American Home Remodeling

About

Founded 1997 • With Angi since March 2007

American Home Remodeling is a family owned full service remodeling company where the owners are the people you talk to for your project from start to finish. You don’t get bounced from department to department like with the big companies. We are involved every step off the way including putting on

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.7

(182) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

130

4

20

3

17

2

6

1

9

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

basement remodeling (63)home remodeling (47)egress window (9)siding companies (7)roofing (6)decks & porches (4)home builder (2)electrician (24)drywall (22)cabinet makers (22)interior painting (19)tile installation (19)
Showing 1-25 of 182 reviews
5.0

10/27/2022


Nikki N.

Many years ago we hired American Home Remodeling to remodel our kitchen. The job turned out fantastic and we loved having it done and enjoyed it for the rest of the time we spent in that home. When we moved into a new home the only thing that it needed was a new kitchen. Having worked with them before we knew that there was no reason at all to even consider another company. Scott & Nick are great to work with, have awesome ideas, and really listened to what we were thinking about and describing. We had a pretty good idea of what we wanted to do and they helped us finalize a great design and plan to create the beautiful new focal point of our home. It was a pretty extensive renovation (approx. $78,000) with closing off a wall, taking out a couple of others in order to open the area wide up to our living space. Beautiful new cabinetry along with a stunning and massive stone center island that we use to sit at, eat and entertain. We couldn’t be happier with how it turned out and absolutely love it! Once again, Scott, Nick and their crew were enjoyable to work with and did a tremendous transformation of an out dated space. We can highly recommend them for any remodeling project that you are looking to do!

Description of Work
Complete Kitchen Remodel

Category remodeling, chimney repair

Cost $78,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2022

5.0

10/10/2022


Brian P.

In a previous review we had mentioned that we worked with American Home Remodeling multiple times for remodels in our home. That’s a testament to the type of people they are and the high quality work they do. This project was no different and pretty extensive. We wanted to take a den/bedroom along with an adjacent small laundry room and a powder room next to that to create a very large laundry and mudroom. By removing a couple of walls it allowed us to also take a little space of the existing small laundry room and change the powder room into a full bathroom including a 4 foot shower and a small linen closet. With a large family the extra full bath was a necessity! While the new full bath is great with custom tiled walls and shower floor, the new mudroom and laundry area are fantastic! It became a very large space with built in cabinets galore. The washer and dryer units are integrated into custom cabinet spaces with cabinetry above, below and in between with a quartz sitting or folding area just below a window for lots of natural light. Another wall has more cabinetry with an area for hang drying garments, more storage and a full tiled wall behind the space. The next adjacent wall has 5 full height open locker style cabinets with storage again above and below for boots, shoes etc. probably the main focal point of the room is the 100% custom dog bath / shower area for our 2 large yellow labs. We gave them a few ideas of what we were looking for and Scott & Nick designed and built a ‘one of a kind’ Doggie bath. On one side it appears that there are 2 drawers, but they are actually a set of pull out steps for our dogs to use to get in and out of the bathing area since we had it made raised so we wouldn’t have to be on our knees to bathe them. The walls and tub basin area are all custom tiled inside and out. We have a hand held or wall mounted shower head used for the washing. Once done the steps neatly tuck away again under the unit. The door from the yard opens right into the room and is directly next to the Doggie bath, so we can bring them in and right up into the bath when they need it! Love this feature! Over all again a great job by Scott & Nick and their Crew.

Description of Work
Laundry room/mud room/powder room

Category remodeling, chimney repair

Cost $78,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2022

5.0

10/10/2022


Brian P.

We had hired American Home Remodeling for previous projects so there was no shopping around needed when we had a few more remodels that we wanted to accomplish in our home. We worked with them to do a major overhaul to our master bathroom. We removed an out dated corner whirlpool tub and replaced it with a beautiful new 100% custom walk in shower. There was a large window in the area of the old tub and instead of boarding it up, we put in a large custom made glass block window on the exterior wall of our new shower. The window lets in a ton of natural light, but is obscure enough to provide privacy. With the odd shape to the shower we had them do ½ walls with a gorgeous clear glass enclosure and frameless door. The whole area had intricate tile work inside and out including a large niche with a granite sill along with granite pieces cut and fit to trim out the glass block window. The old shower and toilet partition were removed to create the room for us to fit a new large double vanity flanked on both sides by full height tower cabinets for plenty of storage. Some new lighting and plank tile flooring finished off the space. We had some modifications from the initial plan that we wanted to incorporate and they were super accommodating and helped us flesh out the ideas and we couldn’t be happier with the end results. The transformation from beginning to end created a completely different look and feel to the room, it’s hard to even remember the original bath now that we have the beautiful new one! Scott, Nick and crew were once again easy to work with. We can highly recommend them if you’re looking for any type of remodel. They listen, offer great ideas, and their finished products are fantastic. If you’re looking for good guys that do great work, this is your team!

