Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

Founded 1980 • With Angi since December 2006

4.9

(50) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

598 Water St

Evansville, WI 53536

Description

Family owned. Additional phone number - (608) 754-6689.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/03/2020


Merton C.

Great !! One service tech gave me phone assistance on Memorial Day. Then a second tech came out the next day to fully diagnose the problems and started the A/C again, in a temporary mode. He and the salesman (on the phone) then gave us a quote for all of the work and equipment. Later that week two more techs came and installed a new Carrier 2.5 Ton system. They were all very knowledgeable and professional. The total cost of the diagnostic work, the new system and the installation was very competitive. We were very pleased with RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. They are a quality company.

Description of Work
A/C "no cool" diagnostics and then new A/C system installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/29/2018


Mary Jo S.

I went so well, I can't say it enough. This company is incredible. They were suggested by a friend and I am very impressed. They made great suggestions so we could properly zone heat and make changes to current AC/Heating in our home. They are trustworthy, kind, intelligent, hard working. There were many questions we had and they took us through the entire process and made it easy for us. We are thankful to the entire team, from Julie to Ryan, Jeremy and everyone in between. They are the best and I would trust them to do exactly what you need at a fair price. Great team.

Description of Work
Zone heating and other renovations

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/31/2017


Mike G.

Our installation was not straight-forward since connection to a solar hot air system was involved; a new plenum section was required. The new sheet metal was fabricated on-site. Their work order had the wrong air filter to be installed so they had to return a couple of days later with more metal work to finish the job. All of the work was done very neatly and the crew was cheerful through it all.

Description of Work
Replace a gas fired furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/24/2017


Timothy S.

Very fast, efficient, and to my specifications.

Description of Work
Removal of my old forced air furnace and air conditioning unit. Installation of a new forced air furnace and air conditioning unit. They also moved my condenser from under my deck to the side of my house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2017


Teresa K.

Suggested to add a zone in house to fix problem. Gave us estimate within 2 weeks of first visit.

Description of Work
Give estimate and try to find the issue with the hot and cold ares of house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/14/2017


Teresa K.

They did every thing they said they were going to do, person that gave estimate was one to install zone which is great to not have to explain things again.

Description of Work
Installed new zone in heating and air system. Wired thermostat, showed how to use it, cleaned up after themselves, courteous and polite.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/29/2016


John C.

The service men were not only on time but early. Very professional. I am very pleased the my new air conditioner and th install.

Description of Work
I bought a new air conditioner from RA and the installed it

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/01/2016


Rick H.

smoothly and fairly quickly.....3 1/2 hrs....no problems have used R&A for 30 years

Description of Work
replaced central AC unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/26/2016


Robert G.

The check up went very well. The schedule window was for 10AM - 12PM. Chris, the Service Technician, arrived during the scheduled time slot. He got right to work and checked the unit. Based on some information I gave him, he quickly found the cause of a noise I was concerned about in the blower assembly. A balancing weight on a blade had come loose and he fixed the problem. No other problems were found during the check up. Chris took the time to explain what he was doing and checking for during the service call. Hats off again to RA Heating, I've never been disappointed in their service and have recommended them to my friends.

Description of Work
Annual check up for A/C unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/01/2016


Todd S.

From the pricing to the install, this was an easy, honest, and up-front process. Guys were supposed to be here by 8:30, and showed up very promptly. They installed everything we agreed upon, less the chimney liner, which thankfully wasn't needed. I appreciated Ryan showing up and working through some of the challenges of an older house, as well as his being very forthcoming about what would serve our house well without emptying our bank account. He took ownership of the assessment like he was doing so for his own house--and that's exactly what you want from a service professional. We went from a furnace that was probably running at 60% efficiency to a Carrier that is better than 90%, so we couldn't be happier with the performance so far. His crew were quick, courteous and professional. They left the basement cleaner than they found it. I still will need to tune the A/C in the spring, as it's too cold to do so now (in southern Wisconsin), but I'm sure that will go without a hitch. I appreciate RA Heating, and will choose to continue to service the units they put in today through them.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace and a/c with new carrier models, vented our dryer, replaced the exhaust vent cap for our water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

08/25/2015


Kevin H.

Terrible. I called another contractor who came out that evening, found the real problem (a circuit board, not a clog in the coil), fixed it right then and we had AC for the first hot weekend of the summer. It has been working properly since. While my total system is old and we will be replacing furnace, AC, humidifier, and filtration system within the next few months, this cursory glance over diagnosis was poor service. I called to dispute my bill since it was wrong and got a run around. The tech did call back to discuss it and left a message but I decided to just pay the trip charge and I will never use RA again.

