Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Blue Terra Design LLC

Founded 2007 • With Angi since June 2010

Blue Terra Design, LLC is a Madison-based kitchen cabinetry and remodeling business. We specialize in creating original custom kitchens, bathrooms and unique wood pieces such as built-ins, aquarium stands, furniture, etc. While custom cabinets are our specialty, we offer cabinets made by other reputable Wisconsin cabinet makers to accommodate almost any budget. DESIGN Our in-house team will work with you to create a custom 3-D drawing for your kitchen or project. Before any cutting or hammering begins, our process involves thoughtful planning, skilled cabinet designs and open communication. You decide how involved you want to be – or not be – in the creation process. We are able to incorporate your vision into every detail or craft a full design for you based on our expertise. Tell us how you want to work with us. Your experience in this process will be comfortable and painless – it is our priority to deliver on that promise. BUILD With skill, passion and competence, we translate your design into reality. We’re dedicated to your project, start to finish, and will focus solely on your work before the next job begins. We will not issue you a cost quote before we’re sure the estimate will be accurate. There will never be surprise expenses on a Blue Terra bill. You decide how involved you wish to be – or not be — in the build; we invite you to help with construction labor to lower your project costs. In everything we build for you, we deliver with flexibility, follow-through and fairness.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(33) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 33 reviews
Duane J.
5.0
05/24/2017
They explained very well what they had done, what they did and why.
Description of Work
demo of old plywood and new replaced, and some plumbing.
Category
flooring contractor, home remodeling
Duane J.
5.0
05/24/2017
Job was done on time and as planned. Paul was very responsive to answer any questions we had. Very nice and professional work.
Description of Work
Kitchen countertop, sink and faucet.
Category
countertops, woodworking
Nathan D.
5.0
09/19/2016
Paul, and all of the folks at Blue Terra were absolute gentlemen. They make amazing cabinets and the finished product is a great thing to behold. I requested, and received local Wisconsin cherry wood cabinets, made to custom specifications. The cabinets have a soft close feature that makes for an extremely nice kitchen and holds a tremendously high personal value for me. Beyond cabinets, there were some project difficulties that stemmed from such a large effort. The overall responsiveness, punctuality and professionalism are dropped to a B due to several challenges. Here are the big "Buts". 1. The project began in March of 2016, and wasn't finalized until September 2016. I expected a long project due to a full kitchen remodel with many complexities, but there were several unfortunate hold-ups which included the countertop contractor (Cambria - Not Blue Terra), and the hunt for a Painter (I wound up contracting my neighbor). 2. It was very difficult to get all teams to meet and agree on a single unified project list that provided a comprehensive picture of the required work. A general kitchen remodel checklist would have been tremendously helpful and it seemed impossible to know all major steps along the way without several conversations. 3. Division of responsibility was commonly misplaced, and several physical details were missed. Who does the drywall patching? Who does the initial sheetrock placement? The cabinet depth requires movement of a recessed can light. The number of drawer pulls was mis-ordered/mis-counted. Though these areas represented issues, this is only dropped to a B because Paul and his team regularly went above and beyond to correct the issue if it was present. Even if an issue took a bit of time to correct, it was always corrected. When I walked through the process with Paul, after the install, he took my feedback with professionalism and a high level of regard for improving his business for any future project. If I could do it all again, I definitely would.
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel including Cabinets, Countertops, Construction, Demolition, Roofing, Drywall, flooring, painting, electrical, plumbing. Custom local Wisconsin cherry cabinets on top of new tile flooring, with brand new countertops. Remove the chimney from the kitchen,
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, handyman service, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Melody R.
4.0
07/27/2015
The service went fine. We did not spend any more than the $49 Big Deal. Our schedule is pretty hard to work around so I think they came out probably in November. We like the individual that came over, did the design, worked with us on it, and gave us some feedback and input. The fact that a bathroom project is relatively a small project so there is not a great deal of design that can go into it. We were looking for a little bit more in the way of design ideas and we did not get as much of that. Everything else was good, but it was lacking a little bit in the design aspect. It is just that bathrooms are relatively small, straightforward space and we did not get any real creativity from them. Our interaction with them was good. We would possibly use them again in the future.
Description of Work
We purchased a Big Deal for Blue Terra Design. It was $49 for a kitchen and bathroom design consultation with 3D rendering. We used it for a bathroom design.
Category
home remodeling
Robert P.
2.0
05/25/2015
He promptly stopped to take a look. Was personable and professional. I was sold on his ideas, the verbal estimate and thought he was the contractor for us. But then he just dropped off the face of the earth. This started in February. I tried to contact him several times by email. Nothing. Then finally he responded saying he would get the proposal next week. Nothing. Then I called and he said he was just getting to it. Nothing. I'm done. I really wanted to have the work done this summer. My fear now is that schedules will be filled and I will not be able to get anyone here to do it. Seemed like a nice guy, but didn't have it together. Sorry Paul. I feel like I was patient and held up my end of the deal.
Description of Work
Paul came twice to look at my bathroom and provided an unofficial estimate and proposal. That's as far as it went.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I'm very sorry for not following through and giving you a written proposal. The last 6 months were very busy for us and we now have a better organizational structure.
Greg C.
2.0
01/30/2015
We did setup a consultation and Paul came out and we discussed a few items. As he was leaving he did mention that it might be a few weeks to get the designs back to us as they are a smaller employer and it does take time to create those designs. I didn't think that to be an issue as we were in no rush. A few months have past and we reached out again to check the status and was told that they thought it was already sent, but they will work on it right away. That was at the end of December and at this point I have sent 3 more messages all going unreturned. At this point we could care less about the 3D images, but the entire process has been a bit annoying.
Description of Work
Purchased a Big deal for a 3D rendering of a remodeled kitchen
Category
remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
sherryl P.
5.0
12/26/2014
Paul was very helpful throughout, delivering what we requested. I particularly appreciated his recommendations for details where we didn't have an opinion. Blue Terra handled all aspects of the project, from removing a wall and bringing in the required engineering expertise to the fine cabinetry. Communication was responsive and work was done as scheduled and expected, adjusting to the inevitable surprises when remodeling a 100 year old house.
Description of Work
Total kitchen remodel with customer cabinetry.
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
William B.
1.0
09/27/2014
poorly, he came to do a quote then forgot about the order and he personally refunded the $
Description of Work
nothing, he lost our order.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