Description of Work
Master bath renovation

Category remodeling, chimney repair

Cost $55,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/15/2022

5.0

10/01/2022


Reghuram V.

Scott, Nick and co were respectful and exceptional to work with. They are highly Knowledgeable and the quality of work was very good. Informs the schedule well in advance. Overall, great value for the money.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling -bed and bath room

Category remodeling, chimney repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2022

5.0

09/21/2022


Terry Z.

The team at American Home Remodeling did a fantastic job on our basement remodel. During our initial meeting it was apparent that Scott and Nick were willing to listen to our ideas of what we wanted to do in our basement and then used their knowledge and experience to make it happen. The team was easy to work with and always willing to listen to our feedback along the way as different ideas came to mind. We were always able to have a conversation and make an informed decision about what path to take forward to stay on task and on budget. The various members of the team that worked on our project were always respectful and hard working. They kept the worksite neat and orderly and delivered a high quality basement that we are excited to have available. I really appreciated the guidance that the team provided with all the little hints that made it all work. I would recommend that you give the AHR team a call when you need to have your next work done as they deliver a great experience at a great value.

Description of Work
Basement Remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2022

5.0

05/25/2022


William Y.

This is the second time we have worked with American Home Remodeling. We were so pleased with their construction of our mudroom that when we needed some work done in our kitchen, we immediately gave them a call. While we were replacing our stove, they came in and tiled the backsplash, installed a new hood, did some electrical including replacing all the outlets, and re-painted our entire kitchen. Once again, they were absolutely great to work with. The entire team was courteous, knowledgeable, and went the extra mile to make sure the work was done right. We will continue to recommend American Home Remodeling for any home improvement projects!

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/25/2022

Images

Review for American Home Remodeling - 123456, Franklin, WI - 39745504
5.0

10/28/2021


Dave R.

Scott and Nick at American Home Remodeling were commissioned to finish our basement with ~1200 of finished space. They made sure to stay within our budget throughout the process, which was a big concern for us going into the process. They also were very honest, forthright, and accommodating. Their contractors—plumbers, electricians, framers, painters, drywallers, tilers— were all very professional and did great work. Scott even worked in an install for a butcher block countertop, which he had never done before. Would highly recommend and wouldn’t hesitate in hiring again.

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category chimney repair, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/22/2021

5.0

07/13/2021


Evan P.

Scott and his team were friendly and helpful from the get go. Starting from the initial estimate they listened closely to what we were asking for and started providing answers and thoughts for questions we had (which we had lots of). Their estimate was fairly priced and was inclusive of all of our requests (it was by far the most fairly priced of the three quotes we got). Later when we asked for some modifications to the original design there weren’t any hidden fees and they simply charged time and material. They also kept our overall budget in mind throughout the entire project. Their knowledge of how to manage and complete all of the details of the project was thorough and made the experience as stress free as possible. Due to the pandemic there were delays in obtaining some of the material that pushed some timelines back; however, Scott and his team provided regular updates and were always prompt to respond if we had any questions or requests for updates. Communication from the American Home Remodeling team, overall, was outstanding. The project was completed very professionally and we are very happy with the end result, but here are some examples of smaller things that stuck out about the project. The first is the simple idea Scott’s team had to install a space heater in the office/bedroom of the basement as it’s a bit chilly to work in. This was a simple idea but only provided by his team; the other two quotes we received involved much more expensive duct work. A second example is that we put in a wet bar and they worked with the plumber to develop a route where piping could go along the walls rather than cutting into the cement to bury a pipe, which provided cost savings to us. A third example is that they worked with us to make a simple modification to the previous studding and piping (from the previous house owners) for the bathroom to become a single room rather than two separate rooms (toilet and shower in one room and dual sinks in the other; this was a bit excessive for our taste). The other quotes we received expressed concern that the space would be too small for a bathroom; however, Scott and his team truly evaluated the request and made it a reality. A fourth example is that Scott and his team custom cut and re-threaded a pipe for a pendant light so it would hang at the same length as the other two lights. Another contractor might have just said it would be a different length or promoted the purchase of different lights, but Scott’s team made it happen for us. A fifth example (but not the last), was Scott helping to “provide” some sound proofing insulation in the ceiling of the bedroom/office that we were asking for. What was actually provided was an honest comment that we would save quite a bit of money if we were able to complete the insulating ourselves. We had never put in insulation, though, so Scott also helped by providing links to products and some information on his past experience. Overall American Home Remodeling was a pleasure to work with and provided a wonderful finished product for a great value. Before and after pictures attached (sorry for all the junk, but hopefully gets the idea across).

