Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Chads Design Build

Founded 1992 • With Angi since September 2008

4.3

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5000 Wallace Ave

Madison, WI 53716

Description

Chads Design Build (formerly Chad's Carpentry) is a full-service residential remodeling company, specializing in sustainable design and historic renovations. Established in 1992, Chads is committed to providing knowledgeable, well-trained professionals, who create durable, energy-efficient, and beautiful renovations, including additions, kitchens, bathrooms, basements, windows and doors. We partner with Home Performance with Energy Star to assure quality and to lower your energy bills. Building a better world! LIC#:680471...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

03/01/2016


Kathleen K.

We had a very hard time working with Chad's Design Build. Chad is very responsive when you first contact him for a quote, and also when he is seeking payment. However, he is not very forthcoming when there are issues with project management. When we first met, we mentioned that we were planning to replace our roof and that we had already signed a contract with another contractor to do that work. Chad wanted us to see if we could break our contract so that his subcontractor could do the work (we did not break the contract). His invoices were very vague, and when we asked for more detail, the details didn't make much sense. For example, he charged a 20% subcontractor fee for work that his own crew did. Also, the project manager was pushy and difficult to work with. After much back and forth, we finally decided to part ways with Chad's Design Build because we felt like we couldn't get a straight answer out of them and we didn't feel comfortable working with them. Our general feeling was that if you are wealthy and you don't need to know what your money is being used for, Chad's is probably just fine. Our experience was that if you start asking billing questions, they will get very annoyed. We had hired Chad's several years back to do some smaller projects, and they did quality work. But with larger projects, they seem very interested in getting as many subcontractors involved as possible.

Description of Work
Removed fireplace, chimney and some floorboards.

Category flooring contractor, woodworking

Service Provider Response

We tried very hard to cooperate with multiple subcontractors on this jobsite. There were 2 guys whose business was called something like "two old farts" who were asking our staff questions and needing guidance. Our dumpster was used by other tradespeople on the jobsite. Everything about this job was unusual and atypical. We prefer to work with our clients to clarify job scope and cost prior to initiating a project, and I was simply trying to help the client and contain the chaos. I think it is ironic that this client questions our professionalism, but the situation speaks for itself.
1.0

09/23/2015


Mary V.

Chad is a very unprofessional and arrogant business person. He canceled our first meeting only 15 minutes prior to our meeting claiming that he was delayed and not feeling well. I had taken time off of work to meet with him. We rescheduled the meeting but then he called 10 minutes prior and stated that he would be delayed. He was late 30 minutes. After we discussed our remodeling intentions, he informed us that we would need to pay him $500.00 to get an estimate. He stated that the $500.00 was for a design agreement. Never did he state in our entire conversation, that we would need to pay him $500.00 for ANYTHING just to get an estimate. In addition, when I called to make the initial appointment, the woman I spoke with also gave me the understanding that Chad provided FREE estimates. I've never encountered a business person with such inconsideration for their customer.

Description of Work
Meeting for estimate on bathroom remodel.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Our website clearly states that we charge for the process of pricing a project. Typically those services include creating a carefully designed and specified scope of work, to meet the client's wants and needs, while also carefully assessing the home to be remodeled, so that hidden costs are identified and anticipated. The extra costs many contractors seem to discover AFTER the project starts; thee extras that are added onto the final bill when the contractor says, "we did not expect to find that" For us, this process is unacceptable. Any homeowner who has had the price of a project escalate due to unexpected discoveries knows the value of good planning and careful pricing, prior to signing a construction contract. I did meet with this individual, for free, and we discussed the typical cost of a complete bathroom renovation. I shared accurate, average cost information, and I would recommend that any consumer consult the cost versus value website for reasonably good information ([Hyperlink Removed]) If I had kept my original appointment, then this individual would probably have written a nasty review about the stomach virus I had given her. We provide accurate, friendly, and professional services, but like any professional, we charge for actual services. I apologized to this person when it became clear that she was unhappy that I was not going to spend 10 to 20 hours carefully preparing an accurate proposal for free. If she had hired us, and we had disappointed her, then I would expect to be held accountable for failing to deliver excellent services. As it is, this individual never hired us, so I will go back to providing friendly, professional services to the people who choose to do business with us.
1.0

07/06/2015


Jill F.

