Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION

Founded 1960 • With Angi since October 2008

3.6

(16) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

762 Shady Ridge Court

Grafton, WI 53024

Description

JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION is a third generation of concrete contractors. We specialize in DRIVEWAYS, patios, slabs, walks, and pool decks. We can rip out old concrete or asphalt, and replace it with new concrete. We can provide you with colored or stamped concrete, shadowboxing, checkerboard, or brick edging. We listen to the needs of our customers, and take great pride in our workmanship....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/18/2019


Roxanne M.

I would stay away from this company at all cost. They were in our area doing other driveways and noticed ours needed to be repaired. The work looked great on other driveways and the price was reasonable, so we agreed to pay a down payment right away to get our driveway done prior to them leaving our subdivision. It took four months of calling to finally get them back out to our driveway. The work was done and later the same day they came and sealed the driveway. In the morning there were footprints all over the driveway and scratching marks from some type of tool. We called right away and were told they would go away. The sealer had also left large "dripping marks" in the middle of the driveway where it slopes down. They had no concern over how it looked. In the winter months the driveway started to look cracked all over when it was wet. We had them out to look at it and they were extremely rude to us and tried saying it all was normal. I have NEVER seen concrete look like that when it is wet. We were again told the marks from the footprints could not of been from them and they would go away over time. We had several other companies out over the spring/summer and everyone said those markings were made from the sealer equipment and who ever sealed the driveway. All felt the sealing was done poorly and that's why it left the "running" marks down the driveway. This company doesn't care what it looks like in the end. If you want it cheap -this is your company - if you want it to look nice, then look somewhere else. I regret not reviewing them more prior to doing the driveway. Now I have a new driveway with footprints all over, drip marks all along the slope of the drive and crazing all over when wet. Very disappointed.

Description of Work
New Concrete Driveway

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

We did install a driveway. And we did put on a sealer. 90% of our jobs are sealed and our guys do a good job. I did go back and look at it. It was determined that someone had walked on it after we left, while it was still wet. The shoe prints are tennis shoes. Our crew wears Red Wing concrete construction boots. The homeowner told me “to get the f*** off my property”. I find this completely unacceptable! I will NOT be going back!!
5.0

10/12/2018


Kathy B.

O.M.G. 10+STARS for this company!!!!!! Their exemplary knowledge, craftmanship, and courteous manner among the owners and their crewmembers should be a blueprint for all companies to follow. In September of this year my sister was looking into widening her driveway so I had a place to park my car off the street. ( I had to move into her home due to my health issues.) I checked multiple company's and reviews and upon choosing 2 companies, I decided to called them both. Mr. Lutynski called me back within hours and while on the phone stated he would squeeze us in his schedule since we needed the job done ASAP before the parking restrictions take place. Like a miracle he was actually pulling up to our house within 10 minutes of ending the phone conversation to give us a price! 2nd miracle within 1 hour we had his whole crew here prepping and clearing the area for the cement to be laid. Now we did have to wait 2 days to have the cement poured after the area was ready because of previous obligations and other work orders they had made prior to me calling, HOWEVER, I had no doubt they would have finished the same day if they had the time and they were very honest about the time frame for this job. Pricing was extremely reasonable for the work performed. ( Oh yeah, about the other company I called on the same day I called Mr. Lutynski's company, it only took them 3 DAYS after the job was done to call me back and gave me a phone quote that was twice what we paid! The joy I felt to say no thank-you as the job was done for less! ) SO IN SHORT..... SAVE YOURSELF FROM FRUSTRATION, AND KEEP YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY IN YOUR WALLET BY CALLING THE BEST IN MY OPINION.......JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE, GRAFTON WISCONSIN... Customer: kb

Description of Work
Widening and adding additional parking space to driveway

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your generous review. When you are happy, then we are too. You were a pleasure to work with and we appreciate your business. Enjoy your parking pad
3.0

08/05/2018


Mike L.

Was quoted to include 6 “ of gravel. Some areas received less than 1”. Contractor advised that newer permit required “ a little more money” as new requirements added 2” to concrete thickness on city right-of- way . Actual additional concrete needed for the job was virtually the same due to actual configuration. No real additional work was required. A little more money turned out to be $500! Contractor had expected, in error, old concrete to have some gravel base. There was none, perhaps explaining the added cost. Job was delayed from estimated mid May until July 26 th largely due to weather, but we were not kept informed. Other than the gravel and perhaps marginal compaction, the job was done well and cleaned up quickly. A crack developed within 2 days. We sent a text, read the same day without any response. I called a few days later and briefly explained our concern that the crack might become an issue at a future point and was advised that it should not be a problem but they would have Jarvis call. No call. Left a voicemail. No call. They know HOW to do concrete but not communication.

