Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AT Pro Mitigation Systems

Founded 2004 • With Angi since December 2009

4.9

(19) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

927 Eisenhower Ave

Janesville, WI 53545

Description

I always do what i say. Never do I cut corners by using the cheapest fan, or not install something that could put homeowners at risk. I have never quoted a price then asked for more money. I install radon mitigation systems because my family has been affected by cancer. I'm proud of what I do to

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/23/2017


Peter S.

John went out of his way to find an ingenious way of installing a radon mitigation system in our house. He had to drill to the garage from the electric room and connect the pipe there and place a fan on the garage attic, where it took power from the second garage opener. Five years later, the system works fine and we have had no radon. Not only that but he also installed a nice sump pump before sealing the sump well, and this pump has actually saved us a lot of issues this year with the torrential rains we have had (it’s currently running every 5 minutes in November!) John did a fantastic job and for a good price as well. I asked him once to come test the system, and he said it would cost me for him to come over just for that, and he recommended I test it myself, and told me how. All this to save me money. I highly recommend John and I’m sorry I never got to write this review earlier.

Description of Work
Install Radon Mitigation System

Category radon testing, wells

5.0

06/30/2014


Thomas J.

Description of Work
I would definitely recommend A.T. Pro!

Category radon testing

5.0

06/10/2014


Steve C.

Bid was fine

Description of Work
Gave us a bid

Category radon testing

5.0

05/28/2014


Andy S.

Arrived on time and finished early. All of the work was completed professionally and was explained in detail.

Description of Work
Radon reduction system installed

Category radon testing

5.0

04/22/2014


Richard B.

My interest in taking action to reduce our radon level in our basement was triggered by (2) long-term radon tests that I personally conducted by purchasing monitors from a local hardware store. These long-term tests ran for over (3) months each and resulted in average radon levels of 5.2 and 7.8 pi C/L, both results clearly above the EPA "action level" of 4 pi C/L. Initially, I contacted another radon abatement business that was listed on the Wisconsin radon contractors list. This contractor had a good website with much information, but they never responded to my request for a contact. ( Did they go out of business?). I then signed up with Angie's list and chose A T Pro Mitigation Services from among several contractors on the basis of the excellent references provided by previous customers. Owner John Thompson is a knowledgeable, energetic person who reviewed our situation with us in detail, providing (2) possible options for reducing the radon level. He was on time or early for appointments, skilled in his work, and followed through with his proposal, including final cost. All work was conducted in a neat and efficient manner. John provided us with a radon detector to conduct a 48-hour follow-up test after the new fan system had been running ~ 2 days , with the good results reported previously in my review. I strongly encourage future potential customers to contact John based upon our very good experience working with him this month (April 2014).

Description of Work
John installed a radon ventilation fan and associated piping to create air flow and removal from under our basement floor. A subsequent 48-hour radon test indicated that the residual radon level was now 0.6 pi C/L, a substantial reduction from a test result provided to us in 2004 when we had the house inspected before purchase. The 2004 test result averaged 3.0 pi C/L, but was comprised of widely scattered data, including an individual reading slightly over 11 pi C/L.

Category radon testing

5.0

03/24/2014


Joseph N.

Everything went great we were selling our house and radon testing was high. He put in system in aesthetic way behind the house and even tested neighbors for discounted price. Knowledgable, kind, responsive with excellent follow through.

Description of Work
Radon testing and abatement

Category radon testing

5.0

03/14/2014


Nicole S.

John was very professional, from the quoting process to the final statement. He responded in a timely manner to emails and phone calls. On the day of installation, he was prepared, arrived on time, and worked quickly and professionally. He showed us what work he had done and explained how the system works, the maintenance (almost none), and then sent the final report in a very timely manner. It had one small error - the paid in full date - which he corrected immediately without any trouble at all. :) He was very professional, very friendly and clearly very experienced in this installation. He answered many of our questions before we even asked them. Great experience!!

Description of Work
Installed radon mitigation system in the basement of a home under contract for purchase. The radon levels were averaging around 5.0 pCi/L prior to installation, and afterward, levels were measured at 0.1 pCi/L !! Amazing results! Installed the fan and exhaust vent, and the pipe into the existing sump pump.

Category radon testing

4.0

03/10/2014


John K.