Description of Work
Finished out basement

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $60,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2021

Images

Review for American Home Remodeling - 123456, Franklin, WI - 39400972

+3 More

5.0

07/03/2021


William Y.

Great work, we are very happy with the finished room.They are knowledgeable and communicated well Great value

Description of Work
expand laundry room

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2021

5.0

07/02/2021


Isral D.

We contracted with American Home Remodeling for a top-to-bottom gut remodel of the second floor of our 100-year-old home, and we couldn’t be happier with the end result. The new space is now our favorite part of the house! Scott and Nick (a father-son team) and their crew of trades specialists did high-quality work at fair prices. Throughout the project, they were great communicators and treated us and our house with complete respect. They kept a tidy worksite, and they showed up and departed at agreed-upon times. These guys are very knowledgeable, and they were always willing to explain things to me and answer my questions without talking down to me or making me feel stupid. They explained their thought processes, decisions, and methods along the way, leaving me very confident in the finished product. I never had to wonder what was going on with the project, because Scott and Nick (and in some cases even some of the trades guys) were available by text message, email, or phone to provide updates and answer questions. When issues came up – as they inevitably do with this kind of project in a house as old as ours – they clearly communicated the issue and came with a range of possible solutions. (They also worked very hard to keep our project safely moving forward even amidst all the difficulties of the COVID-19 pandemic.) When we faced decision points, Scott and Nick would share their opinion without being pushy. I always felt like the final choice was my call. All along the way, Scott and Nick worked hard to save us money: bargaining down rates from subcontractors, shopping around for better prices on materials, making a longer drive to purchase something at a lower cost, etc. This allowed us to spend up on things we really valued and even expand the project to take care of some other things outside the original scope. Scott, Nick, and the team at American Home Remodeling would be a great choice for your next project.

Description of Work
Full gut remodel of second floor

Category ceramic tile, decks, drywall, electrician, egress windows, picture framing, heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, skylights, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $90,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/10/2021

Images

Review for American Home Remodeling - 123456, Franklin, WI - 39390653

+3 More

5.0

06/26/2021


Mary M.

I can not speak highly enough about American Home Remodeling! Scott Cimler is extremely detail oriented which is exactly what we were looking for in a contractor. We knew he would get the job done right and on time. He was excellent in keeping us informed in what was going to happen every step of the way and fantastic to work with. His crew was also amazing! They were kind and courteous and always cleaned up after finishing what they were working on. Scott did an excellent job at keeping the project within our budget and even found ways to repurpose things in our house. If you are looking for someone to remodel any aspect of your house, I would definitely recommend American Home Remodeling! You will not be disappointed!

Description of Work
Basement remodel

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2021

5.0

02/15/2021


James P.

Scott was very easy and flexible to work with. In areas we weren’t sure what we wanted, Scott pointed out our options to help us control costs. Throughout the construction, Scott did a good job of keeping us informed on when things were going to happen. There were few surprises. All the people involved in the construction were very personable, and the work was of excellent quality. I would recommend American Home Remodeling for anyone’s home improvement project.

Description of Work
Bathroom addition

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, picture framing, plumbing, remodeling, siding, chimney repair

Cost $70,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2021

5.0

12/17/2020


Reghuram V.

Everything went extremely well. Scott and crew were able to stick to the agreed timeline and complete the work in a very short period of time without compromising the quality . Scott coordinated all the work and it was a pleasure working with them.

Description of Work
Basement remodeling

Category chimney repair, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2020

5.0

12/17/2020


Reghuram V.

Scott and co completed my Patio work as well recently. Scott, Nick and co were respectful and exceptional to work with. They are highly Knowledgeable and the quality of work was very good. Informs the schedule well in advance.

Description of Work
Concrete Patio

Category decks, remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/08/2022

5.0

11/15/2019


Carlos M.

We were very pleased with the work and the contractors willingness to work with us on price

Description of Work
Basement Remodeling

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2018

5.0

11/01/2019


Scott P.

Scott & co. did a great job. High qual

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/31/2019

5.0

11/01/2019


Michelle L.

