Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc

With Angi since June 2009

4.8

(61) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4663 Baxter Rd

Cottage Grove, WI 53527

Description

G & K is a family run business specializing in Roofing, Siding and Home Repairs. Started by Glen and Karen approximately 40 years ago. We have an A+ Rating with the BBB. Our emphasis is to make sure you the Homeowner receive excellent service, quality materials installed by skilled professionals.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

09/30/2022


Mike H.

OMG. Worst experience of my life. He threw me out of his house!! All is said was i am getting another estimate. He tapes everything. In my opinion Glen needs to get out of the business.. Good luck..

Description of Work
Roof repair

Category drywall

Service Provider Response

This person wanted to defraud his insurance company. He wanted to keep $3,000.00 of his insurance claim. This is called a kick back and it is a felony. G & K refused to do business with him. I told him to immediately leave G & K’s office. As he states G & K recorded that conversation. I recorded the conversation because I was suspicious of him. Why else would I have canceled a $17,000.00 contract. I like making money, but I am not a crook. I have a reputation worth protecting.
5.0

08/09/2021


Susan H.

We highly recommend G &K for any roofing and remodeling project. We have worked with them on four different projects and have been very satisfied with each one. Glenn came to our home, carefully explained his product, guarantees, and contract. He helped us make suitable choices. As work progressed he met with us to explain what was being done and to gain our input. When work was completed Glenn very carefully inspected the worksite to be sure everything was done to our satisfaction and the site was left clean and safe. We have no hesitation in recommending G & K Roofing and Remodeling for your next project.

Description of Work
Roofing replacement

Category roofing

5.0

08/02/2021


Rita S.

My husband and I have had a long-standing working relationship with Glenn and G&K Roofing. We had our first roof put on 20+ years ago by G&K, highly suggested by a neighbor. When a hail storm came through a number of years later, we requested them back for another roof job, along with replacing the siding. Just recently, we requested them back again to install gutter covers and larger drain spouts. We’ve continued to utilize this company throughout the years because we have been very satisfied with the prompt work and thorough cleanup done by G&K Roofing each and every time. Glenn is very communicative and takes the time to answer any questions and explains the job in detail. He inspects every aspect of the job to make sure you, the customer, is satisfied with the work completed.

Description of Work
Gutter Covers - Roof - Siding

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

5.0

07/23/2021


John C.

My Wife and I chose to use G and K Roofing and Remodeling, Inc. for the second time to put a roof on our house. Our G and K Roof was not leaking but we had a contractor put on an addition put on our house 14 years ago and the Brand X roof on our addition started to leak substantially after only 1 – 2 years. We complained to Brand X but they didn’t do anything to help us with their portion of their roof. In 2021, we got bids from three roofing companies. After sitting down and talking with Glenn from G and K Roofing and Remodeling, Inc. we decided to use G and K Roofing and Remodeling, Inc. again to replace our entire roof. Glenn took the time to meet in person with us and gave us some different cost options. Glenn took the time to answer as many questions as we had. The other two roofing companies did not take the time to sit down and discuss this with us in person. Putting on a roof on your house is probably one of the most important things that you can do to protect your house. If you are going to be in your house for a while yet, and if you care about GETTING THE JOB DONE RIGHT AT A COMPETIVE COST, G and K Roofing is that company. Our roof really looks beautiful and we are totally satisfied with G and K Roofing and Remodeling. Sincerely, John and Annette C. Sun Prairie, WI

Description of Work
We needed our roof replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

07/21/2021


Bill M.

We have used G and K twice. 31 year ago they installed 25 year shingles that they now replaced with 40 year shingles. Both times they exceeded our expectations. Glens 40 years of experience and knowledge of products and procedures is invaluable. Glen gave us our options and Karen sent us a quote. In comparison we felt G and K offered the best price, warranty, and product. The crew did a great job on the roof and the clean up. They worked very hard and completed the job in one say.

Description of Work
Shingle Roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/11/2021


Warren W.