Description of Work
I called on 7/8 to get someone out to look at our AC which would run for about 40 seconds then shut off. It was going to be a hot and humid weekend and we really wanted the system working. RA got a tech out there late on Friday the 10th. He looked at air handler and without touching it or opening it, said it was clogged. Put gauges on the condenser and said there was nothing he could do for us for that weekend, that evaporator coil had to be replaced due to a clog and the condenser unit should be replaced as well. They could "squeeze us in" the following Tuesday and cost would be $3100.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/04/2015


Robert G.

Mike, the Service Technician arrived on time and went right to work. He went through the Furnace and Air Conditioner, cleaning and checking the components. He did have to add a little freon and advised that I will be looking at having a major a/c repair in the future (the evaporator). He also installed a new thermostat. He was very knowledgeable and answered all my questions. R/A Heating & Air Conditioning has never let me down I would not hesitate to refer them to anyone and will remain a loyal, happy customer.

Description of Work
I had a service call for a heating/cooling tune up and inspection and a new thermostat installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/30/2015


George S.

They are excellent. A neighbor of our said they were good and then we have recommended them to many, many other people. The thing that really convinced me was that we’ve had interior furnace for a long time and about two-, three years ago it started acting really crazy and they came out – and at that time I was prepared for a new furnace – and what they told me was that that furnace was guaranteed for 10 years, or whatever, and that the burner plate was burned out. And they said, you know, with the guarantee what we can do is, take out, put a new one in and then your furnace would be just as good as new and they were absolutely right. And that whole thing cost me maybe $30, $40.

Description of Work
I used RA Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. They’ve done our work since we’ve lived here – we’ve lived here about 15 years. They come out a couple of times a year. They changed the filter and did some minor repairs on the furnace the last time they were here.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/30/2014


Dan H.

They were very prompt, professional, and did a great job. The installation was great. It was smaller than the old one and they adapted with some new sheet metal. They also installed a condensate pump, which eliminated the hoses on the basement floor. Because I had two houses, I cut a better deal with them and I have a better and quieter air conditioning unit out of the deal. They were right on time. In some cases, I would have multiple contractors coming in one day and they had to be on time, but they were really professional and they didn't just quote me something right there on the spot. They went back and did the paperwork and did the bid. The service guys had nice shirts on and they had a nice truck.

Description of Work
I have a new furnace and air conditioning installed by them. I have another house and they did the air for that as well.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/14/2014


Timothy M.

My experience with them is very positive. My point of view is that they installed a new heating system in our house. That's freshly done, and everything was very smooth, and they cleaning up very well, and it is still working very well. They church where I work also use them and has a good experience with them as well. Overall experience, I will give them an A.

Description of Work
Heating and Air Conditioning system installation.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/26/2014


Jeffrey T.

Very professional service from start to finish. On time for all appointments. INITIAL APPOINTMENT: Informed me of all the options I had. Even told me how to fix my current furnace myself. The furnace had already caused two service calls prior to this, so I decided I wanted to replace it. Knowing that I didn't have any heat, RA heating moved their schedule around to set up an install the day after I accepted their proposal. INSTALL: Went very smooth. The work done looked very professional. They even did extra work that was not on my proposal at no extra charge (Installed a rigid dryer vent pipe). They left when the work was complete. Cleaned up my house the way they left it. POST-INSTALL: RA heating helped to complete and mailed out the rebate form for me. All I had to do was put in personal information. OVERALL: Excellent customer service from start to finish at an Excellent price. Would recommend to anyone.

Description of Work
Replaced Furnace and Air Conditioning Units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/20/2013


Kimberly C.

He was scheduled to arrive between 2 and 4 pm and arrived right at 2 pm. He was very professional, pleasant and quick - done in about 45 minutes. I've used RA for several years now and have always had a great experience.

Description of Work
Did a full service check on my AC and furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/11/2013


Richard L.

Replace one capacitor,check the air conditioning over and and add a little refrigerant.

Description of Work
Fix the air conditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/12/2013


Lynn B.

They spent the entire day at our house because it was a big job. They also put in a new setback thermostat and a new air filter system. They were very friendly and explained everything to me when I asked lots of questions. Things looked great when they were done and everything is running well. I also have to say that I really liked John Novak, the estimator who came out to look at our furnace, etc. He wrote up a very clear estimate on prices for about 3 choices that we could get and went through everything and clearly explained all of them to me. The prices turned out to be the best of the 3 estimates we got. When I was in the deciding stage, I called him a couple more times to ask questions and he answered everything I wanted to know. My husband and I were very pleased with their work.

