Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A H Remodeling LLC

Founded 2003 • With Angi since December 2006

5.0

(110) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

306 Eugenia Ave

Madison, WI 53705

Description

A.H. Remodeling is a small company looking to provide quality home improvement needs. We employ approximately (2) full time employees and High quality subcontractors. We utilize using the same employees and subs on all projects, giving everybody who hires us the same quality team. We specialize in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/14/2018


Kristin G.

Excellent job but I reviewed it last year.

Description of Work
renovate bathroom

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

I was going to say,... I believe you reviewed this bathroom last year? Did angieslist contact you for a response you already gave? Because, I did not. Sorry if they did. Hope all is well. - Thanks, Andy
5.0

01/18/2018


Mary H.

Andy did a complete kitchen remodel, including knocking out a wall and converting it to a peninsula open to the dining room. We hired A H Remodeling to do a bathroom remodel a couple years ago and were happy to hire them again for the kitchen. Everything went very well. The work was completed on schedule and the final cost came in right around what we expected, very close to the estimate plus some small things we decided to add during the project. Andy is very responsive. He always responds very quickly to phone calls or emails and finds a way to help or fix any snags or concerns. Our kitchen is beautiful and we love it!! Thanks!

Description of Work
kitchen remodel

Category custom cabinets, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, interior painters

1.0

07/10/2017


debby L.

Terribly. I called on a Thursday and left a voicemail. I called back again on Monday and left a second message. I received a call back on Wednesday, and set up a time for an estimate to be the following Tuesday at 8:30AM. Everything was fine. Then on Monday afternoon, I received a call from someone saying he couldn't do tomorrow and could I make myself available later Tuesday. I had already taken off of work to be home for the estimate on Tuesday, and he was giving me less than 24 hour notice. I told him I couldn't make myself available Tuesday afternoon. There was no apology for the late notice of cancellation. He asked me when else I could do, and I offered weekends. He said that I was being difficult and that he didn't need my business. If I was being difficult, then I hate to think what he thought of himself - cancelling the day before and expecting me to take time off work with no notice. He was very disrespectful of my time.

Description of Work
Needed a handrail built outside to help my elderly grandma get up my front steps along with a few other small jobs

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Did you take the time to look at our profile here on angieslist? It specifically says we do not offer handyman services... I told you that after you kept calling me. Did I call back the first time, no! We do not do that work. You called a company that does Remodels and does not do small jobs. I was very clear about that. I also told you that if I did look at or do a small job. It would not be for months, maybe longer, would have no priority. I set up an appt. with you because you still wanted an estimate.(again, after I made it clear, this is not what we do) So at this point you are wasting both of our time. I had an issue the morning we scheduled at a real job with a customer attached to it. Guess what, they come before work we clearly said we did not want. (You said that yourself, should be enough to part ways). I called you the day before the meeting. Nowhere did I say I would give you 24 hrs. cancellation. You can pretend that means something. It does not. I called and gave you the option for later that same day. You did not want it. You became rude and confrontational. Since I did not want the job in the first place. Maybe you should take that as a clue, since it was stated right away on the phone. People leave messages all the time asking to call back if we are interested. We always do that. If we do not call back. It is because it is not something we are interested in. I will take the F you gave me and put it with the other one. One other person who has the time to write reports on company's that have not worked for them. Or people can look at the 104 A ratings, all of who we did work for. I like how you say I was disrespectful of your time. You called me multiple times, I did not call you back, when I did I explained it was not a good fit and you still wanted me to come out. You are the reason contractors only return some calls. I do not give out bids fast. If you need a bid or appt. that fast move on. I work for customers with patience and that want things done correct. 104 - A ratings for customers 2 - F ratings for people we did not work for I am glad you took the time to review your psychotic phone skills. I give you an A+!!!!
5.0

05/01/2017


Sharon L.

I was very, very pleased with his work, although I wasn't as happy with his kitchen cabinet subcontractor. I don't believe he's using that person anymore. Andy is fair and a very dedicated worker. He's very good a communicating when there is a delay for some reason, which I really appreciated. I trusted him to be in my house even when I was not at home.

Description of Work
Andy remodeled both my bathroom and my kitchen.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Removed Member Name]. Just to be clear, I no longer use that cabinet maker. I switched to an Amish Cabinet Builder for at least the last 7 years. Maybe longer. Hope all has been well with you guys!!! Appreciate the feedback.
5.0

04/23/2017


Kristin G.