Chad's is extremely unprofessional. At a minimum, they should have returned my call if only to say that they are too busy or too highbrow to undertake that kind of project.

Description of Work
Contacted "provider" regarding repair of screened in porch, replacement of deck, and new front door. NEVER RETURNED my call. Went with Exterior Renovations, who did a great job. Would NEVER contact Chad's again.

Category woodworking

5.0

04/22/2015


Kelly M.

They did a very nice job. It turned into quite a project. They had to take down some siding on the outside of the house to check and diagnose where water had gotten in around a big picture window. They rebuilt the frame round my good picture window, leaving the window in place. Then they painted it so you can't even tell. The owner came to the house and gave the estimate. The employee he sent out whose name was Scot was on time in the morning, he was friendly, he cleaned up after himself and they did a good job. The work had to be done in stages to let materials dry at different times. They were good about communicating when they needed to be in the house. He was efficient. We used them because he was available and had a business relationship with my husband. I think they were fair.

Description of Work
They helped us repair rotten damaged wood around a large picture window in the living room.

Category siding

1.0

01/17/2015


Jill S.

I never received a call returning my 2 phone messages.

Description of Work
I left 2 messages and didn't ever receive a return call for an estimate request; so I didn't pursue it further.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

We have gone back and searched all calls and messages to our business line at 6082211799, which is also our listed number with Angies List. We did not receive any calls from this person, and we would appreciate the removal of this negative review, which has no basis in fact. Our office is open from 830 am to 530pm Monday to Friday. All messages left after hours are returned the next morning. While we are capable of making a mistake, we find it hard to believe that more than one message was left without response. Thank you, Chad
2.0

08/06/2014


kathy M.

My initial meeting with Chad was good. We talked about the job and he said he could get me on the schedule soon. We were working around other subcontractor's schedules but he said that was not a problem. He told me he would have a written quote to me after his week long vacation- which started the very next day. No problem, he came highly recommended. So we waited... and waited... and waited some more. Long story short... After his vacation, I made at least 4-5 friendly phone calls to his secretary about the status. She assured me that he received my messages. Finally I received an email stating he recently had the flu but would get me a quote the very next day. Guess what? Absolutely no follow up whatsoever! We blew 3 weeks in our remodeling schedule waiting for Chad. If he wasn't interested in the job, that's fine. We would have contacted someone else. But it was VERY unprofessional to leave us hanging- especially when he knew other subcontractors were inconvenienced by his lack of action also.

Description of Work
We needed a new entry porch overhang built. I was referred to Chad so I called him and promptly met with him that same week to discuss the project. It was not a big job, maybe a couple of thousand. Chad said he was interested in doing the project for us.

Category woodworking

1.0

02/24/2014


Dirk M.

Terrible. Poor communication, many redo's, could not hold a schedule.

Description of Work
Whole house remodel

Category remodeling

5.0

02/22/2014


Bill F.

