Fox Chimney Service LLC

Founded 2008 • With Angi since January 2012

4.8

(294) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7862 US-51

DeForest, WI 53532

Description

Fox Chimney Service LLC Family owned & operated.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

12/03/2020


Joe K.

Fox never called - I left a voice mail about a week after I asked for the deal. Still no call!!!

Description of Work
fireplace repair - deal purchased

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Ho [Member Name Removed], you are correct, i believe you did leave a voicemail during thanksgiving week when we were closed, and this is a very busy time of year. so apologies that we were not able to get back to you in time for your satisfaction.
5.0

10/14/2020


Greg P.

Outstanding experience. I'd submitted a request for a quote to another Angie's List pro (who never got back to me). Got an email the next morning that Chimneys Plus was interested in providing me a quote. Submitted a request & hot a call from Chad maybe 20 minutes later. He explained that he was booked solid each weekday well in November, but offered to come out the following Saturday morning. Arrived right on time, inspected chimney from cap to bottom & cleaned a ton of creosote from the pipe. He also cleaned our woodstove beautifully, including the glass, at no additional charge even though we never asked him to. The price was excellent; quite a bit less than what it seems other area services charge. Chad was also extremely courteous and professional, and left everything immaculate. This was the best service I've received using Angie's List. Highly recommend Chimneys Plus!

Description of Work
Chimney inspection and cleaning

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces

5.0

06/09/2020


Terry A.

They were great to work with and very thorough. Dustin was very safety oriented and we are looking forward to having him back this year. Also, clean-up was great and they took all the needed precautions and left things spotless.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

5.0

11/18/2019


Fred M.

The scheduling process was easy and communication was good. Techs arrived on time and performed work scheduled. They were professional and did a great job of keeping the area clean-while cleaning the chimney. The cost was the same as I've paid in the past with other companies. They did a camera inspection of both flues (I have two fireplaces that share a chimney) and found damage due to internal chimney fires. Fox Chimney helped me navigate through the claims process with my insurance company and I'm in the process of scheduling repairs to the flues and installation of a wood burning insert in one of the fireplaces. They will be doing that work as well.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep and Inspection

Category chimney sweep

5.0

05/25/2019


Scott P.

Very nice job, on time and on budget! Dog-friendly too! :) Inside and outside.

Description of Work
Added fireplace to home

Category masonry, chimney caps, fireplaces

5.0

12/18/2018


Wanda R.

A crack was discovered in the chimney lining that posed a danger in using our fireplace. We were told different options in dealing with it. Dustin and Justin were very polite and informative. I’m currently awaiting quotes for repairs needed.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

5.0

12/17/2018


John G.

Fox Chimnet Service was great! Excellent communication beforehand including to the minute arrival time. Courteous and respectful of our home, and did thorough work. I would definitely hire him again, and recommend strongly to others.

Description of Work
Cleaned our gas fireplace burner and chamber around fire.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

12/07/2018


Amy K.

Jayson did a wonderful job on our fireplace. The old unit was about 40 years old, and he pulled it and all the dust out without getting a speck of dirt on anything. He also found air leaks on the outside of the house and plugged them up. The fireplace looks brand new and the log set is so beautiful. We love it and would highly recommend Jayson.

Description of Work
Replaced old gas log unit and installed new one

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

11/06/2018


Mark M.

The chimney cleaning went very well. Fox Chimney Service has an automated email and text message application that kept me up to date on each step of the process. They arrived on time, completed the work in the time expected and gave me a receipt before they left. The cleaning for a 15 foot chimney took about a half hour. They aren't the cheapest out there so I gave them a 'B' on price. They were very helpful and answered all my questions. I would rate them very good overall, better than any one else I have used.

Description of Work
Basic chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/29/2018


Barbara G.

Dustin and Justin arrived exactly at the time promised. They took photos of the work, both before and after. As they worked, they let us know what they were doing as well as problems which they found. They re-affixed a fallen damper and checked out a connection that needed tightening. They carefully covered our near-by carpeting and used a vacuum which left no dust in the air. Will absolutely have them come back next year.

Description of Work
Clean our wood stove and stovepipe

Category chimney sweep

5.0

09/22/2018


RICHARD B.

IT WENT REALLY WELL. THEY WERE A GOOD GROUP OF GUYS. WORK WAS DONE PROFESSIONALLY. ONCE THEY SQEEZED US IN AND ORDERED THE GAS INSERT THE WORK WENT REALLY FAST AND LOOKS GREAT. WOULD HIRE THEM AGAIN.

