Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Paul Swartz Nursery

Founded 1949 • With Angi since April 2009

4.9

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

30728 93rd St

Burlington, WI 53105

Description

Landscape design & installation, retail & wholesale nursery, plant health care, snow & ice removal & control.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Marcia M.
5.0
09/04/2015
unknown
Description of Work
The Team at Paul Swartz took out our old and decaying wooden steps and retaining wall. They replaced them both with beautiful stone. The transformation is amazing, and we love the new look of our entry way. They took about three full days to complete most of the job. The guys worked quickly and efficiently to remove all the old material, and replace it the new. As "do it yourself people" we could not believe how quickly they completed the job! |We were hoping to get the work done in June, but from the start, that date was not confirmed due to their heavy planting during that time of the year. We were hoping for a July date, but it was August before they could free up their schedule. So, if you would like work done in a more timely manner, be sure to keep their planting schedule in mind. |When all the work was done, they graded out the yard (wherever their equipment tore up the grass) and reseeded it for new growth. We were very pleased with the quality of their work and the professionalism they demonstrated. We would/have recommended Paul Swartz to all.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Kerry S.
5.0
06/22/2015
They are all A's.
Description of Work
I have an ongoing thing with them. He does landscaping.
Category
landscaping
Ron F.
3.0
09/17/2014
unknown
Category
landscaping
JIM M.
5.0
08/15/2014
I was looking for someone to identify plants and give some advice at my recently purchasecd home. Contacted a provider right down the street, but they wouldn't come for two months! I contacted Angela after remembering a flyer and card I had found at the front door previously. She responded right away and we set up a meeting for a few days later. VERY responsive and helpful even adjsuting the work and quote as I requested. They showed up on time day of work and completed. I will use them again and have had her provide additional quotes.
Description of Work
Edged around all trees and garden, removed dead plants and debris, trimmed some shrubs, applied compost soil at base of trees, planted several new plants/shrubs and moved and replanted several others. Helped me identify some plants and provided advice.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service, greenhouses
Richard K.
5.0
08/09/2014
These people were fantastic, simple paperwork at their business location, came when they said they would, brought a bunch of people to dig the holes and make the job go fast, in and out in an hour, friendly boss with very hard working crew - would definitely use them again.
Description of Work
Delivered, planted 2 Colorado Spruce trees and 1 birch tree
Category
landscaping, tree service
Dale N.
5.0
08/07/2014
Ross had an excellent crew who showed up on time and planted all of the plants to the correct depth. All plants were watered to remove air pockets. The crew leader willingly answered all of our questions.
Description of Work
Planted 15 Juniper Sargents. Ross planned and supervised the work.
Category
landscaping
Kelly P.
5.0
07/28/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Paul Swartz Nursery started landscaping my property around 2000. Since then, I have used their services to add to and to manage my landscaping. They are awesome. My designer's name was John. He did a great job, keeping in mind the different growing seasons to make sure things look good spring, summer, and fall.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Gary B.
5.0
07/23/2014
We had just purchased a house in Williams Bay and the landscaping left much to be desired. We needed especially to do something with the side, which was just a muddy slope with little landscaping. The front was passable, but not inspiring. Our designer presented us with a design that built a stone wall on the slope side, with a new sidewalk and astilbe garden running along the walk. He also suggested relocating the front walk away from the front of the house in a curve toward the driveway, allowing a small boxwood garden in front of the house and a more attractive presentation. As a separator from the house next door, he suggested a line of plants (hostas and geraniums), favoring plants that prefer shade and are deer resistant (since the location has both of those issues). He kept as much of what we had as fit the design and we added a number of features that made the presentation much more attractive. All in all a great job.
Description of Work
Re-landscaped front and side of house.
Category
landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping
Scott M.
5.0
07/21/2014
Ross did a great job! His vision was right inline with what we wanted and brought a real sensible approach. He was very responsive and open to make sure we got exactly what we wanted. Most of all, his work is very clean and well done. I would use his service again.
Description of Work
Redesigned our landscaping layout, new plants/flowers, reseeded, grading, and buried downspouts.
Category
landscaping
Rachel K.
5.0
05/10/2014
We interviewed 4 landscapers before settling on Paul Schwarz Nursery. I gave them a B for price because their pricing was right in the middle. Good price, but of course we all want to pay less. They have an A+ for everything else! And I guess they are worth every penny. Mike created a plan for working with our existing landscape to replace our crumbling retaining wall. He coordinated with the county for permits, which ended up being a laborious adventure, as our previous existing deck would not meet the current setback requirements. Mike was extremely creative and came up with an entirely new plan for us and in the end I am so happy that we ran into problems because what we have now is so much better than before. Their company has done a lot of lakeside work and knows more about the codes and requirements than the county probably does. Mike went out of his way to incorporate small details that will allow us to have flexibility and make changes down the road. For example: the patio that they installed abuts a screened in porch. This current porch is on the rickety side and Mike anticipated that one day we might want to make changes to it. He planned ahead for this by setting the raw edge of