 15 years. Technician was fast, professional, and friendly and everything dried very quickly (a major advantage of ChemDry). Will hire them again next year.

Description of Work
Cleaned a living room carpet and large basement rec room carpet + a large couch that had not been cleaned in about 30 years, and applied protective treatment to all. Threw in two cans of their spot remover for free.

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

06/11/2014


Mary S.

Wanted a non-toxic carpet cleaner. Had trouble with the online scheduling. But when I called they were very responsive. Gave me a 1-hr window as to when they arrived; called 15 minutes prior. The two men were very polite, friendly and helpful. They did a great job in less in about an hour. No hard sell on extra products (although they did mention one that I declined). Carpets were a little and quot;wetterand quot; than I thought they would be but that may be due to the type of carpet we have. Price was a little higher than other carpet cleaners but I wanted the non-toxic stuff. Will use them again.

Description of Work
Had carpets cleaned

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

05/07/2014


Debbie M.

I have been using Chem Dry of Madison for about ten years now. I am always amazed how wonderful the product works on those tough areas where we walk alot. As usual, the technician himself was professional, clean. He even put on shoe covers when ever in the house! He was also very knowledgeable about the products he uses. This is a comfort to me, as I have a very busy life, and need to rely on others to really know their stuff. Believe me he did! When I called in I was very happy with my experience. I was treated as a valuable client. Really uplifted my day.

Description of Work
The technician cleaned carpeting for me: living room, hallway, and two bedrooms.

Category carpet cleaners

1.0

03/29/2014


Ted K.

Misleading promises.multiple commitments not met. Missed appointments and callbacks. Inaccurate billing. Will never use them again!

Description of Work
Carpet cleaning and storage.

Category carpet cleaners

Service Provider Response

This was during a very brief time in our 25 year history when we had an exceptionally terrible customer service rep. WE ARE VERY SORRY THAT YOU HAD TO ENDURE ANY BROKEN PROMISES DUE TO HER CUSTOMER SERVICE. Our policy is the customer comes first, always has been and always will be. Again, very sorry that we dropped the ball on this opportunity to serve.
5.0

05/31/2013


Jennie C.

The provider was very nice and did a great job. The carpets were dry in a very short time.

Description of Work
Cleaned carpets

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

11/19/2012


Roxanne M.

Description of Work
;We are on the fourth floor of a high rise so there was a lot that Greg had to do get started. We had the carpets cleaned in two bedrooms, hallway and a den. We also had a couch cleaned and an area rug. We are very impressed with the quality of work and definitely will have them clean our carpets again. Highly recommend Greg of ChemDry of Madison.

Category carpet cleaners, upholstery cleaning

5.0

02/04/2012


Mary M.

We really like them. They were absolutely excellent. Everything was great. The people were great and they did everything on time and quickly. They were very pleasant and efficient. Their price was good as well. I have used them twice already and will continue to use them.

Description of Work
We use Chem-Dry for carpet cleaning. I used them two years ago to remove pet stain, other stains, and general cleaning in three room carpet.

Category carpet cleaners

4.0

01/09/2012


JoAnn K.

I wasn't very happy with them. The carpet was still wet when I went to bed at night and they said it would dry in a couple of hours. I don't know if it was because my carpet is thicker. It was really very wet. That was the only thing that was wrong. The carpet looked good, the carpet is newer and they were careful. Everything else was fine.

Description of Work
They did some carpet cleaning for me.

Category carpet cleaners

3.0

10/05/2011


J J.

They did a lot of treatment for animal urine. I guess I was not totally satisfied. They were not too good on follow up. We had called them several times after they came out and we asked them questions and they never got back to us. They should compare the other major services and talk to probably some from the place where they pick up their carpeting from on how they should care for them. I will not use them in the future.

Description of Work
I used Chem-Dry Of Madison a year ago to clean the carpets in the house.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

07/11/2011


Kathleen B.

The serviceman arrived exactly on time, cleaned all our carpets, and when he left, we could walk on the carpets in our socks without getting them wet. We were extremely pleased with the work and will definitely call ChemDry for carpet cleaning in the future.

Description of Work
We have a single-story condo with berber carpeting. Our previous carpet cleaner had told us that the signs of wear and tear in the high-traffic areas were permanent, and we were even considering replacing the carpet. Instead, we called ChemDry. The serviceman renewed our high-traffic areas! We were amazed, and even more amazed that the final price was less than the estimate and at least $100 less than our previous provider.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

11/15/2010


Jill G.

Professional, polite and on time. They did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Cleaned carpet throughout my home.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

05/25/2010


max V.

called them and scheduled 3 days out, did a very good job

Description of Work
prompt, did a great job

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

11/06/2009


Clareen E.

Two workers arrived, a little early, but much better than late! One of them did a quick estimate and suggested a protectant, which I agreed to. The two of them worked together quickly and efficiently and were able to remove some spots that we had tried unsuccessfully to remove ourselves. They were extremely professional and very polite and definitely knew what they were doing. I will call them in future for cleaning of upholstery. Excellent!

Description of Work
We had ChemDry clean carpeting in living room, sun room, dining room, computer nook, and second bedroom.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

08/28/2009


LINDSAY O.