Chad's Carpentry finished our 650 sq ft attic in the spring/ summer of 2013. While this project sounds simple and could have been performed at 1/3 of the cost by others we wanted the best quality and to meet very high performance standards. I am an engineer by profession and I was impressed with the attention to detail and knowledge of the Chad workers in implementing a conceptually simple construction project that in practice required skill and in-depth knowledge of building systems. Our goal was to take an uninsulated attic and covert it to conditioned space with the highest level of energy efficiency and without expanding the home HVAC system. We therefore needed the highest level of insulation and envelope sealing to maintain a comfortable living space with very little demand on the house furnace or air conditioning systems. Our house also had a pre-existing whole house fan that we use to cool the house in the summer months where cool night air is drawn into the house at night that keeps the house cool during warm days and greatly reduces our air conditioner and electric use. The whole house fan previously vented to the unconditioned attic. A design challenge to Chad was to insulate and finish the attic and to maintain the function of the whole house fan. The work involved two-part epoxy foam insulation installed in the rafters and collar ties of the attic trusses. Extensive preparation work was involved to maintain a 1 inch air gap under the roof decking to provide for airflow from the soffit vents to the roof ridge vent. This detail was important to keep the underside of the roof deck vented to manage heat and moisture and to prolong the life of the asphalt roof shingles. Gables on the attic were prepared for insulation by constructing thermal break wall studs to prepare a wall cavity to accept the foam insulation. The portion of the attic floor which was over an uninsulated porch were opened up and foamed between the floor joist to complete the exterior insulation envelope. These were all essential details to get the project right. The function of the whole house fan was maintained by venting the fan to a constructed air plenum in the attic trusses above the existing collar ties. This was a conceptually simple but complex design that required careful separation of conditioned and unconditioned spaces and provide for venting of 1,700 cubic feet per minute (the fan's flow rate, and yes that is a lot of air to move around) through the roof ridge and soffit vents. I am providing some of the details on the project to illustrate that what may seem to be a simple project can actually be a complex undertaking to achieve the project goals. As an engineer I was in a position to be involved in and to evaluate the many design decisions and I was impressed with the knowledge and skill of the Chad team. The air sealing performance of Chad's work was independently verified by a 3rd party energy auditor using a blow door test. All materials used on the project were of the highest quality. Chad was not inexpensive but we are very pleased with our comfortable attic space that in 15 below zero weather; 650 square feet of space can be heated with a small electric heater and for much of the year requires no heat of air conditioning. With any contractor one has to be clear with direction and expectations. Once a contract is approved later change orders will add to cost and the owner has to be careful make sure the charges fit the work. Chad was not the cheapest contractor we could have worked with but we are pleased with the project and if we had to do it again we would definitely hire Chad.

Description of Work
Attic finishing, foam insulation, drywall, venting of existing whole house fan.

Category woodworking

4.0

12/10/2013


Kristin D.

The carpenter was very meticulous and easy to work with. The end result was, therefore, quite good. The insulator was pretty good, but left some messes behind for someone else to deal with. The drywaller was OK but left a lot of mess which he didn't want to take care of himself. The carpenter lost interest toward the end to some extent, and it took forever for him to finish the last details. It was over 6 months for the job to be completely done, and Chad had promised the job would be done in a month. In retrospect, this was clearly unrealistic, but 6 months was rather a long time to wait for completion. Chad only seemed interested during the money discussions. I expected him to be more hands-on. I rarely saw him except when he was trying to get the business at the beginning (and he was always late to our meetings) and at the end when he wanted to be paid. Bills came before the work was finished, which didn't seem right to me.

Description of Work
Chad acted as the general contractor for an attic remodel. I had insulation replaced with foam to make the upstair air tight. Walls were rebuilt and storage space added.

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

10/17/2013


Michael C.

Chad was excellent to work with on the estimate. He explained things very well. He estimated a few things for us that we didn't end up doing. Scheduling the actual work took some effort. There were a number of very long waits in the process. But to his credit Chad acknowledged this. We agreed on a flat fee. Eric came over and did an excellent job in just two hours. I do not mind that this made the per-hour rate very high. That's the chance you take for the security of a flat fee, and the finished product is well-worth it to me. So an A on Price. By the way, I appreciate that Chad's Carpentry is a sponsor of Wisconsin Public Radio.

Description of Work
Fashioned and installed a center stringer for basement stairs, for added tread support.

Category woodworking

5.0

09/12/2013


Patricia H.

Chad is very user-friendly, explains things well, his workers are professional, neat and punctual and everything came out fine. The only hitch was the subcontractor forgot to do the basement wall insulation after finishing the attic (cost of removing zeolite was substantial--had to subcontract that to certified asbestos removers). I called Chad and they returned and finished the basement insulation the next day. I was on a budget (city low interest home rehab loan) and the cost of the electrical (rewiring to remove knob and tube--required before any wall insulation could be done--ended up not doing because money ran out) and attic insulation removal prevented me from doing everything I'd hoped to. Chad respected that, although I think his advice (e.g. get the Corian countertops instead of formica, undermount sink) was generally good in terms of resale value. He used to have some great radio commercials, too.