the patio stones up against the porch wall so that if we ever make changes to the porch or want to run the stone all the way to the house foundation, we can continue the stone pattern right through. This is not something that I would have thought of. Originally we had planned for the work to start in the later part of the summer last year, but because of unplanned setbacks by the county, we decided to delay our project until spring. Mike had taken photos of our garden last year and was able to use the photos to find all the perennials and dig them out to save them--they were still dormant when they started work this spring. Mike's appreciation and knowledge of plant/trees was one of the reasons I felt comfortable working with their company. The crew surprised us with thoughtful details like adding an electrical outlet and lights. The design of our new yard is completely transforming. We are able to use and enjoy every inch our our yard and I am amazed how I find myself pulled into the landscape like never before. I thank Mike for his creativity and attention to small details.
Description of Work
Removed and Replaced a wood retaining wall with a stone wall. Installed stone steps from our house to our dock. Installed a stone patio. Planted trees and shrubs to provide added privacy. Transplanted existing perennials and incorporated them into the new landscape plan. Installed post fence.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service, greenhouses, hardscaping
James B.
5.0
04/17/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Had a patio and plants put in. All went as planned
Category
landscaping, tree service
Jim P.
5.0
04/02/2014
excellent
Description of Work
spring clean-up and mulch
Category
landscaping
Jennifer S.
1.0
09/18/2013
Contacted this company to get a quote for landscaping and new patio in our backyard. Set up a time for them to come out for a visit. They called back to say they couldn't make it and would be in touch. Never called and showed up one day 1-2 weeks later out of the blue wanting to talk. I wasn't there but they gave my husband a booklet and a quote for the work. We didn't even have the meeting with them so of course the quote was not what we were looking for. Really bad service. They acted like they didn't need the business so we went with another company and spent our $12k to renovate the backyard.
Description of Work
They didn't do any work because we did not use them.
Category
landscaping
Michelle L.
3.0
06/15/2013
It went very well....at first. I called after reading great reviews on Angie's List and they were very nice. I explained that I had previously had a landscaper come out to my house to give me an estimate and then I never heard back from him. I wanted to make sure they had somewhat of an understanding of what it was I wanted BEFORE they came out so that they wouldn't waste my time. I told them where I lived and that it would be a small job. I scheduled for ~1 week out. They came a couple of hours past the tentative time which turned out to be ok for me on that day and the guys were really nice and understanding of what it was I wanted: A couple of dead shrubs removed, some things planted, bricks removed with a new boarder, and a small patio. I explained that there were other things I wanted to do in the future as well but knew I couldn't do it all at once due to the high cost of landscaping. After a week went by and I still didn't get an estimate, I called and the woman back and said she'd have the guys call me when they got back from planting. 'She' called me back later and said the guys were going to work on it that night and she asked for my e-mail address to send the estimate when it was done. The next day, I got a voice message that said they were sorry, but it wasn't going to work out because...basically, my job was too small and they would have to charge me too much gas money to come out. Again, I had previously explained to them BEFORE they came out what I wanted done, they knew where I lived and they still wasted my time when I could have had someone else starting on it soon. Now, I have to go through the whole process for a 3rd time. This is ridiculous.
Description of Work
Came and looked at my landscape to see what exactly I had in mind to do.
Category
greenhouses
Kerry S.
5.0
05/29/2013
Their service is really good. They're reliable. They're creative. They communicate well with their customers.
Description of Work
For some landscaping, I contacted Paul Swartz Nursery, who is my landscaping company.
Category
landscaping, greenhouses
Melissa C.
5.0
08/29/2012
I called about five companies to come over and do a bid for renovating and improving our already existing cement patio plus put rocks along the side of the house so my kids and dog would stop digging in the dirt. I had really grand, silly too, plans for this back yard living space ala Home and Garden. Some just took notes and sent quotes, some made a few suggestions. This company was the first to tell me that what I wanted was very expensive and with the way I already have things it wouldn't turn out how I had in my head. They drew up a plan that was a quarter of the price I drew up and presented to me just what I really wanted the whole time. I was so impressed, they obviously listened to what I was saying I needed this for- my kids. I have waited a few weeks to write the review thinking the initial glow would wear off but it has not. TOP NOTCH ALL THE WAY. Each individual that worked at any point on this project was friendly and professional. They came on time, worked hard, cleaned up after themselves. I have already had three family members who have seen the work request their info so they can use them as well. I can't say enough good things, I can't recommend them strongly enough for any landscaping/hardscaping needs. Five stars all around.
Description of Work
I had some shrubs removed, new shrubs put in. I had my cement patio in my backyard overhauled and a stone bench added. I had old rocks removed and new ones put in (where others may use mulch).
Category
landscaping, greenhouses, hardscaping
Edwina O.
5.0
05/26/2012
We would use them again and again and again. They are on time and they are meticulous about their work. They take pride in what they do and they show up, which is a big plus. We haven't gotten the bill yet for the tree. Their prices are right in the ballpark.
Description of Work
We used Paul Swartz Nursery for landscaping. They put up a retaining wall and did plantings. They are coming back in a few weeks to do a fire pit. Initially they did some work last fall and they were back this spring to do planting of a crab apple tree.