I spoke with a helpful woman, Suzie, in the office on a Wednesday. I needed my carpet cleaned within 2 days, and other companies I had called basically told me, "Good luck." I was able to book an appointemnt for two days later. I had a lot of questions, and Suzie answered all of them with both friendliness and professionalism. Greg and Tim showed up right at 1pm. Originally, I had been given a window of 1pm-2pm. Both men introduced themselves. They looked clean and neat, professional, and were friendly. They even petted a couple of our animals while doing the walkthru for an estimate. They got right to work, measuring the room and moving things. They were careful with my furniture, and asked for permission before entering other areas that weren't being treated. The carpet cleaning was done with about an hour, and Greg let me walk through to check on the work, even pointing out some areas that didn't come as clean as they had hoped. When I further asked about those areas, he used a stronger solution and immediately cleaned those spots. Before leaving, they gave me a couple of instructions to keep me an my pets safe while the carpet was drying. I was mostly pleased with the results, but the carpets seemed to show wear sooner than they should have.

Description of Work
Carpet cleaning for my stairs and living area.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

06/18/2009


Amanda Z.

I've been a homeowner for 5 years and in the last three, gotten new carpeting and a dog. It was time to get the carpets cleaned. I called ChemDry just to talk to someone and get an estimate, etc. The woman on the phone was very nice and helpful. She verified that I could use either the Dollars and Sense coupon or the internet coupon. Never having hired a carpet cleaner before, I was expecting a confirmation call the day before so that I could ask some questions about what all needed to be moved ahead of time, etc. No one called, which wasn't a huge deal, but it would have been nice. Josh arrived promptly at 8 a.m. and was very friendly and professional. My husband and I had started moving furniture and, since it was just Josh, that was pretty important. Some things (bed, sofa) really couldn't be removed from their respective rooms, but he said he'd just slide them and work around them. Overall, I am very satisfied with the work. There was a lot of dog hair! But, one thing I was charged for was 'furniture'. I'm assuming this was due to the fact that he had to move some stuff, which I totally understand but it wasn't mentioned at all when I called initially. My coupon was for $30 off and that was the same as the 'furniture' charge, so it worked out. The minimum charge is $125, which I also was not aware of, but, again, I don't have a problem with it, it's just nice to know. I would definitely hire ChemDry again.

Description of Work
Cleaned the carpets in the living room, the hallway and the master bedroom.

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

10/19/2007


Carolyn B.

The men were right on time. They were friendly and efficient. Best of all, they got the stain off!

Description of Work
It cleaned a water spot and a bit of cranberry on a new dining room seat cover

Category carpet cleaners

5.0

09/03/2007


MARTIN P.

They were out within 24 hours and gave us a ridiculously low price given that we were absolutely at their mercy with the recent flooding and number of customers they must have had vying for their attention. They were very professional, timely, and gave us needed advice (e.g., the carpet is salvageable, the mat is not). They were very credible in our conversations.

Description of Work
We had water damage to the carpet in our basement. This was during the recent (August, 2007) flooding in Dane County. They dried out the carpet, treated it, and removed the mat below the carpet.

Category carpet cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    Superior Carpet Cleaning

    Superior Carpet Cleaning is located in River Falls, WI, just 20 minutes east of the St Paul/Minneapolis, MN metro area, specializing in carpet and furniture cleaning, detailing motor vehicles and stripping and waxing linoleum type floors. SCC provides quality work, and extraordinary customer service at the best value. SCC is owned and operated by Tom Vogler and was started in 2005. With over 1600 cleaning jobs completed by himself, including residential, commercial and apartments, he has no employees and does not sub contract any of the work out. Furniture moved at NO extra cost! Please call ahead if you would like assistance figuring square footage to receive best service.  

    Angi Certified

    DJK Environmental, LLC

    Established in 2012, a family owned and operated company, with over 50 years expirence in the Environmental industry. We specialize in Asbestos Inspections & Abatement, Universal Waste removal, Lead-Safe Certified and Mold Remediation  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Our services include carpet cleaning, upholstery cleaning, tile and stone care, area and oriental rug cleaning, stain removal, pet odor removal, commercial carpet cleaning, water damage restoration, wood floor cleaning, and more.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not offer carpet cleaning equipment rentals.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chem-Dry of Madison

    How is Chem-Dry of Madison overall rated?

    Chem-Dry of Madison is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Chem-Dry of Madison open?

    Chem-Dry of Madison is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Chem-Dry of Madison provide

    Chem-Dry of Madison accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, Check

    Does Chem-Dry of Madison offer free estimates?

    No, Chem-Dry of Madison does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Chem-Dry of Madison offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Chem-Dry of Madison offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Chem-Dry of Madison offer emergency services?

    Yes, Chem-Dry of Madison offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Chem-Dry of Madison?

    No, Chem-Dry of Madison does not offer warranties.

    What services does Chem-Dry of Madison offer?

    Chem-Dry of Madison offers the following services: Our services include carpet cleaning, upholstery cleaning, tile and stone care, area and oriental rug cleaning, stain removal, pet odor removal, commercial carpet cleaning, water damage restoration, wood floor cleaning, and more.

    Are there any services Chem-Dry of Madison does not offer?

    We do not offer carpet cleaning equipment rentals.