Description of Work
Gave me an evaluation of what repairs/improvements would gain the most energy efficiency in relation to cost; provided estimates for various options. Worked with subcontractors to remove zeolite/asbestos insulation in attic, replace with non-asbestos insulation, vented bathroom to prevent condensation, put in new light fixture (urged me to put in solatube, wish I had), worked again with sub to insulate basement walls between foundation and first floor, replaced kitchen countertops.

Category insulation, woodworking, home remodeling, energy audit

5.0

07/09/2013


Shane J.

I went through them and I just got an estimate from them. I liked, the were very professional, they showed up on time and they showed up with a printed estimate and went over it with me. Really nice and told me everything I needed and they would do. Gave me some options and the bad part wasn't, it was all good.

Description of Work
Chad's Carpentry gave me an estimate to remodel two bedrooms, demo and rebuild two bedrooms.

Category remodeling

2.0

04/18/2013


Larry H.

He(Chad) was suppose to come at 8am, called at 8:10 and would be here in 10 more min. arrived and sat in his car and quot;on the phoneand quot; in front of the house for 10 more min.. After we talked about the job he said he would be back early next week. he never came back or Called again!

Description of Work
NO WORK PREFORMED

Category decks, woodworking

5.0

12/29/2012


Amanda L.

Chad was very professional, but too expensive in my situation.

Description of Work
Chad was great. He came over on time and did a free estimate. He was knowledgeable and courteous. He took all the information he needed and forwarded me a very professional estimate via email. I did not use Chad as I have close friends in the industry who were able to underbid him considerably. I would say his price was probably appropriate, but since I had the connections to get it done cheaper I did not use his service.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

11/25/2012


Emily S.

This project started on time and went smoothly from start to finish. There were several subcontractors involved, and Chad's crew did a great job coordinating these folks and keeping them on schedule. I was always kept in the loop on scheduling. Workers showed up when they said they'd show up, were responsive to any questions I had (responding via phone and email), and kept the house clean and orderly. All the carpenters and subs were also really nice to my dogs and made sure doors and gates were closed at all times. Overall, I really appreciate their professional and friendly approach to the job. Finally and most importantly, I am completely pleased with the quality of the work- my bathrooms look great and the house is in much better shape.

Description of Work
Renovation of two bathrooms, energy efficiency improvements (insulation, chimney removal and associated framing/drywalling in the newly opened space), repaired damage from prior ice damming, finishing a crawlspace closet, door and trim replacement.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

09/17/2012


Kai T.

Chad and his estimator/project manager Dave made several visits to our condo to make sure they understood our concept. They recommended several sub-contractors (for flooring, cabinets, plumbing, etc.) and we were very impressed with all of their recommendations. We worked with the subs to select materials and fixtures. Chad and Dave assembled the estimate and Chad presented it to us, fully explaining all of the details of the estimate. We loved the plan and really didn't want to remove any scope items. Unfortunately the total cost of the project had the potential to be over 20% of the current value of our condo! Since we're not planning on being in the condo for more that a couple more years, we didn't feel that we could justify the remodeling expenditure.

Description of Work
We requested an estimate for some concept plans we had developed for remodeling our master bathroom. Chad and his team guided us through the process and developed a detailed cost estimate. In the end, it turned out that our project scope was a bit larger than we had anticipated and we decided to the project until we're more financially ready to do it.

Category remodeling, woodworking

3.0

07/24/2012


Lawrence S.

Almost on schedule and well within budget.

Description of Work
Very evasive on price and materials. I sesed that he would be a general contractor and subbing out all the work without really adding anything to the project other than his cost. My project was completed at a cost of $15,000 by a major plumbing contactor that did act as the general. His price included the plubing, masons, carpenters, painters, glass installers and countertops. I received 4 bids before i made the selection. This is not a mistake. I met Chad at the Home Show at the Marriott on the west side of Madison. His bid to me was $8000 to $18000 with no breakdown. He met with my wife and I twice at our home.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I did not work for this person, nor do I recall ever meeting this individual. We provide a free estimate, and we charge to develop a firm price contract for a major remodel, such as a kitchen. Please remove this review from my company listing, since I believe this is an error.
2.0

06/21/2012


Brent C.