I received 3 bids and selected John based on his having the lowest estimate and the highest Angieslist reviews. John is based in Janesville, WI, so scheduling him to install in my Madison, WI home was a bit tricky. He came to my home for an on-site inspection/bid, and we had to wait 3 weeks to get him to install. In terms of quality, John went above and beyond in his attention to detail. I appreciate that he installed using larger 4" PVC pipes (the other contractors said they would do 3" so less airflow), and he told me he was using a more expensive (albeit more power consuming) Radonaway RP265 fan from Home Depot. The fan has very good reviews. John caulked all of the hairline cracks in the basement floor, sealed the sump pump crock, and caulked the entire perimeter of the basement subslate/wall so that even trace amounts of radon wouldn't seep through. John was very considerate of my preference of keeping straight lines and minimal bends in the PVC pipe to ensure maximum airflow. The basement to garage to attic space above garage ended up being a very clean solution that is not obtrusive. I liked that John went above and beyond in listening to my needs and addressing a solution that fit both form and function. I did my research prior to his installation and John confirmed that he installed a condensate bypass kit to prolong the lifespan of the fan, and he also adhered to my request to have a wire guard and cap installed at the exhaust pipe just to prevent birds or other critters from falling in or "dropping their stuff" down the exhaust. I had no concerns of John's installation quality or detail. Where John could have improved was in his post-install follow-up. John normally offers a one-time post install radon reading (he says he uses the consumer-based Safety Siren Pro radon meter that you can buy from Amazon.com) but it ended up being rescheduled, then canceled, and enough time passed by that it never happened. I did request John still follow-up on it, but he must have lost track because I didn't hear back for months. I ended up purchasing my own Corentium radon meter. In the end, the results are what matters. From my home inspection radon readings, I was averaging 11.1 pCi/l with a peak of 22.3 pCi/l. After A.T. Pro Mitigation's install, I was averaging 0.9 pCi/l with a peak of 2.3 (7-day reading). I am very pleased with the end result.

Description of Work
John of A.T. Pro Mitigation installed a radon mitigation system in my basement in a single day (roughly 5 hours).

Category radon testing

5.0

02/20/2014


Sue H.

It went very well. John came out initially to give a price quote. He went over all the strops in putting in the system. When he came back to complete the work, he and Quincy were professional , neat and efficient. John explained all the steps he took to complete the system. He gives a lifetime guarantee that the remediation will keep radon readings below the standard. There is also a 5 year warranty on parts. We ate very pleased with the work John did.

Description of Work
Put in a complete radon remediation system.

Category radon testing

5.0

02/12/2014


Suzanne H.

Although I didn't use this company since the original guy did finally show up, and give me what I needed based on the warrantee, I plan on using A. T. Pro in the future rather than the other company.

Description of Work
I called this company as a back up provider since the company that put in radon my system was not responding to me. John called me back the next day. I describe what was happening and how the system looked on the outside of the house. He said it was not up to code, and told me when he could come if the other company didn't respond to me. I called him again since I was not getting a response, and we set up a time for him to come. The appointment morning, he called to say he could not make it due to a family emergency, and reassured me he would contact me when he got back to town. This is exactly the kind of communication I was needing from the first company.

Category radon testing

5.0

08/05/2013


Meghan L.

They're professional and easy to work with. They showed up on time.

Description of Work
I used A.T. Pro Mitigation Systems for radiation test.

Category radon testing

5.0

01/29/2013


CHRIS F.

Very prompt, very professional and personable. Cost was exactly as estimated as was the time frame I was given for completion of the work. Very thorough in explaining the mitigation pump and it's function, what to expect and what to do in the unlikely event of failure. Follow up testing about 10 days later confirmed the pump is functioning as anticipated. Everything went as expected and I am completely happy with the work I had done.

Description of Work
Great service

Category radon testing

5.0

11/15/2012


Thomas K.

Everything went smoothly, hard worker and gets things done!!

Description of Work
John did a fantastic job, I would recommend him to many!!

Category radon testing

5.0

10/29/2012


Shelby M.

AT Pro Mitigation listened attentively to what I wanted in a system and figured out the most efficient and least disruptive way to install the mitigation equipment. He was able to explain what needed to be done and why. He also was willing to change his original plan when I said I wanted the fan in the attached garage and to vent through the roof. He performed a pre-installation test to see how much the level needed to be lowered. He was willing to help me save money by having me seal all of the cracks myself. We got excellent results in lowering the radon level. I completed a long-term radon test last winter to be sure the system was still working as intended, and the results were excellent.