Andy, Sam and Sean did a great job. They arrived on time every day, worked 8 hours, and cleaned up before they left. They were careful to protect my new hardwood floors from damage (and to not let the cat out!). They were also pleasant to have around. I was impressed by the quality of their work. Andy was extremely helpful in choosing and giving advice about materials and fixtures. He constantly evaluated the work of his crew and made sure that I was satisfied with the result of each phase. The work of the electric and plumbing subcontractors, Eric and Travis, was likewise of high quality. I am extremely pleased with the result. An altogether satisfactory and pleasant experience.

Description of Work
My 50s era bathroom was in need of complete remodeling. I chose AH Remodeling from Angie's List because of the great reviews.

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/28/2016


Louise R.

The deck is about 360 sq. ft. with stairs on either end, a bench built in to one part, and a railing all around, so it's a lot of painting. They did the job promptly and without leaving a mess. They managed to fit me in among other jobs, and I didn't have to wait a long time to have it done. This is not the first time I have hired Andy and his crew, and I have always been pleased with the product.

Description of Work
AH Remodeling power washed my deck, then scraped and sanded as needed. They painted it with deck stain.

Category decks, pressure washing, house painters

5.0

06/24/2016


Diana G.

Our old shower on second floor?began leaking into the room below and was in need of updating.?? AH Remodeling? had remodeled our basement?in 2009 so we were completely confident in the level of professionalism and quality we would receive.?They??provided reliable up front consultation on the design, and with?their?experience and expertise?were able to? guide us to quality suppliers.?The company has reliable employees and a?strong relationship with their subcontractors.??The work was performed in a timely manner and we could not be more pleased with our new bathroom.???

Description of Work
AH Remodeling? remodeled our master bath which included completely gutting the old bath fixtures and replacing them with new shower, tub, custom vanity, toilet, and tile, etc.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/09/2016


David H.

Prompt replies and scheduling. Recommended good sources for the new floor tiles. Workers were polite and took care to protect the rest of the house. Excellent work - the floor looks fantastic.

Description of Work
Bathroom floor.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor

5.0

03/05/2016


Kathleen D.

House is 25 years old. One of those mass builder neighborhoods using the cheapest items available. I am the 2nd owner. Hated the bathroom from the beginning. Grey (gross) shower insert. White 6" floor tile. Cheap vanity and fixtures. Bath fan from circa whenever. Andy was a consummate professional. Responded to my bid request in a timely fashion. Gave all options available. Gave me timelines and sources for product. I wanted average hand holding and got what I wanted. If I had a question, Andy got back to me immediately and offered suggestions and guidance. Andy's crew was professional and friendly. I work all day and hardly saw them; however, my daughter was greeted by them daily and told me they were were friendly (funny at times) and professional. When I got home they had cleaned up and, despite a full gut job, there was little mess other than drywall dust. which is to be expected. Bottom-line, I would definitely recommend Andy and his team to anyone who would ask. I am so happy with the results. I have a gorgeous bathroom. My daughter has her own bath but has moved into mine (got to have a talk). She treats it like her own personal spa. Thanks Andy -- look at what I have to deal with now. :)

Description of Work
Full tear out of bathroom. Including drywall. Replacing everything.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

01/27/2016


julie S.

Excellent work. Punctual. Workers came to work and were NEVER on their phones. Kept me updated everyday on progress and plan for the next day. The flow of work included plumber, electrician and wall covering firm. There was no lag time. Overall an excellent job!

Description of Work
Remodel bathroom, install hydrotherapy tub, wall heater and flooring.

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

10/30/2015


John R.

Andy, as always, did a fabulous job (along with his crew). I've regularly used A&H Remodeling for a whole bunch of projects. They've painted for me, remodeled my kitchen, and now this bathroom. Always punctual, professional, and super high quality. More than anything, Andy makes sure that the project goes exactly how you want it to. He's always consulting with you to make sure you get what you want. And he's happy to make changes and will let you know how that will change the price as things go. Clean up is great too. Can't say enough good things about Andy and his work.

Description of Work
Full bathroom remodel. Lower level of house. Demoed existing bathroom, re-tiled floor and shower, new fixtures installed, lighting, electrical, etc.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/06/2015


Louise R.