I dropped the ball on this, and I'm embarrassed. The moment that I was aware, I contacted them and they asked for a refund. I refunded them that same day.
Karen H.
5.0
06/03/2014
This is our second time hiring Blue Terra for our home. Paul is very fair with his pricing and Jesse did an excellent job trimming out the interior of our home. We won't hesitate to use Blue Terra again. They are great!
Description of Work
Installed new trim around windows
Category
woodworking
Anna S.
5.0
03/12/2014
Paul and his crew were fantastic. He not only came in WAY below any other quotes that I got, but he also really understood what I wanted (just a bathroom face lift, really), had amazing suggestions, did phenomenal work, was punctual, responsive, cat-friendly, and cleaned up after he was done. He even helped me with a few other projects unrelated to the bathroom while his crew was there at no additional charge. He was the only contractor I heard from who was okay with only doing parts of the room and letting me do the rest to save on cost. He even offered to loan me tools to finish up the job! When I noticed a drip the day after the installation, the man dropped everything and came over to fix it immediately. He then checked in with me a few times by phone to make sure everything was going well He was respectful and very patient with me. As a first time home buyer, I had a million questions and really wanted to watch and learn about what he was doing. Paul didn't just let me watch; he taught me along the way and reassured me about the things he knew I could do myself, and what might be better left for professionals. His ideas were really helpful to me and on-par with what it is that he knew I was hoping to accomplish in this house. Unlike other contractors, his suggestions were never the BMW of options for my Toyota of a house/budget. I've heard amazing things about his custom cabinetry made from locally-sourced wood. That's high up there on the list of the next projects I'm going to call him for. I almost don't want to review him for this site because I'd hate for his calendar to fill up by the time I need him again. He's the only person I'll ever call. Gosh, I'm really trying not to make this sound like the guy is my BFF or anything. First time I met him was for the bathroom-- honest!
Description of Work
Bathroom face-lift for first time home buyer. Tore out old tub surround, sink, old fixtures. Installed new materials, and was nice enough to help me with a few other repairs around the house while he was there. Came back immediately to fix a drip I noticed.
Category
woodworking, home remodeling
Heather & Becci H.
5.0
02/27/2014
They did it in their shop. They responded really quickly to our inquiry and they were able to give us a very realistic estimate of the final cost and they were very communicative back and forth. We communicated via phone and over email on how we get the project finalized and then they did the work and they did great. We came to pick it up and it was most exactly like how they told us it was gonna look and exactly what it was gonna cost and it was great.
Description of Work
Blue Terra Design LLC did a small piece of custom carpentry for us.
Category
woodworking
Linda T.
2.0
10/28/2013
We purchased a new front door and storm door from our local Hardware/Lumber store. The doors arrive primed but not painted. Blue Terra Design (BTD)recommended front and back be painted the same color when we wanted the inside and outside different he strongly recommended the same color. We went with white and he was working on another job so took the doors and returned weeks later to install. Without taking the storm door out of the box he said it would not fit. I called the store where we purchased the doors and was assured the storm would fit but might need some adjusting. We were encouraged to return the storm door and he recommended a wooden version that cost more. When it arrived it was definitely a sub standard brand. The screen insert was uneven and the glass insert had a lot of glue on the glass. We just wanted the job done, by this time months had passed since hiring BTD. Door was installed, storm door was installed and hardware purchased by BTD was installed. Two weeks late the door knob looked like it was 10 years old. We followed up to have it replaced and were told we could purchase a replacement and he would install it but not pay for a new knob. We have since painted the outside of the doors and hired a lock smith to replace the door knobs. Door molding was installed but not sanded or painted. We finished. Door to basement installed, cut to fit, not painted and Paul put original paint encrusted door knob back on rather than the new knob.
Description of Work
Paint ed new front door and installed door with storm door. Cut and installed new piece of wood for door moulding. Installed basement door.
Category
woodworking
Todd M.
5.0
07/29/2013
They came to give a very reasonable estimate and a few days later, came to repair the floor. The work went very quickly and there were no problems at all. Everything was completely cleaned up at the end of the job. The job was well done.
Description of Work
Blue Terra reinforced the subfloor around the toilet so that the toilet ring could be screwed into the floor.
Category
woodworking
susan S.
5.0
05/23/2013
Paul was sympathetic to my situation and worked with me to make it cost effective. I had had a bad experience with someone hired a few years ago that claimed to be a 'carpenter'. That guy ended up doing fair to poor work, and stole some decking supplies from my garage. Paul came through with flying colors, showing up when he said he would, and was reasonably priced. Happy customer!
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel and some simple upgrades in the kitchen.
Category
woodworking
Karen B.
5.0
05/21/2013
Paul transformed a grungy toilet room in our basement into a nice respectable basement bathroom. Plumbers roughed in the shower and Paul did the rest - new walls, floor, vanity, toilet, built-in shelf, lighting, fan, etc. Had him replace some windows a few months later and did a great job on that as well. Wonderful guy to work with.
Description of Work
Remodeled basement bathroom.
Category
replacement windows, home remodeling
Majid A.
5.0
04/25/2013
Paul came to help build walls. He came when he could and stayed as long as needed. My husband worked along side him, then followed his instructions after he left. Really nice person.