Description of Work
Install radon mitigation system. I sealed all of the cracks. The installer sealed the sump crock and attached the vent pipe to the drainage tile system that runs under the concrete on the interior of the basement wall. The vent goes out the basement wall to the attached garage and up out the roof. This means the fan is in the garage out the weather and we can't hear it. The intaller was careful to make sure all fire codes were followed.

Category radon testing

5.0

09/27/2012


Kirk C.

Already described.

Description of Work
John is very professional and does what he said he will do. He worked with my builder to install a Radon Mitigation system that was installed between the walls and ran up through the attic to a vent on the roof. John showed on the date promised and did a great job with the install. He has promised to come back out to the house to do a free radon test once it is complete and we are moved in. His price to do the work was very reasonable compared to other quotes I was given. I thoroughly recommend John fr any RM installation, whether it be for a new build or an already existing home.

Category radon testing

5.0

04/19/2012


Edward C.

JOHN SHOWED UP ON TIME, EVEN A LITTLE EARLY. JOHN WENT THROUGH WHAT WAS GOING TO HAPPEN TO MAKE SURE THAT WE BOTH UNDERSTOOD WHAT WAS TO BE DONE.THEN HE UNLOADED ALL HIS STUFF AND WENT TO WORK. JOHN WAS VERY ORGANIZED AND PROFICIENT ABOUT HIS WORK. HE CLEANED UP THE AREA AND EXPLAINED EVERYTHING ABOUT HOW THE SYSTEM WILL WORK, AND ABOUT THE 48 HOUR TEST. THE FAN IS VERY QUIET AND I DID NOT SEE ANY INCREASE IN MY ELECTRIC BILL TO MENTION. BY THE WAY THE FAN IS RIGHT OUTSIDE MY BEDROOM WINDOW. IT'S BEEN 3 YEARS SINCE I HAD IT INSTALLED AND NO PROBLEMS DATE.

Description of Work
DRILL 2 SUCTION HOLES THROUGH BASEMENT SLAB. USING 3" SCHEDULE 40 P.V.C. RUN PIPING UP THROUGH BOXSILL TO RADON FAN LOCATED OUT SIDE NEXT TO FURNACE PIPES. EXHAUST STRAIGHT UP, THROUGH SOFFIT, TO ROOF. ELECTRICAL CONNECTION INCLUDED IN BID. TEST AFTER SYSTEM INSTALLATION. [MINIMUM OF 48 HOURS AFTER INSTALLATION]

Category radon testing

5.0

10/21/2011


Scott M.

The price included a sump pump. They did a great job. The guy came on time when he said he would. He gave a quote for it and was back within a week to finish the job. They tested the radon and it came out at .8 which is very good. They were excellent. The price was reasonable. I would absolutely use them again.

Description of Work
I used A.T. Pro Mitigation Systems to put in a radon mitigation system.

Category radon testing, wells

5.0

09/22/2011


Shelby M.

Initial radon levels in upstairs living areas were 10.5 and were reduced to less than 2.0 on post-install testing a week later. Our basement waterproofing system included a sump crock and a perimeter wall weepage track that drains into perimeter drain tile (There is no drain tile exterior to the basement walls and no exterior basement wall waterproofing on our 1970's single story ranch-style house.) We fixed the water problems by improving gutters and drainage and waterproofing basement walls so we no longer needed the wall weep track. That allowed us to have the weep track sealed with foam backer rod (we can remove the foam rod for drainage if we have a bad water event.) Sealing the weep track was necessary to prevent radon from entering the basement from under the slab and to use the perimeter drainage system to help draw air from under the slab to exhaust the radon with the mitigation system. We had minimal wall cracks and floor cracks that we already sealed prior to this radon service. A.T. Pro Mitigation worked with me to devise a system that would be quiet, unobtrusive, and efficient. They originally proposed using the sump crock as the collection point and running the exhaust up the back wall of the house. I wanted the exhaust pipe to run up through the attached garage and out the roof to avoid having the fan and the exhaust piping near our bedroom windows and to minimize fan freeze-up or condensation problems. They agreed that exhaust through the attached garage wall could work and that I might still be able to use just the one suction point because it could be attached to the perimeter interior drain tile system. They were very conscientious about the pipe sizing and length requirements, the fire protection, the necessary clearance above the roof to disperse the radon and the distance the exhaust would have to be from any windows. Our system uses the perimeter drainage system to help gather radon from under the entire basement slab at one suction point. It works beautifully and quietly and has good airflow that I monitor with a manometer installed on the exhaust pipe in the basement. The suction pipe site was well chosen and was close to an already existing electrical connection in the garage for the fan. The pipe length was minimal to maximize air flow. It works great. The owner of the company was also the installer and was very good at the job. Everything was done neatly, joints sealed, roof exhaust pipe flashed and sealed, electrical draw accounted for on that circuit. The system works well and I have not noticed an increase in the electric bill since the fan draws minimal energy.