Description of Work
CONVERT FROM WOOD BURNING FIREPLACE TO GAS

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

08/09/2018


John R.

Arrived on time, ash from cleaning did not enter home, good work.

Description of Work
Cleaned and inspect three chimneys

Category chimney sweep

5.0

06/08/2018


Mario G.

They were very experienced and knowledgeable, and also very friendly. They explained all the work to me, and even went above and beyond when they noticed the chimney needed extra waterproofing. The new concrete cap looks great, and the chimney looks so much better now that there are not bricks popping out everywhere. I'd definitely hire them again for any future chimney work.

Description of Work
Removing and repairing chimney bricks, pouring a new concrete cap, chimney waterproofing / sealing

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

05/20/2018


Lisa B.

Great! Punctual and professional. Our fireplace worked perfectly all winter.

Description of Work
Annual chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

5.0

04/23/2018


STEVEN M.

The service technician determined that the pilot light mechanism had worn out and was split causing the malfunction. He brought along the required replacement part and replaced the bad unit. I had originally purchased a $130 fireplace inspection and cleaning, but I was only charged $79 for a Gas Fireplace Service - Gas Fireplace Diagnostic instead because the technician said that was all I needed at the present time since the fireplace was pretty clean and after the new pilot light mechanism was installed everything was working properly. He counseled that typically the gas value would be the next thing to go, usually not long after the pilot light, but that a new one wasn't needed right now. I found it refreshing to have a contractor tell me that the service cost was actually going to be significantly less than expected!

Description of Work
The gas log addition to my wood burning fireplace wouldn't light.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

5.0

04/09/2018


MARV F.

I wish it were possible to give Fox Chimney an A+++. It went perfectly! His expertise was impressive. Everything was done expertly. When he left, I couldn't tell he'd been there - he treated my home as if it were his. He was a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Extensive chimney repair

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

03/05/2018


Jerome H.

The work went well. Fox was timely and professional. They supplied pricing on two options depending on the amount of damage. Fortunately the less expensive fix was adequate.

Description of Work
The chimney was storm damaged and required some reconstruction.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

01/29/2018


Gene Y.

Very well, very professional, no mess.

Description of Work
Chimney sweep and inspection

Category chimney sweep

5.0

01/01/2018


Robert & Kari H.

excellent responsiveness and very fair price. went above and beyond to get the job done on time.

Description of Work
chimney liner replaced

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

5.0

12/29/2017


Howard S.

Very well. Work done in timely fashion properly corrrcted previous repair that was done poorly by different company

Description of Work
Repair poor repair work from a previous hire

Category chimney sweep

2.0

12/20/2017


Joseph M.

When I made the appointment I was told that two men were scheduled to be at my house nine until noon and that the first two buckets of ash were included in the service price. The two men who came to my house told me they hadn't cleaned an ash pit in five years, that I couldn't get the two buckets worth unless I agreed to pay to have it all cleaned at $20/bucket (and they kept increasing how much the total would be), and when they left at 10:40 they said they were running behind. One of the men ran a camera to look inside the chimneys, while the job of the second seemed to be only to lay out a drop cloth and pack up the camera. That second man could have easily worked on the ash pits. Given the price of the service, the value was very low.

Description of Work
I asked to have two ash pits and two chimneys cleaned and inspected.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, There seems to be some failure of communication here. You called for the cleaning and inspection of two fireplaces- A Charge of $328.00. These services were performed with cleanings and video inspection. When you called in , we informed you that ash dump cleanings were an additional charge of $249.00 plus $20.00 per bucket with the first two buckets included in the $249.00. We put extra time on the appointment to give the guys time to clean out the ash-dumps if you agreed to the additional service. At no time did we state these two buckets were included with the fireplace cleaning. When the gentlemen looked at your ash-dump he informed you, as did we over the phone that we would include the first two buckets if you chose the additional service of having the ash-dumps cleaned out- you refused. So the service was not performed. Ash dump cleanings, due to dust control issues are a two person job, so the other guy cant just go work on the ash-dump cleaning as you put it. As a homeowner, if you want to clean out your ash dump you can do it any way you choose. But if you hire a service provider to do it- there are extra expectations that come with that- no dust, encapsulation of the ash disposal of potentially hazardous materials - buckets with lids to seal the ash in for transport-etc. That we perform that as a homeowner you don't need to do if you do it yourself. Ash dump cleanings can also potentially take hours and have hundreds of gallons of ash- it is not a service that is included in a fireplace cleaning at any time. We did our best to accommodate your request and inform you of the additional costs involved, and our apologies if you feel it was not communicated correctly. As a resolution we will no longer be charging the same for basic ash dump cleaning as chimney cleanings to avoid any possible miscommunication issues in the future. Thank you.
5.0

12/14/2017


Katherine R.

