Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin

Founded 1996 • With Angi since November 2008

4.3

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3432 County Rd N

Cottage Grove, WI 53527

Description

Emergency Property Damage Restoration. We have 40 employees and work with many high quality local sub contractors. We manage the complete restoration, from loss to move in....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/27/2022


Elizabeth V.

This was a large and multi-layered repair process. The Paul Davis team was excellent to work with. Each one of their contractors was efficient and so easy to work with. They know their business and conduct themselves professionally and with great courtesy. I am delighted that the repairs are completed and I am grateful that this professional group did the work.

Description of Work
Large tree fell on my house leaving extensive damage

Category custom cabinets, contractors, decks, drywall, electrician, hardwood floor, roofing, water damage restoration, replacement windows, interior painters

5.0

08/17/2018


Belle G.

They did a wonderful job. It felt like neighbors came in after a barn burnt. They treated us like friends They were honest, explained what they were going to do and really kept us in the loop. They explained what they could and could not restore. Once they thought they got something on the bathroom floor and they called me to ask if it were there before. Because we were not sure if it had been there before, they went ahead and replaced the floor. They packed everything and hauled it out of the house before they began work and everyone was nice and honest. Extremely professional company whom we would highly recommend to anybody.

Description of Work
We had a major house fire which gutted the upstairs and flooded the downstairs. They pretty much repaired the entire upstairs and two rooms of the downstairs including two bathrooms. They did drywall, painting, carpet, doors, hardwood floors, and many other things. They even restored some of our antique furniture.

Category drywall, furniture repair, hardwood floor, remodeling, water damage restoration, home remodeling, interior painters, doors, home improvement stores

5.0

08/16/2018


Colleen M.

Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin recently cleaned all of the carpet and upholstery in my home. They arrived on time, were very professional, used start of the art equipment, and did a fantastic job. I was genuinely impressed with this operation and their staff. Highly recommend!!

Description of Work
Carpet Cleaning

Category carpet cleaners, upholstery cleaning

5.0

08/16/2018


Jaron D.

Fast prompt service, explained what was going on and the process. Extremely professional. I would highly recommend this group.

Description of Work
Restoration on furniture and basement cleaned after septic leak

Category contractors, carpet cleaners, ceramic tile, furniture repair, upholstery cleaning, water damage restoration, insurance companies, mold removal

5.0

08/16/2018


Maya T.

They were very excellent to work with, I can't say enough good things about them, They were all nice. Everything was done on time and I Highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Fire damage restoration.

Category water damage restoration

1.0

05/06/2016


Cara W.

This was the WORSE customer service I have ever had. I was in the middle of a lawsuit with my HOA due to construction defects in my condominium unit that were causing serious water infiltration and mold to my home. My sister and I were forced to relocate because she was having asthma attacks due the the mold in the attic. After 22 months of no repairs by the HOA, their attorney/Auto Owners Insurance Company hired Paul Davis to do "repairs". The project manager at Paul Davis was Craig Slager (official title: Vice President of Customer Satisfaction). I was forced to allow Paul Davis entry to my home for a 3-week period for repairs that did not address the water infiltration. They expected a key to come/go when they pleased. I refused as my personal belongings were in the home and I had been given no repair plan for the work they were doing or why they were doing it. They could not provide a schedule of when they would work and could not guarantee when they would be finished. They took their instructions from the HOA attorney and not from engineering reports regarding the damages. They admitted in testimony they didn't know how to fix the defects. With the replacement of the attic insulation, they did not remove all of the old moldy insulation, did not use the recommended replacement insulation, and then tried to block the attic access so no one else could access the attic and inspect their work. They did no mold remediation work in the attic or the unit - they painted over the water stains on the interior walls with no deconstructive testing. They painted the wrong color and the wrong walls for the accent painting. They ended up painting some walls three times to match color. Overall, they covered up the damages so the HOA could go to court and say they did "repairs". This company is a lap dog for the insurance industry with no standards for quality work or concern for customers' health.