Category
landscaping, tree service, hardscaping
hunter K.
5.0
07/27/2011
it went really well
Description of Work
hi this company's the best
Category
lawn service, lawn mower repair, hardscaping
Bruce D.
5.0
07/07/2011
We moved into our new construction in October of 2008. In the summer of 2009, we were driving by Paul Swartz Nursery and just happened to meet Ross Swartz - we later met on site to discussed possible landscaping ideas for our property. Previous to this, we had no contact with this company. Ultimately, they were one of 3 landscape bids we considered. We selected them as our landscaper because: they listened to our ideas, needs and preferences; style/design of our home; hardscape compliments, and larger landscaping theme, they had great ideas, incorporating some unique plant species - to add creativity to the overall look, their price was competitive, product was/is of high quality plantings were freshly dug at nursery in preparation for delivery and install, Ross was on site for the installation installers were professional - and nothing was left for us to 'clean up' they have been/continue to be extremely responsive to our calls/questions about proper care of plant species We have utilized them since the original install for additional plantings, trenching and redirecting of downspouts.
Description of Work
We built a new home and selected them to create and install our landscaping, inlcuding completion of part of a retention wall. The original install was in September 2009, however, we have used them since for additional plantings, trenching and burying of downspouts. We worked direct with Ross Swartz for design, estimate, and oversight of installation. They were very professional in all aspects of the job, from quoting to installation of our landscape. The design was unique and plants were of high quality, They have and continue to be responsive to our calls, questions about plant species and care. We would definately use them again and would highly recommend this company.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Jennifer M.
1.0
05/26/2011
I have called several times to get someone out to just give us an estimate. I have left messages, even spoke to someone - who told me "I'll get there when I feel I can." In this economy, you would think that people would WANT business. I'm going with another company, even though they probably are higher than most because they were the ones who actually took the time to come out, speak with me professionally and give me a quote for some great work. This project was stage 1 of a 3 or 4 year project - Paul Swartz missed out on some serious cash. It's sad that they came recommended both verbally and on Angie's List.
Description of Work
Called for estimate on seeding and downspouts
Category
landscaping
Jere B.
5.0
03/27/2011
The trees all flourished and are growing sturdy and well. Very happy with the work.
Description of Work
They planted a maple tree in our front yard and four pine trees in the front side yard to serve as a patio blind from our neighbors new house. Twelve years ago Schwartz installed a cascading pond in the natural hill between our deck and the patio which features a waterfall in the rear on the pond and well as waterfall near the front. They landscaped it as well and after these years it really looks very natural. They have been very prompt in maintaining the pump and updating the filtering system.
Category
landscaping
Gary B.
5.0
02/14/2011
They are very good. They do good work. I think they are very careful about what they do. It just looks good when they get done. It looks natural. It doesn't look weird. I don't think they have done any lawn fertilizing and treatment. I don't have a clue about what we paid for the services. They respond right away and clean up after themselves really well. They will consult with you about the stuff. They are very good about redoing what you want. I really don't know about the price because my husband wrote the check. He hasn't complained so I guess it is fine.
Description of Work
We use Paul Swartz Nursery to do landscaping at our cottage in Wisconsin. They did some tree planting and shrubs and some landscaping last summer. Since then they have done lawn maintenance like mowing the lawn and trimming things up. They did tree work and they did snow removal as well.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service, snow removal, hardscaping
Gary B.
5.0
04/28/2010
The work was slightly delayed due to weather, but that's fall in Wisconsin. Once they got started, it was at most a two-day installation (exclusive of the concrete work). Excellent job and greatly pleased. We're now considering moving ahead with the third part of the plan (backyard).
Description of Work
We had them survey our lot in Williams Bay, WI, and detail a three-part landscape plan, for front yard, side yard, and back yard. The designer suggested a rock retaining wall on the side to level out the access to backyard and garage side door, combined with a new sidewalk around the side, as well as removing the existing front sidewalk and moving it further out into the front yard (increasing the close-to-the-house planting area). They suggested reusing much of the existing plant stock, but taking advantage of the limited sunny areas and planting for shade. The design looked good, so we let them proceed with the hardscape, concrete work and planting for the front yard and side yard. They actually went beyond the actual plan and didn't charge for the additional prep work and relocating of plants. They cleaned up after themselves and checked several times in the fall to make sure everything was okay. One-year guarantee on plant stock and they've already been out this year to see how things over-wintered.
Category
landscaping
Kirsten S.
5.0
06/29/2008
Phenomenal! They came out exactly when they said they would, performed all work as committed. When we felt the way the ejector pump flow was working was not correct, they came out and looked at it and took a look at our pump... And they found a potential problem with the way our pump was setup and recommended we call a plumber. There was in fact a problem that the plumber corrected that could have caused us serious pump failure issues in the future. We have used this company in the past and their work is superior.
Description of Work
Install garden and plantings and change ejector pump outflow
Category
landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Superior Landscaping