Description of Work
Replace driveway and front walk

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

All driveways in Wauwatosa must be inspected by the city inspector and pass inspection before we can pour it in concrete. This job passed the inspection. That includes the gravel base. There is a very small hairline crack which we did document and will watch. This customer was told this in a phone message on August 5, 2018.
1.0

09/21/2016


Janice W.

They installed a new driveway, but this was around that time there was bad batches of concrete going out and I believe we received a batch. I am not a picky person, but within a year after the work was done we noticed a lot of cracks. I called them to come back out to fix the cracks. They selected the cracks that they would need to repair, but said the other cracks were not bad enough to fix. Now the cracks have worn away to show the gravel underneath. We are NOT happy with this work. It could be the concrete that they used, but it was up to Jarvis to fix this issue and they only fixed half of it. There are big pot marks, worn away corners, and worn away concrete.

Description of Work
Installed a new driveway.

Category concrete driveways

5.0

11/27/2015


Robt. W.

Description of Work
They installed a colored stamped patio and an extension of my drivceway. I had no complaints whatsoever. They were professional, friendly and very competent. I am very happy with the end result.

Category concrete driveways,stamped concrete,patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]. We enjoyed working with you, and appreciate your business.
2.0

09/07/2015


Robert R.

In August, 2013, we contracted with Jarvis Lutynski Concrete Construction to lay a concrete driveway and sidewalk and a stamped concrete patio in the backyard. The front sidewalk and driveway were done well. Here comes the PROBLEM. For the concrete patio, we had another bid, but chose to stay with Jarvis, since they were already doing the front. BIG MISTAKE !! The stamped concrete was laid and left to dry. Sometime during the drying process, a spot that looked like a large checkmark appeared on the concrete. The clear coating that was placed on top of the concrete also was very thin and not very shiny. We called Jarvis after a few days, and left numerous messages. We asked them to call us before someone came over. Someone did come to inspect the patio when we were not at home and verified that the structure of the concrete was good. That however, was not the problem, and we insisted he return when we were home and talk to us about the issues we were having with the mark, coloring and top sealant. Again, the company showed up when we were not home and left a card notifying us of their visit. Several phone conversations and many promises with no action were conducted. Our patio was never repaired that summer of 2013. We were told they would fix the patio in spring 2014. In spring of 2014, we noticed that the concrete color was faded and the edges of some of the stamping were cracked and the color was gone. We started to call Jarvis and again left numerous messages. We received promises that they would come out and fix the problems. All spring and summer we continued to call, but no one ever came to make the repairs. In spring of 2015, we again started calling and received the same runaround. We usually left messages, and when we did speak to an employee, we received promises of someone coming out to fix the problems. As of this writing, we have never gotten our patio repaired and frankly, don't think they will ever come since two years have now passed. We were actually surprised to see their high rating. We sure are glad someone else got good service. DO NOT contract with this company if you want a finished, good looking stamped concrete patio from a company that will stand behind their product.

Description of Work
The provider laid a new concrete driveway and sidewalk in the front of the house. They also laid a stamped concrete patio in the backyard.

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways,stamped concrete,patios

Service Provider Response

It is true that nobody was home when we stopped at the home. But, the customer WAS contacted by telephone. We spoke to the Mrs. This is what was observed when we looked at their patio: There appears to be a mark that looks faded. Every other part of the patio is perfect. Along one side of the patio the customer has a rock build up. The rocks are higher than the patio. It appears that when it rains, the water runs off those rocks and trickles across the patio. You can tell it is a water trail. This does not happen on any other part of the patio. This was explained to the Mrs. when she was contacted. We care about the quality of our work. That is why there is no complaint about the driveway and walk in the front of the house.
5.0

09/04/2015


MYRON R.

Description of Work
Replaced the floor in my garage and the front sidewalk. All was done in one day.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure working with you, and we appreciate your business.
1.0

09/04/2015


Jeremy C.

Description of Work
Did not show for multiple appointments.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

We have NO idea who this person is. They certainly aren't a customer of ours, so we aren't sure how we missed "multiple appointments." ??
4.0

12/18/2014


robert U.

Description of Work
Poured a concrete patio and parking area. We are actually very pleased with the end result, and I guess that's the important fact. We did find them amateurish in their communication and business practices...they added needless frustration.

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways,patios

Service Provider Response

We want to thank you again for your business. The Jarvis Lutynski team
4.0

11/18/2014


Erica A.

Weather, concrete shortage and other circumstances prevented the job from being done.

Description of Work
Work was not able to be done. Contractor returned deposit at my request

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

o
5.0

08/05/2014


John T.

Description of Work
Just had them give us a bid for a new barn floor. We were not able to have the work done right away (not their fault - the bid was fair). But they came out, helped us understand the project and provided a bid promptly via email. We will intend to work with them once we are ready to proceed.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], Thank you for your Angie's List review. We look forward to working with you when you are ready :)
5.0

04/14/2014


MICHAEL W.