Description of Work
Paul Davis Restoration was suppose to do repairs for construction defects to my condominium unit. They were hired by my HOA. They did work on the insulation and air sealing in the attic, interior painting and reran the roof ridge vent.

Category roofing, water damage restoration, interior painters, mold removal

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed] was in a protracted, bitter dispute with her HOA. They were our customer, not her. Her review is riddled with misrepresentations and lies and is intended to punish us for testifying in court against what we believed were her unreasonable claims. While we sometimes fall short of delivering the high quality service we are known for, our customers know we keep our promise that they will be satisfied with the finished product. We proudly support the men and women who work in the Wisconsin property insurance industry who we know from experience respect their policy holders and the publics interest. Some people are just mean and can never be satisfied.
1.0

05/21/2015


Kathleen R.

Work was completed by a pleasant subcontractor. Unfortunately, per the contractor/company that had to fix the subsequent damage, a flashing was not installed properly with water leaking under the shingles causing significant damage to both roof and support studs. 1/2 of the roof needed to be torn off with the wood and shingles being replaced. This was a stucco garage and significant stucco had to be taken off to replace the wood studs on the side of the garage under the leak. My final bill to fix their poor workmanship was $5,100. I did not contact Paul Davis Restoration directly, but my insurance company did, as they paid the initial insurance claim for the work. [I was unable to file a homeowners claim for the repair of the original shoddy workmanship.] It has been 7 weeks since American Family tracked down this company and I have not recieved any communication from Paul Davis Restoration Co.

Description of Work
Repair to garage roof secondary to a tree limb perforating the structure. Homeowners insurance paid a portion towards the entire garage roof replacement that I elected to do at the time.

Category water damage restoration, insurance companies

Service Provider Response

I'm the owner of Paul Davis Restoration and worked with [Member name removed] back in 2011 when the work was originally completed. I was never contacted by her or her insurance agent. It's not necessary to "track us down". We are on Angie's list and the internet and all major insurers know who we are. We answer our phone 24 hours a day and return calls within 24 hours. Despite the fact that several years have gone by, I can say with absolute certainty that had we been contacted by [Member name removed], if indeed the work of our subcontractor was faulty, we would have cheerfully corrected it at no cost. I'm sorry [Member name removed] had a bad experience and spent money unnecessarily. Her criticism of us is unfair. We have 19 years of proven history standing behind our work and putting our customers interests above our own.
4.0

01/22/2015


Christine P.

The estimate was done promptly but then work was scheduled and rescheduled several times. The work was completed but we were not asked to inspect the job to see if it was satisfactory. My husband was literally pulling into the driveway when the guys took off. The structural work was done well but, aesthetically, was not great. I contacted the supervisor to explain our concerns and he came out to inspect the work. He did send the guys out and corrections were made, and we were happy with the results.

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category handyman service, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Sometimes we fall short in delivering our service (coordinating employees, subcontractors, materials and the sometimes complex details involved in emergency property damage repair is harder than it looks) but we are committed to making sure our customers are satisfied with the finished work. We appreciate the constructive feedback of customers showing us how we can improve and we value their honesty and good will.
5.0

12/18/2014


Susan F.

Description of Work
Repaired water damage done due to faulty faucet in kitchen - required dismantling of island sink cabinet, including dishwasher and drawers on one side, and display cases with shelves and glass door on the other, topped with a long granite slab. They and all their subcontractors were very professional, competent, and timely - dismantled the island, replaced hardwood flooring underneath, reassembled the cabinet and fixtures, and refinished hardwood flooring on entire level of house. Excellent job.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

We appreciate being told we did a good job as much as we appreciate being told how we could have done better (maybe more because happy customers are often less motivated to write reviews than unhappy customers). Thank you for your kind review.
5.0

02/28/2014


Gail W.

We were very pleased with their service. They have lots of recommendations and they were prompt and explained everything and we were very happy with them. They were very helpful. I would call them back and they were very professional. Their recommendations were great.