It went beautifully. Because the bathroom had been added after the home was built in 1963, we ran into problems, like the shower being drained incorrectly, which had to be corrected to be up to code. That added to the cost. And I added a few things as well, once the project got started. The finished product is just right, and Andy did what he could to mitigate costs. Sam and Sean, who did much of the work, were pleasant and efficient. The plumber and electrician also. (Love Travis from Stoppleworth). Andy came by every day to check on the work and to help when needed. I was very pleased.

Description of Work
A H Remodeling demolished my antiquated basement bathroom and remodeled it completely.

Category electrician, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

01/27/2015


Mary H.

The whole thing went extremely well. Andy was always responsive and helpful, promptly answering all questions and giving us advice on choices of tile, cabinet/sink, color choices etc. The guys doing the work were friendly and respectful. Andy did a great job coordinating the work of his crew and the outside plumbers, electricians, inspectors, so the whole job went smoothly and on time. This was very important to us, because this was our only shower. Andy started the job exactly when he said he would, finished exactly when he said he would (a little under 3 weeks total), and the project cost came in just as estimated in the bid. We are extremely pleased with the results! The bathroom looks great and the quality of work was excellent. I would definitely recommend A H Remodeling and I will happily use them again in the future.

Description of Work
They did a complete bathroom remodel, including tearing out all the fixtures, walls, flooring, and then installing all new tub/shower, toilet, cabinetry, sink, walls, tile shower walls and flooring. They also installed all the trimmings such as towel bars, hooks, lighting, etc.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

09/15/2014


Paul P.

We were very happy with the whole process. After the initial bid, due to a very busy winter, we waited a while to get back to Andy. He was patient and honest regarding the bid and date of availability to begin the work. The price was very competitive and included everything. Once the date was set, the process was very straight forward. Because we had never done a remodel, Andy guided us through the process of selecting the necessary items and made recommendations for the best products. Sam, Andy's team lead, was very nice and the team did quick and great work. They were responsive and considerate of our space and were done within a few days. There was almost no disruption even though it was summer and the kids were home! After the work was done, I had a question regarding the floor. Andy returned my call within 10 minutes, and Sam came over within a day or two. Our only regret is that we wish we could have done more updates!

Description of Work
An upgrade to our bathroom. After a leak was discovered from our porcelain bathtub, Andy's team installed a new surround tub, new toilet and floor. They also painted the walls and installed new floor trim.

Category flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/03/2014


Dan W.

Everything was done on time and budget, clean and easy. They tore out the existing floor and replaced some rotten boards due to a leak in the old toilet. Explained options for the new floor, and how and where to pick tiles. The new tile floor looks great.

Description of Work
Installed new bathroom floor and toilet.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

09/01/2014


Paul Q.

We wrote up our ideas for completely rebuilding two bathrooms and updating the kitchen countertops and floor. We interviewed four top rated on Angie's list remodelers, and each had good suggestions for how the remodeling project should be done and their preferred materials (flooring and countertops) and fixtures (plumbing and electrical). After investigating the various suggestions, we finalized our request with detailed specifications for flooring, countertops, tub, shower, and additional plumbing and electrical work. Andy Hino's bid was not the least expensive, and we did not choose his preferences for about half the materials and fixtures, but it was clear that of the four Andy was the most straightforward and flexible. Andy Hino and his crew of Sam and Sean are first rate. All three were competent and careful; meticulous, considerate, and good communicators. They always asked: is this what you wanted, how do you want this done, is it OK if we change how we will do this? The care they took with the installation of the flooring, bathroom walls, and ceramic tile was truly impressive. The only disruption to living in our home was the two days when the kitchen sink, cooktop, and countertops were removed. Two days later we had full use of the kitchen. We were also very pleased with Andy's choice of subcontractors, including Stoppleworth Plumbing, Reeb's Electric, and Prestige Laminates. Our selection of Cambria quartz countertops was worth every penny We have lived with Andy's remodel of our home for more than one year, and we are happier with his work today then we were the day the A H Remodeling trailer left for the last time. Thank you Andy, Sam and Sean.

Description of Work
Complete rebuild of two bathrooms, removing cabinets (some later reinstalled), all plumbing and electrical, and walls down to the studs. Installed ceramic tiled shower in previous half bath, ceramic tiled tub/shower in master bath, new walls (some tiled, some painted) and ceilings, cabinets with new quartz or ceramic countertops, all plumbing (three sinks with fixtures, two toilets), new luxury vinyl tile floors, lights, space heaters, vent fans, mirrors, shower doors. We installed a new water softener and softened hot and cold water to sinks and showers, with separate drinking water faucets. The kitchen floor had a major squeak problem which was remedied by screwing through floor to the joists. A new luxury vinyl tile floor with plywood underlayment was installed. A quartz countertop with ceramic cooktop, sink and plumbing were installed. Electrical wiring was updated to code. The walls were painted and a vent fan repaired. New ceiling fan and light installed in dinette area.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/31/2014


Linda W.