The job went very well from the estimating to the final finishing. We were unsure of the exact design we wanted and they helped us to lay out the driveway and accommodate our desires, recommending changes that have made it more user-friendly. We are impressed with the finish they put on the concrete - a step above what we expected. While they were not the lowest bid, their extra care and finish is an excellent value. I would use Jarvis and his team again and recommend them to my friends.

Description of Work
They installed a new concrete driveway for our new home. It is a very large area with a loop and extra parking area.

Category concrete driveways

Service Provider Response

[Members Name], thank you for such a nice Angie's List review. It is appreciated! We enjoyed working with you, and are just as excited as you are about the end result of your project. Enjoy it for many years :)
5.0

07/25/2013


Scott S.

Everything went according to schedule with no variations, which is what we wanted. One year has passed and I am putting in my patio. I didn't even want an estimate from anyone else. I just wanted Jarvis Lutynski to do my patio. I was told that they are extremely busy this season and are about 8 weeks behind. My Landscape designer is ready to build my patio, so if Jarvis cannot do my patio, I'm going to be very upset...because I don't want to find another contractor, which is the greatest compliment that I can offer him.

Description of Work
We have a new construction home. I didn't use Angies list to find the provider. I called Schmitz Readymix and asked who the best contractor was. He told me Jarvis Lutynski. Gary came to my house and did the estimate. My driveway is 500 feet long and has curves and an extra parking space. I had 5 inches of concrete, wire mesh and fiberglass in the concrete. I went with plain white concrete with no special colors or stamping. They did a beautiful pattern in the squared between the joints which looks really nice. In addition, the cut about 3 inches out of my garage floor and laid the concrete right on the foundation of my house. I was very impressed because the driveway sits on the foundation and will never sink...meaning I will NEVER have to have this mud-jacked in 20 years. We were very happy with the work. What's even more amazing is that from start to finnish, it was done in only 3 days!

Category concrete driveways,patios

5.0

06/19/2012


Ryan F.

Overall it went very well. The workers were very good at knowing exactly what we wanted as we described it as best as we could. They removed our old driveway and replaced it with a new one with much smaller and evenly spaced sections of concrete. They also added another section for extra parking. They also removed three bushes and an existing sidewalk, which ran alongside of the house. We asked them to put in a curved sidewalk leading to the front porch and to add a wrap-around step. It turned out to be exactly what we wanted and looks great. The workers were very professional and did an excellent job, so much so that some of our neighbors had work done also. We were extremely pleased with the quality of work and the timely manner in which it was completed.

Description of Work
We had an existing driveway removed and replaced and another section of concrete added to the side for extra parking. Also, we had three bushes and an existing sidewalk removed and replaced.

Category concrete repair,concrete driveways

1.0

07/14/2009


Janice W.

I was away on vacation during the time of this work. When they were finished, someone came back and sealed the driveway. It looked great all late summer and fall. When we returned from our winter vacation home in early April we didn't see any immediate evidence of cracking (there was snow still on the ground). However, as spring came around, I noticed there were cracks all over my driveway. They had failed to do the project properly. I called them and it seemed like they were going to attempt to fix their work. However, after they agreed to come out and I took the pressure off their company, I have not heard a word from them since. All I want is for them to replace the sections of the concrete that are damaged (spalling).

Description of Work
They removed the old asphalt on my driveway and then replaced that with new concrete.

Category concrete driveways

5.0

10/30/2008


Jonathan N.

They did a very nice job on our driveway. Their original time frame for completing the job was 3 weeks, and they got it done much faster.

Description of Work
They did a concrete driveway and stoop.

Category concrete driveways

    Other local Pros in your area

    JBS Construction

    Family-owned and operated, JBS Construction has always had one goal: To be the best concrete company in the Greater Milwaukee area. Building on their well-earned reputation and 30-year record of providing high-quality concrete work at affordable rates, JBS Construction offers a full range of concrete concrete design, concrete driveway installations, concrete patios and concrete sidewalk services. We know how difficult it can be to find a good construction company. The time and energy you invest in finding the right contractor for your remodeling project can be frustrating and expensive. That is why JBS Construction is here to relieve you of that stress.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    We provide you with colored concrete, stamped concrete, shadowboxing, checkerboard, or brick edging. Rip out and removal of old concrete or asphalt, replacing it with new concrete.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION

    How is JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 3.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION open?

    JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Monday: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:30 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION provide

    JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    No, JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION?

    No, JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION does not offer warranties.

    What services does JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offer?

    JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: We provide you with colored concrete, stamped concrete, shadowboxing, checkerboard, or brick edging. Rip out and removal of old concrete or asphalt, replacing it with new concrete.

    Are there any services JARVIS LUTYNSKI CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    ask for details