Description of Work
I used the water & smoke damage service of Paul Davis Restoration Inc. They made a good suggestion of how to dry out and to speed with the dry wall replacement.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

It's a pleasure to work for someone who appreciates it when we get it right. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
5.0

02/02/2014


Bob S.

Follow-up service to dry out house and make sure all damaged areas were taken care of was excellent.

Description of Work
Water clean-up and damage mitigation due to frozen water pipes. They arrived promptly, worked diligently and knew what they were doing.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the positive review and for being such a good customer.
5.0

10/27/2013


Tobey M.

It went better than we had hoped. They provided us with a timeline of what would happen and when and they did the job efficiently. They left our home clean and documented with photos of areas that we could not see and it exceeded our expectations. Kudos to T.J. who was our project manager.

Description of Work
We had raccoon damage in the attic. They removed all the insulation, disinfected and then installed new insulation.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

"Better than hoped" either means low expectations or great performance. I'll go with "great performance" on this one. Thank you for detailing those things we did that pleased you.
3.0

07/03/2013


Tyler L.

Things went moderately well with Paul Davis Restoration Inc. It was an emergency service and they were slow to respond and then it took them a long time, because they didn't have the right parts and the right equipment to fix it. I probably wouldn't use them again.

Description of Work
They fixed some water damage in my home.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Sounds like we didn't perform very well. I'm sorry for that. I don't have any explanation or excuse and too much time has gone by for me to reconstruct how we dropped the ball. Sometimes things don't go the way we want. We appreciate your feedback and will endeavor to be worthy of your business. Hopefully you'll never need water damage services again, from us or any other provider.
5.0

06/29/2013


Jeannie K.

NA

Description of Work
NA

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

OK. Thanks!
4.0

05/22/2013


Marianne B.

He said the floor was so out of level that he worried it would be a bigger job than he could easily predict. He declined to even quote. My reason for choosing him was his experience with older homes. My house was built in 1960. I was disappointed. He suggested he could recommend another collegue with more time to do the job if it was more involved. I found someone else to do the job.

Description of Work
He came to quote a bathroom floor changing from laminate to tile. This was to include re-doing subfloor where it was rotted from a badly plumbed toilet (offset in sewer was now fixed).

Category flooring contractor, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Sorry. We didn't provide the service we could have. At least whoever it was from our company who went out didn't pretend they knew something they didn't. Given your disappointment, it was nice of you to give us a "B" overall.
5.0

05/06/2013


Karen T.

Late one evening, we discovered our basement had water coming in. I called the Paul Davis number and got their on call person. He was very helpful and explained that we needed to get our sump pump working first (we already had a plumber scheduled to come the next morning) to stop more water from coming in before they could come and begin drying everything out. He also suggested we check to see if we had insurance coverage, which we hadn't thought of yet, and it turned out we did. After our sump pump was fixed we called back and talked to the coordinator and she took our info and had a project manager call us back, and he came over right away to assess our needs, and then called a technician who arrived within a half hour and began extracting water and removing the wet carpet that we wanted to get rid of. They checked the walls and said they should dry out okay since the water didn't get very high. They left big fans and dehumidifiers running overnight and came back first thing the next morning to check them. They left them running one more day and then turned them off and then came to pick them up the following Monday. We were very impressed with their efficiency, super-fast response time, and professionalism. They had the right equipment for the job, they worked fast and did not leave a mess at all, so the disruption to our household was minimal. It was very reassuring that they knew what they were doing and were able to check the walls to make sure they were dry enough so we didn't have to worry about having to do any remediation with the walls. They helped us get our lives back in order as quickly as possible, and I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Extracted water and removal of wet carpet from basement; drying out wet basement with fans and dehumidifiers. Checking basement walls for moisture.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

That's a really great report! I appreciate all the detail and kind words. Thank you for your recommendation.
5.0

11/15/2012


Robert P.

They were easy to work with. They got guys there right away. They seemed very knowledgable about what they were doing. They guys doing the work were prompt and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
They were the contractor for a restoration project.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Prompt and knowledgeable are important in restoration work. Cleaning up after oneself is a good practice no matter what you're doing. Thanks for the reminder and the positive review.
5.0

11/12/2012


Deborah P.