I hired G&K Roofing and Remodeling to do a roof replacement on my home. The whole experience was very positive. The quote was in line with others, and G&K was willing to match any others that were offering a similar shingle. In the end I chose the best they offer and the cost was close to what another contractor quoted for the next step down in shingle from the same manufacturer. Both Glenn and Karen were always very helpful and responsive to all questions and concerns (and I had a lot). My job required extra work to be performed (due to previous roof replacement not addressing venting issues) and the crew took care of it to get the job done correct. I am confident I now have a quality roof done correctly, which was my primary goal, and the reason I chose G&K over the others I got quotes from. I would recommend G&K be someone you talk to if you need some work done.

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

1.0

06/28/2021


Lori H.

I had called G & K Roofing for an estimate to replace my roof. I was also concerned about an area that appeared to be sagging. He came, said I really don't need my roof replaced other than maybe aesthetically. He refused to give me a bid unless I called 5 of his competitors, all the larger contractors that you hear of in this area. I was to get bids for not only my roof, but siding and windows which I'm not even remotely interested in so he could underdog their bids. When I called him out on his ethics, he completely went crazy. Said I'm a "jerk", "huffy", and left me a threatening voicemail that I saved to this day for anyone who is interested in hearing it. In one breath he says my roof doesn't need replacing, in the next he says that if I write one bad review, he'll call a building inspector and have my house condemned. I'm sure his response to this complaint will put it all on me as well. Do NOT call this business for work on your home. Of all the other contractors I got bids from all the years I've been in my home, I've never been treated so unprofessionally. In fact, some of the contractors said they've heard the same thing about G & K from other customers.

Description of Work
Roofing replacement bid

Category drywall, roofing

5.0

06/16/2021


jeff K.

It was a pleasure working with G and K Roofing. G and K's owner provided detailed explanations before the work and carefully monitored the work progression. The crew was very conscientious and friendly. Replacing a roof is not something one does very often and can be daunting but the G and K's owner was supportive and made the process go smoothly, addressing any hiccups or concerns as the work progressed. The scheduling was perfect for my needs and all work was completed on time. The new roof looks great!

Description of Work
Asphalt roof shingle tear off and reroof with new asphalt shingles

Category roofing

5.0

06/14/2021


Mike B.

We needed to replace of our shingle roof and sought bids from a number of area companies. We selected G & K because of the wealth of experience they have in the roofing business and because it became evident that they have an attention to detail that would assure that the project was done right. Glenn talked us through each step of the process. He was upfront with us that we may need to have some additional repairs to the wood underneath the shingles. We did have a number of panels that he recommended replacement. We talked through the board replacement and went ahead with the work. G&K’s crew worked tirelessly to complete the project and cleaned up the work site with meticulous care. G&K’s knowledge, attention to detail, and dedication to a job done right came through on the project. We are confident that we now have a roof that looks great and will last for years.

Description of Work
Shingle roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

06/06/2021


Kevin M.

After getting several quotes for my roof I chose G and K because I could tell that they had a massive amount of experience and they really cared about the job being done right. Glen explained to me how much care he takes when choosing his crews and it showed with the work they did. Glen brought me up on the roof to show me some of the issues that needed to be addressed. His crew fixed all the issues and they even moved my insulation around to make sure the roof was venting properly. After the job was done Glen came out to inspect the work and even walked around my property to make sure they did a proper clean up (which they did). The roof now looks outstanding and I have complete confidence the job was done right.

Description of Work
Roof replaced

Category roofing

1.0

11/02/2020


Jim H.

Went to business at 8:30 and not a sole was to be found, called number and got some body that I had to leave message with. Not a happy camper

Description of Work
Reroof garage with metal roofing

Category drywall

1.0

10/31/2020


Lakisha’s C.