The carpenters missed several appointments -- I waited a number of mornings for them to come and they would call late with excuses. The insulator they contracted was a nightmare! Our house was full of dust -- the holes he drilled in the side of the house have never been adequately taken care of; he filled one of the air chutes in the wall with insulation. We have asked Chad's a number of times to repair the damage done to the wood and it has never been done adequately. We will have to reside eventually. the owner was glacially slow at responding to our concerns. We would never use this company again

Description of Work
We hired them to do some carpentry in the attic, insulation work throughout the house and some electrical upgrading in the upstairs bathroom

Category handyman service, woodworking, energy audit

Service Provider Response

We responded numerous times to this client's particular concerns. The cedar siding was not in good condition and needed to be repainted prior to our insulation improvements. We replaced some of the siding, and painted many other areas, but because the existing paint is old and faded, color matching was difficult. We feel that we responded twice with substantial warranty "repairs" which went beyond the scope of the original project. The client claimed to be happy at that time, and did not contact us again with further concerns. Yes, the house probably needs new siding, but this was true prior to the work we performed, and remains true today. We responded to every complaint of this client at the time of the work, and so reading this review now is a little discouraging.
2.0

06/21/2012


Kimberly W.

We contacted Chad's Carpentry for an estimate on our small kitchen remodel (rearranging one wall, moving a door) at the beginning of March, 2012. He told us that our remodel was much smaller than they usually take on, but agreed to draw up plans. On March 15th we wrote a check for $500 for the design and plans, and were told that we would hear back in about two to three weeks. They cashed that check on March 19th. We did not see or hear from them for three months. This week we finally got tired of waiting and emailed owner Chad Speight asking for a refund of our design fee. He responded the next day and apologized that we "fell off his radar" (citing both personal and business reasons) and agreed to refund our money.

Description of Work
We asked for an estimate on a small kitchen remodel. Chad arrived and took some measurements. We gave him a check for $500 for the design (discounted from their usual $1500 fee because the project was so small). We never heard from him again.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

3.0

04/10/2012


Robert K.

The interior finish work on the door and windows was first class. The exterior work left much to be desired. I am left wondering if the crew ever worked with cedar siding before. The caulking used cracked and pulled away from the joints on the exterior. I had to recaulk many of the joints this spring. Some of the cedar boards cracked on installation and were left in place. I had to drive several nails in deeper as they protruded well above the boards. The primer used on the cedar boards did not seal the natural stain in the wood, requiring me to use two finish coats to cover. The work commenced much later than we invisioned. The contract was signed in August, work never got finished in the fall as weather turned cold by Thanksgiving. .

Description of Work
New cedar siding on one side of house, dormers refinished, two windows replaced,one exterior door replaced

Category siding, replacement windows, woodworking

Service Provider Response

We performed this work in late fall, as we agreed to do when the contract was signed. The homeowner was doing all painting himself, and so we offered to provide factory primed cedar. We were not informed or contacted by the homeowner with his concerns until after he "fixed" the problems himself. We certainly would expect to have an opportunity to address any concerns or complaints, but we were not given that opportunity. We are committed to providing quality products, professionally installed. We have restored and replaced cedar siding on many homes, and we typically oversee the finish painting and caulking of the project. I would have gladly visited the job site and offered to address the homeowner's concerns had we been contacted.
5.0

02/27/2012


Lucy G.

Bathroom vent fan: They did a good job. It took a while, but now I don't have to worry about mildew on the walls and ceiling, which had been a problem for quite a while. The price was kind of high, but it was worth it. Garage back door: They did a good job on that, too, but couldn't get something we wanted on the door, so the job was incomplete for a week or more (I don't remember exactly). It was also pricey, but well done. I have peace of mind that we won't need to fix it again soon.

Description of Work
They put a bathroom vent fan in a bathroom where it was a somewhat tricky, inconvenient installation. They also put a new back door on our garage, with a deadbolt, increasing security. They did a good job on that, too, but couldn't get something we wanted on the door, so the job was incomplete for a week or more (I don't remember exactly). It was also pricey, but well done. I have peace of mind that we won't need to fix it again soon.