    Serving the Elkhorn, WI area for 15 years, trust our professionals to think outside of the box to provide you with the best solutions, friendliest service, and a job that's done right the first time. Our residential landscaping services include: Tree planting Tree maintenance Sodding and seeding Topsoil Grading Mulching Landscape lighting New Fiberglass Pool Install We'll keep your lawn and landscape in tip-top shape all year long, as our services are available year-round. Contact Superior Landscaping today for a FREE estimate on the landscaping services you're interested in!  

    Angi Certified

    Gallegos Landscape

    Offering all landscaping, hardscape service with almost 10 years experience i will be happy to help you do your projects with a respectful and profesional service we also offer fall leaf clean up  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    BACHER LANDSCAPE, LLC

    Bacher Landscape is a full service landscape company established in 1997. We are a service oriented business and work with all of our clients to produce unique, cost-effective projects in a timely manner. Whether it's a unique hardscape or a complete new landscape Bacher Landscape is concerned about your entire property. A well designed landscape will maximize your outdoor enjoyment. Our landscape management personnel maintains landscapes to bring them to their fullest potential. At Bacher Landscape we pride ourselves on the quality of our work, and treat every property as if it were our own. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you about your specific landscape needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape design, installation, retail & wholesale nursery, plant health care, snow and ice removal & control.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Paul Swartz Nursery

    How is Paul Swartz Nursery overall rated?

    Paul Swartz Nursery is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Paul Swartz Nursery open?

    Paul Swartz Nursery is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Paul Swartz Nursery provide

    Paul Swartz Nursery accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Check

    Does Paul Swartz Nursery offer free estimates?

    Yes, Paul Swartz Nursery offers free project estimates.

    Does Paul Swartz Nursery offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Paul Swartz Nursery does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Paul Swartz Nursery offer a senior discount?

    No, Paul Swartz Nursery does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Paul Swartz Nursery?

    Yes, Paul Swartz Nursery offers warranties.

    What services does Paul Swartz Nursery offer?

    Paul Swartz Nursery offers the following services: Landscape design, installation, retail & wholesale nursery, plant health care, snow and ice removal & control.