Andy was prompt and helpful. We felt very comfortable during his visit. He made several suggestions, measured and listened to our concerns. While we did not choose AH for our kitchen/bath project, we would most definitely call on him for other jobs in the future, such as painting or repairs to our condo. He is a straight up guy.

Description of Work
Andy offered a bid for our kitchen/bath remodel.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

05/29/2014


Amie H.

I called A.H. Remodeling for a bid in January, and Andy came in the lowest out of the three contractors I talked to by $10k-$15k. He keeps it simple--there's no designer or fancy computer-generated models--and that's why I went with him. Andy works with an Amish cabinet builder who had great recommendations for cabinet layout and style, and Andy himself brought a bunch of fantastic ideas to the table. (He suggested a soapstone counter top for my island, which wasn't even on my radar. I went with it, and it's gorgeous.) The entire project took about 5.5 weeks to complete, with Andy's two-man team in the house every day. I saw immediate progress, and Andy kept me up to speed on what they'd be working on most days. The quality of the work--from the flooring, painting, and trim to the cabinets and counter tops--was truly outstanding. I only had two things I wanted them to fix up before they wrapped up the project, and one of them was already on their list to do. The team's clean-up at the end of the project was well beyond what I expected. There wasn't a bit of dust left in the kitchen. It couldn't have been cleaner if I'd done it myself. They posted some photos on their Facebook page if you'd like an example of the work. Turned out better than I imagined! https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=710590685649156&id=323644914343737

Description of Work
Complete remodel of a 125-year-old kitchen. We pulled out the cabinets and the flooring. Andy and his team did the rest.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

05/21/2014


Darryl P.

All of the workers involved in this project were excellent to work with. Andy's crew were top notch and trustworthy (we had no concern about leaving our home when they were here). The plumber, vanity carpenter, and crew all were very productive. They did a fine job. Andy gave us good advice in selection of tiles, fixtures, and was easy to work with.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodeling including replacing shower stall with tile, new fixtures, vanity, and accessories.

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

5.0

03/30/2014


Angela S.

Andy and his employees were knowledgeable and professional throughout the project. Andy was alway timely in returning emails or phone calls and addressing questions and concerns I had. We were very pleased with the quality of the craftsmanship (it was leaps and bounds better than the previous contractor we had worked with). Also, they took measures to keep the workspace as tidy as possible. We would highly recommend Andy and hope to be able to hire him again in the future to complete bathroom renovations.

Description of Work
After having a terrible experience with a previous contractor who did updates on our three bedrooms, we hired Andy in moving forward with further home renovation projects. We hired Andy to complete updates on our living room/dining room, stairway, and two hallways. Services included painting walls and ceilings, replacing trim, replacing interior doors, painting closet doors and updating hardware, replaced tile in front of fireplace, and staining woodwork, including ceiling beams, handrail, etc.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, interior painters, doors

5.0

02/15/2014


Michael F.

They were very professional. They did a outstanding job as far as the form and the fit and like that. There was a little bit of problem initially, the trim tile that we ordered was out of stock and when it came in-stock he altered his work schedule for other projects as ours got delayed. And I wanted the project to get done before Christmas, so he altered his other schedule in order to concentrate on our project. We wanted it done before Thanksgiving but the one particular that we wanted and we didn't want to compromise, he gave us the opportunity to go pick a different trim but when we were spending that much money we didn't want to settle for something that we really weren't totally happy with, so we had to wait on that and then it became available and when we went to pick it up it wasn't available so it really wasn't his fault on that, so once it did come in he made the extra effort to get the job done for us before Christmas. I would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
A H Remodeling did our shower in the bathroom and they painted the bath.

Category ceramic tile, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

01/26/2014


Joanne B.

Andy met me to review a remodel project and he was very knowledgable and honest and helpful.

Description of Work
.

Category home remodeling

5.0

09/03/2013


John H.