This was the worst contractor experience I’ve ever had, usually contractors I hire are nice and pleasant. The GK contract is tricky but provisions seem outdated, not in line with the current laws. But in my case this company flat out refused to finish my garage, because I refused an additional $9000 on top of the $10556 price tag for a 1400sq fr home. I paid a little over 1/2 in cash. He then decided there were extra fees while the subcontractors had my roof in a construction phase.... I refused the extra amounts that started at $12k and cascaded down to $9k. He then demanded that I pay an extra $950 to remove a 2nd layer of roofing material, but our agreement was to only remove 1 and replace shingles. When I agreed in good faith to make the payment to proceed, Glenn demanded that I sign a document stating that my roof wasn’t up to code. I declined to sign and asked for the specific code and he refused to provide it. He then told the subcontractors to not finish my garage, which breach our agreement. He had an adult tantrum because he couldn’t manipulate an additional $9k out of me for the job. Not to mention he decided he wanted to shove a camera in my face when he stopped at my home to talk about the job. Glenn was very accusatory and refused to take payment, even going so far as to threaten to contact the building inspector. In my experience this guy acted nuts!!! Reading over other reviews makes me believe I worked with an imposter!!!!

Description of Work
Replacement Roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

G & K’s response to the above review This customer signed a contract with G & K for the removal and replacement of her existing shingles only. Once the shingles were removed she requested G & K to do thousands of dollars of additional work on her home. Now that the work is completed she is refusing to pay G & K for any of the work including the removal and installation of the shingles. At no point since the work was started has this customer attempted to pay G & K for anything. She refuses to answer the door or to pick up a phone. She leaves G & K no choice but to sue her.
1.0

05/08/2020


William S.

never showed up for the appointment

Description of Work
replace roofing

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

G & K offers our customers hassle free on line estimates. G & K has never set an appointment with this customer or any other customer. However G & K did decline doing work for this customer because it was a mobile home. G & K does not work on trailer homes. This customer was notified via telephone of our policy of not working on mobile homes.
5.0

07/17/2019


Jeff P.

I’m pleased to review G&K Roofing & Remodeling. Around 2004, they re-shingled my roof in the Madison area. My folks, now elderly, needed the roof on their home in Watertown redone. So, 15 years later (2019), I called G&K. I have great confidence in Glen’s work. He is a seasoned professional who takes great pride in providing a top-quality product. I believe that we received a premium-grade job for a very fair price. The “Brownwood” color shingle looks so nice on the home. We are very happy with the new roof and will rest assured knowing it was done right.

Description of Work
New roof and roof decking

Category roofing

5.0

04/18/2019


Leanne B.

G & K Roofing did a good job and they are very thorough. It is apparent that quality is a top priority with their work. My house needed A LOT more work than what we originally anticipated, but there was no way for anyone to know this until the roof was off. Glen stayed with his crew to make sure the job was done right, and even with the extreme amount of extra work, the job was finished in 2 days. I highly recommend G & K Roofing if you never want to worry about a roof leak again.

Description of Work
Roof replaced along with replacing every board on house

Category roofing

5.0

01/28/2019


Pam H.

Very professional, timely, great clean up. Would highly recommend this company to any potential clients. Dan Mcgill

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

01/28/2019


Terry B.

G & K replaced the roof on a house I had for Sale. They showed up at the crack of dawn with a large work crew. They began work immediately and worked fast. They were well supervised by the owner of G & K. They finished the work in 1 day. The roof looks great ! G & K did exactly what was contracted for . Glen (the owner) communicated all matters to me and showed his years of experience on how he did the job. I will recommend G & K roofing to anyone.

Description of Work
Roof Replacement

Category roofing

5.0

01/23/2019


yifei W.

G/K did very quickly, they cleaned up my garden after the roof replacement, great work!

Description of Work
roof replacement

Category roofing

4.0

01/15/2019


Susan F.

I was grateful G&K called me back - during this busy summer of heavy rains in WI many roofers were booked and did not want to deal with a "small job." G&K measured my home by satellite and provided a quote to replace the entire roof for $5,000. I was able to find two roofing experts from word-of-mouth recommendations, Carl Cure in Verona and Rick Cruz in Monona. Both came and looked at my ceiling and inspected the roof, said the roof is fine for another 7-10 years, identified the problems and gave me quotes. I hired Cruz Roofing and was delighted with their responsiveness, willingness to "do the jobs others don't want to do," and commitment to quality. I would also recommend Cure Roofing in Verona - it was a case of having to decide from two good options. Tom Woerhl is doing drywall repair on my ceiling at this time and he is excellent.

Description of Work
Roof repair and leak in bathroom ceiling

Category drywall, roofing

5.0

01/15/2019


Kathryn K.