Description of Work
On-site consult on installation of radon mitigation system, seal sump crock lid, seal perimeter weep tracks along basement walls with foam backer rod, drill one suction point through basement concrete slab near garage wall, run PVC piping through boxsill to radon fan in attached garage, stall fire collars aourng pipes in grage, exhaust straight through roof, install fan guard for water and melting ice protection, caulk any cracks in slab, electrical connection for fan, test after installation.

Category radon testing

5.0

12/20/2009


Edward C.

John & I had a phone conversation made an appointment for an estimate. John came and explained everything that the job would consist of and price. We agreed on everything and signed a contract for the job. John is insured and licensed. John showed up when he said he would, and did an outstanding job. Very proficient! After all the work was done it was so clean I could not tell any work was done at all.

Description of Work
Installed a Radon Mitigation system. Which consisted of drilling holes through basement slab,boxsill,soffit and roof. Removing some dirt from under basement slab. Then running 3" schedule 40 P.V.C. piping from holes in slab out through boxsill up the side of the house to a very quiet weather sealed radon fan, up through the soffit and roof through a rubber boot sealed to roof. Connected a meter and sealed all other openings. Connected Electrical connection to a gfci power sourse. After 10 days returned and ran a 48 hour test which showed 0.05 pCi/l. I had 2 other independent test done prior to John, one at 6.69 pCi/l the other at 9.98 pCi/l System installed guaranteed for 5 years.

Category radon testing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lifetime Radon Solutions

    Owner Operated. Cost determined by the job. NRPP Certification #RMT-101552, AARST Member. Licensed. Cash accepted. Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lifetimeradonsolutions/  

    Angi Certified

    Aqua Well & Pump Systems Inc

    Aqua Well & Pump Systems, Inc., is a 3rd generation; family owned & operated, well and pump service company, serving all of Southeastern Wisconsin. Our mission at Aqua is to provide our customers with a safe, reliable water supply, while safe guarding & promoting the protection of our most precious resource. To accomplish this mission, Aqua is dedicated to investing in promotion, equipment, & most of all people who share the same core values of knowledge, integrity, hard work, & honesty. Aqua provides pump & well drilling service for residential, industrial, commercial, & farm applications. services.  

    Angi Certified

    Anderson Radon

    Making a difference today! Radon Mitigation & Testing is all I do. This singular focus with continuing education and participation in the industry builds my skills so you get a quality solution. Your satisfaction is achieved by paying attention to detail, using the best products, & using industry standards. I value the opportunity to serve you. Licensed * Bonded * Insured IEMA Licenses RNM2022203 & RNI2022213 | NRPP Licenses 112629-RMS & 112351-RMP  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Radon Testing & Reduction Supplies Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AT Pro Mitigation Systems

    How is AT Pro Mitigation Systems overall rated?

    AT Pro Mitigation Systems is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AT Pro Mitigation Systems open?

    AT Pro Mitigation Systems is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does AT Pro Mitigation Systems provide

    AT Pro Mitigation Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does AT Pro Mitigation Systems offer free estimates?

    Yes, AT Pro Mitigation Systems offers free project estimates.

    Does AT Pro Mitigation Systems offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AT Pro Mitigation Systems does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AT Pro Mitigation Systems offer a senior discount?

    No, AT Pro Mitigation Systems does not offer a senior discount.

    Does AT Pro Mitigation Systems offer emergency services?

    Yes, AT Pro Mitigation Systems offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AT Pro Mitigation Systems?

    Yes, AT Pro Mitigation Systems offers warranties.

    What services does AT Pro Mitigation Systems offer?

    AT Pro Mitigation Systems offers the following services: Radon Testing & Reduction Supplies Installation.