We are exceptionally pleased with our result. There were many bumps and hurtles, Andy handled them all well; matching ceilings, working around the asbestos removal, sub floor weakness, keeping us in our home throughout, making the transitions from the older part of our home to the new part difficult to see and the crew cleaned up every day. Andy's attention to quality and detail gave our kitchen a level of perfection we are proud of. His employees are responsible and trust worthy, after a few days we just gave them the keys to the front door and stayed out of the way. We can recommend him without qualification.

Description of Work
Completely gutted and remodeled kitchen, tiled floors of kitchen, dining room and hallways, replaced exterior door. All cabinetry, plumbing, electrical and counter tops replaced. We purchased the appliances which led to one of the hurtles and contracted for the asbestos removal.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, doors

5.0

08/25/2013


Kimberly C.

Andy, the owner, was great to work with on the project. He was timely and followed through and made some good suggestions for options for materials. He did a very good job coordinating all of the details - it was a full remodel replacing all of the finishes and fixtures. The cabinets he had made by an Amish builder - they are beautiful. Sam on his crew did quite a bit of the work and was friendly and professional. They always cleaned up at the end of the day - I was surprised at how little dust and debris resulted. Since this was my only bathroom they were able to make sure I had a functioning toilet and was only without a shower for six days. My bathroom looks wonderful - I love it. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Remodeled my bathroom

Category plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

06/24/2013


Patricia R.

The crew came on time everyday and began by laying drop clothes wherever the would be working or walking. A licensed plumber and electrician was present to do the appropriate work. Everyday I was asked if the work was done to my specifications and approval. Andy Hino was constantly on site to supervise and answer any questions that I had. Before leaving for the day all drop clothes were folded and removed and working area cleaned. This is very important since they were working on the master bath. These guys were so good and polite they almost became family. They will be working for me again this fall and later in the spring remodeling another bathroom. THANKS ANGIE'S LIST!!!!

Description of Work
A and H provided a total bathroom remodel. New sub floor with ceramic floor tiles,new Toto toilet and pedestal sink and faucet. A custom Vendura shower base with ceramic wall tile walls to the ceiling accented with glass tiles and 2 Vendura wall niches (made here in Madison folks!) for shampoo etc. Taller than average glass shower stall door by Hellenbrand (awesome). Painting the bathroom, adding a new light fixture and new bathroom door and handle.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Hensen Masonry LLC

    Hensen Masonry, LLC is a family owned and operated business. Run by and Tony Hensen.  

    Angi Certified

    Accurate Power Washing

    Accurate Powerwashing, LLC is a family-owned and operated business with over 40+ years of experience in residential and commercial pressure washing. We have extensive expertise and we treat your home with the same care we would our own.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Clear Vision Cleaning, LLC

    All of us are meticulous not only about window cleaning and washing of siding, decks, and roofs but also about customer care. We greet you with a smile and go the extra mile, getting every corner, seam, and surface as spotless as possible—always making sure you're completely satisfied with the results. If this is your first time working with Clear Vision, it probably won't be your last.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    1042813
    Trade License Expiration
    01/25/2017
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    KITCHEN AND BATHROOM REMODELS, AMISH BUILT CUSTOM CABINETS AND WOODWORK,GENERAL CONTRACTING, CARPENTRY, CERAMIC TILE, SOLID SURFACE, STONE, AND FORMICA COUNTERTOPS, DRYWALL, ELECTRICAL, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, PLUMBING, GENERAL REMODELING, BASEMENT REMODELS.

    Services Not Offered

    HANDYMAN

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A H Remodeling LLC

    How is A H Remodeling LLC overall rated?

    A H Remodeling LLC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are A H Remodeling LLC open?

    A H Remodeling LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does A H Remodeling LLC provide

    A H Remodeling LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A H Remodeling LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, A H Remodeling LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does A H Remodeling LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A H Remodeling LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by A H Remodeling LLC?

    Yes, A H Remodeling LLC offers warranties.

    What services does A H Remodeling LLC offer?

    A H Remodeling LLC offers the following services: KITCHEN AND BATHROOM REMODELS, AMISH BUILT CUSTOM CABINETS AND WOODWORK,GENERAL CONTRACTING, CARPENTRY, CERAMIC TILE, SOLID SURFACE, STONE, AND FORMICA COUNTERTOPS, DRYWALL, ELECTRICAL, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, PLUMBING, GENERAL REMODELING, BASEMENT REMODELS.

    Are there any services A H Remodeling LLC does not offer?

    HANDYMAN