Description of Work
Paul was awesome. He listened very well and went above and beyond our expectations. We plan on hiring him again to help us remodel our kitchen.
Category
contractors, drywall, plastering, woodworking
MARION M.
5.0
03/27/2013
Paul found time in his busy schedule to give an estimate. He is obviously experienced and was impressive in his quick assessment and explanation of how the work should be done. My house is quirky, but he anticipated all possible scenarios and was helpful in showing me facts that help me maintain my house. His use of a saw was impressive, but before he cut my cabinets, he emphasized what mistakes could be made. I made an informed decision because of Paul's care. As it happened, his cutting was what I call perfect. He then put in a new gas line and a new electrical line for the stove. Thanks to his care, when the new cooking unit came in the next day, it fit perfectly immediately. No grief at all. Paul really knows his tools, the varieties of parts needed, and how to fit it all together in a timely manner. I enthusiastically recommend Paul.
Description of Work
Our gas oven died and we needed a quick reworking and partial ripping out of our kitchen cabinets, a dedicated circuit for new electrics, and a careful review of our wiring and and gas lines.
Category
custom cabinets, countertops, flooring contractor, handyman service, woodworking, home remodeling
Laurie H.
5.0
03/13/2013
It couldn't have gone smoother, Paul worked with us and with our schedule to complete the job on time and within budget. I can't come up with a way for him to improve!
Description of Work
Paul built us an absolutely beautiful covered patio. He worked with us and took our ideas to heart. The outcome was more than we had hoped for!
Category
decks
Marniasha G.
5.0
01/14/2013
We did not use them because they were a lot more expensive than some of the others. The quoted price was about $3,500. We met their estimator in person because he came to our house. He was good; just a little more expensive.
Description of Work
I got an estimate from Blue Terra Design to remodel my bathroom.
Category
home remodeling
Kent W.
5.0
12/03/2012
The overall experience went well. We had a mix-up and forgot to order the second newel post but when we realized that Paul expedited the second newel delivery. It took me awhile to get everything stained and by that point Paul was on a big remodel job. He fit us in when he was done and email/texting with him was always easy. When doing the initial estimate, Paul had not noticed we would need a simple wooden endpiece. He built this and included it for free. I feel that Paul is more used to larger remodel jobs but never felt like a second class citizen. I would definitely use him for any larger jobs in the future, the workmanship was fabulous.
Description of Work
Paul and Leah (spelling) added a railing to our staircase. We have a small and tight staircase so wanted the railing to be removable in order to move furniture in and out. Paul had a great idea and found a great bolting system to make the entire railing removable. They installed it all in one day and allowed our pooch to be out while they worked.
Category
woodworking
Joan H.
5.0
10/25/2012
I learned a very valuable lesson. Let a pro do the job and you will have no regrets. I would and have recommended Paul to others. He is a true master of carpentry.
Description of Work
Took out a useless door, set in studs, dry walled, taped and finished the wall so perfectly, you would never know that a door was ever there. Paul was efficient, did a wonderful job and was as neat as a pin. I could not be more pleased with the end result.
Category
woodworking
Peter K.
5.0
06/08/2012
We couldn't be happier with the work Paul has done--his combination of craftsmanship, professionalism and reasonable pricing makes him a rarity among the contractors we've hired. On top of it all, he has excellent design ideas and is honest when asked if he thinks a piece of work isn't necessary or could be done differently. All in all, a super positive experience.
Description of Work
Paul has worked on a number of projects in our house including a complete remodel of our front entryway for which he constructed beautiful custom shelving, trim, and wall hooks, as well as put up new drywall.
Category
custom cabinets, remodeling, woodworking
Jenell J.
5.0
06/14/2011
Paul is incredible. He is a consummate professional, on time (to the minute!) every day and very clear in his communication, friendly, and reasonable in price. He was willing to work with us to split some of the work (although we only ended up painting). But most of all, Paul is a master craftsman. Our bathroom is beautiful. The tile is gorgeous, the carpentry is perfect, and we couldn't be more pleased. We'd definitely hire him again, and we absolutely would recommend Paul to ANYONE! (Oh, and he gets along very well with pets, too...)
Description of Work
Paul demolished our old bathroom tile and removed fixtures; rewired the bathroom; installed new fixtures; put in new subway tile; created a window/shelf; fixed bathroom plumbing.
Category
ceramic tile, woodworking, home remodeling
Larry N.
5.0
08/14/2010
The job went very smoothly even when the sub-floor was found to be a mess. Everything was explained to us and all facets of the job moved along nicely.
Description of Work
We had our kitchen and dining areas as well as our living room floor redone. We did hardwood in the dining area and the living room and tile in the kitchen area.
Category
hardwood floor, woodworking
Chad G.
5.0
08/02/2010
They did all the work in about 6 weeks. They were very knowledgeable and very helpful. They were highly reliable. I am particularly detailed oriented and know how to do a lot of it myself. I would absolutely work with them again and I'm sure I will. I could just call them up and tell them what I wanted and they would do it.
Description of Work
I used Blue Terra Design to skim coat 4 rooms. I had plaster that had cracks all over the place and Paul came in and taped up all of the cracks that needed it and skim coated to cover up all the imperfections in the walls. They also installed hickory floors in 3 rooms and a tile backsplash. They also hung crown molding.
Category
ceramic tile, hardwood floor, plastering, woodworking

