Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

American Home Remodeling

4.7

(175) Verified Reviews

Founded 1997 • With Angi since March 2007

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Hours are not available for this pro right now. Please check back later.

Company Contact

123456

Franklin, WI 53132

Description

American Home Remodeling is a family owned full service remodeling company where the owners are the people you talk to for your project from start to finish. You don’t get bounced from department to department like with the big companies. We are involved every step off the way including putting on our tool belts on most projects. We are very proud to be at the very top of the remodelers on Angie’s list. We are there by providing our clients with High Quality work at competitive pricing. Our clients reviews speak for themselves. The people we work for always feel that they have received more than their monies worth when we have completed their project. We leave the project having made new friends, and always end up with a new good reference. We hope to add you to our continual growing list of happy homeowners....

Verified Reviews

4.6

(175) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

123

4

20

3

17

2

6

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

basement remodeling (63)home remodeling (46)woodworking (15)architect (10)egress window (9)decks & porches (3)home builder (2)garage building (2)home theater installation (2)electrician (23)cabinet makers (22)drywall (21)
Showing 1-10 of 175 reviews
5.0

10/28/2021


Dave R.

Scott and Nick at American Home Remodeling were commissioned to finish our basement with ~1200 of finished space. They made sure to stay within our budget throughout the process, which was a big concern for us going into the process. They also were very honest, forthright, and accommodating. Their contractors—plumbers, electricians, framers, painters, drywallers, tilers— were all very professional and did great work. Scott even worked in an install for a butcher block countertop, which he had never done before. Would highly recommend and wouldn’t hesitate in hiring again.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category chimney repair,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2021

5.0

07/13/2021


Evan P.

Scott and his team were friendly and helpful from the get go. Starting from the initial estimate they listened closely to what we were asking for and started providing answers and thoughts for questions we had (which we had lots of). Their estimate was fairly priced and was inclusive of all of our requests (it was by far the most fairly priced of the three quotes we got). Later when we asked for some modifications to the original design there weren’t any hidden fees and they simply charged time and material. They also kept our overall budget in mind throughout the entire project. Their knowledge of how to manage and complete all of the details of the project was thorough and made the experience as stress free as possible. Due to the pandemic there were delays in obtaining some of the material that pushed some timelines back; however, Scott and his team provided regular updates and were always prompt to respond if we had any questions or requests for updates. Communication from the American Home Remodeling team, overall, was outstanding. The project was completed very professionally and we are very happy with the end result, but here are some examples of smaller things that stuck out about the project. The first is the simple idea Scott’s team had to install a space heater in the office/bedroom of the basement as it’s a bit chilly to work in. This was a simple idea but only provided by his team; the other two quotes we received involved much more expensive duct work. A second example is that we put in a wet bar and they worked with the plumber to develop a route where piping could go along the walls rather than cutting into the cement to bury a pipe, which provided cost savings to us. A third example is that they worked with us to make a simple modification to the previous studding and piping (from the previous house owners) for the bathroom to become a single room rather than two separate rooms (toilet and shower in one room and dual sinks in the other; this was a bit excessive for our taste). The other quotes we received expressed concern that the space would be too small for a bathroom; however, Scott and his team truly evaluated the request and made it a reality. A fourth example is that Scott and his team custom cut and re-threaded a pipe for a pendant light so it would hang at the same length as the other two lights. Another contractor might have just said it would be a different length or promoted the purchase of different lights, but Scott’s team made it happen for us. A fifth example (but not the last), was Scott helping to “provide” some sound proofing insulation in the ceiling of the bedroom/office that we were asking for. What was actually provided was an honest comment that we would save quite a bit of money if we were able to complete the insulating ourselves. We had never put in insulation, though, so Scott also helped by providing links to products and some information on his past experience. Overall American Home Remodeling was a pleasure to work with and provided a wonderful finished product for a great value. Before and after pictures attached (sorry for all the junk, but hopefully gets the idea across).

Description of Work
Finished out basement

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2021

Images

Review for American Home Remodeling - 123456, Franklin, WI - 39400972

+3 More

5.0

07/03/2021


William Y.

Great work, we are very happy with the finished room.They are knowledgeable and communicated well Great value

Description of Work
expand laundry room

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

5.0

07/02/2021


Isral D.