They sent a crew in to salvage everything possible right away. They sent experts in every arena. The entire house had to be gutted and then rebuilt. The people they sent, and every one that worked for them, were very competent and accomodating. They stayed in constant communication with me. The job was done on time. The entire experience was terrific.

Description of Work
The pipes in our home burst and Paul Davis Restoration came in and gutted then rebuilt our home.

Category flooring contractor, remodeling, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

I remember this disaster. I should write a review for the customer who suffered an almost unimaginable loss to her beautiful and valuable property. We are humbled to work for someone who maintains their equilibrium, good will, and even humor in the face of such devastation. Customers like this remind us of why we do what we do and why its so important to do it well. The customer was terrific!
5.0

02/02/2012


chad F.

Our newly purchased home had an old, poorly maintained furnace that decided it was going to malfunction while some work was being done to it. This malfunction caused oil soot to shoot out all through our house, covering pretty much everything. Thankfully our home warranty covered the furnace and our home owners insurance covered the cleaning. Paul Davis's crew came out immediately to inspect our home and within a few days they were in the house and cleaning. Other than a few small items that were ruined during cleaning and a few spots missed in the house, they did an excellent job and the project manager was amazingly responsive and helpful during such a stressful time. I should mention that during this time we were not allowed to live in the house and had to stay at a hotel for the week preceding Christmas and they really made it a much easier transition. They took care of cleaning every square inch of our house, all of our rugs, carpets, clothing....everything. It was incredible how much had to be done for something that happened in just a few minutes. Overall they did an excellent job and I would definitely recommend them to others! (Side note: we only paid the $500 deductible from our insurance, the actual cost was much higher than this)

Description of Work
Cleaned all soft goods (carpets, rugs, clothing, curtains, etc.), as well as electronics, dishes, walls, furniture. Nearly every square inch of our home had a detailed cleaning done.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

That's a really great review. I'm always amazed when customers facing stressful and disruptive circumstances can still find it in themselves to be complimentary and generous. The people doing this work appreciate, more than you know, customers that recognize we are there to help, and allow us the grace of a "few small items". Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We will redouble our efforts at quality control and feel good about it.
4.0

11/10/2011


Robert P.

They put the place back together. They are a remodeling and restoration company and their focus is to come and restore damages that happen in the house. I had a problem where I had a roof put on and after that the rains came and my house got flooded. They come out when your house gets flooded or hit by a tornado and restore it. They had to do the whole restoration of my house and the basement. They had the whole house stripped down to the wood. They were very professional and very thorough. They were very responsive to what I wanted done. I found them easy to work with. They did what they said they were going to do and they did what they promised unlike the insulation guy. They were working on that place for about 2 months. They had some of their own people who do the initial work. They tore off the walls and pulled off the rug. They fixed some flooring and they deal with the damage from the flooding. They brought in some sub contractors to do the drywall and painting. Insurance paid for it and it didn't seem outrageous to me. They got my house back to a good shape. It took a while but I don't hold them for it.

Description of Work
I used the service of Paul Davis Restoration Inc to do restoration of my whole house four months ago.

Category handyman service, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your detailed and positive review. I think you're a tough but fair grader. Sounds like we had a subcontractor that wasn't supervised as well as he might have been, and we didn't set a clear expectation for how long it would take. We're not the cheapest contractor in the market but we never have to fight with insurance companies over a fair amount for our work, and we're definitely not the most expensive. Thank you again for trusting us with your home.
5.0

06/01/2011


Deb T.

Excellent professional communication/ definition of schedule/ coordination of subcontractors/ connections to suppliers

Description of Work
remodelled bathroom, replaced shower/ceiling/ window/ wall covering in another bathroom, repaired outside wall trim, re-did wiring in one area of house, repaired/cleaned after small electrical fire

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and for trusting us with your property.
5.0

02/24/2010


milt R.