Description of Work
Installed new energy efficient furnace and new central A/C (to replace 48 yr. old system which still worked but we figured it would be better to do both because that would probably be the next to give out).

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

06/24/2013


Joanne B.

They were able to find the problem and they said they would come back with a new free replacement part. They said they believe that they had some issues with leakage in the heat exchanger. They came when they scheduled and they did a nice job. They spent a lot of time trying to resolve it and also trying to find the part. We were pleased with their efforts.

Description of Work
We use RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc. They put in a new furnace and air conditioning system for us two and a half years ago. They also did a service call when the air conditioner was not doing as well as expected.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

06/04/2013


Thomas H.

I called on RA because I had used another provider to fix the problem the previous summer but all they did was refill the coolant and charge me too much money. The folks from RA came in, diagnosed the problem, explained it to me, showed me where the issues were in the system and gave me an estimate for the repairs. Once the part came in that they had to order, they promptly fixed the issues and showed me that the system was working properly with a IR thermometer. My wife and I were extremely happy with how quickly they responded to our call, especially since it was during the warmest part of summer and I'm sure they had a backlog of work.

Description of Work
The provider repaired a leak in the coolant line that lead from the external AC unit to the internal unit. They also replaced a switch that was used to start the external fan.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/16/2013


R. David S.

I am particular about what I buy and who I deal with these days. I know it pays to do your research and to get a good knowledge of things BEFORE you hire someone to do work on your home for you. After all - your home is a personal thing - and when you make a decision to change things - YOU are the one who has to live with it for years to come - so you want to make - not only the best choices for products - but be comfortable in who you have come into your home and do the work. I needed a central AC unit for my home. After researching quite a bit on the internet - I found that CARRIER products are highly rated in the industry - and I wanted to get close to the best there was in this respect. Previously I had two window air conditioners that cooled fairly well - one upstairs and a large unit downstairs. But they were noisy, inefficient, and were both over 10 years old. After I had done this - I looked on Angie's List to find a reputable company who handled this product. I was happy to find someone right here in my hometown that I could deal with. I called R.A. Heating and Air Conditioning in Evansville Wisconsin, because they were highly rated and I wanted to get a bid on a Carrier central air unit for my house. I chose R.A. because they were locally based in Evansville - although they service a wide range of South Central Wisconsin as well. I figured too - that if I ever needed service in the future - as well as annual checks - they were only blocks away. To begin with - the office staff I talked with - Courtney - was both helpful and personable. I told her what I needed and she scheduled someone to come out the very next day to take a look. When John - the project estimator showed up the next day - I showed him where things were, and where I thought the compressor could go etc. He was very knowledgeable and friendly as well. He took pics and then we looked at the furnace I had in the basement. Much to my surprise - my Lennox furnace had been installed in the mid 1970's, so it had far exceeded it's lifetime and efficiency of the day. I decided then - that it was probably best to install a new furnace in addition to the new AC unit - Both Carrier Brand so they would be and quot;Matchedand quot; for efficiency and cost effectiveness. Per my request, the bid was returned to me by e-mail that same day - with the base figure for basic models - PLUS options to upgrade - should I choose to do so. I went with the mid-priced options suitable for my individual 2-story Victorian era house. Prices were very reasonable for Carrier Brand of products - so even tho I had intended to get 2 other bids - I went with R.A. because I was impressed with how they did business. Not only that - but there was a nice discount for having both the AC unit and the furnace installed at the same time! Once the contract was signed John scheduled installation for the next week - which I was delighted with. Mike and his partner - the installation guys showed up exactly at 8 AM the day of the installation. I showed them where things were - including the bathroom - and they went right to work. They took out the old furnace, put in a new programmable thermostat, and ran what lines they needed to the AC compressor unit outside - then hooked it up electrically then tested the units. They were done by 3 PM with everything cleaned up and ready to go. Mike took the time to show me how the thermostat worked and what to expect from the units when I first used them. For instance the very faint and quot;hotand quot; smell as the new units were broken in and used for the first time. As with anything new - I spent the rest of the day and quot;playingand quot; first with the AC - then with the furnace later in the evening. All I can say is WOW - what a Difference these make!!!!!! Both are very quiet and send out tons of both cold and warm from my registers almost instantly. They brought the temperatures up or down quickly to what I set on the thermostat in no time at all. Over-all, I had a GREAT experience with this company !! From start to finish, they were friendly, personable and professional in every way. It is great to see companies like R.A. are still around - doing business in a and quot;small town wayand quot; - yet with the knowledge, efficiency, and expertise of a much larger corporation. I am very happy with the CARRIER Brand products as well as the company who handles them. I would NOT hesitate to BOTH use them again - or recommend them HIGHLY to anyone needing their services.