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

3.0

11/26/2011


Bill S.

Our home sustained substantial damage due to an early fall hail storm. A wood bow window that we knew had water-issues was severely damaged in the storm and needed to be replaced. I had heard of Chad's Carpentry before and choose them due to their reputation for quality and professionalism. Chad, the owner, worked with us throughout the project and suggested that one possible, lower-cost option would be to keep the frame of the existing bow window and simply replace the 5 window sashes. He assured us that the frame of the existing bow window was undamaged by the water issues we knew existed, so we chose this lower-cost option. When the sashes of the existing window were removed it was obvious that the frame had extensive water damage and could not be salvaged. At this point Chad suggested that he use the 5-replacement sashes that had already been purchased and delivered to our home to build a custom, bow-window. Although Chad indicated that the final product's quality would match that of a window coming out of the factory, I was skeptical and insisted that a new, factory-built bow window be ordered. To Chad's credit, he absorbed the cost (~$2,000) of the five previously ordered replacement window sashes and, at the end of the day, we had a factory-built bow window installed. My disappointment with our experience is two-fold. First, had Chad taken a little extra time to diagnose the health of the existing window, he could have easily determined that the frame could not be re-used. Secondly, once the frame was discovered to be damaged, Chad's solution would have resulted (in my opinion) in an inferior final product that we would have regretted installing. At the end of the day, Chad did hold up his end of our relationship, so I would use him again...but the experience is not one that I would describe as having, and quot;...gone smoothly.and quot;

Description of Work
Removed and replaced a 5-sash, wood bow window

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Wow. I guess no good deed goes unpunished. There are a few facts that need to be made clear. I had removed some trims initially to determine that the window frame was sound; leading us to order the insert windows. Upon removing all of the sashes on the day of installation, a small blemish led my staff to a substantial area of rot which was otherwise hidden. I think most companies would have simply ignored this, installed the new insert windows, and ironically, I probably would have earned a stellar review and a happy customer. Instead, my staff alerted me and the customer to the damage that was previously hidden, and I made an unusual offer. I would rebuild the old window and install the new inserts; to deliver an even better finished product than originally offered, OR I was willing to order a new unit and install that, as originally priced. We ordered the new window, and it is beautifully and professionally installed at the price originally quoted. We received no additional compensation for our time dealing with the unexpected rot, or for the windows that now sit in our warehouse. Having gone the extra mile, the least I would have expected is a great review. I had no contractual obligation to honor the original price or to alert the client to the problems we uncovered; but we are thorough and honest to a fault. Since I had looked for rot and been unable to find it originally, I made an unusual offer once the rot was uncovered. The companies that hide or ignore problems get the A; the company that goes the extra mile without charging anything extra compared to the original price quote get a C. This is the problem that plagues our industry. Most consumers assess home improvements by the aesthetics, with no knowledge or concern for the hidden details which can cause lots of heartache and expense in the long run. We pride ourselves on getting the hidden details right, and on earning the trust and long-term happiness of our clients. Ongoing maintenance problems are the hidden cost of "a great deal" We hear it all the time from our clients, who hired someone who came highly recommended, only to learn that their beautiful renovation would quickly start to fail and fall apart. The initial reviews and work product were great, but the long-term value was not. Go figure.
5.0

11/23/2011


Bruce S.

We found Chad on Angie's list and invited him over to discuss a renovation project. We ultimately did not use him for the project, but did engage him for several miscellaneous repairs to the 85+ year old house we bought last spring. He sent a carpenter/handyman who completed the work over several days. The work was excellent quality and the carpenter was very personable, flexible and easy to work with.

Description of Work
Reduced the squeaking of our original oak flooring, rehung a door, fixed a plaster defect and repainted, constructed shelves in the laundry room, installed a hand rail to the walk up attic and a grab rail at the top.

Category handyman service, plastering, woodworking, interior painters, doors

5.0

11/19/2011


Kai T.