Loved working with them. Very knowledgeable. Crew was pleasant. Clean up was great. Love my new roof and neighbors liked it too.

Description of Work
Tear off 2 layers and replace.

Category roofing

5.0

10/20/2018


Jimmie W.

Great. Work was done in a timely fashion. Great company to hire.

Description of Work
Roof replace

Category roofing

5.0

10/11/2018


Cheryl R.

Glenn did an excellent job assessing underlying problems and provided a fair price quote for any further work. The job was completed timely and cleaned up well. The material was good. We communicated our thanks to Glenn about pointing out problem areas with our chimney and bent electrical mast.

Description of Work
complete reroof and tear off

Category roofing

5.0

10/02/2018


Arthur G.

Glen did a great job of explaining his process for our tear off and roofing project. The crew was hardworking, staying well past dark to finish a critical step prior to storms rolling in. Glen’s advice and recommendations showed why he’s been doing this for 30+ years. I am confident the job was done the right way. The clean up was great.

Description of Work
Complete tear off and re-roof

Category roofing

5.0

10/01/2018


Brian S.

Good experience. The owners were involved from the first step and throughout the process. Complete tear off and re-shingle. Glen was on site and inspecting to make sure the job was done correctly, and to explain and discuss any issues that arose. The hard-working crew worked from sun up to sun down and did a great clean up when they were finished.

Description of Work
Full roof tear off and re shingle

Category roofing

5.0

09/28/2018


Keith K.

Glen and Karen were easy to work with. Glen took his time to explain my options and offer his advice from over 30 years of roofing experience. Glen brought in another crew to finish my job only hours before heavy rain began. Great job overall including cleanup!

Description of Work
Replaced roof on house and unattached garage.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jordan Exteriors

    10 Consecutive Year Super Service Award Winner in Doors, Siding and Windows! We are a home exterior remodeling company that specializes in vinyl replacement windows, siding and doors. Our window installers are from the Amish community and are craftsmen with over 23 year of experience. We offer free estimates and a lifetime warranty on all window, siding, and door products. Customer Service, Satisfaction and communication is our main goal at a fair price.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Offers by Jordan Exteriors on Angi
    Next Door & Window

    Here at Next Door and Window, we a ready to bring you the best options for your new window and home door project. Next Door and Window has the best windows by Marvin, Integrity, Marvin Infinity and Sunrise. Wood Clad, Vinyl and Fiberglass Windows and Entry and Patio Doors by Albany and Provia. Next Door and Window will have one of their highly trained professionals meet with you and discuss all the possible options for your window and door project, they will then provide you with a FREE NO OBLIGATION quote for your project. Best of all, Next Door and Window will paint or stain your window and trim to match any color you need with our paint match program. Most others leave the project for you to finish with paint or stain, but, at Next Door and Window we do that for you! Next Door and Window also provides the best installation procedures and materials to make certain your project is done right and we back it with the industries best warranties. We have a full team of installation and service professionals to answer your questions…fast! If a visit is necessary to your home we will work around your schedule within a half-hour window of time to handle your issue quickly, often within 24 hours. We have over 25 trucks in the field to serve you fast. We are there when you need us. Additional DBA - Wolt Window & Door. Additional showroom addresses: 815 E. Ogden Ave, Naperville, IL 60563, & 718 E Rand Rd Arlington Heights, IL 60004.  

    Offers by Next Door & Window on Angi
    Clearview Sunrooms & Windows

    Locally owned and operated home improvement company by Ben Kripps. ClearView's showroom is located in Madison. Showroom is open for browsing during normal business hours. Pricing is done by showroom or home appointments only at anytime with Ben Kripps.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    DC-089500087
    Trade License Locale
    Wisconsin
    Trade License Authority
    Wisconsin: Safety and Professional
    Trade License Expiration
    06/24/2023
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roof Replacements and Siding Replacements

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc

    How is G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc overall rated?

    G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc open?

    G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc provide

    G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc?

    Yes, G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offers warranties.

    What services does G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offer?

    G & K Roofing and Remodeling Inc offers the following services: Roof Replacements and Siding Replacements