We contracted with American Home Remodeling for a top-to-bottom gut remodel of the second floor of our 100-year-old home, and we couldn’t be happier with the end result. The new space is now our favorite part of the house! Scott and Nick (a father-son team) and their crew of trades specialists did high-quality work at fair prices. Throughout the project, they were great communicators and treated us and our house with complete respect. They kept a tidy worksite, and they showed up and departed at agreed-upon times. These guys are very knowledgeable, and they were always willing to explain things to me and answer my questions without talking down to me or making me feel stupid. They explained their thought processes, decisions, and methods along the way, leaving me very confident in the finished product. I never had to wonder what was going on with the project, because Scott and Nick (and in some cases even some of the trades guys) were available by text message, email, or phone to provide updates and answer questions. When issues came up – as they inevitably do with this kind of project in a house as old as ours – they clearly communicated the issue and came with a range of possible solutions. (They also worked very hard to keep our project safely moving forward even amidst all the difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic.) When we faced decision points, Scott and Nick would share their opinion without being pushy. I always felt like the final choice was my call. All along the way, Scott and Nick worked hard to save us money: bargaining down rates from subcontractors, shopping around for better prices on materials, making a longer drive to purchase something at a lower cost, etc. This allowed us to spend up on things we really valued and even expand the project to take care of some other things outside the original scope. Scott, Nick, and the team at American Home Remodeling would be a great choice for your next project.

Description of Work
Full gut remodel of second floor

Category ceramic tile,decks,drywall,electrician,egress windows,picture framing,heating & air conditioning/hvac,insulation,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,replacement windows,skylights,home remodeling,interior painters,doors

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2021

Images

Review for American Home Remodeling - 123456, Franklin, WI - 39390653

+3 More

5.0

06/26/2021


Mary M.

I can not speak highly enough about American Home Remodeling! Scott Cimler is extremely detail oriented which is exactly what we were looking for in a contractor. We knew he would get the job done right and on time. He was excellent in keeping us informed in what was going to happen every step of the way and fantastic to work with. His crew was also amazing! They were kind and courteous and always cleaned up after finishing what they were working on. Scott did an excellent job at keeping the project within our budget and even found ways to repurpose things in our house. If you are looking for someone to remodel any aspect of your house, I would definitely recommend American Home Remodeling! You will not be disappointed!

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2021

5.0

02/15/2021


James P.

Scott was very easy and flexible to work with. In areas we weren’t sure what we wanted, Scott pointed out our options to help us control costs. Throughout the construction, Scott did a good job of keeping us informed on when things were going to happen. There were few surprises. All the people involved in the construction were very personable, and the work was of excellent quality. I would recommend American Home Remodeling for anyone’s home improvement project.

Description of Work
Bathroom addition

Category countertops,drywall,electrician,picture framing,plumbing,remodeling,siding,chimney repair

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2021

5.0

12/17/2020


Reghuram V.

Everything went extremely well. Scott and crew were able to stick to the agreed timeline and complete the work in a very short period of time without compromising the quality . Scott coordinated all the work and it was a pleasure working with them.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category chimney repair,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

5.0

11/15/2019


Carlos M.

We were very pleased with the work and the contractors willingness to work with us on price

Description of Work
Basement Remodeling

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2018

5.0

11/01/2019


Scott P.

Scott & co. did a great job. High qual

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category remodeling,basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2019

5.0

11/01/2019


Michelle L.

We needed to have our bathroom completely gutted and remodeled. From the beginning Scott has been flexible and easy to work with. We weren't sure exactly what we wanted done and it took us some time to decide. He was helpful and patient with us. Once construction got underway he was in touch with me everyday letting me know the progress, what was happening next and asked questions if there were any. Our MBR is on the 2nd level and plastic was laid down to cover the stairs and carpet. They cleaned up every night and were very respectful of our home. If I had any questions or concerns, Scott would look into it right away to get it taken care of. He is knowledgeable and has made this process less stressful. I will be hiring him again for future projects.

Description of Work
Remodeled Master Bathroom

Category remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2019

Services Offered

Remodeling basements, bathrooms and kitchens, new construction, home improvements, ceramic tile, decks, porches, cabinetry, siding, flooring, replacement windows & roofing.

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Payment Options
Check
Warranties
Ask for details