In the spring of this year, we discovered some and quot;soft spotsand quot; in the oak trim surrounding some of the windows in our sunroom. I attempted to make a repair, but as I got into the project, I quickly realized that it was going to be more involved that I first thought. I contacted Chad's (through Angie's List) for a quote. Chad showed up at the appointed time and spent almost an hour looking over the situation with me. He provided an estimate with a range of costs because of the uncertainty of the cause of the water infiltration. He guaranteed that the project would not exceed the upper number and that we would otherwise only be charged for the actual work and materials. He also did a good job of helping me understand that the situation was not as dire as I was imagining it to be. The project went very well. It took some time to find where the water was coming from - we had to wait for rain with wind from a particular direction in order to find the leak. Other than that, the work proceeded quickly and looks great! We're very happy with the final results and look forward to working with Chad's in the future.

Description of Work
We had water infiltration around some windows in our sunroom. The water had caused wood rot on portions of the window frames and the supporting wall structure. Chad's replaced/repaired all of the wood components wit dry rot, made repairs to stop the water infiltration and reinstalled the trim around the windows. In addition to the repair work, we decided to have Chad's install oak trim around the door opening from our living room into the sunroom and to close a window opening between the two rooms.

Category remodeling, woodworking

5.0

10/19/2011


Janet B.

Chad's team of coordinator, general crew, and carpenter worked well together and the project went smoothly from start to finish. They were a joy to work with and I am pleased as punch with the results.

Description of Work
Chad's Carpentry remodeled my kitchen this summer to my finicky conditions. I have a 1938 colonial style relatively small house and wanted to maintain the charm of the original kitchen. I needed additional cabinetry, new counter top, shelving, and provisions for new appliances. Lead carpenter Eric designed and built new cabinets and cabinet doors to match the original 30s style. He even designed and built shelf brackets that match the existing window arch detail. Chad came up with a creative plan to allow for range hood exhaust to the outside. Eric built shelves to hide the exhaust duct work and built molding detail around all to match the original. I had despaired that these things were even possible after discussing the project with other contractors, who mostly wanted to remove the old and start over.

Category woodworking, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    USA Insulation of Madison

     

    Vanguard Roofing

    Here at Vanguard Roofing, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. We are experts in Roofing installation and are certified, highly-trained, and known for top-quality work. We look forward to earning your business.  

    Time 2 Remodel LLC

    TIME 2 REMODEL, LLC is located in Madison, Wisconsin. Curt Dimmig has owned & operated his own business since 1999. Curt is a 3rd generation carpenter and started working in the remodeling business as a child in his parents kitchen & bath remodeling business. He often worked side by side with his father and mother designing, building and installing custom kitchens & baths. Since then, his range of skill, knowledge and experience has continued to grow to an award winning level. The time it takes to figure out a remodel project is what we take PRIDE IN HELPING our customers with. We stand out with our CREATIVE SOLUTIONS and by PERSONALLY ASSISTING you with all your selections (plumbing, cabinetry,tile, flooring, etc) while walking you through the remodeling process.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential remodeling; Design and consultation; Home Performance with Energy Star partner, Energy-efficiency and air sealing; Additions; kitchen remodeling; bathroom remodeling; Bungalows; second floor additions; dormers; skylights; windows and doors; screen porches; attic remodeling; basement remodeling; fiber cement siding; CARPENTRY-WOODWORKING, REMODELING-GENERAL.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Chads Design Build

    How is Chads Design Build overall rated?

    Chads Design Build is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Chads Design Build open?

    Chads Design Build is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Chads Design Build provide

    Chads Design Build accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, American Express, Discover

    Does Chads Design Build offer free estimates?

    No, Chads Design Build does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Chads Design Build offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Chads Design Build offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Chads Design Build offer a senior discount?

    No, Chads Design Build does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Chads Design Build?

    Yes, Chads Design Build offers warranties.

    What services does Chads Design Build offer?

    Chads Design Build offers the following services: Residential remodeling; Design and consultation; Home Performance with Energy Star partner, Energy-efficiency and air sealing; Additions; kitchen remodeling; bathroom remodeling; Bungalows; second floor additions; dormers; skylights; windows and doors; screen porches; attic remodeling; basement remodeling; fiber cement siding; CARPENTRY-WOODWORKING, REMODELING-GENERAL.