They had really good communication, letting me know what was going to happen and when. They had excellent selection of contractors and they answered all of the questions I had.

Description of Work
They restored our walls and ceiling, and they installed brand new flooring. They also installed kitchen cabinets and several windows. They ozoned the house to remove smoke odors. They were there immediately after the fire to seal up the house.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, remodeling, water damage restoration, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

That's what we like to hear. Thank your for trusting us with your property and for taking the time to write a review.
3.0

11/30/2008


Mary Ann T.

Very poorly. Delays took months. Work is still not finished a year later. I kept a list of 23 complaints and 20 incomplete tasks. Workers never showed up on time. House was a mess for 2 months.

Description of Work
Repaired interior damage from ice dams from last winter; repaired and paint exterior damage.

Category water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Sounds awful. I'm very sorry. I don't know what happened. If you read these comments, despite the time lapse, and you're willing, please call the president of the company so he can apologize personally and see if there's any way to make it up to you.

    Other local Pros in your area

    SOVEREIGN WEALTH MANAGEMENT

    We offer our services NATIONWIDE. Our passion is partnering with our clients to crystallize their financial goals, design a strategy to achieve those goals and execute the plan to its completion. You know it’s not enough to just make a plan, even the most well designed strategies can fail if not executed properly and then monitored for progress and suitability. This is why we consistently monitor the progress of your plan and make changes as new developments come to light with your changing goals. Whether we are helping a young family set the path to achieve their ideal lifestyle and first home; assisting a newly widowed client in navigating and structuring his/or her retirement plan and new life; or advising a professional couple on structuring the sale of their business and transitioning into retirement, we are consistently behind the scenes working to get you there and keep you there: on track. Our Core Competencies include: Financial Planning, Wealth Management, Risk Management, Estate Planning and Multi-Generational Asset Transfer Planning, Managing Executive Deferred Comp Assets. We use the latest and the most sophisticated tools to produce accurate and realistic analyses. We pride ourselves on our independence and ability to work with the leading experts in all fields of wealth management, accounting and estate planning to design a comprehensive and robust strategy to achieve our clients’ goals. Sovereign is affiliated with Spire Investment Partners. Spire Investment Partners is the Parent Company of Spire Wealth Management, LLC an SEC RIA, and Spire Securities LLC, a registered Broker/Dealer and Member of FINRA / SIPC.  

    Offers by SOVEREIGN WEALTH MANAGEMENT on Angi
    Hensen Masonry LLC

    Hensen Masonry, LLC is a family owned and operated business. Run by and Tony Hensen.  

    Time 2 Remodel LLC

    TIME 2 REMODEL, LLC is located in Madison, Wisconsin. Curt Dimmig has owned & operated his own business since 1999. Curt is a 3rd generation carpenter and started working in the remodeling business as a child in his parents kitchen & bath remodeling business. He often worked side by side with his father and mother designing, building and installing custom kitchens & baths. Since then, his range of skill, knowledge and experience has continued to grow to an award winning level. The time it takes to figure out a remodel project is what we take PRIDE IN HELPING our customers with. We stand out with our CREATIVE SOLUTIONS and by PERSONALLY ASSISTING you with all your selections (plumbing, cabinetry,tile, flooring, etc) while walking you through the remodeling process.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Buildings, repairs - fire, smoke, water, wind, lightning & hail, explosion & collapse.

    Services Not Offered

    We are not a cost effective solution for handy-man services or projects involving only a single trade. We are not typically the lowest bidder.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin

    How is Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin overall rated?

    Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin open?

    Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin provide

    Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offer free estimates?

    No, Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offer a senior discount?

    No, Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offer emergency services?

    Yes, Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin?

    No, Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin does not offer warranties.

    What services does Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offer?

    Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin offers the following services: Buildings, repairs - fire, smoke, water, wind, lightning & hail, explosion & collapse.

    Are there any services Paul Davis Restoration of South Central Wisconsin does not offer?

    We are not a cost effective solution for handy-man services or projects involving only a single trade. We are not typically the lowest bidder.