Description of Work
New CARRIER PERFORMANCE MODEL Furnace and Central Air Conditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/19/2012


jim D.

I called RA Heating and Ventilating at 10AM and they assured us that they could have the furnace repaired before the day was out, in spite of the fact that they had to travel 30 miles to get replacement part. They then had to travel another 40 miles to reach us by 3PM and had the total repair done by 6:00PM. There was no extra charge to us. They are first rate, competent, professional, and ethical. They could have easily charged us extra for labor as the repair was a major disassembly and reimbursement from the manufacturer for warranty repairs usually is inadequate. I was surprised they didn't bill us for travel as it would have been justified. I wouldn't have been so surprised if RA had originally installed the furnace, but they busted their butts to get our furnace up and running. I would recommend them to anyone. I had never done business with these people before because they are 40 miles from us, but I will call them for any HVAC needs I may have in the future.

Description of Work
We had a major component (heat exchanger) failure on our furnace. The original installer of this furnace had gone bankrupt. I checked the local dealer for a warranty repair and was quoted an extra charge of several hundred dollars for labor and expedited shipping charges. They estimated it would be 3 days before the furnace would be running. This furnace had an extended warranty due to a class action lawsuit against the manufacturer. To replace the heat exchanger is a major disassembly and the local dealer said it would take him about 6 hours to complete after he obtained the part which would have to be shipped to him by UPS. The outside temp was in the 20's and we needed heat ASAP. I called RA Heating and Ventilating which is about 50 miles from us and they assured us that they would have the furnace running before the day was out.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/22/2012


MATT R.

Just moved into a new house and called RA to take a good look at the furnace and A/C. Bill was very thourough and took time afterwards to explain the things he looked at and what he found. Will definitely use again.

Description of Work
Serviced the furnace and A/C.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/16/2012


Robert G.

,My A/C unit stopped working late in the day during the July heat wave of 100 degree days. I called the R.A. Heating emergency call number and Russ promptly called me back. Even though it was late in the evening and he had just returned to the shop, he came out to help. Upon his arrival, he quickly checked the unit, diagnosed the problem and made the repair.

Description of Work
I had an emergency service call for an air conditioner that failed during a heat wave. Russ made an after hours service call at 10:00 PM and promptly diagnosed the problem and replaced a capacitor.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Clark Heating & Cooling

    Clark Heating & Cooling offers American standard & Bryant heating & cooling products. We could offer many other brands but we feel these two offer the best balance of features, benefits, reliability, warranty coverage and overall value. As we say, the bitterness of poor quality remains long after the sweetness of a low price is forgotten. We are an American standard customer care dealer which means we go above & beyond to ensure a great experience with Clark heating. We have many times been recognized as "dealer of the year" for providing unmatched service. We've accomplished this by maintaining customer satisfaction rating of over 98%. Contact us today, we'd love to make you a satisfied customer too.  

    Angi Certified

    Cardinal Heating & Air Conditioning

    Since 1984, Cardinal Heating & Air Conditioning has provided the Sun Prairie, WI area exceptional heating, air conditioning, Electrical and plumbing services; it’s no wonder they were voted Best Heating and Cooling company in Sun Prairie for 6 years straight! Offering professional technicians, same day installations and 24 hour service among other things make them the right choice for any HVAC or plumbing job. Call today to schedule your next appointment!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    KETTLE MORAINE HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING LLC

    Kettle Moraine Heating & Air Conditioning, LLC is a third-generation family-owned business that has been serving Southeastern Wisconsin for over 35 years. Our mission is to provide our customers with peace of mind and 5-star service. We specialize in air conditioning, furnaces, boilers, ductless mini-splits, solar, backup generators, radon mitigation, and electrical services. Additionally, we are the region’s premier installer of Lennox energy-efficient heating and cooling systems and Mitsubishi ductless mini-split systems. With an unwavering commitment to our customers, you can count on us to deliver the personalized care you deserve. • 24/7 Emergency Service • Tune-Ups/Maintenance Plans • 0% Financing  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential, commercial and light industrial sales, installation & repair of furnace, air conditioning, heat pumps, heating, geothermal forced air, humidification, dehumidification, rooftop heaters, boilers, patio, solar space and unit heaters & air purification.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc

    How is RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc overall rated?

    RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc open?

    RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc provide

    RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc?

    No, RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offer?

    RA Heating & Air Conditioning Inc offers the following services: Residential, commercial and light industrial sales, installation & repair of furnace, air conditioning, heat pumps, heating, geothermal forced air, humidification, dehumidification, rooftop heaters, boilers, patio, solar space and unit heaters & air purification.