We needed to have our bathroom completely gutted and remodeled. From the beginning Scott has been flexible and easy to work with. We weren't sure exactly what we wanted done and it took us some time to decide. He was helpful and patient with us. Once construction got underway he was in touch with me everyday letting me know the progress, what was happening next and asked questions if there were any. Our MBR is on the 2nd level and plastic was laid down to cover the stairs and carpet. They cleaned up every night and were very respectful of our home. If I had any questions or concerns, Scott would look into it right away to get it taken care of. He is knowledgeable and has made this process less stressful. I will be hiring him again for future projects.

Description of Work
Remodeled Master Bathroom

Category remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2019

5.0

10/29/2019


Matthew D.

Great to work with! They were very accessible and responsive. Project was coordinated very well with very little gaps between phases, and stayed on original schedule. All the workers were friendly, professional, and accommodating. We are very happy with our new basement living space and are thankful for such a great partner in American Home Remodeling.

Description of Work
Finished basement

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $65,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2019

5.0

10/21/2019


Kushal S.

Scott and his team were excellent from beginning to end. After the purchase of our home we wanted to update several items in the house. My wife was 8 months pregnant at the time & we both were busy with work so I wanted to find someone to work with that was knowledgeable, efficient, transparent, flexible, and great with communication in addition to being competent. We ended up quoting out several items but ended up sanding/priming/painting all the wood trim, doors, and kitchen cabinets in the house. Scott has an excellent team he's worked with for several years and their professionalism showed. The work was done very well and we'd recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Aesthetic interior home facelift

Category remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2019

5.0

10/16/2019


Roger K.

We needed to remodel our bathroom and had work done previously on our kitchen by Scott at American Home Remodeling. A friend told us to try someone who had remodeled their business. We called them and received other estimates as well following Angie's List advice. American Home Remodeling was the best in design and price. And, as before, Scott was easy to work with and a "down to earth" kind of guy, eager to provide for our needs and address our concerns. We signed on with him again recognizing the great work done when the kitchen was remodeled. The workers were courteous and prompt. They would inform us of their arrival times. Cleanliness was in their toolboxes as well. They would go the extra step to be sure we were pleased with their work. We were able to set the floor tiles over the cell phone as my spouse was at work in Chicago. We both were able to see the design lay out before it was installed. In any remodel, problem arise as you are unaware of what is really "behind that wall." These issues were addressed at little or no extra charge. Family and friend have remarked bout the great work. The HVAC employee, who services our home was so impressed he took a video to show his spouse as they plan to remodel their home as well We are very pleased with the work and service from Scott at American Home remodeling and highly recommend the company.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category home remodeling

Cost $28,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2019

5.0

10/12/2019


CINDY K.

Everything went awesome. From the first meeting, to estimates, planning, and execution of the work, things were very smooth and easy. Scott and his team coordinated everything (electrical, plumbing, hvac, permits, etc) and made the process super simple for our family. The end result is beautiful and coordinated with the rest of our house thanks to Scott's suggestion to have the basement area follow the same pattern. We now have a bedroom with an egress window (they installed), an office space, a 3/4 bathroom, and an extra room. They worked with us on options to manage cost which was greatly appreciated. They were flexible in discussing different things and working with us to do certain things on our own. For example, they coordinated terminating existing electrical so we could do our own demo of the existing finished space. Each person that came into our house was friendly and professional. We would definitely hire again and would recommend them for others' remodeling projects. We are very happy with the process and the end result. Things couldn't have gone better.

Description of Work
Finish basement with bedroom including egress window, bathroom, and other space

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

Cost $53,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2019

5.0

07/03/2019


Brian P.

This was a big project with lots of changes to the original quote. Scott was VERY accommodating and easy to work with. The finished product came out amazing and our basement is incredible. The subcontractors that Scott uses are top notch and did incredible craftsmanship. Our basement is really to good to call a basement as it’s more like another home. Incredible job done by all. Our next projects are bathroom remodels and Scott and his team at American Home Remodeling will be the ones we call.

Description of Work
Complete finish of the basement. Approx 1,100 sq ft. Including a bedroom,full bathroom,custom entertainment center,fitness area and a bar that is more of a kitchen.

Category remodeling

Cost $75,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2019

5.0

07/03/2019


Brian P.

Scott’s team and subcontractors are very professional and easy to work with. The whole project turned out better than we expected. Scott is very flexible with the changes and additions my wife and I made during the process. I would not hesitate to use Scott and his subcontractors again.

Description of Work
Wall removal to open up living and family room. Repurposed French doors to make dining room an office. Also added 2 new windows in the LR/FR.

Category remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/2019