Phone

Address

540 Tasman, Suite F

Madison, WI 53714

Other Information

Services offered

Kitchen remodeling. Design & build kitchen cabinets using local woods. Renovations. Carpentry. Ceramic tile. Hardwood flooring. Plastering. Remodeling.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Blue Terra Design LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

Blue Terra Design LLC is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Blue Terra Design LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Blue Terra Design LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, Blue Terra Design LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Blue Terra Design LLC does not offer a senior discount.

No, Blue Terra Design LLC does not offer warranties.

Blue Terra Design LLC offers the following services: Kitchen remodeling. Design & build kitchen cabinets using local woods. Renovations. Carpentry. Ceramic tile. Hardwood flooring. Plastering. Remodeling.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Kool View Co

5.0

(18)

Angi Certified

Kool View Co

Kool View began business in 1973 selling glass coatings to save energy and stop furniture fading. In 1979 we were awarded a US. Department of Energy grant to study the "honeycomb" concept of window insulation. In 1982 we were granted a patent on our very own "Seal-A-Shade" product. We also began selling passive solar rooms. Over time passive solar sunrooms became our main product. We have built over 2000 sun room, patio room and room additions. Our construction focus has always been saving energy, improving the home environment and adding long term value to your home. If you have a unique design in mind or a challenging job site you have come to the right place! With with our trained staff of designers and craftsmen, Kool View is in the position to make your dream room an energy efficient reality. Kool View offers you the best of the "High Tech" corporate world while remaining a locally owned and operated business. We never forget that our customers are also our neighbors. Drop into our showroom or call us for a free, in-home estimate. We'd love to hear from you!  

JD Touch Construction

5.0

(2)

Angi Certified

JD Touch Construction

At JD Touch Construction, we believe that a kitchen or bathroom remodel is more than just a job, it's an opportunity to create the home of your dreams. We strive to provide our customers with the best quality for a fair price. We offer kitchen and bathroom remodels and general construction. We have helped our customers get the construction project of their dreams without breaking the bank. Our team members are highly skilled professionals who will help you design the room of your dreams. We look forward to partnering with Harwood Heights, Oxford, and Lake Bluff. Our service area includes over 100 miles from Norridge. Call today to book your next project!  

Next Door & Window

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Next Door & Window

Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.