Our gas fireplace stopped working one day and we called around for service estimates and appointment times. Fox was the earliest available (within two weeks) and their service call fee was comparable to other companies. We received text message reminders about our appointment and to alert us when the repairmen were en route. Jayson and Derek arrived 5 minutes before our appointment time - love that! They were polite, professional, and efficient. They took the time to ensure I understood what was wrong (our thermocouple needed to be replaced) and why it needed to be replaced (it had rusted). They were very upfront about the cost of the repair and were able to complete it same day. They cleaned up thoroughly afterwards and our fireplace looks and works good as new! While I hope we don't require their services again anytime soon, Fox Chimney services will be my first call should we need fireplace maintenance in the future.

Description of Work
repair gas fireplace

Category fireplaces

5.0

12/01/2017


barbara A.

Jayson was extremely fair and honest about what had to be done. In the end, the fix was not quite as severe as he initially thought it was and our bill showed that! We would not have known the difference and certainly appreciate his integrity! His employees were polite , considerate and efficient. Work was done quickly and before schedule. I would absolutely recommend these folks to anyone. We were just lucky to have chosen them.!!

Description of Work
We had damaged chimney from previous job done by a different company which was not well done. That job caused interior flue damage. Jayson was so wonderful in describing damage (with pictures) and explaining what had to be done. They had to remove existing cap and pour new concrete cap and two new raincaps correctly placed. They also had to remove existing damaged flue liners and install new ones.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces

5.0

11/08/2017


Kathryn H.

Jayson got me onto the schedule quickly and the crew showed up as soon as the necessary parts were available. The crew was efficient, knowledgeable and obviously took pride in the finished job. Cleanup was very thorough. I would definitely recommend Fox Chimney Service!

Description of Work
Chimney Repair

Category chimney repair

5.0

11/04/2017


Ellen S.

The two service men appeared right on time and were very courteous and helpful when I asked a few questions about the fireplace function. They protected my floors when working and cleaned up well when done. I felt they did a very good job and were efficient with their time and mine.

Description of Work
I had my two gas fireplaces checked and serviced as needed in order to feel they were safe and working well for the winter season.

Category gas logs

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arrow Exterior Design

    At Arrow Exterior Design we offer roofing, siding, windows and decking. We don't believe in high pressure sales to get you to work with us. We want you to be comfortable in trusting Arrow Exterior Design with your home and help you get your job done. We have been in business for 4 years, but combine for many years of experience in this business. We are family owned and Russ, the owner is a veteran. Evenings, Saturdays's and Sunday's by appointment only.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Hensen Masonry LLC

    Hensen Masonry, LLC is a family owned and operated business. Run by and Tony Hensen.  

    Angi Certified

    BCP Handyman Services

    Carpenter for 30 years including custom trim work, door installations, deck building. Basic electric such as ceiling fans, outlet and switch replacement. Plumbing such as toilet replacement, garbage disposals, drain and sink replacement. Grounds maintenance including law mowing, basic landscaping.  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    DC-021300001
    Trade License Locale
    Wisconsin
    Trade License Authority
    Wisconsin: Safety and Professional
    Trade License Expiration
    10/14/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Chimney and fireplace repair, gas,wood,pellet stoves inserts and fireplaces masonry maintenance & installation. Historical restoration and chimney/masonry rebuilding and tuckpointing.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for Details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Fox Chimney Service LLC

    How is Fox Chimney Service LLC overall rated?

    Fox Chimney Service LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Fox Chimney Service LLC open?

    Fox Chimney Service LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Fox Chimney Service LLC provide

    Fox Chimney Service LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

    Does Fox Chimney Service LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, Fox Chimney Service LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does Fox Chimney Service LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Fox Chimney Service LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Fox Chimney Service LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, Fox Chimney Service LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Fox Chimney Service LLC?

    Yes, Fox Chimney Service LLC offers warranties.

    What services does Fox Chimney Service LLC offer?

    Fox Chimney Service LLC offers the following services: Chimney and fireplace repair, gas,wood,pellet stoves inserts and fireplaces masonry maintenance & installation. Historical restoration and chimney/masonry rebuilding and tuckpointing.

    Are there any services Fox Chimney Service LLC does not offer?

    Ask for Details